BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Four Wheel Drive

Phone: (303) 688-1001 736 W Castleton Rd Ste C, Castle Rock, CO 80109 http://advanced4x4.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Four Wheel Drive meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Four Wheel Drive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Advanced Four Wheel Drive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2009 Business started locally: 05/01/2009 Business incorporated 03/27/2009 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Dudden, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Dudden, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Four Wheel Drive & Auto Repair Inc
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

  • 736 W Castleton Rd Ste C

    Castle Rock, CO 80109 (303) 688-1001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had our vehicle in getting repaired on and off for 2 and 1/2 years. They have done shoddy repair and not done the repairs in a timely manner. Started out moving to CO from WI and the turbo on the 2006 Dodge Mega Cab diesel pickup blew. The tow truck driver recommended Advanced 4 X 4 and told us that the Dodge dealer in Castle Rock was no good so not being from the area we let it go to Advanced. The Inv. ******* dated 4/4/11 was to remove and replace fuel injector #5, remove & replace turbcharger,lube,oil & filter, replace right hand coolant by-pass pipe hose clean all debris from intercooler. We had it for 2 1/2 months and the engine went out that was 7/13/2011 inv. *******. On 7/17/2012 The turbo went out again and then the motor went out again they had the vehicle until Dec 23,2012 they called and said that it was done. At that time I did not have the money to pick it up and told them I would pick it up the end of March because that is when we would have the money since it took so long to fix. They tried to retitle it in their name the beginning of March saying they did not know when/or if we were coming to pick it up. We picked it up on march 29, 2013. We had confrontation with Steve the owner I was afraid that he was going to hit me when he came out to talk to us. We finally agreed to a 2 year 24,000 mile warranty that they would do parts and we would do labor. We left from Castle Rock and made it to Florence, CO when the transmission line blew and we had it towed to Canon City Dodge. The transmission line was bent in 2 places stopping flow of the transmission coolant. I called Advanced and they had a fit that I took it to the Dodge dealership. I was not paying to have it towed to Castle Rock again I had already done that last year and it cost me 528.00. I knew it would be cheaper to have it towed to Canon City. They came down to Canon City and picked up the truck after they said that it was not their fault and that Canon City made the mistake. Remember though the reason it went to Canon City was their fault. They told us that they would return it to our home when fixed and they did not. We went to Castle Rock to pick it up and they could not find our keys and we had to wait about 45 to an hour for them to find the keys. Theysaid that they gaurenteed it would work great. I said I had to go to WI with it and I wanted to know if it did break down what to do. They said call and they would take care of us. Well I got as far as Davenport, IA I went out the morning of May 10,2013 and the check engine light was on. I checked the oil and found that there was oil leaking out of the turbo. I called **** at Advanced and he told me to take it to a shop I took it to Kimberly Chrysler Dodge in Davenport and they found the turbo was not tight and that 1/2 the oil was gone and they also discovered that the injectors were bad. Steve the owner said to run the flow test and that he would cover it and so they did that Monday May 13, 2013. They called Steve with the results and Steve or **** told them they would be sending injectors overnight and they would be there on Wednesday. Come to find out they lied and never sent the injectors out and were not going to until they received the old one. That was a blatant lie. **** told ****** and ****** that the injectors had been sent out but then he told the Kimberly dealership that they were not. On Friday 5/10/2013 When my wife was trying to decide what to do with a broke down truck that has warranty **** Ford answered my call with hostility and foul language. Yelling at ****** over the phone so loud that the customers in the Enterprise Rental Car could hear him and it was causing a scene. My wife had to ask him to stop yelling at her. **** told my wife that we were blowing up their phone with unnecessary phone calls and taking time away from his important customers that we should take care of this ourselves. When I talked to Steve on the phone he used many foul language and hostile words. Now they are telling me that the Chrysler Dealer is over charging and they are only paying $150.00 for diagnostic testing

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay the tow bill to Canon City Dodge and the price of the invoice to fix the leak of the hose and replacement of the hose. I would also like them to pay for the diagnostic testing at Kimberly Chrysler and also the $800.00 worth of diesel fuel I had to pay to get home with another vehicle and to go back to get the truck at Kimberly and take the borrowed truck back to WI. My wife and I have had very much stress and hardship due to the lack of properly fixing of the pickup. We are on a fixed income and we put our trust into this company.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/04) */ Dear Ms. ******: Mr. ***** first visited our shop, Advanced Four Wheel Drive, on April 4, 2011, as stated, then states that we performed shoody work and not in a timely manner. Mr. *****'s repair was done within three days, which is well within ordinary and a customary time frame. On May 26, 2011, Mr. ***** returned to our shop with a complaint that there was an engine noise, no power and that it was smoking badly. Upon our inspection, we found that the engine was damaged internally. I will reference at this time that all prior repairs done at our shop had nothing to do with the internal components of the engine. Upon our inspection of the engine, we found that the cylinders were over fueled causing piston damage. Mr. ***** had an after- market performance module previously installed in the vehicle, not by Advanced Four Wheel Drive, causing the engine damage. We replaced his engine with an engine manufactured by an outside vendor on May 26, 2011, which carried a one-year warranty, noting that an engine manufacture will not warranty any engine failure caused by an after-market performance component. Mr. ***** was advised to not reinstall the after-market performance module. Mr. ***** then returned to our shop on July 9, 2012, well over a year since the engine was replaced, at that time Mr. *****'s complaint was that the vehicle lost all power while driving. Upon our inspection, we found that the turbo charger had failed due to over boost caused by his after-market performance module that was not recommended by Advanced Four Wheel Drive, and reinstalled by the customer. We attempted to warranty the turbo charger with no success only due to the fact that Dodge only warranties their products for one year. The turbo charger was replaced on April 4, 2011, which makes it outside of the manufacturer's warranty. Mr. ***** then revisited our shop on August 27, 2012, with a complaint of an engine knock. Upon our inspection, we found once again that the after-market performance module that was installed by the customer caused the motor to over fuel and damage the pistons again. Mr. ***** attempted to deceive us by removing the after-market performance module prior to arrival of the vehicle to our shop. Given the history, and the fact that the harnesses for the after-market performance module were still intact, we hooked up our computers to his engine computer and were able to access recorded data within his Engine Control Unit (ECU). This recorded data showed us that the turbo had been over boosting beyond the manufacturer's recommendations and that the system had been over fueling the cylinders. This all caused in fact, due to the after-market performance module. I called Mr. *****s, and asked him if he had the module installed. Multiple times, Mr. *****s, blatantly lied to me, and told me that he did not have the module installed. At this point and time, the engine warranty had expired as the manufacturer only gives a one-year warranty. I informed Mr. *****s, that I could not warranty the engine, but in good faith, I would rebuild the engine with parts cost only, and I would take care of labor and machine shop charges. The engine was complete and done by October 2012. Make note that three fuel injectors were damaged by the over fueling. The truck sat at our facility between October 2012 and March 21, 2013. During this time, we had little to no contact with Mr. *****. Per statute, the vehicle had been abandoned and we took our legal right to proceed with abandoned vehicle title. We sent several certified letters to Mr. ***** and received no response. Mr ***** only responded when the County contacted him regarding title reassignment. Within a week, Mr. ***** came to our shop to pick up his vehicle. We presented him with an invoice for parts only in the amount of $7,370.26, in which Mr. ***** agreed to pay prior to the work being performed. Mr. ***** stated at this time that he did not have the monies to pay for all the parts. Wanting this whole entire situation to go away, I agreed to accept $3,664.48, the monies that Mr. ***** did have to pay for parts. This amount of work on a retail basis normally would be worth over $14,000.00. Pursuant to Repair Order No. ****, copy attached, please note that at the bottom of the invoice signed by Mr. *****, it states, "2 year, 24,000 mile warranty is in effect for the engine only from date of the pickup on March 21, 2013". Further it states, "no warranty is extended for any labor if future issues are present, customer will pay for any labor charges", signed by Mr. *****. On March 26, 2013, we received a call from Mr. *****, that he was at a Dodge Dealership in Canon City, Colorado, and that his transmission cooler had gone bad, and told us that we had caused the problem. I towed the vehicle from Canon City, Colorado, at my expense. After inspection of the transmission cooler, we found that it was damaged by the Dodge Dealer while they were trying to remove a faulty transmission line that in no way connected to any work that we had done prior. Once again, with great resistance, I decided to absorb all costs, in the dollar amount of $1,200.00, to fix the damage done by the Dodge Dealership. On May 10, 2013, Mr. ***** called our shop from Iowa and spoke with **** ****, our employee, and told **** that the vehicle was not running properly. **** advised him to take it to a local dealership to be looked at. We received a call from the dealership service writer, stating that all six fuel injectors were bad. Knowing that it is impossible for all six fuel injectors to go bad, I then asked the service writer if he could perform a fuel injector test to determine which injectors were bad. The service writer told me that he had done that, but could not produce the results. The service writer, on the phone, was very unwilling to work with me to determine the actual problem. I did inform the service writer that I would pay for the diagnostic charge to tell me what the problem was with the vehicle on that Friday afternoon. On Monday, May 13, 2013, the service writer informed me that only four of the six fuel injectors were bad. Fuel injectors are approximately $800.00 each plus a core charge of $800.00 each for a total of $6,400.00. I then agreed to send four new fuel injectors to Iowa over night, but would need the cores before sending the injectors, due to the fact that the core charge is the same cost as the injectors. As Mr. ***** states, he is on a fixed income, we also are on a fixed income at the shop, and by not receiving the cores prior, would result in a $6,400.00 check that I would have to write for the cost of the injectors and cores. After not receiving the cores, I called the dealership again. I did not get any sort of help from the service writer, who informed me that he would not send the cores until I sent the injectors. I did not understand why he would not send the core injectors prior to receiving the new ones, due to the fact that they had to remove them to install the new ones. After getting no help from the service writer, I wrote the check for $6,400.00 and immediately red labeled the injectors overnight to help the customer. After they received the fuel injectors, and the vehicle was running again, we received a phone call from Mr. ***** stating that the dealership wanted $900.00 in diagnostics. The factory recommended time to diagnose fuel injectors is approximately 1.3 hours not 9 hours stated by the dealership. Assuming the labor rate is around $100.00 per hour, I agreed to pay $150.00. My employee, Mr. ****, also informed Mr. ***** that the dealership was grossly over charging for diagnostics. We received our fuel injector cores, and returned them to our vender for a credit. Our vendor informed us that only one of the four fuel injectors was bad and they refused to warranty three of the injectors. The misdiagnosis from the Iowa dealership and lack of warranty for the fuel injectors caused me to pay out of pocket for something that was not responsibility. At this point and time I have to decline Mr. *****'s request for refunds as stated. I spoke with Mr. ***** on June 4, 2013 and informed me that he was contacting the BBB to drop this case. If this case should proceed, I have additional official documentation to include in my claim. Thank you for your assistance with this matter. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/06/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We were contacted by the business and we worked out an agreement that was satisfactory to us.