This business is not BBB accredited.

LA Boxing

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 841-6272 Fax: (720) 862-2154 17002 Mainstreet, Unit L, Parker, CO 80134 http://www.laboxing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LA Boxing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LA Boxing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 27, 2009 Business started: 08/01/2007 Business started locally: 08/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mike Searls, Owner Mr. Aaron Knudsen, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Searls, Owner
Business Category

Boxing Gym Martial Arts Weight Control Services Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health & Wellness Health Clubs Fitness Centers

Industry Tips
Health Clubs Weight Loss Promotions

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10450 Towncenter Drive

    Westminster, CO 80021

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    17002 Mainstreet, Unit L

    Parker, CO 80134

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7824 Park Meadows Drive

    Lone Tree, CO 80124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8023 S. Broadway

    Littleton, CO 80122

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This gym is neglecting to resolve my account issues and remove my past due balance despite multiple attempts to contact them. I joined this gym last year on a month to month no contact membership. After finding out I was pregnant and being advised to stop kickboxing by my doctor, I went in to cancel my account. *****, the manager at the time convinced me to put my account on hold until a later date and that I could cancel anytime if I wanted to. A few months after I called back and talked to ***** who said he would cancel my account. On *******, 2015 I received a call from collections stating I had a past due balance with this gym. I immediately called the gym to find out they had reactivated my account in ****l and begin charging a bank account I didn't regularly use anymore. They charged me for 3 months without my knowing it. It wasn't until I got a new bank card with a different number resulting in payments not going through and the balance being sent to collections that I even realized this was happening. The new manager **** said I'd have to fill out the cancellation form now and he could take care of it. I emailed back the signed form on *******, 2015. After no response, I called on ******,2015 and ***** confirmed they had received the form and we're working on it. I called back again on *******, 2015 and was told they were still working on it. I now have another months fee and late fees on my account according to the collection company. Please help.

Desired Settlement: I would like the gym to refund the months of membership dues I was charged without even knowing and have the past due balance and late fees removed from my account.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/07/23) */

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unknowningly signed me up under a contract without my consent. I was told I was signing injury waiver and equiptment use not a contract. In a nut shell, I went into the local Westminster CO location to attend a free kickboxing class that was being offered. After my session was over I was approached by a member of the staff while I was walking out the door. He was talking to me about a membership, to which I informed him I was interested however I would have to run it by my significant other first before signing any contracts. He was ok with this and suggested that we get "the process started" and sign a few "general forms." He explained to me that the different forms I was signing, electronically which I did not see his side of the computer I was left with just the signature pad in front of me, were for correct use and treatment of the equipment and of course an accidental injury waiver.He called me a few days later and asked if I still planned on getting the membership. To which I explained to him the situation but I would get back with him about it within the next week. Not less than a week later I started getting "delinquent" calls on my "account" with *********. I contacted the department who was calling and explained the situation to which they advise me that my situation was less than ethical but they could not do anything for me and said I should return to the gym and take care of it there. I did, this is where I spoke to a member of management the first time. He agreed with me in that SINCE NO CREDIT CARD INFORMATION WAS EVER GIVEN, and that I NEVER RETURNED TO USE ANY OTHER SERVICES that I should not be getting these phone calls and that cancelling my "account" wouldn't be a problem.

Desired Settlement: I just want the "debt" I supposedly owe cancelled out and it not reflected on my credit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) */ Because this membership was from nearly a year ago and the member does not want to use the club we have cancelled out the membership and past due amounts. Should member wish to re-join it would be a current prevailing membership rates. Account is closed. Thank you

2/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After canceling membership in October 2013 was informed by billing agency that my daughter's and my account were setup for auto-renewal. Membership was canceled in person in October 2013, was told by GM that membership fees and cancellation were processed.Continue to receive emails stating account is passed due,with membership renewal in process.Contacted GM multiple times with no resolution.Contacted billing agency with no assistance, contacted corporate office with no assistance. GM is unprofessional, makes sexual advances to all of his female clients, and is unprofessional in all aspects.Credit cards on file have been canceled to prevent billing to account after membership had been canceled. Do not wish to receive to compensation, just a cancellation of the two accounts that were established. 50 sessions of personal training were purchased, but never redeemed. If GM feels account is due, then the the $1500 dollars can be processed for payment. The gym, it's employees do not conduct themselves in a matter that is professional. Members attend the gym and pay good money to workout, attend classes, not be propositioned in very inappropriate ways, listen to the very personal details of their private lives.

Desired Settlement: Proper cancellation of the two memberships. No money is requested. Requesting no more contact from the gym, billing agencies or anyone associated to the business both to myself and my daughter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/05) */ I have cancelled the past due balances pending internal review. I have waived late and past due balances. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Cancellation message was received on the one account, however, the second account for my daughter has yet to be cancelled and she continues to receive past due notices. Business Response /* (1000, 24, 2014/02/05) */ From: *********** Sent: Tuesday, February 04, 2014 4:16 PM To: ************** Subject: Fwd: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#****************************) Hi ****** - *********** here from UFC Gym (Formerly LA Boxing). This complaint appears to be unsettled but it actually is. I did cancel their membership, late fees and penalties. Their account balance is $0 and we have written it off with no further collections efforts. Can you help me clean this up since it shows as unresolved? Thank you, **** ***********, Owner UFC Gyms of Colorado **************** Littleton / Westminster / Parker / Highlands Ranch Begin forwarded message:

11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed an account freeze agreement for the months of February, March and April 2013. They charged me to a full month for February and March. I signed an account freeze agreement for the months of February, March and April 2013. They charged me to a full month for February and March. I have a copy of the freeze agreement contract and bank statements showing the charges. They have not reimbursed my account. I have chosen to end my contract with LA Boxing in June and never responded with a solution until two weeks ago. I not have to pay them $240 in late fees plus a $50 cancellation fee. They are awful with responding to customer inquiries and service.

Desired Settlement: I want them to settle on refunding me $158 for the months of February and March 2013 and also $50 for the cancellation fee when they did not give me this option in June.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/11/04) */ We have done everything we can for this member including cancelling over $1,000 in contract value. We have done all we can. Our collections company show $0 balance and a large contract balance written off. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LA Boxing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)