BBB Accredited Business since

Rickenbaugh Cadillac/Volvo

Phone: (303) 573-7773 View Additional Phone Numbers 777 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203 http://www.rickenbaugh.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rickenbaugh Cadillac/Volvo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rickenbaugh Cadillac/Volvo include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rickenbaugh Cadillac/Volvo
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1951 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Business Management
Ms. Mary Pacifico-Valley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Pacifico-Valley, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rickenbaugh Cadillac/Volvo has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bodyshop failed to follow insurance policy for supplemental damage, delaying insurance approval and pick up. Customer was out of pocket for rental car I took my vehicle to Rickenbaugh for an estimate on damage on 1/23/15. The shop is out-of-network for my insurance at **** so I had to get an appraisal from a field adjuster (at *** ********* ******** first and take that to Rickenbaugh in order to get coverage approval from ***** I met with ********* ******* an agent for Rickenbaugh on Friday 1/23 and she approved the *** field estimate. I dropped the car off with ********* at Rickenbaugh to be serviced on Tuesday 2/03 and picked up an ********** Rental. I received a call on Thursday 2/5 from ********* that supplemental damage had been found in the amount of $364.66 and was told that the car would be ready for pickup on Monday 2/9. On Monday 2/9 at 9:27am I spoke with **** and was told that they had not received a request for a supplement from Rickenbaugh. The original estimate from *** that I took to Rickenbaugh has the policy outlined: "NO SUPPLEMENTS WITHOUT PRIOR AUTHORIZATION." I called ********* at 9:32 am and told her I did not feel comfortable picking up the car until **** approved the supplement. At 3:39 pm I called to check on the supplement submission and was told by ********* that she couldn't locate the original *** estimate. At 4:00 pm I emailed the *** appraisal to *********. On Wednesday 2/11 at 1:24 pm I received a call from ********* asking why I hadn't come in to pick up my vehicle. I reminded her about the supplement and she said she called ****** at *** but hadn't heard back but she would check on it and report back to me. At 1:38 pm ********* called to tell me that she started the submission with *** on Monday afternoon (2/9). Friday 2/13 **** still has not received a supplement from Rickenbaugh. I received a call from ********* at 2:44 pm claiming to have submitted the supplement on Tuesday. After following up with both *** and my insurance company I found out that ********* did not electronically submit the supplement to *** until Thursday 2/12. At 3:28 pm I called Rickenbaugh and spoke with ********* in regards to why the shop didn't follow policy and submit for the supplement and did the work prior to authorization. She kept repeating that she believed it was a customer pay job and she did need to submit anything to insurance. At 4:24 pm I called Rickenbaugh and requested to speak to a manger. At 4:32 pm ***** ******** *********'s manager returned my call and told me that I should have submitted the supplement myself and later said that when dealing with that "little amount of money" it is the shop's policy to submit after the work on the vehicle is finished. He refused to acknowledge any mistakes on the shop's part. At 4:49 pm I called **** and requested that an agent call Rickenbaugh. After speaking with the insurance agent ********* agreed to release the vehicle to me. At 5:32 pm I dropped off the rental at Rickenbaugh and picked up my keys directly from *********. On Monday 2/13 I called ********** and confirmed a balance of $89.24 for the extension of the rental car. At 3:56 pm I called Rickenbaugh and spoke with ***** to help clarify the situation and tell him that I didn't feel comfortable covering the cost of the rental extension when it was due to the failure of the shop to follow policy. He told me there was nothing he could do and that I shouldn't have had authorization to pick up the car on Friday so I should consider myself lucky that it didn't take longer. He told me the shop was not going to cover the rental extension because as far as he was concerned it was a customer pay job, which doesn't require insurance company approval. Rickenbaugh had no basis in assuming that it was a customer pay job. I brought in an estimate from a field appraiser and ********* agreed to follow that estimate on Friday 1/23. They had no authorization from insurance to proceed with the supplemental damage repair, which is against policy and their failure to contact the insurance company in a timely manner resulted in the need for an extension of the rental.

Desired Settlement: I would like Rickenbaugh to cover the cost of my out of pocket expense for the extension of the ********** rental in the amount of $89.24. I would not have had to extend the rental if they had followed correct procedure for submitting a supplement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/06) */ There was confusion on the way this claim was handled, due to the fact that we originally were not informed by *** *****, that this repair was an insurance claim. After it needed a supplement for additional damage was when we were informed. Supplements are standard with all insurance companies, and her vehicle could have been picked up in order to alleviate the additional rental charges. Regardless, **** ********* the General Manager, contacted her and subsequently sent her a check on 2/23/15 for $89.24. It is our policy to try and resolve such issues so that the customer is satisfied.

3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service dept. held car two days past promised diagnosis date. Charged for labor with no final diagnosis or effort to diagnose made. Left vehicle ***** ******** ********* at dealership to be serviced on Monday,Jan. 19th, 2015. Dropped keys off on Tues. the 20th, and was told that my car could be serviced the following day, Weds. 21st. Several calls went unanswered on the 22nd (at ten a.m. and eleven a.m.) so I stopped by personally to see what the situation was. Service Advisor ***** ******** informed me that my vehicle "required major work" to the tune of thousands of dollars, and that whatever problem I was experiencing would require a complete teardown of motor to diagnose. I paid in full and retrieved the vehicle, took it to an auto parts store and changed the spark plugs (simple, $40 job), at which point the vehicle was running fine. I am disgusted at the way that 1) no effort was made to check something as simple as spark plugs on a misfire code 2) the fact that I waited twenty minutes and was helped behind other customers that showed up after me, and 3) the fact that *** ******** reccomended me to a salvage yard to sell my vehicle. When I called the yard on his recommendation, I was offered $300.00 for my car, with the reason given being that "Iron prices are down." My vehicle is made of steel, with an aluminum engine block. Iron prices do not factor and my vehicle is worth far more for scrap. I felt like a second-class citizen, and my personal opinion was that they had no time for a 24 year old with an 18 year old vehicle. I expected far more from a professional ******** dealership, and feel that *********** talk of "Excellence" rings rather hollow to me.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. This ordeal was expensive beyond the cost of the actual "service" that I received, as I had to uproot and stay far from home to be close to the dealership and be able to get to work without my vehicle. I would rather I had never brought it in in the first place and solved the problem on my own, without paying what amounts to a parking fee of $180.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/16) */ I personally contacted *** ***** on 3/13/15. I explained to him that we stood behind our diagnosis of his engine. We have the diagnostics and compression test numbers that show that there is a cylinder out, and possibly more damage. I explained that our advisor was trying to inform him of more, expensive repairs. A vehicle that is 18 years old with 177,367 miles on it probably is not worth the repair. He stated that two spark plugs fixed the problem, that cannot fix a potential blown engine issue. We also had an extra $50.00 on this bill because he had a *** ****** on his vehicle that we could not disable in the time allotted. He also complained about the steel value of his vehicle at a junk yard, which we have nothing to do with. In the end, I have written him a check for the entire bill because he felt like the advisor did not treat him well, and we believe, within reason, we prefer to have satisfied customers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I absolutely accept. I was given a very polite and to the point phone call explaining the dealership's point of view (which I can understand) along with a professional apology. I have been sent a refund check for the cost of the diagnosis, and I'm very happy that we reached an agreement.

11/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dishonesty, Uncertainty, and Unprofessionalism. I asked **** ******* at Rickenbaugh Collision **** ********* ******* for Honda Genuine parts only, proof if it's safe to drive and receipts of Honda parts. **** ******* was still lying to me that the inspection has been done by "some guy" and my car was safe to drive, I demanded proof, **** ******* was slamming things in front of me, pulling his ears constantly. Then he admitted the mechanical inspection was NOT done. About the body inspection, there was a line for "After markets part" for about $60.18, I asked which parts were not Honda Genuine parts, **** ******* removed the word "After Market" and said the $60.18 (or so) was taxes. I pointed out to him the taxes are the next two lines below, he started slamming things again. While **** ******* was on the phone with ***** who has just took off with my rental that I still have another 30 hours on. *******-receptionist and I noticed the word "Accord" is on the trunk lid which was replaced by Rickenbaugh, I asked **** ******** why did he say the trunk lid had no damages? He said the technician misplaced the new "Accord" word, that is not true. I also noticed white glue was still around the letter "H" (for Honda), **** ******* said that was soap, by the way, the letters "LX" was missing, too. I requested to speak ******* *********** shop manager he did not respond when I told him **** ******* was slamming things in front of me. When ***** ********** heard I demanded proof for the body inspection, explanation to why other parts were not replaced, because they were not damaged or because the insurance did not approve to replace them? ***** ********** rudely said "No", I mentioned the BBB, ***** ********** raised his voice "Really, you're gonna contact them?" ***** ********** also showed me a Honda Parts diagram with someone's initiasl, he said that was the technician who performed inspection and repair on my car but again, refused to give me a proper receipt and inspection details checklist. Then ***** ********** took off for a while, came back with a signed, dated hand written letter listed all the items which were not damaged, not replaced, I asked who signed? He said he did, now he said he was the inspector and he replaced parts, too, on my car. He and I then went thru Honda parts diagram, when we got to part #30-some NUT, ***** ********** CONFUSED the NUT with the CLIPS (they have 2 different part numbers) first he said #30 was replaced, but it was not on Honda parts receipt, then he said it was a "in-house" part, I said I requested ALL Honda Genuine parts, the he said it was not damaged, not replaced and started adding part #30 to the signed hand-written letter below the signature. I confronted him about his uncertainty, he then took back all the receipts, letters, blueprints, etc. I asked him if he refused to give me the receipts, paperwork, etc. ***** ********** said YES. Then he insisted that I take my car, I told him my car isn't done, I could not do that, then ***** ********** said to me to "get out". I missed my doctor appointments today because I have no transportation to do so. I spoke to **** **************** Manager/Owner's nephew, he promised to do the 73 check-point and have the receipts and proof for me by 10 AM tomorrow, if not he would delivered a rental so I can get to my doctors appointments to make up for what his employees did to me, that was 4:38 PM, at 5:05 PM, **** ******** called back & broke his promises because by now he said he saw that Rickenbaugh only received $800.00, **** ******** just proved himself as a sloppy General Manager. **** ******** also told me that the BBB would laugh at me like he was laughing at my pains and sufferings.

Desired Settlement: Towing, mechanical inspection cost, replacement of undone or damaged parts by Rickenbaugh, rentals, time & labor, pain and sufferings. Estimate at $4,000.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/25) */ Rickenbaugh Collision Center denies all allegations and accusations that Ms. ****** has made. Her repair order was a total of $1769.86, which includes $957.00 of towing and storage because she had a dispute with her insurance company from the onset and the car was in a storage lot. We received an estimate from ************** insurance to replace her bumper cover only in the amount of $812.86 including tax. That is the repair we performed. She subsequently said the repairs were unsafe and that we did not replace the bumper cover. Both are false. Representatives from **************, ************ Honda, and Rickenbaugh Collision have all inspected the car, as recent, as yesterday. Their findings were that we did replace the bumper cover and the car is safe. We have written and photographic evidence to support this. Even today, she will not accept the evidence. We have gone beyond in trying to please her, and she responds with threats, name calling, etc. She went so far as to contact the ****** Police Department and tell them I committed fraud. They would not respond to her. ************** paid her claim, not her personally. To quote **************, "we wrote a claim to replace a bumper cover, which is what Rickenbaugh did, and it is considered a minor repair". I have e-mails, written documentation, invoices, statements from ************ and the insurance company to support our stand. Please let me know if you need this documentation, and I will forward it on. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To whom it *** concern: There is no solution provided in the Oct 29 Rickenbaugh's rebuttal. I will repeat myself, there was no "re-inspection" on 10/24, the Honda Certified Technicians were not there (they came to work after 3PM), no technicians were called to give their findings. ************'s employee(s) did not speak a word. Rickenbaugh's employees did not say any thing about the REAR bumper COVER (by the way, there were more than one parts replaced according Rickenbaugh's receipts.) ************** Appraiser said to me that the REAR bumper COVER was replaced but he refused to give me any written document for paper trail of what he said. I invited Rickenbaugh and ************** to come back to when the Honda Certified Technicians would be there, they all refused. I went back the same day, both Technicians (one is a Lead Technician) confirmed their initial findings on 10/17 STAY and my REAR bumper COVER was never replaced. The Lead Technician even took me to Honda Parts Department, and Honda Parts confirmed all things the technician said and wrote on their report and also the part number should be molded onto the REAR bumper COVER. Again, RIckenbaugh needs to prove the part number, needs to reveal what was painted over-that IS the evidence. I'm still requesting an estimated amount of $4,000.00 as I requested on my initial report to the BBB. What is the resolution? Sincerely, ******** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/10/29) */ As I responded previously, we replaced a bumper cover only, per the insurance company's estimate. It has been investigated and inspected by all parties. Her allegations are unfounded and the evidence has disputed this. The tag on the bumper cover is a part number tag that Honda of North America puts on their new parts. She refuses to acknowledge this. We, along with the insurance company, and the employees at ************ Honda have gone beyond what is reasonable to assure her everything was performed correctly. Her response has always been threatening, which she did again in her response above. If ************** agrees to another inspection, it will again be found that she is making false accusations. We stand behind our work and our reputation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rickenbaugh Cadillac/Volvo
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart