BBB Accredited Business since

McDonald Volkswagen Audi

Phone: (303) 795-1100 6000 S Broadway, Littleton, CO 80121 http://www.mcdonaldag.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McDonald Volkswagen Audi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McDonald Volkswagen Audi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on McDonald Volkswagen Audi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas McDonald, President Ms. Brooke Lasenbery, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Brooke Lasenbery, Controller
Principal: Mr. Douglas McDonald, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
McDonald Automotive Group
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McDonald Volkswagen Audi has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last November, ******** ********* ****** crushed my vehicle with a garage door and now refuses to refund pre-paid maintenance program costs On November 10th, 2014, my vehicle (Audi Q5 2014) was crushed by a garage door while ******** ********* ****** was performing body work on the car. After long and painful negotiation process, ******** Sales and I agreed on the price for the vehicle (and vehicle ONLY). However, I bought some bundles with the car and McDonald Audi refuses to refund those costs. I was given 2 choices: I drive a vehicle with the diminished value ($10000 worth of damages were repaired) or I upgrade to the new, 2015 model for $6000 more - neither of those choices I consider acceptable. McDonald Auto Group still owes me $800 (pro-rated amount of the maintenance care package that was bought for $860)

Desired Settlement: I was given 2 choices: I drive a vehicle with the diminished value ($10000 worth of damages were repaired) or I upgrade to the new, 2015 model for $6000 more - neither of those choices I consider acceptable. McDonald Auto Group still owes me $800 (pro-rated amount of the maintenance care package that was bought for $860)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/23) */ Unlike other service contracts or maintenance programs **** **** *********** is non-cancellable due to the fact it follows the car not the consumer. We were aware of this and informed *** ****** as well. When we appraised his vehicle we took this into consideration and increase the trade ACV to be fair. We also offered to add **** **** *********** to a new **** free of charge to him if he chose to purchase a new ***** Unfortunately *** ****** elected to purchase a ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Maintenance contract was never a part of the negotiated price and it was supposed to be "worked out " later (per a conversation with *** ****** after the negotiation). The only 2 things that were included the vehicle appraised value were perma-plate and window tint. Per the attached file (part of the dealers's invoice) - the base price of the vehicle was $39500, and, after all the extras, I paid $41500. *** ****** and *** ******** gave me $33000 for the trade. Plus 9000 miles I put on the car translated to $5500 of the depreciation value (calculated during the negotiation), which bring the total to $38500. So, I ended up losing $3000 on this "deal", not to mention the time and effort I spent fighting this nonsense. Out of this $3000, I'm asking the dealership to cover a pro-rated maintenance contract, which amounts to $800 - I believe it's more than reasonable. "...and increase the trade ACV to be fair" - the word "fair" should not be in McDonald's Audi vocabulary. During the negotiation, ******* ********, the owner, actually uttered and I quote: "Life is just not fair". Great business motto! "...if he chose to purchase a new Audi..." - to choose that option, I would have had to pay additional $6000. Again, the choices were I either drive a refurbished vehicle or upgrade for a substantial amount of money. No good or "fair" deals there. This complaint is NOT resolved until McDonald Audi pays the amount owed.

9/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a vehicle with a known broken rear hatch. I purchased a vehicle from Mcdonald through my insurance company **** via their car buying service. They communicated with me well prior to purchasing the vehicle. Stating the vehicle was in 'MINT' condition. I had them send me pictures. I decided since this was an authorized dealer through **** to make the trek from ********* to ****** which is 758 miles. When we arrived on July 21, 2015, we went straight to the dealer. I noticed them playing with the rear hatch, trying to figure out why it would not work properly. When I asked about the rear hatch when inspecting the car, they tried their best to look away from it and not own up to the issue. I asked them to repair it and they said they would not claiming they are loosing money on the car already. They claimed it was the hydraulic system and would cost $1500+ to repair without even looking at the vehicle. I told them the hydraulic system seems to be working but the hatch is sagging so much I cannot even get into the trunk, so it must be something else that holds up the hatch (i.e, Hatch struts, springs), I had to haggle with them to repair it, they refused. They offered a measly $200 for it. Of course I said fine...for now. I just drove 760 miles for this vehicle. Overall the car was what I wanted and I opted to take it and have it inspected by another dealer. I had the vehicle inspected at VW in my own town, they stated that the rear hatch ball pin had sheered off completely and was broken, therefore the rear hatch is not functional at all. This was not a wear and tear item but a complete failure of the body work on the vehicle. I found out the part for this failure is roughly $9.50 plus labor or around $1200 (8hrs of labor according to labor book from VW) The vehicle has been documented going through an inspection prior to sale of the vehicle (I have documents). There was no documentation stating the rear hatch was broken, even though the sales staff admitted it was broken and the service dept. stated the same thing. What they wanted from me was to sign all the paperwork so they have no more liability for the vehicle. I believe they have a ethical obligation here to repair the hatch that was clearly broken upon my purchase of the car. I was not aware of the severity of the issue until I had it inspected at my VW dealer. Again this was not a simple wear and tear issue but a failure of the metal work on the vehicle. This repair should have been done prior to purchase and or documented prior to purchase in order for myself to have made an informed/agreement with the sales person on a lower purchase price to cover this issue. I have emailed the General manager and another manger several times with no response. This dealer has ignored my requests ever since I purchased the vehicle which is a clear sign of how I believe them to operate and their knowledge of the issue. It is clear that all they wanted to do was get rid of the vehicle and make a profit, then leaving me to pay for the KNOWN damaged rear hatch.

Desired Settlement: They are to repair the rear hatch at my local VW dealer minus -$200 they allot for the repair which is not even close to what it would cost. I will not take an other settlement! They can set it up dealer to dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/08/28) */ Our VW General Manager is reaching out to the customer to arrange repairing the customer's vehicle. We should be able to achieve the customer's desired resolution. Thank you.

5/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership agreed to refund me $20.00 +tax for a service coupon that they initially told us we could use, but later refused to apply to coupon. I brought my car into the ******** ********** ********* ****** for repair after an accident, as part of that repair the car needed to have new tires, for this the Collision Center brought my vehicle over to the McDonald VW Dealership. Of note, the dealership had a price matching policy on new tires (matching another dealership's price for the same tires) which we were taking advantage of. The dealership called to let us know that the car was also due for an oil change and wanted to know if we wanted to have this done at the same time. We informed them that we would, and told them that we wanted to use the oil change coupon that was on their website, where we were informed that that would be fine, that we just needed to supply the coupon. The car was actually brought to, and picked up, from the dealership by the ********* ****** personnel, and the dealership applied the charge to the collision repair bill as opposed to having me pay them directly. When I picked up my car at the ********* ****** I noticed that the coupon was not applied for the Oil Change, the personnel there said that they could not adjust it because the work was performed by the dealership, so I should contact them directly and that they should take care of it without a problem. When I contacted the service advisor at the dealership who oversaw the repair, I was told that they did not apply the coupon because it was not present when the work was done (we did not have the chance to supply it as the car was brought to them by the ********* ******* but even with that, it was their own coupon, on their own website, that they could have printed themselves if needed!) and also because they do not allow 2 promotions to be done at the same time (if they would have told us this initially, we could have waited on the oil change, and had it done at a later date, separate from having the new tires installed). I argued these points, including stating that both their coupon did not call this situation out, AND that the person that we spoke to prior to the work being done told us that we could use the coupon! After some back and forth with the Dealership, they agreed to refund me the $20.00 +tax for the coupon. But it has now been a couple weeks since this agreement, and I have now sent a couple emails to the Service Advisor and Service Manger to check on the status of my refund that have gone unanswered. This has now been going on since April 9th, and I still do not have my refund!

Desired Settlement: $20.00 +tax as was agreed to

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ Our General Manager **** ****** spoke with *** ***** and from my understanding they came to an agreement. We apologize for the mis-communication between our two campuses and have issued *** ***** a check for $25.00 for the coupon that was not applied at the time of service. We hope this is a satisfactory solution. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/05/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received a call from the McDonald VW GM apologizing for the situation, and he made sure that I received (and I did receive it today) the refund that they had previously committed to sending me.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusal to refund the full amount of an extended warranty. I purchased an extended service warranty when I converted my lease into a purchase. I was told by the finance manager that in the event I never used the extended warranty, I would receive a full refund. My car was totaled by someone running a red light and went into the dealership to get my refund. I was told, not a problem, you will get your money back. However I received a partial amount and have the e-mail exchanges showing that no one is willing to take ownership and follow through on what was promised. These emails when on for months with no resolution and I have tried to contact the GM via email and he refuses to respond. I have retained a copy of all e-mail exchanges.

Desired Settlement: I want the money missing from the refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/29) */ General Manager **** ****** wrote: I have read the consumers complaint. The consumer is correct that he purchased a money back guarantee when purchasing the warranty. The stipulation of the money back guarantee, which he was provided, states that the customer must keep the vehicle for the duration of the extended warranty. The extended warranty did not expire until 11/12/2017. The consumer does get a pro-rated amount back, not a full refund. Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2014/10/17) */ ***Document Attached*** The car was totaled, therefore we were unable to keep the car. I have enclosed the email exchange between the dealership showing their inability to maintain the promises of the original contract. I have included all my emails with the dealership to include the GM who never responded. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/11/03) */ I have read the complaint. As the initial response says, ****** did purchase a money back guarantee on the extended warranty but certain factors need to be in place for that to happen. A vehicle that is totaled with an abbreviated amount of time or miles still left on the extended warranty does not constitute a full refund. He did qualify for a pro-rated amount which was refunded. Thank you. **** ****** General Manager

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales grossly and perhaps fraudulently misrepresented knowledge and condition of used car, avoided and prolonged resolution. Last year I bought a 2005 Audi Allroad advertised on ********** for $15,500. The deal was negotiated by phone and the car trucked to ***** *** NM. Sales told me that it had undergone a thorough and rigorous 200+ point inspection and service and there was nothing wrong with it but a loose piece of interior trim. I asked many specific questions about its mechanical soundness and history and was assured that it was tight and had been well cared for. I made my decision to purchase the car based on these representations and the size and reputation of the dealership, including its BBB rating. Within 50 miles of driving the check-engine light came on. Diagnosis yielded nothing concrete. No work was done but the fault code was reset. After another 50 miles, the light came on again. At this point I wrote to ***** ******* sales manager, and told him what was happening as well as what my thoughts were about the pattern of the car's behavior - i.e., given that the computer was consistently registering fault codes within 50 miles and first did so about 50 miles after I received it, the computer must have been reset either by the dealership itself or immediately prior to delivery to them and that perhaps they had not been vetted the car so carefully as was represented to me. He accused me of making "aggressive assumptions" and told me he'd look into the car's history and get back to me by a specific date. I didn't hear back from him. I found a different mechanic who isolated the problem: the engine air filter was very old and dirty, had shrunk significantly and visibly, and both air and debris were getting past it and causing a sensor to trip. They put in a new filter and the car ran fine for about 300 miles - and then the turbos failed catastrophically. The mechanic's opinion was that the failure was due to damage on the cold air intake side of the turbos, almost certainly caused by the debris entering past the air filter. The turbos had to be replaced along with several other parts associated with that system. It was also clear from the beginning that the air suspension was in the process of failing as the car would lose altitude overnight and the pump was always running, and in short order it did completely - all four shocks, two by two, and then the pump. Required full system replacement. Then the transmission broke. It sheared through one of the stainless steel cogs and left me stranded on the highway. It had to be fully torn apart to find the break and then rebuilt. And along the way there were issues with the power steering, a shimmy in the front end, etc. In short, there's almost nothing significant on the car that hasn't had to be worked on or replaced. Many of these issues would have been apparent on the most cursory inspection at the time of sale, certainly the air filter. This means that the inspection that I was told was done was either not done, or critical information was suppressed or ignored or not shared across departments. I was either lied to or failed by an incompetent or fraudulent system. And my "aggressive assumptions" have been proved out in spades. I spent over $12,000 in one year just to keep the car on the road, and it's been in the shop over a month over 6 visits. After all these repairs had been made I contacted Mr. ****** again and told him the full story. He confirmed my assumption that any inspection should have included the air filter. On the question of why it was not inspected and/or replaced and of the other problems he had no opinion but promised again to look into it. He said that while I had bought the car "as-is" and the dealership had no legal obligations to me, he thought that there certainly was a moral obligation to make amends. He promised to get back to me within two days. Again there was no further contact. I have called, left messages, sent email, and consistently been ignored.

Desired Settlement: While I have spent almost $29,000 for a car worth about $15,000 at retail, I like it nonetheless and don't expect a full refund would be possible without a legal battle. Therefore, my request is for a $6200 refund - the price McDonald Audi quoted for turbo replacement alone and about half of my repair costs. I would also like a plausible explanation for how this all happened and assurances from McDonald Audi that their internet sales will be done with integrity and that I don't have to waste my time warning others online about the risks of buying a car this way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Dear Mr. *******, Thank you for taking the time to reach out to use through the BBB. Let me start by apologizing for our GMs decision to not get back to with regard to your request without you having to take this time to write to the BBB. From talking to him he was a little overwhelmed by a request for $6,200.00 on a car that was sold As-Is but we can all agree that doesn't excuse no response. To address your concern with regard to the check engine light. This was not something that was not on and never appeared while we were in possession of the car. While we only drove the car about 10 miles as part of our reconditioning process, we did not experience the same problem you did. It ultimately passed our inspection process. I would also like to point out we sold the car As-Is and did offer you the option to buy an extended warranty on this car. This, as well as all used cars, has some unknowns and we offer these warranties to prevent the exact type of expenditure you experienced. I also want to assure you we had no advance knowledge of any of these repairs including the check engine light and that many of the items you paid for would have been covered. With all of that being said, we still are willing to offer you a $1,000.00 if, after you have a chance to reflect on the experience, you feel treats you fair. We sure don't feel there is a legal obligation but do want to try to make a reasonable offer as a goodwill gesture since this is not the kind of expenditure any of us hope for in the purchase of a used vehicle. If you agree and decide this is fair, drop me a note letting me know you concur, and I will expedite a check to you. Regards, ** ******** Fixed Operations Director Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2014/08/18) */ Consumer filed duplicate complaint: Case# XXXXXXXX Consumer: *******, ***** After reaching a verbal settlement agreement, GM ***** ****** has not followed through on his commitment and again not returned my calls or emails. Further to BBB case #XXXXXXXX, and after again being dropped by the person assigned to the settlement, I reached GM ***** ****** by phone on June 30, 2014. My original claim was for $6,000, having spent about $12,000 to repair a car that was represented to be in pristine condition with no known issues - in spite of there being clear evidence to the contrary upon delivery, and I agreed to settle for $3,000 to have this done and avoid legal action. Mr. ****** agreed to cut me a check and I immediately sent an email to him with my contact data. Since then, I have emailed and left voice messages several times. I have received no check and no communication. Given this ongoing aggravation and disrespect, I request the settlement amount be increased from the agreed $3,000 to $4,000 - still only one third of my out-of-pocket expenses. Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/08/26) */ A check for $3,000 was issued 8/25/2014 and will be sent in the mail 8/27/2014. Thank you. Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If a check was indeed sent on 8/27, it would have arrived by now. To date, nothing has been received. Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2014/09/09) */ We mailed the check to: *** ***** ** ******* ***** *** ** XXXXX-XXXX. It was returned to the dealership postmarked 9/4/2014 "Attempted Not Known, Unable to Forward". Can I get an updated address to resend? Consumer Response /* (4200, 21, 2014/09/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As emailed three times in the last months: ***** ******* **** ***** del ***** ***** *** ** XXXXX (XXX) XXX-XXXX Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/10/14) */ The check was sent and clreared our account on September 15, 2014. If needed I can sedn a copy of the cancelled check. Let me know if any additional information is needed. Thanks, Consumer Response /* (4200, 28, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In my original complaint I asked for $6,000. In my follow-up complaint I asked for $4,000. The check I received was for $3,000. I will accept this matter as resolved when I receive the final $1,000. Also, receipt of the final $1,000 will give me the satisfaction that at present I feel only a campaign of negative online reviews and blog posts will provide.

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle taken in for an alignment & tire mounting. Next day, car's traction control light illuminated and remained on. Dealer refused responsibility. On Saturday September 6th, 2014, I brought my vehicle (2006 Audi A3), to have an alignment and new tires mounted (Invoice #XXXXXX $232.47). After taking the vehicle home, I started the vehicle the next day (Sunday, September 7th) to find the ESP Off annunciator illuminated. The vehicle has never had this problem since I have owned the car. Additionally, since I have owned the car I have always brought the car into McDonald Audi for service. The car was taken back to the dealership on the next business day (Monday, September 8th) and I was notified that it would cost over $2,000 in parts and labor to fix the issue. The dealership suspects that there is a problem with either the control unit for the rear differential (Haldex) or its pump (no definitive determination). This is when the dispute relating to what party caused the malfunction began. The service department immediately refused to take responsibility for the issue and wrote off the malfunction as coincidental despite the fact the issue occurred less than 12 hours after their work on the vehicle and the interconnected systems. I believe that most individuals when faced with the same scenario would find it to be highly improbable. This is the second time this type of situation has occurred with this dealership. The vehicle was brought in on January 20th, 2014 to the dealership for a fluid change on the rear differential (Haldex)(Invoice #XXXXXX $177.69). Three (3) days later while on vacation the vehicle's AIR BAG light illuminated indicating it was an error with the system and the air bags would not deploy in the event of a collision. When the vehicle was brought in to investigate, I was told that it could cost several thousand dollars to correct the problem. After requesting for additional information about the issue and what would need to be done, the group updated the software and the problem went away (Invoice #XXXXXX $217.49). I am beginning to wonder if there is a connection between the service this dealership is performing and the new issues that are appearing. My trust has been shattered with this group and I feel that my treatment during the ordeal has been unacceptable. All attempts to reach the general manager, service manager and ownership have been ignored despite multiple calls, emails and voice messages.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to pay a qualified third party repair facility no less than 50% of the cost to correct the issue that they have created.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/10/30) */ To whom it my concern: Mr. **********'s A3 was serviced on repair order XXXXXX; also, we did install the customers provided tires and performed an alignment on his vehicle per his request. Both services where performed correctly and neither service will affect or interfere with the vehicle ESP differential system. The failure to Mr. **********'s rear differential is an internal failure contained inside the rear differential unit that was not touched for either service. Neither requested service requires any part of the differential to be worked on, adjusted or moved during tire install or an alignment to be performed. I will agree to have a mutually agreed upon third party Audi Dealership with a current factory Audi certified technician inspect and diagnose the ESP concern and identify conclusively what caused the issue to Mr. **********'s vehicle. We're unable to understand how the installation of tires and a toe set alignment would have caused the damage. Sincerely, ***** ****** Service Manager

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: vehicle misrepresented as accident free, no repairs performed. On 5/15/2014 **** ******* sales associate for McDonald VW on 6000 S. Broadway sold me, ***** *****, a 2011 Honda Civic Ex with 46596 miles. The agreed sale price was $13,912.00 and was predicated by the vehicle being accident free per Carfax. The vehicle was financed based on McDonald VW vehicle inspection report and its use of the Carfax report in stating the vehicle condition. The Carfax was used to suggest no repairs had been performed or were required by McDonald VW on the vehicle. The multi point vehicle inspection that the vehicle passed was used to verify the vehicle condition was truthful as stated. On 6/16/2014 at 47,875 miles, it was revealed by CarMax on **** S ******** that the hood and front fender of the vehicle had recently been repainted and there was excessive play in the steering wheel which was not normal and possibly indicative of a dangerous condition of tie rod ends which would have taken many months to become loose. All information provided by McDonald VW to me was used to value the vehicle in its highest state possible. These checks and inspections would have revealed these issues to the trained McDonald VW auto industry professionals, but that information was concealed and not shared at any time and the negotiations were based on misrepresented or incomplete information. I seek compensation for the difference in value from stated and real condition.

Desired Settlement: Requesting refunded value for difference in actual appraisal value of car with repaired hood and fender panels from value of vehicle in original unrepaired condition as was the vehicles represented condition by dealer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/07/23) */ McDonald Automotive takes complaints like this very seriously. We are a family owned and have been in business for over Fifty years. All of the used vehicles we sell go through an extensive vehicle check. Our first priority being safety. Items such as tires, brakes are all brought up to a high standard. Much like the consumers we sell to, we also look at the Carfax as a reliable source of information. The vehicle mentioned in the complaint does not reveal any damage in the Carfax. Additionally, we did not perform any body work on the car other than minor ding repair. If it is the concern of the customer that there is extensive play in the steering we are willing to look at the vehicle and make any adjustments needed. Thank you. **** ****** GM Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2014/07/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Mr. ****** does take any threat to McDonald VW reputation and being legally right very seriously. But I've gotten more back turned to me than face time to discuss a possible solution after my mistake. It was my mistake for not taking my time and having the car inspected myself instead of trusting because they are a family business that my father in-law has done business with for 30yrs. So they didn't know the whole front of the car had been replaced? Their inspectors didn't feel the excessive play in the steering making it impossible to track straight on the highway? OK. My mistake and I apologize, they are honest and upstanding businessmen, They are just so incompetent I wouldn't trust them to inspect or adjust my lawnmower. It was my mistake to walk in their door and pay for their vehicle. I signed the contract. That's the law in Colorado and all that matters. They are not legally required to state any work performed or work that was found to be needed and not performed either, legally. They can legally sell any car in any condition. So the inspections, that are not legal documents at all if they even exist mean nothing, but sound very comforting and assuring. Carfax basically the same hollow document. I get it now. Consumer Response /* (3000, 21, 2014/08/05) */ From: ****** ***** Sent: Tuesday, August 05, XXXX X:XX AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: RE: Help BBB Evaluate its Complaint Resolution Service I accidently checked the resolve box while replying to the dealership's response. Nothing is resolved. Please correct my status to unresolved. McDonaldVW has refused to deal with me after the initial sale. Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/09/05) */ Again, we are sorry for Mr. *****'s frustration with this transaction. We have attached the service history on this car showing we had only seen the car in our dealership when it was traded in and we performed our normal reconditioning. The second attachment is the reconditioning RO, Tech Inspection Report, and the Carfax we ran at the time of reconditioning. This is standard operating procedure becuase we can not catch everyting and do our due diligence to fix any issues we are aware of. The Carfax is detailed to show sale dates, maintenance,registration renewals, even window tint installed. There is nothing about body repair or any type of collision.

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/12/13 we bought a 2001 VW Passat that is defective. Since then they have charged us for repairs & their repairs have caused further damage. 10/12/13 - Purchased vehicle, statements given that the vehicle is in full working order. Same night we turned the heater on & discovered that it didn't work. 10/14/13 - Vehicle taken to McDonalds recon shop for repairs - they repaired the heater coil & heater selector controls. 10/16 or 10/17/13 - The VW was released back to us (paperwork/ documentation for the repairs done was not given). Same day discover that the VW had new damage to the dashboard (cracks) & the ash tray (lid would not close). Dealer stated they would fix it. 10/18/13 - Engine coolant light comes on, we take it to Keller's Automotive in Centennial, CO for 2nd opinion. Keller adds coolant, performs vehicle check & informs us that the serpentine belt is frayed/cracked & needs to be replaced because it is a safety concern. Also inform us that the front axles have worn/missing boots & need replacement. Keller performs these repairs/ replacements at our expense. 10/22/13 - In the AM, notice that the engine isn't responding/ performing & in fact slips out of gear. Only way to get back into gear is to turn the engine off & restart VW. In the afternoon attempt to drive again & the car again slips out of gear. Car is taken to ********* for inspection. They check the engine/ vehicle codes which indicate the transmission needs to be replaced. ****** also notes that there is 1 serviceable crack in the air induction system. McDonald tows vehicle from ********* to the their recon shop. Later that night we go to McDonald VW to complain about the vehicle and the treatment that we have received in person. We speak with ***** salesman, and *** *****, a Sales Manager. *** assures us that the dealership will "make things right" & states that we will be given the option of "unwinding" the deal & starting over with a different used car and/ or we might have the option of getting a brand new car with zero payments for a year. 10/23/13 - McDonald states the transmission needs replaced. They offer to pay 1/2. Finally state they will only charge $1350.00 for our 'half'. Transmission had 200 miles on it from purchase, we state this is unacceptable, McDonalds declines to take accountability for selling a defective vehicle. Dealer offers us around $500 for vehicle because in the words of ****** the Used Car Manager 'Why would I want to purchase a vehicle that doesn't have a working transmission". He goes on to state he won't offer to pay for more than half of the transmission replacement because 'I can't make only $500 on a vehicle". I ask him if he's willing honor the statements made by *** regarding getting us a different used car or getting us a brand new car. ***** cuts me off & states that he is the manager & has the final say and it doesn't matter what *** may have offered to us. As we view that our only option is to have McDonald perform the transmission replacement we allow them to perform the replacement. 10/31/13 - We receive vehicle back from McDonald. Discover the dashboard problems from earlier (cracks, ashtray lid) were not corrected as promised, & note the TripTronic Auto/Manual option is inoperable. This option was on the transmission before it needed to be replaced. 11/1/13 - We take VW to McDonald to check the transmission to find out why the TripTronic option isn't working. 11/4/13 - Receive a call from McDonald, stating they will not fix this part as it is an $600 & takes 4-8 weeks to arrive from Germany. We take the car back into possession, discover that a Zune player has been stolen & within 8 miles from the recon shop, the check engine light comes on. 11/7/13 - Take VW to ****** to review why the check engine light is on. 11/8/13 - ****** finds that damage done by McDonald to air induction system as a result of transmission install. Earlier their mechanic noted that there was 1 crack in the induction system. They now note that system is broken in 2 spots & "fresh, new electrical tape was added to attempt to hide the damage".

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of for the following charges we have incurred since purchasing this vehicle: - $864.52 for the axles & serpentine belt replacement/ repair - $1350 for our charge to replace the transmission - $353.12 to replace the air induction system damaged by the mechanic(s) at McDonald VW. We would also like to have the Zune & the converter cord to link that linked the Zune to the vehicles audio system replaced. These items were in the car when we gave the car to McDonalds for the transmission replacement and were not in the vehicle when we took back possession of the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ Dear Mr. *********, Thank you for taking the time to write. Our records show the car you purchased is a vehicle we call a Value Car. A car that becomes a Value Car is one we feel the miles and/or age are such they used to be auctioned. We now offer these older/higher mileages to the public with additional disclaimers so they know they are not the fully reconditioned or even as thoroughly inspected cars we normally sell. They only go through a safety inspection and that is why we had you signed added disclaimers to make sure you knew what you were buying. In this case we are willing to give you a $500 in-store credit, on top of the repairs we have already performed for you, to help minimize the impact of the failures you have experienced. To take advantage of this credit, please bring a copy of this letter to any of our service departments. They will split the $500 between these two accounts, X-XXXXX X-XXXXX. Please understand we will not continue to participate on the maintenance and repairs for this car going forward. Regards, ** ******** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/12/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not accept bad business practices (selling high mileage used vehicles and only checking minimal systems) as an acceptable response/ defense. While this vehicle was viewed by the dealership as a "value" car, we don't see the value when we paid full used car retail price plus the additional expenses we have incurred since buying this vehicle. It wasn't noted until this last response that your mechanic noted the damage to the air induction system and as such we flat out we don't believe he did. The system was damaged as noted by our mechanic prior to the transmission being replaced. After the replacement by your mechanic it was broken. We do not accept the offer of an in store credit as we will never let your service department work on any of our vehicles again. We will also not be purchasing from your dealership again. Nothing short of the previously listed financial reimbursements will result in us accepting the dealerships BBB resolution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/19) */ Dear Mr. *********, The safety inspection does go as far as making sure the Seat belts are functional, the brakes stop and the transmission moves the car. It does not cover things like AC or even the optional tiptronic portion of the transmission. We just want to make sure these cars we used to action are drivable. The paperwork you signed goes over exactly what was checked to prevent this exact type of confusion after the sale. With regard to work performed, we installed a used transmission. A problem with the tiptronic doesn't imply it is a bad transmission as much of this functionality would be a separate issue. I don't show we have checked it out for this problem and you would be welcome to use part of your $500 credit to have this diagnosed. If it is an external from the transmission as we would expect, you would be responsible for the repair. If it is internal we will work through the wrecking yard/supply company to see what kind of warranty assistance they will provide. The tech who worked on your car did note there were age related cracks in the intake boots and did use tape to minimize the affects of these cracks. Part of the intention of offering you the credit was to help you get these type of things fixed. With regard to the MP3 player, after looking to see the range on them both new and used, I am happy to give you a separate check for $50.00 to cover the value of the item if you agree it is fair. We don't know what will fail on a high mileage older car and that is why we gave you numerous disclaimers. We can't cover failures after you take delivery on these type of cars and have already spent a good some of money to assist you. Even these offers are contingent on us winning the denial on the credit card payment for the $1350 so we don't have to exercise the mechanic's lean we have on your car. Regards, ** ******** Fixed Operations Director

10/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McDonald Audi on September 16th put a hold on my credit card of $5000 for a vehicle that they did not secure. Now won't return calls or my $5000. On September 6th 2013 ********************** working at McDonald Audi said she would source a vehicle for me from another dealership. In order to do so I was told I needed to do a credit app and a $5000 hold would be put on my card. Instead of a hold, they charged me $5000 on my credit card and then informed me the vehicle in question had been sold. I asked for my money back. She said she would get back to me, she never did. I also spoke to **** in finance department who said he would check with Stefanie and would get back to me, he never did. I've made over a dozen calls just to get voicemails or told something had to be verified. My voicemails have gone unreturned. I've since disputed the charge with Bank of America.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $5000 returned as soon as possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/30) */ Dear Mr. *************, Thank you for taking the time to write. From what I have learned it sounds like the refund had been made to you by the time we got your letter. I apologize my staff was not more thorough explaining the procedure, but, normally it takes a handful of business days to get a refund process through our Accounting Office. I am sorry to hear we weren't able to get the exact Audi you wanted in a timetable that would work for you and would be happy to assist if we ever can again. Regards, *********** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on McDonald Volkswagen Audi
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart