This business is not BBB accredited.

John Elway Chevrolet on Colorado Boulevard

Phone: (303) 757-6161 1080 S Colorado Blvd, Denver, CO 80246 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.elwaydealers.com ! There is an alert on John Elway Chevrolet on Colorado Boulevard !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on John Elway Chevrolet on Colorado Boulevard
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 27, 2012 Business started: 05/03/2012 Business started locally: 05/03/2012 Business incorporated 05/03/2012 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Todd Maul, Managing Partner Adil Elomri, General Manager Ms. Debbie Waines
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Maul, Managing Partner
Customer Contact: Ms. Debbie Waines
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1080 S Colorado Blvd

    Denver, CO 80246 (303) 757-6161

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service performed on my vehicle on 12/27/14 was incomplete and late. The service engine light and ABS light remained on after the $900 service. We were staying in Denver for Christmas vacation and had car trouble, a leaking fuel regulator. I took our 2003 Chevy Venture in to the John Elway Chevrolet because they said they could give me a shuttle lift back to where I was staying. I arrived at 11:15 a.m. on Saturday, Dec 27 and was told to wait for the shuttle. At 11:45 I checked the status of the shuttle and was told that they would have a diagnosis on the van soon and would likely finish the work quickly. They didn't want to take me home only to have me return right away. At 12:30 I was informed that not only was there a leaking fuel regulator, but there was also a bad thermostat and a bad ABS sensor. I said I only wanted to fix the fuel regulator. The service rep appealed to me as a grandfather and said that if I was travelling with children I should really get the ABS problem fixed. I acquiesced and agreed to fix the ABS as well as the fuel regulator. The shop closed at 4 and they said they'd be done with the car well before that time. A friend then picked me up. I called at about 2:30 to see if the car was done and was told it would be ready at 3:30. At 3:30 I went to the service desk and was told that they were just "buttoning it up" and they would call me when they were finished. At 4:00 I went to the service desk again, afraid that it might close before I had my van. I was again told that they were "buttoning it up." At 4:15 there was still no movement so the service rep went back to see what the issue was. Finally at 4:30 they closed out the ticket so I could pay for the vehicle, nearly $900. I went to the parking lot to wait for them to drive up the van. I waited about 10 minutes before a young person who looked to be in high school drove the van up. When I got into the van to start it up, both the ABS light and the Service Engine Light were on! The person who drove the van to me was now attempting to get back into the locked service station when I asked him what was going on with the van. He only said, "They just told me to drive the van up. I don't know anything about it, and besides, we're closed now." I called the number for my service advisor. He did not answer so I left a voice mail saying how surprised and disappointed I had been with this process that now left me with essentially the same problems, and $900 poorer. Not only that, I had wasted a good portion of my day at this station. If I had been able to drop off the van at 11:15 and had a shuttle home that would have been ideal. Instead, perhaps because of my out-of-town license plate and the Christmas holiday, I'm afraid I had a big dollar sign target painted on the vehicle. I am disputing the entire amount.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the charges ($898.98).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/09/29) */ his complaint was not for John Elway Chevrolet on South Broadway. It was for the Colorado Blvd location that has since been closed.

3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought in our Tahoe is a couple months ago to get our engine replaced. