This business is not BBB accredited.

Gunbarrel Import Motors, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 652-3040 Fax: (303) 652-3066 283 2nd Ave., Niwot, CO 80544 http://www.gunbarrelmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gunbarrel Import Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gunbarrel Import Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 11, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 09/19/1984 in CO
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jon C. Jelosek, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon C. Jelosek, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    283 2nd Ave.

    Niwot, CO 80544

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 757

    Niwot, CO 80544

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle misdiagnosed for a specific engine noise (water pump) and I paid $1310.00 Engine noise remained and I paid another 1486.95 for or a water pump On 7-3-15 I took my auto in for engine noise to Gunbarrel Motors Import. I was told by the service manager "****" who test drove the vehicle, that it sounded like a water pump, and advised me not to drive the auto because it may cause serious engine damage. Because I was on my way to Florida, the shop agreed to do the repairs and deliver the auto to my residence on completion. The auto was delivered to my home and the keys given to my daughter without the invoice and receipt. Shortly after the car was dropped off at my residence my daughter drove my auto and noticed a whining sound coming from the rear where the engine is located and the fuel gauge was reading "empty" after being filled. She brought the auto back to Gunbarrel Motors Import and spoke with ****. **** turned the car's engine on and off several times and used a pocket tech code reader. **** informed my daughter that it might be the fuel level sensor and the auto needs to be brought back to have the gas siphoned out in-order to read the fuel sensor and make a diagnoses from there. **** advised her not to drive the auto because it **** create internal engine damage. I believe at this time **** realized that the engine was never properly repaired and nothing more was said about the water-pump. On X-XX-XX I returned home from Florida and took the auto back in to the service department for Excessive engine noise. I was told it sounded like a water pump again and not to drive the auto. They agreed to look at the auto that day. The work performed on 7-3-15 was replacement of Engine Pulley at $1349.10 which included a $120 Diagnostic Level 1 service charge. The work performed on X-XX-XX was replacement of a Water Pump at $1,486.95 which included a $66.00 Minor Diagnostic Charge. Engine Noise for an Engine Pulley is completely different than Engine Noise from a Water Pump. The Shop either "misdiagnosed the problem or never performed the repair". I'm requesting reimbursement for the Engine Pulley work performed of $1349.10. I was not provided a satisfactory reason for performing both repairs and I was required to pay for the repair performed before the vehicle was returned to me. Total cost 1486.95 for a water pump repair order # XXXXXXX. Paid by ***** Cost for Acc Belt Tensioner $13490.10 repair order # XXXXXXX Paid by *****

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of the 1310.00 due to unnecessary repairs. If not resolved with the BBB I **** need small claims court.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/10/05) */ The customer that has filed this complaint has had his wife bringing in the car for approximately five years and has always been an excellent customer, we hope that this can come to an even understanding of what was found upon each visit. The vehicle was brought into the shop on 7/3/15 @ 49,186 Miles with the complaint of "There's a noise coming from the engine area about 20mph, there's a tapping, very low and very hard to describe." Approval was given to diagnose. A Master certified technician performed the proper diagnostics procedure to determine the noise was coming from the drive belt pulley bearings at that time due to excessive bearing play. The water pump was not leaking at the time of this visit and there was not play present within the water pump bearing. The water pump was checked and was functioning as designed during this visit. Recommended repair of the drive belt and pulleys were approved by customer @ 1:26:00pm on 7/3/15. Vehicle was test driven before leaving the shop and no noise was present after repairs. On 8/18/15 @ 49,565 Miles (379 miles & 46 days after the first visit & repair) customer returned with vehicle stating " there is a engine rattle when revving car to about 3,000 rpm". Approval was given to diagnose. The same master Technician was assigned to diagnose the noise. Upon removing the coverings to inspect, found coolant leaking from the water pump causing a lack of lubrication to the water pump bearing. Water pump pulley was found wobbling and rubbing against the body of the water pump causing the noise. We recommended replacement of water pump with a coolant system flush and customer approved repair on the phone @ 10:22:00am on 8/18/15. The descriptions are very different upon initial concerns, the first noise being noted at 20mph and the second noise at about 3,000 RPM. Both problems were verified before repairs were recommended, Both repairs were approved by the customer before performed. We hope this has helped clarify and we can be of further assistance to this customer in the future. Sincerely, Gunbarrel Import Motors Owner & Staff.

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Gunbarrel Motors attempted to repair an oil leak in my car. Subsequently, they managed to under fill it with oil which sent a rod through my motor. Gunbarrel Import Motors attempted to repair an oil leak in my car. Subsequently, they damaged the car beyond repair. The car is not worth repairing the damage that was done to the vehicle. I am now having to replace a perfectly good car because they did not know how to properly perform service on my car.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the full retail value of my car. At that point, I will sign the title over to Gubarrel Imports. The current value of the car in good condition is $16172. We paid $2810.53. I want both of those amounts paid to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/16) */ Mrs.********* brought the Audi into us, and primarily all of our communication was with her, not Mr. *********. The car was brought in to us because the customer indicated the blower for the climate control was not functioning correctly. She also told us her oil light was on. When we checked the level, no oil showed on the dipstick. Therefore, the car had been being driven with very little oil.We repaired the blower as well as noted other issues with the car-one being an oil leak. This leak had been previously identified by another shop-Mcdonald Audi, and the customer had declined the repair. Therefore the customer was previously aware of an oil leak and continued to drive the car with this leak, and with the oil warning light on. We repaired the oil leak and properly filled the oil to the correct level. This oil leak repair was approved by the customer. Other repairs were recommended, but declined by the customer. Several days later the car was driven in to us with a loud engine noise and the check engine light was on. The car most likely should not have been driven in, but towed, considering the noise and check engine light. The customer authorized us to determine the fault or failure, and we determined there was a possible timing related failure. The customer elected to have the car towed to Mcdonald Audi, who also determined there was failure, possibly due to being driven while low on oil. We determined there was no fault of our previous repair.

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business described the car as immaculate condition. When the vehicle arrived at my house it was far from immaculate. On 2/21/14, I was inquiring about their 2013 Nissan GTR that was for sale. He described it as immaculate condition and never abused. The vehicle had 2371 miles so I took his word for it and agreed to purchase the car for $86,900 which was his asking price. I put a $500 deposit on my credit card so I can prepare the wire transfer. On 2/25/14 I wired the remaining amount to Gunbarrel Imports and I set up a enclosed transport to pick up the car. The vehicle was picked up and arrived 3/6/2014. The truck driver and I did the inspection and he mentioned the imperfections that he caught when he loaded the vehicle in Colorado. He noted a curbed wheel, paint touch up on the passenger side door, and scuff marks on the front lip. When I looked inside it was more apparent that this vehicle was definitely not in the condition it was described. The interior was dusty and not vacuumed (crumbs on the seats). Seats had scuff marks and the clear bra was peeling off. I immediately e-mailed gunbarrel imports regarding all of these damages. They also said the car was going to be detailed before it went on the truck but it clearly was not. The battery was also dead when it arrived. Gunbarrel claims they did not know about the curbed wheel. I have the bill of lading and inspection form from the transportation company. *** from Gunbarrel clearly signed off on the curbed wheel. *** also claims he washed the car and cleaned the interior so I sent photos of a dusty seat to show him that he also lied there too. The front plate bracket that was installed damaged the front bumper and clear bra in that area. I told him that I have to spend some money to rectify all of these damages. 1. Two curbed wheels $500 a wheel to refinish so $1000 2. Removing the bad clear bra $250 in labor 3. Applying a new clear bra $1500 4. Replacing the scuffed lip $1100 5. Full detail exterior and interior with polish and sand touched up area $1000 *** claims that I should be happy that I purchased a car at a great value. The fact of the matter is we agreed to a price for an immaculate car and did not mention any imperfections. So the dealer should pay me to get it in the immaculate condition as they described. I have attempted to come up with a resolution but *** keeps avoiding my propositions and questions. I have attempted to give him a reasonable proposition but since he is not willing to work with me I will dispute the full amount that it will cost me.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for the dealer to cover me for the following: 1. Two curbed wheels $500 a wheel to refinish so $1000 2. Removing the bad clear bra $250 in labor 3. Applying a new clear bra $1500 4. Replacing the scuffed lip $1100 5. Full detail exterior and interior with polish and sand touched up area $1000 Total $4850 of fees I will have to pay to get this car in immaculate condition. The seats scuff marks cannot be repaired so I will be okay with just a good detail job on them. I realize it is unreasonable to ask for new seats. My clear bra actually is going to cost me $5000 since I am doing a full clear bra to cover the exterior imperfections but I am only asking for the cost of if I were to redo exactly the same clear bra. It currently has a clear bra on the front bumper, half of the hood, half of the front fender, side mirror and the bottom part of the rear fender.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ The customer had a broker handle the sale of this vehicle. I did not have contact with the customer until the vehicle arrived in CA., from our location in CO. The broker handled all conversations, paperwork, credit card and payment with the buyer, then supplying me with that information. He handled the shipping as well. The clear bra has a warranty and the customer has been notified. The buyer should consult his broker, whom he had handle the transaction. I will send the buyer a total of $500.00 to use at his discretion. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The clear bra film may be warrantied but labor is not. I still have to pay out of pocket to remove the clear bra and apply a new film. The broker described to me the vehicle condition as he receive them from the business. He has no reason to lie to me or make it seem that this car was better than it is. There were 3 or 4 other cars we were looking at and the mileage and condition was the reason why I went with this particular vehicle. He has no benefit on falsely claiming this car was better than others since he gets a flat fee from me as long as I buy a car. *** from Gunbarrel Imports said in his direct e-mail to me (not from broker) that the clear bra was installed professionally and he didn't see anything wrong with it. He also said he had no idea about the wheel being curbed. The bill of lading and inspection forms say that he knew about it and signed off on the curbed wheel. I sent *** photos of sections of the clear bra that are peeling off which was obviously and installer issue and that is not covered by warranty. The discoloration is covered by the 3M manufacturer warranty which I am checking to see if the film shop can warranty. The fact that he could make these false claims that are blatant lies or he is just absolutely clueless about the condition of the vehicle he sold; it is not surprising that he told my broker that the condition was flawless and did not mention any defects. He also claimed that he cleaned the interior before the car was shipped to me. He was adamant about this until I sent photos of a dusty and dirty interior. He obviously did not care to resolve this matter before and his proposal for $500 now that his BBB accreditation is in jeopardy is appalling. Note that his response he neglected to mention any of my claims. He has been doing this with all of my e-mails. He does not want to address any of the claims against him and tries to blame the broker. My total cost to fix the car is close to $5000. The business needs to proposal a much more reasonable number than $500. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/05/19) */ From: *********************** (mailto:***********************) Sent: Thursday, May 15, 2014 3:07 PM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#73-19122-********-8-3100) I have re-emailed our client with proposal, waiting for reply. Same proposal as provided and agreed to by **********. *** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 22, 2014/05/20) */ From: ****************** (mailto:********************) Sent: Monday, May 19, 2014 6:09 PM To: ************** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Hi *******, I don't see anywhere I can click to resolve the dispute. Can I just request to close the case at this time so we can move with the resolution? *** will not talk to us if I don't close it. Thank you *******

4/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to pay agreed amount upon pickup of vehicle. Made a prior agreement with *** on the selling of a 2013 Nissan GTR. I then did all arrangements with *** and the buyer for sales arrangement. The Initial agreement was that i would be funded $500 upon the pick up of vehicle.*** described the vehicle as "perfect condition" and "it was owned by a personal friend and long time client of his" upon delivery to the client ****************** he discovered that the vehicle was not up to the condition that *** described it to me. Various details were withheld from being addressed to the client and myself. ******* them himself emailed *** complaining about the condition of the vehicle asking for some type of help towards the repair of the issues. I then emailed *** asking about Payment that was to be made to me prior and his reply was " your client made a complaint to the BBB, im a accredited BBB memeber and you have harmed my rating, i will not be sending you payment until this is handled. Due to the prior agreement i feel as if due to his lack of description of the vehicle my funding for my time has been with held to this matter.

Desired Settlement: i would like to be paid for our original agreement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/04/10) */ ********** described the car to the customer, not me. I will agree to paying $500 to **** and $500 to ***********. This is my proposal, or nothing. Both parties-Green and Mitishita, must both agree in writing, if they choose the $500, as well as agree to not pursue, persist, or otherwise defame Gunbarrel Imports and the employees of, in regards to the Nissan GT-R sale/transaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept these terms on my behallf. We need to get this over with and I will accept $500