BBB Accredited Business since

McDonald Volvo Mazda

Phone: (303) 795-1100 6100 S Broadway, Littleton, CO 80121

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McDonald Volvo Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McDonald Volvo Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 14, 2010 Business started: 08/12/1988 in CO Business started locally: 08/12/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Douglas McDonald, President/Ceo Ms. Brooke Lasenbery, Controller Mr. Michael McDonald, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Brooke Lasenbery, Controller
Principal: Mr. Douglas McDonald, President/Ceo
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2008 Chevy Cobalt. With in a couple a days the Service Air Bag light comes on intermittently. They will not repair it with out a charge I bought a 2008 Chevy Cobalt from ******** Mazda in Aug 2015. In a couple of days the "Service Air Bag" light comes on intermittently. I try calling ****' the sales manager a couple times a week for the next two weeks or so, he never returned my calls.So I take it down to their collision center and talk to ******* A. He tells me they had problems with it when it came in a replace a sensor. He also told me that those systems have a lot of sensors and that the air bags may not work if in an accident when the air bag light is on. ******* said he needs ****'s permission for ******** to cover it. **** calls me a few days later and says they won't fix "every little light that comes on". 1st, its not any little light. 2nd, how do I know it was fixed right the 1st time. A few years ago I bought a used car from a dealer(no longer in business, Saturn of Aurora), the front end started to shake so I took it in to the dealer. The brake rotors were turn to low by them. They took responsibility and replace the whole front brake system and DID NOT CHARGE ME ANYTHING. I had to take in for an engine issue later, they did not get it right the 1st time, took it back, guess what, no charge again!! Where is that integrity in ********? Also I noticed the hand brake didn't work. They would not fix that either. Isn't there certain safety items that have to pass before they sell a car

Desired Settlement: I want a full check done on the air bag system and sensors replaced.

Business Response: The General Manager ***** *********** spoke with Mr. Bush and repaired the vehicle. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

6/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In under 72 hours from purchase the clutch/transmission blew. There is no report proving inspection before sale and I am being billed for repair I had purchased my **** **** ****** ***** from ****** ****** at McDonald Mazda on Thursday May 21st 2015. In under 72 hours of purchase my car was rendered unable to drive. I had to roll it off the Street and wait for it to get towed. Once the car was back at the dealership they claimed that I "Burned the Clutch" and that it is my fault. The problem is that they have not provided proof that the car was fully inspected in the 24 hours prior to me driving off the lot meaning either they did not ensure the car was in drive able condition or proving that the clutch was in good condition. In my extensive driving history and according to several opinions from my family mechanic it is near impossible to burn out a clutch in 72 hours. To me this is a disservice as this car should have been inspected and put into a sellable drive able condition before I even drove off the lot. Any number of test drivers could be the reason this clutch went out but in no way could it have happened in 3 days. They are seeking 1300 dollars plus labor from me to fix an issue that should have been resolved before sale of the car

Desired Settlement: My desired resolution is that the repairs pertaining to this situation be made, specifically the clutch, free of charge. I would be satisfied if all maintenance and labor fees were waived as this should have been done prior to the sale of a vehicle as I believe a dealership should not allow its customers to drive off their lot in a vehicle that is a potential hazard. I have missed work and very important appointments trying to deal with this and feel that a repair free of charge would be a prime resolution to this situati

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2015/06/22) */ From: ***** ****** [mailto:***********] Sent: Thursday, June 18, 2015 9:04 AM To: ****** ***** Subject: Case ID XXXXXXXX Hello, My name is ****** ****** and this case has been resolved. Apparently the repairs were about 4 grand and I had to pay $1000 to get my car back. I wanted to pay that because I wanted that mini cooper back because it was a good deal and the car I've always wanted. I think it's pretty fair. It could have been free because I don't know how I could have ruined the car after 3 days. Everything has been taken care of. Thank you, ****** ******

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not been reimbursed the proper amounts for my 2,000 dollar warranty cancelation and my $1,000 dollar clear coat stain package. I purchased a 2007 RX8 from ******** Mazda in May of 2014. I love the vehicle itself and my sales person Amir was great. I was persuaded into purchasing an extended service warranty for 3 years for $2,000 as well as an interior stain resistant coating and paint chipping coverage package for $1,000. I was told the amount would be prorated evenly over a 36 month time period. After 3 months I decided to cancel the additional service warranty since I felt I wasn't going to be using it to the full advantage, nor had I been able to make the appointment for the Clear Coat. I cancelled the plan in mid August and proceeded to fill out the extensive proper paper work and was told that the amount reimbursed would be $3,000 minus the 3 months I kept the coverage. This all sounded fair and I understood this policy. The associate at the service desk claimed they would handle everything from that point and a check would be sent to the bank which holds my loan, Westerra Credit Union. In late November I received notice that ******** Mazda had not given Westerra any type of reimbursement check. I attempted to follow up with ******** Mazda for literally weeks and could not get any call back from the Finance Manager ****** ****** nor the Sales Manager ***** ************ I decided to go directly to The Mazda Corporation and complain and ask for assistance in reaching out to this location. They couldn't get ahold of anyone at ******** for weeks either which I found to be ludicrous! When ****** ****** finally called me back a month later, I was told that the original paperwork was never filed on their part and that the original finance associate who had assisted in cancelling the coverage was no longer employed there. I inquired about all the paperwork I had filled out and was told that "it would all be shredded by now". What company shreds financial documents in the same fiscal year? or ever? He then told me "sorry for your luck" and that I would have to come back in a fill it all out again. Extremely put off and confused as about their organization and recording process, I asked about all the lapsed time that had passed *** he told me I would lose that additional amount from my reimbursement. I ultimately as the consumer would have to pay for their high employee turnover rate and lack of follow through. I was told it would've been a difference of $50 to $100 for those additional 3 months, which alone mathematically didn't add up. However because it seemed like such a small amount of loss I agreed to have them process the cancellation starting in December. I thought this was finally over but was then told that the amount being reimbursed was $1400 dollars. How did I lose over half of my money in only 7 to 8 months for something spread evenly over 36 months? I have a finance degree and none of the totals added up. Finally ***** *********** called me and told me that the $1,000 clear coat stain and paint chip coverage was never refundable. Thusly I feel I was lied to by this company from the very beginning. After many more follow up calls with *****, ****** and the corporate customer service agent ******** they finally agreed to reimburse me $500 of the Paint and Chip coverage for a total warranty reimbursement amount of approx. $1900. I was angry but agreed to it just to no longer have to deal with this company. My $1400 was reimbursed over a month ago but the $500 from the coating coverage has still not shown up as promised. I have been taken advantage of by this dealership again even after the Sales Manager himself promised me it would be taken care of weeks ago. This is the very reason why people never trust car dealerships! Their sales and vehicles were great but my experience with the Finance Department and Management Team have given me the runaround from the get go. If this was never to be covered nor reimbursed then it should have been spelled out for the consumer at the beginning of the transaction.

Desired Settlement: I understand that I am responsible for the 3 months I was under the coverage plan initially set out. This amount including the Coating Protection was $3,000. The proration over 36 months would be $83.33 per month. $3,000 minus 3 months of coverage comes to $2,750. I have been reimbursed $1,400 and would like to receive the remaining balance of $1,350.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/02/26) */ The cancellation calcuation is unfortunately not as simple as the purchase price divided by the number of months in effect. The warranty company actually looks at both the time the policy was in effect and how many miles are on the car from the date of purchase to the cancellation date. I have attached the cancellation calculation we were provided from the warranty company showing the refund percentage to be 73.36% less a $50 cancellation fee. As far as the Perma Plate product this is non-cancellable due to the fact it is a physical product applied to the vehicle which can not be reomoved however, as a goowill gesture the General Manager decided to refund the customer $523.

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the most dishonest dealer I have ever made a purchase from. We were sold a high end used vehicle that needs $3500 of repairs! We purchased a 2010 Porsche Panamera on 8/23 as our first luxury vehicle from McDonald. By using a large "reputable" dealership we figured there would not be any problems with the car. Our first clue should have been the buying experience, we wasted our entire day at the dealership haggling for a fair price, but that's not the issue. On our way home that first day we heard a terrible rattling noise from the front wheels of the car when going over bumps. My wife even said to me "are the wheels going to fall off?" In good faith I thought maybe we went over an unusually large pothole or another "one off", so we decided to give it a few days. We left the country a few days later for a few weeks so the car sat in the garage. When we got back, nothing changed with the car, it was still making terrible noise going over potholes. Our Porsche sounded like an old "beater"!! I did not take the car back to McDonald right away since they already expressed an unwillingness to help me when my "check engine" light came on the 2nd day of owning the car. It turned out to be nothing, but **** the dealership manager told me that they would not diagnose or repair the vehicle. I took the car to ******** Porsche and upon inspection I was told that there may be problems with the suspension. The mechanic recommended for me take the car back to McDonald since the repairs could be expensive. With that in mind I contacted ***** figuring they will do the right thing, and he did not even have the courtesy to call me back himself. Someone from the "reconditioning department" called me to bring the car in. My car was then sent to ********* Imports where it was kept for 3 days to "diagnose" the problem!!! 3 days! When I heard back I was told that they recommended replacing upper control arms and sway bar bushing for $2000 and **** would not authorize the repairs!! So 3 days later I had to pick up my unrepaired car. This was the point where I realized that it was foolish of me to trust this dealer. I called ***** the McDonald manager, and during our conversation he was not rude but definitely condescending. At one point he even accused me of lying about the noise by saying that he drove the car himself and so did his mechanics. It that's so, and they actually went over a bump, they all need hearing checks, because that noise is awful. He also said that I had a chance to test drive the car and hear the noise. Who does a mechanical inspection of their car during a test drive??? And the noise only appears when going over uneven bumpy roads. The road by the dealership is new and paved. Long story short, he refused to pay for repairs, and when I asked why suspension was not examined during the "130 point inspection" he said "we can't repair everything, it's cost prohibitive". That's not an excuse to sell me a car in poor condition! In addition, in his words "if the suspension was leaking we would take care of it". Let's see if he kept his word... So, a few days later I took the car to an independent Porsche mechanic. Within 30 minutes, not 3 days, he found the problem! The lower suspension arms are cracked and in fact leaking (in addition to upper arms & bushings). I also found this interesting, the lower engine cover which needs to be removed to get to the broken parts was never touched by ********* or McDonald, because the stripped screws had no scratches from vice grips prior to this mechanic! I see how these dealers pass business to each other...what a bunch of crooks, no wonder they have such a reputation. Since the new discovery I tried to contact **** to see if he will hold true to his word, twice, with no returned calls. I spoke to *** at the reconditioning department to give him the update and was told that **** will not authorize repairs. I also left 2 messages for *** ********, ******* boss, with no returned calls. It's obvious to me that this dealership is dishonest, unethical and downright deceitful.

Desired Settlement: In order for the car to function properly the lower control arms, upper control arms and sway bar bushings need to be replaced. Total cost for such a repair is around $3500. I am not a trust fund baby, my wife and I work long hard hours and have saved money for this purchase. When I purchase a vehicle from a large dealership I would expect that it would not need a $3500 repair as soon as I take it home. I would not even bother anyone if the needed repair was minor. However, if a big problem such as this one is found during the 130 point inspection it should either be repaired or disclosed to the customer. This is a very deceitful business practice which should not be tolerated. I understand that mistakes happen and if this problem was missed during reconditioning I have given Will and the dealership multiple opportunities to make it right. My car was kept for 3 days, which was plenty of time to diagnose and repair the car. Not only was it not diagnosed properly, but the repair was denied. Why would you ask me to bring the car if there were no plans to fix it?? In my opinion, I only ask for what's fair, which is for the repairs to be done on my car that should have been done prior to selling me the car. I also want the repair to be done at the independent shop that I trust, not at ********* or McDonald, who could not even find the problem. I have a hard time trusting these places after my experience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/11/12) */ Thank you for bringing your concern to our attention. At McDonald Automotive Group, we have established a processes to thoroughly examine all of our pre-owned cars. Every effort is made to exploit any weakness a pre-owned car may have, and address it appropriately. When a vehicle is known to have problems, we either repair the vehicle or wholesale it at auction. Copies are always available of these inspections to consumers. Vehicles are always available for third-party inspections prior to the sale. Only upon a vehicle passing our rigorous inspection will we offer the consumer an opportunity to purchase a vehicle service contract, to assist with the cost of unforeseen repairs after the sale. This opportunity was provided in this transaction. The McDonald Automotive Group does not warrant the condition of any of our pre-owned cars. We make this fact known by having all consumers sign the As-Is No Warranty form, clearly outlining that liability for repairs to the vehicle after the sale falls on the consumer. This form was presented and signed in this transaction. Whereas the McDonald Automotive Group agrees that the post-sale series of events in this transaction are very unfortunate, we reject the notion that we somehow were aware of the issues with the car and chose to sell it anyway. There is no proof of this, and our process outlined above would not allow for that scenario. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It looks like McDonald Automotive Group is running out of excuses, because they are reaching back for the same one that I've already heard. First and foremost, I never made a claim that this was a "cover up", although after I brought my car back for additional "inspections" it certainly looked like nobody was even trying to find a problem. First of all, as a consumer I appreciate the fact that a dealer has an inspection process in place to find flaws with used cars, hence why one chooses to shop at a large dealer. I'm sure McDonald Group has a very good process in place, but is it too far of a stretch to say that any process involving people could have flaws?!? As the dealer stated above "every EFFORT is made to exploit any weakness a pre-owned car may have", with the key word being effort, which I'm not doubting at all. I'm sure that most dealers make every effort to sell a good vehicle to make customers happy and coming back. With that being said, effort is not always equivalent to results. All people make mistakes in their jobs, and those who claim that they never have are simply liars. Even doctors with decades of education make mistakes, and are not afraid to admit it. So what makes McDonald Automotive think that their mechanics are not capable of making a mistake or omission?!? The last sentence of their response is a complete contradiction: "process outlined above would not allow for that scenario". So if I'm reading this correctly...McDonald Group is saying that it's IMPOSSIBLE for their mechanics to make a mistake!!! Wow, must be nice to have such perfect employees!! I manage over 50 employees myself, and I can assure you that every single one of them, including myself, can make mistakes. I'm an understanding person, and as I have communicated to the dealership GM multiple times, I don't blame them for an omission/mistake. If this mistake was made right I would have no hard feelings at all, because I would never be a person who "casts the first stone". What makes this situation unacceptable is the dealer's hard-headed inability to admit this mistake. And as far as "proof" goes...there's the loud rattling noise in my car that was there from day 1. And if they want more proof, there's an inspection by an independent mechanic showing that the entire front suspension needs replacement. When I asked the mechanic if I could have done this damage after I picked up the car (as McDonald has tried to claim once) his response was "yes, if you drove 60,000 miles". My stance in this case has been clear and consistent from the beginning, so here it is again: an omission/mistake was made and McDonald Group is not taking responsibility for it, because they claim that their reconditioning department is perfect. It's absolutely unreasonable, arrogant and downright disgusting for a dealer to make such a false claim! One more thing I'd like to address: yes an extended service contract was offered to a cost of over $5000 per year!! I will not go into details, but as a medical professional I rely on studies and data to make decisions...and there have been multiple studies showing that these "extended warranties" are not worth the money. Thus, I did not accept it. A bigger point is that an extended service contract is there for repairs that arise AFTER vehicle usage. The problem with my car was there BEFORE I drove it off the lot, thus making the dealer's point about this warranty not applicable. All I wanted was to purchase a vehicle without a $3500 problem, and how I took care of repairs after the fact, was up to me. Unfortunately, I was sold an expensive car in need of repairs. This is not my expectation as a customer, and this type of experience should not be acceptable to a business owner with a shred of decency. Unfortunately, it appears that this is not the case at McDonald. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2014/12/17) */ This is an unfortunate situation. We are sympathetic to Mr. **************'s frustrations however, we feel we have followed our reconditioning guidelines and did our due diligence to assist with a solution. At this ppoint we need to refer back to our As Is statement regarding the purchase of a used vehicle. Consumer Response /* (3000, 30, 2015/01/07) */ Once again the answer from McDonald may constitute a "resolution" to them, but it certainly does not to me. An "unfortunate circumstance" as they have stated would be stepping on gum in a new pair of shoes. Purchasing a vehicle in need of $3500 of repairs is a clear failure on the part of the dealership to fulfill their promise of "quality and reliability" as stated on their website...and a rip-off to me, the consumer. In their response the dealer stated "we feel we have followed our reconditioning guidelines and did our due diligence to assist with a solution". I have 2 major issues with that statement. 1) If you followed your reconditioning guidelines and missed a major repair, then your guidelines need revision, which I as the consumer should not have to suffer the consequences of a failure. The dealer has been very ignorant and conceded throughout this process while insisting that their "process" is basically flawless. I have never heard such a thing in my life. Every business should strive to improve, and not insist that it's perfect when their process fails. This is simply unethical. 2) As far as the dealer doing their "due diligence to assist with a solution"...I'm sorry I must have missed all that! Was that when they kept my car for 3 DAYS to then give me an incorrect diagnosis??? That must have been the due diligence. Or was that the solution...when they tried to earn some repair business for their friends at Stevinson??? As far as solutions go...the only solution I have been offered by McDonald so far is "tough s..t, you have to pay for repairs". That's not a solution...that's a big dealer scamming yet another consumer.

12/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/29/14 I purchased a 2007 Ford Mustang Convertible from ******** Volvo. The purchase price was $13,889.00,government fees were $27.20,D&H $499.50,& total taxes were $575.54,totaling $14,991.24.I asked for the D&H fee of $499.50 to be deducted from the sales price.The dealer was only able to do 1/2 of the D&H at $250.00,& we both agreed & he lowered the Sales Price of the Vehicle to $13,639.00 but then the D&H fee was still calculated back into the final price of the car.This calculation was done on a pre-filled Purchase Agreement.The new retail price was $14,741.54 based on the Purchase Agreement.The Motor Vehicle Sales Agreement had the following costs:$13,639.00-$499.50(D&H)-$834.18(Sales Tax)w/total due:$14,972.68.My complaint is that after making the deal on the original Purchase Agreement,the Used Car manager,******* ***** came back to me & said that his software had made an error in calculations on taxes due. So,I was originally quoted $575.54 in total taxes but ended up paying $834.18 in sales taxes.That is a difference of $259.64.I wasn't thinking straight at the time, but should have asked for that price to be taken down on the cost of the car since it was really the dealerships software program that was not figuring the correct 5.90% sales tax from the county that I reside & the $574.54 was already implied before I was to sign papers.I feel that the dealership was being deceptive in both the D&H cost which was never reduced on paper, only that they reduced the car sales price,& most of all that the sales tax I was originally quoted was not honored and in fact increased on my Motor Vehicle Sales Agreement.I want the $259.64 paid to me.Also, when I purchased the vehicle it had a 6 disk CD changer in it,& when I got the car home, the CD disk changer was not working at all.I called the dealer on 10/9/14 & was told that unless I had a warranty on the car, they could not honor repair.I purchased a car with the impression that everything worked,and the dealer should honor a repair. Product_Or_Service: Purchased Used 2007 Ford Mustang Convertible Order_Number: Stock Item VTXXXXXXX Account_Number: Dealer XXXXX, Custom

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want a refund of $259.64.******** Volvo will also pay for repair of a 6 CD changer at my local Loveland Ford Dealership(***** ********** ***** *********** XXXXX)& will arrange that service directly,with no cost to me.Since the 6 CD changer is integral to the vehicle,I was sold on it's feature from the sales person,& was never told/shown it didn't work,it was implied as operable.I would have not purchased the vehicle had I known the feature was broken.BBB needs to investigate Sales Tax errors.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/11/03) */ After reviewing the file and documents the General Manager **** ****** has agreed to refund Ms. ****** the $259.64 in tax difference. As far as the non-functioning CD player we'd like the opportunity to fix it rather than paying another dealer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/11/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Please see my attached comments from my Word File titled CONSUMER ****** RESPONSE BBB NOV X XXXX. Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/12/17) */ We are sypathetic to Ms. ******'s concern and wish we had the opportuinty to fix the CD player at our facility. We now understand her situation and realize she is unable to bring the vehicle back to the dealership to fix. At this point we are willing to split the cost of the repair. If we could be provided with a copy of the repair invoice we will send Ms. ****** a check for half of the CD player repair. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 37, 2014/12/23) */ I agree with MacDonald Volvo' s decision to pay the tax difference of $259.64. I also agree with MacDonald Volvo to pay 1/2 of the cost of repair of the 6 CD radio unit. I spoke with Mike Ornelas, the parts representative at Loveland Ford, and he and the service department indicated that these units are not sent out for repair but rather the core unit will be removed and replaced for a one time $75.00 labor fee plus the cost of at new unit of $425.00 to replace the defective unit. An appointment will be made next week to make these changes and I will provide the invoice to be paid by Mac Donald Volvo 1/2 of the full receipt. The full cost is approximately $500.00 of which it is decided to be split between myself and the dealership. This cost does not include any tax that may be accessed on the unit, at this writing I am not aware, but this should be considered when all fees are tallied. Thanks - if there are any questions please let me know. *** L ******

12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2010 Mazda CX-7 that I had towed into McDonald Mazda because it would not start on Oct 9th 2014. McDonald Mazda did some testing on my car. The service technician at Mazdaadmitted that he took the safety clip off of the fuel line to do some of the testing. I decided not to have McDonald Mazda do the repair/replace engine that they had recommended. I had my car towed to another shop. The other shop did not repeat the same testing that McDonald Mazda had done. The technician stated that this did not involve touching the fuel line AT ALL. I got my car back from the shop on Friday evening Oct 24th. Then on Sat night Oct 25th, I had just dropped my son and his friends off and then I experienced a fuel line break. The fuel line came apart AS I WAS DRIVING!! I did not realize that this gas smell was coming from my car. I was almost home and there is a gas station around the corner from my house. I thought that the smell was coming from the gas station. When I got out of my car the smell of gasoline was so powerful that I went into the house and called the fire department. The fire department responded and found the serious gasoline leak to be from MY CAR. There was gasoline all over the driveway which the firemen contained with dumping large amounts of cat litter under my car. They told me that I was VERY LUCKY and my car could easily have caught fire or even exploded with the severity of the leak. They told me not to start my car. I then had it towed to the shop where I had my car fixed for it not starting. The technician found that there was a safety clip missing and the fuel line had separated. He was looking into ordering the clip and found that they did not sell the clip separately, so he would have to order a whole new fuel line which is expensive and would take up to 2 weeks. He then started to look around in the vehicle and found the SAFETY CLIP TO THE FUEL LINE in the cupholder of my car!!! He replaced the safety clip and then the car was running normally again.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am appalled at the gross NEGLIGENCE of McDonald Mazda's service department. The technician that worked on my car put my children's lives and my life at risk!!!! That is UNACCEPTABLE!!! I was already upset with McDonald Mazda and planning to take them to court for professional malpractice about misdiagnosing the engine problem...(see BBBcomplaint # XXXXXXXX). These safety ESSENTIALS need to be addressed by their servicing department IMMEDIATELY. I will be taking McDonald Mazda to court.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/12/17) */ We are so sorry to read this complaint and know this happened to Ms. *****. Clearly it is never our intention to have this type of situation associated with our business. We are unclear of what outcome Ms. ***** would like but would invite her to speak with someone in our upper management team who would be able to help with a mutaul resolution. Please contact me and I would be more than happy to set up a meeting. Sincerely, ****** *********

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertised two extended warranty packages provided by Mazda and gave me different ones with less coverage by different companies. When I bought my car on Dec. 31, the finance manager showed me a little sheet of paper with all of the extended service packages. All of the options had little blurbs written about them. I told them I wanted the Appearance Package that supposedly covered scratches, dings, dents, interior rips and tears, wheel scuffs and scrapes, and my key fob. I also bought a Tire and Wheel Package that was supposed to cover road hazards, vandalism, and curb checks. There were some scratches on the car when I first got it. They were supposed to be repaired when I brought it in to have the tint and clear mask done, but they weren't. I figured that it was no big deal because I could just have them fixed with my package I bought. However, in the five pages of the contract I didn't read because the finance manager was pressuring me to hurry up so he could leave and assuring me that he was treating me just like family because I'm also in the business, it says that NONE of that stuff is covered except road hazard by Fidelity and paintless dent repair by PermaPlate. He didn't give me Mazda's Appearance Package nor their Wheel and Tire protection package like he showed me and like I asked for. He gave me some ******** 3rd party hack plans that cover less and cost just as much. That's bait and switch. However, I missed all of this because I spent the last 3 weeks resigning the purchase contract because their finance manager bungled the payment due date and the term of the lease. When I resigned on Jan. 28th, they said I had to use the original purchase date of Dec. 30th (which was one day off anyway). And because it has been over 30 days according to the original purchase date, I have to pay $50 to cancel the policy and attempt to get the scratches that were on the car when I bought it fixed now. Also, I have two policies I didn't want by companies I didn't want.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund on the PermaPlate Paintless Dent and Ding policy and the Fidelity Road Hazard policy and I want Mazda's Appearance Package and Tire and Wheel Package that was outlined in my buying options.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ Ms. ********* Thank you for reaching out to me. As I understand from our General Manager ***** ********** Tuesday evening and we got your concerns resolved. If there is anything additional we can do for you don't hesitate to contact me. Regards, ** ******** Fixed Operations Director

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McDonald Volvo Mazda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)