BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/30/2010

Right Start

(888) 856-80044643 S Ulster St Ste 1200, DenverCO 80237-2868View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/30/2010

BBB has determined that Right Start meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Right Start's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Right Start

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested replacement car seat/store credit to replace current seat recently installed by a professional. Car seat does not feel secure.
Car seat was purchased 01/2013 and installed professionally on 07/28/13. Car seat did not feel secure enough. Base was secure but seat is not. The model is Marathon 70 G3 Serial number is ************* was manufactured 10/2012 and Purchased online from RightStart.com (**************.Item was paid for by personal credit card. I was told to contact Britax to resolve the issue but they did nothing for me. Britax asked me to contact Right Start for exchnage/return because Britax had "nothing to do with the sale". Both Britax and Right Start- said there is nothing wrong with the seat and cannot refund/return/exchange the product. I will not place my child in a car seat that is not secure. I wanted to exchange the seat for the same product. Now, I don't want to deal with Britax or Right Start- so I would just like a refund.

Desired Settlement
No Settlement/Exchange. Refund Only.

Business' Initial Response
We do have a 30 day return policy that we generally adhere to but if the customer can bring her car and car seat to one of our Los Angeles stores (since she is in LA), one of our certified car seat installers can also look at the product. The seat was purchased in January and at the end of July was installed (seems to be a fairly long period between purchase and use). Because of safety regulations we do have stricter policies on returns for car seats that have been opened and possibly used for a short period. My suggestion for resolution is to stop by one of our stores (all store addresses are on our site - rightstart.com) for a certified install review.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I understand their policy. The mistake I made was buying the seat on sale and waiting so long to install. And as I stated before, I will not put my child in a seat that has been professionally installed twice that I still feel is not safe. I have been to Right Start and I was told they have no professional installers on-site (***** ******) So I'm note sure which other location in all of LA has certified installers. I have purchased a new carseat to replace this one- and there are no issues. I will not waste anymore time or money with Right Start or Britax.

09/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Site advertised sale price $256 save $90 off use code BRIT30.When you went to check out it only gave you $30.Have documented proof of advertisement!
I was shopping the internet trying to find the best price on the Britax Boulevard G4 Convertible car seat.The average price advertised was $256 with a $30 off discount, free shipping and no tax. When I came across that Rightstart.com was advertising $256 with $90 off discount, free shipping and no tax.So I proceeded to there site to place the order(i did double check the page to make sure this was what was advertised). When I proceeded to check out I entered the code as advertised and found that it only took $30 off from the $256 sale price and not the $90 off using the code(BRIT30) as advertised, so I called the company in order to fix the problem. While the page did remove the shipping charge it did not remove the tax charge.They refused to honor the price so I then contact there member service complaint department via email. This all took place from July 28,2014 until my last correspondence on August 1, 2014. I would be glad to forward all evidence including: when they changed the advertising to reflect $30 off instead of $90 and how they lied to me stating they had never advertised $90 off. I did send them a copy of there web page showing otherwise before they changed it without honoring the advertised price to me.I was in direct contact with ***** ** and **** ** from there online Customer Service Department and was not allowed to correspond with anyone else.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to honor the price of $166 for the Britax Boulevard G4 Convertible Car Seat with free shipping and no tax as originally advertised by them and whatever compensation is appropriate for my time and effort in this matter. This price would reflect the $256 with the savings of $90.I ask that Right Start make sure they will not do this again to other consumers and if by some chance they do, they make every effort to honor what was advertised.

Business Response
As we mentioned to the customer previously, the $90 off was the total price off the regular price. For this promotion we sold about 60 car seats and unfortunately (or fortunately) this was the only comment about the pricing. We didn't think the pricing was misleading.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response. In our email and phone correspondence they admitted there was other complaints about this advertisement. They also changed their advertisement to reflect $30 off . Why would this be the case if nothing was wrong with their original advertisement. I guess I would like them to explain in detail how the math works the way they are explaining it. This is all obfuscating and they are trying to avoid the fact that they try to mislead customers using deceitful practices. I have evidence to back all I have claimed and have noticed I am not the first person to file a claim against them regarding advertising. I would like to know if those sales were before or after they changed their advertisement on their website to reflect $30 instead of $90 after I contacted them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your business has not proposed a resolution to date. I would like to purchase the item for what was advertised also:
1. In the first attachment file you will see your original advertisement for save $90 off using code brit30 on the $256 sale price
2. In the second attachment file you will see upon checkout and using code Brit30 you are only given $30 off the sale price and not the $90 off the sale price as advertised. This is bait and switch.
3. In the third attachment you will see how the company corrected their advertisement to reflect $30 off the sale price instead of $90 off using code Brit30. This correction was done after I had contacted the Costumer service department. They still refused to honor the original advertisement and as they are continueing to do.

Final Business Response
We will agree to honor the savings off the regular price or the additional $30 off the sale price.

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
RIGHTSTART ADVERTISE MAGIC GARDEN TABLE and 2 CHAIRS SET FOR 98$.I ordered 7/21/14 items,they confirmed delivery date,7/28/14. On 7/22/14 they canceled my order claiming falsely OUT OF STOCK.Online present ads on item clearly state IN STOCK! ITS CLEAR ORIGINAL PRICE THEY ADVERTISE was false or error.WE UNDERSTAND COMPANIES HAVE TO FULFILL ADVERTISE PRICE. THANK YOU
Product_Or_Service: MAGIC GARDEN TABLE and 2 CHAIRS SET
Order_Number: XXX-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
THEY SHOULD BE PROFESSIONAL AND HONOR ADVERTISE PRICE WHEN I ORDERED 7/21/14,AND SEND ME ITEM AS ORDER.

Business Response
Unfortunately this was listed wrong on the ****** site so we could not fulfill the order. We provided a full refund for the customer and allowed them to keep the table. While it's not quite what they wanted, we think it was a fair compromise given the wrong listing on ******.com's website.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I NEVER RECEIVED ANY PARTS OF ORDER,DID'T RECEIVED OFFER TO KEEP TABLE,THEY JUST CANCELED BEFORE SENDING ANY ITEM.FASLELY STATING OUT OF STOCK.IF THEY ARE WILLING TO SEND ME (TABLE)I'LL APRECIATE IT AND CLOSE CASE.EVEN IF I PAY 50% OF THE 98$ ADVERTISE, FREE SHIPPING WAS THE ORIGINAL ADVERTISMENT ALSO. THANKS

Final Business Response
Unfortunately there was an image error on *********** We did issue a full refund. I would ask ********** if they would be willing to give her anything for posting the wrong image.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they claim full refund,my credit card was never charged,they claim they let me keep table,never recieved any items,they claim out of stock and won't recieve any more stock in future.All these claims were false and in bad taste.

05/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company had listed a car seat on their website for $99. I made the purchase, then received an email stating the company had the price wrong.
I purchased the Combi Coccoro Convertible Car Seat from the company's website. The price was listed as $99. I purchased the item, and the funds were removed from my account. I received a confirmation with my order number (#*********). I then received an email saying that my order had shipped. The next email I received said my order had been cancelled because their company had accidentally put in the wrong price. They offered to solve this by offering me to purchase the car seat for $199, which is over the price that many other companies sell it for. I'm frustrated that the company is not honoring the price that they advertized. I used paypal to pay for this purchase. I would like to purchase the car seat at the advertized price and the company refuses. I spoke to a ***** when I called customer service, and also had an email conversation with ***********, both said that the only way to purchase the car seat was to pay the $199 price, which as stated above is more than most other sites are selling it for. I think it's important that a company stand behind their products and prices.

Desired Settlement
I would like to purchase the Combi Coccoro Convertible Car Seat at the advertized price of $99.

Business' Initial Response
As we had mentioned to *******, we unfortunately had a typo on our website which listed this car seat at a retail prices that was much less than our cost. It was not advertised in any type of marketing material and once we identified the problem (in one day), we immediately corrected the mistake and informed ******* of the input error on our site. We offered it $199.99 (a discount off today's price), but she did not want to take advantage of this discount.

As a follow-up, we referred ******* to our Terms of Use document which informs all users of the site that errors like this may occur and we may need to cancel orders.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't know why the company thinks offering me a price that is higher than other places (amazon, for example) would be an offer I entertained. Clearly this company does not stand behind their prices. I will make sure I steer clear of this company in the future, and make sure my friends and family do as well. I can not shop with a company that does not stand behind their employees or the prices they have entered. It's really unfortunate that customers are not valued as they used to be.

Business' Final Response
When ********** initially contacted us, we told her that the price online was an input error by one of our employees and that we could not honor the price online because it was below our cost. The price was changed immediately. We offered a smaller discount of 10% off the $199 price but she declined & we would still make this offer today.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/12/2010Business started: 01/01/1985Business started locally: 09/16/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2009, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Wagner (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Henry (Corporate Controller)Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Miyaki (Director of Operations/Customer Service)
Business Category

Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers, Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Baby Products, Strollers, Car Seats, Baby Registry

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Visit our website at www.RightStart.com for full details

Alternate Business Names
LMC Right Start Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Right Start

4643 S Ulster St Ste 1200

Denver, CO 80237-2868

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4643 S Ulster St Ste 1200 

    Denver, CO 80237-2868(888) 856-8004

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Right Start is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Baby Car Seats, Carriages & Strollers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.