BBB Accredited Business since

Stevinson Toyota West and Scion

Additional Locations

Phone: (303) 277-0550 Fax: (303) 278-1156 View Additional Phone Numbers 780 Indiana St, Lakewood, CO 80401


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stevinson Toyota West and Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stevinson Toyota West and Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Stevinson Toyota West and Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1973 Business started: 06/01/1969 Business started locally: 06/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Business Management
Mr. Declan Hughes, General Manager Ms. Patty Ford
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Patty Ford
Principal: Mr. Declan Hughes, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stevinson Toyota West and Scion has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1726 Cole Blvd STE 300

    Lakewood, CO 80401 (303) 232-2006

  • 780 Indiana St

    Lakewood, CO 80401

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unsafe brakes installed resulting in brake pad falling off vehicle. I have had my vehicle ***** ****** coming up on two years, and have had nothing but problems with this dealership. Most recent problem has been my brakes, even though this problem has been ongoing since the beginning. I was in end of June to have my brakes looked at for squeaking. At this point they had already been replaced three times prior since I have had the car. I had to go through the GM, as well as corporate to get them to agree to "fix" the issue. They had my vehicle two days, put me in a rental, and advised they had fixed the problem. I pick up my car, get home and see on the paperwork that they power washed my brakes. That's it! That was their solution to my squealing brakes. Three days ago the brakes start grinding. According to the dealership noise is normal. As I'm leaving the grocery store, the brake pad completely falls off of the car with my one year old son in the car! Completely unacceptable from a dealership with a "reputable" name. They agree to come to my home and inspect it, and decide to take it in. They then call me today, and advise me the rotors, brake pads, and caliber needs replacement due to my lack of taking it in for an oil change where they would have noticed the brakes. When I bring it to their attention they do nothing, and now that it's a safety issue they still do nothing and want me to pay over $800 in repairs. I have contacted corporate, and waiting for a call back. I'm without a car for my kids and I to get to work/school/daycare. Horrible dealership when it comes to service/customer service. They are the only ones to have worked on my car, and this could have resulted in a really bad accident with my baby in the car. ****, manager, ***, service manager, GM Mr.******, and ***** customer service in corporate all unwilling to help.

Desired Settlement: I believe they are responsible for repair due to the fact this has been an ongoing issue. Or put me in another vehicle. I would even be willing to pay for the brake pads if everything else is covered. The result of replacing rotors and caliber is because they ignored my request of new brakes in June. The brakes were replaced at 27,000 miles, 43,000 miles, 61,000 miles and now need them again as well add additional work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/15) */ Dear BBB, Once we received *** ****'s phone call, and prior to receiving the BBB complaint, we scheduled an inspection of her brakes by ****** ********** The inspection occurred last week and their finding is the damage was severe. Two new rotors, a new front left caliper, brake pads, shims, and a new hardware kit needed replacement, totaling over $1,055 in repairs. In addition to inspecting the brake components, the Toyota Service Representative looked at her service history. He surmised that the damage was most likely caused by driving habits and deferred maintenance but did not rule out the possibility that the master cylinder might be dragging on her brake pads causing premature wear. The master cylinder could not be inspected until all of the worn brake parts were replaced. Toyota approved a one-time goodwill replacement of the brake parts so the master cylinder could be inspected. *** **** accepted the goodwill offer and chose an extended wear brake pad, even though we explained that they are more likely to produce the squeal she has experienced in the past. The worn brake parts have been replaced, at no charge to *** ****, and the master cylinder has been inspected. Our Master Certified Toyota Shop Foreman, **** ******** has determined the master cylinder is working as designed and he relayed his findings to the Toyota Service Representative. Our inspection also noted that the vehicle has three bent wheels, both front tires are worn down to the wear bars, an alignment is needed, the air and cabin filters need to be replaced and her vehicle is in need of an oil change as the oil has not been changed for 27,724 miles. *** ****'s brake pads were inspected and/or replaced at 27,221, 42,900, and 61,000 miles at ********* ****** ***** During those visits, *** ******* inspected the brake components, including the master cylinder, and could find no possible cause for the premature brake pad wear and determined that the brake noise she was experiencing was normal but might have been exasperated by the brake dust building up on the caliper, pad and hardware. We tried different brake pads to help reduce the squeal she was hearing and cleaned the brake dust hoping that would help. When I spoke with *** **** about her brake squeal 11,000 miles ago when we could find no cause (and her brake pads measured 7/8mm), I suggested she get a second opinion by another repair facility. *** **** admitted that she did not obtain a second opinion or get the recommended services performed. We obtained the experience of not only a well-trained Master Certified Toyota technician and service staff but also a Toyota Service Representative who have all concluded that *** **** will be well served by following Toyota's recommended maintenance schedule which is to bring her vehicle in for inspection and service every 5,000 miles. We sincerely hope *** **** is satisfied with our goodwill offer and welcome a second opinion if she is unsatisfied with the outcome of our thorough investigation. We will be contacting *** **** today to let her know her vehicle is ready for delivery.

10/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Proper paperwork wasn't finished.Was told it would be finished by the time I got home.90+ days later it is not &they've stopped responding to me & *** I was leasing a **** ****** *** 4 and originally leased it from ********* In 2015 I spoke to a representative about trading this car in for a new one for a lower monthly payment. I made it clear from the beginning that I live in ********** now and needed to register here. I was willing to keep working with the dealership because I've worked with them since there were never any major issues in the first lease. They knew that I was taking the car back to ********** and asked me several times what county I live in *********** to ensure that paperwork AND TAXES were completed properly. I signed all of the paperwork, I've never missed a payment on the original lease or the new one. I was shown a Power of Attorney in the paperwork and was told that was one of the things in my giant stack of papers I was leaving with but it wasn't. I was told that everything else needed would be sent to the *** in ********* county before I made it home and that everything was taken care of. Almost two months went by before they actually sent any sort of paperwork, but they sent it to a *** in **** ****** which baffled me. I could never get anyone at that *** on the phone to see what they had been sent and if they could send it to the proper **** so I began reaching out to the dealership again. I had already sent requests for the power of attorney that went unanswered but I continued to reach out to request the proper paperwork be sent to the proper **** I was finally able to get some time off of work and made it into the *** the day that my temporary tags expired and explained that I had everything I had been given to properly register the car. At one point, I was told that there were so many red flags the agent wasn't sure the car was legally allowed to be in the state, but he wouldn't explain what that meant. They verified the vehicle vin number and I spoke to yet another person who refused to help me any further without more paperwork from ******* I explained I had no time left on my tags and he wouldn't give me any additional temporary tags. I called the *** customer service line (these people are actually VERY helpful, as much as they can be). The woman on the phone understood my concerns and immediatly had my back. She wanted to speak directly to the *** representative but he refused to offer any additional information or speak to the rep (I can understand they can't talk on cell phones; I can't understand why he wasn't helpful). I asked to speak to a manager and he told me to go away to wait somewhere else. I had to ask several more agents to speak to a manager and finally one came over to me. She provided a number that TFS customer service could call her directly at so that they could discuss the issue while I waited. When the manager came back over she explained that the dealership didn't do the title paperwork or state to state transfer paperwork properly, if at all. She told me that it would take about an hour for it to be sent over and to come back. I left and came back, waited a while again, and finally someone explained that it could be 100 or MORE days before they get the proper paperwork from the *** (they have 90 days plus a 10 day leeway before TFS starts bugging them for it) so they offered me a new temporary tag that is only good for 30 days. They took my plates and made me pay the registration fees, but the car isn't registered yet. The dealership has been unresponsive to me and to TFS and to the **** I still have to make my payments for the car, had to pay the registration fees, and take time off of work to get down there but still nothing is complete.

Desired Settlement: They need to send the proper paperwork immediately! It wouldn't hurt if they'd reimburse me for the additional time taken off work and gas I have to use for all the additional trips to the DMV that weren't necessary, like having to return to find out there was no paperwork and to have to go down to the DMV and get a new TEMPORARY tag every month, even though I've paid the registration fees (over $400 in this county). I am already looking up attorneys to help me with my rights and options at this point and if they continue to be non-responsive through the entire 100 day period. I am paying for the car so I don't know how it's okay that they can prevent me from legally registering it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/24) */ Dear BBB, We sincerely apologize for the problems *** ********* has encountered registering her vehicle in **********. *** ********* purchased a new **** **** on June 30, 2015. On July 20, 2015, the paperwork and filing fee were sent to the *** in **** ******* *** *** *********'s phone number was on the paperwork so the clerk could call her if there were any problems. A few days before we received *** *********'s BBB complaint, her paperwork was returned to our office with a note: "Have tried to contact customer to come in. We are unable to start application due to more information needed". Based on the request in her complaint, we immediately sent the documents overnight to ********* at the *** location nearest her home and **** ****** our Business Manager, left her a voice mail. *** ********* called **** soon after and let her know the paperwork needed to be sent to the ****** ** *** office. **** was able to talk to ********* and they sent the documents to ****** **** contacted ***** on September 22 and they confirmed *** *********'s vehicle has been registered. **** left a message with *** ********* and we have not heard back to confirm this information. We have also sent a check for $50 to *** ********* to reimburse her for the temporary tag fee and gas. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Although their response is a little inaccurate and definitely sugar coated, I accept the end result. Once **** got involved, everything went much smoother. She put a lot of effort into making it right and ultimately we got there. The check was appreciated as well as I had to make multiple trips to the DMV and take 2 days off work. Although it doesn't cover the missed work, it covered the gas. Ultimately, all the paperwork got finished and to the proper DMV by the deadline for the most recent temp tag. Thank you.

9/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my car in 3 separate times to fix the same issue and it is yet to be fixed. I took my **** ****** ******* to Stevinson after an airbag alert came on. At the initial appointment, they wanted to keep my car and repair the issue, which was quoted at $732 in addition to the service charge, but they didn't have the part needed. A second appointment was made within a weeks time, as my airbags currently aren't working properly and this is a major safety concern. The initial appointment was July 21, 2015. The second July 29, 2015. My father and I both work evenings, so we scheduled the appointment as early as possible in hopes it would be completed in a timely manner. After we dropped the car off for the second appointment, ******* in their service department called to say they never ordered the part needed for my vehicle and we both had to get back up out of bed to retrieve my still unfixed car. We told them to order the part and then contact us when it came in, as I can't make it to my job and back with no transportation. We couldn't just leave the car for their convenience. They finally contacted us to say the part was in and we schedule another appointment for August 18, 2015 at 7:15 am. When we dropped off the car, they checked and assured us they had the part. Just before 3 pm, after they had my car for 8 hours and nearly the whole day, they called to say they ordered the wrong part and once again had done nothing to fix my car. This has been one solid month of me driving an unsafe vehicle with defective airbags because I have no other option for my everyday life. Stevinson has offered no solution or helped in any way, other than to keep saying they've ordered the part. I've had to rework my schedule and my dad's schedule multiple times with still no fix.

Desired Settlement: I would like for stevinson to properly and finally fix the airbag issue in my vehicle. At this point, I would like the service to be done free of charge to me. I do not believe I should have to pay for the parts or service if the problem can ever be resolved. If they can't make this happen, a courtesy vehicle for me to use for as long as they need my car is detrimental. If no solution is offered, I will be forced to take my vehicle somewhere else to be fixed in a timely manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/21) */ *******, we are very sorry that you have been inconvenienced due to parts ordering errors. I understand the driver's side airbag was delivered yesterday and you dropped off your ******* this morning. The Service Manager, *** ********** scheduled a rental vehicle at no charge to you until the repairs are completed. You will also receive a 10% discount off the total repair cost. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to repair your vehicle. We sincerely appreciate your business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/09/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) **** ****** is a man of his word and seems to be the only person at Stevinson who actually cared and wanted to help fix it. He knows how to properly handle customer service and understands you don't have to bring a person to tears in order to get your point across. It's unfortunate I couldn't just deal with **** from the very beginning. Our money was refunded as soon as he intervened and he did correct the mistake. I will never deal with their service manager again, he is a truly mean person, but I would consider going through **** again. They need more people like him around that place.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invoice No. XXXXXXOn June 13, 2013, our 2000 Toyota 4Runner was brought to the dealership with an overheating problem while we were traveling from Wisconsin to Utah. I described the cooling problem to the service adviser and also provided a copy of service that was performed that morning at the Toyota dealership in North Platte, Nebraska. Some additional work was performed that is not the subject of this dispute. I did appreciate the prompt and professional attention provided by your staff.Your service department replaced the thermostat and gasket, also performing a cooling system flush However, the thermostat was not the problem, nor was there a problem with the cooling system. The next day we continued our travel. When we reached western Colorado the vehicle began overheating again. We stopped, waited for the vehicle to cool, replaced coolant and made it to Moab, Utah, where we located a mechanic to service the vehicle. The mechanic determined that the problem was a faulty fan clutch, that the mechanic replaced. Unfortunately, the part had to be shipped to the repair shop, and our trip was delayed for 4 days (the vehicle was seen on late Friday the part did not arrive until the next Tuesday when the vehicle was repaired.)Accordingly, the service technician did not correctly diagnose the cooling system problem and the repairs performed by your dealership did not solve the overheating problem and were unnecessary. We are disputing the charges ($353.18) related to the work that was performed relating to the cooling system on our credit card. I attempted to discuss an accommodation, providing my address below, and email at *******@wi.rr.com, and phone (XXX-XXX-XXXX) The dealership did nothing even though a repair at substantial cost was performed without any attempt at dealing with the problem. So much for Toyota service if you are an out of state customer Product_Or_Service: Repair - Vehicle cooling system Order_Number: Invoice XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Disputed the portion of the charge related to the unnecessary repair ($353.18)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/13) */ Dear BBB, Mr. ****** came to Stevinson Toyota West in June 2013 with his 2000 Toyota 4Runner with 152,881 miles and an overheating concern. The notes from the mechanic in North Platte indicate they could not duplicate the overheating concern but did diagnose a problem with the radiator cap which they replaced. When Mr. ****** came to Stevinson Toyota West, we also could not get the vehicle to overheat (we test drove the vehicle 63 miles while it was in our care). The technician noted straight coolant in the radiator (should be a mix of water and coolant) so he recommended a coolant flush. The technician thought the thermostat may be sticking intermittently and recommended a new thermostat which Mr. ****** approved. This was an educated guess because we could not get the vehicle to overheat (an overheated engine could cause the thermostat to overheat and stick). The technician's notes also show that they checked the fan clutch which he found to be operating properly. Even though we did not have a firm diagnosis which was communicated to Mr. ******, the repairs were recommended and approved. Mr. ****** received the benefit of a new thermostat and a coolant flush. The coolant flush was needed because of the presence of straight coolant. It's likely that the radiator cap from North Platte, and the flush and new thermostat from Toyota West may have helped in the repair of the overheating problem. As a goodwill gesture, we would like to offer a refund of $108 which is the amount Mr. ****** paid for the labor to install the new thermostat. We are offering this amount on the assumption the thermostat was unnecessary. We sincerely hope Mr. ****** finds our offer satisfactory. Thank you, ******** L. **** Corporate Customer Relations Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2014/09/23) */ The resolution proposed would be satisfactory ($108.00 refund); the check can be mailed to our address as indicated on the invoice - ***** ******; **** ** **** **** ********** *** XXXXX; re Case No. XXXXXXXX Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/24) */ Thank you Mr. ******. A check for $108.00 will be mailed within the next seven days to the address indicated. Sincerely, ******** L. **** Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The settlement reflects an acknowledgement that the services rendered did not address the problem with the vehicle for which service was requested. I am satisfied with this solution.

7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* Toyota West wrecked our truck into a concrete pilar during an oil change. We took our Tundra into ********* Toyota West on July 7th for its oil change and maintenance check. While my wife was waiting for our truck to be serviced, a lady that works in the service department came up to her and told her that something had happened to our truck and she needed to come out and take a look at the truck. Another lady that works in the service department was driving our truck out of their car wash turned left and damaged the back left side of our truck. The service manager *** came out and talk with my wife and said they would do what they need to do to fix the truck. My wife told them that she was going to call me and see what I thought should be done. By the time my wife got a hold of me, *** the manager had already left for the day. This is where the horrible customer service started. Instead of coming to check with my wife to see if she had gotten a hold of me he just leaves for the day. I called and left a message for ***. *** had told my wife that they have two places where they take cars to get fixed but would be happy to have it fixed where ever we would chose. I took the truck to a couple places to get an estimate on what it would cost to fix our truck. I stopped by ********* to show these to *** and he was out for the day! *** called me back and said that he did not care what the estimates said and that Toyota would supply the parts to get our truck fixed. *** has been nothing but a rude and put off by this situation. This accident happened at their facility and was negligence of their employees. It was their companies fault and the people that work for their company. After getting no help with ***, we then moved to the general manager **** ******. After playing phone tag back and forth with **** he left me a message stating the same thing that *** had said, that their company would supply the parts to the auto body of our choice. So we decided to try and file a claim through their insurance company and they told us that we are unable to do that because they are self insured. Since the beginning all we are asking of them is to cut us a check for what is owed to fix our truck. It is not up to them to decide, how, when, or where our truck will be fixed. You think that they would care about their name and reputation and do the right thing. But like I said since the beginning they have the attitude that they are put off by the whole thing and that they could care less for what they did to our truck!

Desired Settlement: We are asking them to write a check to us to get our truck fixed. It is not up to them where and how we get our truck fixed. They need to do the right thing and stand behind their name!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/22) */ Dear BBB, What the dealership was attempting to do was to make sure the damage was adequately repaired by a Toyota certified body shop using genuine Toyota parts and to make sure the dealership was responsible until all repairs were performed to his satisfaction. However, we understand Mr. ******* wanted to be paid directly and we have obliged. Mr. ******* received a check yesterday based on the estimate he provided. Everyone involved sincerely apologizes for the delays in resolving this matter and most of all for the damage. We hope this matter has been resolved. Please let me know if you require any additional information. Sincerely, ******** L. **** Corporate Customer Relations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes the dealership finally did cut me a check for the damges. It's to bad it took a compaint to the bbb for them to do what was the right thing from the get go. However they were never concerned about us getting it fixed right as they state (at a toyota certified body shop) All they were trying to do was sell there own parts to the body shop so it would be cheaper for them and they could profit from the parts and cut there repair costs. Thanks, **** *******

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought an SUV from Stevinson Toyota West on 3/21/14 and were told that Sirius was installed and working. It turns out that this feature was broken We purchased a 2010 Mazda CX9 on 3/21/14 and were told during the test drive that the Sirius Satellite Radio feature was installed and working on this vehicle. I went to activate it shortly thereafter and was unable to get it to work. The head unit constantly said "acquiring signal." I spent hours trying to fix it with Sirius support and they referred me to a dealer. I then took it by a local Mazda dealer and had them determine what was wrong with it. They were able to determine that the Sirius DLP (downlink processor) module was broken and needed to be replaced. They said that the total cost of this repair with labor included was $704.00. I contacted Stevinson about this and they have communicated about it initially, even saying their used car manager would make a decision and get back to me. I have not heard anything since and that was well over a week ago. I feel as though Stevinston Toyota West misrepresented the product they sold me and are now unwilling to take any responsibility for, or offer any assistance with the defective product they sold me.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to step up and do the right thing and fix / replace the Sirius DLP unit in the vehicle we purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ Dear BBB, We sincerely apologize to Mr. ****** that he did not receive a response in a timely manner. Our General Manager, **** ******, spoke with Mr. ****** last week and agreed to pay $704.00 for the replacement of the Sirius DLP module. Our offer is open until May 31, 2014 to give Mr. ****** time to schedule his appointment. Sincerely, ******** L. **** Corporate Customer Relations

