BBB Accredited Business since

Phil Long Ford of Denver

Phone: (720) 636-8421 Fax: (303) 904-5885 View Additional Phone Numbers 7887 W Tufts Ave, Littleton, CO 80123

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Phil Long Ford of Denver meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Phil Long Ford of Denver
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Shaughnessy, General Manager Mr. Mike Blair, Platform Manager Ms. Dani Huth, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Dani Huth, Administrative Assistant
Principal: Mr. Kevin Shaughnessy, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Phil Long Ford
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Phil Long Ford of Denver has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7887 W Tufts Ave

    Littleton, CO 80123 (720) 636-8421 (888) 571-3740 (303) 933-5595


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a brand new Ford Escape on 12-30-10 and had problems with the transmission in the first couple of weeks. Brought it in 4 times for the same problem and they ended up putting a new transmission in my new SUV. I argued with them back them about the lemon law, but they said they would fix it. I wanted a 100,000 mile warranty because of all the problems we had. They only gave me 100,000 and 5 years. Most people don't put 20K miles on their vehicle every year. I wasn't happy with that. Well now the warranty expired on 12-30-15 and my vehicle is leaking transmission fluid and dealer has said I have to pay $1,493 to get it fixed. They didn't put the new transmission in until March of 2011 which is also when the "new" warranty was sent to me. I want to invoke the Federal lemon law based on the Magnuson-Moss Act. I don't think you can back date a warranty.

Desired Settlement: Would like Ford to absorb the cost of the repair for the transmission and extend the warranty on the transmission only up to 100K miles without the year restriction.

Business Response:

I spoke to Mrs. ******* about her concern and relayed to her that we are communicating with Ford about this since the problem is a product concern. She said that her problem was more with Ford Motor Company than with Phil Long Ford, but I told her that we would help her pursue a resolution. We have already repaired her car at a steeply discounted rate. She is still out about $500 for the repair however and she would like that to be refunded. I told her I would help her pursue that remedy. I will be back in touch with Mrs. ******* when I hear from Ford Motor Company.

Business Response:

At this point Phil Long Ford of Denver has done all we can from our end. Any extension of the warranty on the vehicle would have to be done from the manufacturer, Ford Motor Company not Phil Long Ford of Denver. Ford Motor Company has denied the request for extension of the warranty both to the customer as well as to us the dealer. We are continuing to seek a solution from Ford, but that decision rests on them.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  As mentioned earlier, I am waiting to hear to see if Ford corporate will extend warranty. Was told Phil Long was going to be in a meeting with corporate this week and they would discuss the matter with them.  Not sure if that has been done yet.  Please bump this case to Ford corporate in Detroit then.  It's really in their hands now.


********* *******

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/09) */ Our service manager, ***** **********, contacted *** ****** and apologized if we mis-diagnosed the vehicle. We refunded *** ****** his diagnostic fee and gave him a direct contact number for *** ********** should he require any additional assistance.

8/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pre delivery repairs of vehicle were not performed. I purchased a **** ****** ******* from phil long ford on 7-10-15. on the 13th, i contacted ***** ******* because the pre delivery inspection / repairs had clearly not been performed. i brought the car back with a list of mechanical issues that i'd noticed, as i am a mechanic. the complaints were 1)brake pulsation, 2)worn out tires which indicated alignment issues, 3)check engine light had come on, 4)leaking sunroof, 5) coolant level low, 6)engine oil level high. i also had expressed concern about multiple finish scratches. i told them i would be going on a 4000 mile trip and would need the car to be reliable. on 7-17-15 i picked the vehicle back up. they had touched up the cosmetic issues and corrected the engine oil level, but had clearly not addressed the other concerns. on 7-24-15 i had all 4 tires replaced and an alignment performed at ****** **** in ******* ************* i received a printout of the alignment data, proving that phil long ford did not perform an alignment, or at least didn't perform it properly. on 7-26-15, the vehicles check engine light came on again. on 7-27-15 i took vehicle to ** ****** ****** in ****** ************ for a diagnosis. they reported diagnostic code ***** and told me i needed a new smog pump, costing $700, parts only. part was not in stock, and as i need to return home, opted not to wait for part, but to return home to colorado.

Desired Settlement: i would like them to keep their word, performing their vaunted 172? point checklist, and repairing any parts that fail inspection. i also expect reimbursement for the tires and alignment, as well as the diagnosis fee for check engine light. on 7-29-15 i will be returning to colorado, assuming that this lemon i purchased does not leave me stranded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/13) */ Our sales manager ***** ******* got back in touch with *** ******** to attempt to address these issues to *** ********'s satisfaction. We agreed to repair the outstanding mechanical issue, as well as compensate *** ******** for the two front tires. *** ******** agreed to this resolution and we have sent him a letter for him to sign accepting this resolution. We expect that letter back any day.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had my car in several times for the same issue and it still isn't fixed. I purchased a certified preowned car in September 2013. The car only had 10,000 miles on it so I thought I was getting a good deal. About 4 months after purchasing the car my brakes started making a horrible noise. I took the car in and they said my rear calipers were stuck so they replaced them and I was good to go. A day later my brake fluid light came on. I took my car back in and was told that one of the new parts failed. They replaced it and said my brakes were good. My brakes started pulsing when I used them when I was backing up. The paint on the bumper and clear coat on the side was also chipping off. The sales manager agreed to fix the paint. When I picked up my car I was told that some pin was stuck on the brakes and it was fixed. When I looked at the paint job it was horrible. They didn't take off the license plate holder. They just painted around it and there is a huge run in the paint. That same day my brakes were doing the same thing. I took my car in yet another time for the same issue. I also wanted them to look at the fan for the AC because it makes a high pitched noise when it turns on and now my dash had a rattle. When I picked up my car I was told the fan was making a normal noise, the rattle was fixed and the brakes were fixed. Driving home I notice not a single thing was fixed. My dash still rattles, my AC fan sounds like a tiny cricket, my brakes still pulse and I still have a huge run in the paint. I called to let them know and I was told that they were going to get a technician from Ford to come and look at my car and they would call me to set up a time to bring my car in. After a couple weeks of not hearing from them I called and was told to just bring my car in and hopefully the technician would show up. I said I didn't want to drop my car off in hopes that someone would show up and was told they would call to set up a time when the technician would be there. It has now been over a months and I have not heard from them. Needless to say I am very disappointed with the service center. It feels like they are hoping I will just go away.

Desired Settlement: I would like all the issues with my car fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/14) */ I contacted the customer and apologized for not swiftly and properly addressing her issues. I asked our Service director to contact her, which he did this morning, and we have an appointment for tomorrow to rectify the problems. I will update after we have had a chance to make the necessary repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The service manager did call me and I took my car in for the repairs. They had my car from Tuesday and I was told it was ready for pick up Friday night. I have now spent $38 on rental cars at $2 a day. I did not get a rental car the first time I took my car in. I picked it up Saturday morning and wasn't able to speak with the service writer I dropped it off to because it was his day off. The information I was given was that the brake issues were "normal". I am sure they wouldn't have tried to fix the brakes 4 times previous if that was an issue that was seen all the time. The run in the paint job was fixed but now it looks like I have two different finishes on the bumper. The car was also run through a car wash and now more clear coat is coming off farther back on the car than was fixed. The compartment on the dash was replaced to take care of the rattle in the dash but it is still there. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/08/04) */ Phil Long let me trade in my car and gave me my payoff amount for it. I got into a different car.

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a car, the dealer said a second key existed, a month later a defective key was provided On may 22, 2014 my wife and i bought a 2011 Subaru legacy from ***** ******* at Signature car Buying which is a subsiderary of Phil Long Ford. ***** told us a second key was still in Colorado springs and would be mailed to us. a week went by and we still hadn't seen the key so i called ***** who said he had called the guy at the dealer and he hadn't returned the call. On June 4th i talked to ***** again, he said that he had just heard back and they still couldn't the key and that I may be out of luck. I said that he had said a key existed when we bought the car and I felt that I deserved my key, he became beligerant, and I said that i would just file a BBB complaint and let it go from there. He said that he would be in contact with me. He left a message later that day saying that he had his partner ****** and a guy named *** ******* working on it and they would call me. as of 6/7 I had not heard anything, so I called and spoke to *** ******* who said that he would send some emails and that i would be included in the email chain, He was quite rude to me and seemed to dismiss me. On Wednesday, June 11th, I heard from ****** who said they would pay for a guy to come to my house and cut a key for the car. i was provided with a generic, non-remote key that works but sets off the alarm every time it is used. I have checked with Subaru and the Legacy's come with two remote keys. I would like the correct OEM key for my car

Desired Settlement: I would like the correct OEM Subaru Remote key for my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/17) */ Our sales manager, *** ******** has spsoken with the customer. Mr.******* apologized for so many miscommunications with Mr. ****. Mr. ******* has made arrangements with Mike Shaw Subaru to cut a factory approved secondary key, at no charege to Mr. ****. Mr. **** seems to be satisfied with this solution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am satisfied with this solution. My appointment is for Friday at Mike Shaw. I will bring in the car and old key to have the new key and such programmed all at once. Mr. ******* has asked that I call when the service is complete and he will pay over the phone. I am happy that we were able to get this sorted out finally and hope that the rest of my dealing Phil Long go much much smoother. Thank you

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wrong brakes put on my car resulting in me having to bring the car back 6 times. Today I was told by manager **** ******** that I was not to return I took my car to The Quick Lane which is owned by Phil Long Dealership for a noise in my wheels in October. I was told I needed new rear brakes. So I had them do the work. My car still made noise and it got extremely bad when brakes were applied. Took it back and I was told nothing was wrong. Still the noise persisted and got horribly loud. Took it back and was told it was their mistake, they had put the wrong parts on it. Got the car back and was still having noise so took it back and a spring had come loose in the new brakes and had to be fixed. Still had noise. Took it back again and they tried to tell me they did not use factory authorized parts and now the drums had to be turned so they did that. Again their fault. Still had noise and took my car in Friday and springs had to be replaced again (brakes are still under warranty I was told). So I paid for the brakes originally, but was not charged for their mistakes. Today the manager called me and told me not to bring my car back, and that they no longer wanted my business and I was not welcome to come there!

Desired Settlement: No settlement, but an apology and to have my car fixed correctly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/03/25) */ Ms. ******** had brake work performed, and subsequently came back numerous times. It was not clear that her return visits were due to the repair not being perfomed correctly as Ms. ******** claimed, but in the interest of customer satisfaction the work was performed each time at Ms. ********'s request. After 6 return visits, each with differing concerns, and work being performed without charge Ms. ******** made it clear she was never satisfied with our service. One of the service managers told Ms. ******** that she should seek service elsewhere in the future due to her dissatisfaction. Ms. ******** complained about that, as well as her belief that we had damaged a hubcap on her vehicle. While it was unclear that we had damaged a hubcap, the head of our service department, ***** **********, contacted Ms. ******** and told her has a replacement hubcap for her, and if she wants to continue having her vehicle serviced here she should contact him directly, and he will be her personal service advisor and make sure things are done correctly. His direct number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. I personally apologize that we were unable to satisfy Ms. ******** and give her the service that she expected. It is never our intention to let a customer down, and I'm sorry that happened. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2014/03/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It was very clear that my return visits were due to the repair not being perfomed correctly. I was told by service advisor ***** ***** that the wrong parts were used causing the horrific noise in my car. This was after another service advisor, ******* had said nothing was wrong with my car. The brand new drums I had paid for had to be turned to correct the mistake of the wrong parts. Any noise I reported came from the brakes. I continue to have noise in the rear brakes. The work was under warranty I was told, so any service visits were suppose to be covered. I asked for paperwork each time to explain what was done and was told there was none. I was also told by the manager at Quick Lane that they did not want my business anymore after being a Phil Long customer since 1996. I told him to refund my money on the coupon books I had purchased and was told to use the coupons at Phil Long Ford service center. The hubcap was not damaged when I took the vehicle in for service and was damaged when I picked it up. I did not ask them to replace it. I asked why they would break it and not tell me. The response written above seems to state that I made up the problems, which I did not. No problems with the car until wrong parts were put on the car. I just want to be sure the work that was performed is covered by the warranty. And the fault of all this admitted by the manager at Quick Lane. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2014/03/31) */ Copies of all serviec work performed in the last 12 months have been mailed to Ms. ******** at here home. The offer to refund the unused portion of her maintenance book still stands. I am a bit unsure why that is not acceptable. Does Ms. ******** wish to be reimbursed for the maintenance certificates that she has used already? It seems that there have been and continue to be communication breakdowns here. I am confident that if Ms. ******** is willing to come in and see me or at the very least have a a telephone conversation with me, we will be able to resolve this issue. I still have a hubcap for Ms. ******** as well to replace the one she claims was damaged in our shop. My name is ***** *********** and I am the General Manager. She can reach me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX. If Ms. ******** prefers to limit her communication to this forum, we will still stand by all agreements and assurances made here. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2014/03/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The vehicle is a 2001 which makes it 13 years old. Putting the wrong parts on a vehicle is certainly the fault of Quick Lane which put our lives in danger. The year of the vehicle has nothing to do with putting the wrong parts on, That certainly is the fault of Quick Lane. I want to be ensured the warranty of the brakes is active. I realize Quick Lane won't admit fault for putting the wrong parts on the vehicle causing these problems. A Pro- rated refund is not acceptable after having to bring my vehicle in 6 times and being without a car. I would like copies of all the service work mailed to my home. It is still amazing to me that a customer would be treated so poorly after doing business with Phil Long since 1996 when we bought out first car there.

3/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first purchased a ford explorer and called the second day to say I wanted to return the vehicle within the 3 day limit. I was ignored and told the 3 day limit did not apply to them due to the purchase paperwork being done at done at the dealership. The final purchase is a 2009 escape, I was told I needed 7000.00 dollars down on a 20,000.00 dollar loan and the payoff would be 15,000.00 and it was 20,000.00. We were also told upon arriving in ***** ******** office that he was ignoring us and did not want contact us as it would have been uncomfortable. During the purchase it was agreed an inspection and repair of a possible oil leak was to be looked at and repaired if necessary. Upon making the appointment to the shop which was to do the repair, other issues arrived. Of them were an electrical shift indicator light went out when we left the lot, the transmission felt like it was slipping, and bearing in the front right wheel seemed to have some noise and there was to be a spare key provided. The shop claimed to have taken apart the center council to locate a light out in the shifter and said there was not a light in there and claimed to look at another escape to prove no such light exists. We were also not given a 25 dollar advance in paperwork for the Colorado required sale in emissions test for any vehicle sold. We were told it does apply to all Dealerships. Later I went back to the dealer and requested a schematic of the center column with the shift indicator light and was given a full schematic and position of the light location and how to install a new one. With that being said there is a light there and the shop we were sent to clearly did not know what they were doing or did not take apart the center column to locate and change the light, nor probably did they look at anything else on the list. It can be concluded we were lied to, ignored, and treated poorly on more than one occasion. We feel cheated and robbed by the Phil Long Dealership. Sincerely,Car owner, ******** ****** And friend of owner, ***** ****** Product_Or_Service: 2009 ford

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would the following; 1, be reimbursed for the 1st warrant purchase if it has not been transferred over and 1500.00 dollars for on the forced trade with the first vehicle. 2. A second set of programmed keys, 3. Be reimbursed for the Colorado emissions test (25.00). 4 the shift light repaired by Phil long, 5. A Phil long dealership inspection of the oil leak. 6. be reimbursed for handling fees when the car was on the lot.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/24) */ Our sales manager, *** ******** has contacted Ms. ****** and worked out a resolution to her issues. Ms. ****** has an appointment to come back into the store on Wednesday February 26th so we can address her problems, but the solutions have already been agreed to and all parties are satisfied.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Phil Long ford of Denver. When the car was being purchased I noticed several things wrong with the vehicle. I was informed by the sales man that all he would send the car to the service department prior to me driving the car off the lot. I was informed the following day that the problems were fixed & the car was inspected by service personnel. Within 67 days the car would not go into park which created a safety hazard to me & my family. The four wheel drive would not work & a check engine light refused to turn off. I returned the car to Phil Long Ford and the sales man who sold the car to me took the vehicle to the service department & told me don't worry he talked to his boss and the car would be repaired. 2 days later I received a phone call from the service department informing me the cost of repairs was $768.50. Invoice #XXXXXXI was told by the sales man that Phil Long Ford would not pay for the repair cost and it was out of his hands.I went to a reputable car dealer who refused to sell me any type of warranty on the vehicle because I was told the car was too old. This car dealership refused to repair the car before it was sold knowing that it was a defective vehicle before I drove it off the lot. The car should have bee deemed unsafe to drive. Product_Or_Service: 2001 Green Ford Explorer Order_Number: XXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The resolution that I want in the above complaint is a refund of the repair cost of $768.50 which should have been waived on this defective vehicle by Phil Long Ford of Denver.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ Mr. ******* purchased a used vehicle in an 'As-is" condition, and the decision to not cover these repairs were made under that pretext. After speaking with Mr. ******* our Used Vehicle Director ***** ***** said that Mr. ******* had received assurances from his salesperson that we would "take care of it." Based on that we feel that Mr. ******* is correct in his request and we have agreed to refund the repair ticket in the amount of 768.50, and we apologize to Mr. ******* for the inconvenience of setting things straight. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Phil Long Ford uses a bait and switch advertising scheme with used cars serviced at their dealership. Phil Long Ford uses bait and switch advertising with their marketing on used cars. I had my car serviced at their Oil Change Quick Lube Service on 11/4/13. The oil change was easy and worked well for me. Shortly thereafter I received a letter from Phil Long requesting to purchase my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee for $31,500. I called the dealership on 1/20/14 and discussed this with a sales representative named ***** ********** who referred to the specific marketing letter "with the check on top". I told him I would bring the car in later that afternoon so that his used car manager could look at my vehicle and provide me with a price which could possibly exceed the amount on the marketing letter. Unfortunately, I was unable to visit on the afternoon of 1/20/14 so I visited the next day on 1/21/14. I arrived at the dealership at approximately 9:50am and asked to speak with ***** who was unavailable so I ended up speaking with another used car sales representative. He came out to look at my car, took the VIN number, mileage and specs on a long, carbon-copy document which I signed and verified. He took that to his sales manager, ***** ***** who reviewed my vehicle and took it for a test drive. ***** returned after taking it for a test drive and offered me $25,000, $6,500 below the price they offered to me in the mail. This is clearly bait-and-switch advertising. They claimed that they didn't know the cars condition or mileage even though they had serviced my car two months prior with the invoice I have from them stating the mileage. I called Phil Long Ford on 1/21/14 at 11:12am to discuss this situation with the General Manager, however, I was unable to reach him and left a message with his executive assistant (***/*****?). I received a call back on 1/21/14 at 11:22am not from the General Manager but from ***** ***** I explained to him that I would like to speak to the GM, not the him. I am disappointing in their poor level of customer service and the bait-and-switch advertising they are using.

Desired Settlement: Purchase my car for the amount they originally offered, not the bait-and-switch price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/22) */ I received a message from Mr. ***** requesting a call back or "someone in mangement" give him a call back. I was in a lengthy meeting and wanted to get him a reply right away so I had ***** **** contact Mr. *****. Apparently Mr. **** had been involved in the initial problem that spurred the complaint, so after calling Mr *****, Mr **** asked another store manager, *** ******* to see if he could help out. *** contacted Mr. ***** yesterday and is currently working towards a resolution. *** is out of the store today, but we hope to have this resolved by tomorrow (1/23/14) evening. I have communicated all of this along with all of my pdirect personal contact information to Mr. ***** via email this morning. We strongly disagree with his assessment of "bait and switch" advertising, but we also remain committed to resolving the concern with Mr. *****. I will update upon resolution or contact with Mr. *****. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) After working through the issue with *** ******* and ***** T. *********** at Phil Long Ford, I am satisfied with the resolution we have come to and appreciate the responsiveness and willingness to work to an amicable solution. I will recommend Phil Long to friends and family.

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a vehicle that had over 5000 miles on it as a new vehicle. And told that unless I bought an extended warranty that I could not finance. Purchase date 07/12/11, Delivery Date 07/12/11 Stock# XXXXXX, Deal#XXXXX, Customer#XXXXXX, Sales Rep *** *******, Purchased Vehicle 2011 Ford, Fusion Hybrid, Odometer Reading 5314, Color: Black. I was told by the sales rep, he could take money off the sticker price of $31,998 thoe he never stated how much. The vehicle was on the showroom floor I decided to take it for a test drive. I really did not notice the odometer reading on the test drive. I guess I was more into how quiet it was and its fine other features.I was sold the vehicle as new even thoe it had over 5000 miles on it. I did not notice the odometer reading until after I drove it home. Then I was told that unless I bought an extended warranty it would be hard for me to get financed. After talking with the finance company two years later they said that buying an extended warranty had nothing to do with financing the vehicle. The sales went as follows Sale price $31,660, Delivery and handling $648.95, Total purchase price $32,308.95, State sales tax $936.96, These additional things were added and the only thing additional thing I wanted or needed was gap insurance. All other things are covered by my auto insurance. The additionals: Gap insurance $589.00, extended service contract $2995.00, Secure Mark Plus $599.00, Secure Road Plus $599.00, Secure Windshield $1198.80, Secure Finish $495.00. $6,476 in additional benefits I did not want. Minus the gap insurance that I did want $589.00. So I ended up spending $5,887 for all this coverage because I was under the impression that without it I would not get financing. My full coverage insurance road side service, windshild, even mechanical coverage on parts and labor.

Desired Settlement: First of all I think a car that has over 5000 miles should be represented as a used car not a new car. Secound of all I don't think a car salesman is going to write down everything he promises. And lastly I don't think people should be lead to beleave that they can not receive financing unless they buy almost six thousand in extras that they don't need. I beleave I should be reimbursed for all the extra junk I was sold and did not need.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/29) */ We have been in contact with Mr. *****. **** ******* our commercial sales manager spoke to Mr. ***** and was under the understanding that we had resolved his issues. **** is not certain if his conversation with Mr. ***** was before or after this complaint was filed, but said it was a "couple of weeks ago". **** said the Mr. ***** understood, and **** had even purchased a set of rear floor mats for Mr. ***** which **** has in his office waiting for Mr. ***** to come pick up. We have called Mr. ***** and left a message to confirm whether we have adequately addressed his issues, or if there are lingering concerns we will meet with him to address that as well. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all my rear floor mats should be replaced since they were missing after the car was brought in for an oil change and car wash. The point that is being missed here is that I was sold a used vehicle as "new". Colorado State law regulation 12-6-102 (12)page9, says a "new" motor vehicle is defined as any motor vehicle being transphered for the first time. The vehicle I was sold was titled as a corp fleet vehicle for 10 months with 5,300 miles on it before it was sold to me as "new". The law also states that if a vehicle is used as a demonstrator or for private use or any other purpose which would indicate "use" in the strict definition of the word "used" by a dealer soley for the purpose of demonstration to prospective costomers shall be considered a "new" vehicle unless such demonstration use has been for more than 1500 miles. I ran a carfax on 11/13/13 and it states that the vehicle was titled for 10 months as a corp fleet vehicle with 5,300 miles on it. I now can see why the dealer was so anxious to sell me an extended warranty because almost a year of the warranty was already used up on the so called "new" car. When I talked to Mr ****** from Phil Long he said that they would never sell a used car as new thoe they sold one to me. I see Phil Long Ford as a shark tank and myself as the little fish. And no doubt they put one over on me sold me a used car previously titled with 5,300 miles on it and gave me $250.00 off the brand new car sticker price of $31,980. I drove out of the dealership after putting down over $9,000.00, with a $31,000.00 loan after all the added extras sold to me so "I could get financing". Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/06) */ This is ***** ***********, the General Manager of Phil Long Ford of Denver. I called Mr. ***** and left a message with my direct phone number so that we could discuss and find resolution to his concerns. If Mr. ***** is coming to pick up some floor mats I would certainly be avaialable to meet with Mr. ***** and hopefully reach a resolution that is suitable to Mr. *****. My direct phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Phil Long Ford of Denver
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart