BBB Accredited Business since

Planet Honda

Phone: (303) 215-4200 Fax: (303) 215-4297 15701 W Colfax Ave, Golden, CO 80401 http://www.planethonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Planet Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Planet Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Planet Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1996 Business started locally: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Lee Payne, Dealer/CEO Mr. Jeff Bejarano, GM Mr. Michael Strasburger, Marketing Manager Ms. Cindy Swanson, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Bejarano, GM
Principal: Mr. Lee Payne, Dealer/CEO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair Car Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Planet Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 15701 W Colfax Ave

    Golden, CO 80401 (303) 215-4200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a new Honda CRV in May 2015. After several months we noticed a vibration which occurred when the car was stopped and in gear. We took our car to the dealership for what we thought would be a minor adjustment. To our surprise Honda was aware of the problem but had no fix for the vibration issue. In November Honda indicated they had a "fix " for the vibration issue. We took our car in for service. We don't deny it is better but there are times it feels worse, especially on the passenger side. We contacted the Colorado Department of Revenue, Auto Industry Division, and filed a complaint. Their investigator contacted Planet Honda who the indicated they would be willing to make an offer to buy back our car. On December 7 Planet Honda stated they had forwarded our concern to their "zone manager" who would be in touch with us. As of this date this has not occurred and we are still waiting. During the last 30 days I have contacted Planet Honda several times requesting the status of our complaint. Each time they are waiting on a reply from the "zone manager". It is extremely frustrating to find out after purchasing a $34,000 vehicle that the automobile maker knew there was a problem at the time of sale. The value of our car has been adversely impacted by this problem. There is no way that we could sell this car to an individual in good faith knowing there is problem that Honda either is unwilling or unable to fix. Honda's fix was to replace a radiator cushion, transmission mount and "head restraints". This appears to be an effort to mask the vibration instead of a real fix to eliminate it. It should be noted that two Planet Honda employees rode in our car and felt the vibration after the "fix".

Desired Settlement: We would like Honda to buy back our vehicle at full sales price and reimburse us for our expenses.

Business Response:

We are aware of Mr. **********'s frustration with his vehicle and also are sorry he is having this issue with the CR-V. We have informed our Honda Service & Parts Representative of these complaints so that we can try and resolve this for Mr. **********.

As of right now, there is no solution to the issue the customer is having. We have noted his visits and complaints.

 

Mr. ********** will need to go through Honda's arbitration policy to see if Honda will in fact purchase his vehicle back from him.

 

**** ********

General Manager

Planet Honda

 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

    In response to the BBB inquiry, Planet Honda states that there is no solution to our vibration issue. If there is no solution to our problem, why should we accept their response? This does not fix the problem.

     We have been working on this problem since September 2015. In December 2015 we were told a Honda "Zone Manager" would contact us about an offer to buy back our car. As of the end of February 2016, we are still waiting for someone to contact us.

     It is extremely discouraging to buy a brand new vehicle only to find out that the company knew about the vibration problem before we bought the car in May 2015. See attachment.

      It seems unfair that a car maker can knowingly sell a car with defects and not inform the buyer of such defects. In our opinion this is dishonest, deceptive and fraudulent.

     

    

Sincerely,

******* *********

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraud at loan closing, white out sales amount sent to bank that was diff than amount we signed on order. Bank caught fraud by dealership. Dealership submitted paper work to bank with white out selling amount that was different that sales order we signed for. Double charged for liscense fee that promised to refund, still waiting for refund third, damage car when in possession, wont return car to schedule repair last week

Desired Settlement: Refund the liscense fees that were doubled up that your finance guy promised to send us a check for last week. Repair damage to passenger car door while car was in your possesson for other follow up. Service guy said he would, but no one will return calls Stop fraud practices of whiting out sales orders and changing the pricing when submitting to banks for funding.

Business Response: We did if fact overcharge for the filing fees required by the county. We collected an additional $52.20, which we did tell the customer we would refund. I had the transaction paperwork pulled and discovered that a check request was issued by our Finance Department, but not subsequently processed by our Accounting Department. that check is being processed and sent today.

Regarding the door ding, our service records show that that repair was completed on 12/8/15. While it has been difficult to reach us during the Takata airbag recalls, we have made increases to our staff in answering phones to better serve our customers. Additionally, we have added staff to handle post purchase service such as accessory install or repair commitments to customers, if any. We apologize for the delay and look to better serve our customers in the future.

