This business is not BBB accredited.

Shortline Subaru

Phone: (303) 364-2200 580 S. Havana, Aurora, CO 80012 http://www.shortlineonline.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Shortline Subaru include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Shortline Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Shortline Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 13, 2006 Business started: 09/01/1987 Business started locally: 09/01/1987
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Bowell, Vice President Rob Donner, Subaru Sales Manager Kim Olson, Office Manager Mark Stillwagon, Service Director
Contact Information
Principal: John Bowell, Vice President
Customer Contact: Mark Stillwagon, Service Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    580 S. Havana

    Aurora, CO 80012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS VEHICLE NOW HAS A BROCKEN EINGINE. ON 06/28/14 I BOUGHT A 2015 SUBARU WRX BLUE vin#JF1VA2W64FXXXXXXX THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN AT SUBARU FOR DIFFERENT ISSUES AND NOW THE SUBARU COMPANY HAS Y VEHICLE AND THEY WOULD NOT GIVE ME A WRITTEN PAPER THAT STATES WHAT IT WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE MY HUSBAND SAID THAT HE WENT AND TOOK A LOOK AT IT AT THEIR LOCATION AND THE CAR HAS NO ENGINE INSIDE THEY HAVE NEVER SENT OR GIVEN ME A PAPER THAT STATES WHAT HAPPENED TO THE VEHICLE AT THIS POINT THEY NEVER ASKED ME TO TAKE THE ENGINE OUT OF MY VEHICLE THE SERVICE PERSON IN CHARGED SAID THAT SUBARU HAD AUTHORIZED TO TAKE THE E ENGINE OUT.HE ALSO SAID THAT WARRANTY WOULD NOT COVER BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE AN OIL RECORD FOR THE VEHICLE.THE LAST TIME I SPOKE TO HIM HE SAID HE COULD NOT GIVE ME A WRITTEN STATEMENT TO CALL SUBARU AT 1800 I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE NEW AND IT DID NOT LAST A YEAR AND ITS LIMITED EDITION THEY HAVE HAD IT SINCE AUGUST 14TH OF 2015

Desired Settlement: TO HONOR WARRANTY AND FIX MY VEHICLE AT THIS POINT I DONT EVEN HAVE IN WRITTING WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/03) */ This vehicle does need an engine due to lack of lubrication. The customer was unable to provide proper maintenance records showing the oil was changed at the required intervals. Our local Subaru representatives and field engineers have inspected this vehicle and determined it is not a matter for warranty. The engine was disassembled in order to diagnosis the failure at no charge to the customer. The customer is completely aware of the decision made by Subaru and has not returned multiple calls to discuss how they wish to proceed. This is NOT a matter for warranty, so the customer needs to either authorize Shortline to repair the vehicle or have it towed out of our facility as soon as possible.

3/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misinformation from service department, lack of responsiveness, keep my car for repairs and I can't drive it I've dropped my car off for an oil change at 8:30am and they could not complete the work because they were overbooked. This causes me to go without a car for a day. Most recently, I had my car in for clutch problems. Again, they kept my car from Tuesday to Friday. I was supposed to get it back Friday, but never received a call. I called back Saturday and was told that they would not be able to complete it until Monday. They had my car for six days without benefit of rental car or accountability for non responsiveness. Most recently today, I called because after the clutch repair and tire rotation my car now pulls heavily to the right and the tires shake. I looked at my tires and they don't appear to have been balances when put back on the car. I was told by someone in the servicer department to bring my car in and they would fix it right away. I took more unpaid time off of work to do this, only to find out that there was actually a three hour wait and that I had to schedule the appointment after all. All of this is for my 2012 Subaru Impreza.

Desired Settlement: I pay almost $500/month for this car. It has become obvious that Subaru is unable and/or unwilling to be able to effectively service my car or communicate with any level of confidence. I would like to be released from my lease, reimbursed for lost work, or have my monthly lease payment prorated for time I was without a car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/30) */ The customer initially brought the vehicle in on December 22nd. The repairs were delayed for multiple reasons. We had to get authorization from Subaru for the Goodwill repair of the clutch (since it was not a covered item under warranty), we also had to order parts for the window repair. Due to the holiday, there were delays caused by shortened business hours. Unfortunately there was also an additional delay due to the fact the technician whom had initiated the repairs had a dental emergency and missed a day of work, (Friday December 26th). I understand this is not the customers responsibility, but due to the holiday there were no other technicians available to complete the repair until the following Monday. In regard to a rental car, since the clutch repair was taken care of as a goodwill repair there was no warranty coverage for a rental car. We would have been able to get a rental car at an additional cost if the customer was willing to pay for it. The concern regarding the pulling and tires shaking is something we were unaware of and would need to look in to in order to determine the cause. I understand we have an appointment scheduled next week, February 3rd, 2015. We did in fact only rotate the tires from front to back. We did not balance the tires. Balancing the tires would have involved additional time and expense above a tire rotation and we had no reason to know it might be necessary. We are unable to release anyone from a lease. The lease is a contract between the lien holder and the customer, not Shortline. I would like to apologize for the most recent miscommunication. We should have been able to inform the customer of the extended wait time over the phone prior to him driving down. I am sorry. I would just like to say that I know we have made mistake or two but I feel we also went above and beyond to help the customer regarding the clutch replacement. We were able to get the clutch covered as a goodwill repair. This repair would have cost the customer over $1000.00 if we did not work to get assistance for him. With all of that being said, if I can get a copy of the lease payment, I am willing to prorate a reimbursement to him for the days he was without a car, (6days). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I believe the travel time combined with the amount of time I was without a car warrants additional consideration from Shortline. The reply above references needing to get parts to repair my window. This window is currently NOT working. I missed two hours of work driving down to get the tire rotation that left my car poorly aligned and obviously unbalanced, only to be told that I would have to drop my car off to have them work on it. I missed another day of work returning my car so that Subaru could fix whatever they did for the tire rotation. The Subaru employee quickly asked if the problem started when i got my new tires. I told him, just like I told the other multiple people that I don't know why the problem is happening, but that it started after the car was returned to me. There was some more dialog and ultimately I told Subaru to put the car back the way it was. Subaru has my car for another day. I go to finally pick it up and am informed that I'll be charged an addition $12.95 to put my tires back where they were originally AND that an alignment was done because it was under warranty. So I'm confused why Subaru didn't do the alignment in the first place rather than charge me $12.95 x 2 to make no changes to the car??? After this, I'm told that my car will be brought out front. I wait for 15 minutes...no car. I go back inside and my car is 8 feet in the air on the rack. I get back in my car and the window that was previously repaired, doesn't work. So now I have to take my car back in??? For another day or two or more? For final good measure, I'm asked to provide a score of 10 on my feedback of Subaru services. Given the time without a car, commute time, missed work, frustration, and prospect of STILL having to go back to Subaru. I'd accept 30 days of lease reimbursement and provide documentation Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/23) */ Please provide me with a copy of the lease payment information and I will reimburse the customer for 1 month lease payment. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2015/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I believe the proposed settlement is fair and I accept. The total due for one month payment is $492.00. I've attached the invoice and will need to know when the payment will be applied.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ruined my credit by not telling the financial institution the car was turned in. Even got my Vin # mixed up and made me come back to resign paper work I leased a Subaru Forester in 2012. In August, traded said SUV in for another Subaru car. When I was called back in to swap out the paper work because they wrote down the wrong vin number, I had no issue with it. But they're even more unprofessional than origianlly thought. They left the forester on my credit and did not inform the financial institution that it was turned in. This ruined my credit! And they can't fix my credit score back!!!!

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix my credit. As well as an apology for their negligence, lack of professionalism, and lack of staffing to properly address this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ Mrs. ****, We do truly apologize for the mix up on your vehicle purchase. I believe I spoke with you and the only time they report a delinquent account on your credit report is if you are 30 days delinquent. If that is the case I can give you a letter in order that you can dispute with the credit bureau. By law I can not get into your credit file and correct situation. Do you know if they have reported to your credit bureau a 30 day late notice? Again we are truly sorry for the mix up. By no means was there any intent for this to happen. We do appreciate your business and I am truly sorry. Respectfully, **** M ****** Finance Director Shortline Automotive Inc. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext:4319

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When asked I asked about the cars Sirius radio capabilities sales Representative misrepresented the vehicle On 9/1/14 I purchased a 2011 Subaru Outback from Shortline Subaru in Aurora CO When I asked craig from shortline Subaru about the 2011 Subaru outbacks Sirius radio capabilities, toward the end of the purchase after test drive, He said yes it does have Sirius radio. I had no reason to believe any different because the 2011 outback has a "dummy" satellite radio button. After purchasing vehicle I called Sirius switch over my subscription to new vehicle. I was informed by Sirius this car does not have Sirius capabilities currently available. I would not have purchased vehicle knowing that it does not have Sirius capability. I am a guest in a podcast only available through Sirius, and Sirius radio is a must for my work. ***** was aware I was looking at a 2012 Forester from another dealer. I feel he falsely represented the vehicle telling me it did have Sirius when it did not. Because I would have purchased other vehicle I was considering and it was the end of the work day on a holiday and he was trying to secure the sale. I called on 9/8/14 and spoke to *****, he denies having ever said it had Sirius. They offered a $200 credit toward a $600 radio insert.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for Shortline Subaru to install Sirius radio in Subaru free of charge because I was told the vehicle did have it right before purchase decision was made, and would not have made purchase if accurately represented by *****.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/16) */ We at Shortline Automotive take great pride in not only the product knowledge of our sales reps, but also our handling of customer concerns when they arise. In this particular case we would be happy to assist in making a new member of our Shortline family completely satisfied with her purchase experience. The Sirius kit has already been ordered and we schedule a time with the customer to get it installed at no charge to her.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shortline sold me a CERTIFIED PRE OWNED Car that was in a accident back in 2011 but wasn't reported till 2013. How did this become a Certified Pre own I purchased my 2011 Hyundai sonata from Shortline Subaru back in March of 2013 and was giving a car fax report and told that it was a Certified Pre owned car with 32,000 miles. I was happy and liked it well did all the paperwork and went to leave and the tire pressure light comes on. I brought it back the next day like they asked to be told I would have to wait 2 hrs for them to look at it so as I sat around the dealership with a 2 year old I waited and waited and they said nothing was wrong that they could see but I could wait another 2 hours and they could check the valve stem and see if that was good. I told them I didn't have the time since my 2 year old was getting restless. I asked for a lender car and I could leave mine but they said they had none so I was told to.come back. I called back and wanted to make a appt when I was told that the tire would have to be replaced and it would take 3-4 hours to do so I again asked for a lender and was told they didn't have any. So I have had to wait around and now it is a year later and they won't fix it cause I waited to long. Now my biggest issue is that I was given a car fax report that said the vehicle was not in a accident I was just told when trying to trade it in for a upgrade due to having a baby the new dealership just informed me that the car was in a accident and that the paint on the hood is completely different from the paint on the remaining of the car as well as the car should have never been sold as a CERTIFIED PRE OWNED. Now I'm stuck with a lemon of a car that no one will take and I have these huge car payments on a vehicle that I had to go out and replace the tire myself and now have to deal.with the check engine light coming on and the car only has 52,000 miles on it. I'm furious because I have to drive this junk around with my 2 little ones. Now I'm having issues with them not letting me cancel my warrantys.

Desired Settlement: A different vehicle that is truly a Certified Pre owned for the amount we owe on this lemon of a car. We have a 2011 Hyundai sonata and we just want to trade it in for a Hyundai Tucson with the same features are the car or more. That's all we have been trying to do and we want either the payments the same or lower.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/31) */ Unfortunately, we have been unable to locate this customers information in our system solely based on the name given. We are in need of additional information in order to research the situation and possibly come up with a resolution. We need the Vehicle Identification Number in order to research this further. If you will provide this information, we would be happy to look in to this situation further. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please I do not feel comfortable posting my personal information but if the company would like to contact me personally I would be happy with that. The name is under **** ** ******* is the customer and if you can contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX we'd be happy to give you the vehicles info. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/08/04) */ We were able to locate the information late last week and, Carfax reports are run on every car we purchase or take in on trade. This protects us the dealer from damages that may not be able to be seen by the naked eye while also protecting our customers from purchasing a vehicle that may have been previously damaged. After a vehicle has been brought into our inventory it is then run through our 166+ point inspection to ensure our customers are buying a quality vehicle. After the vehicle is placed on the lot the carfax report is then placed in the glove box of the vehicle for any potential buyer and a copy of the same report is given to the customer at the time of delivery for the consumers records. Attached is the copy of the report given to the customer at time of delivery. The date this report was run is clearly printed on the lower right hand corner of the report and clearly states no accidents had been reported to this vehicle as of the date of this report. The customer was given a copy of the report on 4/08/2013 the date the vehicle was purchased. The tire that needed to be replaced after determining the valve stem was bad was ordered and after many failed attempts to reach customer to replace the tire the tire remains in our parts department. Unfortunately there was no indication of any damage visually or on the Carfax. We believe we did our due diligence to protect all parties. If you are having issues mechanically, we would be happy to work with you in repairing the vehicle. Our goal at Shortline is and remains to take care of our customers needs and to give them the best experience by being a better dealer.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brand new car has been in for repair for a total of more than 42 days in 4 month period since purchase. 2014 Subaru Outback VIN ***************** was purchased ON 02/2014. Car had several noise issues and has been to the dealership 7 times for a total of 42 days and counting as the car is at the shop currently.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking refund for all the money paid including tax, registration fees and accessories or replacement for a 2015 new car of same model and specifications provided there is no new out of pocket expenses.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/03) */ After working with Subaru and Shortline the customer has worked out a deal to get a new 2015 Subaru. The customer will continue to drive the current vehicle until the new vehicle arrives. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shortline has failed for weeks to respond to my calls and emails regarding refund on my extended warranty on a vehicle I traded in to another dealer. On 4/5/14, I traded in my 2012 Subaru Impreza to Schomp Honda. I had purchased the Subaru from Shortline, and also purchased an extended warranty for the vehicle. I called Shortline numerous times on Tuesday, 4/15/14 and Wednesday, 4/16/14. I never was able to speak to a person on any of those calls and left voice mails each time for the finance department to call me back. I never received a call back. I then sent an email, on 4/18/14, requesting for someone to contact me. I did receive a reply from their internet manager, **********, stating that he had forwarded my message to their finance director, ***********. He stated that weekends are busy, and that I would hear from her by Monday, 4/21/14 at the latest. I did not receive a response from her. On Monday, 4/28/14, after still receiving no contact, I have called and left a message on ***********'s voice mail and emailed **********. Neither one of them has responded.

Desired Settlement: I want the balance of my extended warranty on the 2012 Subaru Impreza refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ I HAVE ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS TRIED TO CONTACT MR ***** AND LEFT SEVERAL MESSAGES...I HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE CANCELLATION NOTICE TO CANCEL THE REMAINDER OF MR *****'S WARRANTY IN WRITING FROM MR *****. I ALSO HAVE NOT RECEIVED A COPY OF HIS TRADE-IN DOCUMENTS TO GET THE MILEAGE OF THE VEHICLE HE TRADED IN. MR ***** NEEDS TO COME INTO SHORTLINE AND FILE FOR A CANCELLATION ON THE WARRANTY. HE ALSO NEEDS TO BRING PROOF HE TRADED HIS VEHCILE. MR ***** WE HAVE TRIED TO CONTACT YOU, BUT UNSUCCESSFUL. WE WILL BE HAPPY TO PROCESS YOUR CANCELLATION ONCE WE RECEIVE THE DOCUMENTS I HAVE LISTED ABOVE. RESPECTFULLY, ************* FINANCE DIRECTOR ************************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have only received one message from **** ******, and that was after I filed this complaint. I provided two different phone numbers and my e mail address in my voice mails and e mails to the dealership. I never received any responses other than the one e mail from *** ******. In that one, he simply stated that they had received my e mail and that I would then get a response from **** ****** after the weekend. A few hours after I filed this complaint, I did receive a call and voice mail from **** ******. In it she stated that it would take 60 days to process my refund. She did not state that she needed any documentation from me. She did not state that she needed any additional documentation regarding the trade-in. She did not state that I would need to come in to Shortline for any reason. If any of those needs had been stated, I would have responded. Her message did not ask for me to respond unless I had concerns. My only concern at the time was that I wanted to know that the process had been started. Based on her message, I was under the impression that all I needed to do was wait 60 days. At this point, I do not believe that the process of refunding my warranty has begun. It doesn't sound like that will happen until I come in to Shortline with the necessary paperwork. That is the information that I called seeking about in the first place. This entire situation would have been much simpler if someone from Shortline had just returned my initial phone calls. I called them seeking information on how to proceed. I only filed this complaint after not receiving any response for almost two weeks. Respectfully, ******* ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/05) */ To move forward like I stated in my last response, you will need to fill out a cancellation request, which you can get here at the dealership.You will need to supply proof vehicle was traded, or sold etc. Proof being a buyers order or power of attorney which shows the vehicle you traded and or sold and the date and mileage at the time. We can then process the refund and you will receive a check. You can visit anyone of our Finance Managers to take care of this Mon-Fri 10:00AM-8:00PM to handle this matter. This paperwork is the only necessary action on your part to get this simple matter resolved. We will then be able to process your warranty cancellation. **** M ****** Shortline Automotive Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have been in to Shortline and completed the paperwork. I will now wait the quoted six to seven weeks for my refund. I am still not satisfied with the fact that I only received a response from them after filing this claim. I agree that it should have been a simple matter. Ignoring me for almost two weeks is not a reputable way to conduct business. That turned what should have been a simple matter into me feeling the need to file this complaint. ******* *****

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: charge for something that they didnt finish on tuesday april 14 i went to shortline subaru to have my 97 subaru legacy fix due to a electrical problem ********** is the service cosultant that help me he said that it was going to be ***** for inspecting my car for a dignostic and after that they were going to call me how much it was going to be the total repair i did recive the call at 2:00 pm **** told me that is was going to be another 3***** dlls for an extra time inspecting my car i denied to keep working on my car i wesnt to pick up my car and they charge me ***** when they didnt fix anithing or they didnt told what was wrong with it i ask for the manager ****************** telling me the same i have to pay or i wound take my car I took my car to a corner mechanic wich told me right away what the problem was for only ***** dlls i took my car to a subaru dealer because since they work on subaru cars they know what they doing but it looks like they are after the money and dont care about the customer satisfacion

Desired Settlement: i need the ***** that i paid for doing nothing to my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/17) */ This customer was informed prior to any diagnosis being performed that there would be an initial charge of $***** as he stated. (see the attached signed repair order). After our techncian spent approximately 4 hours of time attempting to trace the root cause of the customers concern, the Service Advisor contacted Mr. ******** indicating that we needed to diagnose further into the electrical issue and there would be additional charges. We informed him that we beleived it was related to the aftermarket stereo system and we needed to trace wiring in order to diagnose what the repair would involve. He declined any further diagnosis at that time. When he arrived he stated he did not want to pay for the initial diagnosis since we were unable to tell him exactly what the cause was. We told him it was going to take more time to determine the exact cause. We informed him that he was responsible for the initial diagnosis that was agreed upon when the vehicle was dropped off. He reluctantly paid the bill and we thought he understood why the charges were necessary. My offer to Mr. ******** is that I am willing to give him a credit for $***** to be used at ********************. Lastly, I would like to know what the "Corner Mechanic" diganosed as the problem, and what the repair involved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** Was for telling me whats was the problem they never told me in case that they dont find the problem it was going to be an xtra charge yes they call me to tell me is going to an xtra charge and the stereo is being install for two years if it was the stereo it would hapends on the first day of installation they other mechanic shop told it was only a switch thats normal on those cars they only replace that swich i'll take the credit on the credit to be use on shortline subaru since i love subarus i have three cars legacys on my family please let know hoe you are going to provide the credit Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/01) */ I just re-sent the email for the $***** credit. It was originally sent on 4/24/2014. I might have gone in to the junk folder......I have copied the email below. From: *************** Sent: Thursday, April 24, 2014 6:51 AM To: \'*******************\' Subject: $***** Credit Hello Mr. ********, Please use this email to redeem your credit of $***** toward any parts or service at ********************. Sincerely, *************** Service Director ******************** Group Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i havent recived the email from shortline subaru or the dredit on the store i really need it im going to buy something before friday and i would like to use it please let me know *******************

4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2009 Subaru new engine. Due to misconmmincation and what we felt was an overall dishonesty we had to tow our car to a more trused mechanic. Our 2009 Subaru with 59,000 miles on it needs a new engine. Once the engine light went on I drove it (per Subaru) for 12 minutes so I could stop safely. I was driving down a rural stretch of Highway 85 on March 8th. The engine light went on as the car was smoking. It was towed to the dealership. This car was in the dealership in Novemeber for 3000 dollars worth of repairs (which we are now questioning). We were told the cost would be 5200 dollars to replace the engine. Subaru of America was willing to give us 2500 towards it. We authorized the work on March 14th. On March 22nd Subaru of America (not Shortline) called to let me know that they would not give us money toward a used engine- only a new or refurbished. They said they checked with Subaru and a new engine was the only option. I called Shortline (no one called me) to find out what was going on. My service manager didn't know- he said he would get back to me. He called me back and said they don't put new engines in, that Shortline could refurbish the engine and that it would be 11,000 but they would "go to bat for me" and get it for 9500. We had called a trusted mechanic and found out they could refurbish our engine for 4500. We had our car towed because we felt we could not trust what Subrau was telling us. We are questioning if there was a malfunction with the engine light- they have implied that we drove the car with the light on but we did not. The 3000 dollars in repairs in November is also a concern for us-as we feel that this dealership cannot be trusted. We have been without our car for a month now, and have 300.00 in rental car charges. We have had to pay for 2 tows- and they charged us for a diagnostic. We have been without our car for one month now. We feel that we cannot trust the service at Shortline subaru. They were not forthcoming with their information, they did not communicate and why are they charging 7000 dollars more than other mechanics to refurbish an engine.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be reimbrused for our rental car charges as well as the tow charges and the diagnostic. We also feel that Subaru should give us some money to replace this engine as was originally promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ There was no dishonesty involved with this situation. The information gathered during the diagnosis indicated that the engine was overheated to 248 degrees Fahrenheit. The extent of the overheating damaged not only the internal engine but also melted an area of the radiator. This extreme temperature reached is an indication that the vehicle was driven for several miles after the engine began to overheat. The customer was well informed that the initial quote for the engine replacement was for a used engine. Unfortunately Subaru will not participate in a repair unless factory new or remanufactured parts are used. Subaru would be unable to guarantee a used engine, which is why they would not participate with a used engine. The Second quote was for a factory remanufactured engine, not to refurbish the current engine. The remanufactured engine includes 100% new internal components with the engine block being the only part not replaced. Unfortunately we have no way of knowing what the "Refurbishing" includes and what kind of parts are being used at the shop where the vehicle is being repaired. Due to the unknown factors, there is no way to compare apples to apples regarding the quality of repairs. Since the customer removed the vehicle from our faciilty for repairs to be made elsewhere, we are unable to offer any additional assistance at this time. I have attached a copy of the repair order along with a letter from Subaru of America regarding this customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were told the radiator cap was corroded which most likely caused the problem. The car was at Short line in November for multiple repairs. Also, while I was informed that the engine was used- Subaru was not informed for a week. Also, I was told 2 different prices for the engine 11,000 and 9500 and we did not feel that we were treated honestly. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/21) */ The visit in November was for repairs 8162 miles prior to the visit in question. There was no maintenance performed on the vehicle at this time. The vehicle was brought in for a specific issue (axle boots leaking) that we assume another shop had noticed while performing maintenance or repairs. We also performed additional repairs that were recommended. The customer was offered an extremely fair an reasonable amount from Subaru to repair the vehicle, which was declined. Since the vehicle has been repaired at another facility, there is no additional offer that will be made at this time.

11/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was presented with a fraudulent reason to perform work, forced to pay for a part they broke, and they tried to falsify the results of a test on bill Work was done on 10/14-10/17 I was charged $799.97 for work that was unwarranted at this date in time, and they refused to return my car in the condition in which I brought it to them unless I paid over $100 more than what was quoted to me (I was told explicitly "we cannot reassemble your engine until you pay to replace this part"). They presented the results of a leak down test of 5% and claimed that this was of a concerning level; three other Subaru specific mechanics (two of which are employed at two separate Subaru dealerships) have told me that the threshold for this percentage is 14-15%. They unnecessarily drained fluids and refused to pay for a part that was broken due to the mechanic's negligence, all of which are extraneous expenses which I will have to pay to replace in order to return my car to an operable condition. When I addressed my concerns with Garrett, the service manager, he was impatient and condescending to me, spoke over me several times when I tried to speak, and called the garage foreman into the office to assist him in this intimidating behavior. I requested that my engine be boxed up to tow to another shop, as I don't feel I should deal with a mechanic that I do not trust. The pieces (engine was in maybe 50+ pieces) were thrown into boxes and bags, all of which were unmarked in regards to where they should be replaced (such as cylinder valves) and larger parts were arranged in my trunk in such a way that they were damaged in transport (the radiator was dented in several places); I feel a competent mechanic should have utilized cardboard to protect against this. When I was asked to sign the bill of sale for work performed, an employee (I'm not sure if it was the mechanic or customer service representative) had changed the leak down test results of two cylinders from 5% and 3% to 10% and 5%, respectively. They took responsibility for the first change (from 5% to 10%), owing it to human error, but I fail to see how such a huge margin of error could have possibly been made if it were not for the effect to falsify the record. When I requested an itemized estimate for work that has yet to be done, he refused to furnish me with this and instead gave me a hand witten note of a general description of recommended repairs with total.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund for extraneous work performed, parts damaged and fluids used unnecesarily by Shortline Subaru, plus costs incurred for rental car while my engine is being reassembled (as another mechanic is recifying the damage done by Shortline Subaru). I also feel that I am owed a verbal apology from the service manager and mechanic for my mistreatment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/28) */ There are many discrepancies in what Ms. **** has stated in her complaint regarding the "Fraudulent" and "Extraneous" work performed. We completely disagree with these accusations. All diagnosis charges were approved by Ms. **** prior to any work being performed. We followed the manufacturers (Subaru's) step by step guidelines regarding the diagnosis and recommended repairs throughout the entire proscess. There were no intimidation tactics used, only information being given and details being shown to Ms. **** regarding her vehicle in a face to face setting so there would be no unanswered questions. Unfortunately, when a vehicle has over 147,000 miles, sometimes components can be damaged upon removal due to excessive wear and seized bolts. This was the case regarding the exhaust cam sprocket when it was being removed in order to complete the diagnosis. This part would need to be replaced with the repair. The last accusation of "Falsifying" the record is completely inaccurate. There was a misunderstanding regarding the specifications regarding the turbo enginve vs. the naturally aspirated engine. The tolerances are lower for the turbo engines, and the misunderstanding was the actual leakdown numbers vs. the specifications. This explaination was given to Ms. **** during the meeting with the Service Manager and the Shop Foreman. I would ask that we be given a detailed copy of the invoice from the repair facility completing the repairs stating in writing that Shortline Automotive mis-diagnosed and is responsible for the "Damage" to Ms. ****'s vehicle. Once this is received, we will consider possibly entertaining portions of Ms. ****'s request. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do not accept the written response here, as I am very disappointed with how the customer service employee(s) has handled this situation; however, I have since met with the General Manager of Shortline Subaru in person and HE has settled my greivances in a professional and reasonable manner. The General Manager provided me with satisfactory compensation and I consider this complaint to be resolved.