BBB Accredited Business since

LKQ Online

Phone: (734) 699-6421 Fax: (877) 761-5741 4955 Kalamath St, Denver, CO 80221 http://www.lkqonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LKQ Online meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LKQ Online include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LKQ Online
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 08, 2006 Business started: 02/05/2004 Business started locally: 02/05/2004 Business incorporated 02/05/2004 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Metikosh, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Metikosh, Manager
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt

Alternate Business Names
LKQ Online Corp.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LKQ Online has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase a transmission that was installed by a certified garage and mechanic ant the transmission did not work. After incurring the expense of installation LKQ further compounded my cost by expecting the mechanic to un-install the transmission and check several parts. and then they would send a inspector out to the view the transmission. LKQ was not going to incur additional labor cost. The transmission was subsequently remove and another was installed (not purchased from LKQ). The transmission worked just fine. An inspector was sent out to view transmission and stated that there was damage to the pump caused by installation. This is not true and please explain how he could even tell this without having seen the pump before installation. The second transmission was installed by the same garge and mechanic and had no problems. I believe this company to be disingenuous and attempt to wait the customer out by giving them the run around. In this case it worked because I was forced to sell the car as is and lost additional money there as well. Additionally I had contacted the sales department and they have chosen to ignore me to this point.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the transmission of $250.00 and shipping cost of $175.00. for a total of $425.00.

Business Response:

Good Morning

We have denied this warranty claim based on our inspectors recommendation.

 

  1. The transmission was not installed correctly into the vehicle. By doing so, this caused the torque convertor to become seized with the front pump causing the failure of the transmission. At this time we will not be able to further assist you with this part.

          

We believe that the reason for the denial of this claim is valid

7/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i buy a Engine Control Module from lkqonline.com, but they send me a TRANSMISSION COMPUTER MODULE. I am order a Engine Control Module from lkqonline.com on 07/03/2014 (order no. XXXXXX and pay $215.02) and receive the order on 07/15/2014. when i open the packet and i found out they send me the wrong part. (part NO. XXXXXXXX and it is the TRANSMISSION COMPUTER MODULE) Next day morning, i call the lkqonline customer service. i tell the customer service that they send me a wrong part and i want to get a replace. the guy ask my order no. and check the system, but he tell me they do not have that part now so can not do that for me. i tell him i check the lkqonline.com that it show have that part. he say sorry about that but can not do replace at this time, because the syetem show nothing this time. so i ask for return and get a return label, because this is not my fault. he said this is what he want to do now. after i hang up the phone, he call me back again and he tell me he mess up something. so i give him the order no. again and waiting for the return label. the problem is i receive a email that i need to pay the shipping fee and they want to change me $43 restocking fee. i feel so upset, because this is they are fault and they can not do business like this. so i call customer service again and a lady help me check what is happening. she tell me that i order wrong part and want to return. i explain to her that the truth is they send me wrong part and this is not my fault, so she ask me to send her a email and ask the picture for the wrong part and she hang up. i send the picture of the wrong part, the part number, the picture for the right part and the part number. now after 8 hours, nobody contact me. please help and thank you very much.

Desired Settlement: i want a return label so i can return it and full refund from lkqonline.com. thank you very much for you help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ I apologize for the issue with your order. We have issued a UPS call tag for this item. Please pack it in the original box and UPS will pick it up. If you wish to track the package you can do so at: www.ups.com UPS: 1Z3XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX UPS will be out in 1-3 business days and they will have the label for the shipment. If you are not at the address it was delivered to during the day, please leave the package wherever UPS generally leaves your deliveries (only if it is safe). They may leave the tag if you are not there. You can use that tag and drop it at a UPS store. Once the part is received we will issue a full refund of $215.02 Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) thank you very much.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchases a "COMPLETE" K&N filter from LKQ and they sent me the item after removing $100 worth of parts and only offered $60 as reimbursement. I purchased a used K&N filter setup complete with filter, drycharger, and all connections to put on my truck. I paid $160 for the item on eBay on 6/23/14. When I received the item, LKQ removed a connection hose from the setup, removed the drycharger, and failed to disclose that the filter had a rip in it which rendered it unusable because it was pictured with the drycharger on which they later removed prior to shipping to me. I contacted the seller and notified them that for me to replace the torn filter it would cost me $60 on eBay, and for me to replace the two items they removed (drycharger & connection hose) that I would have to buy the dry charger on eBay for $30 and replace the hose via K&N directly which would cost another $20. The seller initially offered me $50 to replace the $110 worth of items which was obviously unacceptable and stated that they will not refund the full amount because the filter would be replaced anyway. This is a blatant lie as LKQ is a used parts dealer, and anybody who knows 2 cents about cars know that K&N filters have a million mile warranty and only need to be cleaned. Nice try!!! I contacted them again, and this time they only offered me $60 for the $100 that they stole/misrepresented and told me to accept this amount or send back the item. The problem with sending back the item is that it will cost me $170 in shop labor to remove the item. I contacted eBay to review the case since they were only offering $60 for the $110in stolen/misrepresented items and they offered to pay for me to return the item as well. Still not a viable option since removal costs outweigh the refund cost, not even including the installation costs. I contacted LQK and told them to go ahead and refund the money since they have me between a rock and a hard place, and they said no, that they have to do what eBay says. ANOTHER blatant lie...I contacted EBay again and they ended up refunding the $60 that LQK initially offered and then went back on their word. I am using the $60 that eBay forced LQK to refund me to purchase a useable filter. Now, I am hoping to get reimbursed the remaining $50 for the parts that LQK STOLE OFF THE ITEM PRIOR TO SHIPPING. I understand that $50 is not much money to them, but this is based on principle that they sold me a good used item with pictures, and then removed items and/or misrepresented items and sent it to me anyway. Once I realized how bad LQK screwed me over, they are basically saying ship it back...too bad...we don't care if you lose your installation costs because we lied about the items condition and stole items that were clearly pictured in the listing.

Desired Settlement: $50 to replace the stolen items and an apology for putting me through this ordeal.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/14) */ I apologize for the issues with your order. While it's true we were going to give you a full refund for the returned part, I'm willing to refund you an additional $50 on top of the $60 that has already been refunded. That would mean you only paid $50 for this item. Please agree to these terms and we will process your refund. Thank You Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Of course I accept these terms!!! It is all I have been asking for over the last 3 weeks of this horrendous customer service and shady business practice.

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shipped me an engine that had internal damage, when noted contact company who will not honor warranty. Below are the emails to *************@lkqcorp.com and ***** @**************@lkqcorp.com detailing the problem. ******** # is XXX-XXX-XXXX Good afternoon, We have received a determination from LKQ Product Support. Your Warranty Claim was denied due to the center of the installed heat tab being melted. Our invoice backer specifically states, "All warranties are null and void if: The installed heat tab center is melted or removed'. The heat tab shows excessive overheating which leads to internal damage. Notes from Product Support show that on installation, there were no issues to note. It was stated the vehicle was brought back in with the check engine light on and smoke coming from the vehicle. This leads us to believe the vehicle was driven for an extended period of time overheating. If the vehicle the item is installed in begins to overheat, you are to quit driving the vehicle immediately and contact us. This may indicate an issue we would have covered under warranty. As the vehicle was driven for a length of time, the overheating has caused us the inability to pinpoint the cause of failure and any type of possible repairs made to the engine. Excessive overheating causes internal damages making the engine un-repairable. Regards, LKQ Online, ***** ****** Thank you for this information. I find the determination to be mistaken though. Yes, I understand that statement in regards to the warranty, however when a head gasket fails well driving it is catastrophic in nature and overheating occurs in seconds. Therefore, the heat tab will always show a change. I'm not sure what note from product support you are referring to but the car was towed in and never did smoke well I had the vehicle. The first indication of a problem was the sudden increase in temperature when at road speed and it was immediately turned off and towed to the dealer. You are welcome to verify this information with the dealer or mechanic at the phone number you already have. I feel that this is all a mute point in that the head gasket must have had a small leak upon installation that was not caught on install. There would be no other explainable reason why a sudden change in temperature would occur under normal conditions after a very small distance of travel. I ask for a review of the situation with product supprot to clear of the misunderstanding in this situation. Thank you for your time, ******* ****** Since first notification of a problem to date it is been greater that 30 days with multiple contacts back and forth including photographic evidence of problems. We need to reach an adequate solution to the problem, but I find the determination being woefully inadequate. My reasons why are as followings: First, is that I do not nor have I ever seen the invoice backer so it is impossible for me to have knowledge of the information you are claiming to be the sole reason for declination. Secondly, I have been working with you for more than 30 days now and have not received a usable engine yet I have out of pocket expenses greater than the engine price I paid. I don't know where you get the impression that "on installation, there were no issues to note." You were notified upon arrival of the poor condition it was received in with photos of it laying on the intake on the pallet loosely secured. This along is enough rough handling on an aluminum block to cause damage. The most important damage was hidden inside in this case. Upon inspection of this engine it does show significant damage to the head prior me ever receiving it. You can check with the mechanic at the dealership to receive the photos that show 2 damaged valves, antifreeze-sediment marks outside the cooling jacket separating the head gasket, and rust on the inside of the head. It is clear as day when the head was removed that this engine, rather during the accident or most likely before, was overheated! All the signs are there when one looks for them. (continued below)

Desired Settlement: A refund of remaining balance (or 2900-1337.48 =) 1562.52 (continued from above) But, I'm almost assured that an inspection to this extent is not the norm at your facilities so it is not factual to say "no issues to note." It overheated once it was installed to allow it to run up to temperature such as occurred in this situation. Your product support representative states that "For the heat tab to be melted, the engine needs to sustain a temperature of 165 degrees for an extended period of time." This might be true however an important fact is that the engine coolant thermostat fully opens between 185-190 degrees. I agree with him that the engine was over 165 degrees, but every other Toyota engine including this one was above that temperature before being removed and shipped to me yet you claim it wasn't damaged at any of this time. One can conclude by your own statements that this one fact alone created a damaged engine. This is the second attempt to work with your company to rectify and a far too long ongoing problem. I know not why your company is sending sub-par parts out that do not match their description of sale but it is creating a very difficult situation for us both. If you want to quote your warranty information, then I stand on "All of the parts we sell are guaranteed to be in good working condition. In case the part sold fails to work due to defective material or wrong fitment, LKQ will replace the part or issue a full refund up to the cost of the part purchased price (no refunds for labor costs)" This is from our auction's wording of the warranty section. These statements are not being held up because twice I received damaged property, and attempted to work with LKQ to rectify the situation only for it to escalate from bad to worse. This has gone on far too long so I am strongly advising to rectify this situation for a full refund of my purchase price and I will be happy return to you the engine as your warranty information states is an option. Sincerely, *******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/20) */ We stand behind our final decision regarding this issue: Overheating is the main cause of head gasket failure. We do cover head gasket repairs under warranty, however, the heat tab being melted indicates the engine was drove for a length of time causing internal damage. It has been verified, the vehicle this engine was removed from was in a rear-end collision, indicating it was not overheated in an accident. Pre-detonation would have also caused head gasket failure, but would have been noted by your installer by a knocking or pinging sound. Again, the installer indicated there were no issues when installed and test drove. For the heat tab to be melted, the engine needs to sustain a temperature of 165 degrees for an extended period of time to melt out completely, as yours did. Heat tabs are put in place to determine the length of time an engine was overheated and only melt during excessive overheating. Attached (was sent to customer in original email) is a photo of your heat tab, provided from your installer who was working with Product Support. We have been advised again, to deny your claim based off the heat tab and our invoice backer. However, as a one-time courtesy, we have processed a 50% refund, which is not something we would normally do when the heat tab is melted. The total refund you will receive is $1337.48. You may keep the engine. This is our final decision on this warranty claim. The decision to offer a 50% refund was in no way an admission of being at fault. We were splitting the cost with the customer as a courtesy. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2014/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please send the RMA# and all information I would need to return the engine to your facility. I do have a few questions about this: I do not understand how the remaining total your system shows was calculated. Original purchase (09/11/13 order) price was $2,674.95 for 1st engine through PayPal, and then $200 for shipping LKQ charged on 09/26/13 by credit card taken over the phone with customer service to deliver the 2st engine when the 1st was damaged in shipping. The LKQ refund occurred on 10/22, through PayPal for 1337.48. (2674.95+200.00)-1337.48= 1537.47 I am asking for a refund of the actual remaining balance as calculated with the figures shown above and I will willingly settle the claim. (To clarify, I rounded in the original request with BBB to $2900 for the engine, when it was exactly 2874.95, thus the $25.05 discrepancy from refund first request to total above today.) This has always been, and will continue to be, the only acceptable resolution to this situation and claim. Do I need to contact the facility before I drop the engine off or any other details to make this the quickest and painless transaction as possible? How and when after you have the engine back I will receive the refund? I will not be agreeing nor accepting credit for your company; the refund must come in a way I can use the funds. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/02/04) */ You order/payment details are below: Auction Order XXXXXX - Total amount paid: $2674.95 (Transaction ID for PayPal: 9YTXXXXXMTXXXXXXX) Refunded: $1337.48 (Transaction ID for PayPal for Refund: 2WMXXXXXMRXXXXXXJ) Balance: $1337.47 Replacement Order XXXXXX - Total amount paid, $200.00 (Transaction ID for Visa XXXXXXXXXX) Previous balance, $1337.47 Once the engine is returned we would refund $1337.47 to your PayPal account. We would also refund $200 to your Visa card, however we may need to issue a check due to the age of the order (we do this on a regular basis). Total refund to you would be: $1537.47. Here is your RMA information (was also sent to your email address): LKQ Order XXXXXX - Return Merchandise Authorization Form As the part is being returned to the plant, please print out a copy of this form and bring it in with the returned item. Item(s): 2010 2011 Toyota Camry 2.5 Engine 15k OEM Please send this to: (CT) LKQ Central Texas - **** N **** ******* : *** ********* : TX : XXXXX Reason for refund: Defective Refund amount: 1537.47 Item Number and work order number: XXXXXX / XXX - XXXXXXXX RMA void after: 02/18/2014 (Please contact us if you need more time) After you drop off the unit. Please reply to this email with the date and the name of the person that you gave it to. Thank you, LKQ Online XXX-XXX-XXXX


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on LKQ Online
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart