BBB Accredited Business since

Larry H. Miller Volkswagen - Lakewood

Phone: (303) 237-1311 Fax: (303) 233-8205 View Additional Phone Numbers 8303 W Colfax Ave, Lakewood, CO 80214 http://WWW.LHMVW.COM


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Larry H. Miller Volkswagen - Lakewood meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Larry H. Miller Volkswagen - Lakewood include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Larry H. Miller Volkswagen - Lakewood
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2001 Business started: 02/10/1984 Business started locally: 02/10/1984 Business incorporated 01/19/2001 in CO
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jarred Black, General Manager Miss. Casey Cape, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jarred Black, General Manager
Customer Contact: Miss. Casey Cape, Business Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers vehicle sales, parts, and service.

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair Car Fraud

Additional Locations

  • 8303 W Colfax Ave

    Lakewood, CO 80214 (866) 696-3128

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used car, was promised they do an extensive safety expection, come to find the car is NOT safe. There are growing safety concerns. I bought a **** **** ******* ***** from the Larry H Miller Volkswagon Dealership in January of this year. Test drove it, loved it, was interested in buying it. I asked the sales associate many safety questions. He assured me they go through an extensive safety expection to ensure the safety of their customers. As I am a mom with two young kids and one on the way, safety is very very important to me. As I inspected the car I noticed a small rust spot on the bottom portion of the passenger ***** was again assured that it was purely cosmetic and the rest of the car was fine. And also the tires had been replaced and fairly new- which I would come to find also false. Now I am not a gullible person by any means but when a car dealership as large and reputable as Larry H Miller told me about the safety expection I took comfort in his word. Right off the bat, not even three days into purchasing the car I noticed a noxious smell coming into the car. My family complained of headaches, and nausea every time we drove the car. I took it in to get looked at only to find out the was a large noticeable hole in the side of the muffler letting exhaust into the cabin of the car. Originally paid to fix it myself but did get reimbursed for it. And sadly that's the only good thing I can say. The back latch of the car has also been broken at the dealership and no one told me, no one helped me on that matter either. The manager seemed genuinely concerned when I first emailed him, but when then it took almost a week to get remimburst, secondly when I went in to receive the money the secretary notified him I was there he saw me arrive and proceeded to walk straight out of the dealership knowing I was there but refused to see me. I found that very unprofessional to say the least. He also reassured me in the email that he would get the back latch looked at- never went through with that either. I had to replace the tires after finding out they were splitting apart. During that process of getting the muffler fixed I was informed about how horribly rusted out the undercarriage of the car is. When getting the tires replaced, the first place I took it took told me the studs were rusted and could not get the lug nut off. The dealership had to touch it off, so they could fix the tire that was the worst and not holding air. They not only destroyed the rim, but I had to pay to replace the stud. To make the last end of my situation short: the entire car is starting to fall apart because of the rust. The brakes, possibly theaster cylinder, brake lines, rotors, and wheel bearings all have to be replaced, the transfer case needs to be replaced, a seal on the transfer case has split and needs to get replaced, engine hoses and seals need to get replaced. The doors are all rusting out, the insides of the doors are rusting out affecting the windows, the door hinges are rusting, rust particles are constantly in the cabin due to the steering column being rusted, even the wiring the wiring that runs underneath the seats are rusted! The engine compartment is starting to rust out, most importantly the actual structure of the car is rusting out. About a month ago my car shut off by itself while driving, took it in, found in have a bad 02 sensor in the back and now I cannot pass emissions to be able license my car! As of today, I have major leaks from somewhere in the radiator system, a brake line leak making stopping sometimes nearly impossible, and a transfer case leak that is affecting the performance of the car. I understand that it is a used car, but being a 8 month pregnant mother of two, who is the sole provider of my family, I was needing a safe car and was swindled into buying an extremely unsafe rust bucket. I am shocked that ANY dealership but this car through with an okay in the safety expection as it is blatantly obvious how rusted out this car is! I cannot drive my kids anywhere due to the safety issues including the horrible leaks I am experiencing. Please help!

Desired Settlement: At this point with how many safety concerns are with the car, either get the car returned and/or replaced or get some assistance with the fixing the car to make it safe and drivable. I'm not expecting everything I listen get addressed, but the major safety issues get addressed. It's very, and extremely disappointing to hear such great things about this dealership only to find the safety of their customers is not very important.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/10/30) */ I have reached out to the customer to see if I can help her get into something more safe and realiable

10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the driver side window module was damaged by the dealership during a repair for another issue. the dealership damaged the module that controls the driver side front window. i had them work on the same door to fix the automatic lock. After i received the vehicle back from them the window has lost the ability to have the "one" touch up feature.

Desired Settlement: i want and desire the dealership to fix my window to proper working condition.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/06) */ I am looking into this issue and we will contact the consumer as soon as we review the records Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this is no resolution. I still have not been contacted by the dealership. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/09/17) */ We have records showing this was fixed and completed last month?!

9/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership did not provide full disclosure of exterior condition of vehicle upon delivery. On 22 July 2015, after negotiating with the Larry H. Miller VW Lakewood internet sales team the pricing terms of a certified pre-owned **** ** ***** *********** I asked sales associate **** ******* to verify the exterior condition of the vehicle prior to making a purchase commitment. *** ******* assured me that only 2 prominent scratches were visible on the vehicle exterior, with no other noticeable blemishes and/or dents. I arrived at the dealership on 24 July 2015 in the late afternoon and performed a visual inspection of the vehicle, but the sky was noticeably overcast and the exterior appeared to be in satisfactory condition. The car was purchased on 24 July 2015 and driven approximately 200 miles to ********* *** On the morning of 25 July 2015, enough sun was available to reveal gross imperfections in the paint finish, include several areas where the buffer appliance power cord caused deep etching in the paint and aluminum trim of the vehicle. Furthermore, the rear bumper area was heavily scratched and the interior cabin had a burned out bulb in the lower floorboard. I decided to complete the trip back to my residence and resolve the issue of correcting the paint locally, contacting the sales team at Larry H. Miller VW Lakewood on 27 July 2015 and requesting that they cover the cost of the poor detailing which damaged the finish and lack of disclosure regarding the matter. I also furnished them several images from different vehicle angles to document the extent of the damage. *** ******* responded he would contact his sales manager to further resolve the issue, and subsequently stated on 28 July 2015 that their organization would require the vehicle be driven back 1000 miles to their dealership to perform the necessary repairs. Being that this is an unsatisfactory solution to require a 2000 mile round trip which only inconveniences the consumer, I request that the dealership rather restitute me for the expense of correcting the finish through a local professional detailer. Being that the dealership already compromised their integrity by upselling me on a vehicle theft registry product I did not agree upon in the initial quote ($90), overcharged my loan interest by $9 and omitted a first aid kit which comes as a vehicle option, I'm seeking $449 to cover the quoted cost of paint correction and $35 for the missing first aid kit.

Desired Settlement: I request that the dealership refund $449 to cover the quoted cost of paint correction and $35 for the missing first aid kit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/30) */ Mr. ******, This is the first I have heard on this situation and apologize for the coomunication issues. If you are not satisfied with the benefit of the vehicle theft registration and its benefits to you then I will be happy to refund you the $90.00 as that is an option that you decided to purchase and sign for. Had we known you werent satisfied with the origianl detail of this vehicle we would have sent it back to detail until your satisfaction as we have one of the best detailers in the industry and is certified by ********** in detailing and buffing brand new cars. That ebing said it costs me $100.00 to detail a vehicle and I would be more than happy to to reimburse you for that. I will just round up and make it an even $200.00 as for the first aid kit was this something you were told you were getting? we are not required to have a kit in every car? please let me know if I am missing anything, if not please email me and I will get a check sent to the address you provide. I thank you for your business Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/08/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) To whom it may concern, I am willing to accept a $200 reimbursement to help offset the cost of paint correction; though my local detailer charges considerably more for this service, I will accept this as a fair compromise for not having return travel to have it done. As for the first aid kit, it is listed as an option on the Monroney sticker accompanying the vehicle. If this option was intentionally removed from the purchased vehicle I was not made aware that it would be omitted. I have attached an image displaying the included options. Please use my billing address for payment mailing purposes. Thanks Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2015/09/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Undoubtedly the worst car-buying experience I've ever had, this being my 6th ******* in nearly 20 years. Not only was first accepted resolution not settled but the second complaint wasn't either. The ** *** checklist clearly shows points #2, #67 and #106 as "meets standards" when they should be marked "service required" at best. The paint had holograms literally all over (didn't even know what they were until I saw them in direct sunlight), aluminum window trim had diagonal etches down the length of rear windows, the two front wheels were badly bent (these were disclosed as repaired due to curb rash but not documented on the checklist) and the car had vibrations & alignment problems as a result. It's been 6 weeks I've had the vehicle and the dealership has still yet to send any sort of compensation. Outright abuse of the official ** *** program to sell poorly reconditioned cars at a significantly higher price. Definitely will not buy from this dealership again under any circumstances. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/09/09) */ The compensation of $250.00 has been submitted to my accouting office and the check will be sent to the address we have on file.

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusing to give me back my $1000 down for the car that they had me return due to information not being disclosed to me for financing. I purchase a car from Larry Miller on 7/4/15 and they called me on 7/13/15 to tell me that I need to give up my other car ********* in order for them to finance me. I explained I cannot do this because that is the only thing I have to drive- The volkswagen was for my daughter- So I returned the car. They want me to pay $.55 per mile and $50 a day from the 4th to the 14th when I returned the car. I explained to them that they took over a week to contact me and this is not my fault- I received a text from ***** on 7/10/15 to call the bank to do my interview and that they were trying to get a hold of me. I have no missed phone calls from this bank and told them I can provide documents to show this. So I called and did the interview like they asked and this is when they asked me what I was doing with the ******* and I told the bank I am keeping it. So 3 more days go by at $50 a day and they don't call me until Monday 7/13/15 to advise me that I need to return the car and that I would be billed the $.55 a mile and $50 a day- We also emailed ***** some pictures of the car that had some issues in it on 7/6/2015 since we bought the car on a saturday and the 5th was a Sunday I emailed them on Monday- ***** told me to try and pop it back into place and if that didn't work bring it by for them to fix it. ***** never did a walk around the car with me when I purchased the vehicle. So when I returned the car to them they stated that we caused the damage to the car and they are keeping my full $1000. I told him that I have a picture from 7/4/15 at 2:09 pm that very day we bought the car and only like 30 minutes after we left the dealer that shows the car was like this when we left. I asked ***** to go to a manager to dicuss this and I am not liable for this. No response from ***** to the request. They did not even have my auto insurance company look at the car- they know that it is just a clip missing on the car and that we did not damage it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund me the full $1000 due to my time that this has taken me to try and resolve as well as them accusing me of damaging the car when they knew we did not.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ This was a new vehicle that we sold and before we contracted the deal the customer stated to us that both vehicles would be surrendered as we knew that needed to happen in order to obtain financing to the customer that is in an open bankruptcy. When the lender called the customer she told the lender "I will be keeping one of the car" at that point that information was not disclosed to us. When we sold the car we have the customer sign the state disclosure stating we will charge 50 cents per mile and $50.00 a day, the brand new vehicle has 467 miles on it in additition to the car being reported sold to ********** becasue the information that we obtained from the customer at time of sale was false we then had to pay $300.00 to unwind the sale with ********** of America. In addition to that the brand new vehicle now has body damage that it did not have upon delivery when we do our delivery process. Therefore we are retainging the cusotmers $1000.00 cash down payment as signed off by the customer for 50 cents per mile, $50 per day plus damage caused upon returning the vehicle. We as a dealer rarely keep "bailment" money unless we are lied to, or if the car has damage, in this case both things happened. This will be the second time we have charged bailment and we have refunded several customers back there money due to the dealer not being able to obtain financing. In this case we will not be refunding as there was substantial costs occured. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is a lie... ***** never talked to me about my other vehicle and I stated several tunes to ***** that this new car was for my daughter they still never said anything about my other car. As a matter of fact *** when calling me on July 13th to tell me about the other vehicle was the 1st time I heard about even having to surrender my other car or I would have never done the deal in the 1st place.. *** even said at that time that it was a miscommunication between *** and ******* Not me.. I have a witness to this conversation as well as I have submitted emails to this dealership with pictures of the car on the exact day we bought the car with this so called damage they are claiming to the car as well as requesting my insurance adjuster to go down to the dealership to tell them this damage was not caused by any impact to the car. No response to any of this. They need to refund my money as they lied to me from the beginning.. 1st by telling me I couldn't even finance a new car and they were showing me **** used cars and the. When I was going to leave and go somewhere else they showed me the new cars and he said he forgot about those cars.. As well as the dealer is responsible for doing a walk around the car and having the purchaser sign off on the walk around this was never done.. Pull the phone recordings of the conversation with me and *** on the 13th of July that will be clear evidence that that was the 1st time I was ever told I would have to surrender the other vehicle and for this dealership to say I lied to them.. This needs to be resolved or I will hire an attorney and they will pull these records to show this as well as my witness. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/09/17) */ All of the communications is not the issue. It comes down to this, we have signed documentation that states if financing is not approved, you will pay $50.00 a day and 50 cents per mile that the vehicle is driven in addition to any damages caused as well as any cleaning charges necessary to be able to resell the vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would have never have signed the documents if they were upfront in the first place about me having to give up my other vehicle. I would have never have signed papers with you- As well as I have pictures on the day of the purchase where I did no damage to the car it was already there- According to the ******** ******* ******** ******* you the dealer has to prove damages and you cannot- Therefore you are only legally able to keep $500 of my deposit- I offered to have my insurance agent to go out there and examine the car- you are not an authorized auto body shop- I HAVE pictures on the day I bought the car less then 20 minutes after signing that the car was already like that- you fail to respond to these as well as fail to respond to my request to have my agent go look at this. The fact of this matter is I would HAVE never signed with you if there wasn't a miscommunication between your sales guy and his manager. I would have went elsewhere. So no deposit would have even been given to you. So you should have to give me back my full $1000 due to your misrepresentation of the finanacing. This has been sent to the attorney general as well..

8/31/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: LAST MONTH I PUT A DOWN PAYMENT ON A **********. SINCE I AM IN BANKRUPTCY I CONTACTED MY ATTORNEYS OFFICE ON MONDAY AND WAS TOLD TO RETURN THE CAR. ON MAY 15, 2015 I WENT SHOPPING FOR A CAR TO REPLACE MY CAR AS IT HAS SEVERAL EXPENSIVE REPAIRS TO BE MADE. I FOUND A ********** ****** WHICH FIT MY NEEDS TO A T. I SIGNED ALL THE PAPERWORK, PUT DOWN $500 AND DROVE THE NEW CAR HOME. ON MONDAY I CONTACTED MY ATTORNEY'S OFFICE AS I AM IN BANKRUPTCY. THE LEGAL ASSISTANT TOLD ME THAT I COULDN'T KEEP THE CAR AS MY PLAN WAS NOT YET APPROVED. I TOOK IT BACK AND AFTER TAKING GRIEF FROM THE STAFF, I PICKED UP MY OLD CAR. WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR, I SIGNED A CONTRACT STATING I WOULD PAY $50 PER DAY AND .50 PER MILE IF I RETURNED THE CAR. UNFORTUNATELY, BELIEVING THE CAR WAS MINE, I SMOKED IN THE CAR. ALTHOUGH I HAVE REPEATEDLY ASKED THEM FOR THE RETURN OF MONIES DUE ME, I HAVE GOTTEN THE RUN-A-ROUND. I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT IT COSTS LESS THAN $350.00 TO FRESHEN THE CAR FROM 2 1/2 DAYS OF SMOKING.

Desired Settlement: A REFUND OF THE MONIES OWED ME.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2015/08/13) */ I have already responded to this complaint Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 19, 2015/08/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not smoke in the car 24 hours a day. I thought I had purchased the car until my attorneys office advised me that I couldn't until the bankruptcy was finalized. $500 is a heck of a lot of money for a weekend car rental. No where on the sales contract did it state I couldn't smoke. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2015/08/18) */ please see downloaded documents which state $50 per day .50 cents per mile. in addition to the car needing to be in the same condition as it was when sold to you which would include the smoke smell of a brand new car. We will not be refunding any money

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer sold jeep that should have been sold as salvage. Needs over $4000 of essential repairs to make road-worthy, in excellent condition w/b worth 3K In April of 2014, Larry H Miller Volkswagen *** ******** sold to ***** ** ******** a 1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport. Tried originally to sell it for $7000! Came down to $4,200. Jeep looked good, I am hard of hearing, and did not hear the whine in rear end. I have not driven it since getting it home, because son said the rear-end sounded really bad. Took it to my trusted mechanic this spring to get it road-worthy, and he came back with an estimate of over $4000 of ESSENTIAL repairs. Left a message with ***** ***** at Larry Miller Volkswagen; he did not call back. Reputable dealers should not sell dangerous junk like this; I thought they inspected used cars before they put them on their lot. It is a wonder that I didn't wreck on the way home with this piece of junk. I anticipated we would have some repairs needed to get it in tip-top shape, but I did NOT expect to have to put out $4000 just to make it safe to drive. Larry Miller should be ashamed!

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the vehicle and just get my money back. We put almost $1000 into it this month to just get it driveable, so it is in much better shape than it was when we purchased it. If that is not possible, there should be some settlement where we are compensated. This vehicle was not worth anywhere near the $4000 we paid for it. We cannot with clear conscience sell it to anyone; we would not do what was done to us (pretend it is in good shape), and no one is going to buy it knowing it needs over $4000 of work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/06/29) */ I have reached out to the customer and we will be speaking to try to come up with a resolution to this issue. The car was purchased at a seperate location but I am the point of contact for any custoemr issues they may have as the franchise was sold. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/07/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Appreciate the response from the dealership, but no resolution has been reached as yet. Are awaiting email communication as to what our options are. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/08/07) */ Please have the customer email me ************@lhmauto.com

8/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mechanic lied about what was wrong with my vehicle and tried to get me to pay him to fix something that was not broken. At first I was happy with the service I had done, but I am now very upset. I came in to have my new (to me) **** ****** checked out and to see what maintenance would be necessary in the near future. I was quoted $120 for this service. I also asked for a diagnosis on why my power mirrors were not working. I was quoted an additional $120 for this service. I agreed to the quote and had the checkup and diagnosis done. The next day I got a list of things that the car needed done to it ranging from a new timing belt to an oil change including estimates for each item. This is exactly what I wanted and was well worth my $120. I was also told that the problem with the mirrors was that the switch had shorted out and I just needed to install a new switch. I was quoted $126 to have a new switch installed at the dealership. I was OK with paying an additional $120 for that information as well, as now that I knew what the problem was I could fix it. I ordered a new switch for the mirror and prepared to install it myself. Upon removing the door panel I discovered that the mirror switch was unplugged. I plugged it in and it works perfectly. So the mechanic took my $120, did not accurately diagnose the problem, and caused me to spend extra money buying a new switch I did not need. Furthermore he tried to get me to pay him another $126 to install a new switch that I did not need! The way I see it one of two things happened: 1) The mechanic is lazy and decided that it was probably the mirror switch and took my $120 without actually removing the door panel to diagnose the problem. 2) The mechanic is a thief and knew that the mirror switch was just unplugged but wanted another $126 to plug it in. Either way this is completely unacceptable. I paid $120 for him to tell me what was wrong with the mirrors and he didn't even look at them.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for the mirror inspection as the mechanic obviously did not inspect it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/25) */ I will be happy to refund ** ******* the money for diagnostic and whatever else he feels is fair. Please email me at your earliest convenience, I do apologize for this matter