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that if I purchased an extended warranty, but did not use it within 5 years or 100,000 miles, the cost of the warranty would be refunded. On May 10, 2008 I purchased a Toyota Sienna LE from Stevinson Toyota West. While signing the papers, the Director of Finance, **** ****** offered my husband and myself the opportunity to purchase an extended warranty on the car. My husband and I disagreed on whether or not to purchase the warranty, and in response **** ****** said, "If you purchase the Toyota Extra Care Vehicle Service Agreement warranty and do not file a claim on it within 5 years or 100,000 miles, the cost of the warranty ($2080.00) will be refunded to you." That statement caused me to give in to my husband's desire to purchase the warranty since I knew that if we didn't use it, the cost would be refunded. The date rolled around where my warranty was coming to and end and Toyota Customer Service send me a "no claims letter" stating that I had never filed a claim against the warranty. They instructed me to take the letter to the dealership and that my money would be refunded. On January 25, 2014 I talked with **** ******* Director of Finance, who is still employed there and told him that he personally had promised me to refund the warranty if I didn't make any claims on it. His response was, "We don't do that anymore." I pressed the issue and explained to him exactly what had been promised and he agreed to "look into it." A couple weeks went by and I hadn't heard anything, so I emailed him. Again, no response. I called and spoke with him and he again agreed to look into it. Over the course of the next three weeks I had to send a minimum of five additional emails to ***** with no resolution to my problem. I finally received an email from **** stating, " I apologize for the delay. I sent an e-mail to ******* to expedite." When I didn't hear from ******* I emailed the General Manager of the dealership, **** ****** and explained to him that I was unhappy with how my refund was being handled and how much time it was taking. I immediately received a call from **** ****** stating that he and **** were "working on my situation." After not hearing back for several more days I emailed **** once more on March 7, 2014. I immediately recieved an email from the General Manager stating that there was nothing to be refunded to me. I called him and he told me that since I did not have anything in writing stating that the cost of the warranty would be refunded, that in fact it would not be and that there was nothing more that he was going to do for me. He assured me that his employees never would have promised me such a thing. However, my husband at the time (who is now my ex-husband with no financial gains to be made from the refund of this money) will gladly verify that this promise was made to us during the purchase of our vehicle from Stevinson Toyota.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the cost of my extended warranty refunded to me as was promised when I initally purchased it. I upheld my end of the deal and did not make any claims against the warranty, and would therefore like the $2080.00 refund that I was promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/19) */ Dear BBB, I have carefully reviewed the ********* complaint and specifically the Toyota Extra Care Vehicle Service Agreement that was sold to the *********'s on May 10, 2008 for $2,080. The term of the Agreement was for seven (7) years from the in-service date or 100,000 miles, whichever came first. The contract expired on February 7, 2014. The Toyota Extra Care Agreement purchased by the *********'s WAS cancellable with a full refund within the first thirty (30) days, assuming they had no claims. The language, which was on the agreement that the *********'s signed reads: "Within thirty (30) days of the date this Agreement was mailed to you, if no benefits have been paid, You may cancel this Agreement and TMIS will refund the Agreement Purchase Price, minus a $25 processing fee, except that for Agreements issued in..." This is the part of the contract we want to make sure customers know about so they can take some time to review the Agreement to make sure they are making the right decision - and possibly the source of the *********'s recollection of a refund if no claims were filed. When Ms. ********* first contacted Mr. ****** and asked for a no claims letter, he submitted her request to Toyota without reviewing whether or not the Agreement had expired. He also submitted her cancellation request to the business office without knowing the terms of the Agreement. Mr. ****** submitted her request because the Toyota Extra Care Agreement was not only fully cancellable during the first 30 days, but also cancellable at any time during the term with a prorated refund based on time and miles. If the Agreement had not expired, and her vehicle was within 100,000 miles, Ms. ********* would have received a partial, prorated refund. We do not have a recording of the conversation that occurred between the parties back in 2008. While we know that sometimes communication between the Customer and our Associates can be misinterpreted, **** ****** has been an employee of Stevinson Automotive for seven years, and during that time we have no history of Mr. ****** misstating promises to customers. What we do have is a fully executed Toyota Extra Care Agreement with specified terms and Stevinson customers who felt they were promised a full refund if no claims were made during the term. As a goodwill gesture, we would like to offer Ms. ********* a partial refund of 50% of the Agreement purchase price, in the amount of $1,040. Our offer is good until March 31, 2014. Stevinson's business model is built upon satisfied Customers and has been in business in Colorado for over fifty years. Stevinson Toyota West, like all Stevinson dealerships, maintains the highest rating possible with the Better Business Bureau and has received the prestigious Toyota President's award for many years. We sincerely hope our offer is favorable to Ms. *********. Please contact me if you have any questions. Sincerely, ******** L. **** Corporate Customer Relations Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The resolution of a refund of $1040.00 is acceptable to me, but I still feel that I was coerced into purchasing an extended warranty with false promises. I have learned the hard way to get every promise in writing, and I am disappointed that the Finance Director at Stevinson has not admitted that the verbal promise to refund the cost to my warranty was made in his office at the time of purchase. Jsut because a person has been employed at a certain company for seven years does not mean that he or she did not make a verbal promise to a customer to do something that is not standard practice. He or she should follow through on that promise regardless of the circumstance. Thank you.

1/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/02) */ Dear BBB, Mr.******* purchased his 2005 Nissan Frontier and Extended Service Contract from Stevinson Toyota West on September 27, 2012. When Mr.******* experienced a failure, the vehicle was referred to Stevinson Toyota East due to proximity who then sublet the vehicle to Tynan's Nissan at 780 South Havana Street. The Nissan experienced a transmission failure on August 22, 2013. The vehicle was sublet to Tynan's Nissan and the transmission valve body was replaced under warranty. Shortly thereafter, Mr.******* experienced further problems with the transmission. He brought the vehicle back to Tynan's for a complete transmission replacement. On September 9, Mr.******* took the vehicle back to Tynan's who then replaced the transmission pump. All of these repairs were performed under warranty at no charge to Mr.*******. On 11/23/13, Mr.******* had the vehicle towed back to Tynan's. They discovered a radiator failure causing coolant to leak into the transmission. This is a failure unrelated to the transmission repair and the radiator is unfortunately not a covered component under the extended service contract Mr.******* purchased. Tynan's offered to split the repair 50/50 with Mr.******* due to previus inconveniences. Mr.******* declined to accept their offer. **** ******, the Service Manager at Stevinson Toyota East has spoken with Mr.******* who said he would come by after January 5th as he is in Mexico until then. Mr. ****** is offering to work with Mr.******* on the repair cost to see if it can further be reduced by having the work performed at Stevinson Toyota East. We are hoping for an amicable solution and will update our response after further contact with Mr.*******. Sincerely, **************** Corporate Customer Relations

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought and had a bug shield installed at Stevinson Toyota,as well as other purchases,in the past. I thought Stevinson Auto Group had integrity. I was wrong. I bought and had a bug shield installed on my '07 Toyota Highlander there at Stevinson in Lakewood, Colorado. A small part fell off the installed item.I have bought parts from Stevinson Toyota in Lakewood, Colorado in the past. Stevinson Toyota of Lakewood have my address and phone number and e-mail address. I drove from ****** Rock(where i live) in hopes of having some one at Stevinson Toyota would take care of the problem, or at least take ownership of the problem and help me.Opon my arrival,(I had no appointment, this was my only day off)and after being approached by some one in service,I was taken to parts by someone who never introduced herself. I was left there in parts completely un-attended with a line of people four deep. Eventually, when it was my turn, I asked Mr. ***** about the small part for my bugshield. He told me the small part ( a small nut and bolt, used to install a plastic bugshield..a .35 cent item) would cost me $18.92 plus tax to buy, and he told me he would need to order it. I declined to order it. I then went back to the shop where my car was parked, where i had parked it. After a few minutes, another service person approached me and asked if i had been helped. He did not introduce himself either. I explained my problem, and he said he would need to speak with someone else inside. He left me there in service staring at the wall. I went inside to find out what was happening, and i was told by two service employees(i assume they were service employess, neither introduced himself)that the part in question is part of a package, and that "is the way it was". No other solution was offered except that... "i should go to a hardware store and see if they can help me"! So i was forced to back out my vehicle out of the shop, at the peril of anyone behind me, because there was no one around to figure out a way for me to move forward with my vehicle. I called Stevinson immediatly(as i was driving away from the Stevinson dealership) on my cell phone, and asked to speak with some one in the customer service or complaint department. The operator put me on hold, and a male voice came on a voice mail system and told me to leave a messege. UN- BELIEVEABLE! I did leave a messege, and that was about 12:08 hours of today. Still no reply as i write this complaint. So i will go to that hardware store i was told to go too, and i will take care of this problem myself. I will take all of my Toyota's future service and/or parts needs to Auto Nation, or any other Toyota dealership, as long as the Stevinson name is not on the marque' . I will tell this story to all of my friends and co-workers; past,present,and future and encourage them never to do business with the Stevinson Automotive Group. I will call the "*** ******* Radio Show" on Denvers' KHOW radio station and tell this story to them, and ask them if i can go on the air "live" with this story. I so look forward to telling the Denver area the full truth and details of this story. I never, or rarely complain to anyone about anything. My record, or lack of records, prove that. I am very dis-appointed with Stevinson, and rightly, will explain this dissappointment to many, many people in the Denver area, via this incident.I had been recently contiplating buying a vehicle from Stevinson Toyota of Lakewood. I will buy my next vehicle from Auto- Nation, or some other Toyota dealership.I will encourage my friends and co-workers to make any future car purchases from someone other then the Stevinson Auto Group. When they ask why, or even if they dont ask why, i will explain my reason by re-telling my experiance today at Stevinson Toyota of Lakewood, Colorado.I will tell all to buy from *********** !

Desired Settlement: Im not sure what to ask for. I have never complained to the BBB, or any other entity about any business. I want a written apology from someone other than a customer service rep. I want a written and phone call apology by someone whom i know has a large amount of authority in the Stevinson Auto Group.I want that apology from a vice-president or some other officer of the Stevinson Auto Group. I want the verbal and written apology by someone who will know about the details of this incident/problem , and that person will be able to rectify the problem in a professional and expediant manner. I want a verbal/written apology by someone who will personaly see to it re-trainning of all service personnel is instituted.I want that person to also have the authority to make sure complaints are quickly resolved and customers needs are met. I want this person who is in charge of the Stevinson Auto Group to write me(letter or e-mail) and let me know exactly what trainning steps are being taken with all service personnel,so as to avoid these problems in the future with other customers. I will not do business with Stevinson again, but others will, and your company's survival, in this very copetitive market, depends on all your staff members getting it right all the time with every customer service oppurtunity. From a monetary perspective, i guess a full refund of the bug shield, and the cost of the labor to install it is appropriate. Stevinson has the invoice on file. I believe it was approx. $150.00. I believe another $150.00 in gas money and time spent on this complaint should be added to that amount for my time and trouble in this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/04) */ Dear Mr. ***, My name is ***** **** and I am the Customer Relations Manager for the Stevinson dealerships. On behalf of Stevinson Toyota West, I would like to apologize that our employees did not take ownership of your need to find a replacement part for your bug shield. We certainly could and should have been more helpful in helping you understand the best resolution. And there is simply no excuse for you to be put into voice mail when you called back and no excuse that your call was not returned. All of the issues you brought up have been addressed with management. I want to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention so we can improve our customers' experience. Unfortunately, I have been told that the missing piece is part of the bug shield installation kit that cannot be found at a hardware store. It is not possible to purchase just the missing piece - the entire installation kit must be ordered and we are happy to provide it to you at no charge. We can order the part today and it should arrive in about 2 days and we will install it at the dealership at no charge. We can also have the part delivered to your home at no charge. Please let me know how you would like us to proceed. Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention. Sincerely, ***** ****, Customer Relations and Corporate Communications Manager

12/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During routine service, dealer left airbox open, allowing unfiltered air to enter the engine. Service in question occurred 10/11/2013. The vehicle was in for a 70,000 mile service, which included checking the air filter. When this was performed, the airbox was left open, allowing unfiltered air to enter the engine. Unfortunately, I did not notice this until over a week later, in which time the vehicle had spent considerable time driving in an extremely dusty and sandy environment. It is my feeling that this will have caused some amount of internal damage that may not be immediately noticeable. The dealer has stated that unless there is currently something wrong with the vehicle, that there is nothing they can do. My concern is that the damage caused is not catastrophic, yet will significantly diminish the lifespan of the engine. Both *** ******** the service manager, and **** ******, the general manager, have stated that despite being driven without the air filter, the engine is probably fine. I disagree with this assessment, and feel that there is an air filter installed on the engine for a very important reason, and it was due to the shop's negligence that unfiltered air was allowed to enter the engine.

Desired Settlement: I have requested either an extended warranty covering specific issues that might arise from the engine ingesting foreign materials, or a very good deal on a trade for my vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/11/27) */ Dear BBB, Our Service Manager, *** ********** has been working with Mr. ****** to resolve his concerns about the integrity of his vehicle's engine. Mr. Traughber took a sample of the engine oil and had it tested by an outside testing facility. Click here to see the results from the test: http://www.blackstone-labs.com/report-explanation.php. The test results were shared with Mr. ****** who sent back and email stating: Thanks for forwarding this along ***. It does look surprisingly clean - the test I got done did show a bit more silicon, but probably within the levels to be expected between sample variation. We may have lucked out this time, I guess there isn't anything to do now but hope for the best. Make sure to have a chat with your techs about attention to detail. I'm not a fan of having to rely on luck with my vehicle maintenance Based on the results of the test, we feel the integrity of the vehicle's engine has not been compromised. I would be happy to put Mr. ****** in touch with our General Manager, **** ******, so he can give him our best offer on a trade-in value for his vehicle if he is still interested in trading in his vehicle. I apologize for the lateness of my reply as I have been out of the country on vacation for an extended period.Let me know if there is anything else you need from me.

10/15/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehicle from this company, this vehicle broke immediately, nobody will return phone calls or correct the problem I purchased a **** **** ******** in **** for $14,000, within 1 week the **** developed a bad "wobble" it was not drivable. I contacted multiple people at Stevinson, nobody will return a phone call or address the issue. This includes my sales rep who is the owner's son, **** ********** sales managers, service managers, etc. I realize I bought the car "as is" but I assumed the dealership had done some sort of inspection and would not sell a broken car. I have put $1000 into fixing this as well as my time. It has been in the shop to replace front axle seals, this should have been checked before it was sold. The car is still broken and not drivable. I am paying $270 a month for something I cannot drive and the dealership is unwilling to correct there problem

Desired Settlement: I would like this vehicle to be repaired so I can drive it. I feel I should be reimbursed the $1000 I have put into repairs that should not have been my responsibility, the car should have been sold to me in perfect condition

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/02) */ Dear BBB, The Used Car Manager at Stevinson Toyota West, **** *****, recalls speaking with Mr. ******. Mr. ******'s **** **** was inspected and the O2 sensor and drive belt were replaced prior to Mr. ******'s purchase. Our higher mileage vehicles that fall outside of the range of warranty coverage are sold "As Is" but it is The Stevinson Way to address all concerns in a timely manner. I apologize that Mr. ******'s concerns were not addressed at the time he contacted the dealership. I will be calling Mr. ****** at the phone number listed in this complaint to obtain more information and see how we can get his vehicle drivable again. Sincerely, ******** **** Corporate Customer Relations


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Stevinson Toyota West and Scion
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart