BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LCS Financial Services Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LCS Financial Services Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LCS Financial Services Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 12, 2008 Business started: 09/30/2005 Business started locally: 09/30/2005 Business incorporated 09/30/2005 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Colorado Attorney General Consumer Protection
1300 Broadway, 7th Floor, Denver CO 80203
http://www.ago.state.co.us
Phone Number: (720) 508-6000
attorney.general@state.co.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leo C. Stawiarski Jr., President/CEO Pamela Dotson, Corporate Counsel Kim Titterington, Director of Client Services
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leo C. Stawiarski Jr., President/CEO
Business Category

Collection Agencies

Industry Tips
Collection Agencies

Additional Locations

  • 6782 S Potomac St STE 100

    Centennial, CO 80112 (888) 864-0363

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been harrassed and offended by the employees who have contacted me about my payments. I have tried to talk to them about what I can give as a payment and instead they harrass and offend me about getting another job, saying that I made a poor choice in my education and career choice and they have threatened to harrass my family. They have called at inconvenient hours at my work place and when I try to talk to them about my financial situation, they just say that maybe I need to change my life choices. I find it very offensive and upsetting that so.some can decide what I should do with MY career and MY life and if I am paying , regardless of how much it, it should not be a problem.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be for them to stop harassing me and accept the money I give them instead of making me give more. I would like to pay a set amount for an amount of time until I can pay more.

Business Response:

This office has reviewed the consumer's complaint, our internal records, and the phone call at issue.  This office denies that it harassed the consumer or dealt with her in an inappropriate or unfair manner.

 

 After reviewing the recording of the phone call at issue, this office believes that the consumer misunderstood the agent when he made suggestions regarding employment and contacting family members.  The agent was making suggestions to the consumer for ways to get additional income, as she indicated that her issues with payment of the subject account were based on an inability to make payments in an amount that would be acceptable to our client long term.  The agent was suggesting possible additional employment, not that the consumer change her career.  The agent never questioned the propriety of the consumer's employment, education, or life choices, he merely pointed out that the consumer's obligation to our client is significant and that the payments she offered would not make sufficient headway in paying the balance in full.  The agent did not, as consumer terms it, threaten to "harass [her] family," rather, he suggested that the consumer speak to her family about assistance.  The only statement made regarding this office contacting another individual was regarding a possible contact of the co-borrower on this account.  Such a contact would not be inappropriate, as the co-borrower is also liable for the balance due to our client.

 

 This office and our client are sympathetic to the fact that the consumer is having financial difficulties.  This is evidenced by the hardship arrangement that the agent entered into with the consumer during the subject phone call.  However, the consumer does have a significant liability to our client and our client is not required to agree to any payment arrangement the consumer offers regardless of its impact on the balance due.  If the consumer does not wish for this office to make any further suggestions to her regarding possible methods for making such payments, this office will instruct its agents not to provide her such advice.  In an effort to open the lines of beneficial communication, this office will reassign the consumer's account to a different agent going forward.  However, this office has a responsibility to its client to attempt to get the balance paid in a reasonable amount of time and its contacts with the consumer will continue to reflect a commitment to that responsibility while attempting to provide a good customer experience.

Business Response: This office noted for the consumer in the prior response that it will assign another agent to her account going forward.  Again, this office denies that the agent that consumer spoke to previously was disparaging her career or life choices, but was simply offering suggestions for methods to get the account paid in a timely fashion.  Again, this office has a responsibility to our client to see that the account is paid in a reasonable time frame.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I will never be satisfied with the way this was handled but unfortunately, there is nothing I can do about it. However, I would appreciate better customer service and respect in 6 months, REGARDLESS of the job I choose to have or whatever else is going on in my life. Please be considerate that you are talking to a human being, an actual person and not just some body that breathes and talks. It is unfortunate that nothing else can be done about this matter as your company doesn't deserve the right to talk to people in that way nor do people deserve to be treated that way.

Sincerely,

******* ******

1/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received several calls & automated messages in one day from this company. When we called back the number provided, ************, a woman answered who stated that her name was ******, and she stated her company was LCS. She was very rude, and did not make us feel comfortable. In fact, we felt that this was some type of scam, since she was asking for personal information. She then proceeded to say that she did not need to talk with us anymore, threatened with serving us, and proceeded to hang up.

Desired Settlement: Cease and Desist. Do not ever call us at any of the numbers that this shady company may have. With so much identity theft going on, they need to be way more professional and less shady.

Business Response:

LCS Financial Services Corporation does not own or operate the phone number ************ and does not have an employee by the name of ******.  All LCS Financial Services Corporation agents provide their full name and the full company name in all communications with consumers.  This office is not a law firm and does not serve paperwork or threaten to do so.  A search of our records does not show that we have any accounts in the consumer's name and this office has not made any contact with him.  The phone number provided by the consumer was answered as of the day of this response as LCS Mediation Services.  LCS Financial Services Corporation is not affiliated with LCS Mediation Services in any way.

Some investigation into LCS Mediation Services indicates that they may, indeed, pose a threat to consumers.  We urge the consumer to report LCS Mediation Services to his state's attorney general.

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: collecting a debt that isnt mine. refuses to stop calling. using profanity and threats when calling, said they didnt care what agency i complained to They called and asked for me and left a message wiith another member of the famnily and said ithey were calling about a ******** *******. My wife called them back and told them that they were contacting the wrong person and we didnt know how to contact ********. They said we were llisted as a reference and that'swhy they called. My wife told them not to call again and to contact the person who owed the debt. They said it wasnt a debt and that ******** has "a summons to appear". My wife said "I dont give a **** why youre calling. Dont call here again. Call ********". He said "I dont give a **** either, you're listed as a reference and we'll call if we want. He hung up. My wife called back. When they answered my wife said "What is your company name please?". He said "I just talked to you didn't I?" My wife said "Yes, kcompany name please.". He said "If youre going to call here like that I'm not telling you anything". My wife tole him whe was going to file a complaint with the attorney general or other appropriate agency. He saiid "That's not a threat. I dont care". She said she'd be calling tomorrow. He said again "Thats not a threat and we'll keep calling". My wife hung up.

Desired Settlement: They are never to contact my family again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/11/18) */ Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond. A search of our records does not return any account in the name ******** ******* by that or any similar spelling. We show no record of having ever made a call to Mr. *******'s phone number as listed in this complaint. We have been made aware that another company has been illegally using the name LCS, which we have trademarked. We have been attempting to get additional information about this company so that we can take action to stop use of the name. LCS Financial Services Corporation strives to comply fully with all consumer protection laws and takes seriously all consumer complaints. Our agents are trained to always provide the name of the company upon request. Any behavior of the type Mr. ******* complains of would result in employee discipline, as it is completely unacceptable. This office does not issue any type of summons and does not claim to do so. Further, a call to a number belonging to this office is first answered by a recording that identifies the company. Based upon the information provided, it does not appear that Mr. ******* and his wife were in touch with this office or any of its employees. If Mr. ******* can provide additional information such as the dates and times of any of the calls or the caller ID information, we would be happy to investigate further. At this time, given the lack of an account connected to him in our records, we have no reason to contact Mr. ******* and will not do so unless he first seeks additional information from us.

5/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: $ is approx. JPM wrote off loan. LCS calls despite being informed our bankruptcy is still open. Husband 100% physical disabled also under pysch care. My husband was injured 09/2009 and after 2010 surgery he almost died and today he is 100% disabled. I (his wife) have been his unpaid caregiver since 2009. We both worked with the same company and he earned over 100k per year and was extremely healthy and active. He lost his career, unable to return to work, resulting in job loss 11/2010. He cannot put on shoes reach lower areas drive or walk around the block (even with a walker). A 2nd 2011 surgery was performed to remove a screw that penetrated his nerve cavity and spinal cord. This surgery did not change his status and was mandatory to avoid paralysis. so in 2011 we filed for bankruptcy. In 2012 (I believe) JP Morgan wrote off the second loan of 30,000-32,000 on our home. Sometime later LCS bought the written off loan from JP Morgan. In 2013 my husband started receiving early social security for being 100% disabled. The Us Government took over the Malpractice case against the first surgeon and settled out of court for an amount that will not cover necessary medical equipment but will pay creditors (awaiting a future court appearance). (LCS is/was not a creditor so was not on the original list). The bankruptcy is open and not yet discharged. My husband sees several specialists, ambulates (limited) with a walker (recently diagnosed with carpel tunnel in wrists and needs surgery for that). In 2011 he was diagnosed as 99.99% depression with suicidal tendencies. In 2012 with polyneuropathy etc. In 2013 on numerous occasions I informed LCS that the bankruptcy was still open and told them to not call again, but they still call. I have medical reports from 2 surgeons, 2 internists, 1 neurologist, 1 psychiatrist and several other specialists supporting my husbands condition. We will never sell the home. I cannot leave him to work and he only receives social security. There is no point in them calling other than to harass us. They appear to be unconcerned when I tell them they are breaking the law by calling us not to mention the huge negative impact it has on my husband. They have no clue what our life is like and it's miserable enough without their help. Today, April 15th at 1.02 pm California time they called again. I complained to **** ** they were breaking the law so she put me over to their manage ***** V ********** or ********** who said he was the manager of the bankruptcy department. I informed him we were still in bankruptcy and told him I was tired of telling them that and not to call. I told him I was recording the call and was filing a complaint against them yet he still pressed for more information. LCS has total disregard for peoples rights and bankruptcy laws and refuses to stop calling us. ***** threatened/emphasized a "second lien" on April 15 2014 and said he was of the belief the bankruptcy was discharged, despite me having just told him it was still open. Please help I cannot afford to change my number again and cannot take the additional stress they are causing.

Desired Settlement: The lien removed. This company preys on the disadvantaged and disabled. People who are unable to cope should be protected from them. If anything happens to me God forbid this company be allowed to continue this behavior, repeatedly breaking the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/28) */ Thank you for sending us this complaint. LCS Financial has had a chance to review this file and has discovered that the automatic bankruptcy information was not properly updated on this file. This issue is as a result of a technical malfunction and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. While it appears the lien remains in tact, LCS Financial has elected to close this file and return it to its creditor client. We hope this resolves the consumer's complaint. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from LCS Financial states, "While it appears the lien remains intact..." In response to this I went to the Court Records Department for California and they pulled up all records associated with the property and assured us that no lien existed now or ever on this property. I shared our story with a staff member and told her I needed to respond by May 9th 2014 so she also pulled up our records and confirmed that no lien exists or existed.however no lien exists currently or in the past on this property yet LCS have told us repeatedly they had a lien on it and threatened a second one and of course refer to the same in their response. This is fraudulent and threatening information. Also their error of not updating the bank information was not a technical error as they suggest. I multiple conversations I made our circumstances and bank information very blatantly clear to LCS but they chose to challenge me and deliberately ignore such. I believe they have behaved outside of the law and consist of negligent non law abiding staff and managers. I believe their ethics are far below an acceptable standard and believe this company should be thoroughly investigated and fined by the appropriate entities. They also identified themselves on more than one occasion as Chase (NOT representing Chase but saying they were J.P. Morgan Chase Bank even after I suggested they were a third party, they replied that they were indeed Chase Bank employees.) yet the call was from LCS and not Chase Bank. When I googled this I found they had done this to several other people as well. Based on their lack of respect for the law I believe their license should be revoked. I find it interesting and strange that when I called Chase back in 2012 and tried to work out partial payments with them I was told they could not work with me because they had written-off the account just a month prior and it was no longer available in their computer system.. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/15) */ Please see the attached statement of intention to retain the property, a copy of the discharge order indicating the lien on the real property rides through the bankruptcy, as well as a copy of the recorded mortgage associated with the ****** property. Nonetheless, as we indicated previously, this file is closed in our office and we do not have the ability to release the lien. The consumer can contact JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. for further information. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/05/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Chase instructs me to contact LCS while LCS instructs me to contact Chase. (See attached letter) In June 2012 our first mortgage was modified and Chase said they would automatically adjust the second to the terms of the first. Instead they wrote off the loan and supposedly put a lien on the property. The county recorder assures me there is no such lien. I would like a copy of this lien sent to both the BBB and myself. I would like Chase to correspond to the BBB and not me or at least CC the BBB. I would like the name of the governing body for banks and financial institutions so I can lodge formal complaints against both Chase and LCS. Thank you.

4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: calling friends and family and work over a debt that was discharged I have talk with them asked them to stop they continue a discharged loan they keep calling and harassing friends family and work

Desired Settlement: stop calling friends family and work places

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/26) */ Thank you for contacting us regarding this matter. LCS Financial Services Corporation ("LCSF") takes consumer very complaints seriously. LCSF has had a chance to review Mr. *******'s complaint as well as his file. Mr. ******* is one of two signers on this mortgage file placed with our office for to resolve the outstanding lien remaining on the Fibisons' property. Mr. ******* and a Ms. **** F. ******* are co-borrowers on a loan taken out with Washington Mutual. Upon placement of this file with this office, we understood Mr. *******'s contact phone number to be ************** *********** From August 25, 2012 to April 24, 2013 this was the number at which LCSF contacted Mr. ******* and was also the number from which Mr. ******* called into the LCSF office. During this time period Mr. ******* and LCSF were discussing a possible settlement to this outstanding lien obligation. On or about April 24, 2013, Mr. ******* contacted LCSF to tell our office that he would not be able to finalize a settlement at that time. From April 24, 2013 until February 14, 2014, LCSF made attempts to contact Mr. ******* at the **** phone number, but were unable to reach him during this time. Believing that he may have moved, LCSF conducted a skip trace on Mr. *******. The skip trace uncovered one new phone number ***** ******* for the consumer. As such, on February 14, 2014, LCSF attempted to contact Mr. ******* at this new number. This phone number turned out to be Mr. *******'s mother's phone number. The LCSF agent complied with all rules and internal procedures to ensure compliance with collection laws and did not disclose this was an attempt to resolve the lien or what the phone call related to, simply that LCSF wanted to speak with Mr. ******* about a business matter and left a phone number for Mr. ******* to return the call. On February 21, 2014 Mr. ******* called LCSF and asked that we never contact his mother again, the file was noted and the 3822 number was removed as a possible number for this file. During this February 21, 2014 phone call LCSF and Mr. ******* discussed potential settlement of this outstanding lien. Thereafter, from February 15, 2014 until March 13, 2014, LCSF continued to make numerous attempts to contact Mr. ******* at the **** number, all to no avail. Therefore on March 13, 2014, LCSF again attempted a skip trace on Mr. *******; it was during this skip trace that LCSF found a phone number for the other borrower, **** F. *******. Until March 13, 2014, LCSF had been speaking with Mr. ******* as he was the party for which LCSF had a current phone number. When LCSF discovered a phone number for **** F. *******, LCSF made attempt to contact her. This phone number is at Ms. *******'s place of employment. LCSF left two messages for Ms. ******* at ***** ******** *********** the messages were left on a voice mail that indicated the mailbox was solely Ms. *******'s. Mr. ******* contacted LCSF on March 25, 2014 and requested that we cease contacting his wife at work, and pursuant to such request, we immediately removed the **** number from the file. Mr. ******* also gave us consent to contact him via his cellular telephone number at ***** ******** and continue calling his **** land line. We believe the explanation above should resolve Mr. *******'s concerns. We look forward to resolving this outstanding linen with Mr. and Ms. *******.

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel that I was misinformed and never received any type of paperwork for the money that they collected from me. I was told by this company that if I didn't pay the unresolved debt, it would remain on the credit report and destroy the credit rating. I never received any type of contract or paperwork whatsoever from this company. All information was collected over the phone, which seemed very unprofessional. I feel like I was basically guilted into and threatened to make payments. The mortgage was originated through Fannie Mae and purchased back by Fannie Mae at public auction as well, so I know that the banks were reimbursed for the negative balance. I also researched and discovered that banks need to file a deficiency judgment to collect the negative balance within one year of the sale of the home, which was at the beginning of the month. I never received any such judgement. I also found out that the second mortgage, which this company represents, is supposed to personally sue the borrower for the negative balance since it is usually written off in terms of a foreclosure.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like a refund of the $1800 that I have paid to this company. I feel that I have simply handed over this money for no reason and I know that by paying it, it will not improve the credit rating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ We have been working with this authorized third party (daughter of the consumer) for approximately one year. At no time, did LCS Financial Services Corporation ("LCS Financial") indicate or state that payments short of resolving the outstanding debt obligations would impact her father's credit-one way or the other. LCS Financial does not report to credit agencies and does not make any statements regarding how credit reporting will be impacted as such relates to payments made. The creditor clients of LCS Financial report the consumers to the credit bureaus, not LCS Financial. We are going to prepare a payment history to show what funds have been paid to LCS Financial, as an agent for SunTrust Mortgage, Inc. and will send that to the consumer's agent. Moreover, please note that all funds received by this office have been duly reported to SunTrust Mortgage, Inc. Finally, we have reviewed the calls associated with this file and can state that the consumer's daughter was not harassed or threatened. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would like LCS to get permission from Sun Trust to refund this money to me. This loan was through Fannie Mae, so this mortgage should have never been collected since it was reimbursed. In response to their statement of the "unsecured debt", I researched and found that a second mortgage holder needs to personally sue the borrower. This is obviously not what has happened since they have a third party collection company contacting myself and my father. I will continue to rebuttal against this issue until I am given back what was dishonestly taken from me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/13) */ The funds paid to this office on behalf of our creditor client have been submitted to our client already. We are not in possession of the funds previously paid, and they have been credited to the consumer's account. We cannot refund these funds without our client's consent. Moreover, the consumer's agent alleges that this debt is not collectible because it needs to be in the form of a mortgage deficiency judgment. Such is not the case, this is a second mortgage that is now unsecured due to a foreclosure of the first mortgage, but this unsecured promissory note is pursuable by our client, without the need for any further court judgment.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LCS Financial Services Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)