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle was dropped off to dealership for new keys to be made, and they returned it with a destroyed engine. An employee drove the vehicle without oil We were promised new keys, and when we arrived to the dealership to pick up the car we found that the oil pan had been destroyed and all of the oil drained in the Larry H. Miller parking lot. Our vehicle was then driven by a Larry H. Miller employee while it still had no oil in it, which caused the engine to stall. We did not authorize the employee to drive our car, as it just needed new keys there was no reason it should have been driven in the first place, just turned on in the same space where we left it to test the keys. When we were informed by phone that there was an issue with the car we asked ***** ******* a service tech, to please not touch the car or do anything else until we arrived. He ignored our request and continued to tinker with the car before we arrived. When we confronted the original service tech, ***** ******* about the driving of a TDI vehicle with no oil in it he seemed unconcerned. He told us that the oil light would not have turned on to warn the tech of low oil because a certain RPM was not reached, but we spoke with another local dealer who informed us that this was not true. The technician at the other dealership warned us that we could have significant engine and turbo damage from the employee driving the vehicle with no oil. We asked the service tech, ****** to prove to us that there was no engine damage and he refused. We then asked for the manager, ***** ****** who at first told us we shouldn't worry about it and that the engine was fine. We asked to at least test drive the vehicle before paying for the keys, but they refused to give us access to our vehicle until we paid for the keys. We went back and forth with him, and even offered to leave our license, other valuables and/or the keys to our rental car. They still refused to let us test drive it. We finally wrote a check so they would release the keys to us. After we wrote the check, the manager, ***** ****** told us in an extremely rude way that there was most likely damage to our vehicle but he wouldn't be held responsible. We were advised by another local dealership that there could be internal damage that would cause the engine to seize and become inoperable. We came back to Larry H. Miller dealership the next day (February 7) to again ask them to remove the cam caps to show us conclusively that there was or was not damage. They removed the 2nd, 3rd and 4th cam caps to show us that there was no damage. However, if there was damage to the engine it would show on the 1st cam cap (which they didn't remove) so we asked them to remove that one. They said it would take too long and they weren't sure if they had time. We told them that we really needed to see that one, so three minutes later they had it removed. It was clear from the 1st cam cap that there was significant damage to the engine and they advised us that engine replacement was our only option. The tech we spoke with told us that he would see what his manager could do to help us. He then brought out ***** ****** the manager, who immediately told us that he would not be held responsible and asked us to leave the premises.We were then sent away again with a vehicle that is most likely totaled because of the negligence of the employees of Larry H. Miller Volkswagen. I also have most of our conversations with ***** ***** and ***** ****** recorded, revealing that they lied and contradicted themselves while speaking with us about our damaged vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking a settlement of A) a repaired or rebuilt engine with warranty, B) a new/replaced engine, C) a comparable replacement vehicle or D) $6500 to have our engine repaired by our mechanic.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/21) */ I understand the customer feels terrible about what has happened to his vehicle however, it is only right to make sure everyone understands what has truly happened during this experience at Larry H. Miller Volkswagen. I personally respond to every complaint online and make sure the customer is satisfied as an end result. We don't feel that way this time around. Customer called our store two days prior to bringing it in and asked us if he could have a service loaner because he had lost his keys in Breckenridge - it was a Saturday night and we had no service loaners available. This vehicle was then towed to our dealership from Breckenridge. When the vehicle arrived and was brought into the garage to program the new keys, we then noticed the car was low on oil. Upon further investigation, we saw the oil pan was damaged. The tow company admitted damaging the oil pan and paid for the repairs. After the repair was final we called the customer to let him know his car was ready for pick up. The customer then caused a big issue and tried to tell us we needed to warranty the engine in case it failed. We weren't willing to do this since we were only instructed (per the customer) to help with the key replacement and repair the oil pan. The customer left then left dealership. When the customer returned the following day for us to inspect vehicle for engine damage, we then agreed to pull the valve cover off to see what type of damage was done to the cylinder head. We did find the cylinder head has been previously removed due to the cylinder head bolts being stripped. The damage we did find could have been done over a good amount of time and it is suspected the customer knew what type of damage already existed to this car before it arrived here, which had nothing to do with the repair that was done based on the damage the tow company had done to the car. Then the customer became angry and started screaming on the showroom floor and made a little girl cry, and at that point the Lakewood Police had to escort him off the premises. It is unfortunate the customer's perception is reality, but I did want to take the time to respond so the true reality of alternate motives was explained. - ****** *****, General Manager, XXX-XXX-XXXX. We did make sure to have the tow company fix the vehicle and there is no way the amount of damage that is done to the engine could have been done in the short time the car was here! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealership's response here is littered with inaccuracies, and is bordering on false light. The claim that we knew about damage to the engine - in fact there wasn't any prior damage, and another VW dealership who is replacing the engine said that the damage can absolutely be caused by Larry H Miller's negligence in driving a vehicle without oil. The other VW dealership also said that other than that damage, the engine and inner workings of the car were very well maintained. About a week prior to driving the car to Colorado, we spent several hundred dollars having work done to the car. We were not aware that the oil pan was damaged by the tow company, and there was no reason the tech should have been driving the car. The keys should have been programmed in the parking lot where the vehicle was left by the tow company. Unfortunately, they also lied to the tow company when they told them that the engine showed no signs of damage before they paid nearly $1000 to have the oil pan fixed. Also, they claim that we were escorted off the premises by Lakewood Police, which is completely untrue. Yes, the manager lost his cool and started making claims TO OTHER CUSTOMERS that we had a weapon (false statements) and called police. We waited patiently outside so that we could speak to the officer regarding the situation and see if there was anything he could help us with regarding this situation. It is unfortunate to see a dealership this dishonest, and even writing false statements to try and defend themselves in a situation where they clearly messed up. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/03/31) */ This consumer also reached out to Volkseagen of America and everyone involved in this situation has deemed it fraud. This customer came up with this scheme to try and get a free Engine for something that was already messed up to begin with. The engineers at VW have deemed it impossible for this component to fail over night from driving the car from the parking spot to the service garage. Out of good faith we did get the damage that was caused by the tow truck driver fixed for them. The consumer didnt request that we do that but we went out of our way to make sure that the damage that was done by the tow truck was fixed by our technicians no cost to the customer. If it was worth my time I would go after them for fraudulent activities there is no factual evidence to say we did anything wrong with this claim. I personally have signed off on over $100k worth of customer satisfaction claims and this is one of the few that I have declined in years, this should tell you something about this consumer trying to defraud us Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/04/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I'm not sure how this dealership can claim that we are trying to defraud them. We didn't come to them with any problems, other than needing new keys. Volkswagen USA hasn't deemed it fraud, and I have ON RECORDING another dealership telling us that even the driving that the Larry H Miller tech did - because he drove it until it stalled and then tried to restart and it didn't restart - could have caused the scarring that was found on the first cam cap. We're simply trying to get the dealership to take responsibility for this unfortunate situation. What is really sad is that they had no reason to drive it in the first place, only program the keys. If they had simply reprogrammed the keys and left it where it was parked it would have been us that drove it away without oil and caused the damage, and none of this would have been their fault. At this point we have pursued it through our insurance, and they have paid for a replacement engine. The VW dealership who replaced the engine for us told us that he could tell the car was well taken care of, and that this was such an unfortunate situation. We had just had the timing belt done, air intake manifold, and a lot of other work done to the vehicle on our regular maintenance cycle. I'd like to change my desired resolution since our insurance replaced the engine. Obviously I don't need another replacement engine, the car runs again! We did have to pay a $1000 deductible and I would like to request that the dealership pay us back that $1000 deductible. I could add in lost time of work, a plane ticket that had to purchased so that we could return home, and several other expenses that happened as a result of Larry H. Miller's negligence but at this point I'm just asking for the deductible. If they need to see paperwork that says that we had it fixed and had to pay part of it that's fine.

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quoted a price on the phone for an air compressor of $480. Then they told me the part was $1190.65 at the service counter. I called to get an idea of how much it would cost me to get my air conditioner fixed. I spoke with a woman (*******) who said the most expensive part if I needed it would be the compressor. She said that was $480.00. I thought that was acceptable and know there would be labor and some other extra things, but figured it would be around $1000 - $1200. So I had them check out my car (a cost of 120.00). After they checked it out they told me the compressor alone was 1190.65. If I would have known that the compressor alone was almost 1200.00 I never would have taken my car there because I would have known I couldn't afford to get it fixed. So now I am out $120.00 for nothing. I contacted ******* to see why there was this large price difference. She said that there were other things that go with the compressor and that's what made the price to high. The other part that I needed is some kind of filter and it is 496.63. More then the most expensive part (compressor)I could need as quoted by *******. I feel like it was their mistake for telling me the most expensive part was $480 and not $1190.65. At the service center they also quoted me a price on brakes, tail light and my window washer system. You get your $120.00 back if you have service done there but they told me it didn't count towards those things. I asked them if it could be used towards an oil change or anything. Well the answer was no on that too. The only thing I can use the $120.00 is the air conditioner. No one has even said they are sorry that this happened. I feel like I was taken advantage of to a degree.

Desired Settlement: I want my $120.00 back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/03/31) */ I would be happy to just cut you a check for $120.00 however we have had to pay the technician for the time they spent on diagnosing your vehicle. What I will be happy to do if you are willing to accept this, we can send you a $120.00 coupon in the mail for any future repairs and or maintanence, accesories anything in store. It will not be of cash value though. If this is acceptable I will send you a $120.00 coupon in the mail

12/31/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car I purchased has no working rear driver side door. I was not notified of this till after purchase. Car was valued based on no major defects. On tuesday, nov. 12th I purchased a 98 honda accord from Larry Miller VW in lakewood (vin **********aXXXXXX). After attempting to charge me 6100 on a vehicle advertised at $3500. I finally convinced them to provide the car at the requested price. When I retured to finalize the purchase, with only a 30 minute widow to do so. (Again something I made them aware of in advance.) They had added $500 in options I never requested without giving me time to review them. After closing on this less-than-desireable deal. I go out to the car to find that the driver side rear door does not open, at all. The original price set on the car was based on there being no major mechanical defects. Only after closing was this info inadvertantly disclosed to me. Nowhere in the documentation on the vehicle was this problem mentioned. The price given for the car was based on 4 working doors. Not only was I not given the price promised, the vehicle I was sold was defective. Sale details: Purchase date 11/12/13 dealer: ***** ************* Finance agent: ******* ****** Advertised price:$3500 Negotiated Price: $4000 Actual price at closing: $4463 Door found defective by ***** ************ only after final closing complete (when she placed the temp tag in my car). $937 difference between advertised price and sale. Car advertised on usedcars.com. No note of the non-working door on this page or anywhere else during the sale of the vehicle. Account with foothills credit union. Deal# from larry miller XXXXX Purchaser name: ***** M. ****

Desired Settlement: I dont know. Public notifcation of the businesses fraudulent practices. A refund of the overage on payment. Karma.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/19) */ This is completely false and I would love to go over the figures if the client would call me or any of my managers instead of go online and bash us on every site he can, the numbers that he signed up for are as follows. The car was advertised at $3500.00. We sold him the vehicle as stated in his contract at $3,083.37 plus $90.00 for vehicle theft registration which is a product that has benefits to the consumer, if his car is stolen and not recovered within 30 days he will get a check to him for $2500.00 on top of what his insurance company pays out. he also decided to purchase gap insurance for $300.00 which he signed the contract not us plus $150.00 maintanence contract so he wont have to pay for maintanence for the time stated on the contract HE signed. Plus $499 dealer handling which we charge to all of our customers and is posted everywhere. then there is the $289.11 tax $27.20 title fee and $25.00 emissions fee. For a total amount financed of $4463.68. If he doesnt want the products he purchased (GAP, MAINT) he is more than welcome to cancel them and we will send an entire refund back to the lienholder. Not to sure where the disconnect is but here is the type of deal Mr. **** received on this car, we took it in on trade actual cash value for $1500.00, most dealers or private sales wouldnt even change the oil. Here at Larry H. Miller we will not sell vehicles like that, we feel whether the car is $1500.00 or $50,000 it is a lot of money to someone. When we ran this car through our service department to get it reconditioned for sale we spent as follows. We did an oil change, performed 4 wheel alignment, replaced air filter, replaced pollen filter, replaced battery, replaced left side cv axle assembly and we detailed the vehicle. We feel that if our cars in this price range our mechanically safe then we have provided our customers with a GREAT product the total amount spent in service was $1085.25. Unfortuantely with being the best price in the state on most of our used vehicles our profit margins are very small and cant make our used cars perfect. So we owned this vehicle for $2585.25 and made less than $500.00 profit, I pay my salesperson $200.00 and my managers get paid..... I lose and I get an upset customer and We are the bad guys? Unfortuantely a rear door not working was never included in the contract nor was it promised to fix. I would love to see how inexpensive I can get this repair done for as you can see I didnt make any money in order to fix the car or I would have because customer satisfaction is most important to us here at Larry H Miller Volkswagen. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not accept his "offer" to repair the door. Because to do so would have required I take down all statements on "social media" ... they still sold me a car with a broken door. They lied to me about the condition of the car they sold to me. Fixing my door does not negate this fact. Requiring me to take down these statements is like asking me to lie to the public as a prerequisite to fixing my door. Does Larry Miller usually try to coerce people like this when they get bad reviews? Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/27) */ I cancelled all products the consumer purchased in the finance office, I also offered to pay for a rear broken door latch if that would resolve all the social media negative reviews and the BBB review. The customer declined to accpet me to pay for repairs but we did refund him every finance product he purchased.

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Payment made for materials and service not rendered. We had purchased a package from a Larry ****** representative, for automotive maintenance, that they were promoting to gain new business. One of the items in the package was for an oil change, my vehicle is high mileage, so I use the high mileage oil synthetic oil, which has a higher cost. On my initial visit for the oil change, I had paid them for 3 oil changes, which I was told how they do it with that type of oil, I agreed to that. I had made an appointment to have an oil change, which would have been my third one, on this part of the package. The appointment was for 9:00 am on Saturday, 11 May 2013. I had arrived at the appointed time, and drove to the service bay area, the bay door was open with one car inside of a three car service bay. While I was waiting, no less than 2 other customers arrived, and were waiting outside as well. The one car in the service line was being reviewed by a service rep, while the other workers in the bay were not involved with any other customer or visible work. After having waited for a period of time, I had to leave, due to the fact that my spouse was on call, and needed to respond, and we could not wait any longer. Later in the morning I talked with two different customer service representatives, both of whom informed me that I would be contacted by the service manager, which has not has happened as of close of business, 13 May 2013. I also wrote them in the customer contact area, asking if I could not get service, if I could get my money back on what was paid, but no service rendered. It would be only 25.00, but if multiple people pay that, and do not receive it, that would add up. I don't see it being a difficult request, to either get service at an appointed time, when people are available for it, or refunding money paid for materials that were not provided.

Desired Settlement: If service cannot be provided at an appointed time, and there is no contact made, after having contacted them 3 times, then a refund for materials that were not provided should be in order.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/20) */ I do apologize for this. I will personally setup a time that will work for you to come in and get your oil change. This is the first that I have heard of this complaint and I will fix it. I hold my employees to a very high standard and I apologize for their under performace in this matter. our pre paid maintenence that you are refering to is a fantastic product and most of my customers do take advatage of it sue to the savings and the convienence of being able to get in and out in a resonable time. please contact me at the number provided and I will be happy to handle this for you in a timely matter.