BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1980

Suss Buick Pontiac GMC

(303) 751-3400View Additional Phone Numbers1301 S Havana St, AuroraCO 80012-4011

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1980

BBB has determined that Suss Buick Pontiac GMC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Suss Buick Pontiac GMC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Suss Buick Pontiac GMC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I bought a 2015 Denali and it came with 20" wheels. I got 22" wheels and paid an extra $3,500 but they won't give me my old tires/wheels back
I bought a new GMC Denali at Suss on 4/25/14 for approximately 80K. The vehicle came from the factory with 20" wheels/tires. I wanted 22" wheels and tires so they built an extra $3,500 into the deal and said they would call when the wheels arrived. I dropped the vehicle off last Wednesday 5/28/14 to have some body work done and to have wheels and tires mounted and balanced. When I picked the vehicle up yesterday 6/2/14 the wheels were not what I wanted and they didn't have my old wheels/tires. **** the salesman told me he will order the correct wheels and let me know when they come in but he doesn't have any answers on that at this time. The second and possibly bigger issue is that when I asked for my old tires and wheels back they said they did not have them. **** the salesman was on the phone and walking around their facility trying to figure out where they went and finally came back and told me that they don't have them. I told him that I want them , they are my property and those are not theirs to keep so basically they stole my property. He suggested we speak to the sales manager *** ******* and he was most unhelpful. I explained the situation to him and he was condescending and totally not interested in correcting the problem, he just simply said I'm not going to get the wheels/tires back. I asked him to show me in the paperwork where it said I was trading my old wheels/tries and $3.500 for the new ones. He said "it doesn't say that anywhere in the deal." I said "then I want them back so I can sell them." He said "your not getting them back." I said "I will have my attorney contact them" and he said "fine." I decided to try you guys first to see if there is anything you can do. Thanks!

Desired Settlement
I just want my old tires and wheels back so I can sell them on ebay or craigslist to recoup some of the money I spent on the 22" tires and wheels. If they can't get them back to me for some reason then I want a fair refund for the value of the basically brand new 20" wheels and tires which I would estimate are worth around $2,000

Business Response
This notice was sent to the customer and fullfills his desired resolution.

Per your dispute resolution request with the BBB I have obtained your take-off wheels and tires back from our supplier.
These are available for you to pick up at our parts department simply by coming by when they are open,
and informing them that you are to pick up the set of wheels and tires for ******* ********.

In the car business trade, when we exchange wheels it is customarily done including the trade in of the existing tires and wheels.
These are commonly called take offs. I don't expect you to know that but our people and our paperwork should have
been clear that this was the case. Obviously it was not clear and accordingly I am returning them to you at our expense.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They gave me my tires and wheels back.

09/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Purchased a ***** **** went back to switch it out for a larger car. Second deal did not go through; dealership kept the first vehicle and my $6,000.00
On 03/21/2015 I purchased a **** ***** ***** VIN# XXXXX4H73DLXXXXXX from **** ***** GMC. I put a down payment of $6,000.00 and the Loan was completely processed. I worked with finance manager ***** ***** and was finance through ** ********** After having the ***** for about 3 weeks, I decided it was a little small and went back into the dealership to see how I can go about trading the car in for a larger vehicle. They started the loan process for a **** *** ******* which was about $2,000.00 cheaper then the ****** A week later ***** contacted me and said that the Loan could not be processed due to employment. I asked ****** "what happens now?" she replied, "you can either get a co-signer and if that does not work, then we have to give you back the ***** **** because that Loan has already been processed. I told her I would try and get a co-signer. I gave her information on my boyfriend ******** ********** He didn't qualify on his own therefore ***** asked if we had anyone else. We tried his brother ******** ********** he did not work so we used my mother ****** ********. After we tried my mom; ***** said I couldn't use my boyfriend because he had no credit establish so I would have to only use my mom. She qualified for a really small car, in which I did not want. So I asked can I just get the ***** **** back. She said no, because they had already paid off the ***** and no longer had the vehicle in their possession. They then took the ****** back and left me with no car and kept my down payment of $6,000.00. They also are trying to charge me $500.00 dollars for a less fee for 5 days at $100.00 per day and less miles of 4,917 miles at .50 a mile; which was never disclosed to me. Personally I feel, since the loan for the ****** nor for any other vehicle was ever finalized then I should receive the ***** **** back because legally it was still my vehicle because the loan for the ***** was completed and the loan for the ****** never got processed nor completed and ***** herself told me that if the co-signer did not go through they would have to return the ***** back to me. They also prolonged the loan process on the ******* I feel that they made a huge mistake by selling my ***** **** that was legally still my car before the second deal was ever finalized. My goal is to try and get my car back or get my $6,000.00 dollar down payment back or a vehicle at equal value to the ***** **** *****
Thank You, ***** ********
**** ****** ******
******* CO. XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking an equal value vehicle to the ***** ***** I originally purchased or my total down payment of $6,000.00. Due to the fact that they sold the ***** **** without my authorization and before the second vehicle was ever processed.

