BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Robert's Auto Sales, Inc.

Phone: (303) 430-0400 6550 Federal Blvd, Denver, CO 80221

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Robert's Auto Sales, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mr. Robert's Auto Sales, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Turnbull, President Alice Bopp, Title Clerk Mr. Dave Nix, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Nix, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert Turnbull, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mr. Robert's Auto Sales, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After completing the bill of sale and transfer of vehicle, Mr. Roberts Auto wants to re-draft a bill of sale because interest rates went up. I purchased a 2003 dodge Dakota on monday 12/14/15. I signed a buyer's agreement on Saturday the 12th. I received the vehicle on Wednesday the 16th. I was contacted Friday 12/18/15 that I had to sign more paperwork after I had given down payment, received signed copies of the bill of sale, retail installment sale contract,Disclosures Required as part of a Motor vehicle/power sports vehicle sale and another buyers agreement. They informed that my bank had raised my interest rates. I contacted Bellco CU on Friday 12/18/15, and was informed that Nothing had change on my rates. They're requesting that I sign new documents with a higher interest rate, they are trying to pull a fast one on me and trying to make me pay for a mistake on their end.

Desired Settlement: Removal from BBB, unlikely as that would be. To stop contacting me and uphold the deal that was signed on Monday 12/14/2015

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/12/23) */ There was a misunderstanding with Mr.****** *******, we did not try to pull anything on this customer. He came in to purchase a 2003 Dodge Dakota, he was pre-approved thru Bellco CU, He came in with a certificate approval letter. He was approved for 4.49% rate per his credit rating. Customer was not aware, Once we sent in the deal being a 12 year old truck Bellco raised the interest rate 1% to 5.49%. I explained this to the customer we do not have any authority to decide his rate, Bellco his Credit Union decided that. We talked, he did not believe me said he was not signing anything else from me. He did research and Monday morning I email him his final decision letter from Bellco which he has a copy of and he agreed to come back and sign up for the corrected rate once he knew it was not our fault about the rate change. Customer agrees now and agreed to call bbb and get this issue corrected. Thanks.. Issue is resolved Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/12/28) */ Please cancel this complaint, the issue was a misunderstanding. I was informed by my uncle to complain to you the bbb, before I had a professional assess the situation.

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A dishonest sales practice, who never returns phone calls,continuously lies and refuses to fix or refund down payment as promised. We purchased a 2007 dodge 1500 truck from Mr. Roberts autosales. Purchase date was 7/11/15. Vin number *****************, we Were unable to pick up the truck until 7\14\15, due to they were supposed to change the oil clean the truck service the transmission and fix the ac they said it would be ready 7/13,we also have a signed agreement stating so. They were unable to find the part for the ac unit. They called 7/14 saying we could get the truck but the ac part would not be in until 7/15 and to bring it back the next morning at 9 am. When we picked up the truck 7/14 we drove it 40 miles and the transmission blew. On the 15th at 9am we showed up and talked to **** the gm of mr. Roberts autosales and made him aware of the problem, and we were accused of "mudding" and "hot roding" the truck. We then took the mechanic to where the truck was and he said it was not because of mudding or hot roding and the mechanic stated that the transmission fluid was low. They arranged for it to be picked up and towed back to the lot. The truck was not picked up until after 5pm. This is evident proof they did not service the transmission. We then asked for our down payment of $2500 back and **** assured us that they would fix it and make it right. On the 16th **** called, they were hoping when the put the part in for the ac it would fix the transmission. At 4:30pm on the 16th we had not heard from them so called and they told us that, that didnt fix it and they would call us tomorrow the 17th. On the 17th after not hearing from them i decided to call at 2:30pm and **** would not take my call. At 3:45pm when i called back i was informed to call lupe garcia at custom transmission. After speaking with lupe i was accused of hot rodding the truck causing the torque converter to burn up. I stated to lupe that the truck has an ats transmission and that ats has to be the ones that work on it. Lupe told me i need to take that up with **** the gm of mr. Roberts autosales. I then called 7/20 at 11:30am and was told **** was out on the lot and would call me back. After hours of not receiving a phone call i tried back on a different phone number and was able to get ahold of him until he realized it was me and then proceeded to hang up. On 7/21 i finally got ahold of **** at 12pm and was told they will not fix the transmission unless we pay half. I then demanded the $2500 dowpayment back for the second time and **** told me he was not willing to do that and hung up. Ive been given the run around, lied to, they would not show me the carfax, did not follow through with their service agreement,and refuse to give the down payment back when i took the advice of my credit union on taking the truck back within 72 hours because of the problems it was having. And that is where the truck resides to from this day. And all we are hearing back from **** and the staff at mr.roberts auto sales is we will call you tomorrow.

Desired Settlement: To get the down payment of $2500 refunded, or transmission fixed completly with full warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/30) */ 7/11/15 **** purchased a vehicle and was told that unless we ran into a problem getting a part or similar problem it should be ready for pickup on 7/13/15 but cannot guarantee it. 7/13/15 **** called around 11:00 am asking if he could pick up vehicle at 1:00 pm. He was told that a part had to be ordered and would not be in until late afternoon on 7/14/15 at the earliest. 7/14/15 **** was contacted around 3:00 pm and told that the part had not been delivered so far. **** showed up at around 5:00 pm and insisted on taking the vehicle even though the complete service had not been completed. 7/14/15 At ****'s request he took the truck at around 5:45 pm and said he would bring it back at 9:30 am on 7/15/15 for the service to be completed. 7/15/15 **** came in and said the truck would not go in gear and was in the Village Inn parking lot at 90th and Wadsworth. 7/15/15 I sent our mechanic over to that location to check out the truck and diagnose to his best ability what the problem was. He said that it would not move forward or reverse. At that time, around 10:30 or 11:00 am I called ****** ****** to have the truck towed to the dealership. At around 2:00 pm the tow truck driver said the truck would not fit on his flat bed. At that time I called Connolly's Towing and asked them to tow the truck to the dealership if they could. They were able to load the truck and towed it in around 5:30 pm. 7/16/15 I called Custom Transmission and asked the owner ****** if he could stop in and give us a diagnosis of what he thought the problem was. ******* opinion was that the truck was driven hard and overheated the torque convertor from abuse. 7/17/15 I was in the office from 9:00 am to 10:30 am and was called out for the remainder of the day. I instructed my personnel that if **** called to have him call **** at Custom Transmission to get his opinion of what happened to the transmission. 7/20/15 I spoke to **** midday and told him that we would participate 50% of the repair for the transmission. He replied that he was not willing to invest another dime. **** called me back when the office phones were transferred to my cell phone. During our conversation, I had a call I needed to take. I tried to put **** on call waiting and lost the connection in the process. 7/21/15 **** called around 12:00 pm and demanded his $2,500 down payment in cash in an envelope by 3:00 pm on 7/23/15. I told him that we have offered to participate 50% and that most dealers probably would not offer that concession. He replied that his demand stands and he expected a refund by the 3:00 pm deadline on 7/23/15. I called **** midday and told him that we would have the transmission taken apart and if it was an internal problem we would cover 100% of the cost. If it was determined that the damage was due to abuse we would participate 50%. **** said that he needed to talk with his wife and would get back with me. **** called back later that afternoon and said that his deadline still stands. I told him we are trying extremely hard to help resolve the problem with him. He said that is not what he wanted and his deadline still stands. 7/23/15 **** came into the dealership around 3:15 pm and walked into the office. He slammed his fist down on the desk and started getting irate and yelling. My Sales Representative got worried about the situation and called the police. They came and told **** he needed to leave the premises and file a civil action if he chose to do so. 7/24/15 I spoke with **** and told him we need to get the truck in to the transmission shop and get it apart to see what happened. He said he did not want **** at Custom Transmission touching it. He said he wanted his transmission shop, Budget Transmission, and his personal friend, ***** Danieley who is the owner of the shop, to do the repairs. He gave me the contact information for Budget Transmission, and we agreed to do that for him. 7/27/15 I called Budget Transmission and spoke to ***** the owner and asked him what he estimated the cost of repairing the transmission according to what he thought was wrong with it. He estimated $2,000. The dealership owner personally towed the vehicle to Budget Transmission and spoke with *****. 7/28/15 ***** called and said it is a transmission problem. 7/30/15 Today we are waiting for Budget Transmission to get back to us. In response to **** ********'s complaint to Better Business Bureau: 1. We do return phone calls. 2. We are willing to participate in costs to fix the problem. 3. We never promised to refund the customers down payment. 4. We have fixed the air conditioning. 5. We have a Carfax Report on the vehicle which was available to our customer on the date of purchase and is still available to share with the customer. 6. Even though the vehicle was sold " As Is-No Warrantee" as signed by the customer on the Sales Agreement, Buyers Guide, and Warrantee Disclaimer we voluntarily have offered to participate in costs towards repair. 7. This vehicle was driven by the owner when at time of trade in, by the sales person to obtain a current emissions test, and by the mechanic at Mr. ******'s Auto Sales none of whom noticed a transmission problem. Our Manager also contacted the previous owner when this problem arose and inquired if he had experienced any transmission problem previous to trade in and he stated there was no damage or prior issues with the transmission since he purchased the truck.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mr. Robert's Auto Sales, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart