This business is not BBB accredited.

Advanced Transmissions & Auto Repair LLC

Phone: (303) 776-1191 930 Main St Ste B, Longmont, CO 80501 http://advancedtrans.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Transmissions & Auto Repair LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Transmissions & Auto Repair LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 24, 2010 Business started: 04/27/2009 Business started locally: 04/27/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ruben Ontiveros, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ruben Ontiveros, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    930 Main St Ste B

    Longmont, CO 80501 (303) 776-1191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor repair work, implied warranty not honored, quoted double to fix it again - suspect they cut corners the first time Hire ***** to rebuild my transmission when he was first starting out. He said there were many updates to do to fix it. He said he did them. Transmission has whined since he did it. I took it back immediately, said he could not hear a whine. One year later more problems, started slipping, took it back, he said everything was fine. Now the transmission has completely quit. I only got about 40,000 miles out of this transmission which should last a minimum of 100,000 (industry standard. Ford actually states you do not have to even change fluid in this one for 100,000 miles. I believe he did something terribly wrong in the rebuild probably cutting some corners. I took the vehicle in when it went out and he quoted me DOUBLE what he charged the first time! I dont expect him to do it for free but I do expect to pay less than I did the first time since he never got it quite right.

Desired Settlement: I would like it fixed for $500 or less. or refunded at least half of what I originally paid. I did get a few miles out of it but it was not done right. I would like to give him a chance to fix it right and stand behind his work. We all know it should have lasted years longer than it did given the first transmission lasted almost 200,000 miles.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/30) */ We fixed Mr. *****'s 2002 Ford Explorer on 9/09/09 it had 174,210 miles. As of today it has been 4 years and 78,000+ miles later. After we do a major vehicle repair we have the customer bring back for a 500 miles or 10 days for a check up, Mr.***** never did. After about a couple of months of the repair he called and said he had a whine or a noise coming from the transmission I asked him when he could bring it in, he said he didn't know because he was in Nebraska working back and fourth to Colorado. I told him that he needed to bring it in ASAP, I told him that the noise sounded like a torque converter. That we didn't know until we diagnose it but, That I would order a torque converter and keep it in stock. So we could have less down time with his vehicle. He called about 4 or 5 months later and said that the noise went away and would stop by anyway to at least check it, he never did. In August of this year he brings it in because he is having transmission issues. We diagnose it and the transmission needs to be repaired. At this point I tell Mr. ***** that it will $2,500 to be repaired, then he tells me that the last time I repaired it was $1,500, then I responded prices have changed. He tells me that the transmission only had about 36,000 miles since the repair. I told him that I would look up his paper work to see how long the transmission lasted. It lasted more than what he stated. So I told him that I would honor his original price from 9/09/09 to keep both parties happy. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I brought it back right away due to transmission whine. ***** drove it and told me it was OK. I also took it in again roughly a year ago as the whine was still there but it was starting to slip. He said he made some adjustments and told me all good. Transmission goes out shortly after. I made reasonable efforts to give ***** an opportunity to fix his mistake. Bottom line is he doesn't want to and has no pride in his work. He cuts corners, blows smoke, and wastes the time and money of his customers. I don't think a business like this belongs on the BBB. I doubt this guy would even take his BBB signage down if you did pull him. As I stated before to resolve I am willing to meet him half way. I will pay $500 towards the rebuild. Hopefully he can do it right this time. I should also note the cost of the rebuild would be less since he already did the updates. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/11/10) */ Mr. ***** never followed any of our intructions to maintain his warranty. If the transmission lasted this long, is due to the good work and parts we use. If Mr. ***** had transmission problems he wouldn't of let it go this far. He would of contacted the BBB a long time ago, we have a good rating on the BBB and we have only been in business four years going on five. We take a lot of pride in our work. Advanced Transmission & Auto-Repair hasen't had to advertise yet. Advanced Transmission & Auto-Repair is based of referals. If we cut corners, blow smoke, wasted peoples time and money, we would have a lot of complaints on the BBB or our doors would have been closed a long time ago. Mr. ***** had to set up payment arrangements on the initial repair. His offering of $500 is not even half of what he paid in the initial repair. We belong to ATRA (automatic transmission rebuilders association) we have to follow there repair standards. The warranty on 90% of shops nationwide is 12 month or 12,000 miles and/or other 10% offer 36 month or 36,000 miles. Dealer ships offer a 36 month or 36,000 mile as a standard warranty but they charge a premium price. Our standard warranty is 12 month or 12,000 miles, we also offer a 36 month or 50,000 miles warranty at additional cost. What we do is we give the customer the option of purchasing extra warranty before his original warranty expires, so that they have time to make a decision down the road or if their budget didn't allow them in inital time of the repair. The nationwide avarage transmission repair cost is about $2,800 to $3,400 on a normal vehicle, excotic vehicles run much, much more. The only offer we have for Mr. ***** is $1,500 which was his initial repair price. $1,500 might cover the price of parts, we won't know how much it would be until we tear down the transmission. Which means we are more than generous, because we are taking a risk of puting money from our pockets just to honor his original repair price. This vehicle has been out of warranty over 3 years and 66,000+ miles ago.