Finally, regarding the customer's claim that the sale price was "whited out" on the paperwork sent to his credit union showing a different selling price, there is no sign of this in the paperwork from the transaction. In addition to that, that is not a practice we would condone. I will be contacting the customer directly to determine where the issue was.

Thanks, *** *****
###-###-####

1/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my 2005 Honda CR-V to Planet Honda for diagnostic and possible repair service on the passenger ***** window on November 23, 2015. I worked with ****** ****** to describe my problem: the front passenger ****** had been lowered and failed to come back up; there was a popping sound as it lowered; the glass did not break; there is still power to the window; and all fuses associated with the power window were intact. ****** informed me there would be a $130 charge for one hour of diagnostic labor on the window. This same charge could be applied to the window service, if I elected to have that service performed by Planet Honda. The maintenance technician would also do a general inspection of the vehicle, but this was a complementary and routine service provided by Planet Honda. Later that day, ****** informed me that it would be approximately $640.00 to repair the window. The window needed a new regulator / motor. A Honda regulator / motor part costs approximately $440.00. I initially agreed to the service but then decided that I could likely replace this part on my own in a more cost-effective manner. I called ****** within ten minutes of my initial agreement to have him place a hold on the service; I also emailed and visited ****** in person to make sure he received my message. I iterated that I would like to hold off on the service and let him know of my final decision early tomorrow morning (November 24, 2015). I left my vehicle overnight at Planet Honda. The next morning, I went to pick-up my vehicle and decline the window repair. I let ****** know that if the door panel was still taken apart, it could be left in that condition, as I would have to remove the panel covering again to perform the repair. When ****** brought out my vehicle, it was very obvious that the front passenger **** panel was never disassembled to diagnose the window problem. The plastic blue tarp that I had placed days ago to fully cover the door / window had not been moved at all. I let ****** know that it was very obvious the door / window was not looked at and that I did not understand why I was charged a full hour of labor. ****** spoke with his manager and then confirmed that the door / window were not opened for diagnosis. The panel would not be opened until parts were ordered and the full service performed. The maintenance technician diagnosed the problem by verifying that power was still going to the front passenger ****** from the 'main switch board' (i.e., the four window buttons on the driver side door). I told ****** that I was very dissatisfied that I paid a full hour of labor ($150.14 with tax) to diagnose the window problem, and the window / door were not even physically inspected. The inspection of the window switch from the driver side door could not have taken more than five minutes. There was no disassembling of or installation to any part of the vehicle required. I believe that it is unconscionable for the Planet Honda service department to charge a customer a full one hour labor fee for a diagnosis that very obviously took five minutes.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Planet Honda service department to reassess the invoicing completed on November 24, 2015. I believe that I should be invoiced for the actual time it took to diagnose the window problem that I sought service for. Any amount exceeding 15 minutes of labor would seem excessive to me. I would also like a detailed account of how the maintenance technician expended this time. If Planet Honda can not reconcile this issue with me directly, I will seek out any and all available outlets so that I and other customers will not receive such a disservice from Planet Honda in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2016/01/06) */ We stand behind our policy of a diagnosis fee to determine necessary repairs to bring a vehicle to full function. Had the customer actually done the repair, the fee would have been applied to the repair itself. The customer makes several assumptions that are fundamentally incorrect. That said, in the interest of resolving this issue, we will refund the full amount of the repair order today. We will issue a credit today on the Visa that the customer paid with in the amount of $150.14. Thanks, *** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 16, 2016/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate Planet Honda's refund of the charges I incurred. I would like to clarify that when I agreed to the cost of diagnostic service ($130.00 + tax) for one-hour, it was because the service technician advised me that it was necessary to open the door panel to assess the problem, and there was a fair amount of labor associated with this. When diagnostic fees are to be assessed, it is paramount that the technician's accurately describe the service, as it affects the customer's evaluation of the service charge.

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Planet Honda refused to honor their recall repair and extended warranty repair agreement. I called to schedule a recall with Planet Honda however I also wanted some extended warranty work done on one of my pistons. The woman I scheduled with couldn't get me in for at least 6 wks which put me out of date on my warranty. The woman talked to the ** who assured me that they would still honor my warranty and take of me. When I got to the dealer they told me that they were not going to honor the warranty nor would they make any effort to talk to the ** or let me talk to him.......oh, and by the way we're not going to do all of the recall work we said were going to. I went back and forth them for a bit but ended up leaving VERY ANGRY and DISSATISFIED WITH THEM. I have purchased 3 vehicles from Planet Honda in the past but WILL NOT BE DOING SO AGAIN. I will also not be referring anyone to them ever again. I will be selling or trading my vehicle as well.

Desired Settlement: I want my CR-V repaired at no cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/11/05) */ the recall the customer came in on is for an extension of the warranty when there is excessive oil consumption. We performed the firsty part of the test while the customer was here and it did not indicate there was a problem. However, there was a follow-up test that was to be completed per the repair order. the customer was to drive 1000 miles and return to the dealership to measure the oil consumption during that period. the customer has not returned at this point. We are happy to complete this test at the customer's convenience. We are unable to determine if the engine can be replaced without completion of the proper testing per Honda's recall procedures. if she would like to talk to the owner, *** *****, please have her call at his direct line at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because the response doesn't address the extended warranty & cracked piston. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/11/09) */ Again, we will need to complete the oil consumption diagnosis regardless of whether the manufacturer would cover it or the extended warranty would cover it. The extended warranty provides coverage around the manufacturer's warranty, so until we determine the outcome of the recall we can not make a claim with the extended warranty provider. The sooner we complete the diagnosis the sooner we can determine how to proceed with any issue we find. I would love to tell the customer that we will automatically replace her engine, but we are bound by the diagnosis protocol set up by Honda first and the extended warranty provider second. Until we are allowed to complete the diagnosis protocol, we cannot proceed. We are ready and willing to complete the diagnosis protocol at the customer's convenience. Please have her call our Parts and Service Director, Kyle French at XXX-XXX-XXXX to make arrangements. He is aware of her situation and is ready to help. Additionally, I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX if there are other issues that need to be addressed or if the customer would simply like to deal directly with me.

7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor communication within the service department resulted in improper repairs to my vehicle; which resulted in additional damage to my vehicle. My trouble with Planet Honda began when I took my **** ***** *** in to have it serviced. The primary reason I had to take it in was because a lube shop had refilled the coolant for me with the wrong type of coolant which caused the check engine light to come on. ****** who performed the intake of my vehicle, agreed that it was the wrong type of coolant by shining his flashlight through it to display the green color which he stated should be blue. I specifically asked that the coolant be flushed out and replaced with the proper coolant in order to fix the problem. My boyfriend was with me and witnessed my request for this to be done. When I returned to Planet Honda to pick up the vehicle, I asked if the coolant issue had been taken care of. *****, who was the cashier checking me out, flipped through the invoice and found something that referred to the coolant system and said, "Yup, looks like it was taken care of." Little did I know at the time that "taken care of" simply meant that the sensor for the coolant system had been reset while nothing had been done to the coolant itself. It was not until my boyfriend was driving the vehicle home from work a few days later and it overheated in -3° weather, that we discovered my request had been entirely ignored. In addition to overheating, the engine began to make strange noises. The car had been driven for less than 150 miles before we had to bring it back into Planet Honda. ***** again did the intake for the vehicle and said he remembered us coming in before and he was not sure why the coolant had not been flushed and replaced initially as I had requested. Since it was in the evening when we dropped off the car, he let us know they would take a look at the vehicle the next day which was also his day off so I would be hearing from his associate ******* The following day, ****** gave me a call, informing me that the service department apparently had no record of my request to have the coolant flushed and replaced. According to them my concern had only been that the check engine light was on, which they reset with no further diagnosis charging me $130 diagnosis fee from my original visit. ****** went on to say that they had now diagnosed the actual problem with the coolant system, stating that air in the system caused the coolant to not flow properly which was probably why the engine overheated. For only $145 they could go ahead and get the air out of the system and the technician also recommended a leak down test to determine if a head gasket was blown from the car overheating, this additional service would cost upwards of $300. This diagnosis forced me to beg the question again as to why my original request was not recorded and followed. When I posed that question, ****** had to go talk to his technician who had been working on the vehicle. According to ******* the technician did not flush the coolant originally because once the sensor had been reset; it no longer showed a problem with the coolant system. Eventually I was referred to the service manager, ****. I had to relay my entire situation again to **** who insisted that Planet Honda was not at fault. It was the fault of the lube shop for not properly burping the coolant system when they added coolant. I informed him that I was not interested in him passing the buck and simply wanted the service that I had originally, specifically, came in for, the service that their technician decided not to perform, which may have caused additional damage to the vehicle. **** agreed to perform the coolant flush and replacement free of charge. ****** called me again when the coolant service had been completed. The following day, my boyfriend and I decided it would be best if we just went to pick up the vehicle. We decided to check the coolant for ourselves while we were there. We popped the hood and looked at the coolant reservoir using a flashlight; only to find that the coolant was still GREEN!!!

Desired Settlement: At this point, I find it difficult to believe that the coolant system has been touched at all. It is obvious that it still had not been replaced with the blue Honda coolant as we had asked and as **** said it would be. The coolant was hardly above the minimum line, they didn't even bother to top it off. I am severely disappointed and disgusted with the "repairs" I received. Additionally I would like to dispute the $130 I was charged for the coolant system reset referred to as "The PCM PGM-FI Software" on the original invoice. This service was not what I had requested to be done, did not fix the problem and was not necessary had the coolant been flushed and replaced originally as I had bid.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/02/25) */ Good Afternoon - With this guest, her first visit was on 12/22/14. The original complaint was for a check engine light which was for a coolant malfunction. We updated the PCM and never stated that we would flush the coolant or any such thing. Guest signed off on repair order and paid for the work. on 12/24/14, guest cam in for a battery, no coolant issues found or reported. On 1/2/15, guest cam in with an overheating problem and we found that the system had not been bled properly by the company who originally did the coolant flush. This caused an air bubble to form and not allow proper flow of the coolant. Guest was charged for repair and the repair was performed. **** ******** Planet Honda Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, **** ********, should clearly not be in charge of public correspondences since he does not know proper grammar or spelling. "Came" is spelled with an "e" on the end, and you need to capitalize the word following a period. This error riddle response is not surprising following my experience with this company. Now back to the real problem here regarding the vehicle, when I came in on January 2, no repairs were performed. It was evident from looking at the coolant reservoir before and after taking the vehicle in that it had not been touched during this final servicing. Further more, I took the vehicle into a trust worthy mechanic who actually did bleed all of the air from the system and I have not had a problem with the vehicle since. Planet Honda charged me for services that were not only unnecessary but also not performed as confirmed by my new mechanic. This company is terrible and dishonest and should be very much ashamed of their service depart. Final Business Response /* (4000, 33, 2015/07/10) */ I replied to the original complaint filed by ******** ******* and explained our side of the story. The problem was with the company who did the coolant flush on her vehicle, we repaired the problem and the repair was paid for. **** ******** Planet Honda

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Planet Honda performed a service item without our consent that led us not to be able to buy out our lease that was ending in a few weeks. On Saturday, April 18th, I dropped my car off at Planet Honda to get checked out for the end of our lease, so that we could buy our car out from the lease. I have kept incredible care of the car for the past three years (with only 15,000 miles on it). I asked the service person taking in our car to replace the filter in our car, as I smelled something musty. I received a call that afternoon that they replaced the filter, and then they also sprayed a deodorizer chemical onto and through out our whole air system (that blows air into our car), that would mask the smell and also chemically take car of any potential further problems. We were not asked for consent before they decided to do this. I am chemical and fragrance sensitive, and can not be around fragrances or chemicals. Also, my two young children drive in the car, and we do not want chemicals around our children, especially consistently blowing into their faces from the chemical deodorizer they sprayed into the whole air system. We had to forgo buying out our car, as it would be extremely difficult to be 100% assured that all of the chemical they sprayed into the air system was cleaned out. We were assured that our "new car" that we were buying would be exactly the same as our old car. We were told that we could take the car rails and steppers off of our old car to be put onto our new car. However, when we were getting stuff our of our car, the fragrance/chemical smell was bad enough that I had a severe headache for 3 days. We can't have anything from the old car on our new car. We will also have to replace 2 car seats and a stroller that was in our old car. The total of all of those items is around $1,500.00

Desired Settlement: We would like the same brand new car roof racks and same brand new car side steppers as our old car installed onto the new car instead of the old ones from the old car. As we aren't able to use the ones from our old car due to the chemical/fragrance that Planet Honda sprayed in our old car WITHOUT our consent. We were promised that our new car would be the exact same as our old car (with the same roof rails and side steppers). We would also like to be reimbursed for the two new car seats and stroller that we had to buy, due to not being able to take the old ones from the old car (due to the deodorizer chemical that they sprayed into our whole air system without our consent).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/18) */ While the customer complained of an order in the car, there was never any disclosure to us that we should not use a deodorizer to help remedy the issue. Given the severity of the customers reaction to chemicals, it would seem reasonable that we would have received this warning PRIOR to starting work on the vehicle. Despite that, we have gone out of our way to make a lease on a different vehicle work. When we arranged for this, part of the agreement was to use the existing step boards and roof rack rails. Because the spray was on the inside of the vehicle these parts were never affected. Additionally, any exterior part can be affected by the countless chemicals found in our environment today. There is no benefit to not using the old ones and it was part of the way we were able to make this vehicle change happen. Finally regarding the cars seats and strollers, the customer states that the cost to replace is $1,500. In a very quick internet search we were able to find the following: $275.80 ****** ******** ******* **** $360.80 ****** ******** *** **** $269.84 ******** ****** stroller All items include tax and free shipping from the several internet sites we found offering these items. this totals $906.44, well below the $1,500 claimed by the customer. As a good will gesture, we are willing to reimburse the customer $950.00 for these items in case there is a tax difference. This offer is contingent on accepting the old running boards and roof rack or not using them, customers choice. We have made every effort to satisfy this customer, with no acknowledgement from her that she holds a great deal of the responsibility in this situation. Just like a restaurant, if we are unaware of an allergy or sensitivity to any item, it is impossible for us to adequately prepare for it or alter our processes. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your reply, but unfortunately we will not accept this offer. Planet Honda performed a service on our car, without our consent. We had asked for a filter to be replaced if it looked like it needed to be replaced in our air system. We did not give consent for Planet Honda to spray *********** into our whole air intake system (which is the the air that we breathe in the car). If they would have called to ask consent before spraying it into our air intake system, we would have instantly told them that nothing can be sprayed on the inside of the car/air system. We had taken very good care of our three-year old leased ***** ****** and were about to buy out the car in two weeks after we dropped it off to Planet Honda for their and of lease inspection. Due to the above listed situation, we had to lease a new car (three year lease, then will buy out at the end of the term which means 7 more years of car payments, instead of buying out the current lease and only four more years of car payments). Planet Honda made out very well with this situation, as they not only got to sell a meticulous 3-year old ***** ***** (with very low miles), but in turn they got to lease another car. We are requesting $1,400 to cover the costs of the two car seats and stroller that were in the car at the time (total of $950), and for the three new items that were supposed to come with our newly leased car (All Season Floor Mats $205, Cargo Tray $114, and Cargo Cover $131 = $450), as we will no longer do business with Planet Honda. We will be purchasing these ***** items from a different dealer due to the unprofessional manner that they have dealt with this matter (we would be happy to talk with BBB further about the unprofessional treatment during this process). Thank you.

10/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My private information was used to buy some stranger a car. I entered planet honda on july 3, looking to buy a new vehicle. I filled paperwork out to see what my payments would come to. I decided that I wasnt intrested in the finance terms and left the dealership. Was repeatedly call over the last month for sales pushes. August 12 I checked my credit report. To my surprise I had a new loan for 15k from planet honda. I contacted the bank and was informed that my social security number and birth day was used to finance a stranger a car from this dealership. I called the establishment and left a message. With no reply. So I made my way to the dealership. Upon my arrival I spoke with the finance manager. Who was not apologetic and insisted that there was no possible way this could happen. After reserching they confermed what I had told them. After they contacted the bank I was told simply be called when it was fixed. Unprofessional response for an identity theft and fruad matter in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: A written apology , my credit fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/10/10) */ The customer came in and purchased a car on July 3rd with another person. A few days later, they exercised their right to return the car under our 5 day/250 mile money back guarantee. In the meantime, we had assigned the loan used to purchase the car to ***************************. After the deal was rescinded, we had the finance contract cancel and returned to us. Shortly after that, the co-buyer came in and purchased the car with their own credit and a new finance contract with ***************************. The consumer's credit was not used in the purchase of this car and she is no longer a party to the original loan, which was cancelled. Because we are not the reporting party on any loans, and we do not have permission to pull the consumer's credit report again, we are not able to verify if ************************************* has updated this information. The consumer can authorize a check of her credit directly with the credit reporting agencies. If there is still a loan showing outstanding, we are happy to assist in clearing this up through our relationship with ****************. While we are sorry that she has experienced this inconvenience, it is a side effect of our unique and very consumer friendly program, that allows a customer to return the vehicle up to 5 days and 250 miles. Occasionally, the exercise of this benefit will create some delays while we rescind contracts and can temporarily affect the consumer's credit report until the reporting of the financial institutions catches up. We believe the benefit of the right to a FULL refund vastly outweighs the potential delays in updating credit information. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never bought a car from them nor did I return a car in the five days they are talking about!! I did a test drive on a car and said I was not interested. So I do not accept the lie as an apology they are trying to pass off. The fault was on them in their finance department. They use my social to give a loan to another. So once again I never took a car home, never returned a car in five days. So tell me how you are apologizing by blaming the matter on me, get your facts straight. It was identy theft your company did. By turning the truth around to make your self look like the fault was on the bank and my self shows what kind of company you are. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/10/23) */ We made a very large mistake here and Ms. ******** is correct, we owe her an apology. I personally called her last week and apologized for the entire series of events and mistakes on our part. She has confirmed at this time that she is not showing on the loan any more and that her credit is clear. We have independently confirmed this with the credit union as well. If there is anything further that can be done, we stand ready to provide any assistance she needs to rectify any further problems she encounters because of our mistake. In an effort to provide clarity, I want to cover the chain of events that created the situation. This is not offered as an excuse but simply as an explanation of what happened. When the customer came in to our store she did drive a car and fill out a credit application. She did not purchase a car herself or with anyone else. We retained that credit application and through or poor paperwork handling, it ended up in another customers purchase paperwork. When that other customer's finance contract was sent to the credit union, her credit application was included by our accounting staff because it was in the file. While she was not on the loan document, nor was her credit used for the other customer to qualify for the purchase, she was entered into the credit union's file as a co-borrower. So our mistake in our finance department, compounded by our mistake in our accounting office was compounded further at the credit union. To be clear, I am not blaming the customer or the credit union. The errors were all created because of our actions. I made it worse by not fully reviewing all of the documentation and verifying the story I was given. Again we are truly sorry for the entire situation and of course embarrassed by our sloppy work here. We will be altering our internal procedures to make sure this does not happen again. *** *****, Owner, Planet Honda Direct Line XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/10/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did talk with Mr. ***** and everything was taken care of. He was truly apologetic, which is all I had wanted in the first place.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a new Honda CRV about a month ago. We were informed that our trade in would be paid off in 10 days. Planet Honda has not conformed! We have made three trips back to the dealership based on the above complaint. We have been contacted by the bank that owned our Honda Pilot and they claimed that the payoff has never been met.............even though the dealership claimed on two occasions that it was paid. I believe for whatever reason we were not told the truth about the payoff and there have now been three checks for the so called payoff. Thoroughly disgusted and will NEVER do business with Planet Honda again.

Desired Settlement: Would like to return the leased vehicle. I have not interest in dealing with this company on any level.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/07/18) */ Here is the chain of events on the payoff of Mr. ********'s trade-in: On 4/24/2014, Mr. ******** leased a new CRV and traded a vehicle in. The payoff check was cut on 4/28/14 for $20630.00 and was sent out on 4/29 to *** Bank, PO Box XXXXXX ********** PA XXXXX-XXXX. On 5/22 it was brought to our attention that the check was never received by the bank and was lost in transit. The check was sent regular mail so we have no tracking method or way of determining where it was lost. That same day, 5/22, a new check was cut for $20860.63. Planet Honda Finance Department covered the additional amount that accrued of $230.63. The check was then overnighted via FedEx to *** Bank **** ******* *** ********** PA XXXXX and was signed for on 5/23 at 7:34 a.m. That check cleared our bank electronically on 5/23 as well. Amazingly fast! While we are unable to rescind the lease on the new CR-V, as previously stated, we paid the additional interest fees of $230.63. If there were other documentable fees incurred by Mr. ******** because of the delayed pay-off, we will be happy to reimburse him for those costs. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience and concern this caused for Mr. ********.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Planet Honda has not paid off my vehicle after I sold it to them, and they promised to overnight a check or pay it off by 5/12/2014. After being referred by AutoTrader, I contacted the AutoTrader Representatives at Planet Honda to sell my 2010 Chevy Equinox. I met with them on 5/6/2014 and we agreed on a selling price. While processing the paperwork and selling the vehicle on 5/6/2014, the Planet Honda Representative (***) said that they would pay off the vehicle BEFORE my payoff date of 5/12/2014 and overnight a check. My paperwork shows that the payoff is for 5/12/2014 and the Rep (***) stated that I was protected by that on the paperwork. It has now been over 2 weeks since then, and 9 days past that. The AutoTrader Rep that handles acquisitions ********** has stopped responding to me, and has said that they have mailed a check to my Finance company more than 14 days ago. If that's the case, why doesn't the finance company show it as paid by now? She also stated that the General Manager has said they don't have to pay my daily interest charges because there were no special instructions in the paperwork. The paperwork I have made it look like they would pay by 5/12/2014. They deceived me by stating they would pay by 5/12 and showing on the paperwork a payoff date of 5/12. My payment is now late and I will be incurring late charges.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the car to be paid off IMMEDIATELY, and all daily finance charges since 5/12/2014 to be paid as promised.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/07/18) */ I believe all issues were resolved. Here is our recap on the issue and the dates we took action: On 5/6/2014 TXXXXXX was purchased. On 5/8/2014 check XXXXXX was issued and mailed regular mail. On 5/21/2014 check XXXXXX cleared our Comerica bank account. On 5/21/2014 ******** confirmed payoff check was posted on account and $21.21 balance due was paid via Western Union, confirmation #XXXXXXX, provided confirmation number to ***** at Ally Financial. If there is anything else we need to do to close out this issue, please let me know. *** ***** Direct XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 15, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 Silverado 1500 pickup from Planet Honda on September 13, 2013. At that time I was only given one key and told that they did not have another key but they would attempt to contact the previous owner. Days later the salesman called me and gave me the previous owners phone number and said I had to try to reach him. Planet Honda would not assist me in getting another key. Also, when my temporary permit expired I contacted the Colorado Department of Revenue and was told that Planet Honda did not have the Title to the vehicle and they were applying for a reissued title. At that time I purchased another permit out of my pocket. My second temporary permit expired on January 17, 2014. I still have not received notice that the reissued title has been received. Therefore, I have to again purchase a temporary permit out of my pocket.I have made three payments on a vehicle that Planet Honda or the financial institution does not own.Where is my money going? Will it be applied to my account? Planet Honda has made no attempt to contact me in regards to any of the above problems. ie: key or title Product_Or_Service: Chevrolet Silverado pickup truck

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund me for my time and expenses to purchase two additional keys from a local Chevrolet dealer ($75.00 for keys and $20.00 for lost wages).Refund me for my time and expenses to obtain two reissued temporary permits from the Department of Revenue ($12.80 for temporary permits and $100.00 for lost wages).Total being $207.80Note: I would like to also purchase a second key fob for the vehicle at a cost of $140.00 from the local Chevrolet dealer.Total reimbursement cost $347.80 to me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/03/03) */ We have sent a check to Mr. ******** for his requested expenses for a total of $350 today. It was sent via FedEx for delivery tomorrow afternoon, no signature required. The tracking number is XXXX XXXX XXXX. We did in fact have some unanticipated title problems. The vehicle he bought was a trade in and the previous owner's lender was from another state. After we made the payoff, the lender provided a lien release but did not provide us with an original title, so we had to get a duplicate and that is what took all the time. Regarding the additional key, we handled that very poorly. It will be addressed internally and we will retrain again on how we address this type of customer issue at Planet Automotive. Finally, I have made a personal call to Mr. ******** to apologize for the issues surrounding his purchase and to inform him that we have a check coming to him by tomorrow, March 4th. He did not answer but I left a message with the offer to discuss this further at my personal extension at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/03/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) All of my issues were addressed and came to a satisfactory result.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Planet Honda
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart