BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2000

Planet Honda

Phone: (303) 215-4200Fax: (303) 215-429515601 W Colfax Ave, GoldenCO 80401-3937

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2000

BBB has determined that Planet Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Planet Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Planet Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I purchased a 2010 Silverado 1500 pickup from Planet Honda on September 13, 2013. At that time I was only given one key and told that they did not have another key but they would attempt to contact the previous owner. Days later the salesman called me and gave me the previous owners phone number and said I had to try to reach him. Planet Honda would not assist me in getting another key. Also, when my temporary permit expired I contacted the Colorado Department of Revenue and was told that Planet Honda did not have the Title to the vehicle and they were applying for a reissued title. At that time I purchased another permit out of my pocket. My second temporary permit expired on January 17, 2014. I still have not received notice that the reissued title has been received. Therefore, I have to again purchase a temporary permit out of my pocket.I have made three payments on a vehicle that Planet Honda or the financial institution does not own.Where is my money going? Will it be applied to my account? Planet Honda has made no attempt to contact me in regards to any of the above problems. ie: key or title
Product_Or_Service: Chevrolet Silverado pickup truck

Initial Business Response
We have sent a check to Mr. ******** for his requested expenses for a total of $350 today. It was sent via FedEx for delivery tomorrow afternoon, no signature required. The tracking number is XXXX XXXX XXXX.
We did in fact have some unanticipated title problems. The vehicle he bought was a trade in and the previous owner's lender was from another state. After we made the payoff, the lender provided a lien release but did not provide us with an original title, so we had to get a duplicate and that is what took all the time.
Regarding the additional key, we handled that very poorly. It will be addressed internally and we will retrain again on how we address this type of customer issue at Planet Automotive.
Finally, I have made a personal call to Mr. ******** to apologize for the issues surrounding his purchase and to inform him that we have a check coming to him by tomorrow, March 4th. He did not answer but I left a message with the offer to discuss this further at my personal extension at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
All of my issues were addressed and came to a satisfactory result.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/14/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Planet Honda

15601 West Colfax Avenue Golden C0 80401

To the Officials of Planet Honda:

Today, the battery was changed in my 2007 Honda Fit at a mileage of 22,028. It lasted only five years and 4 months or 76 months. The battery in our 2005 Toyota Prius , with 92,000+ miles has not had to be changed so far and so it has lasted seven years and 3 months, or 87 months and is still performing well.

So, the battery in my 2007 Honda Fit should have lasted a lot longer than 76 months. I used the heater only sparingly the last two months which is probably the highest usage of the battery on cold days this fall. The other years when it was cold, it was also used sparingly, making use mostly of the flow through heat from the engine (no fan) to heat the passenger area.

I have paid $800.00 for the life time of this car for oil changes, which will be a loss for me.

I have the feeling I™ve been taken and the battery should have lasted at least two more years. Also, I drive this car rarely at night when the head lights would be needed.

Your customer,
*******************
P.S. The battery in my ™87 Toyota Pickup lasted 12 years!

Business' Initial Response
This is Lee Payne, owner of Planet Honda. We are in receipt of Mr. ********'s complaint and I called him directly today. We stand by our recommendation and sale of a new battery to Mr. ********, based on the fact that we only recommend replacement of a battery when using a factory authorized battery tester that demonstrates the cold cranking amps and voltage are not up to minimum specifications, making it likely that the battery will fail soon. Mr. ********'s battery tested accordingly and we recommended a replacement which he agreed to.
Despite that, Mr. ******** felt his battery should have lasted longer than 5 years and 4 months of use. This time is outside the battery warranty, but as a goodwill gesture, we agreed to refund 50% of the cost of the new battery rounded up to $80. Mr. ******** indicated that he felt this was a fair resolution and I believe he is satisfied with the outcome. We have issued check #19987 to Mr. ******** that will go out in tomorrow's mail that he should receive by Monday, December 3rd the at the latest. If there is anything else we can do to ensure Mr. ******** is a happy customer please let us know. Thank you, Lee Payne

11/22/2011Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/15/2011Problems with Product / Service
08/08/2011Problems with Product / Service
05/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a service

Complaint: Dealer advertises itself online & on location as having a Money Back Guarantee for which they were completely unwilling to honor or acknowledge.
On the evening of Monday Feb 4th, we entered the Planet Honda dealer and eventually proceeded to purchase, for about $30,000, a 2013 Honda CRV. We signed the documents, turned over the keys of another vehicle that was to serve as a trade in and drove off, knowing that they advertised and promoted their return policy as follows: "Buy with confidence. With our Money Back Guarantee, you can have piece of mind knowing that if for any reason you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, you can bring it back to us within 5 days or 250 miles and we will find a vehicle that is more suitable or completely refund your money. It's Simple! ...Consider it a 5-day test drive." Ultimately, we did return, on Saturday afternoon, Feb 9th to return the vehicle and retrieve our trade-in vehicle. The first words out of the General Manager's mouth when I walked in were "you're not getting out of this deal." Several hours and many conversations passed with no one willing to honor the advertised return policy. A short debate ensued about the definition of 5 days where the GM said he wasn't "going to split hairs," or "play games" and nothing was ever presented to us to indicate that we had gone past the 5 day window. In fact, the GM even said "I didn't even have to do anything for you on the 4th day, MAYBE on the 2nd or 3rd." We said we were going to just leave the keys to the Honda CRV to which the staff said "it will be in your driveway before you get home." This later changed to "you will be responsible for any damages to the vehicle that occur while it's here," and "we will have it towed and impounded." An hour or so into this visit, the General Manager, Jeff Bejarano, left the conversation and went home for the day. One of the salesmen then proceeded to explain how they had sold only 8 cars instead of the 17 they had hoped to sell so he told us that "the GM is having a bad day, everybody is stressed out, and maybe Jeff will be willing to work with you if you come back on Monday" to which we strongly believe they attempted to get us to leave until after the 5 day window had long passed. At another point, a different employee, ********* came out to offer another car in exchange for the Honda instead of the refund we requested. We continued to make attempts to give back the keys to a group of employees huddled around a table when one of the salesman remarked "no one has ever beaten the 5 day thing" but no one complied so we eventually dropped the keys at the receptionist desk in the presence of those employees, and also included my name and phone number on the back of a business card as we left the dealership with our neighbor that provided a ride home.

Business' Initial Response
Following is the content of the letter I mailed to the *******'s address on March 18th:

Dear ******* *** *******,

We are disappointed to hear about your recent transaction with Planet Honda. It is unfortunate that we were not able to find the right vehicle to fit your needs. Our finance director has contacted Honda Financial Services to let them know that you have decided to return the vehicle and ask them to rescind your lease contract.

Enclosed is a check in the amount of $2,000 to reimburse you for the value of the 2001 Nissan Pathfinder that you previously intended to use as a capitalized cost reduction on your lease.

We recognize that you are a neighbor in close proximity to our dealerships. We hope you will give us the opportunity to earn your business in our service department. Our professionally trained technicians are qualified to maintain and repair all makes and models.

Cordially,

Consumer's Final Response
Also worth mentioning, this experience has taken 6 weeks thus far to come to this point, further demonstrating our reasonable request of the additional funds to compensate for a fair trade-in value of our Nissan while we've been without a vehicle and received no response from the owners despite us initiating email contact.

Business' Final Response
When Planet Honda completed the lease transaction with ******* *******, she agreed to the value of $2,000 for the 2001 Nissan Pathfinder. A check in that amount has already been issued and mailed to her.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/18/1996Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Payne (Dealer/CEO)Mr. Jeff Bejarano (GM)Mr. Jamie Payne (Marketing Director)Ms. Cindy Swanson (Controller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)
Car Fraud
Automobile Service & Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Planet Honda

15601 W Colfax Ave

Golden, CO 80401-3937

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 15601 W Colfax Ave 

    Golden, CO 80401-3937(303) 215-4200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Planet Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.