BBB Accredited Business since

Stevinson Hyundai of Longmont

Phone: (303) 651-2623 600 S Main St, Longmont, CO 80501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stevinson Hyundai of Longmont meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Stevinson Hyundai of Longmont
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 2011 Business started: 10/08/1976 Business started locally: 10/08/1976 Business incorporated 07/27/2011 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kent Stevinson, President Mr. Dave Ambrozevitch, General Manager Mr. Dwaine Croft, Parts & Service Director Ms. Patty Ford, Customer Contact Ms. Kim Jones, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Patty Ford, Customer Contact
Principal: Mr. Kent Stevinson, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stevinson Hyundai of Longmont has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 600 S Main St

    Longmont, CO 80501 (303) 651-2623


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $595 plus tax and now 3 months of interest for an alarm system that was never mentioned to me. On top of being charged over $2000 more that I ever saw on paper. I have talked with the General Manager ***** at least 4 times and with the sales manager oncee. I have repeated been told they would credit the alarm amt. to my ENT FED> CR UN acct.. On 3-17-16 sold assured me it would happen by 3-21-16. This has not happened. He just continues to lie to me. As far as the signed contract being $2000 more than I ever saw, I don't know how their cheating ways were able to accomplish this. I believe they see an older person come in and they proceed to cheat them.

Desired Settlement: Refund and admission they use unsavory practices in their sales.

Business Response:

Mrs. ******* purchased a 2013 Buick from Stevinson Hyundai on 12/24/2015. She purchased it for the advertised sale price of $27,983 plus fees and taxes. During the completion of the documents and contract, the finance manager presented additional purchase options. We present the same options to all of our customers. They are presented in writing on a menu that all customers have to initial to either accept or decline the options presented.  Mrs. ******* purchased an alarm for $595, gap insurance for $649 and a service contract for $2999. Additionally, each of these products require their own contract which needs to be signed by the customer and the dealer. The purchased products were  initialed on the product menu and signed on the individual contracts. Mrs. ******* was given copies of all documents signed prior to leaving on the 24th once her purchase was completed.

According to our records, Mrs. ******* first called on Friday January 15th and spoke to **** ******** (Sales Manager). He conveyed that she was not 100% clear on what the alarm did and let him know that she wanted to speak with the General Manager. ***** ******** called her the next business day (Monday January 18th).She told Mr. ******** that she purchased the vehicle on Christmas Eve and was happy with her purchase. She mentioned that at some point after her purchase, she was confused about the alarm as the vehicle already had a factory security system. He explained the difference between the factory alarm and the aftermarket upgrade. After they discussed the alarm, Mrs. ******* expressed her dissatisfaction so he agreed to cancel the contract and refund the purchase price. On Monday March 21st a check in the amount of $595 was issues and mailed to Mrs. *******. We sincerely hope she has received her check by now.

If we can provide additional documents or an explanation of the products purchased, we will be happy to do so.  We are thankful for Ms. *******'s business. Sincerely, ******** ****, ###-###-####.

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This place has not told me about hail damage there is wiring issues with the lights that fire the abs light when told they needed to fix it they are c Bad service terrible salesmanship they will not fix the hail damage they won't fix the wiring problem and they won't release a copy of the warranty ... I have asked for my 1500.00 deposit back they have redone the loan but the vehicle is still not worth the price they have is locked into ... Also we have not received a bill yet when asked if they have the right address on file they won't even talk about that

Desired Settlement: I want 1500.00 back I want payments at 375.00 a month for 60 moths I would like new wheels and tire cause none of them match ... And I want the vehicle issue fixed ... This has been over a month working with them as nicely as I can .... Nice is over ... Incompetence is no excuse for por representation of people product and service... They have had the vehicle for 2 weeks they said that they were confident that they fixed a problem .... They didn't fix a thing ... This problem exists I have had another dealership print me out a paper work on this vehicle ... I trust them cause there business is the vehicle I am driving plus they have no gain in telling me this problem exist and I should take it back to the dealership ... I have tried to get in contact almost on a daily basis they have continuesly ignored me ... I am running out of options please help I need this vehicle

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/09) */ I am sorry that our customer seems unhappy with their purchase. The customer was given an opportunity to inspect the vehicle prior to their purchase. Some time after the purchase, I was made aware of a check engine light coming on and light hail on the roof. Even though is was days after the sale on a car that was sold as-is as required by state law, I agreed to have a paint less repair specialist take lite hail out of the roof as goodwill for the customer. We also agreed to look at the check engine light issue and provided the customer with a brand new car to drive while their car was in our service department. The lights did not come back on after we serviced the vehicle and we even took the vehicle to have the emissions test done as a courtesy to the customer and at no additional cost to him. The tires were inspected by our service department and have better than 60% tread life on them and would not be replaced. The tires are on aftermarket wheels and are a lower profile tire than the factory tire for that particular model and from a glance may look different from what would be the norm on a four wheel drive vehicle. We have documented all of our contact with the customer and have responded to all of his calls and emails. I am not sure what the basis would be for his request to a $1500 refund and a desire to renegotiate terms of a contract that he signed on 10/11/2014. The last contact we had with the customer was in response to his email requesting a copy of his extended warranty on 12/02 when we emailed the copy that he requested. We will still honor our commitment to have light hail removed from the roof of his vehicle. There is no basis to consider a refund or modification of terms that he contracted on in October. The customer DID receive their warranty docs on when they purchased their vehicle and did receive a second copy December 2nd. We are sorry that the customer is not happy but we have gone above and beyond the terms of the contract to try to make our customer happy. If you need additional information or documentation, please feel free to let me know. Thanks Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/12/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We still didn't get the copy of the warranty, we still have problems with the lights that was never fixed because of these lights not coming on so it could be diagnosed still is an act of not wanting to handle the situation like they said they would I have documentation describing that it needs to either be rewired or replaced with new parts from another dealership ... There has been no contact to fix the problem nor any effort for the hail damage that they said they wear going to fix in November. I went 3 weeks trying to get pricing on this vehicle at 400 a month for 60 months only to realize when I signed the contract the second time I got a way lower interest rate and the payment of 375 but was told that I have a warranty and gap insurance ... I am sorry but that doesn't cost 90 bucks my payment right now is 466 a month ... 90 bucks is almost full coverage Insurance on the vehicle I have now it is a simple screw job ... The vehicle look overs were at night ... And dealerships are not going to point out what's could be wrong with the vehicle... So that is an excuse to cover and that is wrong ... All I really wanted was payments around 400 my 1500 deposit back ... When I found this hail damage I had to point it out to them isn't that covered in a preinspection From the dealership side not for me to find it ... Knuckle up admit your fault fix the problem it is simple ... And all of this is really stupid ... I am a customer therefor I am always right and customer service is knowing that and never question it to make a quick buck. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/01/02) */ To respond directly to each point of contention, i reiterate that in regards to the warranty, the customer was furnished with a copy at time of delivery and a scanned copy was emailed per the customer request. We are more that happy to have the customer come by for another copy. the customer had every opportunity to inspect the vehicle and was even offered the chance to take it to his own mechanic if desired. The terms of the contract were agreed upon and fully disclosed as previously stated. The customer still owes us his first payment as we made that payment to the lending institution for him as a courtesy. I am sorry the customer is not satisfied but they were given EVERY opportunity of the course of a 2 week negotiation to have the vehicle inspected etc....the customer signed and acknowledged the "as-is" buyers guide which points out the many possible flaws that can appear on a pre-owned vehicle. We have held up to our written agreements and the terms of the contract. We are sorry that the customer is still unhappy.

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was mislead into believing a truck was in good condition, when not. I wasted $75 to have it inspected, unnecessary if they had been honest. I took a day off work to go check out a fantastic looking 2002 Ford Ranger, VIN: 1FTZR45E52PBXXXXX. I asked the salesperson if, as far as he knew, the truck is mechanically in good shape. I realized I was considering a 12 year old truck, and certainly didn't expect perfection. I then asked to speak to whomever was most knowledgeable about the truck, so the salesperson took me back to the shop to speak with the mechanic. I don't remember the mechanic's name, but he told me the truck was in great shape mechanically. I informed this mechanic that I would be taking the truck to my mechanic to undergo an extensive pre-purchase auto inspection, and I told this mechanic that the procedure would cost me $75. I asked that he please let me know, before I waste $75 if anything major was wrong with the truck. He said it was outstanding, which made me feel great, as the truck certainly looked great. After getting the truck inspected, I learned that the transmission needed to be replaced and, among many other expensive things, was in such bad shape that if you even change the transmission fluid, that alone would render the truck useless until you spend $4,000 on a new transmission. Needless to say, I didn't buy the truck. I find it hard to believe that the mechanic didn't check the transmission fluid, as it was completely brown. He could have mentioned that to me before I spent the $75. There is NO WAY he didn't see how dark the transmission fluid was when he serviced the truck upon receipt. I could have saved $75 and 5 hours of my time on my only day off work.

Desired Settlement: Stevinson Hyundai knew the truck needed a new transmission. Since I was very clear about the fact that I would not purchase the truck if anything major was mechanically wrong, and since I told them I was having it independently inspected, I think they should refund me the $75 I spent having it inspected. I spoke to the exact mechanic who said he was very familiar with that truck, and he told me it was in great condition. Otherwise, I would not have even had it inspected. This was obvious deception, and not an innocent oversight. Also, they are still trying to sell this vehicle, and are not honestly informing potential buyers about the needed $4,000 repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ *******, we want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to sell you a vehicle. Stevinson Hyundai of Longmont is a reputable dealership with a long heritage in Colorado and we stand behind the vehicles we sell. While we don't always know if a used car is going to have issues down the road, we do our best to determine if any problems exist and make repairs prior to sale. With regard to the Ford Ranger you were interested in, our service technician strongly feels that the transmission fluid was OK as indicated on the initial inspection and upon re-inspection. Transmission fluid becomes dark over time but a dark color does not indicate a problem. We check the transmission fluid for color, smell it to see if it is burnt, and check to make sure the fluid does not contain any particles during inspection, along with checking for any shifting issues. We respectfully disagreed with your mechanic's assessment but offered a transmission flush as a preventative measure. If you would give us the opportunity to sell you another vehicle, we will certainly apply the $75 toward your purchase. Sincerely, **** ************, General Manager. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2014/02/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ****, I understand you disagree with the unbiased, unaffiliated mechanic's assessment. With the opinion of your mechanic, there is definitely a conflict of interest. It's amazing that you sold that vehicle to someone. I'll be sure to look up the VIN on carfax, contact them, and let them know you sold them a lemon. I definitely will never buy a vehicle from you, and I'll be sure to let everyone I know about your intended deception. It's unfortunate someone else was taken by you. I'll do my best to let them know, however. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/02/17) */ ****, As we have stated previously we disagree with your mechanics assessment of the truck. Our sales person offered a transmission service to help alleviate your concerns which you declined. We offered you $75 discount towards the purchase of a different vehicle which you have yet to take us up on. We sold this truck a few days after you looked at it and the customer has had no issues with the transmission. We have stated our position and believe that the solutions that we offered were more than fair. Sincerely, **** ************ General manager.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Stevinson Hyundai of Longmont
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart