BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Shortline Kia

(303) 364-2200100 N. Havana, AuroraCO 80010View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.shortlineonline.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Shortline Kia is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shortline Kia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Shortline Kia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
November 21, 2013******* *********** S. ****** ************** Co. XXXXXTo whom it may concern:A few days ago I brought my 2005 Sorrento into Shortline Kia for some electrical problems. I wasnt worried about it much because I had bought the electrical warranty to go with our regular manufacturers warranty. I had been told by other people how when they brought their car in for service work under their warranty Shortline Kia would find ways to make it invalid. But since I maintained the car and followed maintenance service instructions I wasnt worried. When I got to Kia Shortline in Aurora and talked to the service department I explained the problems and she was very nice. She said she had to talk to the service manager about the warranty to make sure all this was covered. We went to the service manager and she told him the problems and he looked up our service contract and said it had expired. We told him that we had bought the bumper to bumper electrical for the 10 yrs, 100,000 mile to go with our manufacturers warranty and paid $2,500.00 dollars extra for it, and showed that to him on our receipt. He looked us up in the computer and told us all we had was a 5 yr, 100,000 mile warranty and that expired in 2011. As he looked through this warranty there were all kinds of exclusions that we were never informed of. Since we bought the car in 2005 and we only had 45,000 miles on it and the 10 years was not up yet we were sure his information was totally off. He said we had to talk to the finance department that this was probably just a clerical error. The gentleman in the finance department we talked to looked us up in his computer and also said it expired and that our original warranty was only 5 yrs, 100,000 miles. We explained everything the original salesman told us. He said that salesman was long gone and he never met him and he was fairly new and he said how their new warranties were better (as if this information helped us in any way) He also told us our original warranty was only 5 yrs, 100,000 miles. Just as the service manager had. That simply was not true and it was listed on the window sticker for the vehicle which I still have. He looked through our paperwork and could not find a copy of our contract. He printed what he had on his computer. What he handed us was not a copy of our contract with our signature but was simply information they had input into their computer system. This information was incorrect as to what the salesman had given us and what was on the window sticker of the car and was what we paid for.To be honest we have to take some responsibility here. After the papers were signed the salesman took back all the paperwork, separated the carbons , stapled them together, then folded it, and handed it to us in an envelope. It never occurred to us to look through them and see if anything had been removed. The top page we signed showed that we paid the $2,500.00 for the vehicle service contract , which was for the additional coverage of the electrical system for 10 years. It never occurred to us that when he turned around at his desk to do this, that he was removing anything. I would love to get back the money I paid since what the salesman told us and what he actually did were two entirely different things. I dont want to say he scammed us, because it is embarrassing that at my age I could be so nave as to be taken in, I thought I was smarter.I have since talked to other people including auto service technicians about Kias and they tell me how most people that have Kias complain about their warranty (or sudden lack of) stinks. I have also heard from others regarding Shortline in Aurora, that they play with the numbers when buying a car. How they tell you that with the extended warranty it will only up your payments a small amount (like 30 a month). They dont actually mention the cost of the warranty at all, but just the change to your monthly payment. What they dont tell you is that your monthly payment was actually much lower then they quoted so that when they add the warranty in it doesnt look like the thousands that it actually is. I know there are plenty of jokes about salesmen, Kia Shortline in Aurora seems to want to prove them true.In my opinion I would never buy another vehicle at Shortline in Aurora and would not recommend it to anyone I know.I am sending this to make you aware of the business practices of Kia Shortline in Aurora.I can not prove what the salesman had told us but I can prove that I had a 10 year, 100,000 mile manufacturers warranty. I can also prove that I paid $2,495.00 for the additional electrical warranty. Without a copy of the contract itself I cannot prove the details. Kia could not produce the contract either just their computer printout.I believe that they should be looked into, and perhaps you would want to research other complaints that have been made about this dealership.Thank you, ******* ********** KIA CONSUMER ASISTANCE COLORADO ATTORNEY GENERAL AARP BBB AAA
Product_Or_Service: auto
Order_Number: kXXXXX

Desired Settlement
return of $2495.00 in warranty money's

Business Response
I HAVE BEEN IN PHONE CONTACT WITH THE *******'S. WE HAVE REACHED AN AGREEMENT REGARDING HIS WARRANTY. WE WILL BE PRO-RATING WARRANTY AND SENDING THE *******'S A PARTIAL REFUND. RESPECTFULLY, **** M ******

05/09/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/08/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Missleading sales practices
Went to buy a truck told Keith(financial guy)had financing through my bank told him the intrest i could get he left came back said he could beat rate by 1/2 percent told him ok he left came back said because of the milage on truck intrest would be a little higher and our bank wouldn't give us rate they said because of the milage thought he knew better then we did said ok he told us what our payment per month he left came back said it would be &10.00 more a month then he first said we agreed he took us back to his office to sign paper work i asked why the final amount was so high he said taxes&title ect.i said it still dosent add up then he said it was a 2yr extended warranty and gap protection i told him i didn't ask or want that & why did he add it he said without it are intrest rate would go up i declined the extra stuff my rate went up1percent we signed papers left this was Saturday when my bank open called them said they would give me rate quoted no matter mile s extended warranty called capital1financial who wad asigned the loan they said he didn't want are bank because he makes money doing his own financing and they had no paper work yet so no call him and tell him i didn't want to use capital1 but i wanted my bank like i first told him& he could stop loan and move it to my bank called Keith several Times left messages telling him what i wanted he has not called back

Desired Settlement
To move my loan over to my bank like i wanted in the first place now i have a 2 percent higher intrest rate then what i told Keith i could get and a lower credit score because through all this i have had my credit checked3Times so i would also like shortline kia to pay for a 2yr exended warranty on my truck because now if the truck breaks down i will have to pay a higher rate if i havre to charge it because of the credit checks i had to get that i didn't need if Keith would have worried more about doing his job like i asked him instead of lying to me so he could make more money.

Business Response
We have gotten the contract back from the lender we were sending the loan too. We have told the customer to bring us a check from his own bank to pay for the vehicle he purchased from us. Keith even gave ******** instructions of how to do this. I left a message today for ******** to call me. Lisa Sutton (Finance Director) 303-785-0176 to get this matter resolved. All I need is for ******** to go obtain his own financing and bring us a check from his lending institution where he obtained the loan. To resolve matter all we will need is ********* check to pay for the vehcile he purchased from us. If you need any further assistance please feel free to contact me.

Respectfully,

Lisa M Sutton
Finance Director
Shortline Automotive Inc.
303-785-0176

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not sure if Keith is telling Lisa the truth and she is changing it or if Keith is just lying to Lisa like he lied to me but in Lisa's response once again the facts are not stated I never signed a contract with extended warranty or gap the very day I bought the truck(never left and came back everything was done the same day)before I signed the final papers I looked through them that's when I seen the warranty and gap on there and asked Keith what it was that's when he told me about them I told him I didn't ask for or want them I told Keith to take them off he then said I couldn't get the 2nd interest rate he quoted me if I didn't have them I said I don't want it and didn't ask for them so before I signed those papers he printed up new papers without the warranty and gap on them but with the 3rd and final intrest rate on it that was the only paperwork I signed and all this was done the same day I got there at around 10:30am and left at around 1:45pm the same day never been back there again and only signed one buyer's order and contract not two of them.As for wanting a warranty but not wanting to pay for it that is false I had been in automotive repair for 13yrs went to automotive repair college and was employed by Northgleen Dodge as an automotive tech.Until Chrysler went into bankruptcy and Northgleen Dodge had to close there is not anything on a vehicle I can't fix including the motor for probably cheaper than the warranty cost that's why I said no to the warranty.Lisa is right on one thing it is the principal if Keith wants to try and rip off unsuspecting people by not disclosing everything hopping they will sign the papers without looking at them and Keith is shortline employee and there resposible for what he does shortline needs to be the ones that it cost not the consumer when this kind of shady sales practices happen so again Lisa is right it's the principal it's not about wanting a warranty but not wanting to pay for it through all this I now know why shortline is not BBB accredited I also have realized that I was dealing with the wrong people when I went to Shortline Kia to buy my truck and through this complaint process I realized once again I'm dealing with the wrong person to say I'm holding them hostage is a pretty obscene and crazy statement all I'm doing is going thru a process that was set up to resolve an issue and it is my opinion that not only is Lisa becoming hostile and going way overboard by making statements like"held hostage"she also is not willing to or in a position of any authority to actually resolve this issue so I'm asking that all of this be forwarded to Don Hicks president of Shortline I would like to deal with him from this point so I know he has insight on how all this has been handled alot of times the higher ups don't hear about issues like this so it would be nice to deal with someone who is a position of authority and not becoming hostile and going overboard with there statements and unwilling and unable to make a wrong into a right.Thank You **********.

Final Business Response
******* has his side of the story and Keith has another. We are not the type of business ******** is stating. ******** signed warranty and gap documents, we disclose everything. I do not appreciate ******** making statements that he did not know he was purchasing the warranty and gap. He signed a buyers order, a contract, a warranty contract, and a gap contract, how could he not understand he was purchasing those items? ******** then later he decided he did not want the warranty and the gap and came and dropped them form his contract and now ******** wants a warranty for free. I would like to know what type of business transaction is ******** trying to pull. We have been in business for 25 years, have an excellent reputation. Disclose everything to customers and will not be held hostage because ******** does not want to pay for a warranty. It has nothing to do with it costing Shortline Automotive, this is principal that we have done nothing wrong. ******* wants something for free. ******** speaks of business ethics, trying to make someone give something for free cause he does not wish to pay for it, questionable. We are not going to give ******* a warranty for free. ******* was offered a warranty at a fair price, bought it and then cancelled it, and then wants it free. We do not do business that way, because we do not feel ******* was mislead at all. He signed all documents and was disclosed all products.

Respectfully,

Lisa M Sutton
Shortline Automotive Inc.
Finance Director

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/13/2006Business started: 09/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: John Bowell (Vice President)Customer Contact: Mark Stillwagon (Service Director) Don Hicks (President) Justin Korasick (Kia Sales Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shortline Kia

100 N. Havana

Aurora, CO 80010

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shortline Kia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.