This business is not BBB accredited.

JD Byrider

Phone: (719) 955-4800 View Additional Phone Numbers 890 S Havana St, Aurora, CO 80012 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JD Byrider
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2010 Business started: 06/01/1997 Business started locally: 06/01/1997 Business incorporated 08/01/1996 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Darrow, Owner Ms. Gretchen Kruszka, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Darrow, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Additional Locations


    890 S Havana St

    Aurora, CO 80012 (720) 278-2949 (317) 249-3045


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought a **** ******* ** on 7/10/2015.On 8/3/2015 at work I left engine running, put car in park, walked 15 ft, talked 2 minutes to 3 co-workers.I turned to walk back to the car, co-workers yelled and I started running,the car had slipped out of park and started to roll forward.I grabbed the drivers side door handle it came off in my hand, a co-worker jumped in front of the car.He quickly jumped back, the car rolled forward,under the semi trailer, over the entire hood and stopped when the car slammed into the trailer, totally crushing the whole front windshield. No one was hurt.I called the insurance made a claim, etc. I looked up the particular model under ******* I read the ****** report,on 6/20/2014 ** issued a Safety recall #XXXXXXX for a "transmission shift cable fracture" it explained the issue that would occur.if the repair was not made. "If the driver cannot place the the vehicle in park and exits the vehicle without applying the parking brake the vehicle could roll away and a crash could occur without prior warning." (You don't usually apply parking brake on a flat surface,I had been driving the car for 24 days) The exact thing that happened with my car. The car slipped out of park and rolled forward after sitting for 2 minutes. When I saw the car starting to move froward I ran and grabbed the drivers side handle, it came off in my hand.The car is manufactured with only one key entrance,on the driver's side. Now the driver side door is stuck in lock,cannot be opened from the outside,I cannot lock the other 3 doors,because the only key entrance is in the driver's side. When it is locked it is hard to open from the inside.My Mom got locked in because the door could not be opened from inside,she is 74 years old and had to crawl over the console to get out on the passenger ******* and out exit is now only from the passenger ************** front door lock rod was replaced. Product_Or_Service: Vehicle

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want the dealer to refund the 500.00 insurance deductible(the car has been repaired,I had this car for 29 days,10 of those were lost to the incident/repairs)I want half of the agreed on paid, deposit.I want to return this car with no negatives on my credit report. I do not want to deal with this dealership ever again.I called to tell about the accident and the dealer's response was Did you file a insurance claim?if the car is totaled a check for market would go to him,I would owe the bal

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/28) */ The customer purchased a vehicle from JD Byrider on July 10th, 2015. The vehicle purchased had an open recall from General Motors. During the closing of the sale, the manager reviewed the CarFax report with the customer, pointing out the open recall and informing the customer of how and where to have the repair done. The customer verbally confirmed that he understood the recall and signed the ****** report. JD Byrider records all contract closings. This closing was reviewed by management and complies with the JD Byrider standards and practices. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you BBB for your attention to my complaint. I am not surprised at this response.No apology,no "I read your complaint". I expect there is a person who without reading or investigating a complaint, rubber stamps this response. The defense is to post the carfax report.That was signed along with at least 15 other sheets of paper at the closing prior to the car being delivered.Yes I saw the ******, unfortunately I read the full scope of THIS recall on line AFTER the incident.There was two recalls, one was fixed, its seemed minor. The recall was summarized on the ****** report and I was told I could go on line and read the full report.Unfortunately I did not have the internet information in the office when I signed the disclosure.If the recall was so easy and knowledge that the failure to address the recall was so SERIOUS. I would expect a responsible dealer would have taken the responsibility of taking care of the issue,so the kind of incident or worse could not have happened. I think it is morally wrong and if not legally wrong, it should be. I went online and read other complaints,reviews of JD Byrider. Most talked about JD Byrider's lack of intergity, responsibility and "I gotcha" to it's customer. I am going to add my complaint to the list. And when I am asked where I purchased my car or even if not ask where, I will make sure the person i'm speaking to will hear about **** ******** Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: *************** no repair a vehicle under warranty. I purchased a Vehicle from **********. I have been having issues with the car. The vehicle is still under warranty and are not willing to repair said vehicle. I have taken the vehicle in several times and they say there is nothing wrong with it. The car vibrates at idle hesitates during acceleration. and uses 4 quarts of oil a month so on a monthly basis i have to to an oil change.

Desired Settlement: I want the vehicle repaired or I want them to put me into another vehicle with the same monthly payments. and one that is mechanicaly sound since i have a 5 year old daughter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/02/28) */ We have left a message for customer and are waiting for return call. Please have the customer contact ************ our Regional Service Manager ************. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 23, 2014/03/25) */ The Mechanic from wisonsin flew out to look at the car went with me on a drive around the block said the car was fine never took it into a garage did no diagnostic test on it. I was told the car is fine. I know that the car is having problems. if he was a real mechanic he would have did every test possible to check for problems. Final Business Response /* (4000, 31, 2014/05/19) */ Our Regional Service Manager ************ test drove the vehicle with customer in March. There was no issue. Customer went outside to see his girlfriend and never returned to followup. Regional Manager called customer several times to followup and has not received return call. Cust then called Collection Manager and told him that there car needed $**** of repairs. This is not true. If customer has a service issue they need to bring us the car. Have the customer call ************ to schedule appointment. ***** has left several messages. Thanks. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 34, 2014/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) no cause just because i bring it doesnt mean that they will fix the problem. In order for it to be resolved it needs to be fix or they need to put me into something different. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on JD Byrider
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)