BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McCaddon Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McCaddon Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on McCaddon Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 10
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1967 Business started: 11/01/1958 in CO Business started locally: 11/01/1958 Business incorporated 11/01/1958 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark J. McCaddon, President Mary McDonald, Accounting
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark J. McCaddon, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair Car Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

McCaddon Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2460 48th Ct.

    Boulder, CO 80302

  • PO Box 1618

    Boulder, CO 80306

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came into dealer to resolve a recall for my vehicle. They crashed my vehicle blamed it on the brakes and now want me to pay for "contaminated brakes" I went to Mccaddon for a recall. The dealership checked my car in and a few hours later I get a call saying that hey crashed my car. The person who crashed it said it was because the brakes were low. My car has a pedal adjustment system that allows the driver to adjust the pedals to their comfort. Once that claim was made they called me to authorize a brake fluid flush. I approve it thinking it would benefit my car. Later on, they call and say that the brakes are even worse due to contamination specifically antifreeze. The dealer and their insurance blame this "contamination" on previous mechanics who have checked the brake fluid and brake system only finding that the brakes work fine. I got a chance to drive the car around the lot after they flushed the brake fluid and now the pedal makes a squeaky noise when the brake pedal is pressed and it has to be pressed had to stop the car. It is in bad condition and the dealership won't take responsibility for the damage they have caused to my car. I find hard to believe that in 1 day, my brakes malfunction completely due to an antifreeze being in my brake system. I am pretty sure I would notice something wrong if my brake system was contaminated before dropping it off at the dealership. I have driven my car to Lafayette and back to Boulder every day since march and I have not felt anything wrong with my brakes until after Mccaddon worked on my car.

