BBB Accredited Business since

Peak Kia

Phone: (303) 904-7800 5077 S Wadsworth Way, Littleton, CO 80123 http://www.peakkia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peak Kia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peak Kia include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Peak Kia
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 16, 2002 Business started: 07/29/2003 Business started locally: 07/29/2003 Business incorporated 11/26/2007 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Byerly, President Mr. Patrick Griggs
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Byerly, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
SLT Group VI
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Peak Kia has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5077 S Wadsworth Way

    Littleton, CO 80123 (303) 904-7800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year around November 2015 I purchased a used 2015 Ford Escape Titanium. In the advertisements on the internet navigation was one of the featured amenities. Living in Fountain, Colorado I drove to Peak Kia in Littleton to look at this vehicle. Finding it was the price I wanted and had all the amenities I wanted including Navigation I purchased the vehicle. As I'm driving home I realized that I couldn't access the navigation and needing to get home quickly to pick up my son from school I decided to contact ***** ******* my sales man the next day to let him know. November 16th he had emailed me to let me know his manager ****** was going to mail me a check for $200 as a referral fee (and didn't refer anyone) to get the navigation and sent me links for **** and ****** to purchase the Navigaion SD card on my own for under $100. After a long period of waiting, complaining by phone calls I received the $200 in the mail. I finally got around to buying the Navigation SD card recently and it will not allow me to access it. After doing a little research, I also need a navigation module that is installed behind the LCD screen in my car. The Navigaion module will run an additional $900-1,000+ if I bought the part and installed it on my own. I am really frustrated with Peak Kia Falsely advertising navigation when I purchased it and basically buying my off with an undeserved referral fee of $200 to purchase navigation when it obviously needs more to make the navigation function properly. I also dislike the amount of time it took for ******, the General Manager to get back with me to resolve the issue to begin with. I honestly feel if I were to contact them directly I would get a second dose of "the run around" and frankly I don't have the time or energy to fight with them anymore.

Desired Settlement: I would like the CEO of Peak Kia to be notified of this discrepancy and would like the full navigation promised in a the advertisement.

Business Response:

we are working with the customer to resolve this issue.

she is getting me some quotes for the navigation system that we agreed to pay.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

communication has been initiated with Peak Kia and myself to resolve the navigation issue. **** is the point of contact and asked to get an estimate of what it would cost to install the navigation. My estimate was established from Drive in Autosound for the price of $1395.00. I emailed a copy of the estimate and am waiting on a response from Peak Kia.

Sincerely,

******** *****

1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 30 , 2015 I purchased a used 2014 Kia Sedona from Peak Kia in LIttleton Colorado. l. The salesperson was helpful through the purchasing process. My complaint is with the advertised Flip Down DVD player that I found was not functioning properly after taking the vehicle home. Unfortunately I did not realize the sound did not work on the DVD until my kids tried it for the first time. During the test drive process I turned the DVD on n it powered up as it should, even the remote control worked fine. Not having a DVD to completly test the device and trusting that a reputable dealer would not sell a defective product, I assumed the device was fully operational. After finding out thta the DVD player was not working, I immeadetaly called the salesperson and reported the issue. My salesperson initally directed me to the Service department. Peak Kia service explained to me that ther was nothing they could do because it was an after market device> i further explained to the service rep that the DVD was was already installed in the vehicle prior to my purchase. I then called my salesperson an explained to her the result i got from the service dept. My salesperson there that the service rep was correct and they would not be able to help. I explained to her that had jst bought the vehicle and had been assured all electrical and mechanical components had been inspected an were operational. Again the salesperson told I was out of luck and there was nothing she could could. I explained to her that because I felt that I had been sold a defective product, I would just turn the vehicle back in to Peak Kia. The salesperson put me on hold for a few seconds then came back on the phone and I asked to schedule and appointment with the service ad the problem would be resolved. Approximately a week later I took the vehicle under the impression my issue would be resolved. When arrived for my appointment the staff was friendly and assured me my problem would be resolved. Even given me a loaner vehicle to use while my vehicle was being worked on. Further informing me my vehicle would be taking to a specialized shop to get the problem with the DVD player resolved. 3 days later I had not received and update from the dealer, So I called them. The service department told me they were still trying to resolve the issue. I few minutes later I received a call from the sales manager. The Sales manager explained that the DVD player in the vehicle needed to be replaced and the radio shop was charging them(dealer) and excessive amount of six hundred dollars to replace it. The sales manager said the dealer would not pay that amount but could somehow find a used working DVD player in another vehicle and swap it out or I could find another installation place with a much cheaper installation price and the would cut me a check. I explained to the sales manager that the situation did seem right and I would need sometime to think about it, to which he agreed. A few minutes after hanging up with the sales manager, I got a call from my initial sales person. She told me that, unknowingly to me , she had been listening to the entire phone conversation with the sales manager. The person told me that there was some the vehicle contract had not yet been finalized and further need to come in before January 15 to sign additional paperwork, but would not explain the basis for the paperwork,just that we were on a deadline. When I asked about my issue with the DVD player told me not to worry "these guys will take care of and repaired". Again telling in an assertive tone that we were on a deadline to get the additional paperwork signed. I told her I could stop by the following day at 10am to sign the paperwork and asked if my vehicle would be ready for pick up by the. The Sales person told me that she did not believe so, but said she would ask and call me right back(to which she did not). The following morning I called the my sales person but the receptionist told she would not be in till 11 am. I call sales person back at 1115 . I explained to the salesperson that I might not be able to make it to get the paperwork signed because of work. Again in an assertive tone she said that we needed to get the additional paperwork > signed. I asked if my vehicle was ready to which she said it should be. I told her I would make the effort to travel to the dealer to sign the additional paperwork signed and turn in the loaner. When I arrived to pick up my at the dealer the salesperson was not there, but a fiance person brought out the a new sales contract for me to sign. I asked about my vehicle and was told they would he could pick it for me after the contract was signed. After signed the new contract, the finance brought the vehicle key to me and directed me to my vehicle. At this point I was told i could leave and everything had been care of. I got in my vehicle and tested the DVD player. I observed that it was still the same DVD player and it was still not working properly. Just as I walked back in to the building to inquire about the issue I saw my salesperson. I was frustrated and explained that my issue had not been resolved. She asked that I follow to speak with the Sales manager. Upon Speaking to the Sales manager he told me that thye would cut me a check as he had explained and I had agreed. I told him I had not agreed to this and I had been told by the sales person the day before that the issued would be taken care off. The sales manager was not sure of the exact amount on of the check, but told m the amount would be about three hundred some dollars. I explained that I while trying to reach a decision I had checked and the amount would not cover the replacement and repairs cost, He abruptly said "yes it will". Frustrated , I explained that I had been deceptively been hurried into signed a new contract so I would be forced to accept the resolution to there problem. I told him that because of this deception I no longer wanted the vehicle. He assertively told me it does not work that way. When I said there must be a policy or law that would protect me and allow me to return the vehicle, he mockingly made a comment" what law" and further proceeded to chuckle. Embarrassed and feeling I had no further option , I told him i would try and seek legal advise. The sales manager then aggressively and disrespectful said "go ahead". I left the the building feeling bullied and belittled.

Desired Settlement: comparing the cost plus interest of the vehicle, a 600 dollar repair cost seems small. I do not care for any money back. I would like the dealer to repair/replace the DVD player and further provide an apology for their behavior.

Business Response:

I spoke with the customer and apologized to him for the way he was treated. Customer service is important to us and poor service is never acceptable.

During that conversation it became clear that we were already working on resolving the issues. Just yesterday the customer came in and picked up a check to pay for the dvd player.

Customer appeared happy and satisfied with the resolution.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. The Peak Kia team was very helpful and understanding of my problem.  After speaking with the General Manager, it was recognizable that customer satisfaction is a top priority for Peak Kia. 


Sincerely, 
******** *******

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Right front axcel hub major leak. Purchased **** *** truck with a trade in a little over 30 days ago. Major work had to be done on engine with only 70,000 miles. There is a major leak on front axcel hub they will not fix. I had argue with management to fix motor and they finally fixed motor issue(crank shaft and lifters)they tried to get me to pay for this problem.Also used vehicles come with a 3 month warranty as advertised.Management are rude and crooked. Called my attorney and will talk to him this week, **** ****** is his name (XXX)XXX-XXXX *********** 1D7RV1GT7BSXXXXXX The manager who sold truck to me is no longer employed there. This deal was financed through ****** ****** ******

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to fix the leak.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/03) */ I did speak with the customer when this problem was brought to my attention. The main issue and most expensive was the engine issue. We paid to have this issue fixed-approx. $2700. At that time I agreed to fix the more expensive issue and the smaller and less expensive issueapprox. $400 would be handles by the customer. We feel that we were more that fair due to the fact that we paid the majority of the ****$2700 of the $3100. I am sorry the customer feels differently now but I explained this all upfront and proceeded to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The engine problem was 2500 dollars not 2700 dollars. And they tried to get me pay 1200 dollars out of my pocket. They have not been very truthful during this whole process and I would not trust ever buying a vehicle from this company again. I had to pay for the other repair 400.00 And we did not agree to this. I want to be refunded for my expense. I still have not received title paperwork yet and cannot get plates, the truck came from Canada.

8/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Peak Kia of ********* sold me a car that was unsafe, and told me false things about the suv. 3 different sale men, *****, ***** and ****** My name is ******* ********, and I need your help. I responded to a add from peak Kia for a suv, they advised me to come up and look at it. When I arrived there they told me the car had sold, I started looking at other cars, they stated they just got a car in that was a *** ***** ******* ***** they said it still needed to go through inspection but I can see it and test drive it. I drove the car and noticed that the steering wheel was loose and the tires was bald; so they noted it and said it will be fixed in inspection, ( in which I have proof from text messages.) They gave me and my family a mini van to take home while the car was being fixed, we filled all of the paper work out and I got my tags. They called me two days later to come pick up my car. My family and I get there to pick up the car,the steering wheel was fixed but when we get on the highway heading home the whole cars starts shaking to the point I had to drive under 50 mph, I call them when I get home and explain what happened and they said don't worry, no problem bring it in tomorrow and we will fix it, long story short, I got the run around when I went up there, mysteriously the manager went home and they said he would call me tomorrow, I never got a phone call, I called for three days straight, with no phone call returned, 4th day I finally got the manager that stated well you already filled the paper work out for the car so that's your problem now. I just finished nursing school, I am now a RN, just had twin babies on top of that and I already had two kids previous to the twins, I explained this to them before and after the purchase of the car and they could care less. The reason I'm writing today is because I went to get my tags today for my car and found out that my car was a 2 wheel drive, when they stated my car was a 4 wheel drive, I also have text messages from the dealer stating it was a 4 wheel drive, not a 2 wheel drive, also they told me my car payments was going to be 297.00, I went to make my first payment and my payments was 309.11, I called I'm getting the run around, i am beyond angry, how can they do this to people and just get away with it? I now have to get the shocks fixed $500, new tires $1000, and now the car is a 2 wheel drive, I need help please!

Desired Settlement: I want them to know they cannot do this to people and get away with it, it is unfair and unethical, I would like a refund, or a four wheel drive car that is of the same class of the car I presently have. My husband and I both told them how we felt about not having a four wheel drive in Colorado, due to the winter months and they lied to us about the car. I just want what was told to us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/03) */ I reached out to ******* and had her bring the car back to resolve the issues she had. She is aware the car is a front wheel drive and we decided after discussing it that it would be better to address the problems with the car instead of trading it in for a 4x4 vehicle. I replaced the tires, the shocks and fixed the engine light. I just spoke with ******* and she is happy with this resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not accept their response because I was lied to about the car I bought. Yes they put new tires on the car and they said they fixed the shocks, but when I drive the car there is still a loud noise under the car, and they was unable to do anything about the fwd, when they lied and told me it was a 4wd, just so they could get a deal, they had no other 4wd vehicles that fit my family of six, so now I'm stuck paying for a car I would have never got if I new the truth. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/08/14) */ After talking to ******* when I first found out she was unhappy with the car she bought I told her to bring it back and we spent about $1500 to fix the shocks and gave her brand new tires with no cost to her. I have no evidence that anyone lied to her about her car being a FWD and not a 4x4. But we tried to replace that car with a 4x4 but it is difficult to meet all of her wants in a new car and keep her payment the same. We will continue to try and find a vehicle that will work for her and make her happy. I am confident we can accomplish this and make her happy and get her a new car. I have kept in contact with her and will continue to talk to her until we can accomplish this goal.

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wouldn't let me test drive cause it was getting late, unsafe driving it, tried to return 2 times 5-22-15, no GM around, Called several times. On Thursday May 21st I went down to Peak Kia off **** ** ********* **** ********* ** XXXXX. I was car shopping, I was greeted by ***** (sales Person) he let me test drive a car ***** ***** ** but wasn't able to get that car with my credit so. ***** (Sales mang) informed ***** of 2 cars I can get into. A **** ****** or a **** ******** **** It was around 6:30pm when I told my sister she could go cause I will just go with the ********* Sister went on her way as I was at the dealership. ***** didn't offer me a test drive as it was getting late and there were a ton of paper work that had to get done. I sat and signed some paperwork. I later went into ****** (Finance) and talked with him about the finance and the payments. I was told payments were $486.00 and that he wouldn't sell me a vehicle without the 3 year 36,000 mile warranty as he wouldn't sale a vehicle to his family without it. I told him I will take it and the GAP. I left the dealership around 8:30pm. As I was driving home the car didn't feel right. The steering was very loose and I didn't feel comfortable driving with it. As I hit bumps the car would veer all around. On Friday 5-22-2015 at 11am I and my sister drove back down the dealership to return the car as I felt very unsafe driving it. I spoke with the finance guy who I had worked with the prior night. I told him how I don't feel safe in this vehicle and that I can't do the purchase. ****** then left the office, came back in and told me I had 2 options and that was to get into another car or accept the new finance at a lower interest rate but no offer with the 3 year 36,000 mile warranty. I explained that I won't accept it as I don't feel comfortable driving it nor do I want a 2013 car without the warranty. He said no deal. I later went back with my husband and ****** once greeted us. He explained the same to my husband and told him if he came back tomorrow with a better attitude and a smile on his face then just maybe they can help us. We were told that Saturdays are very busy for ***** and that we should come back Monday at 9am. My husband and I did, spoke with ***** and he said ***** wasn't in till 11am. Husband and i walked out. I did cancel my check. Called on Tuesday to get my lenders name and spoke with ***** at 12:53 he gave me 2 options, get into another vehicle, discount the payments by $150.00. I explained I canceled my check, he told me he is going to call the police cause I wrote a bad check, and argues with me about giving me my lenders name.

Desired Settlement: I just want to return the car as I don't feel comfortable driving it, unsafe with my daughter in the car. I want to take my business elsewhere as I was treated with absolute disrespect.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/08) */ The customer wanted to return the car and the car was returned with no further obligation to her. She did not want the car and we took it back. I tried talking to the customer and left her two messages-one on 6/3 and another on 6/8 and she has not returned any of my calls as of 6/8/15.

6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a used vehicle, part of the deal was to have the scratches on the car fixed. Instead of fixing scratches they only damaged the paint further We purchased a car from peak kia in ********** As part of the agreement when we bought the car, the salesperson said the minor scratches on the vehicle would be fixed. Instead of fixing the scratches they only further damaged the clear coat on the car. Now one entire side of the car contains a swirl pattern in the paint, and there are areas where the clear coat is almost entirely worn down. We obtained a signed I owe you from the dealer for the scratches to be fixed. Now they are refusing to honor the agreement. I have tried to call them and they said it has been to long since we purchased the car (one month ago). the I owe you was still good (30 days) when i called and talked to the dealer about the paint, but they still refused to look at it again. Their point of contention was that I waited too long to bring this issue up with them, and that i should have done it sooner. when i picked the car up the first time it was at 8:00pm and raining outside. i could not see in detail the damage they had done. It then continued to rain every day for the next several weeks. we do not have a garage and as a result the car was not washed until yesterday, when we could finally see the totality of the damage done.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the I owe you agreement signed by them. And fix the scratches on the car like they said they would.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2015/06/08) */ From: **** (mailto:***********@hotmail.com) Sent: Monday, June 08, XXXX X:XX AM To: ****** ***** Subject: Withdraw complaint At this time peak Kia is working with me to resolve the issue. I would like to have complaint XXXXXXXX withdrawn please. Sent from my iPhone

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As I am writing this, I am extremely frustrated. I feel that I have given Peak Kia every opportunity to generate a positive image from my perspective As I am writing this, I am extremely frustrated. I feel that I have given Peak Kia every opportunity to generate a positive image from my perspective, however they have done nothing but create problems from me. I contacted Peak Kia after finding a car for sale via *** ****** I was in need of a car immediately as someone hit me and my car was totaled. I contacted them Wednesday about the car I wanted to purchase and told them that I absolutely needed the car by next Tuesday. I was adamant about this fact and reiterated it many times. My dealer's name was **** ********* At the beginning of the conversation, he told me he was going to make sure the car was there and call me back. I received a callback within 10 minutes and he told me the car was still there and that it was in excellent condition with only minor scratches on the back bumper. I said that sounds great and told him to figure up the out the door cost. Once he figured that up, he called me back. This only took about 1 hour. I wanted to go through my bank, ***** so I called them and did all the financing on my end. This only took about 1 hour. Pretty easy for Peak Kia, right? I sent them over a blank check from my bank in which they only had to fill in the agreed upon price and send it back to the bank to get their money. They overnighted me the docs to sign and I sent it back the same day I received it. In fact, I went home on my lunch break to make sure I would be able to send them back as quickly as possible. Now, here's where the problems start. **** told me that the car was priced lower due to some hail damage. He sent me pictures and there was no visible damage. I said that I didn't see anything, so it didn't seem very bad. He told me that it wasn't too bad, especially since he didn't see it the first time around. WRONG! The total cost to repair the hail damage is $4,000. This is not just some paintless hail damage repair. I have to get a new roof, new hood, have the rails replaced, have the sides on the top sanded and repainted, etc. I do not feel that the hail damage was explained to me very well to begin with. It was apparent when the car arrived that it was way more than what I was told upfront. The next issue is concerning the delivery of the car. I felt that I was getting a good deal because the dealership had agreed to pay for the delivery of the vehicle. Even with the expense of the hail damage, I still feel that this would have been a fair deal because the delivery was about $1,500. However, there were so many problems concerning **** and the delivery. First, **** told me the car was picked up and sent on Thursday and would be arriving at my house on Saturday. When I asked him on Friday about it, he said that it wasn't picked up and that they pick it up within 72 hours and that it would be picked up by Saturday at the latest and delivered on Tuesday at the latest. I said that's fine as long as it's here Tuesday. He told me that he would call me on Saturday and let me know that it had been picked up for sure. Well, Saturday comes around at its past 5PM and I haven't heard anything. I text him and I don't hear back until past 7PM (I know that they close at 7). He tells me that he verified that the definitely picked up my car. Thank goodness, I can breathe a sigh of relief and go about my weekend (I actually had to go to ******* otherwise I would have gone to get the car myself). So, imagine my surprise Monday night at 9PM when I get a call from **** that my car actually NEVER GOT PICKED UP!!! Yes, I'm sure anyone in this situation would freak out since they were expecting the car to be there the next day and they had reiterated numerous that was the make or break of the entire deal. However, **** told me that he would go ahead and drive the car down to me himself, though it would be nearly 500 extra miles on my car. I said, fine I just need that car here.

Desired Settlement: After he leaves is when several other issues come up. First, I get a call from his manager(?) **** ******* telling me that he left his phone in the car and asking me to FedEx it to him. They told me it would be the easiest for me pay to overnight ***** it and they would reimburse me. I sent it out immediately and have provided a copy of the receipt showing a charge for $29.55 to 2 mangers and have not received my refund. I cannot get **** or **** to return my messages on this any longer. I am VERY ANGRY about this. Seriously, what business does this to people? Also, **** left the gas on empty and I had to run over and get it filled up before I could even drive home from work. I told the manager this and they blew me off saying that it is not their policy to provide customers who buy used cars with a full tank of gas (mind you I bought a barely used **** *** ****** I guess it's their policy to provide customers with cars that have an empty tank of gas instead? Also, when I purchased the car, I was told that it had 5,190 miles on it. When it was dropped off it had over 5,900 miles on it. I was quite perplexed about this and so I asked for the ****** which was always promised and never sent to me (my bad, I know I should have pestered them until they sent it before I ever signed a thing). Well, from the ****** I found that the day they listed the car as sold it was 5,446 miles. The last thing listed on the ****** was 9 days prior and it shows 5,190 miles. So, who was driving this car so much during this time? What was going on with this car that it drove over 250 miles during a span of 9 days? Is this why no one could answer my questions and why it missed the pickup? I just can't understand any of this and no one can give me an answer. Finally, I am extremely upset by the lack of communication on the part of the dealership. I was sent the papers to sign and I contacted **** several times to go over them with me and no one ever did. I thought that the registration was included, but it wasn't. When I spoke to a manager ******* ****** I believe her name was) about this, she was extremely rude and told me that there is no way for them to know anything about my registration because I'm in a different state. I tried to tell her that's fine, but I just wanted someone to tell me that. I don't like being unaware of things and having problems come up later. She was very argumentative and trying to put all of the blame for every mishap on me, which I feel is completely out of line. Not only did I take care of my part, I did most of the work the dealership would have normally had to do in financing and such and made it easier on them. I tried to tell her that I do love the car, but she just kept on arguing with me. She was telling me that **** did a nice thing by driving down to give me the car, and I said that I agree I appreciated it. However, if he had done things correctly it would have even been necessary. She promised me a $25 gas card and that was the end of my discussion with her. I had also spoken with another rude person there about my registration when I was trying to figure what I needed to get it in order. I called because I need the title or manufacturer's receipt of origin and this lady, also rude, told me that she will not send anything out until they have the money from my bank in their drawer. She has 30 days to process everything after that. I said that's fine. SERIOUSLY, why can't anyone tell me these things upfront? I have to do the registration, fine. Tell me that. It's going to take 30 days for me to even be able to do it. Tell me that. I need to know what to expect. It's called setting the correct expectations with the customer. I don't buy cars every day, but you all sell them EVERY DAY. I expect more from you. I also expect my $29.55 back at the very least because you all owe me that money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/27) */ I spoke with the customer and apologized if there was any confusion about the car's condition. She had several issues and we discussed them all. Her main one was the money she was out for overnighting a phone back to us and the car not having any gas. I told her I would reimburse her the $29.55 she spent as well as sending her $25.00 she could use for gas. She seemed happy with this and I mailed her a check for $54.55 the next day. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received my check in the mail today. Though it took a month to the day for me to get reimbursed and I had to file complaints to get anyone to do anything, I am glad that I finally received my money back and the $25 for the gas I was told I would get as well. I will also say that ****, the person who ended up calling me, was very nice, polite, and willing to listen and resolve my issues. I'm just glad this is over so I can move on!

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Peak Kia damaged the oil pan while performing an oil change and charged for parts and labor to repair their damage. On Friday, March 20, 2015 we brought in my son's **** *** ******* for a check up before he was going on a trip. We told them to go ahead and change the oil. Approximately 90 minutes after we left the car with them, we received a call stating that they had stripped the threads on the oil pan while removing the drain plug because the bolt was over-tightened. They also said that they would not be able to obtain a replacement part until Monday. Had they let us know the plug was over-tightened, we could have take the car to the service center where the previous oil change had taken place and requested that they repair the damage. Of course, we only have Peak Kia's word that this was the case. The Peak Kia mechanic could have easily caused the damage and they are now trying to pass the cost on to us rather than handle the repairs. They did also not offer a loner car to my son.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least a refund of $278.00 for the price of the oil pan damaged by the Peak Kia mechanic.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/31) */ customer brought vehicle in for an oil change on 3-20-15 while performing oil change our techinican removed oil drain plug and noticed the oil pan threads came out with the plug.we called customer right away on the concern and told them that the vehicle needed a new oil pan. customer accepted the information and authorized the repairs for the total amount.peak kia stance on this is we will pay for half of the requested amount as a gesture of goodwill which is $139.00.based on the fact that this was the only time we have every changed the customer oil on his vehicle and damaged was not caused by us but from other repair facilities that has serviced his vehicle in the past. we feel that this is a fair good will gesture to this customer based on the vehicle is 11 years old and has 134012 miles on it. also the customers son was not able to drive our vehicle due to our insurance age requirement for a loaner vehicle which is 21 years of age or older. please advise of the decision.. thank you peak kia management team. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2015/04/23) */ I have received a check from the merchant now, so the have complied with the agreement.

10/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales rep convinced me that if I purchased an extended warranty that I could get my money back if I sold the vehicle prior to any claims. In November of 2012 I corresponded with a sales rep at Peak Kia in regards to trading my 2007 Kia Sorrento for a newer model. I explained to him that I was concerned that the warranty on my old car had expired and that I wanted one with less miles and a valid warranty. After searching for several weeks he came up with a black 2008 Kia Sorrento that had 39281 miles on it. Even though Kia offers a 100,000 mile warranty to someone purchasing a "new" vehicle they do not extend this on their certified resale vehicles. I had no plans to purchase an extended warranty but was convinced by the sales person that if I did it would extend the warranty to 100,000 miles and if I sold the car without making any claims on the warranty that it wouldn't be a problem that a refund could be had. After having the vehicle for 20 months I have decided that I would like to sell it as I have never been happy with this car. This was the 2nd Sorrento that I owned and I loved the first one but this 2nd one rode really rough. I contacted the warranty company who told me I had to call the bank. After calling the bank I was told I had to call the dealership. I spoke with Peak Kia's current finance manager and was told that "his hands were tied and that the warranty was non-refundable" with the exception it would be refunded to the bank if the vehicle were to be re-possessed, or to lease a vehicle and that negative would "go away." I chose to look into leasing a new vehicle with another dealership but what Peak Kia's finance manager didn't disclose was that if there was negative equity on a vehicle that the negative amount of money would be rolled right back into the new lease. It wouldn't just "go away". Again, I was lied to. I should have walked away from this dealer when my original purchase went from being a 60 month to a 75 month to accommodate the warranty and stay within my original payment that was promised. I was lied to and deceived by Peak Kia on more than one occasion. I walked into this dealership and made the decision to buy this car without my husband being with me and I won't ever make that mistake again. I am not saying they discriminated against me as a female but I would strongly caution any female from doing business with them unless you have your husband with you.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel my extended warranty and receive my $2500 back. I have not utilized this warranty in the last 20 months. I want to be able to trade this vehicle and purchase something else. I still like the Kia product but after the experience with Peak Kia I will think twice about going that route again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/03) */ i will call the warranty compny and see what and if they can help or refund the warranty and get back to the BBB thanks **** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not a resolution. Will see what he comes back with before I will respond to this. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told that I could get a FULL refund, not a partial refund. This vehicle has lost so much value,in less than 2 years, that without that extra $2500 it doesn't make any sense to try to sell it. Nobody is going to buy it for even close to what is owed on it. I tried trading it to 3 dealerships including a Kia dealer and none of them will give me more than $9500 for it. That extra $1000 is a deal breaker and one that I received nothing for. I will leave the warranty in place and just deal with it for a few more years. It was a deal gone bad with a dealership I will never do business with again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/09/29) */ we will waive the fee for ******

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Peak Kia gave wrong Tire lock key which does not fit tires of my 2005 Toyota Highlander. Air pressure light issue. Pathetic customer Service. I bought 2005 Toyota Highlander from Peak Kia in May 2014. They promised that it has all tools and kit but they give wrong key for tire locks. When I contacted they said we can not help, contact Toyota. It is very expensive in Toyota. Since I paid for car and all tools. Peak kia should give me all tools. Air pressure light was on when I purchased, When I asked about it, I was told by their representative that it is due to altitude of Colorado. Later I found there is an issue in ABS. When I contacted they said, They won't help me. It is additional burden on me to get it fixed. Very Bad customer service. Their sales person *** called me and said, you signed as-is agreement and we don't guarantee of anything in used vehicle. They did not give me any records or manual etc. I was fine but after purchase every time when I contact them I am getting very rude behavior. Not at all helpful.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to fix all of my issues or give me money to get it fixed from Toyota dealer. They should refund dealership fees because they did not fix any of my issue.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/29) */ We apologize for the service that you received. At peak kia we take pride in our superior customer service. If an issue does occur we work with the customer and make every attempt to resolve the problem. In regards to this issue we did resolve it and provided a key lock for the wheels to this customer, also we checked and there were no lights for tire air pressure. Please contact me directly if there are any problems you want us to address. My contact Number is XXX XXX-XXXX and my name is ******* ******, General Sales Manager. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks BBB. They did provide me the key but I had to get tire pressure light fixed at Toyota and I got it done before I went to peakkia because they denied it to fix when I called them on August 8, 2014. It was not a good experience with sales team of Peak kia but service team have fixed my issue. Thanks for your help on this.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to obtain fair assistance for my car needing a 2nd engine replacement in 6 months. I purchased a 2007 *** Optima in 2012. I have had the car 2 years. In January of this year the engine seized at 80,000 miles. I paid $***** for an engine with ****** miles on it and a 3 month warranty (I'm told I was totally taken advantage of). Last week (6 months later) the engine seized again and I AGAIN need a new one. *** offered me $***** credit towards a car. My Optima is in pristine condition. They have an exact same 2007 Optima on the lot for $******. The sales person said something about the cost of detailing.?! They were unwilling to offer me a good deal on a new car and I am now stuck with not knowing what to do. A manager should have spoken to me. I left the dealership in tears with no one offering to help me figure out what to do. My car still sits there 3 days later with no options. I'm surprised they were unwilling to sell me a car with a good deal. They have no care at all for the customer. The service department was decent to me except for charging me so much for a defective engine. No one has called me to help me, I left the dealership crying with absolute frustration and still no one wanted to help, They do not care about their customers

Desired Settlement: Fair assistance for a very faulty vehicle

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ we at peak kia value our customers and we would be more than happy to assist her to repair her vehicle. if ***** buys a used engine for her vehicle I will install it for her at no charge. she must bring the engine to me or have it dropped shipped and I will not charge her to install it into her vehicle. we feel this is a great offer and will save her over a $1500.00.if she want to proceed with this offer please have her call ***** @ XXX-XXX-XXXX.

6/20/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a vehicle at Peak Kia. They added a 3000.00 service contract to our paperwork but this was never talked about/agreed upon. My husband and I purchased a vehicle at Peak Kia. They added a 3000.00 service contract to our paperwork but this was never talked aboutor agreed upon. I, ***** *******, am the primary borrower on the loan but they had my spouse ****** ******* sign the service contract. I did not sign that contract. They added it onto the loan. We went there within 72 hours to get the service contract cancelled but **** the Finance person said that **** did the deal and they would have to talk with him and said they would call me back. I was told there is no Right of Rescission on used vehicles but this is not on the vehicle, it is on the unknown service contract they added of 3000.00 for up to 10000 miles. We never talked about this to the Salesman. This is not a honest transaction for the service contract.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a full refund of the service contract and cancellation of the service contract. We did not agree to the purchase of the $3000.00 service contract and I did not sign the contract document, only my husband did.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/18) */ case should be close we cancelled the warranty already please follow up with ***** thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They took off the 3000.00 charge for us. Thank You

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Peak Kia continually pulls hard credit reports on my credit file without a permissible purpose or permission. Peak Kia has pulled my credit report three times in a two week period, two without a permissible purpose or permission.

Desired Settlement: Remove the inquiries or pay a statutory payment of $1000 per impermissible pull

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ Reference Case # XXXXXXXX On March 6, 2014, the Complainant sent an email to the Business regarding three credit report requests made as part of his discussions to purchase and finance a vehicle: February 22, 2014 report initiated by Complainant in an online application February 26, 2014 report initiated by Business March 3, 2014 report inadvertently requested by Business Four days after receiving Complainant's email, the Business prepared letters to send to the credit reporting agencies informing them of the inadvertent request and asking that the February 26 and March 3, 2014 requests be removed from Complainant's credit report. These letters were sent to the Complainant for review. On March 11, 201, Complainant sent the following email stating the letters should not be sent: Date: March 11, 2014 at 11:15:25 PM MDT Please note. You do not have permission to place in the mail or by any means any communication bearing my name or social security number. If my credit is compromised by the Business further exchanges I will have further causes of action to seek relief. The Business has investigated the allegations of Complainant and his mother regarding his treatment by the Business representatives during a visit to the showroom. The Business disagrees with the statements and confirms that the Complainant was treated in a professional manner. The Business understands Complainant's concerns and appreciates BBB's investigation of this matter. Complainant's request filed with the BBB is to "Remove the inquiries..." The Business has made good faith efforts to do just this, but the Complainant has instructed it to terminate the very efforts designed to address Complainant's concerns. Accordingly, we believe that the BBB has no basis on which to take any negative action regarding the Business' status. Thank you for your consideration of this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Peak Kia has an obligation to understand credit inquiries and how to remove them, since they are a credit information furnisher. The method for removing inquiries is NOT by placing a consumers' name on their letterhead complete with social security number and requesting the consumer to send them to the credit reporting agencies. Peak Kia should utilize Eoscar system and complete an AUD form to each credit reporting agency. My request to "remove the inquiries" was not completed in good faith by Peak Kia as they suggest. Rather, Peak Kia haphazardly attempted to force myself to do their work in removing inquiries that were IMPERMISSIBLE. I have attempted to work with Peak Kia understand they have little knowledge of the Fair Credit Reporting Act. However, as credit information furnishers, they should be more responsible. I disagree with Peak Kia's position that, "The Business has investigated the allegations of Complainant and his mother regarding his treatment by the Business representatives during a visit to the showroom. The Business disagrees with the statements and confirms that the Complainant was treated in a professional manner." Peak Kia treated myself and my mother with disdain and apparently continue to. I believe the BBB should take negative action against Peak Kia and publish this complaint publicly. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/03/17) */ From: **** ***** Sent: Monday, March 17, XXXX X:XX PM To: ***** ******** **** ***** Subject: BBB Complaint XXXXXXXX Dear Mr. ******** In the above entitled complaint number, ******* ***** v. Peak Kia, the claim has been resolved to my satisfaction with Peak Kia and you may remove the case and mark as consumer is satisfied. If you have any questions, you may contact me a XXX-XXX-XXXX Regards, ******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Peak Kia
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart