BBB Accredited Business since

Ship a Car Direct

Phone: (866) 221-1664 Fax: (818) 979-0250 150 Murray St Unit 224, Niwot, CO 80544 http://www.shipacardirect.com/car-shipping-rates.php


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ship a Car Direct meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ship a Car Direct include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

19 Customer Reviews on Ship a Car Direct
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 14
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 19

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 21, 2013 Business started: 01/11/2008 Business started locally: 01/11/2008 Business incorporated 06/13/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Strickland, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Strickland, Owner
Business Category

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies

Alternate Business Names
Honesty First Auto Transport Safe-Direct Car Shipping

Additional Locations

  • 150 Murray St Unit 224

    Niwot, CO 80544 (866) 221-1664

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was damaged during shipping and after submitting a claim they are not responding to inquiries. I keep being told that someone will contact me tomorrow and have yet to receive any further communication whatsoever. This is going into week three since my vehicle was delivered.

Desired Settlement: The carbon fiber splitter was cracked and is irreparable so I would like to be compensated to purchase a new unit.

Business Response:

I’m sorry *** that our communication has been lacking.  We strive every day to create a smooth process of communications with our customers as well as the carriers that move cars for us.  When that process becomes unsatisfactory to a customer we work hard to find out why.  The carrier in your situation has not been responding as quickly as we would like.  I will have both our Operations Manager as well as our Claims Manager reach out to you today to make sure we can resolve your damage claim as soon as possible.  Thanks for the feedback, it is appreciated.

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I haven't been assigned a carrier after 7 days with ship a car direct and my order was made almost two weeks ago! I made an order with ship a car direct on Dec 13th and the salesperson is Jason. The first available date I chose to pick up my car is 18th. Today is 26th already and I haven't been assigned a carrier. I called the salesperson Jason many many time in the past four days and he never picked the phone, even though today he wrote me an email to ask me to call him. I did call him but found out he is not in his office from the customer service. How did he ask to call him even if he is not in?! I also talked to the customer service, **** and his supervisor on 23rd. They all told me I will be contacted within an hour and I will be provided a carrier for the next day. Nevertheless, three days passed by and I wasn't contacted at all. I am shipping my car from Baltimore and I am leaving on 30th.

Desired Settlement: I will my car will be picked up before 30th and the company 'ship a car direct 'will provide a full explanation and be responsible for this huge delay!

Business Response: Our sincere apologies for the delays and any confusion. The Christmas holiday season is hands down the most frustrating time to ship a car, as you are finding out, because so many drivers take time off, creating a backlog of orders. I must also apologize for your confusion around your email from Jason; that email was a system generated auto email that goes out only if we get beyond 5 days from your first available pick up date, it was not sent manually by Jason. It's a failsafe that I, as the owner, put in place to make sure that you and my salesperson are in clear problem solving mode at that point, because under normal circumstances if you get that far beyond your first available pick up date, it is a serious problem that needs to be addressed. In this case, the Holiday put us in a situation that was a bit beyond our control, but we were able to find a carrier that was active through the holiday, even though they, unfortunately, charged a higher rate that we were anticipating. We therefore waived our fee and performed our service for free on this one.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I understand some of the reasons are from holiday season, but my order was made on 13th which was way before the holiday. Even if those emails were automatically sent by the system, before the salesperson left for vacation, at least he should had informed me he would leave. Because there were other salesperson who stayed during the break and indeed helped moving the car. I don't think there is any reason I should wait for salesperson come back from a break and take care of the business without any notice. 

Sincerely,

***** **

Business Response: I agree with you. We will make sure that our marketing settings are such that no auto responder emails go out over the Christmas holiday or other major holidays and that all salespeople notify their customers when they will be out. I'm glad to hear that both our other sales staff and our 24/7 customer support staff were able to handle your order and that you car have been delivered safely to it's destination. That you for your feedback on our areas in need of improvement. You have my assurance that I will address them.

9/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business has on multiple occasions defaulted on the terms of the initial contract in ways that have cost me more than initial quotes. I originally contacted Ship-A-Car Direct on July 9, 2015 to ship my vehicle from ***** ******** ** to ******** *** I received a quote of $825 (including a $30 rebate) from the company. In what is, I believe, another misleading business practice, I was not told that the $30 rebate would only be issued after I submitted a review of Ship A Car's services. This amount included a $225 booking feet to be paid to Ship A Car Direct and $630 to be paid to the driver. I received quotes from other companies, but Ship A Car was the least (with the rebate) so I selected their company. I contracted with Ship A Car on July 17, 2015 for a shipment between July 27-28. In contracting with the company, I made them explicitly aware that I had a flight on July 28, so I needed to have my car picked up before then. On July 27, 2015, ******, from Ship A Car, contacted me and said that they had a carrier. However, the carrier wanted an additional $70 for the shipment. With this new quote, Ship A Car was suddenly the most expensive of the quotes that I received. I felt back into a corner. Because of my scheduled July 28 departure from ***** ******** which I had repeatedly made clear to Ship A Car, there was no time to try to secure a new company. So I accepted the carrier after Ship A Car agreed to take $25 off of their booking fee. I was not happy about it and had already resolved to contact the BBB about what I believe to be bait and switch business practices. Since my car was delivered, I have received no additional information about the promised $30 rebate. I believe this is because ****** knows that I will not have a positive review of my experience with the company. So I have ultimately ended up paying $75 more than quoted for this shipment. Just a note, I am submitting the claim at this point because I have been occupied with planning a service for a dear relative who passed away at the end of July.

Desired Settlement: At this time, the only acceptable resolution of this issue is the complete refund of my booking fee--a total of $200. Ship A Car Direct promises to simplify the car shipment process. They promise to provide an accurate initial quote. They honored neither of their promises. Instead, I felt backed into a corner to accept their last minute fee hike. With the way this experience went, I would have fared just as well or perhaps better had I navigated the market without their help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/02) */ First and foremost, I am sorry to hear about your relative's passing and offer you my sincere condolences. We have refunded the $200 you paid for our services and offer our apologies that you were unhappy with our service. The $30 rebate takes many forms and is given for the valuable feedback we receive from our customers that choose to participate. They can do so through many forms, which may be why there was some confusion, and for that we apologize as well. I have personally spoken with ****** to help clarify how she explains it. For those folks reading this complaint and response, there is actually a valuable lesson to be learned to help you avoid a similar experience, and one that I have spoken about on all of the various review sites, and that is - you simply cannot expect to get the lowest possible rock bottom price and also have the freedom to pick and choose your dates. You can shop based solely on the cheapest price (although I strongly discourage that because it only leaves the bottom rung carriers and usually leads to a bad experience) or you can shop based on being able to say 'You must pick up on this date", but the latter requires that we offer a decent payment to the carrier (remember, our fee is flat in either case) as that allows us to pick and choose through many interested carriers and select the one that best fits your needs. When we are shopping based solely on price, it's a 'take what you can get' situation. I'm sorry the this customer felt backed into a corner, but what she is not sharing is that she was offer the choice to take the carrier that met her dates but wanted $70 more OR keep searching for a carrier at her desired price, but that that meant her pick up would be after her desired date. Her move, her money, her choice. No strong arm or any such methods on our part, just a simple, 'which would you prefer?' I also apologize that she feels that we conduct ourselves deceptively. As someone who has spent the last 7 years of his life building a highly ethical team and leading a company through the crazy world of Auto Transport, that is the only point that I take issue with. You can dislike ******, you can dislike the company, but to imply that anyone at my company is dishonest or does not have their customers best interest at heart would be just plain untrue. But, as always, my apologies that you feel that way, I hope the $200 refund satisfies your complaint with our team. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/09/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They have refunded my booking fee, which is what I requested. As to personal feelings toward ****** or this company, I have none. I am not sure that I would use them again, nor recommend them going forward. The owner offered much explanation in the response he submitted. Some of issues with transparency might be mitigated for future customers if initial communications are revamped to clarify information about booking and rebates. Perhaps, too, the booking agents need additional training such as ****** received. As far as I'm concerned, the complaint is resolved. My appreciation to the BBC for mediating.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ship a car direct sales associate **** offensively talked to me over a phone call being a racist. Car delivery carrier damaged my car. March 25th 2015 around noon, a sales associate called **** called me regarding car shipment delivery, very offensively said in exact words " you know what you are we shipping? You know your car is X6 right? The delivery day is day you know what it means right?" In a tone that can only be judged as a racist. The car delivery carrier did not send me any notice or reminder prior to the deliver day and on March 25th 2015 they called me around 11am without leaving any voicemail when I was at work and they would assume people return a random number immediately- exactly 15 minutes before they deliver the car. I felt very offended by the sales associate from ship a car direct and how unorganized the delivery was.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what would be the resolution for being strongly offended as an ****** I will leave it to ship a car direct.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/04) */ This is definitely a first for me and I have no idea how to respond, which I discussed with the customer in our follow up conversation to this complaint. First and foremost, I apologize again, having already done so directly to the customer that this is how she feels. I can safely say, beyond a shadow of a doubt that **** is not a racist and certainly has no prejudice towards ******* **** is ****** So, apart from myself, the only other staff member of ours that I could be MORE certain is NOT prejudiced towards ******* besides ***** would be my employee ******* The other irony is that she was very complimentary of the service that **** provided, she just said that she felt like he was 'trying to make her feel stupid" - or something to that effect. That was certainly not the case either. Allow me to explain what happened: The carrier delivering her car called her a few times to try to arrange delivery. She didn't pick up the calls because she didn't recognize his number (understandable). The driver didn't leave a message (clearly a mistake, this all may have been avoided if he had). The driver then contacted **** for his assistance. **** contacted this customer and when he got a hold of her she said something to the effect of "I don't know anything about a vehicle delivery" Now, looking at things in retrospect, I can decipher that what she probably MEANT was that she hadn't been contacted about the delivery, but as you can gauge by reading her complaint, her english is not the easiest to decipher (NOT THAT THERE"S ANYTHING WRONG WITH THAT). So, now **** is confused. So, he asks if he is speaking to "customer's name". She says "yes". He says something along the lines of "Well this is the order that you placed to ship your X6 to CA." or something and clearly lays out the particulars of her order. He is not trying to insult her, he is trying to jog her memory. Honestly, I'm not sure what else he was supposed to do in the face of a response that the customer didn't know what he was talking about. I probably would have asked the same or very similar questions myself. As for the 'damage' she claims, there was no damage. The driver had very dirty boots and she ended up with a very dirty driver's side floor mat. It happens sometimes, and we try to make sure that the carrier's compensate with a cleaning fee for something like that, when it's excessive. Regardless, in good faith, we refunded her our entire fee of $225. Because she claims here that it cost her "hundreds" of dollars to clean, I asked her in our call if she would forward me her receipt and offered to get her further compensation if $225 didn't cover that. She refused. She told me something along the lines of 'that's none of your business' and so I let it go. I don't think it cost hundreds of dollars to clean, any more than I think **** is a racist. Both accusations were exaggerated and unwarranted. Customer expressed that she was happy with our refund, as well as the service in the shipment of her vehicle.

2/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Dodge Pickup truck from Clearwater and contacted a company called 'Ship a Car Direct' X-XXX-XXX-XXXX' The said company guaranteed Damage Free Guarantee*or we pay you! The vehicle was delivered on 10/07/2014 by 'Statewide Shipping' contracted with 'Ship a Car Direct' The vehicle was damaged by the driver while it was being unloaded and estimated at $2,490.00. As of January 9, 2015, 'Ship a Car Direct' is not cooperating or assuming any responsibility as stated in their advertisement. When I call the their number and attempt to get a mailing address, the call taker refuses and became rude. On their website they claim to be rated four stars by the Better Business Bureau. Product_Or_Service: 2006 Dodge Truck Account_Number: ***** *******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to be reimburse for my deductible after filing claims and the aforementioned company thoroughly investigated for false advertisement and failing to be transparent.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/22) */ This complaint is mainly the result of a big misunderstanding. Statewide Shipping did damage their vehicle and their insurance did cover it, however they have a $1000 deductible, and when the insurance company gave Ms **** the directive to 'contact the company' for the $1000, she kept contacting us - Ship a Car Direct - instead of Statewide and was not understanding Jason's directives trying to put her back in touch with Statewide. Regardless of the confusion, we have cleared things up and everything seems to be back on the right track. In good faith, and to avoid further delays, we paid Ms **** $500 of the outstanding amount through our Damage Free Guarantee program and Statewide is sending the remainder, as well as our reimbursement. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2015/02/23) */ This case has been resolved. I received the full amount of the money. I am satisfied with the result.

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertises a "damage free guarantee". My car was seriously damaged and they refused to honor the guarantee. I requested a quote from Ship a Car Direct, and they quoted me a price of $1,075.00. I paid $200.00 upfront by credit card and then paid the remaining $875.00 in cash to the driver when the car was delivered. Payment was required in cash at delivery. The initial sales representative was ***** ******* although I do not have any account number. The car was picked up in Green Bay, WI on July 19th, and was delivered to my in Keene, NH on July 25th. It was immediately evident that there was something wrong with the car, as it made a loud, rumbling sound and the CHECK ENGINE light was on. The driver claimed no knowledge of why the car was this way, offered no explanation and took the money and left. The driver did not offer me any invoice or bill of delivery. I had the car checked out at our local Honda dealership the next day and it turns out the catalytic converter was missing from the car. It left Green Bay with a catalytic converter. The cost for replacement was approximately $2700.00. I assumed that the company would make good on its guarantee, but for some reason it would not. It claimed not to be responsible as it had subcontracted out the shipping to another company. I did not know of such a subcontracting arrangement when I chose Ship a Car Direct. As it turns out, the subcontractor had the car for a time in New Jersey, which is not on the route from Wisconsin to New Hampshire, and I would not have approved of having my car in New Jersey. I paid the repair bill at Honda with the full expectation that the guarantee would be honored, and it is money I cannot afford to lose. My request for reimbursement was met with delays and vague statements about "investigation", although it was not clear what type of investigation the company was doing. The company also told me to file a police report as the catalytic converter may have been stolen. What Ship a Car Direct seemed not to understand despite my telling them numerous times, was that I could NOT file a police report as I had no idea if and where the catalytic converter was stolen. Did they expect me to file a police report with every state police department and every city police department along the route? In a final insult, the owner of the company wrote an incredibly condescending, insulting e-mail stating that I was out for some sort of vengeance on his company and offered me a paltry $300.00 check, which I never cashed as it was a great insult. My only concern is getting my money back and I have no desire for any kind of vendetta against his company. I am hoping to resolve this dispute through the BBB process before proceeding to a lawsuit.

Desired Settlement: Approximately $2,700.00 which was the cost for parts and labor for repair of the missing catalytic converter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ Let me start by saying that I'm sorry if I sounded condescending, that was not my intent. I'll include a copy of the email, and excerpts of emails to which it was in response. Unfortunately, MUCH of what Mr. **** has written here is inaccurate. But first, let's address his primary issue against us. We not only honored our Damage Free Guarantee, but we honored it despite the fact that Mr **** refused to take the contractual steps necessary to qualify for it. Everything about our service is clearly addressed in the terms - which must be read and agreed to prior to placing your order and are available 24/7/365 on our website, as per our agreement as an accredited BBB member. http://www.shipacardirect.com/terms.php He read and agreed to these terms - it's impossible to place an order through our website (as he did) without checking that box. He claims he didn't know that we are a broker. I honestly find that hard to believe. Our whole message to customers revolves around how highly selective we are of the carriers we use. We make no bones about the fact that that's what we do and never hide nor apologize for that. As for the terms, the first paragraph states clearly that we are a broker. Mr. **** also received the name and number of CBR Transport and was given the chance to review and approve them, before being charged a single penny by us. He also had the opportunity to refuse them and cancel his order without charge. He freely chose to pay his deposit and use them. And as for the 'stopping in NJ', that's where CBR is based, so 'home base' is very definitely on the way from WI before heading to deliveries and pick up in New England. Unfortunately, it's not possible for any customer to dictate the route taken by a carrier. Now, this 'theft' allegation, in all honesty, is the first time in my 12 years in the business that I've ever heard such a claim. A "theft" which Mr **** implies here is a theory that *we* presented. Which is absolutely, positively NOT true, here's the email that he sent to our office on July 31 "*****, The car has been evaluated and repaired by Honda. The issue was that the catalytic converter was stolen during transport and thus needed to be replaced." I won't bore you with the back and forth over the ensuing days, but her's an excerpt from *****'s email to him on August 13th: "We understand that you are in a difficult position but if your allegations are true it would amount to theft and it needs to be addressed with the proper authorities." On the same date, Mr **** further asserted *his* theft theory and the first of his threats started appearing: "I expect the full reimbursement as your company was negligent in handling my car and allowing the part to be stolen.... ...Are you saying that the car was actually running fine, and we spent over $2,000 just for fun?... Failure to pay my full damages will result in my reporting your company to the BBB, and sites like Angie's List and Ripoff Report where you can be sure you will not be well-reviewed." I should add a key piece of the story here, that Mr **** has not shared. The car is a 99 Honda Accord with almost 250k miles on it. Now, I know that there is a theory that catalytic converters have 'precious metals' that make them valuable, but just how 'precious' is anything going to be after 250k miles of use? I know I'm slipping into condescending territory again, but I'm trying to take you on the same journey to make sense of all of this that I've been on. He says here "The driver claimed no knowledge of why the car was this way". Once again, not true The carrier said to us that the car ran 'like *****' (his words, not mine) from the time he picked it up, and he told Mr **** as much, as was relayed to us *BY* Mr **** in his email on July 25: "The car arrived late last night...There is a low, rumbling sound and the driver said that he thought that the muffler was off the car." Now, seriously, why would a 'thief' would talk about the exhaust system of a car that he 'stole' a part from?? Add to this Mr ****'s steadfast refusal to report the 'crime' to his local police department - which he can (Ask for Officer ********* at the ***** Police department, Mr ****, I've already spoken with her about the matter, their number is XXX-XXX-XXXX - but, full disclosure, I was really calling them about the emails) This is a first for me as a business owner, so I really weighed long and hard what to do here. Obviously, we have removed CBR from our list while we wait for Mr **** to legitimize this in any way. Ultimately, as the father of two grade school children I finally decided that I wouldn't be a man of my word if told them to stand up to bullying, but gave into it myself. Because bullying is what Mr **** is doing. We also still live in a country where people - even truck drivers - are presumed innocent until proven guilty. We do not get to choose the crime and decide the penalty ourselves. ANY action (beyond emailed threats) on Mr ****'s part would be great, and we would gladly continue to assist him in his efforts to get better resolution. But it doesn't appear that he wants to do that. Here was his last email to our offices on August 19: "I expect full reimbursement by the end of the week.If not, I will go forward with complaints to the BBB, Angie's List and as many other Internet sites as are applicable. Hopefully further customers will know that your business is dishonest." Don't be fooled by Mr ****'s implying that he wants to do a 'public service'. If he received $2700 from me, he'd go away quietly and allow this 'alleged perpetrator' to continue. SO - here is my alleged condescending response, where I offered to authorize our Damage Free Guarantee payment. Please note - I never use the word vengeance, but I do address his threats: "*******, Let me begin by apologizing for the impersonal nature of this email, I would much prefer to have a conversation by phone, but given the tone, nature and content of this email to our office, I think you'll agree that all communications from this point forward should be written. I have gone ahead and mailed you a check for $300, which I know won't satisfy you, nor do I expect that it will stop what appears to be your clear intent to turn to social media to share your story, vent some frustrations, and (hopefully) gain some form of inner peace as you warn people away from using our services. I merely hope that the funds add, on some level, to that peace. It has been my desire from the beginning to have my staff assist you in successfully resolving your alleged issue, as well as address the seriousness of such an allegation in the manner which is necessary by law; but it is clear, through your communications with us, that you do not wish to pursue things through their appropriate channels. A crime of the nature that you are alleging against CBR transport quite simply MUST be reported to the proper authorities. I can assure you with absolute certainty that no one at MY company laid a finger on your Catalytic Converter. Your email states that you feel we are dishonest, but I would steadfastly argue that we have been honest to the point of blunt frankness and entirely accommodating in our assistance to help you address your accusations in the proper manner. Should you decide, either now or at any point in the future, to file an actual report of theft and pursue the accusation against CBR Transport in the proper fashion, you will continue to find us completely transparent and accommodating. Short of your taking those necessary first steps, our Damage Free Guarantee is the best that I can offer by way of compensation. That amount is a maximum of $500, as stated clearly in our terms, and will not change. My apologies as well if you feel that this whole situation has in any way been mishandled by anyone here at Ship a Car Direct. We've never had to deal with an accusation of this nature but will continue to address it with the seriousness that such an accusation warrants, and nothing less. Sincerely, *******" So, what was omitted as well is that the paltry 300 dollars was in addition to the paltry 200 that was previously refunded from our office (our fee on this order) to bring his total compensation to the $500. He seems solely focused on us and our reputation, despite the fact that he knows we are a broker and never had any physical contact with his vehicle. There will not be a payment of $2700 for myriad reasons, however for the sake of a BBB response, we will stick solely to the reasons that are clearly laid out in the terms of the contract between us. We have refunded Mr **** the full fee paid for our services and agree to continue to honor all terms of the contract between us. As always, and especially with a claim as egregious as this, if anyone ever wants to speak about it or

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ship-A-Car Direct will miss time window for delivering in TX. Is 7 days late in picking up - and we have no pick up date still. We fly out tomorrow. We used Ship a Car Direct to avoid the hassle of working with truckers as we make a move from Oregon to TX. I am in TX already - so we gave a wide time window for delivery in TX - any weekday, M-F, 8-5pm but need the vehicle no later than 7/14 or 7/15. The vehicle is still sitting in Oregon and we have no confirmation of any pick up date. They had said they would pick up on 7th, 8th or 9th, which I thought was late but they ensured us was the right time window. They have made attempts to improve the situation - by adding in some additional costs to the shipment price. We appreciate that. However, we used them as a middleman to ensure a smooth, efficient process. We shipped our last vehicle with them in May. They also missed that time window - and we were forced to leave the vehicle with aging parents, one of whom is dying of cancer to handle the pick up. We do have a loss - we rented a van for a week in Oregon because we were shipping our vehicle. Now, it appears we'll have to rent a vehicle in TX as well. We want the vehicle in TX ASAP.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking to have the car delivered in TX this week. They have missed the ability to deliver today, obviously. If the vehicle does not arrive by Friday noon, we will seek damages for two rental cars plus time/trouble.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/15) */ Ms. ******* has had her vehicle picked up and her fee to our office waived on her current order. I have also refunded the fee previously paid on her order in May. I apologize that she was unhappy with our service and hope this helps to make things right for her. She is welcome to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX or here through the BBB website if she still does not feel that she has been treated fairly. I am also sorry to hear that her family member is not doing well and give her and her family my best wishes. ******* ********** Owner Ship a Car Direct