Business Response
This customer engaged in two transactions-the first transaction was the purchase of a ***** **** After driving it for about a month and 1900 miles she decided to trade that vehicle for a larger vehicle. The loan proceeds were funded and the title had been subsequently issued in the customer's name. That transaction's sales taxes were paid to the city and the state and accordingly are not available to return to the customer. The second transaction was for a larger vehicle, the *** ******* The contract was signed and trade value of the *** was clearly indicated on the contract. This second transaction did absorb some of the original down payment. The problem arose when the lending institution reversed their approval due to information on the application found not to be true. Also the trade vehicle was subsequently sold after the second transaction occurred. The customer believed that since the first vehicle went through alright that they could just get that vehicle back. But the lending institution now knew the customer information not to be true therefore reinstating the *** contract was clearly not an option. The dealership continued to find an equitable solution and attempts to get the car back were met with stalls and delays by the customer. After two months and driving 4900 miles in the second car the customer was charged per the bailment agreement she signed, for the use of the vehicle. Five days worth of bailment with 4919 miles were charged to the customer. That did not leave any money left from her equity she put into the deal. She is asking for money back even though it was her misrepresentation to the lending institution, that lead to the contract nullification. And her failure to mitigate the problem and continue to drive the vehicle double the normal usage per month added extra charges. As said previously the first transaction had sales taxes and down payment consideration but that transaction is complete. The only leeway would be to give her back bailment money charged her. But that would mean that she would, through misrepresentation be able to drive a vehicle for 2 months and 4900 miles for free. We did get her family approved on other vehicles but she did not want them.
After discussions with the General Manager the customer set an appointment for Tuesday July 7th at 3:00pm to find alternatives and any possible refunds. The customer was a no call-no show for that appointment. After review of the circumstances, the dealership is sending her a refund of the bailment charges to include only 10 days of usage and mileage. This results in a $749.19 refund to the customer.
This is about as fair and equitable as the circumstances call for and therefore it will be the only refund that will be offered to the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all the second transaction was delayed due to the company taking their time after given the information asked for. The financial rep. called me and said that they would have to give me the Honda *** back if we couldn't get a co-signer, which did not happen instead they sold it. I was also going through the ***** fighting to get my job back. Obviously they completed the first transaction without clarifying employment and the situation I was in. Clearly if they had done so in the beginning we would not be in this situation to begin with. Many people loose their jobs due to economic changes, but their car loans, mortgages, or any other loans do not just disappear as if it was never done, weather they had the loan for a month or more then 2 years; generaly speaking.The only way the car gets taken away is if they miss 3 or more payments in a roll. I feel as if the financial rep was doing her job she would have said, "bring back the ****** and get the ***** back while we work on another solution, instead they let us seat for a couple of months on the ******* using up milege and making us believe that they were making it work with my boyfriend and my mom as a co-signer. I feel that I was mislead and lied to. They were quick to process the first transaction...why because I had 6,000 grand as a down payment, but for the second transaction it was delayed....why because there wasn't a bug sum of money for a down payment. As for missing my appointment I had no ride to get to the business with no car and I felt after more then 3 months of going back and forth with the company and nothing being accomolish, the owner now wants to try and help me.....why because I'm taking matters into my own hands and trying to do what's best for me and my children. No Thank you!!! I feel that I should get my 6,000 grand down payment back.

Thank you, *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe that this case needs to be addressed in the legal system with my attorney. I do not agree that everything the dealership did was fair and legal. Two transactions did not happen! I only have a bill of sales and a VIN number for the first vehicle; the ***** **** I feel that their practice were deceptive, unethical, and unfair. It appears that they rushed my paper work on the ***** **** because I had a an exceptional amount for a down payment.

Final Business Response
The Dealership agrees that this case should be addressed in the legal system. The customer's representation to the bank is the crux of the issue and is not something that can be resolved through the BBB process. The customer has cashed the Dealership's settlement check and we believe this BBB case to be closed. Again, we believe the
Dealership did everything it could to help the customer get the vehicle she was wanting.

