BBB Accredited Business since

Mike Shaw Subaru

Phone: (303) 438-7500 1650 W 104th Ave, Denver, CO 80234

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike Shaw Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Mike Shaw Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 2003 Business started: 06/01/1968 Business started locally: 06/01/1968 Business incorporated 05/11/2001 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Dominic Scrivner, Managing Partner Mr. Dan Peeples Mr. Mike Shaw, Dealer Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dominic Scrivner, Managing Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mike Shaw Subaru has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a vehicle that was damaged and I am completely unsatisfied with Mike Shaw Subaru. On 09/28/2015 I bought a 2011 Jeep Liberty from Mike Shaw Subaru. We went over the ****** report that showed all of the work that they have put into the vehicle, including the brakes. Less than a month after buying the car the car broke down. I did purchase an extended warranty with the vehicle, so I called the warranty up and they had my car towed to the Jeep dealership for repairs. Once it was in the shop I was told that the brake fluid had been contaminated and that I needed to have the cylinder, calibers, rotors, brake pads and the hubs repaired, which was a total of $1972.10. I called MS Subaru and explained to him all pf my warranty info at that point. I while later I received a call from ****** stating that thethem that they were the ones who repaired the brakes and that this cost should be paid by them. I spoke with a guy who told me that there was nothing that they would do for me and hung up. That did not sit well with me so I went into the business and spoke with ****** who stated that they would be able to take care of the cost. I gave warranty would not cover the cost due to neglect. Really? I haven't even had the car long enough to neglect it. eventually MS Subaru did give me a $500 check toward the cost, I ended up paying $1472.10 out of my pocket. I picked the car up on 12/02/2015. One week later the car broke down again with the same problem. I again had it towed to the Jeep dealership where I was told that I needed to replace the anti lock brake control system which was $1146.27. My warranty actually covered that, but I had to pay a $200 deductible. I got the car out of the shop this time on 12/23/2015. On 12/30/2015 the car broke down again with the same problem. This is absolutely ridiculous. I can not believe that Mike Shaw wants his name to be affiliated with these vehicles. I have had my car in the shop more than I have actually gotten to enjoy this car. This has been the absolute worst car buying experience of my life.

Desired Settlement: I want either a trade for the same price or a complete refund of this vehicle. I can not rely on this vehicle as I need it for transportation, and I can not afford to keep replacing parts.

Consumer Response: Mike Shaw fixed the problem by replacing the car, thank you!

Business Response: I would suggest trading out this vehicle for another that may not have intermittent problems. I will make sure we as a dealership go out of our way to make this situation amenable. Please email a time that is convenient for you to meet.
******* ********

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 wrx was brought in Mike shaw for a check engine light from miss fire in cylinder 4. **** shaw had told me it was a valve and they would cover it. I brought my 2011 wrx into mike shaw on 05/06/14 for a check engine light. When i got there my service tech was super helpful(**** *****). They had went ahead and ran a test on the car which they then figured out there was a miss fire in cylinder 4. They went ahead and got the car in the shop and began to tear it down. The car had been modified and Mike shaw new that. **** had then got in contact with Subaru Of America and wanted to make sure they would cover what ever it was under warranty. they approved. so the tech ******* ******** started tearing the car apart. About a day later **** called me and told me they had found the problem, well few problems, they Had done a leak down test and found out their was 60psi in cylinder 4. He then went on to tell me that one of my injectors were leaking. these were after market. He then went onto tell me that he thought i should replace the clutch on my car while the motor was out. i agreed. as the tear down got farther they said the found the problem. **** had stated that it was a mushroomed valve and it would be covered under warranty. i was excited.I then had to pay for the injectors because they were after market which were $454.00 and $435 for anthony to install. the clutch added up to about $850 and $145 in labor. so at this point the car was being takin care of. the valve were covered under warranty and so on. the car was gona be ready to go in few days. later that week i went to go pick up the car and showed up to the dealership on 05/13/14 to pick it up. Went ahead met with **** paid my bill which came to 2200 all said and done. i took my car and i was on my way.. i drove the car for about 15 miles and boom check engine light came on so i turned around and went back to dealership and the car went back into the shop and they did a diagnostic test and said it was nothing and the car just needed to be tuned because of the mods. which at the time i thought was under understandable. i went on my way. about 3 days later i was driving back down from vail to denver and stopped Vista Subaru in silverthorne to get my oil changed this was on 05/16/14. they then put car on lift in right sway the tech noticed there were 2 bolts missing in exhaust manifold shield as well as my after market gauge wire were not re mounted and were on the heat shield half melted. he went ahead zip tied them and put two bolts in for me. From there i stopped at buddys before i was going to road trip home to Chicago and i pulled into buddys drive way and i smelled gas. a super strong smell. we then opened up the hood to see what it was. Instantly we heard and saw where it was coming from. THE BRAND NEW INJECTORS. at this time mike shaw was closed and would not be open till saturday morning at 8.. so i then had to wait over night to go into to the dealer ship. the car was then brought in and i had notified **** and he said well get it taken care of. he then went onto tell me that the wrong o ring was put on and because they are after market they usually dont cover it under warranty but they were going to make and exception and get it taken care of. so get the car back and was off to chicago. When i got back to chicago i went to go and get the car tuned and as soon as i pull up he says i cant tune this.. he goes ahead does a leak down test (another $200) 60 psi cylinder 4. i get in contact with mike shaw right away an talk to ****.. he doesnt even no what to say... i then get a recommendation to a place in chicago and i go there tell them the story and they went ahead contacted SOA and Mike Shaw and and went to work.. sure enough they found a cracked ringlet on cylinder 4. i was then stuck in chicago for 2 and half weeks well car was being built. SOA covered it. i contacted mike Shaw and talk to ********* the service manager and he said they did all the work correctly and that they would not do anything for me. they by far have the worst customer service out of anywhere i have been!

Desired Settlement: I am seeking settlement for a full refund of 2200 from mike shaw and mike shaw to also cover the $200 cost for the leak down test that was performed in chicago.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/08) */ The $2200 in repairs were eventually completed and were necessary. For Subaru to have covered the items in Chicago they had to have deemed the parts defective. For the customers inconvenience we would agree to pay for the $200 test performed in Chicago. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is unacceptable. The repairs were completed in Chicago not mike shaw as they should have been. I see you guys really care about your customers!!! I will continue to spread the bad word about the dealer ship and the lack of customer service. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/10/10) */ As I previously stated Subaru of America deemed the part to be the issue otherwise they would not have repaired the vehicle under warranty. I have offered the customers loss of $200 but the entire repair of $2200 is unreasonable as the repairs were necessary and completed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/10/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The car was not fixed. There was a mushroomed valve which was part of the problem but the Maine problem of a cracked Ringlet was not. Fixed, yet along missing bolts and such on the car after mike shaw worked on it. I feel as do other dealer ships that mike shaw. Should fully reimburse me for the inconvenience as we'll as the lack of doing the work right the first time! I feel 200$ is not expectable as I was stuck in Chicago for 2 weeks while the ad was being rebuilt as it should of been at mike shaw.

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: After purchasing a 2009 Jeep Wrangler in Aug the transmission started slipping and leaking. It needs replaced they've refused to help in any way. *** ******* the general manager told me he would call me back several times and never did.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay for the transmission as I believe they knew it was leaking and rushed me in and out of the sale. Now refusing to help after transmission has gone out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/01) */ All used vehicles are sold As Is. We will however offer a 20% discount on repairs completed at our facility. This is twice the amount of any usual discount. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would prefer if you split the repair costs with me at Aamco. The cost to rebuild the transmission is $2000.00 Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/06) */ Unfortunately the work would need to be completed by our service department.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid Mike Shaw $3808 and my car does not run at all. Dealer refuses to aid in getting car to run No warranty on repairs!!! Vehicle was running rough. Took car to Mike Shaw Subaru since car is a Subaru. Paid $3,000 for repairs. Upon return of vehicle it would not go into gear. Mike Shaw agreed to tow vehicle to their garage. At that time I was charged $808 in add'l repairs. At that time they stated they were "DONE" and would not honor any further warranties. The car ran for approx. 20 miles before dying. The vehicle will not run at all and since Mike Shaw refuses to accept any responsibility for their repairs I will have to junk the car. My Subaru was running when I first took it to Mike Shaw Subaru but over the course of 4 months I have only been able to drive the car for approx. 1 hour total driving time after having spent more than the car is now worth. They should at least be held accountable to give me a running vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like Mike Shaw Subaru to refund the $3,808 in fraudulent repairs and the cost of the car which is $5806 so I can replace the transportation they ruined.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/04) */ We have spoken with the actual customer and we have investigated the repairs completed. We told the customer we would look at any related issues from work performed.

8/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ***** Finance Manager at Mike Shaw Subaru, failed to disclose key terms of the finance agreement by charging $4000 fee for a services contract. I purchased a 2011 Subaru Legacy on June 14, 2014 for a sticker price of $16500. I ran my credit score three weeks prior to going into the dealership and my score showed as a 750 on Fico. When I was pre-approved over the phone, the Salesman, **** *********** told me over the phone that my Fico score was a 670. Then the finance manager, ***** ***** said that my score was actually a 656. So right off the bat they were not honest about my credit score. After agreeing to purchase the car, **** came back and said they would be willing to finance me at a 9% rate. When I got in ***** ****** office to discuss finance further, I let him know immediately that I did not believe their credit score was accurate. He proceeded to tell me that he could give me a 5% rate, but I would need to purchase a services contract. He never actually mentioned the cost of that services contract would be $4000 and only cover the car up to 100,000 miles. When I asked him about the details of the contract, he stated that it would be best to just sign the paperwork and that I was getting a good deal. As soon as I returned home, I realized they had charged me $4000, which was at no point disclosed during the signing. ***** never discussed percentages or any of the fine details of the contract. On another note, when I got in the car to drive away, I noticed that the oil light on the car was on. I pointed this out to ****, who proceeded to tell me it is no big deal and not to worry about it. I then checked the oil level, and saw that it was extremely low. I told him I was not leaving until they put more oil in the car. I asked him to have the mechanic perform a full oil change, as it would only take a few extra minutes, but **** was so concerned about getting me out the door and on to swindle his next customer that he refused to ask the mechanic to do this. The mechanic stated that the car was actually 1.5 quarts low on oil, and filled it up.

Desired Settlement: I want Mike Shaw Subaru to give me a full refund on the extended services contract while keeping all other terms of the financing as they currently stand. I also want Mike Shaw Subaru to reimburse me for the cost of an oil change.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/07/25) */ The finance menu, the buyers order and the contract all disclose finance products purchased. The customer was refunded for the entire purchase. With regards to the credit bureau there are three national credit bureaus and it depends on which one the lender utilizes.

8/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to get routine oil change which was not properly done resulting in damage to my engine. On May 8th, 2014 I went in to Mike Shaw Subaru on 104th and Ura. I had them do a routine oil change and 10 point inspection to my 2009 Subaru legacy. I am very disappointed in the service I received, a month later my car felt like it was going to break down wail driving. I was empty on oil I put 4 quarts of oil in my car and by morning 2 had leaked out. That is when I took my car to a mechanic and he notified me I had an oil leak because the nut for the oil pan had not been put back on my car properly he was able to take the nut of with his hand which you should not be able to do. Now my car has a knocking noise in the engine so I immediately took my car back to Mike Shaw Subaru. They are now In the process of trying to fix the problem at no cost to me so far. I would like everyone to know about the service that I received from Mike Shaw Subaru and to be very careful going to get your oil change at this location. If I had went somewhere different that day then I would not have any issues with my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: As of now they are trying to fix the knocking sound in the engine. If they are not able to fix the issue I would like a replacement engine or vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/07/25) */ Mike Shaw Subaru replaced the customer's engine even though fault was not 100%.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Mike Shaw Subaru
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart