BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 6500 S Broadway

    Littleton, CO 80121 (303) 795-1100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a **** ****** from this dealership and paid a dealer and handling fee in 2012. They charged me the same fee when I purchased the car. THis is the email I sent twice to *** ******** the GM of ********. Hi ***, I've been speaking to *** regarding the purchase of the ****** I leased from you in 2012. *** is being firm in the stance that the dealer/handling fee of $599 can not be waived. I am quite upset with that since this is the first I have heard of that fee. It was my understanding both from the contract and my conversation with the salesman that at the end of the lease I could purchase the car for the agreed fee of $17,646. I read my contract quite closely and as you can see from the attached picture the of the contract it states that "You have an option to purchase the vehicle at the end of the lease term for 17,646.90 and a purchase option fee of $ N/A. The purchase option price does not include official fees such as taxes, tags, licenses and registration. " No where in the contract is a second dealer and handling fee disclosed. I paid one in 2012 and was fine with that, but 2012 was the time to disclose a second fee - not now. I couldn't find ******** **** but this link from ** encourages me to believe I would have a strong case in small claims court if you do chose to collect this fee. **********************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: Refund of the second Dealer and Handling fee.

12/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They lost the paperwork, I had to go back to sign more papers. Then was told they needed to charge $742 more for taxes. I purchased a 2014 Hyundai Elantra from salesperson ******* ****** on March 27, 2015. I informed her that with my trade-in leased vehicle, I would not be putting any money down and that I wasn't interested in trading in the leased vehicle otherwise. She informed me that this would not be a problem and was easily workable within the dealership's parameters. On that day I left with the Elantra and a temp tag until the DMV received the appropriate paperwork from the dealership. On April 9, 2015 I received a call from Rune Nielson stating that the finance person who originally drew up the paperwork quit the next day (March 28, 2015) and had done the paperwork wrong. Rune asked me to go back and re-sign the paperwork with the same information and the same pricing, but a different finance company (Public Service Credit Union as the new option). After I signed the new papers on April 9, 2015, I left again with the car and a concern that my temp tags may expire before the dealership could file the paperwork with the DMV. I did not hear anything from the dealership or the DMV, so on May 25, I went to the DMV to get my new license plates, hoping that the DMV had just forgotten to send out the fee card. The DMV told me that they had received the dealer paperwork but had to return it to McDonald Hyundai because there were errors on it- they did not specify what the problem was but said that I needed to contact McDonald Hyundai. In the meantime, they gave me another temp tag for my car, with an extended expiration date of July 24, 2015. On May 25th as well, I called Rune Nielson at the dealership and he said that I needed to bring a check for $742 by that afternoon because the taxes were incorrect on the sales paperwork. I told him that I bought this car with the agreement that there was zero money down and that I did not have the money. He said that he would check with the general manager and get back to me. I have not heard from him since- It is now July 27th, 2015. A week later, I left a message for Rune to see if he had gotten a resolution with the general manager, but did not receive a return call. On July 9th, I called and asked for any other finance person to try to help me get my car and tax issues resolved. I was routed to Brad Long, who said he had just started a few months previous and would have to check into it and call me back. I never received a call back from him either. In the two and a half weeks since, I have left messages for Brad and the general manager **** ********* with no return calls. It's important to note that in the 2 and 1/2 week time frame of receiving no return calls from any member of management to help resolve this issue, tragedy struck my family. My husband of 40 years passed **** suddenly at the age of 75 on Saturday July 18, 2015. Needless to say, I dread having added stress in my life during this painful grieving process. I just want to be able to drive my new car so I can attend to family and funeral arrangements for my dear husband. On Saturday July 25th, I received a call from the used car manager **** *******, stating that I had to pay the $742 to get my account current and to be able to get license plates. I told him that I had talked to Brad and Rune and that I had told them I could not pay any money down, just like we had originally agreed on. I called the DMV today, July 27th, because I hadn't gotten any calls back to resolve the issue. They of course did not have the paperwork, but referred me to the Colorado Dealer Board for filing a complaint. I have since left a message for the dealer board, as well. I have called every person I've spoken to before at McDonald Hyundai today, trying to find someone who deals with customer service issues instead of just the bottom line dollar. I was told by Alan that they didn't make as much money on my trade as they anticipated, so they cold not afford to take a larger loss. In the meantime, my car is stuck in my garage with expired temp tags.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to get my car licensed with no money down. I am sorry that they didn't make any money on the deal, but I was honest with my needs up-front and was told categorically that this would not be an issue. I don't want to keep having to call the dealership, begging them to help resolve this issue, without ever even receiving return calls. After just losing my husband, this is adding a tremendous amount of stress and frustration to my already grief-stricken life. I would like someone in the organization to make this right, or I would like to return the car. I would never recommend this company to anyone I know of course, because this is not even the first time I've had an issue there. Back in 2003, I bought a 4 wheel drive advertised ***** ** brand new that I LOVED, only to find out the next day in that it was 2 wheel drive and that if I wanted the 4 wheel drive, I'd have to pay even more money. Keep in mind, the ***** ** I bought was advertised in the paper as 4 wheel drive at that price. I ended up with a totally different color that I didn't love, and $1700 more in the hole just to have a 4 wheel drive **** Obviously, after giving this dealership a second chance and being yet again disappointed, I am not interested in doing business with McDonald Hyundai again. I do, however, hope that they choose to make this right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2015/08/25) */ When a consumer trades in a vehicle that is being leased we are unable to grant the customer tax credit on the transaction. This is not a McDonald policy but a tax rule. Unfortunately our team misinformed *** ***** and as a result we had to recontract the deal to include taxes. Without the taxes included in the transaction the county clerk's office will not process the title transfer and issue license plates for the vehicle. We are sorry for the misunderstanding but when it comes to taxes there is not much we can do other than collect the taxes that are due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) McDonald Hyundai never RECONTRACTED the deal, the papers were done exactly the same on both March 27th and on April 9, by 2 different finance people. The exception is that on April 9, the wrong finance company was written in, making the contract even more invalid. I Have signed both sets, neither of which mention me paying any money down (tax or otherwise). Their fault and their mistake is not something that I should be held liable for. An agreement of "No Money Down" doesn't mean "some money down," or "some money down if we mess the paperwork up." It is simple business practice and unacceptable to go back against a signed deal. If they need to take the tax money out of the sale price to send to the clerk's office, then they should do that. I should not be penalized for someone's incompetence in McDonald Hyundai's employ. Customer service dictates that this dealership make this issue right, and I don't accept "sorry but we messed up and now you'll pay" as a valid reasoning. Also, keep in mind that they messed up my paperwork on a car back in 2003. I have bought several cars from other dealerships in the meantime, but decided to give McDonald Hyundai a chance to fix the previous issue after a friend of mine had a good experience with ******* at McDonald Hyundai. Also, my husband passed **** a little more than a month ago, so now I am dealing with not having a car to drive, while also handling the affairs of a recently deceased spouse. I'd appreciate a little compassion *** customer service during this deeply devastating and difficult period of my life. Final Business Response /* (4000, 47, 2015/12/07) */ I am sorry this transaction was all but smooth for Ms. *****. After working with the Dealer Board and Ms. ***** we were able to make arrangements with her credit union to internally handle the tax issue. Once the process with the credit union was complete we were finally able to forward the appropriate tax monies to the county clerk's office allowing Ms. ***** to get her plates. The dealer board notified us that the conclusion of the case was we "may have violated C.R.S. XX-X-XXX Initial registration of a motor vehicle - dealer responsibility to timely forward certificate of title to purchaser or holder of a chattel mortgage." No disciplinary action was taken. Basically, due to the impasse ** the tax issue it took too long to complete the transfer of title. Again, I am sorry this transaction unfolded in the manner it had. Once the issue was brought to my attention I did everything to handle the situation timely. There were warning signs early in the process that should have slowed down the transaction and restructured in a new direction. Unfortunately that did not happen on either side. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 50, 2015/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Honestly, this dealership STILL isn't taking responsibility for their choices, their lack of communication, their poor leadership and training of staff leading to this situation, their stale customer service, and their inability to even bother with me until I involved the dealer board. I do not accept that they "may have been in violation of" some code. They deserve a negative rating and commentary on the BBB website and I will not accept their haphazard negotiation that because the credit union and dealer board got involved, I am now able to drive my car. That is not good enough and consumers should be informed.The dealership literally fixed NOTHING in this case and it absolutely should be documented and available to the public.

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McDonald Hyundai not honoring sales agreement. Multiple harassing phone calls to my pregnant wife. Attempting to extort us. We purchased a **** ******* ***** ** ******* from McDonald Hyundai on July 15, 2015. We spent over four hours at the dealership finalizing numbers and checking accuracy, ultimately leaving with our new car after 10 pm. The last week of July/first week of August, my pregnant wife started receiving phone calls from one of the salesmen indicating that we had not paid for a clear bra, and that we owed the dealer $500. Of course, because we spent over 4 hours finalizing the deal, during which the clear bra was discussed at length, the price was certainly included in the sales price and we do not owe this amount to the dealer. The frequency of the phone calls to my wife started increasing to the point that she became very stressed out, so I decided to call the dealer myself. I called a salesman, **** ****** and left a message on Friday, August 7, 2015. When he called me back the same day, we discussed the issue. **** ****** ignoring the fact that we have a signed purchase agreement for the car, said that we owed this additional $500. He went on to say that McDonald Hyundai would not release the title and registration paperwork until we paid this amount, preventing us from properly registering our car with the ******** **** In short, McDonald Hyundai is ignoring a purchase agreement (contract) signed by their representatives, and us, and attempting to extort $500 from us by threatening to prevent us from registering our vehicle. My wife and I were excited to upgrade to a larger car as we are expecting our first child. This is a big purchase for us, and marks a milestone in our lives together. Our experience with McDonald Hyundai has completely tarnished this moment for us. Attempting to shake us down for $500 for an option that we definitely paid for is dishonest and unprofessional. Ignoring a signed purchase agreement is dishonest and unprofessional. Harassing a pregnant woman is unprofessional and dishonorable. The attempt to extort us by threatening to prevent us from registering our car is certainly dishonest and unprofessional, and possibly illegal as well in light of the fact that we have a signed purchase agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to register our car, which we legally purchased and for which we have a purchase agreement signed by both parties. I also want written letters of apology to my wife from the salesmen who gave her grief for bothering her during what is already a stressful time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/28) */ McDonald Hyundai is honoring it's Sales Agreement and will no longer try to collect for the clear mask. I was informed the clear mask was a verbal agreement and added after the Sales Agreement was signed. In good faith McDonald Hyundai installed the clear mask with the understanding they would be paid once installed. It now appears this was not the case. As far as the title papers being completed and forwarded to the county, this process was completed on 8/6. The consumer is able to go to Denver County at any time and register their vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/08/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not an acceptable response. The version of events provided by ******** Hyundai is demonstrably false, and implies that we are liars and deadbeats. We purchased the car with the clear bra already installed on it, and paid for the clear bra at the time of purchase. It was installed before we signed and finalized all of the purchase paperwork. In fact, our trip to the dealership to purchase this car was conditional on the clear bra being already installed since McDonald Hyundai is not convenient for us to travel to. Also, the clear bra came up in conversation multiple times with the sales staff during our over 4 hours at McDonald Hyundai before the final contract was signed. As to McDonald Hyundai's reference of a 'verbal agreement' made after the purchase, this is completely false. The addition of the clear bra was discussed with McDonald Hyundai salesman **** ***** over email prior to the purchase of our car. On Tuesday, July 14, **** ***** wrote: "I will have the clear mask done for you. 6:30 Wednesday pickup time will be just fine." The next day, Wednesday, July 15, we purchased the car with the clear mask already installed as was discussed in the emails, which we can provide to the BBB. As mentioned in my original complaint, I spoke on the phone with salesman **** ***** on Friday, August 7, after he and a colleague had made multiple harassing phone calls to my pregnant wife. During that conversation, he said that McDonald Hyundai would not release the title and registration paperwork until we paid $500 for the clear bra (which we had already paid for), preventing us from properly registering our car with the ******** **** But, in their response to the complaint, McDonald Hyundai indicates that the title papers were completed and forwarded to the county on August 6. This seems to further indicate that my wife and I were targets of a sleazy car salesman shakedown operation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/10/02) */ We apologize *** ****** had a bad experience with our store and experienced such confusion over the clear bra. As stated before no further attempts will be made to collect the $500 and the title papers were never withheld. We have an obligation to submit title papers to the county office within 30 days and we strive to strictly adhere to that obligation. Our sales staff and sales management team will be coached in regards to this.

10/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought this car with the understanding that what was on the service invoice was truly "fixed" as they said. I took it in, 2 wks ago, and no updates. I purchased a **** ***** ****** with 117,306 miles from McDonald Hyundai on August 20th. I was confident at the time that I had bought a good working car as they showed me the Inspection Check Sheet and the Service Invoice of what they "fixed" prior to placing the car on the lot for sale. However, by the following week, I was ready to take the car back for several reasons: 1) The back door locks would work only when they wanted to, via the key fob and the lock button on the front doors. This is a HUGE problem as the whole reason I wanted to buy a new car was because I am pregnant. I am going to need access via the backdoors for a car seat for my baby. This was also VERY concerning as on the "service ticket" this was notated as being "fixed." 2) A fan/blower motor was on intermittently, then consistently, even when the key wasn't in the ignition. This, again, was listed as "fixed" on the service ticket. When I brought this up to ****** ******* the dealer I had worked with, he stated that the previous owner put in an aftermarket air intake and that was "normal." 3) When going from reverse and into 1st gear, and from 1st gear into 2nd, the car would shift extremely hard, indicating something was going on with the transmission. Now, had ANY of these been present during the test drive, there would have been no way that I would have even considered purchasing this vehicle and putting down $900 cash of my hard earned money. I had contacted ****** ****** that week and was told to bring it in whenever I could. However, the dealership is about an hour away, one way, from where I live and I was unable to take time from work to drive that distance. I advised ****** of my dilemma and that I would have time before work on that following Tuesday, Sept 1st. He said ok, that it shouldn't take that long to look at. I drove to the dealership Sept 1st and had called ******* at 9 indicating when I would arrive. Upon arrival, the service manager, ****** ********** said that he didn't have time to look at it that day, unless I left it there for the whole day. Unfortunately, I did not have the day off and had to drive back home. I called and left a voicemail at 11:00 for ****** indicating that I wasn't able to go back to the dealership that day due to work constraints and what the service manager had said. And that I would also need to secure a ride to take me home from the dealership and to work the following day in order to take the ****** back into the dealership. I dropped off the ****** the following day, Wednesday, September 2nd at 9am. I was told that they would give me a call by Thursday the 3rd and it should be ready. I never received any phone call. I finally called on Saturday, Sept 5th at 2:50 and was advised by the Used Car Service Dept. Manager, ***** ****** that there was a recall on the ignition switch, so they sent it to a ***** ********** to have it taken care of. Mind you, they had not addressed the original concerns as to why I took it there and NO ONE had bothered to call me, the owner, as to what was going on. He stated that he would give me a call on Monday, September 7th to pick it up. Monday came and went with no phone call. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, thinking that they had a lot to work on, I called again Wednesday September 9th at 12:15 and talked to ****** He advised me that the fan sound I was hearing was due to the Actuator and that they were going to fix that. I asked about the locks and the shifting and he said they would look into it the following day and that it should be ready. I never received any phone call. Once again, I called on Friday September 11th at 10am and was unable to get ahold of ***** ****** I left him a message inquiring about the ******* I never received any phone call back. I called Saturday, September 12th at 12:45pm to ****** ****** regarding the ******* I again, never received any phone call back.It is nearly 2 weeks, STILL do not have any updates as to the status.

Desired Settlement: I am done with this dealership. I just want my money back or trade for a different car and be done with this. I NEED a reliable car for my upcoming baby.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/10/02) */ I have been informed by the General Manager *** ********* that he spoke with *** ****** and has agreed to fix the blower fan and door locks. The issue has been addressed and is resolved. Thank you.

2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a used 2013 SantanaFe for full MSRP New price then failed to apply that 34,000.00 price as credit to a new 2015 MSRP 38,500.00 I was recommended to McDonald Hyundai by ******* So when they sold me a used 2013 Santana Fe I did not question the price. Later trying to get insurance for the paid value of the vehicle, 4 companies turned us down as the value was at best 29,000. Speaking to ********* the Credit Union that financed the balance I found I payed full MSRP New price for this used vehicle. A few days later, driving at night in the Front Range, I could not safely see the road. After several trips to several different Hyundai servers dealers, and research via the Internet I found this headlight problem on the 2013 Santana Fe could not be fixed. Less than 500 miles and weeks of repair later I asked them to upgrade to a 2015 model but they would only give a trade value of 32,000.00 not the 34,000.00 price I paid as credit to a new 2015 at MSRP 38,500.00. I went to other Hyundai dealers but was told I was so over charged that I am 3-4,000 upside down that it will now cost me 6-8,000 more to upgrade to get a safer model or I loose more going to a different brand. I have other correspondence and efforts attempting to work this out be for filing this report. I have also filed a report of the headlight safety issues with Hyundai America and safecar.gov. I can provide photos and videos of the problem

Desired Settlement: If McDonald is as honorable as ***, the GM, proclaims he is/they are, stating he did nothing wrong, and ****, Used car manager, is forthright in his claim the price is correct and he can sell all of these models that he can come by then apply my 34,000.00 plus tax and dealer prep that I paid to the "Correct Market Value" of a 2015 like featured Santana Fe Sport. When I refer to "Correct Market Value" it is what the normal person could purchase the model for from other dealer in the area.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/29) */ I have spoken to a Mr. *** ******* in regard to the *** ***** purchase. We discussed the purchase price on a high demand vehicle whether the vehicle is new or pre owned. At the time of our phone conversations, we only had 1 new 2015 Santa Fe turbo ultimate in stock and the 2013 certified pre owned vehicle Mrs. ****** is the same vehicle. We sold the vehicle for $4500 less than the new vehicle MSRP. I offered to give her a trade allowance of $32,000 (plus the tax savings already paid of $1280) for a total of $33,280 which she paid a $34,000 selling price. I explained that we have additional costs associated with the certification fees from the manufacturer in reselling the vehicle so giving her a full purchase value seems to be extensive since I truly believe we have done nothing wrong in the sale of the vehicle. Mr. ******* asked to get the full value as a trade so I said I would help him and add the difference of $720 to the trade or a purchase discount on the new vehicle. He scheduled an appointment to come down and drive a new model for an extended test drive overnight to make sure the headlights (the new 2015 have updated lighting)would be sufficient for Mrs. ****** at which he canceled. I have also given a $1970 saving on the new model which I believe is fair for our bestselling vehicle. All dealers have the right to sell inventory based on what they perceive the market to be whether that value is higher or lower than other dealers. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) From the research and correspondence *** ******* and I have done, there is some miss information, miss direction and missing information in his response. The Problem with the McDonald dealership started when we learned from several insurance companies as well as the financier, ******** Credit Union, we overpaid for the 2013 Hyundai Sport. All acknowledged the 34,000.00 (pulse deliver & tax) we paid for a used vehicle was way over priced. Now It is the Latent Deficiency of the unsafe headlights and McDonald's unwillingness to meet their responsible as a dealer and provide a Fair Market value for a new 2015 comparable vehicle with better headlights and due consideration of the overprice they originally charged. Response to *** ********** the General Manager of McDonald Hyundai, continual stance of "All dealers have the right to sell inventory based on what they perceive the market to be whether that value is higher or lower than other dealers", and similar verbal statements, in my opinion, is a warning to all, that McDonald's is an overpriced dealership and "Buyer Beware" regardless if you are a Costco member or not. Response to "We sold the vehicle for $4500 less than the new vehicle MSRP." ******** Credit Union told me they considered 34,000 as MSRP on a new vehicle of that year, but because I made such a large down payment and my high credit score they approved the loan. They did offer to sell me Gap Insurance to cover the price deficiency between what I owe and the real value of the vehicle because the insurance companies will not cover that loss if totaled. I expect this type of difference on a NEW vehicle but I did not expect it on a Costco recommended Certified Used vehicle. Response to "we only had 1 new 2015 Santa Fe turbo ultimate in stock". In both emails and verbally *** ******* told him that was OK because, we have other vehicles and were willing to wait several weeks for the delivery of the replacement vehicle. The Hyundai was taking up garage space and we wanted to return it ASAP. The Sales Tax miss direction is just that. Of course we would only pay tax on the difference between Trade In and New and should get a tax refund if any. The real problem is again his pricing. At that time he was quoting (38,550.00 - 1,250) or 37,300 for the same vehicle model other dealers we quoting 35-36,000 before incentives. The Trade Allowance was down to only 30,000.00 for a vehicle we had possession of for 30 days, less than 500 miles and could not drive at night. Later he revised the Trade Allowance to 32,000 but did not lower the Selling price, still at full MSRP of 38,550.00. Again, I am just asking for the 34,000 to be allowed minus reasonable mileage and have that applied to a Fair Market Price (what other dealers are offering). I have an evaluation document, provided by a dealer, of the Fair Market Value of the 2013 at the time I made the purchase. This shows the value of the 2013 to be between 26,000 and 29,000 based on locale area. So at the high end there is a 5,000 overcharge where McDonald has already made above average profit. Response to "He scheduled an appointment to come down and drive a new model for an extended test drive overnight to make sure the headlights (the new 2015 have updated lighting)would be sufficient for Mrs. ****** at which he canceled". The appointment had these conditions, it had to be back early the next day (I had a morning meeting elsewhere that day) and I had to accept his current offer which I did not consider fair. I had not seen any notice of the $1970 discount or 720.00 in writing from him or ***** ******* our sales person. At this point I would like to see a complete new Dealer Quote showing the complete offer with all pricing, charges, credits, and Taxes so I can see what my out of pocket expenses will be for a new 2015 Ultimate model, as we have discussed, to correct the Headlight problem that has caused me so much anguish by overpaying for a vehicle I cannot use safely at night. I am still willing to wait until a suitable model can be delivered so as not to deplete their current inventory and I need the 2013 returned to them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 30, 2015/02/27) */ Original Message Subject: FW: Field Quote HI *******, Attached is the most recent quote for the ********** ***** case # XXXXXXXX. I can't find where to upload it to the case. I must be overlooking it. Thanks, Controller McDonald Automotive

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an extended warranty from this dealer in early 2014. I met with them to cancel on dec 12, 2014-told 5-6 weeks for refund. No refund yet- I purchased a **** ******* ********* from this dealership on 2/21/2014, and at the time of purchase, I bought an extended vehicle warranty and a maintenance plan. I was told as I was doing the paperwork that the warranty and service plan could be cancelled at any time for a pro-rata refund. On December 2, 2014, my wife was in an automobile acciden t that totalled the ******* ********* A few days later, I callede the warranty company to cancel, and was told that I would have to go thru the selling dealer. I called, and made an appointment with ***** (i belive the name is correct) to bring in the warranty paperwork and process the cancellation. I met with him on December 12, 2014, and at that time I was told that it would take 5-6 weeks to receive my refund, which would have been January 23 (6 weeks). When I did not receive anything, I called the dealership several times and left messages for someone to claa with the status of my refund. I received a call on January 23 from a **** ****** at the dealership, requesting that I send him proof that the loan on the vehicle was paid off, so he could get the refund processed. When I asked him how long that would take, he said that it would take 5 or 6 weeks-again! I got the impression that nothing had been done since I first met with ***** on December 12, 2014. I emailed him the proof of payoff that same day, along with a request to let me know that he had received it. I got no response. Yesterday (Feb 23rd, I emailed **** to request an update-no response. I called and left a message for him to return my call-no response. I feel like I am getting a terrific runaround from thuis dealership over this seemingly simple transaction.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund that is due to me to be paid and in my hands no later than March 6, 2015. I have caslled the warranty company and verified the amounts of refund on the two contracts, and I expect that to be correct as well. I have run out of patience with this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/26) */ Once I read this complaint I felt for the consumer. A relatively easy process was made extremently difficult due to poor communication on our behalf. I have contacted *** ***** and was able to help him track down his refund. This is a coachable moment for ******** ******** We are here to assist *** ***** with any future needs or concerns. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ***** ********** is a gem! She responded quickly, and had researched the issue before calling me. She was able to help me track down my refund, and all is good. Thank you again, ******!

9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following is the situation we are dealing with and what we are asking to be resolved. I believe the issues involved are: repair issues service issues Specific repair issues involved: #4-401 #4-403 #4-404 Complaint Summary- November 12 2013 - We took our car to Franklynn Automotive, left it in the parking lot and filled out the overnight drop envelope for our mechanic. The envelope noted the following requests: Gas tank sensor problem- gas gauge-check engine light on Radiator hose needs checked Change oil November 13 - our mechanic, *****, ran a diagnostic test and noticed that several items were covered under warranty including three that required service through Hyundai recalls. ***** contacted McDonald Hyundai to ask them if they had our car in their system. Someone in service informed him they did, in fact, have our car in the system. ***** told them he was bringing it down to have them take care of the warranty and recall items. ***** contacted my husband to let him know the situation and that he was driving the vehicle to McDonald Hyundai the same day. November 14 - My husband received a call from ****, one of the Technicians at McDonald. **** ran a diagnostic report without our permission and reported our vehicle required over $2,200 in repairs. My husband got into an argument with **** because we never authorized a diagnostic - especially since our mechanic had just done one. My husband then spoke with ******* the Service Manager about the diagnostic and oil change but he blamed the charges on ****, who was not with the dealership any longer. Neither of these services was authorized but we needed our vehicle. November 16 - We arrived late afternoon to retrieve our vehicle. Our goal was to pick it up and take it back to our mechanic to repair the issues noted on the drop envelope. One of the Technicians went to the lot and pulled the car up. I drove the car to the adjacent gas station to fill the tank. After travelling no more than 100 yards, I knew and there was a MAJOR problem with the car. It felt like the engine was running very poorly and it felt like it would stall at any second. I'm no mechanic but the Santa Fe is my every day car and in no way, shape or form was it running the way McDonald received it. We barely made the drive to our mechanic - only a few miles from the dealership - understanding that there were severe issues with the engine. We immediately tried to contact the Service Department to alert them - and have the attempts stored in mine and my husband's mobile phones. It was a sickening feeling to try for hours and not be able to reach them to report the problem. We were met with nothing but busy signals and decided to contact them via email so it was documented. The Santa Fe was left at Franklynn. Our mechanic purchased replacement gas tank sensors from McDonald Hyundai, in order to complete the repair. We contacted our mechanic and asked him to check it out first thing Monday morning. November 18 - ***** arrives to his shop and notices "huge puddles of coolant under the car." When he moved the car into his garage, he noted the difference in performance compared to the last time he drove it. He contacted McDonald Service and told them the car was not drivable and they needed to address it right away. They told him to bring it back but ***** reiterated that the vehicle was not drivable and any additional mileage might cause catastrophic damage to the engine. McDonald agreed to pay for a tow truck to get it back to the dealership - the car arrives late Monday afternoon. November 21 - Three days after the car is delivered and with no word from the Service Department, my husband calls and speaks to ****, another Hyundai Technician. **** is oblivious to the situation and tells my husband that they are "awaiting authorization for repairs." My husband reviews the scenario with **** and ****** and neither of them even hinted at the slightest bit of responsibility for the car. My husband asked to speak with the General Manager, **** ******* (sp?). **** tells my husband that the car was dropped off in poor condition and they had no intention of repairing anything that was a pre-existing condition. The GM also mentioned that the drop box specifically mentioned "rough idle." I was shocked to hear that and would never have written such a thing because I'm simply not qualified to judge the difference between 'normal' versus 'rough' idle. I immediately called our mechanic who told me the exact same story after he spoke to the Service Manager. I explained to our mechanic I did not write that on the envelope and he was as amazed as my husband. November 23 - My husband and I went to the dealership to see the envelope. We asked to get some things out of the car and asked to see all the paperwork involving the car. As I got my personal items out of the car, ******* the Service Manager came back with copies of the paperwork. The first item in the stack was a photocopy of the drop envelope. On the bottom of the envelope - in different handwriting - was "PSM gas gauge reads wrong CEL on-rough idle" I asked ****** and **** "who wrote this?" since it was clearly not my writing. They said they "didn't know." I then asked them where the original envelope was and they informed us that "it was up in accounting somewhere." We told them they had no right to take the envelope from our car, because it was not their property. We then looked at their diagnostic and discussed how it could have so much on it when our mechanic's diagnostic had no matching codes. While holding their diagnostic, I noticed the handwriting on it matched the handwriting on the drop envelope. I pointed that out to the others and they agreed, until ******* the Service Manager said, "the one on the diagnostic is in all caps." I told him I was an educator and reviewed handwriting all day and that this is, in fact, was the same handwriting! He didn't answer. With that, we told them we would be in touch, took our paperwork and left. We have NOT had a phone call from them since. Our mechanic recommended we contact the Hyundai Motor Corporation which my husband did. He filed a complaint on approximately November 20th and we still have no resolution from them. They took the complaint and said they would make three attempts to contact the dealer. At that point, if the dealer has not responded, they send it to the regional level to address with the dealership. As of Thursday, December 12th, I finally spoke to a ******** in the Western Region Customer Care Department. She had not read our side of the case and needed to do more investigating. She was supposed to contact me on December 13th, but to date I have not rec'd a phone call. I contacted her today, December 14th and left a message to contact me. We are sorry after a month, we have gotten no support from the Hyundai Corporation. We're asking for one thing, that our car is drivable, the way it was when our mechanic delivered it to McDonald. Attached documents support above information.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/12/24) */ Dear Mr. and Mrs. ******, Thank you for taking the time to write. We know when you get two repair shops involved in a repair process even simple things can become complicated. Let me assure you when we got the car it ran rough. The early bird envelope you refer to, with the two different pens or forms of penmanship came to us with those items on the envelope. When ****** told you he didn't know where they came from he was not trying to be rude, he was just letting you know this was the way we got the envelope. We also had conversations with the shop you originally dropped the car at and they said it had the issues before it came down to us. While I have no way to know exactly what was wrong with the car when it went into *****, I can tell you these type of fault codes are much more common from failures that happen over a period of time. If either of our shops had been the servicing repair facility over you 90,000+ miles we may be able to take a better educated guess as to what the ultimate cause was but normally these failures are related to maintenance issues. There is no indication they are related to your visit to either Franklynn Automotive or to them bringing the car to us to see if they could get the conditions warranted. It is also relevant that Hyundai Motor Company reviewed these documents and don't see an issue with our findings and agree these are not warranty issues. At this point we can not provide you additional assistance and would highly recommend you have a certified technician do the routine maintenance work that is needed to see if it doesn't resolve much or all of the issues. Regards, ** ******** Fixed Operations Director Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 30, 2014/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We appreciate finally coming to a resolution after this long period of time. Thank you for replacing the coil pack. We will look for the refund check in the mail within the next couple of weeks. ***** and ***** ****** Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 28, 2014/01/31) */ Mr. and Mrs. ******, We have gone ahead and replaced the one misfiring coil pack and at this point the misfire fault is not on. Please keep in mind the spark plugs can cause a similar fault and at this point this is something you have declined to repair but for now all misfire faults remain off. With regard to the fees that were charged relating to the diagnostic work, we will start the process of getting a check cut and mailed. The turn-around for these checks is between two and four weeks. Per our conversation earlier this week, please feel free to come get the car anytime you would like since we have covered the repair charges for the coil pack replacement. Regards, ** ******** Consumer Response /* (3000, 42, 2014/08/15) */ We have not received the $163.34 refund, as promised in the final BBB correspondence from McDonald Hyundai. We would like resolve this matter as soon as possible. Business Response /* (4000, 44, 2014/08/18) */ A check was issued today, August 18, 2014 for $163.34. It will be mailed Tuesday August 19, 2014 to Chuck Riddle. Thank you.

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were showed a vehicle that was supposed to be $4995, but in the end it was $10K. My daughter told the salesman was she was wanting to spend in a used vehicle - $5,000. The salesman told her about a Cadilac; which he ended up going to get the keys for to show her the inside, engine, etc. She checked the inside, exterior, tires, engine, etc. and was really interested in a test drive; which she did. Upon her return she was interested in buying the vehicle. She sat down with the salesman and finance person. She stated she was already approved from ****** with a $5K loan amount. Finance manager runs her credit, and finds out mroe on the ****** loan after giving them the ID. About 10 minutes later salesman comes back and has a smirk on his face, and begins a nervous laugh. He then explain he showed my daughter the wrong car, and the car she test drove was $10K. I asked if we could see the $4,995 car, and he stated they did not have the car on the lot. What? He then said the finance manager was working on a great deal for the mistake. The finance manager then returned and said he could sell it to her for $7K. That is $2K more than she planned to spend,but they were saying it only adds this much on to the payment, but seemed like two years longer on the loan as well was nothing. My daughter said she did not want to pay five years on a car that may not last that long, plus with only being in the workforce a few years did not want to end up with too much credit. As we were leaving, the saleman came up behind me apologizing for his mistake. I said "that was a pretty big mistake". The more I thought about what happened over the weekend I feel this was a true BAIT & SWITCH scheme and this company should be reprimanded for this behavior, and the public should be made aware of there integrity; which I feel is pretty poor based on this experience. It was a huge waste of valuable time, and also was a bad experience for my daughter who left in tears.

Desired Settlement: An apology from the regional manager, and reassurance this behavior does not continue with other customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ We are very sorry for the experience the ***** family had at our Hyundai store. I can assure you this is not our standard business practice and we have used this experience as a training tool for our other sales personnel. The sales person Ms. ***** worked with had only been a sales person for 4 months and his mistake was completely unintentional. Being a Hyundai store it is unusual to have a Cadillac in inventory let alone to have 2 of them. When looking up the unit he simply picked the wrong one (see attached). The sales team knew they blew it and knew the customer was unhappy. It is not our practice to bait and switch and hope the ***** family understands this was a mistake and we do apologize. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept their apology. Understandable the salesman we worked seem very new to me and I realize things happen. Thank you for the apology. I do have to say, when the salesman came and told us there was a mistake, he said the car my daughter was looking at was $10K, but on the attached PDF it shows $8,995. That is more than a 10% difference. I am not sure McDonald really knows how much the car was and I know it would be difficult for me to ever consider buying a vehicle from them ever again. Seems to me there are a lot of inaccuracies with this business. That is too bad, being a one woman team versus a huge business, I feel this difference is nothing to them. Saldy to most of us folks who work hard for our money, we do not genrally make over $1K mistakes. If anyone looks at buying a car from them, pay close attention to all the details, and I mean very close attention.

6/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complained to ***** ********, & got unprofessional reply claiming I got ****** out of $5000 (his words) then he said check blue book value he said. This is the email traffic between salesman ************** and I: From: ************** <**************************> To: ******* <********************> Sent: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 7:57 AM Subject: Re: I don't work there. P*** Off little girl. I'm working as a car salesman still. FYI you bought a used not new and look up the reasale on Kelly blue book. You'll see I ****** you for 5000 to much. Thanks again Sent from my iPhone On Mar 13, 2013, at 6:41 AM, ******* <********************> wrote: Well enjoy your new line of work, now that your career as a salesman didn't work out.... that is unfortunate you had such promise as a CAR SALESMAN. Brat out Original Message From: ************** <**************************> To: "********************" <********************> Cc: Sent: Tuesday, March 12, 2013 9:23 PM Subject: I don't work there. Sorry about your luck. But I don't work there. The score is all mine. Attention to detail. P*** Off. I got you everything you wanted and your a brat. Detail that. Sent from my iPhone From: ******* <********************> To: "**************************" <**************************>; **** ******* <**********************> Sent: Tuesday, March 12, 2013 8:44 PM Subject: Survey *****, The most important issue was to not send any paperwork to my dad's address because it would cause issues, I said it to ***** as well clear as day. This mistake caused much strife, for this reason I have no choice but give a survey with the worst possible scores. ********

Desired Settlement: The salesman said I got ****** out of $5000 this is the amount I would like refunded or something equivalent.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/29) */ Dear ************ Let me start off by apologizing for the unprofessional behavior of the x-employee of ours. There is nothing that would excuse such unprofessional behavior. To address your concern with regard to the margin we made on you car, we are more than happy to forward you the invoice but we take pride in keeping our margins as low as we can and still stay in business. On the car you purchased we made a total markup of $251.00. We would have attached it here but these types of attachments are not allowed with the BBB complaint forms. We would be more than willing to mail it to you if you would like. While we obviously can't refund you $5000 for a markup we don't charge, we would like to give you an in-store credit of $100.00 good for anything in our store, from parts and accessories, to service or even anything in our sales department. To redeem this credit just present a copy of this letter to any employee of the dealership. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if I can assist you further. ********************* ************ Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/04/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) You wait 30 days to respond with the same offer and to write one paragraph. This is a clear indication on how McDonald Hyundai does business. Working with McDonald Hyundai has been the worst purchasing experience ever. I will be taking my business (maintenance, and future purchases) else where, and shout from the highest mountain top my experience with McDonald Hyundai; please do not contact me again.... ******* Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/04/24) */ ************* We strive to operate our company with a high level of integrity and we take action with associates who do not live up to our standards. I am sorry that our former associate misled you with poor and inaccurate information. I will be more than happy to extend to you our original goodwill of $100 of in store credit. Please feel free to reach out tome anytime. Sincerely ************* General Manager ************ Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2014/06/26) */ McDonald Hyundai went out of their way, and resolved this. A company can be held some what responsible for the people they employ, but what really matters is how the company responds to the situation. I happily convey they went above and beyond to resolve my dissatisfaction, and I am now a loyal customer.

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman is lieing. Salesman tole me the car had no accident before I purchase but actually the front bumper was replaced I bought a used 2012 Genesis from there last summer. Since their place is far from my home, I did call or email him to confirm the car was in good status. He told me the car never involved in any accident. After I bought the car and drove back to home, a local shop told me the car had front bumper replaced before.

Desired Settlement: They forgot put in the small panel strip when they replaced the front bumper. I'm asking $500 for car repairing and $500 for they lieing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ Dear Ms *******, Thank you for taking the time to write. We are sorry to hear of your concern you have experienced on the used Hyundai you purchased. On all cars we sell we pull a Carfax report to research if there are any issues we can find related to a variety of concerns and then report any items we find that are unusual to the end consumer. Even when we pull the Carfax again right now it doesn't reflect any concerns related to accident damage and while we have no first hand knowledge of any such damage we don't feel such damage would have changed the value of the vehicle. Something like a bumper repaint can occasionally happen on a car and we will have no way to know about it; our policy is disclosed what we know about. As you probably know these cars are in limited supply and we feel the price you paid was reflective of the overall condition of the car. While we sold the car As-Is, we do hope once you consider the car you have and the value you received you agree we disclosed what we could see from the Carfax report. If you would like a complete copy of the report and the RO where we serviced your car I would be more than happy to email it to you if you will let me know what address to use. Regards, ** ******** Fixed Operations Director Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from the seller is just a standard copy from some other cases. What my complain is more about the dishonest of the salesperson. He did keep telling me the car had no problem. However, a local technician told me it's very easy to identify that the bumper was replaced and something was missing. As a professional, saying what you know is all from Carfax report does not convince me at all. There is no doubt your guys checked the car and knew the problem before you put it on sell. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/12/20) */ Dear Ms.****, We want you to know that the car you bought is a quality used, and factory certified, vehicle that should give you years of great service. As we have stated, as part of that service we pull CarFax to do everything we can be able to let you know if there is any repairs we just aren't seeing signs of. From what you described IF we had caught the minor bumper damage it would have still been able to go through and meet all the requirements to still make it factory certified. We just didn't see the minor damage you are describing nor could we find it on CarFax so we had no way to disclose it. At point of purchase we have you sign legal as is documents to help make sure you understand on a used car we don't know the full vehicle history like we do on new car and can only disclose what we are aware of. For this reason we still feel you got a fair deal on a great used car you bought as is and will not be able to assist you further. Regards, ** ******** Fixed Operations Director Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I don't accept what you said. You cannot use CarFax to cover/hide everything. Your guys knew it's damaged, but keep telling me no damage from CarFax.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leased a vehicle through McDonald hyndai of denver and after a month a half and three weeks of me calling twice a day to figure out where to send my payment to I finally got someone to call me back. They informed me that they were not going to be able to allow me to keep the car because I nada motorcycle payment. They wanted me to either trade in my motorcycle or to have a zero balance on the motorcycle. After a month a two weeks of having the vehicle they requested for me to bring it in that day. I am shocked that they allow people to leave with a vehicle if they don't do the financing on it prior to letting someone leave the lot. I feel like this is a trick to get someone to agree to a higher interest rate or to agree to something cause they are out of a vehicle now. I have already sold my vehicle so now I am out of a car. Product_Or_Service: Hyndai Tucson

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want my down payment and my first payment made on the vehicle at the time of leasing. I would also like to have the money back for insurance on the vehicle.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/07) */ To Whom It May Concern, Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the concerns expressed by Ms. *******. I would like to apologize to Ms. ******* for not being able to finalize our lease transaction. The circumstances were unfortunate. We had a stipulation by the lender to trade in the open auto loan which was actually a cosigned motorcycle. We thought this was not going to be a stipulation because it was a motorcycle and we had Hyundai Financial call and interview the customer to verify the loan was not an automobile loan. We did not find out until Hyundai Financial sent a funding delay that we could not complete the transaction. I personally called the finance director of the western area for Hyundai financial to try and get the stipulation waved. I was unsuccessful and therefore we could not complete the transaction. We worked and got an approval on a retail loan and offered this option to the customer which was then declined. *** ********* Hyundai General Manager