BBB Accredited Business since

Central Auto Parts

Phone: (303) 295-2277 2150 W 60th Ave, Denver, CO 80221 http://www.centralforeign.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Auto Parts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Auto Parts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Auto Parts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 29, 1978 Business started: 05/01/1977 Business started locally: 05/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ben Silver, Owner Ms. Becky Silver, Pres.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Silver, Owner
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt

Alternate Business Names
Central Foreign Auto Parts, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me bad engine and they wont do anything about it after I boughtextended warranty that should cover parts and Labor. Product_Or_Service: Engine

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like them to give me an other engine and pay for the labor I paid for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/29) */ As you know, Central Auto Parts has operated for a very long time without complaint. We provide great products and have one of the industry's strongest warranties and always stand behind it when a defective part is sold. We are a professional, respected, automotive recycler, and we provide parts to the vast majority of dealerships and automotive service centers in the Denver and rocky mountain region. Because we are a professional organization, we have terms and limitations to our warranty in the rare event that a consumer doesn't properly install or care for a product that we have sold them. Like any other business that sells a product, we cannot be responsible for consumer damage done to a product that we sold them due to negligence. Our warranty terms are very specific in citing this and every customer is provided with a copy of our warranty terms, front and back, on their purchase invoice. Mr. ***** purchased an engine from our company in May of 2014 and I believe it was installed soon after. The engine ran well for Mr. ***** upon installation and for nearly two months after installation. The engine was compression tested at our facility, which indicates a strong motor with no head gasket leaks. According to Mr. *****, the engine was installed by someone he found on Craigslist in order to save money. This doesn't necessarily void the warranty, but Mr. ***** did not provide us any documentation that the seals and gaskets had been replaced (which can prevent oil leaks and would be done with a professional installation). We were contacted in early July by Mr. ***** stating that there was a problem with the engine and it was not operating properly. As per our standard operating procedure, we opened a warranty claim and started basic q & a with Mr. ***** to see if a diagnosis could be made without a physical inspection (many times we're able to help customers solve a simple installation error or problem through this process). As our warranty specialist worked through the issue with Mr. *****, it became apparent that the engine may have been overheated, thus requiring a physical inspection to confirm the state of the engine and the heat tab (See provided info on Heat tabs and Engine Overheating). Generally, we have any physical inspections towed to an automotive service center (Cars International) to be evaluated. Cars Int'l was backed up 3 to 4 days and we didn't want Mr. ***** to have to wait for a resolution. We decided to have the vehicle brought to us for a physical inspection and diagnosis of the problem. The first step in this inspection is to locate and examine the heat tab. Heat tabs are a sure-fire way to diagnose overheating of an engine. The center melts when the heat tab goes above 260 degrees. Degradation of the engine begins around 220 degrees. Upon locating the heat tab on the engine in Mr. *****'s vehicle, the center was clearly melted out of it indicating that the engine had in fact been over heated. When the engine overheated, the head gasket was warped and damage, and other damage was most likely done to the internal components of the engine. Upon further inspection of Mr. *****'s vehicle, we found a broken connector on the temperature sensor and a clogged radiator. The temperature sensor is vital, this component would have alerted Mr. ***** that his engine was overheating had it been in working condition. The clogged radiator very well may have been what caused the overheating (See Sec 6 - Engine Installation) by not allowing the free flow of coolant into the engine. This radiator issue may very well have been the issue that caused Mr. *****'s original engine to fail. Any reputable mechanic would have done a thorough inspection of the cooling system and most likely required a cooling system flush or new radiator in order to do the installation. Overheating can also be caused by the engine running without oil. This is another consumer responsibility. We cannot warrant engines that are overheated due to lack of lubrication. Engines must be sold free of oils, so Central cannot be liable for them being completely filled and having oil levels maintained. Only the vehicle owner or mechanic has control over this post-installation required maintenance. These findings in our physical inspection led us to decline any replacement or refund for the engine sold to Mr. *****. We offered to sell him another engine at a discounted cost but he declined that offer. Central Auto Parts has never declined a warranty for a defective part and we have very strong reputation for customer satisfaction. We believe in doing the right thing for our customers. Doing the right thing is a two-way street though. If we know beyond a shadow of a doubt that one of our products was destroyed due to improper installation and consumer negligence, it is not right for us to have to replace or refund the consumer for the damage they have done.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Central Auto Parts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)