BBB Accredited Business since

Super Rupair, Inc.

Phone: (303) 442-6508 Fax: (303) 444-4183 1309 Yarmouth Ave, Boulder, CO 80304 http://www.superrupair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Subaru repair,New and used Subaru parts sales,used car slaes


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Super Rupair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Super Rupair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Super Rupair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 20, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1979 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/01/1991 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gary Chambers, Owner Ms. Debbie Chambers, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Chambers, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Method(s) of Payment
Cash,Check,Visa,Mastercard
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair Car Fraud

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had them attach a skid plate, but they overtightened the attachment bolts and damaged my radiator support. They refused to repair it. I had them install the splash guard and a skid plate on my Subaru XV Crosstrek on August 20. They overtightened the attachment bolts, and in the process the lower radiator support was essentially sucked into one of the spacers on the skid plate. This could have been avoided by either using hand tools or low torque, as is recommended for skid plates, or by attaching large washers at the tops of the spacers. The primary reason I asked them to do the work is because I didn't know this at the time - I didn't know much about cars, and wanted to avoid stupid mistakes like this one. The bolts were tightened enough that the steel washers on the bolts were also substantially bent. The car damage was hidden under the plate (the other three attachment points held) until I fortuitously got an oil change at **************** on September 6, which required removing the skid plate. (The damage didn't happen then - I saw it right after they removed the plate, and they refused to even attempt to reinstall the plate.) September 6 was a Saturday, and Super Rupair was not open until Monday the 8th. However, I had planned to move out of state on the 7th, so I called them and left a message that weekend, hoping someone might be around. No one was, so I delayed leaving until Monday the 8th. On the 8th I brought my car in to see if they could fix it. The mechanic I talked with vehemently denied that it was possible such damage could happen on installation. He claimed he'd asked higher up the chain, and they were unanimous in telling me there was nothing they would do for me. I showed him the damage-free (indeed mark-free) skid plate, and he saw that the radiator support had been pulled down into the spacer (rather than pushed up by an impact), but he refused to do any more when I challenged him on his theory. I then began a long, slow exchange of emails and phone calls with Super Rupair from my new home in Washington. I communicated with ***** ******, who gave me a wide range of conflicting excuses, and came up with theories that would have easily been debunked if he'd verified my story by speaking with ****************. I offered multiple times to put him in contact with ****************, and he refused. After about six weeks of exchanges, including the expert opinion of the skid plate manufacturer, he admitted such damage could _only_ happen on installation, and finally sent me a scrap lower radiator support piece from an older car. This saved me the money of buying that part, but Super Rupair refused to pay for any labor. The piece and my car needed to be cut, the piece welded on and coated, and this repair job cost me $112.42 (performed October 28 at***************** in ******, WA). ***** maintained to the end that we could never really know what happened, so it wasn't their problem. However, they assiduously avoided doing much of anything to figure out what happened or verify my story, and proposed theories that blatantly contradicted the facts.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the labor required to weld on the new piece, repairing the damage they did. I think I'm being pretty nice in not asking them to refund the money I paid them to put on the skid plate in the first place. I realize this isn't that big of an issue. They didn't total my brand new car or anything, and $112 isn't the end of the world. But I'm upset that they damaged my car, refused to take responsibility, stuck me with a $112 bill, and treated me the way they did. This is not the way a good company should treat its customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/21) */ On July 28th ***** ******* brought in his Subaru to have us install an aftermarket skid plate. The primary purpose of the skid plate is to keep from damaging the oil pan damage during severe off roading. On August 20th he returned and requested that the factory plastic splash shield be trimmed and fastened to the car over the top of the aftermarket aluminum skid plate. At that time we once again removed the skid plate and reattached both after modifications were made. These are the same splash shield and bolts that we remove and install for most services including oil changes. Being the nation's largest independent Subaru repair facility we remove those bolts approximately 15- 20 times per day (3,500-5,000 times a year) without incident. ***** returned on September the 8th claiming we had ripped out one of the 4 welded in mounting nuts that holds the plastic splash shield and skid plate to the vehicle while we installed them last. He said that another shop was doing work on his car and had alerted him of the damages when they returned the car to him. The plastic splash shield and skid plate were no longer installed on the vehicle. When we asked to look at the skid plate and splash shield for damage only the upper metal one was available for our inspection. We asked for the ripped out nut and bolt that would had still been attached to the skid plate and shield but ***** didn't know where they were. We assumed ***** may have hit something with his skid plate or maybe the other shop had caused the damage. If we had felt that we had caused the damage we would have gladly repaired the damages. We have our own body shop with 2 full time paint & body men. Then I began a series of emails and phone calls between myself and *****. In our discussions he said that he did not witness **** ***** removing his skid plate, and the broken piece of radiator support with the bolt attached was never found. My question to him was "is it possible it was damaged when they tried to remove it and accidentally tightened it while they were removing the bolt? Could it have been broken off then? He did not see them remove it from the car, but they did point it out to him and were quick to point the blame to someone else. I did not feel the need to call a competitors shop and question what they had found, the obvious answer would be "we didn't do it." I did tell ***** that there was no possible way that I could ever know what really happened because I personally did not witness the installation here or at **** ****** nor had he. *****'s resolution to the problem was, he was just going to take his car to an out of town body shop and have them send us a bill, something we were not comfortable with especially not knowing who was responsible for the damages. I did send ***** a piece of a lower radiator support to his home and told him to contact me if he had any further questions. ***** never asked for us to pay $112.42 to him. If he had simply offered an invoice I would had considered paying at that time and the cost does seem reasonable. We have both spent a great deal of time dealing with this to come to the same conclusion-we don't know how the damage occurred. I don't know if we're responsible but I am willing to reimburse his $112.42 for the repairs, we just need to know where to send the check. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am satisfied with their proposed _action_ regarding this incident. I am not satisfied with their response, and wish to extensively correct the record (below). Once I receive reimbursement I'll be happy to close this complaint. This response has several false pieces of information: "we remove those bolts approximately 15- 20 times per day (3,500-5,000 times a year) without incident" Not according to your mechanics, who explicitly told me that they had little experience with skid plates. It should be kept in mind that this was an aftermarket part with custom attachment hardware, and by Super Rupair's own admission was attached with an impact wrench (contrary to the manufacturer's instructions). "only the upper metal one was available for our inspection" False. They both were available for inspection, as everything I owned was packed in the car for my move, skid plate and splash guard right on top. They never asked to view the plastic splash guard, but in any case, the metal one would be the one to show evidence of an impact. "We asked for the ripped out nut and bolt that would had still been attached to the skid plate and shield but ***** didn't know where they were." False. I provided them to the mechanic, who inspected them, but didn't understand why they didn't show the damage he expected from his pet theory (that an impact had caused the damage). "We have our own body shop" Apparently true, but also apparently something the mechanic didn't know. I was told Super Rupair could do nothing because they didn't deal with auto body repair, but they could give me a referral to some local body shops. Because I was leaving town that evening, I declined any referrals. It was never mentioned that Super Rupair had affiliation with any body shops. ***** has told to me that he would have handled the response differently than the mechanics who were present that day, so he knows this. "accidentally tightened it while they were removing the bolt" More than one of the bolts was overtightened, as evinced by the bending and scoring of the washers. Fortunately only one was tightened enough to break the attachment, but no, it's not plausible that another shop accidentally tightened four bolts in a row instead of loosening them. "not knowing who was responsible for the damages" ***** proposed several theories for the damage including that I did it myself, and _those_ theories would indeed have been contradicted by talking with Flatirons Subaru. "***** never asked for us to pay $112.42 to him." True in the narrowest technicality, and false in any reasonable view. I asked Super Rupair to pay for the repair. They clearly declined. I didn't ask them to pay _this specific amount_ because I didn't know that would be the amount. I _did_ ask them to pay for the repair. "we just need to know where to send the check" They have my address, but I'll be in touch with them directly to remind them. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/12/09) */ Super Rupair has now paid for the repair. Their poor treatment of a customer notwithstanding, this is the resolution I sought, and I now consider this complaint to be resolved.

11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our car in because it had developed a loud noise when it made a hard turn, like when you would to pull into a parking spot. I had the power-assist checked, fluid was ok, but dirty, while in St. Louis where the problem first occurred. Super Rupair's technician, after driving it only 1 mile, reported that it was a rod noise, and the engine needed to be replaced. We knew that the noise that we heard and how it felt, when making the noise, so we authorized the engine replacement, trusting that they knew what they were talking about. After replacing the engine, $4600 total, the original problem, and grinding noise was still there. We didn't notice it right away, because we didn't know at the time, that it had to be really warmed up before it did it. I was out of town, when the original problem re-surfaced, so we waited until I was back, to take it to them while it was happening. I tried working with them directly, but they have danced around the issue, spinning the issue, every which way. They did offer to put the old engine back and refund my money, AND, they said that it would prove how bad the engine was. Problem is, we just can't trust them at all now. They misdiagnosed the problem, and it made us replace an engine that had performed well on our 2000+ mile trip, running very smoothly at hiway speeds, yielding 26 mpg

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I tried to negotiate a reduced refund, admitting that, our engine did have approx. 121,000 mi. when this occurred. The problem turned out to be part of the drive shaft system, which was repaired at a different shop in Boulder. Their offer may sound fair, except we have lost all trust in their doing the right thing. I reduced my original asked refund from $3000 (% of engine + Labor) to just $800 refund of unneeded labor on job.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/20) */ June 18, 2014 ***** had his Subaru dropped off and asked us to check for a noise while turning. This is the typical complaint when the viscous coupling in the transmission is going bad. We have found the best way to verify the complaint is to warm up the transmission because usually the transmission must be hot in order for the viscous coupling to make noise. We have a 6 mile test loop where we hold the car in a lower gear and hold the engine RPM's at 4,000. Less than a mile into the test drive our technician (****) turned the car around because he didn't know if the engine would make it the 6 mile loop because the crankshaft connecting rod bearings were making so much noise. When he drove it into the shop one other tech, the service manager and the shop foreman all heard the engine knocking as he slightly revved the engine. They even laughed at the way the repair order was written up with the customer's complaint "Makes Noise on Sharp Turns". We expected to see no oil on the dipstick but it was just low. We explained to *****'s wife ***** what we had found, that the engine had a severe problem with the crankshaft bearings and we didn't feel it would last much longer. We gave her several options for repairing it and ***** went ahead and authorized us to install a remanufactured engine. In hindsight the car had a couple problems going on at the same time but we couldn't verify a transmission problem because of the engine problems. ***** was not the one who dropped the car off and was not aware of the severity of the engine knocking that was going on when we took it out on our test drive. ***** or his wife did acknowledge the day the car was dropped off and it was written on the invoice (word for word and with our misspelling of sharp) "Customer states they hear noise from the engine mostly during shart turns" Maybe there was no severe engine knock until we started to drive the car at 4,000 RPM or until the person who dropped the car off had driven it a little different than what the engine was accustomed to, we don't know. Did the car start off with knocking from the viscous coupling and then developed an engine knock along the way? We are the nation's largest independent Subaru repair facility and we do know the difference between noisy engine bearings and a bad transmission viscous coupling. I have owned and operated this shop for 33 years and **** has been with me for 5 years and prior to that he worked for a Subaru dealer for 3 years. We had no idea there was anything wrong with the above transaction until ***** called us a couple weeks and 500 miles later and said the noise was still there. We then took it out for a test drive and verified there was a problem with the viscous coupling in the transmission. ***** then authorized us to replace the viscous coupling and we agreed to a $200 discount. Later that day he called us and told us to not do the repair and he picked up his car. On July 1st ***** asked that we do the viscous coupling repair for free. We were so confident in our repair that we offered to put his original engine back in and refund him the $4,600 he had spent, ***** declined. 2 1/2 months later ***** called up and asked for a $3,000 refund, we declined and again offered to reinstall his engine and refund the $4,600. He declined and a couple days later he asked that we refund the $765 labor charges he had paid us. My offer is to refund the profit that was made on the engine repair, we run at a 10% net profit; a $465 refund. **** ********, owner of Super Rupair Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Super Rupair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)