BBB Accredited Business since

All American Four Wheel Drive Repair, Inc.

Phone: (303) 470-0286 Fax: (303) 470-0103 3753 Norwood Dr., Littleton, CO 80125 http://www.allamerican4x4.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All American Four Wheel Drive Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All American Four Wheel Drive Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All American Four Wheel Drive Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 09/08/1975 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Dudden, Owner Ms. Karen Dudden, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Dudden, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile

Alternate Business Names
All American Jeep & 4 Wheel Drive
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought in vehicle for leaking anti-freeze issue. Spent over $1,200 for repairs and it is still leaking. Brought it back after initial repair. Brought a Madza MPX minivan to get repaired for an anti-freeze leaking issue and check engine light. The check engine light repair was about $200 to replace a thermostat and the leaking anti-freeze was over a $1,000 of repairs to replace the water pump and for them to do a flush and pressure check. We brought it home after the repairs and they antifreeze container was nearly empty. We had to fill it up twice over the next few days before bringing it back to them again. We brought it back and they said some stuff was just not tightened up enough and said it was all resolved. We brought it home again and the van is still leaking antifreeze. My wife and I are getting exhausted having to make several two car trips back and forth with our three kids to their repair shop and we really need this car to be functional. I also feel that their prices are in general are excessive (and also am starting to suspect that expensive unnecessary repairs might have been done that might not have been needed although this is not confirmed). The part # for the water pump part was listed at about $172 MSRP and around $110 from most autopart stores. They charged by about $380 for this part in addition to other parts and $120/hr labor. For this high of pricing, I would expect that they would able to at least take care of the repair without us havng to return multiple times.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting $600 back to get this looked at and hopefully repaired by a different mechanic (and for possible mis-diagnosis on their part) as it is not fair for us to keep having to return over and over after paying them over $1,200 for something that should been by repaired now.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/11/03) */ I have indeed spoken with Mr. ******** about his vehicle. This was an unrelated issue that has been taken care of. I also gave Mr. ******** various quotes on prices on which he has agreed that the prices are reasonable and fair. In turn, Mr. ******** has attempted to contact the BBB and reverse this complaint, but has been unsuccessful. Let it be known that all the original complaints have been resolved. Thank you.

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged for parts. Did not start repairs until the day I was promised the vehicle. Shoddy dangerous work. Took 4 trips back to fix the problems. When I brought the vehicle in for repairs on June 10th I wanted my brakes fixed and the intake manifold leak fixed, and my clutch looked at. I was told that I needed a new fuel pump, clutch rear brake shoes and that my intake manifold was fine. I was told the work would be done on June 15th. I was charged $330.00 for a ****** ******* electric fuel pump, $13.20 for 6 hose clamps and 50.79$ for two brass fittings. Total 434.00$ Which can all be purchased from ****** ****** on the web for 92.97$ ******************************************************************************************* I was charged 82.40$ for valve cover gaskets which cost 18.97$ from ****** ****** http://www.summitracing.com/parts/nal-XXXXXXXX/overview/make/chevrolet. I was charged 290.75$ for the clutch kit which cost 195.68$ from ******** ******** http://www.advanceadapters.com/products/lcXXXXXXlcXXXXXX-luk-XX-XXX-XX-clutch-kitchevy-engine/ Next I was told that my intake manifold was warped , which is why I brought it in in the first place, costing me another long delay. On June 23rd, long after the vehicle was promised I went to pick it up and discovered that the electrical lines were ran over the exhaust pipe and had burned the insulation on the electrical line. The fuel lines were ran dangerously close to the exhaust pipes. The heater hoses were just left to lay on the bottom of my fenders inside the engine compartment. This was all fixed my me a mechanic in the parking lot before I could drive home. When I got home I set my emergency brake and it went to the floor. I got out of my vehicle and smelled burning brakes. My back hubs were smoking and very very hot. I called the owner and he said to drive it to work and he would pick it up the next day. This took along days to fix all the mistakes. I got my vehicle back and it was out of gas. Then the fuel regulator that they installed was leaking gas all over my exhaust. I finally got my vehicle back today again without any gas in the tank, and am very upset about the cost, time and shoddy workmanship which All American has shown me.

Desired Settlement: I believe I am entitled to at least a 500.00$ refund on the overcharges for the parts. They have fixed every problem they have caused but not in a very timely manner. They have also ran 2 tanks of gas out of my vehicle which cost me around 60.00$ for them to check their work and test drive my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/07/24) */ *** ****** was not overcharged for parts. Look at any other auto shop in the region and they will charge the same if not more for their parts also. If *** ****** wants to get parts on the internet from summit racing, we as a reputable auto shop cannot vouch for the quality of these parts. Furthermore, *** ****** was given a $300 discount on the total repairs and a new $300 Intake Manifold at no charge. As for the repairs that were not done right on *** ******* truck, we have dismissed 2 technicians directly involved with the repairs. I personally made sure to address each concern *** ****** had and ensure a perfect repair. Since *** ****** received a discount of $300 at the time of payment, All American is not prepared to refund any more money. If *** ****** would like to contact us, we would be more than happy to fix any warranty repairs that he needs. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Non of the repairs were checked. The shop owner was not even there the day my pickup was brought back to me. I had to bring my vehicle back for warranty work 4 times. No other repair shop charges 300 - 800% markup on parts. The work was still not done correctly. I was overcharged for parts and the quality of work is not only poor but dangerous. They installed a defective pressure regulator directly over my headers and it leaked gas onto my exhaust. They also did not repair my back brakes correctly and they have been worn down in the drive home. I had no problem with having them test drive my vehicle and use the gas I bought the first time however the next three times I had to fill my gas tank each time and the vehicle was even brought back empty of gas the last time I was willing to have them work on it. This cost me over 100.00$ to complete the warranty work which was still not done right. I will not use these people again ever due to their incompetence. I was charged over 50.00$ for two brass fittings!!! They left my vehicle in a dangerous and very unroadworthy condition. Even with the rebates and the intake manifold (which is what I brought the vehicle in for in the first place) I was seriously overcharged for parts. They made their money back and allot extra. Also they day the shop owner found out that I filed a claim with the BBB he called me at work yelling and ranting on the phone that I was not human. He repeatedly said not to tell him his how to do his job when very dangerous and shoddy work was evident to anyone. I will send you a copy of the bill showing how much he charged me for parts and the shoddy work. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/08/18) */ All American stands behind the quality and workmanship done on Mr. ******'s truck. The back brakes that Mr. ****** claims were "worn down in the drive home" are brand new brakes. The brakes were not worn after re-inspection. The brakes were adjusted too tight and the problem was immediately remedied. The brand new pressure regulator operated fine before the truck left our shop. We acknowledged it failed after it left our shop and this was not due to poor workmanship or negligence on our part. The truck was towed back into our shop (not driven) and was repaired immediately. We deny all claims of any dangerous work done on Mr. ******'s vehicle. As a professional courtesy we would be willing to settle the matter and offer Mr. ****** the $500 refund in hopes that we can all move to a friendly settlement. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/08/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will accept the 500.00 refund. **** ******

6/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pre agreed price not kept,spiffed everything,overcharged for parts,not asked to look at parts before changed installed parts not needed signed after went in prior to taking car,was quoted 900 for checking clutch and replacing if nec.along with rear main seal and front trans seal,incace they were leaking that's all I wanted They said they would check it out see whats needed.got a call telling me all this stuff needed done,told them just the clutch work,the man said the transfer case needed seals to shoud ld they change the seals while accessible now? I said yes to that next I need a bearing ,took two weeks found out they ordered a shaft,never got to see,they said I needed a clutch the parts I got back are new They charged 58 for an 18 dollar bearing 175 for a 31$ seal ***,plus 30$ ship 600 to change two seals on transfer case. (31 dollars for O/H set at Cruiser *********) they had to get in so they could spiff me.Signed contract at delivery.of veh.and parts and first time I saw parts also.If I didn't sign and pay they have my car.in essence they lied and stole from me.I was A.S.E. cert. so I know service, my clutch,still out off adjustment.all for 2043.00

Desired Settlement: I want the 900.00 back for t5he clutch job I don't need two new clutches neither that work To get set up by someone that knows what their doing is going to cost me another 900.00 thats 3000 to get my clutch done.OUTRAGES in any place

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ To whom it may concern Please allow this letter to serve as a response to the above reference complaint. Mr. ***** entered our facility in or around November 2014 requesting a quote on a clutch and rear main seal for his 1971 Toyota Land Cruiser that was not in his possession when he entered the facility. All American's owner quoted sight unseen $900 for the clutch and rear main seal. After the verbal quote, Mr. ***** insisted that while the transmission and transfer case were removed and apart that any additional seals and bearings be replaced at that time to avoid having to perform these repairs later. Mr. ***** brought the vehicle into the facility on December 12, 2014. Upon vehicle inspection, we found that the clutch and rear main seal needed to be replaced, along with numerous other items. The customer approved for the clutch, rear main seal, the transfer case reseal and transmission reseal in the amount of $1582.00. While resealing the transfer case we found that the output shaft and bearing needed to be replaced which brought the total to $2024.44. This work was performed per the customer's request that any additional seals and bearings be replaced so that he would not have to bring the car back for additional repairs. Upon picking up the vehicle, Mr. ***** was concerned with the price difference from original price approval. At this time ***** informed him of the additional parts for the transfer case and the customer said he was comfortable with the price. Due to our negligence of not obtaining additional approval from the customer for the added labor and parts we only feel responsible for the $442.44. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Sincerely, The Staff of All American Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ***** is a master certified A>S>E> Mechanic.I did go in early and when he said 900 for what I asked for ,which was I bought this car last year and don't know anything about it .But the clutch doesn't work I believe it needs a new one.He responded that they would check it out ,sometimes its some other problem ,I asked also for the rear main seal on the engine and the input sealo on the trans. be changed.He quoted 900.I said for everything he said yes.when he got my car in they called and told me I needed u-joints oil pan gaskets rocker cover gaskets frontwheel bearings packed ectI said nothen the guy starts telling me that my transfer case is leakin and needs seals ,I know that those can be changed in the carwhile on the lift 25.00 max for one input and one out put seal.That was my mestake I loet them touch something else.Next I get a call saying I needed a bearing on my out put shaft.,I authourized a 18.00 bearing (Toyota retail).two weeks later I called ,trying to figure out why it takes so long for a bearing,thats when I got told about the shaft I was never asked to come down and look at any of these parts.I NEVER INSTAGATED ANY OF THE OTHER WORK.After that they called and said you were right it needed a new clutch.the parts I got back are in like new cond. please call Joe Borger the Toyota parts man I showed them to him,@XXX-XXX-XXXX.the person who called me asked what it would take to resolve this,I told him to send me 900 of my money back so I can get the job done right.That was X-XX-XX he said he would if that would resolve the problem,of corse that to was a verbal agreement and never happened.you can see by the invoice where I refused all the othe stuff they said I needed,why would I approve a 1000 worth of extra stuff unless I was lied to.I get 1500 a month income from SSA I wouldn't willingly spend that much.that's why I turned down the extra 3500 worth of work they wanted to do in the first place.This is outright spiffing.If you don't know what that is I would be ***** to explain it to you later.the 202.00 they charged me for the part only cost 80.00 at fjparts.com. They reamed me for everything,and my clutch still is not adjusted correctly.should I have to pay another shop- 900 more dollars for what already cost 2043? Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If I were to drag out a complaint 5 months then tell -say my land lord "the checks in the mail" what would the normal response be?Yea, right!I will believe it when the check's in my hand.Registered mail? Turtle dove?Slow boat to China?When asked to pay my bill there I paid promptly.That's the honorable thing to do even if you feel otherwise.I plan to leave the complaint to stand until their check is cashed.If I mark this as accept the complaint will be closed Two weeks after saying they would send me a check ,no check.I will believe the offer is ledget when the money is in my account,NOT IN THE MAIL!!!I was called on 5-11 and told they would mail me a check,even speaking my address into the phone,like that's verifacation he was mailing me a check.they could have walked to my house by now,I'm only a mile from them.... Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ Mr. ***** has received and cashed our check for $742.44. I have attached the check image from our bank to show that it has cleared. Thank you.

10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their shoddy work caused my engine to blow up, then they claimed they'd fix the issue and stand behind their work, then tried to steal $6500 from us. WORST MECHANICS EVER. Brought in our truck and got $3000 worth of work done in February, only to have it all fall apart less than 6 months later. ***** (the owner?) said he would need to see the truck to determine what happened... Not only did they deny that our truck basically exploding was NOT their fault (it was), they wanted to charge $4500 (new engine, they biffed it THAT BAD) to fix the damage. ***** was extremely dishonest throughout all of this, as he initially told us $4000 plus 5 hrs labor @$100/hr. I'm not a math wiz, but that's $4500. Anyway we had them proceed, and told them to go ahead and do the work (BIG mistake!!!). We had to constantly badger them to get status updates, return our calls, and just generally see how the work was coming along. We literally had to call 3-5 times a day to get our calls returned. Every day, "it'll be ready tomorrow", "not tomorrow, the next morning", "not morning, afternoon", "tomorrow, we promise!", etc. We live on a farm, and our truck is a very integral part of our production. Being constantly fibbed to about the status of our truck was highly frustrating, needless to say. Finally the day came when the truck was finished. You'll never guess what happened next: ***** charged us for $6700 plus 8 hrs labor @ $100/hr!!! SURPRISE!!!!! I nearly fell out of my chair. After letting our displeasure be known, ***** graciously (*sarcasm*) said he would knock off the additional 3 hrs of labor. Generous, eh? A big $300 savings. Unbelievable. They then proceeded to go ahead and run our card for the full amount. Looking at the invoices from the old and new work, they charged us twice for things that (amazingly) didn't break when their shoddy work took our whole engine out. We let 2 other reputable mechanics know what happened and inspect our truck, and both agreed that our engine taking a huge dump was absolutely and indisputably*************** fault. I have to think that all of the 5-star reviews on here are either from employees or friends, because this place represents all of the worst attributes often associated with mechanics shops. We will be calling our credit card company to have this FRAUD reversed. This place will take you for every penny, and not bat an eyelash. DO NOT trust these con-artists/liars/scammers unless you want a great big surprise when you get the bill. And if you like getting stranded on the side of the road when their work goes to ****.

Desired Settlement: ************ must refund 90% of the cost of engine replacement. I'll pay a token amount, but they must stand behind their work. They should also be heavily monitored by *** for shady business practices. I've had 2 other reputable mechanic shops state they are unethical THIEVES after looking at my truck and before and after their recent "repair".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/10/27) */ From:************* Sent: Monday, October 27, XXXX XX:XX AM To: ************** Subject: ************** **********, I am writing in regards to the****** case #********. I was out of town when the******s tried to call me regarding there situation with ***************** When I returned, I immediately reach out to the******s to resolve this matter. This matter was quickly resolved prior to their**** complaint. After reaching an agreement, both parties were satisfied with the outcome.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All American Four Wheel Drive Repair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)