BBB Accredited Business since

Stan's Auto Sales

Phone: (303) 650-1011 View Additional Phone Numbers 7192 Newton St, Westminster, CO 80030 http://www.stansautosalesllc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stan's Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stan's Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Stan's Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2000 Business started: 09/25/1998 Business started locally: 09/25/1998 Business incorporated 09/25/1998 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Stan Martin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Martin, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Stan's Auto Sales, LLC
Products & Services

Most makes and models. SUV's, 4x4's, AWD's.

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Additional Locations

  • 7192 Newton St

    Westminster, CO 80030 (303) 761-9928 (303) 601-3637 (303) 650-1011

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a bad car, exchanged the car for another with the company, and the car has large repair issues only weeks after the warranty expired. After moving to Denver from Seattle, with all the saved money we had my wife and I purchased a 1999 black Subaru Outback Legacy with 98k miles on it for roughly $6500 in January of 2013. Prior to purchase, we took the vehicle for a test drive and asked the salesman about a rattling noise. The car salesman explained that this was a characteristic of the vehicle and was nothing to worry about. Being that ****'s Auto Sales had been recognized as "Best Used Car Sales of the Year" shortly before this date, I took the man at his word. We had the car checked out by an unbiased mechanic after the purchase and were told that we ought to immediately return the vehicle to the place we purchased it from as there were several expensive repairs that needed to be done, including replacing the clutch and the boot axels, among other things. We explained the findings to the ****'s who stated that they would replace these parts for a reduced rate of roughly $650. About a month later the vehicle broke down on the highway and we needed to have a $1300 repair of the car's head gaskets and timing belt. Being frustrated with our experience with ****'s Auto Sales, we brought the car to a different repair shop in the hopes that we could solve the problem and never have to deal with ****'s Auto Sales again. One week after this repair had been completed, the car again broke down on the freeway and and we brought the car back to the person who repaired the head gaskets. They explained to us that the vehicle had "Knock-Rod" which essentially meant that the engine was ruined and needed to be replaced. I returned to ****'s Auto Sales to explain this to them and ask for assistance with these issues and was offered $2,500 towards a different used car on their lot. Even though we had already spent over $8,000 on the car, this was the best offer that we were able to find for what was essentially a body of a car with a broken engine so we were forced to accept it and swallow the lost costs on the first Subaru in addition to making payments on another car. We purchased a 2006 Subaru Legacy Outback with roughly 125k miles for roughly $6,800 as well as a 2 year warranty to avoid repeating any of the issues we had just experienced. Again, with this car, there were some maintenance issues including a vibration when the vehicle idled, which was concerning to us considering our history with the previous car, and the suspension system needed to be replaced soon. We were reassured that these were not pressing issues by ****'s and that the warranty we were planning to purchase would not cover the cost unless the part had been destroyed. Knowing that we had the warranty with the vehicle and no other options to choose from, we accepted the deal. We cared for the car well, including regular maintenance and oil changes without any issues until the last few weeks when we noticed that the car began to smell like burning oil. We had it checked out by a mechanic in the Seattle area, since we had moved there in August of 2014, and were told that the reason for the burning oil and the vibration while the car was idling was that the car's engine mounts were worn and needed to be replaced. Also, the car's shocks needed to be replaced as they were in very poor condition. We explained to the mechanic that we had a warranty, but found out after further examination that the warranty had recently expired and the car was no longer covered. The total cost of all of these essential repairs were $3092.20.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that ****'s Auto Sales honor our expired warranty of 2 months and pay for the car's repairs considering their poor sales history with us and our total sunk cost of over $6500 between the purchase and repair costs of the first vehicle in addition to the $3092.20 repair of the 2nd vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ To Whom it may Concern, This letter is to serve as a response to ***** *******'s Complaint filed on May !st, 2015. *** ******* bought his first car from us in October of 2012. In February of 2013, he wanted to trade his 99 Subaru for a newer car. We accommodated *** *******, and sold him a 2006 Subaru. Since we sell ALL our vehicles "AS IS", *** ******* decided to purchase an extended service contract. Which comes from a 3rd party company. He decided to get a 2 year, 24,000 miles service contract on February 19th, 2013. Of course this would mean that the service contract would have expired February 19th, 2015. His issue is not with ****'s **** ****** and not with the Service Contract Company. Thank You BBB for allowing us to make a statement as to what occurred. We respectfully decline *** *******'s desired resolution, and wish him best of luck to *** *******, and his family for the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your response. This is what we expected considering the history of our business with ****'s Auto Sale. There has been a consistant denial of responsibiility on their case that borders on deceit. The mechanic that is currently servicing our vehicles in Seattle reported to us that the questions we asked at the initial purchase should have been answered differently than they were by ****'s Auto Sales as the issues with the current repair are the same issues that we brought up with ****'s upon purchasing the vehicle. The rattling while the car is idling required only minimal investigation it was clear what was going on. We are not compaining about the warranty, which we have obviously had no issues with other than it expired a little too soon (also we purchased the longest available to us); what we are complaining about is the poor product sales and the lack of disclosure that we have experienced with ****'s that left the safety of myself, my wife and friends of ours who were passangers ** the first car we purchased in jeopardy when the vehicle stalled on the highway two times as well as the business' lack of honesty throughout the purchasing process. We continue to seek compensation for the items listed in the attached document. Thank you again for your assistance with this issue. Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Once again *** ******* fails to understand that he bought this vehicle 2 years ago "AS IS", and made it out to Seattle from Denver. Now 2 years later he decides to try , and attempts to get ****'s Auto Sales to pay for services that fall under mostly normal wear, and tear. If *** ******* refuses to understand that he bought this car "AS IS". All he needs to do is look at his paperwork from his purchase. Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After another demonstration of this company's lack of accoutability, I would like to hear from a third party to help arbitrate this issue as I do not anticipate the employees at ****'s to develop a conscience in the time it takes to resolve this issue based on all our previous interactions with them.

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Within 12 hours of taking delivery of vehicle it broke down. Repair did not fix the problem. The engine had to be rebuilt. The day we completed paperwork to purchase a '07 Suburban the company kept the vehicle to repair the back hatch (wouldn't open). It took them 1 week to replace the entire relay/fuse box. The next morning, within 12 hours of finally taking delivery, the vehicle lost oil pressure and the engine light came on. We called the dealership and they sent out a mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed the problem but couldn't replace the supposed "broken" part as it was inaccessible to him. The company offered to tow the truck to their dealership. We were towing an empty trailer (less than 700 lbs). We refused to leave our trailer parked at a gas station. We were told to drive the vehicle to the dealership. Upon arrival we were told that it would take a few days to get the vehicle in for repairs. We asked for a loaner vehicle and it was refused. After a few hours of discussion we were told to take the truck less than a mile away to B&M Motoheadz to get the part replaced, an oil pressure sending unit. This is almost 4 hours after the engine light came on. It took B&M approximately 3 hours to replace the part. After it was replaced we departed and drove the vehicle without incident to pick up a pony cart (less than 60 lbs, total towed weight <800 lbs) that day. We drove the truck without incident 3 more times in less than 2 weeks from the initial problem. Then the engine started clicking horribly and I "limped" it to the nearest service shop. The engine was blown and the cost estimate for an engine replacement was approximately $5700. We called the dealership and their suggestion to help defray OUR cost was to have it towed to B&M at their expense for repairs at "their" cost, $3700. I asked the mechanic whether the repairs (relay/fuse box replacement) made by the dealership could have caused this issue. I was told it was possible. I asked for that do be investigated and it never was. We requested that the dealership pay half. This was refused under the argument that: 1) We should have purchased a warranty (issue occurred within 12 hours of delivery). 2) We shouldn't have towed anything (load was well below towing capacity, <800 lbs, and the truck has a towing package). 3) We were told not to drive it by the dealership owner, directly (this never occurred and we were refused a "loaner" vehicle). 4) The company representative, ****, has done all that he can do (the owner told him that they would not do any monetary re-imbursement). 5) The dealership has done more than enough to help us out (the original maintenance issue was never resolved and it ended up blowing the engine). 3 months later we still do not have the vehicle in our possession. It still is not fixed and the dealership continues to refuse any ownership of the problem.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the engine rebuild. We would like to be compensated for the 3 months of loan payments as well because we had the vehicle in our possession for less than 2 weeks total.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ We sold ***** an 07 Suburban in October. While getting ready for delivery we noticed the rear tailgate latch was inoperable. In order fix it, we had to replace an actuator that is in the fuse box. We had that replaced and the vehicle checked out. We received a phone call shortly thereafter that ***** was stopped at a gas station with her family because the oil pressure gauge was showing no oil pressure. I sent our mechanic to them at that time to find, and hopefully take care of the issue. He was not able to fix it. We then called the owner Bill at Motorheadz to see if he would come to his shop and look at the Suburban. His shop is better equipped to fix this problem. ***** then drove to Motorheadz to have Bill analyze what the problem was. They drove to his shop with their trailer still hooked up to the Suburban. Bill was able to replace the oil pressure switch. Even though the vehicle showed that there was sufficient oil pressure, Bill suggested that ***** should leave the vehicle for further testing just to make sure that was the only problem. ***** was insistent that they had to get to Fairplay to pick up hay that day, or it would cost them more. **** offered to let them use their trsde-in to get them back to their home to pick up her husbands' truck. ***** said the vehicle was not large enough to carry their children, and dog, and was insistent that they get the hay picked up. **** told *****'s husband at that time, that if they left with the Suburban at that time without having it checked out further, **** would not participate in repairs if they blew the motor up. They left in the Suburban any way. A few weeks later ***** called me, and said that she had the Suburban at a Chevy dealer with a quote of $5800. to fix the motor. I told her I could have the vehicle fixed for a lot less at Motorheadz. She then allowed us to tow her vehicle from the Chevy store to Motorheadz. (We paid for the tow) Bill's estimate was over $2000 less than she said she was quoted by the Chevy store. She then informed me she could have replaced the motor for that amount. I knew that **** said he would not participate in cost of repairs, I was simply trying to help her get the work done for less money out of their pocket. She claims that our electrical work caused this problem. But the oil pump is operated mechanically, not electrically. Since then, *****'s husband has spoken to ****, and **** has agreed to apply $500.00 towards the repairs even though he said specifically not to take the Suburban without getting it further diagnosed. Only because that is what an oil pump would have cost, if they had left the vehicle at the shop that day. As of this time **** has not heard from *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have never met ****, nor were we told not to drive the vehicle at any point in time. We did not "drive to FairPlay to purchase hay" and we actually purchase our hay locally. I fail to understand what that has to do with anything. This story is fabricated. We were unable to leave the vehicle and drive home as we had three children and a dog. Our trade in was a Kia Soul. We asked for a loaner vehicle and were told we could not have one. From the time we purchased the vehicle, we were not able to pick it up for more than a week. The day we picked it up, it broke down. We were left stranded on the highway!! They did send a mobile mechanic who was unable to perform repairs and we were then asked to drive it to another shop, which we did. Upon completion of repairs, which took the entire day, we left. Three drives to work later, the engine blew!!! We have had three mechanics tells us that it was most likely caused by the initial repairs and that the engine was not receiving oil even though the gauges showed pressure. I can get that in writing. **** had not heard from me because he is only available intermittently and only in the afternoons when I a working. I fly in a helicopter, which is not conducive to talking on the phone. I have asked REPEATEDLY for **** to contact me and have been told that "he won't" and that he "doesn't talk to customers". ****'d sold is a broken vehicle which they broke even further and no way for us to even get home. Now they believe that finding a better deal on an engine than a dealership quote (which was the closest facility) is the best they could do to help us. Leaving a family stranded an hour from home and not tan song behind their work or vehicles is unconscionable. Telling a customer that the owner will not contact you and doesn't talk to customers is abhorrent. I am disgusted and dismayed by their lack of honesty and integrity, especially when the salesmen stood on the lawn that day telling us not to worry because "**** would make it alright". I have ever intention of putting this issue all over social media and contacting local TV sources. I do not have over $3000 to even pick up this vehicle and have been without a car for several months now. I will take it to the public and let them decide with their wallets. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/22) */ ****, and ***** have resolved this issue. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2015/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Though we have been without a vehicle for three months and the repair costs are nearly $4000, the dealership offered us $1500 towards repairs. At this point in time, the vehicle is still not repaired, but I don't have the time or energy to devote to a battle right now. With an overseas military deployment happening in the very near future, I am too busy training my soldiers.

7/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just purchased my first car, I am 19 years old, have had the car for only two weeks and the car died. Called the dealership and they told me "too bad" 20 days having used car and it dies -- totally screwed

Desired Settlement: Replacement of another vehicle that is similar

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/10) */ I spoke with ******* today (7/10/14). We got with the warranty company representative, and helped ******* get taken care of with her warranty. She said she was happy with the outcome.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stan's Auto Sales illegally sold me a vehicle that did not legally meet the requirements of a roadworthy car under colorado law. On Wednesday 4-30-2014 Stan's auto sales sold me a jeep grand Cherokee. I put 800 dollars down and was going to finance the rest. Roughly 180.00 a month for 6 years. The car was sold to me as an "as is" vehicle with no warranty. Immediately after purchasing the car I began to have issues with it. They they told me the car was in good running condition. After taking it to two different mechanics I found out the car had many, many problems and was actually unsafe to be on the road at all. When I had a safety inspection done on the car, six different safety issues were reported to me by the mechanic. They illegally sold the car "as is" when it should have only been sold as a "tow away only". They also illegally issued a temporary permit on the car. They should have never issued the permit because the car should have never been sold "as is". Any one of the numerous safety issues regarding the car made it not a roadworthy car as described by colorado state law. They should have only sold the car as a "tow away only" vehicle. The staff was extremely rude at every step dealing with the issue and only agreed to take the car back when the threat of being sued in civil court was put on the table. They broke the law twice in the deal. Being that **** is on the dealer board in colorado I find it hard to believe all these issues could have been overlooked. Chances are I'm not the only one they have done this to and chances are they will continue doing business like this in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would like the price of the CD player and installation fees returned. I would like the fees payed to the mechanics I had to take the car to returned. I would like the gas money I had to spend in the vehicle returned. Roughly 250.00 in all. I also can't put a value on the lives they put at risk by selling me this car thinking it was a safe vehicle. I had friends and loved ones in the car. Any one of us could have been killed not to mention all the other motorists on the road at any time I operated the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/20) */ To Whom it may concern, On March 30th, Stan's Auto Sales sold a 2003 Grand Cherokee to ******* ******. He had been to our store on several previous occasions to buy this particular vehicle. But due to the fact he only had a Colorado I.D. card, and a letter from Kansas D.M.V. stating he was not eligible for driving privileges until he had a vehicle with an interlock device installed by an approved vendor for interlock installations and maintenance. We were hesitant to do so. ******* informed us he wanted to put $800 down and finance the balance. We told him that the bank would probably require he have a drivers license, at which point he became agitated with us. Stating "we didn't understand that's how it was supposed to be done." we did an application on *******, and submitted the vehicle he wanted to one of the Credit Unions we do business with. He was approved with the contingency that he adhere to Kansas' D.M.V. ruling that before he drove the vehicle he would have the interlock installed. He called 2 weeks later, and that after putting only 100 miles on the vehicle he was doing a post sale inspection, and the mechanic he took it to stated the vehicle was unsafe, he had me speak to a man named ***** who told me about some rust he found, and that the drivers' side front wheel had one and a half inches of play in the toe and camber. When ******* got back on the phone he was making a strange noise. He said he was crying. I told him to calm down, and take a deep breath. I told him to bring the vehicle to our lot(with a print out of his mechanics findings.) at which time we would do an inspection to make sure,(A) That the information I received from his mechanic was accurate,(B) That he didn't take the vehicle offroading. I informed him that if there were any safety issues to be fixed, we would take care of them. Soon after that call, he went on a radio program declaring that we refused to help him. or to take back the vehicle we sold him. The only reason we would not have taken the vehicle back, would have been because we were under the impression he had obeyed Kansas State Law, and installed an interlock as they clearly outlined in their letter dated March 20th, 2014. He showed up on the lot and threw some papers at **** and myself; yelling that he was going to the Dealer Licensing Board and was going to sue us. he also stated he wanted his down payment back and to go get our car ourselves. He also said' "Keep the C.D. player I installed as a bonus." **** and the lot attendant went to pick up the car from him and found it blocked in. ******* came out with some friend. **** gave him his $800 down payment back and according to the lot attendant he told them to take the car out of there and consider the C.D. player a "FREEBIE". He never had an interlock installed and we noticed that he had driven the vehicle almost 250 miles without the interlock. We have always done our best to keep customers satisfied, and are proud of the "A" rating we have with the B.B.B. We are not going to do something as silly as this man claims. To what end? His actions have spoken much louder than his words. Sincerely, **** ***** Sales Manager ****'s Auto Sales P.S. Please take note in his desired resolution statement. ******* clearly admits to operating the vehicle, without an interlock being installed. A clear violation of the Kansas D.M.V.'s legal request for *******'s re-instatement of his driving privileges. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not except this because it is completely full of lies. The interlock was installed, I have the paperwork to prove this. Secondly i put nowhere near 250 miles on it which can also be proven looking at the mileage on the date of purchase and the mileage on the date of the final saftey inspection, the day before they picked up the vehicle. These criminals have a history of misrepresenting themselves. I'm still out 250 dollars between CD player, gas, and mechanic fees and had a vehicle sold to me illegally. Funny how there was no mention of that aspect of the whole deal. They broke the law and put my life and the lives of others at risk. It is a sleazy car lot with very sleazy sub-human sales people and an owner who is a total fraud. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/05/23) */ We sold ******* a vehicle, selling it "as Is" as we do with ALL vehicles we sell. There are separate service contracts available for an additional cost. ******* says we sold him a vehicle illegally, quoting statute C.R.S, 42-4-228, which only means, as it reads "Restrictions on Tire Equipment-Must be marked DOT on-road use. That does not constitute selling the vehicle as a tow away. On our website, we have a listing for an independent inspection Co., and we do encourage a PRE-SALE inspection if the customer chooses to do so. Which ******* made a choice to not do so. After ********** inspection. His request was for us to fix the window trim mouldings, and buff the scratches. ******* states that we are lying about the amount of miles driven, while in his possession. We have paperwork to prove that when we sold him this vehicle. It had 128,365 miles on it, when we picked up the vehicle, it had 128,599 on it. For a total of 234 miles driven, while in ******** possession. We have an affidavit from the lot technician on the miles when he went with **** to pick up *******'s vehicle. **** also called me at the time of picking up the vehicle , to have me record the miles. Last but not least, ******* made a verbal declaration that we could keep the newly installed radio. Later he called ****, and said he wanted his down payment back at the time that the vehicle was to be picked up. **** agreed, and gave ******* his down payment back when he and the lot technician were at the vehicle to pick up. Once again ******* made a verbal declaration that we could keep the radio as a "freebie". We did as ******* requested. We gave him his down payment back to him, removed the vehicle, and cancelled the contract with the lender. We have fulfilled *******'s own request, and feel this matter is concluded.

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a car that 15 days after I bought it it overheated and they won't do anything to help me. I have barely put 3000 miles on it. I'm in a huge bind right now.. I bought a used vehicle from Stan's Auto LLC no more than 6-7 months ago. I had for it about 20 days and it started overheating like crazy. I was stranded in the mountains during winter until I got a tow. When I called the dealership about it they told me they can't and won't do anything because I did not purchase the warranty. After being hung up on multiple times. I did not buy the warranty because the salesman said there was absolutely nothing wrong with it to me and my mother. The one who paid for half of it with her credit card. I used all of my tax money and traded in my truck that was very nice. I only got 1500 for it but it ran beautifully. It was so low because it was 2wd. I had to beg to get 1500. More things started happening and I called them and brought it to them. They did nothing but send me to one of their run down shops to look at it. That's it. They just ran it and nothing at all. I was told thats all they could do because of the warranty. But now I can't even drive my vehicle. It drives no more than 5 miles and then overheats. I can't even make it to work. It's so stressful asking for rides and help from everyone. I feel helpless because I was lead on by this dealership and I can't do anything about it. There is more but that's pretty much the jist of it. Oh and I haven't even put 3000 miles on it. I have barely been able to drive it because the problems started happening right away. I hope you can help.. Thank you. **** *****

Desired Settlement: Fix the vehicle, refund my money, or let me pick something out to what I paid for and my mechanic look at it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ To whom it may concern. **** did purchase a 1998 Subaru from us in February of this year. I was informed a month later that **** had spoke to his salesperson, and told him the vehicle over heated. We offered to have him take his vehicle to one of our repair facilities to find out what was wrong and see if we could help get him back on the road without him having to spend money out of his pocket. Our repair facility said there was a leak in the radiator hose,the issue was taken care of. **** claims he made numerous calls to the dealership, and was hung up on several times. We take customer service seriously, and I would not think that any of our staff would have hung up on ****.Trading his car has been offered to him, and the offer is still out there. It's unfortunate that **** needed to have work done on his Subaru, and feels that we picked him out of all our customers that we do business with on a daily basis (many of whom are repeat customers, or referrals).To put the screws to him. We do sell all used vehicles "As Is", the customer does have the opportunity to purchase an extended service contract, **** chose not to do so, and signed a waiver of benefits. Also **** signed on numerous Colorado State Forms that he knew the vehicle was sold as is per Colorado Law. **** is more than welcome to view our inventory, work out a trade that would benefit both parties, and let a mechanic of his choosing , inspect the vehicle he would like to purchase. As Always. Respectfully Yours, **** ***** General Sales Manager Stan's Auto Sales

7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** sold me a car that had a rolled back odometer and claims no wrong doing becuase the car is older than 10 years old. I purchased a 2001 Audi A6 from******* in January 2012. The mileage on the odometer when I purchased the vehicle read around 118K miles. When I took the car to another dealer to have it appraised for trade-in value, it was brought to my attention that the Carfax report shows an odometer discrepancy in which the documented mileage of the car drops from 162K miles to 117K in late 2011. This occured prior to******* purchasing the vehicle. Upon discovering the odometer discrepancy, I contacted******* to bring the issue to their attention. I asked******* to make a good faith gesture and purchase the car back from me but they refused. I was offered what seems to be a fair trade-in value for the vehicle. However, having already purchased a new vehicle, this offer had no value to me. Not to mention the fact that I'm not willing to purchase another vehicle from******* given the fact that they don't seem to have any issue with selling cars with rolled back odometers (or will at least claim ignorance to such issues). After having not been able to reach an agreement with*******, I informed them that I will be filing a complaint with the Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board. The owner of the dealership told me I was wasting my time because the 10-year mileage exemption law was created for exactly this reason. While I'm aware that used vehicles that are 10 years old will have certain flaws and issues that many dealers may not know about, I don't think a rolled back odometer is something licensed car dealerships should be allowed to claim ignorance on. I don't believe that a selling practice such as this is in the true spirit of the law. It's just unsettling to know that a licensed car dealer is willing to sell vehicles with rolled back odometers considering the safety issue involved in driving a car that is significantly older (in miles driven) than what you think it is.

Desired Settlement: I would like ****** to purchase the vehicle from me for a fair retail price under the assumption that the current odometer reading is correct.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/15) */ Mr. ****** did buy the vehicle with EXEMPT on all the paperwork. When we purchased the vehicle at auction we bought the vehicle as actual miles, it is our policy to run an "Auto check" on any vehicle we get, which did not show any indications of the vehicle's odometer as being rolled back. Once we heard from Mr. ******, he said he was told that "Carfax" indicated a rolled back odometer, we then checked our paperwork, and as according to Colorado laws pertaining to selling a vehicle 10 years, or older. We sold the vehicle miles as EXEMPT.Once again, we can supply the AutoCheck ( competitor to Carfax )and show their was no indication of the car as having a rollback on the Odometer. Carfax is not a legal document, only a guide as to the information they recieve which can sometimes be erroneous. Mr ****** would have been told their was a situation with the odometer, if Autocheck had stated so. We offered Mr ****** to trade him out of the car he bought from us at full trade in value, he declined. He then referenced that he was going to take his complaint to the Dealer Licensing Board. We have not as of yet heard from the Licensing board, and have a copy of the current Auto Check, and a copy of Mr. ******s paperwork, ready to be looked at by the licensing board.

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a warranty with the vehicle. It is not being honored. I purchased a warranty with the vehicle. Things started to go wrong with my Jeep that should have ben covered under warranty. I contacted the warranty company and was told that I did not have the warranty I purchased. I called the dealership at the end of April 2013.I have been given the run around. The guy in charge of the warranty says he will call back but never does or he has to talk to his boss about it and will call me tomorrow. They have accepted three payments from me for this warranty. the warranty was $1800.

Desired Settlement: I expect my Jeep to be fixed at no cost to me and I expect the warranty coverage I paid for. I expect to have this coverage for as long as the agreed terms of two years or 24,000 miles.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/20) */ Mr. ******** bought a 99 Jeep on 02/27/2013, he purchased an extended service contract through ASC Warranty Co. We turned his service agreement plan, and a check to ASC on 02/28/2013. His service agreement # is**********, the ASC's administrator's phone number is***************. I think his complaint is with the warranty company, and the people that he spoke to are employees of the warranty company, not ***** Auto Sales. If Mr. ******** would like to contact us for verification that we fulfilled our end by turning in his contract, and money to activate his account, we would be more than happy to. We are sorry that Mr. ******** is having a problem with the warranty company. But his complaint should be about them, not ***** Auto Sales. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 15, 2013/08/28) */ ****'s auto provided me with another warrantee that was completely worthless. It only covers a maximum of fifteen hundred dollars for the life of the warrantee and they charged me eighteen hundred for it. The original warrantee would have at least covered some of the many things that went wrong with my Jeep shortly after I bought it. This new one doesn't cover anything. I have been fighting with ****'s for months about this issue. They assured me that the new warrantee they provided for me would take care of the issues I was having with my Jeep. At one time ****'s offered to reimburse me for the cost of the warrantee. I was stupid enough to trust them to get me a warrantee I would be happy with. My opinion is if you're going to buy a car and you want a warrantee with it that will protect your vehicle go somewhere else. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 6, 2013/06/20) */ Evidently Mr. ******** has in fact cancelled his warranty, I was not aware of this when I made our first response, and the matter was handled by our finance director. A pro-rated refund will be issued, and we will take a hard look at the warranty companies that we will be using in the future. Once again we are sorry for Mr. ********'s problems. But his complaint should be with the warranty company, not with ***** Auto Sales.