09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Dealer fixed my vehicle without authorization. Cut out original body shop without authorization. Tried to get me to sign authorization upon pickup.
A marmot chewed up wires and damaged the hood insulator and firewall insulator on my **** *** ***** (I have photos of marmot in my engine compartment) I took it to ********** **** **** ****** **** ***** # XX-XXXH-XXXXX). ********** gave me a loaner vehicle. ********** had it taken to SUSS to have a repair estimate done on the vehicle. This was on 6/22/15. I didn't hear from Suss or ***** **** all week. Called ********** to see what was going on. ***** (owner of *********** stated that she had not heard from Suss (6/25/15). Friday 6/26 I get a message from *** ******** (Suss service writer) that my vehicle was done that I need to bring $1699.01 to get my vehicle. My deductible is $250.00. I go to Suss on Monday 6/29 to speak to ***. I asked him why was it 1,699.01. Why wasn't ********** involved in the process and who authorized the repair. because I didn't remember giving authorization. He stated that ***** **** sent 2 checks to my house instead of writing the checks out to Suss. I told him he would have to wait until I received the check. That I wasn't going to come out of my pocket. That's why I pay my premiums. He said ok. He said that the ***** **** agent told them that they were fixing the collision part of the vehicle. Not *********** Stated that ***** **** cut ********** out of the picture. He also told me that they said the firewall damage was prior damage. I told him that it was not. That the marmot tore up the insulator and made nest right up against the firewall insulator and chewed that up also(have original photos of areas chewed up)He said that they agreed that it could be from changing out spark plugs. Spark plugs are no were near the chewed up area. I left angry without getting to see authorization letter. I them went to *********** ***** stated that she hadn't heard from either Suss or ***** ***** She showed me the email she had sent. We spoke with ***** ***** They argued that I am the only one that can authorize a repair. My issues with them will be on another complaint. On 7/1 I go to pickup my vehicle from Suss. ***** from ********** came with me. I once again told *** ******** that I want to see the authorization letter. I also asked for a detailed estimate for the firewall replacement. He said he could only give me a figure of what it might cost because the firewall insulator is a discontinued item and was no longer available. Which according to another ***** **** estimator means that ***** **** would have to cut me a check by law for the damaged parts. Which would be somewhere in the $2,500 range. It seams to me there is a little of you scratch my back and I will scratch your coming from ***** **** and suss. Well before I pay for the services. I tell him that I spoke with ***** ***** That the supplement check will be sent to them. I only received one check at my house. He says ok and brings me the authorization for the power of attorney to cash the check. The power of attorney and authorization to repair are on the same sheet. *** ******** says "please sign in these two places". I told him that I will sign the power of attorney but not the repair authorization. Told him I never stepped a foot in the suss body shop. That I never authorized repair of the vehicle. Once again he put it on ***** ***** I have all the photos and a copy of the unsigned authorization letter to repair. This company not only cost me $2,500 but they cost ********** **** **** time and money for giving me a loaner (I also have documentation of this). Who is to blame. I believe both SUSS and ***** **** have a 50/50 split in this.

Desired Settlement
I want a complete official statement on company letterhead that ***** **** agent(name included of agent)authorized repair of my vehicle. A letter stating who authorized Suss body shop to work on my vehicle and not ********** **** ***** I want an official detailed line by line estimate on replacing the firewall shield. Not a guesstimate like I was given when I asked for one the first time.Engine removal included per *** ********. I want a written apology from *** ******** for being a part of having my vehicle fixed without my authorization.

Business Response
After careful review of the repair documents including the repair orders, the service advisor's notes, the ***** **** estimate and the technician's job analysis this was not just a simple repair job. Initially the customer and a representative of ********** **** **** brought the vehicle in for the problem stated as rodent damage under the hood. The advisor was told to write the vehicle up in the name of ********** **** **** with ***** from ********** present at the write up. She gave the ******* her business card. The technician inspected the vehicle and when a ***** **** adjustor came to look at the vehicle and write an estimate he informed The service Advisor that this would have to be written up in *** *****'s name since he was the insured. The insurance adjustor established coverage and determined which of any work would be covered under insurance. Also the technician determined other service recommendations and problems with the vehicle including: the steering gear leaking and the rear brake pads needed replaced and the air bag warning light illuminated. On 6-25 the service advisor called *** ***** and told him all the work that was needed. *** ***** told *** ******** not to do any of the other recommendations but only to do what the insurance company would pay for. *** took this as verbal authorization to do the repairs and the work was completed. At no time was *** called and told to not complete any work because ********** **** was going to do the work. Please accept our apology for any misunderstanding but ***'s conversations with both *** ***** and ***** from ********** led us to believe we were to complete the insurance work. It is customary to obtain verbal authorization to complete work and write down the day and who you talked to the customer. *** wrote that on 6-25 he called and was given verbal instructions to only do what the insurance company would pay for. We apologize for any inconvenience that we may have caused *** *****.
I am sure he can find out further information from
his insurance company ****** ******* to any other circumstances regarding the repair including those items they determined were not part of the

06/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Sales issue, sales person didn't do as stated/asked.

Paid for extra warranty on paint, now being told issue is not covered by warranty.
First, I asked for the hitch to removed from my old vehicle and placed on the new one. The sales person stated he would have it done. I told him this was a deal breaker. I go in to sign the papers. Once the sales was complete, I come out to the car and the hitch is sitting in the trunk of the new vehicle. Sales person stated I thought you just wanted me to take it off, but not put it on. There seem to be a lot of misunderstanding doing the sales process. My big issue is the fact I pay for what the finance guys calls the extras. The paint sealant to protect the paint, so it would look new the entire time. Protection for Dens, or bumbs into the car in the parking lot by other cars and the extended 6yr 100,000 warranty. I go in because of what I believe to be paint peeling off the back of the vehicle in the tag area. I take it to the body shop of the dealer, who states the paint is not peeling and they can not help me. I told them even with that I pay for the den coverage and it should be coverage. They told me that area is not cover. I was not told there was area's of the vehicle not covered when they sold me the coverage. It was to cover den's or dents cause in parking lots or where ever. Now when I need this coverage, oh, it does not cover that. I kind of let the first issue go, but now this. I spoke with the sales managers who told me he was the top guy there and I could just leave.

Desired Settlement
I would like the issued covered and repaired.

Business Response
I have spoken to several of our employees who have dealt with *** ****** and all have tried to help him to resolve any issues and he is not willing to have any one help him. Our Service Director-**** has reached out twice since this bbb complaint even leaving his cell phone number and *** ****** has failed to respond.
After the issue arose at purchase regarding the hitch, the Salesperson had offered to take care of the reinstall but *** ****** refused. We can't fix something if he doesn't allow us the opportunity to do so.
Regarding the damaged bumper: the **** ****** ********** that *** ****** purchased is a non-paint remedy package. This service plan is for Door dings that can be repaired using paint-less dent repair. The gouge and scratch on the bumper requires re-working and re-painting the bumper. This is not a covered item and is normally turned in as an insurance claim into the customer's insurance company. When we informed *** ****** that he should make a claim with his insurance company he became very heated. It escalated to the Manager who again tried to explain the difference between a paint-less dent repair and a comprehensive or collision claim. Unfortunately, we were not going to be able to satisfy him with anything we said or did.
*** ****** can still call The Service Director-**** and we will fulfill our promise of reinstalling the hitch on the vehicle but we are not able to repair his bumper under the **** ****** ******* *****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First no one has reached out to me. There is no messages left on my phone with a name and number to contact anyone. This is again a complete lie by the dealership. Second, this is not what was explain to me concerning what was covered and what was not. It was just stated we will not take care of it. The policy when purchase was stated to cover this, now it is being said that this is not. Again another lie by this dealership.
Back to hitch, the salesperson was informed this this was a deal breaker and I should not have to repurchase anything that should have been done at the time of the deal.
Back to damage, the dealership should make sure the policy is explain right and not in broad terms where a customer is to assume this is covered to make a deal. This is a misleading sales practice. So I will not accept this response because no one has reached out to me and again they are making false statements. But it is there word against mines. I will not let this go by.

Final Business Response
We want to fulfill our promise to *** ****** of installing his hitch. BBB sent him the response that we would do so on 6-5-15 asking him to see **** the Service Director. *** ****** visited our dealership on 6-12-15 but only asked the service writer for an oil change and to look at the check engine light. And he did no ask for **** so nothing was done on the hitch. I would be more than happy to sit down face to face with *** ****** to discuss any open items at his convenience. Please call **** **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/01/1981Business started: 08/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Suss (President)Mr Jim Suss -
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Suss Pontiac GMC Truck
Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)
Car Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Suss Buick Pontiac GMC has received 4.34 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Suss Buick Pontiac GMC

1301 S Havana St

Aurora, CO 80012-4011

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1301 S Havana St 

    Aurora, CO 80012-4011

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Suss Buick Pontiac GMC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 751-3492 ext 3
  • (303) 751-0191
  • (303) 306-4001
  • (303) 306-4000

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.