BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1984

Stevinson Imports, Inc.

Phone: (303) 794-3550Fax: (303) 237-8479View Additional Phone Numbers5500 S Broadway, LittletonCO 80121-8003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1984

BBB has determined that Stevinson Imports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stevinson Imports, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Stevinson Imports, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This dealer damaged my car when I was in for service, and tried to hand the car back to me as if nothing happened.
Servicing my car here was the absolute worst experience I have had. I simply needed a key programed for a 2006 Porsche 911 4, and was shocked to see bumper damage when I picked up the car. Rather than apologize and make the issue right, they tried to give me my car back as if nothing happened. When the manager **** came to look at it he immediately told me that two of his technicians noted the clear coat was pealing. I told him I knew this, and that I hadn't been concerned because you couldn't see it unless you were a foot away. The damage now was a gash, and the whole bumper was pushed in. He stated he'd touch it up, and the damage probably came from when someone wiped the bumper with a rag. I told him it was impossible and he quickly got angry asking sarcastically what I wanted him to do about it? I have had BMWs, Mercedes, Hondas, Chevys etc, and never been treated like this by a service department. The service advisor who took my car in stated she never looked at my car when I brought it in, she just drove it back. I have NEVER heard of a service manager who drove a $50,000 car back to a technician without looking at the car.

Desired Settlement
I want the dealership to fix the damage. I took it to another dealership who stated to fix the damage the whole bumper needed to be redone because my clear coat had peeled. I understand the clear coat was pealing ahead of time, but you could not see it unless you were a foot away. At this point I can see the damage coming down the street.

Business Response
Dear BBB,

On the morning of August 12, we received a call from ****** that their customer needed a key programmed on a 2006 Porsche 911 and we told them to send them in. *** **************** arrived later that day and the service department was busy so they explained there would be a wait. *** indicated that she did not have time and would come back in the morning at 10 AM.

*** arrived at 10am on August 13 and her vehicle was taken into the service shop, and within minutes the work was completed, and the cost to program the key was invoiced to ******* Upon retrieving her vehicle, *** indicated there was damage to her front bumper. The service manager met with *** and spoke with the technicians and the wash bay to find out what may have happened to the paint on the bumper which could not be explained (there was no evidence of an impact and the bumper was not pushed in). It appeared that the condition of the paint on the bumper was poor and some paint came off when we washed the vehicle and wiped it dry. The Service Manager offered to have a mobile bumper repair company we use to repair the area of the bumper that may have been affected by our car wash to blend in the paint. ***'s husband then came to the dealership and we offered the same resolution. Her husband asked how much to repaint the entire front bumper. A reputable Porsche body shop, ********** gave an estimate over the phone of $1,500 without seeing the bumper. Mr. *********** opted to have the area with the missing paint repaired and an appointment was scheduled. On Thursday August 14, Mr. *********** sent an email stating that he received a quote from ******** ******* and another body shop for under $1000 and he was going to have ******** do the work and send me the bill because he thought the Service Manager bumped the estimate to cover our cost, which was not true. The Service Manager offered to let Mr. *********** have the work completed at ******** and he would reimburse him up to $300 after receiving evidence of the completed repair or we were prepared to pay Redline $300 to complete the paint repair.

We believe the paint was in poor condition when we washed the vehicle and some of the paint flaked off. The Service Manager saw no gash nor did the bumper appear to be pushed in. In fact, the Service Manager spoke with the shop manager at ******** who said there was evidence of prior damage on the bumper when they inspected it with Mr. ************ We believe the ************** purchased the Porsche just days before our repairs and may have not have been fully aware of the bumper condition. We continue to offer $300 toward the repair of the bumper and do not feel culpable for the entire amount.

******** ****
Corporate Customer Relations

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I came out of the door I immediately saw the damage. The service manager came armed and told me there was a clear coat issue and that caused the damage. I stated it was hit, and they said they'd touch it up. When my husband got there they told him I misunderstood them and they meant they'd sand and repair the spot. This was very sexist to clearly state to me they'd touch it up, and then to clarify with my husband that I'd had it all wrong. My husband emailed **** that he'd gotten quotes from ******** to have the bumper redone but that they needed to see the car first. He told **** he'd send him the bill. **** stated he'd give $300 toward the repair, but my husband did not accept this. I have the email and will present it at court along with this response that is clearly a lie. When we brought the car to ********* the service writer stated that the bumper couldn't be repainted without removing a larger part of the paint because it had been repainted and the original quality was poor. The total cost to fix the bumper because of the new damage and the fact it had been repainted was $1719, plus they needed to keep the car for a minimum of 10 days. They need to pay for this because the car was fine prior to bringing it to them. *********** body shop will not warranty any repair unless it's the full remedy because the paint is not likely to last, and will do additional harm to the bumper. My argument isn't the repaint on the front bumper, I am, and was fully aware that the clear coat wasn't good. The issue is that now I have bumper damage that I never had that can only be fixed in one manner. The lies about the paint being damaged in the wash, when the car was just washed and waxed two days earlier and was spotless was a joke. The service writer stated she didn't look at my car prior to this event which was impossible. The license plate bracket was cracked which indicated impact. Photos I am including clearly show a gash and a pushing in of the bumper indicating impact. There is no question that my car was damaged via impact at Stevinson, and any diversion to the quality of my previous paintwork is ridiculous. If I simply wanted to have the front bumper redone, I would have already done that.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The details are that Stevinson Imports damaged the car and tried to give it back without saying anything. They posted to the BBB and to Yelp that the damage was from the car was when it was not. Those are the facts. What is being missed is that I could have had my bumper repainted at any point for my own expense and chose not to because it wasn't an issue right now. It was not a monetary decision. The dealership posting an offer that expires on September 15th for damage THEY caused is unacceptable. Their expiring offer threat is not a concern. What is a concern is that they take responsibility. This is my formal attempt at reconciliation. I do not need the entire bumper redone I just want it the way it was prior to their damage, and I want an apology for damaging my car and pretending that the car was damaged by a car wash. If Stevinson Automotive's body shop will fix the portion they damaged, and warranty their work, guaranteeing it and stating that if bumper ever further peels due to the new work they will bring it back and fix the issue I will be satisfied. I will need that body shop to tell me they feel the repair will be successful prior to the work and would want to bring the car directly to the shop myself as I do not trust Stevinson Imports with my car. ******** is not willing to warranty the work because they are doubtful the repair will last. This is all I am looking for. To bring the car to the condition it was in prior to the damage, with a guarantee that the new repair will last and that it wont cause additional damage to the bumper including additional pealing to the clear coat. This is an issue that didn't need to be addressed prior to bringing my car to Stevinson. This is my formal attempt to resolve this issue. If Stevinson can not comply with this request, please file this as a formal complaint on your website, and I will move to the next measure.

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

Each week Stevinson Imports washes dozens of Porsches as a courtesy to our Customers. The equipment we use is calibrated to the task, and does not randomly remove paint from bumpers (or any other painted surface) unless there is an underlying defect with the paint to begin with.

Having said this, Customer satisfaction is our company policy, and we have offered to have Ms. ************** bumper repaired by a quality paint facility (that will warranty their repair) and provide Ms. *********** with a rental vehicle while her bumper is being repainted, all at no cost to her. For reasons unknown to us, Ms. *********** has not accepted our offer, choosing instead to post defamatory comments on various websites and file a lawsuit in small claims court.

Because of the exceptionally hostile posture Ms. *********** has maintained throughout this process, we request the following stipulations be attached to our final settlement offer:

1. Ms. *********** will deliver her vehicle to one of two Porsche-approved repair facilities of her choosing, ******* ********* or ******** **** ***** The selected facility will repaint the front bumper, replace the license plate frame and invoice Stevinson Imports directly for the cost of repair and rental vehicle. Both facilities will provide written warranties against paint defects during Ms. ************** vehicle ownership.

2. Ms. *********** agrees to promptly return the rental vehicle upon completion of the repair. Any additional fees for the rental vehicle (once her repair is complete) will be Ms. ************** responsibility.

3. Ms. *********** agrees to terminate her small claim court filing and accept responsibility for any associated filing fees, as she filed this claim during the time she allowed us to respond to the BBB to her desired resolution.

4. Ms. *********** agrees to remove and/or amend the various reviews she has posted online to reflect a satisfactory resolution to her complaint.

In her latest response to the BBB, Ms. *********** asked us to respond by September 19, 2014 which we have done. We find it objectionable that she would continue to berate us online during this time, and find her actions to be coercive and damaging, and not up to the fairness or standard of dealing within BBB guidelines.

Stevinson Imports takes great pride in the history we have maintained with the Better Business Bureau, as well as our exceptionally high Customer satisfaction ratings with Porsche. We believe our track record speaks for itself; throughout this process it has been our goal to resolve Ms. ************** complaint in a fair and satisfactory manner.

We believe the resolution we have proposed to Ms. ************** complaint is exceedingly fair; if she finds our offer unacceptable or continues to publish defamatory comments about Stevinson Imports we are prepared to defend ourselves in court.

11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/01/1983Business started: 02/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Contact Information
Principal: Kent Stevinson Mr. Steve Burt (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Stevinson Imports Jaguar/Porsche
Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stevinson Imports, Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stevinson Imports, Inc.

5500 S Broadway

Littleton, CO 80121-8003

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5500 S Broadway 

    Littleton, CO 80121-8003

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stevinson Imports, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 232-2006

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.