BBB Accredited Business since

Avalon Motorsports

Phone: (303) 400-3001 Fax: (303) 287-6004 6950 E Colfax Ave, Denver, CO 80220 http://www.avalonmotorsports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Avalon Motorsports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Avalon Motorsports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Avalon Motorsports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2004 Business started: 01/24/2007 Business started locally: 01/24/2007 Business incorporated 01/24/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Sump, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Sump, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Customizing

Alternate Business Names
Haulin Gas LLC
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair Car Fraud

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I needed a door harness fixed in my car they quoted me $656 to fix it. When I went to p/u my car they said the cost was $851. They first quoted me $145 to pay for the diagnosis to fiigure out what was wrong with my car. After they diagnosed the problem they said it would $656 to fix it, which I was fine with. When I went in to pay and pick-up my car they said I owed $851. They said I still owed for the diagnosis plus the charge to fix it. Which essentially means I was being charged twice for the labor since the same labor is involved in diagnosis portion, not to mention I had done have of the labor myself, by taking the door partially apart already. I explained to the front desk person that $851 was not what I was quoted and he simply said that ***** had quoted me incorrectly. After I argued with him he lowered the price partially to $779.47. I would like to be refunded $123.47 to the price I was originally quoted to fix it $656. Problem date: 7/8/14 Purchase date: 7/8/14 Repair Order: XXXXXXX Sales Rep: ***** Payment paid: $779.47 Paid with Visa Car: **** ***** ********** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $123.47 the difference between the price I was quoted and the price they charged me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ ******, I just received notification that you have filed a complaint with the BBB against us and I am extremely shocked. Presumably you received my voice mail yesterday which I left to advise you of additional details with regard to your service unsolicited, however you never replied. Those details included: 1. I spoke with our VW specialist ***** about his process on the repair. His course of action was to inspect the wires first and foremost prior to pulling the door panel off (as we see that failure somewhat commonly as I mentioned during our initial conversation prior to leaving your vehicle), which he accessed through the pillar near the dash NOT the interior door panel. When he noted that the wires at the door jamb were distressed/broken, he tested voltages and determined it necessary to replace the harness. Upon your approval of the work, he removed the door panel and proceeded to test the window motor as a further segment of his diagnosis, which proved in working condition. Additionally, under the diagnosis you authorized, he noted that your small engine fan was inoperable and was causing your large engine fan to run at full speed to compensate. He also assessed your tires and the condition of your headlamps as well. When our estimator wrote the labor and parts estimate that I presented to you, they did so according to the diagnostic path I outlined above; which considered that the vast majority of the diagnosis was performed without removing the door panel, to which the technician wrote "needs wiring harness to start", and a very small portion was done with the panel removed (testing the motor and inspecting the regulator) . Now I mentioned to you when we spoke in person that we ONLY adjust the labor cost if parts were removed during diagnosis that would otherwise need removed during the repair, and we did so accordingly albeit a minimal adjustment. My verbatim statement was "... and we made any relevant adjustments in the repair labor to reflect any overlaps in labor during diagnosis". 2. The technician told me that most of the lower door panel clips were busted loose from the door card at some point by whomever removed it. There is a proper way to remove it so that the clips do not detach. And so he went ahead re-glued those clips to the door card for you at no extra cost. We do things like this whenever possible because it is the right thing to do. 3. The thing that bothers me the most is that you say we "double charged you" for the work, yet you explained that you absolutely understand the diagnostic charge and you also understand that a price for the repair was quoted at approximately $650 (NOTE - the final price you paid on the invoice for the repairs was $568.14 + taxes which still did not equal $650). It would be one thing if you told me that I never authorized diagnosis or that I did not mentioned diagnosis a second or third time to you on our phone call, which I clearly did. The issue that I think is occurring here is you are not separating diagnosis (a process to address a particular issue which determines the cause and correction for that particular issue) and the repair which is the process to alleviate the issue. The diagnosis was explained to you up front and signed off by you and never promised that it would be eliminated or waived, aside from the possibility that it was not completely needed. In this case it was, as the removal of the door panel was ultimately not solely necessary to determine the cause of your issue, and we also addressed a couple of other items during the diagnosis portion. I am utterly remiss that I went over and above with you to explain how we work and even ask you to hold when you were going to call your father so that I could RE-CAP with you ensuring you understood. We operate a Christian business here and we train constantly to operate in an ethical and transparent nature. I travel the country visiting other auto shops and consulting with other owners and I know there are very few auto shops, and businesses in general for that matter, that care to the extent we do. I understand money doesn't grow on trees and that financial needs might be a big reason why we're having this conversation, however I also don't feel like you've made any consideration whatsoever for the $75 bill reduction just to try to alleviate any indifference that may have come with the fact that 2-3 members had to work with you and there might have been a perception by you of something being lost in translation. But our initial service representative (myself), the estimator and the person who closed your ticket all did everything I could ask of them. Perhaps in the future you might consider how difficult it is to operate a business and the efforts we took to meet your needs :-\ If you care to discuss further, I am always available. The breakdown is as such: Initial diagnosis signed and approved (see attached) = $145 + supply charges and taxes = $160.60 Parts and labor cost to repair + taxes/supply charges approved on 7/8/14 @ 7:58am via phone (as noted at top of final repair order) = $618.87 ($851.51 total with taxes and all parts and labor) Total charged = $779.47 Based on the above statement as well as documentation of authorization AND the gesture of good faith to reduce the final bill approx $75, I believe we have justified our work. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have never had a mechanic shop, including the shop that I used to manage that charges an additional diagnostic charge on top of the repair. Even dealerships who are known to be expensive do not charge an additional fee for diagnostic, because it is simply unethical to charge a customer twice for the same labor. I am still very upset about this as I mentioned to the owner on the phone. In addition, I don't know where the owner is getting his numbers as I was quoted $656 via the phone, not $618. And even IF you add in the diagnostic charge of $145 that equals $801, plus tax should not equal $851.15. Just another example of the owner adding additional hidden fees with "supply charges." I am not asking for a full refund, I am only asking to be charged what I was quoted, $656. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/08/04) */ ******, I fear that there will be no way for me to help you to understand that the diagnosis portion was focused in a completely different area of the vehicle than than behind the door panel (which you stated you partially removed, however we did go ahead and replace the clips at the bottom for you which were broken). Furthermore, I am concerned that you told me on the phone that you "totally understand charging for diagnosis" yet your previous statements condradict this. I hope you realize that many of the better shops and almost all dealerships charge for diagnosis. We do so because it is vital that we accurately assess client vehicles as opposed to charging them for us to try different parts until a symptom is cured. As we stated to you, if the diagnosis required removing part(s) that would have been removed during the repair, we gladly adjust the diagnostic labor. In your case, this was not so. What bothers me most is being called unethical. Based on the fact that we gave you $75 off at the counter as a good faith measure, just in case there was any confusion, I would hope you would say we are not that. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not wish to continue to go back and forth with this owner. I know what I was told and only wish for the owner to follow through accordingly. He refuses to do so, therefore the issue will have to go unresolved.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Avalon Motorsports
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)