BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/2002

Rocky's Autos, Inc.

Phone: (303) 426-4646Fax: (303) 426-15536350 Federal Blvd, DenverCO 80221-2008

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/2002

BBB has determined that Rocky's Autos, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rocky's Autos, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rocky's Autos, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
10/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Credit and Contract Clause
On June 19th, I and 2 friends of mine, ****** and ******* arrived on site to look for a car. Being that I am deaf, my friends were helping me read lips. We were approached by ****** I drove a **** ********** ******* with a sticker price of $7,999.00. I instructed ****** to get on their computer to obtain the ****** **** **** value of the car while I drove it. ****** negotiated a price with ****** My income (SSI $733) and child support $269 was reported on applications for loan. I requested payments at no more than 120.00 per mo. for no more than 12 months. ***** quoted me $123.00 per mo. for 48 mo. I was encouraged it was a good deal. The percentage was not discussed. Upon signing the paperwork for the vehicle, there was a clause/box indicating that if Rocky's Auto could not secure a loan for me at $125 and some change with 21% interest for 48 months (which I balked at), the contract could be canceled with fees for mileage or $50 per day. I was under the assumption that a loan was not secured yet for the car and I would return the car if Rocky's Auto could not get me one. The loan officer requested proof of income, my SSI award letter and child support verification after I signed the contract. ***** followed my friends and I home and I gave him my award letter for my SSI, the child support verification could not be obtained at this time and I was told to fax it that evening or the next day. When I called the child support enforcement office to obtain verification for Rocky's Auto, I was informed by my case manager that my child support would stop in 5 months. I thought I would be getting child support until my children were 21 years old (3 more years). I was incorrectly informed about this in a previous call years ago. Upon realizing that part of my income, $269.00, would be non-existent in 5 months, it was too late in the day to inform Rocky's auto. I decided to return the next day, June 20th without child support verification, return the car, apologize, and tell ***** or loan officer to cancel any and all requests for a loan. Upon arriving at Rocky's auto around 11am on June 20th, 2015 with my friend ******* I spoke with the Vice President of Rocky's Auto, asked him if a loan had already been secured and he said the applications were still in the process because it had only been 18 hours. I then told him to stop ALL the loan applications. I proceeded to explain that I did not have child support verification because it would be non-existent in 5 months. I was under the impression I would not be approved for a loan anyway due to such a small income of $733. I then respectfully asked him if I could buy a car from them that I could afford with my $5,000 cash to stay in their good graces, OR if I could not find a car I could afford, I would pay the mileage and restocking fee for the car as I knew this was standard practice. The Vice President informed me that this was not possible as I had signed a contract. When I asked about the paragraph in the paperwork that stated that the contract could be canceled if a loan could not be secured, he proceeded to tell me that when a loan can not be secured, that THEY could cancel the contract but I couldn't. When I again asked them if a loan was secured, he proceeded to tell me that what I signed was a loan through their in-house financing and that it would automatically kick in if I was turned down for a loan elsewhere. When I asked him if a loan was secured through Rocky's Auto, he said the paperwork was processing. He stated the contract was a loan in itself. I again asked him to stop the 'process' because I could not give him verification of soon to be non-existent income and consequently, I would not be able to make the payments. He stated that it would be grounds to repossess the vehicle. He then told me to make my son get a job and laughed after I told him they were autistic. The paragraph in their paperwork/contract is misleading and he refused to work with me.

Desired Settlement
Cancel loan applications, return **** ********* ******** get full refund of $5,000 minus a reasonable restocking fee and mileage accrued from June 19th up to the return of the vehicle.

Business Response

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service
01/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
11/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/15/1982Business started: 07/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Contact Information
Principal: John Rothrock (CEO)Mr. Greg Hammons (Sr. Vice President)Mr. Roger Maxson (Vice President)Mr. Brian Pendleton (Sec./Tres.)Mr. David J Rothrock (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Car Fraud
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rocky's Autos, Inc.

6350 Federal Blvd

Denver, CO 80221-2008

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6350 Federal Blvd 

    Denver, CO 80221-2008

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rocky's Autos, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Car Fraud
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.