Desired Settlement: All I ask from Mccaddon GM is to leave my car's brake system in the same working condition it had before they worked on the car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/22) */ On October 9, 2014 ***** ******** drove his 2006 Pontiac G6 with 130,318 miles into our service drive at approximately 8:00 am. McCaddon service advisor *** ***** greeted ***** and wrote a job-card that was printed at 8:12 to perform three recalls, (Transmission Shift Cable Fracture, Electric Power Steering Assist and Brake Lamp Malfunction). ***** also requested a transmission fluid exchange and a Multi Point Vehicle Inspection. McCaddon service porter ******* ******** drove vehicle approximately thirty feet to park vehicle from where it was left by ***** in service drive. Vehicle wouldn't stop until the brake pedal went to the floor. Because of this ******* suffered a low speed collision with another customer vehicle parked in the row just front of this parking space. This collision occurred within minutes of job-card completion and before being dispatched to a technician. ***** made no mention of vehicle being dangerous to operate when dropping off vehicle. *****'s vehicle suffered a broken Pontiac emblem, scratched bumper cover and a damaged front license plate bracket, estimated of repair is $769.43. ******* added a note on the key tag to warn our technicians of this condition to avoid another collision when vehicle was driven into the shop. *** called ***** and explained what happened when we parked his car and that our technicians found the brake master cylinder cap diaphragm missing and the brake system contaminated with what we believe to be coolant. We made the recommendation to flush the brake system hoping brake fluid hadn't been contaminated long. ***** authorized this then dropped by to look at the collision damage with his Mother. ***** and his Mother were taken into the shop to see the collision damage then came back to Service reception. ***** and his Mother stated the brakes on her car work better than on this car. These statements were witnessed by a technician in the work bay and again by three service advisors working at their desks in the reception area. During the brake flush procedure we were unable to get fluid out of two of the calipers because of internally swollen rubber seals due to a long period of exposure to contamination in the brake fluid. Because of such severe damage within the brake system we then estimated replacing all brake system parts that have rubber seals within them. Repairs were declined and customer asked us to not do anything further. Because of this the Multi Point Inspection and transmission fluid exchange weren't completed. On October 10, 2014 at noon ***** came in with his Father. *****'s Father insisted we repair the brakes on their vehicle at our expense. We told ***** and his Father the brake condition was preexisting and we were not responsible. ***** and his Father told us they didn't have the money to repair the brakes. After discussing this we gave two options to help, we could provide a discount to repair the brakes or we could report their claim to our insurance company. It was made clear there would be no discounting to help with the insurance option. They told us King Buick GMC in Longmont performed a brake job two months ago. We told them it appeared that King Buick GMC likely added the wrong fluid to the brake master cylinder reservoir at that time contaminating the entire brake system. We recommended they discuss this with King Buick GMC then have it towed there for repairs. We strongly recommended for them not to drive this vehicle because the brake hydraulics are too compromised to be safely driven. ***** took the vehicle against this recommendation which we found curious because ***** and his Father had just tested the brake condition in the parking lot. ***** left us a phone message about a half hour after he left stating he wanted to bring the vehicle back to have us repair collision damage and to have the brakes repaired at our expense. We returned his call but couldn't reach him. This is when and why we initiated a claim with our Insurance Company ********** ********* Insurance was contacted at 1:25 pm; ***** came in when while we were on the phone with ***** initiating a claim. We told ***** about the *****'s claim of his brakes failing while in our possession and she gave us a loss number then stated she would be contacting ***** to get the claim started. ***** requested the pictures and customer information on file which I sent via email at 4:37 pm. Upon *****'s return at 1:25 pm he stated he'd just returned from Longmont then produced a receipt from ***'s Automotive in Longmont for rear brake pad replacement in April 2014. ***** stated ***'s Automotive told him the brakes worked fine after brake pad replacement in April 2014. This is confusing because earlier ***** and his Father stated King Buick GMC in Longmont worked on the brakes two months ago yet the receipt was from ***'s Automotive dated seven months ago and before ***** claims to have owned vehicle. ***** said he wanted to leave the vehicle here for part replacement from the collision repair. We told him we would need to open a new job-card for him to leave it on our lot because we had closed the first one because he wanted to take the car an hour and a half earlier. These two signed job-cards document vehicle was driven twenty-seven miles in an hour and a half. Attempting to get to the root cause, we questioned ***** again where the vehicle had been in the last few months for repair or service, ***** suddenly remembered getting service at a Longmont oil change place two months ago. We recommended finding this receipt then contacting that business to let them know contamination was found in the master cylinder reservoir. We moved the vehicle into the back row of our parking lot with a warning sign about the brake condition taped the steering wheel. ***** returned a couple hours later with his Sister and gave us ****** ****** receipt from August 23, 2014 and 1,517 miles ago when he had it serviced there. The brake fluid and coolant reservoirs are within inches of one another and both have black caps. Without question someone contaminated the brake fluid of this vehicle well before it came into our repair shop. ***** ********, his Father, and Mother came in on Wednesday, October 15, 2014 with an unfriendly man that would not identify himself stating we damaged the brakes on *****'s vehicle and he expects us to repair them at our expense or he will be filing a discrimination suit against us. He didn't state what kind of discrimination, nor did he offer a letter of intent. When I expressed amazement at his statement he said "you'll find out". I gave him the contact information for ********* Insurance and declined to discuss anything with him. Its outrageous ***** did not notify us of this dangerous brake condition when dropping off his vehicle. Our service drive and surrounding areas were full of staff and clients that could have been seriously injured due to ***** ********'s negligence. Then to threaten a discrimination suit is nothing short of extortion. ***** ******* Service Director Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It makes me feel heartbroken that McCaddon would accuse me of something so unreasonable as letting them handle a vehicle that "has a dangerous brake condition", then accuse me of extortion. I am a 17 year old high school student. I use this vehicle to get to school and back home. I have not been able to drive to school for 3 weeks and it has made things very difficult. I do not have the kind of heart that would give a car in that condition to someone else. I know my car didn't have any dangerous conditions before McCaddon touched it. With past experience in school work and other projects, I can say that before I work on something, I check and make sure I know what I'm working with. McCaddon never did the 27 point inspection. I would have expected that to be the first thing to be done. It is clear that McCaddon wants this over with as much as I do, and yet they come up with some inaccurate claims and accusations. This has been the most stressful 3 weeks of my life. This is my first vehicle and the first time I have work done by a dealership. I am deeply disappointed with McCaddon's quality service. I can't take this as response to the issue because there is no interest in resolving the issue. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/11/14) */ Doing right by the consumer when something goes wrong is a staple of McCaddon. This is an ethical family owned and operated business that offered to participate one third to help a customer in need in hopes of retaining their business by a goodwill gesture. We recommended replacing all the brake parts that have rubber seals or lining as instructed in the manufactures repair information, document #XXXXXXX. However, we also told ***** and his Father less expensive aftermarket parts were available to help if they chose. Customer responded to this kindness by filing complaints with the BBB and General Motors as well as writing a negative Google Review about us then came in with an unidentified man that made outrageous statements and threatened a law suit against us. Given the customers actions after we made this offer, the only just outcome is for ***** to have his vehicle repaired elsewhere and at his expense. The collision repairs for two vehicles came to approximately three thousand dollars due to *****'s negligence. It's my understanding the time of the collision is being disputed therefore, written below is the timeline providing an overview of the morning ***** ******** brought his vehicle in. On October 09, 2014 a Job-Card is written and printed at 8:12 am then signed by *****. Vehicle is taken to service parking within minutes (ten minutes tops) after job-card was written. Vehicle is crashed into another customer's vehicle while being parked. All vehicles are taken out of our service drive (reception area) by ******* to the north lot until being dispatched to the shop. We keep the service drive clear for incoming traffic allowing our Advisor staff to assist customers as they drive in for their appointments. Our dealership management system recorded sixty-four job-cards written on this date, about ninety percent written in the morning. Many clients wait for their vehicles during the morning hours, after this we begin to contact clients that dropped their vehicles off with updates. At approximately 8:20 am, ****** ******* ******** reports a two car accident to Service Manager ***** ****** and stated "THE CAR I WAS PARKING WOULDN'T STOP," then escorts me to the service parking lot to see the two damaged vehicles. We wrote down the hat-tag numbers (hanging on review mirrors) for both vehicles to identify the Service Advisors working with these customers allowing time to have collision estimates completed before updating these two clients. Approximately 8:30 am, Assistant Service Manager ***** **** called ******** ***** Body Shop and spoke to ***** requesting an on-site estimate to expedite the process. *****'s clients own the second vehicle involved. Approximately 9:00 am, ***** ******* arrived from ******** ***** Body Shop to take pictures and gather information on the vehicles involved so he could write estimates for us upon his return to ******** ****** The picture ***** from ******** ***** took of *****'s Pontiac for the estimate is time-stamped 9:05:54 am on October, 09, 2014. As busy as this day was we managed to have an Estimator from ******** ***** Collision Center on our lot less than an hour after ***** signed his job-card. Approximately 9:30 am, vehicle is dispatched and taken into repair shop. Techs were asked by Advisor *** ***** to evaluate the brake condition and report their findings back to him. Techs found the reservoir cap gasket missing and contamination in the brake fluid then proceeded to work on the three recalls. Our Dealership Management System recorded repairs beginning at 9:35 am. ******** ***** Auto Body's estimate is completed and time stamped at 10:56 am then emailed to ***** **** at 10:59 am. Approximately noon, *** called to update ***** ******** on repairs and to tell him about the collision while parking his car. He gave ***** the estimated damage amount on ******** ***** Auto Body's estimate. *** told ***** we were working on the recalls but that the brake fluid exhibits fluid separation caused by what we believe to be coolant because of its color. Without hesitation ***** authorized flushing the of the brake hydraulic system. Approximately 2:00 pm, ***** and his Mother came by to look at the damage on *****'s car. Both ***** and his Mother made comments about the "soft" brake pedal on this car and expressed relief this condition was being addressed. Approximately 4:00 pm, *** called ***** back telling him it would require part replacement to repair the brake system correctly because the contamination had been in the system too long to be repaired with new fluid. Two of the brake calipers wouldn't even pass fluid using a BG brake flush machine to designed to push fluid. Customer requested we do nothing further at this time and will get back to us. This vehicle came into our service drive with a preexisting and dangerous brake condition that we weren't notified of. This has been difficult for all of us and even more so for the family of the other damaged vehicle and McCaddon ****** ******* ******** who was simply parking a car that wouldn't stop. We didn't ask ***** or his Father to pay for the resulting damage from this accident and are appalled by everything that has taken place since ***** was given an estimate to repair his brakes. ***** ******* Service Director Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I can tell that the McCadddon family business disapproves of my actions. They don't like that I made a complaint to the BBB but I made that decision because I found it very hard to believe that from one day to another my brakes would completely malfunction. I also spoke with Pontiac GM because I knew this was't what they would call good service. The man I spoke to at Pontiac was very surprised and immediately took action. I chose not to get my car repaired at the dealership because their prices were outrageous even with the third party parts. The mechanic that has worked on the car, **** ****** Auto Care, would replace the brake system for $1275 parts and labor included. The price that McCaddon wanted to charge was three times that. The offer made to me wasn't fair. I felt that the offer was just a way to keep me quiet from the whole situation that happened at the dealership. The car was in working condition when I dropped it off at McCaddon GMC. I started driving around a year and a half ago, and I'll never forget my drivers test. The instructor made sure that the vehicle he was about to sit in worked. He made sure it was all in place and I made sure I was sitting in a comfortable position for me to drive. I don't know what kind of precautions ******* took before driving my car, but I know he made some sort of mistake. It's incredible how a grown man, like ***** talks to a young person like myself. The attitude that both **** and ***** had was one of a child and it continues to be. I turned 17 a week before the incident and I think McCaddon gave me the best birthday present ever, taking my car from me for 4 weeks. For those 4 weeks I had my mom or the bus drive me around which was inconvenient. I'll start by saying that at the time of the crash, at 8:12am I was either at the dealership waiting or just about to leave. I didn't get any notification until noon. Why so long? I think that if **** would of been honest with me, I would of just taken my car somewhere else. He kept saying that the flush was what he recommended and in my head I thought... well I haven't flushed that yet, maybe I could flush it after all they just want to flush it because its time to do so. When I came in with my dad to dove it around, ***** told me that it was in the same condition of when I brought it which is completely false. I know that car was braking. I drove 8 minutes from my house to McCaddon without a single collision. I don't know what ******* did to stop the car, but even if it was having trouble stopping, why didn't he slam the brakes? or use the parking brake in order to avoid any sort of collision? Even after the damage that it had was done, the car could stop. Yes it was hard and you had to be careful but it did stop. I am sure that my car had no preexisting conditions. I will not take the response ***** has given as a solution. It's sad that the McCaddon family has had a hard time and I hope they see the damage this has caused to my family too. I hope that McCaddon finishes this incident fairly with both families involved in this situation. ***** ** ********* ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on McCaddon Cadillac Buick GMC, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart