BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2010

Budget Control Services, Inc.

(303) 368-1500View Additional Phone Numbers2950 S Jamaica Ct Ste 200, AuroraCO 80014-2685

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/12/2010

BBB has determined that Budget Control Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Budget Control Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues7
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Budget Control Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have have been calling me on a number i never gave them authorization to call and never even provided and collecting interest on the debt.
the number they are calling me on is ************
i have never given it to them and they call it once or twice a day but its every other day i just recently noticed the interest so i have no idea how much have been paying them it has been awhile but i did have an employee of theres who was rude to me but i cant fully remeber that one.

Desired Settlement
i want an updated bill with all the interest removed or credited to the account and for them to stop calling the number i provided you with and then i will continue to pay what i owe when i can i just feel like it was harasment at that point.

Business Response
May 12, 2014

****************************
Denver/Boulder BBB
1020 Cherokee St
Denver, CO 80204

Re: # 75220230 - ****************.

Dear Ms. ******,

In response to the referenced consumer complaint by ****************., ****************************. (***) offers the following response:

Mr. ********* account was assigned to *** for collections on May 22, 2012. Our records indicate our last conversation with Mr. ******* was on July 24, 2013. The phone number we had for Mr. ******* was disconnected sometime after that conversation; the number that Mr. ******* states he gave no permission to call was located through our normal efforts to locate a consumer.

All payments that Mr. ******* has made, although sporadic, have been credited to the balance he owes. His account has accrued interest, which is by state statute.

The current disposition at this time: *** has removed the number that Mr. ******* requested, and has mailed a current listing of all payments made and the current balance due.

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rude collection worker ***** *****
Rude collection worker ***** ***** , found out $1292 on a MEDICAL bill from 2009 was taken out of my account on 12/3/2013 4 years of no contact from the company. Contacted ***** who I called 4 times and had no return calls from. I finally reached her on the 5th time calling that day. I asked if there was a way to have the amount reduced or work out something. I was told they don't work out deals or settlements and that since they had my money there was no reason to talk to me. I asked since it was paid if they can remove it from my credit report and was told once again that since they had my money they didn't need to do anything for me. I can't believe that they chose to not contact me for four years but took this money two weeks before Christmas.Perhaps ***** would like to explain that to my 2 kids.

Desired Settlement
Since the debt has been paid, I would like them to remove this from my credit report completely. Since they apparently have my money and don't need to talk to me anymore, I feel the need to complain about this company to anyone and any review site.

Business Response
***** ******* Branch Manager
Denver/Boulder BBB
1020 Cherokee St.
Denver, CO XXXXX

Re: ********-**** *********

Dear Ms. *******

In response to the referenced consumer complaint of **** *********, ****** ******* ********* Inc. (BCS) offers the following response:

In May of 2008, BCS was assigned an account for collection, in reference to Mr. *********. After numerous attempts to resolve the collection matter, a decision was made to pursue legal action and a judgment was obtained. Pursuant to the judgment a Writ of Garnishment with Notice of Exemption and Pending Levy was issued by the court and served upon his bank and funds were captured.

BCS disagrees with Mr. ********* accusation that the BCS representative was rude with him. The representative simply tried to explain that we were not able to delete his account from the credit bureau, and that upon the account being paid we will appropriately report the account as paid in full.

The current disposition, the account is pending payment from the court. It is not our practice to delete collection matters from the credit reporting agencies. However, upon receipt of the balance from the court, the matter will be considered paid and BCS will report accordingly to the credit reporting agencies and a satisfaction of judgment will be filed with the court.


Should you have any additional questions don't hesitate to contact me personally.

Respectfully,

BCS

07/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
From December 2012 through May 2013, I never received a bill or statement at my correct mailing address. Now this alleged balance is in collections.
The alleged balance should have been communicated to me by the provider via phone, email or letter to the correct address. It had all my contact info. Previous letters that were supposedly sent by BCS, Inc. also went to an incorrect address. No late fees or service fees should be assessed and the balance should be explained, as I had me my insurance deductible.

Desired Settlement
Removal of claim from collections and issuance of alleged balance, free of any extraneous fees.

Business' Initial Response
June 21, 2013

************, Branch Manager
Denver/Boulder BBB
1020 Cherokee St
Denver, CO 80204

Re: # ******** - ****** ********

Dear Ms. ******,

In response to the referenced consumer complaint by ****** ********, Budget Control Services, Inc. (BCS) offers the following response:

Mr. ********'s account was assigned to our agency, for collections, in May of 2013. A BCS collection representative had communicated with Mr. ******** by phone on May 29th. In which, a correction was made to the address and we resent him our first notice.

BCS was not made aware, until after receiving this complaint, that Mr. ******** had a dispute with his account. We have since mailed an explanation of charges to him. With regards to late fees and service fees, as mentioned in his complaint, being accessed, BCS does not charge either. His account has accrued interest, which is by state statute. However, given the circumstance, BCS is willing to waive the interest upon resolution of his account.

Should you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Respectfully,


******* ******
President/CEO

06/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
dealt with a very rude lady named **** ****** a few times regarding setting up payment arrangements.She harassed my family and now being sued.
The collection that is being referenced is one for medical bills when I had my baby. I am admitting to taking responsibility for the debt and that I need to get it in good standing. I had faced many financial issues after losing my job when my baby was born and once I regained employment I had to pay catch up with plenty of bills. This lady, **** called and I told her to call me once I figured out my financial situation. She did, but only after calling my ex husband, and many members of my family over and over- When I spoke with her again I told her I could afford to make two small payments a month instead of one big one because of the way my others bills fell and the way my pay days worked. I told her what I could afford and she wouldn't budge. admittedly, I got mad. She then proceeded to call my family and ex husband over and over and over and be flat out rude to them. Once she called me again we came upon an agreement but I was driving and couldn't give her my bank information over the phone at that time. She said she would call back. Apparently when we hung up she called my ex husband and family, yet again! So when she finally called me back I was iratated with her and I told her to stop calling me. At which point she told me upper management would be contacting me. Fine With Me!....I never heard from "upper management"...instead I got served papers at work and am being sued! I have reached out to their attorneys to resolve it and no response. I would love to get this taken care of but this company is flat out horrible! every review I have read on them says the same thing. There is a common denominator here.

Desired Settlement
I would love for them to call me so we can resolve this with out having to go to court. I made it clear that I was wanting to get it settled. That woman was just the wrong person to handle it. I am admitting to needing to pay the medical bills, but to harass everyone I know after I offered you money and then tell me upper management was going to "handle me case" and then have me served papers at work in front of everyone before said "upper management" contacted me? Not how it should have been handled.

Business' Initial Response
June 10, 2013

***** ******, Branch Manager
Denver/Boulder BBB
1020 Cherokee St
Denver, CO 80204

Re: # ******** - ******* ******

Dear Ms. ******,

In response to the referenced consumer complaint by ******* ***** (Ms. *****), Budget Control Services, Inc. (BCS) offers the following response:

BCS denies, as Ms. ***** alleges, that we refused to resolve this matter with her amicably. We attempted on numerous occasions to work out an arrangement with Ms. *****, but to no avail was she responsive. In fact, she requested no more calls from BCS. Because of her refusal to communicate or to pay, her account went to litigation.

The current disposition at this time: Ms. ***** has since contacted our office and we have entered into a payment stipulation.

Should you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Respectfully,


Timothy Martin
President/CEO

Consumer's Final Response
I did call this company again last week and spoke with a very friendly gentleman about working out arrangements for my case. I was informed that the horrible lady I dealt with before was no longer with the company. Hopefully I can resolve this with them now and maybe she was the problem all along. Fingers crossed!

03/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has a collection amount on my credit report for which I have NEVER been contacted nor sent a bill.
This orgainization says that I have failed to pay an amount that was originated with another company (*******************g.) I have NEVER been contacted nor sent a bill from ******************** or Budget Services. If I do in fact owe them the money I am more than happy to pay it but I want the derogatory information removed from my credit report.

Desired Settlement
If I owe this organization money I will be more than happy to pay. I want proof that I owe and I want all derogatory information (late payments, collection information) removed from my credit report.

Business' Initial Response
March 18, 2013

************, Branch Manager
Denver/Boulder BBB
1020 Cherokee St
Denver, CO 80204

Re: # ******** - ****** *****

Dear Ms. ******,

In response to the referenced complaint of ****** *****, Budget Control Services, Inc., (BCS) offers the following response: Mr. *****'s account was assigned to BCS for collections, September 17th 2012. We attempted to correspond with Mr. *****, but the address on file, which was provided to us from our client, was return as "moved with no forwarding address".

Additionally, we tried calling a telephone number that was provided by our client for Mr. *****, several messages were left, but to date we have received no return calls.

On March 6th we received a credit inquiry, made by Mr. *****, which listed a current address.
We have since updated the address on file and have mailed correspondence, along with validation of this debt, to him.

The current disposition: We are currently waiting for Mr. *****'s response to resolve this outstanding balance, and upon resolution we will agree to request the deletion of any credit remarks for this account from Mr. *****'s credit history. .

Should you have any additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact me personally.

Respectfully,


Timothy Martin
President/Owner

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Ms ******- your information in incorrect. I moved mid December to Portland , Or. My previous address is where I lived for the last year and a half. My phone number changed on January but had not changed for the 5 years before that. I was turned down for credit somewhere and pulled my credit and that is how I found out about this. I will pay today but I want all collection and derogatlory information removed from my account. I was not given a fair opportunity to pay this bill and I was NEVER contacted about it by you or Cherry Creek Imaging!

Sincerely,
****** *****.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Attorneys - Collections Law, Billing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/13/1993Business started: 02/02/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1987, CO

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Timothy Martin (President)
Business Category

Collection Agencies, Attorneys - Collections Law, Billing Service

Industry Tips
Collection Agencies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Budget Control Services, Inc.

2950 S Jamaica Ct Ste 200

Aurora, CO 80014-2685

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2950 S Jamaica Ct Ste 200 

    Aurora, CO 80014-2685(303) 368-1500
    (800) 482-2772

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Budget Control Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 482-2772
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Collection Agencies

Collection Agencies
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.