BBB Accredited Business since

Pro! Flooring Brokers

Phone: (303) 788-0113 Fax: (303) 788-1335 2095 W Hampden Ave., Englewood, CO 80110 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pro-flooring.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pro! Flooring Brokers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Pro! Flooring Brokers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pro! Flooring Brokers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1981 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 01/01/1981 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Pierce, President/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Pierce, President/Owner
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New Resilient & Vinyl Flooring Floors - Hardwood Floor Coverings & Installation Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Products & Services

Pro! Flooring Brokers sells the following brand(s): American Olean, Arizona Tile, Armstrong, Barrett Carpet, Beaulieu, Bigelow/Lee's, Bolyu Carpet, Camelot Carpet, Capco Tile, Design Materials, Dixie Home, Dream Weaver, Earthwerks, Gallery, Glenrock Distributing, Kahrs, Karndean, Kentwood Hardwood, Kraus, Mannington, Marratzi Tile, Mohawk Carpet, Patcraft Carpet, Roppe, Royalty Carpet, Shaw Carpet, Surface Art Tile, Tuftex Carpet

Pro! Flooring Brokers offers the following product(s): Carpet, Hardwood, Laminate, Luxury Vinyl, Tile & Stone, Vinyl

Alternate Business Names
Flying Carpet Company Inc
Industry Tips
Flooring

Additional Locations

  • 2095 W Hampden Ave.

    Englewood, CO 80110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pro Flooring was contracted 4-15-15 to apply tile and base to the main floor bathroom of our home. They have left the job unfinished. Pro flooring has failed to finish the tile and base application to our main floor bathroom. Workmen state the will come back to finish and call with any problems and actually do neither. Calls to Pro Flooring are not returned by staff that can get the job finished. The bathroom can not be used in it's present state. We need help with this issue now.

Desired Settlement: We want Pro Flooring to finish the job or release us to get another firm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/01) */ The original install of marble in the customer's bathroom was on May 11, 2015. Some of the marble broke in the process of being installed and more was ordered immediately, but the marble was on back order for a month. The marble came in and the installer went to customer's home to finish the job on Tuesday, June 22nd. All of the wall tile was installed. However, after the installer polished the marble for the wall base, the customers decided they did not like the way it looked and said they wanted to use a different product for the wall base. The customer wife called the office that day and the following day and spoke with staff several times about not wanting the wall base which they originally approved. The owner was out in the field for the next few days, but he called customer back on Friday, June 26. He told him to choose the product he wants for the wall base and Pro Flooring will have it installed. We are waiting for the customer to choose new material before we can install the wall base. I spoke with the customer today and he said he has found a marble wall base that he likes and has ordered it. It will be in town around July 8th. Customer will let us know when it is here and we will schedule the installer to install the base.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water dropped on new hardwood floor. Sealant didn't work and stain was compromised. Zero response from company after physical visit and 4 left msgs. We signed a proposal with Pro-Flooring on 3/14/14 for $3,910.96 to add new hardwood flooring in our dining room and to sand, refinish and seal new & existing hardwood floors. Work was completed on 4/9 through 4/11. Payment in full was tendered on 4/12. Water, in the amount of approximately of ½ cup, from a steam iron was inadvertently left on the floor for 2 to 4 hours on 5/5. The water soaked through the sealant and tainted the stain. Pictures of the damage were taken and shown to Pro-Flooring on 5/6. We were advised that they would get back with us and discuss a repair at no cost as the sealant should have worked. My wife left her first follow-up message with **** ****** on 5/8 and was advised that ******* ****** would return her call to discuss a repair. After 2 days, she called back and was advised that they had to research and find who did the staining/sealing and would call back. Another 3 days passed and **** advised they were very busy but still had no answers. My wife left another message the week of 5/12 with no response. I called on 5/19 and talked with **** again. She advised that they still didn't have an answer but if they had to do any work there would be an additional charge. Asked her to have ******* call me on my cell or home phone no. As of 5/23, we have not heard any response.

Desired Settlement: We would simply like our floor repaired. This may include re-sanding, staining and re-sealing the floor in the damaged area. Essentially, we would like Pro-Flooring to stand behind their work and honor their word.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/09) */ Pro Flooring agrees that a proposal was signed on 3/4/14 for $3910.96 to add new hardwood flooring and to sand and refinish all hardwood. The work was completed and approved by customers on 4/11/14 and customers paid in full on 4/12/14. Customer wife called and brought pictures of the floor to Pro Flooring on 5/6/14. She said she had accidentally spilled something on it from a steam iron. The substance was left on the floor for 2 - 4 hours and it was now stained. She had tried recommended cleaners and was not able to remove the stain. She asked what she should do since she did not want to pay someone to come out and re-do it. ******* ******, owner of Pro Flooring, suggested she try to gently rub soft scrub first in an inconspicuous area to make sure it did not alter the finish. If it did not alter the finish, she could try it in the affected area at her own risk. She did that and called back and said it looked good, so we thought the matter was resolved. On 5/8/14 wife customer called again saying her husband did not like the way the area looked. She was told that the floor was completed to their satisfaction on 4/11/14 and the damage was not the fault of Pro Flooring Brokers. She proposed that the installer be scheduled to go to their home again to give an estimate for what it would cost to refinish the section of the floor that had been damaged by spilling the substance from the iron on it. Customer husband said they were not paying for anything, that is was "Pro Flooring's deal and they needed to fix it". When we spoke to customer husband on 5/19/14 he said he was not willing for us to ask the manufacturer of the finish to evaluate the floor. Regardless, we contacted the installer to find out the finish he used on the job so we could contact the manufacturer's rep. A message was left for customer husband advising him the next step in fact would be to schedule the rep. to evaluate the floor. He was asked if he would like for us to do that. On 6/3/14 customer husband called and e-mailed Pro Flooring saying he would now like for us to contact the manufacturer of the finish and ask them to evaluate the floor, which we agreed to do. The rep from Denver Hardwood was called on 6/5/14. He said that no wood floor finish is completely impervious to water and the oil base finish which was used on this floor is not resistant to chemicals. The manufacturer would take the stance that the customers put the finish beyond its reasonable usage (which would be for quick wipe ups of water spills). He said that water is the transportation agent and when it dries whatever is in it is seen as a stain. By leaving the liquid with some substance in it on the floor for 2-4 hours the customers were responsible for the resultant damage. In order to resolve this matter Pro Flooring makes the offer to screen and coat the affected area for a reduced price of $442.00, unless we find that the full sand and coat is required (which is not anticipated). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) June 12, 2014 Better Business Bureau Servicing Denver/Boulder Case # XXXXXXXX BBB, There inferences and distortion of facts in Pro-Flooring's response of 6/9/14 are so numerous that we feel compelled to have them surfaced. First, the reason my wife took a picture and drove down to Pro-Flooring was because they were too busy to come to the house and look at the stain. Secondly, the "substance" that was spilled was artesian water from a steam iron. There were no other chemicals or substance introduced until advised by ******* ****** at Pro-Flooring to use soft scrub to remove the stain. At no time were we advised to proceed at our own risk. We relied heavily on ********** recommendation as we considered him and Pro-Flooring to be the "experts" on hardwood floors. On 5/6/14, she was advised that if ********** recommendation did not work to call back to the office and that if further repair was needed it would be at no cost as the sealant should have worked. The next contact with Pro-Flooring was on 5/8/14, when my wife called back and stated that ********** recommended solution did remove the stain but had tainted the wood stain and dulled the finish. As stated in our original compliant, our first follow-up message was with **** ****** and we were advised that ******* ****** would return her call. Again without success, my wife did ask for ******* or a representative of Pro-Flooring come out to our home and review the damage. She also stated that if the damage was the result of the water spill we would like an estimate to repair the damage keeping in mind that any subsequent damage was due to ********** recommendation. We would respectfully ask them to take this into consideration when providing an estimate. **** was going to research and find out the manufacturer of the sealant used on our floor and we would get back to us. At no time was it communicated that we were satisfied with the resolution. As outlined in our original complaint, there were 3 follow-up messages with no response prior to my call of 5/19/14. I do not think any reasonable person could perceive that after three phone calls in less than 2 weeks that the matter was resolved. When I spoke with **** on 5/19/14, we were advised that they still didn't have a response from the manufacturer representative but if they had to do any additional work there would be a charge. I did state that we should not have to pay anything as it appeared that the damage was the result of inadequate sealant further compounded by ********** recommendation. I also asked **** how they could determine that the cause of the damage was 100% our responsibility when they had not even been out to see the damage or talked to the manufacturer representative. Her response was to parrot her previous response. As stated, I asked ******* to contact either my cell phone or home phone as ****'s response was so different from our original conversations. At no time were ever presented with the opportunity to have either the manufacturer representative or a representative of Pro-Floor to come out and look at the damage. Ironically, this is exactly what my wife and I had been asking for since 5/6 with no response. On 6/3/14, there was no telephone conversation with the company. I sent an e-mail directly to ******* ****** asking for a resolution based on two different floor contractors review of the damage (e-mail copies attached). Clearly there was never an offer from Pro-Flooring to send a representative or the manufacturer's representative out to look at the floor. As to the discussion with Denver Hardwood on 6/5/14 we find it quite interesting. First, Denver Hardwood is a wholesaler and not a manufacturer of sealant and stain. Regardless of this fact, we are highly suspect that ******* ever explained the full situation which would have included his recommendation to use soft scrub to try to remove the stain. Base on his final comment "By leaving the liquid with some substance in it on the floor for 2-4 hours the customers were responsible for the resultant damage." we are quite certain that the facts were selective feed to Denver Hardwood. Once again, I am not certain how anyone, Denver Hardwood or Pro-Flooring, can make this decision without seeing the damage. In spite of the inferences, distortion of facts and just overall extremely poor service, we are appreciative that Pro-Flooring has finally proposed a resolution after six weeks of phone calls, e-mails and filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. While we are still puzzled as to how they came up with the $442.00 proposal without ever seeing the damage. However, we would counter propose the following: 1.Pro-Flooring will repair the affected area and return it to its original condition as of 4/11/14 to match the remaining hardwood floors, which may include sanding, re-staining and sealing. We would like this completed no later than 6/30/14. 2. The cost of $442.00 should be equally shared at $221.00 per party as the cause and subsequent damage was caused by my wife's spilling of water on the floor and not wiping it up in a timely fashion, as well as Pro-Flooring's recommendation to use soft scrub to remove the stain. 3. Pro-Flooring to provide the manufacturer's name, address, phone number of the stain and sealant along with an adequate description of the stain and sealant to provide a new contractor the ability to provide future maintenance on the hardwood floor. Please note that this is not Denver Hardwood as they are a wholesaler. Thank you, *** ******* cc: Pro-Flooring Brokers Attachments Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/06/20) */ We agree to the following: 1. Pro Flooring will screen and coat the floor and return it to a better condition than before the spill from the iron by adding a 3rd coat of finish. We have checked with our installer and he is available to do the work next week either on Thursday, June 26 or Friday, June 27. We ask that the customer call the office to confirm a date. 2. Based on the square footage of the floor, $442.00 is the amount (at cost) our installer will charge to repair the spill area and screen and coat the entire floor. The total of $442.00 will be equally shared at $221.00 per party. Customers will pay their portion to Pro Flooring before any work begins. 3. The product to be used is Bona Mega Floor Finish. The installer will leave any remaining finish from the gallon container after he is done with the repair for the customer's future use. The stain and finish manufacturer is Bona US Bona US, **** ***** ****** **** ***** **** ******* CO XXXXX. Customer Service: ************@bona.com ************ (7 a.m. - 5 p.m. MST) 4. It is expressly stated that Pro Flooring is agreeing to pay for 1/2 of the installer's fee as a goodwill gesture, not because they are accepting responsibility for damage to the original hardwood job completed on 4/11/14.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pro! Flooring Brokers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)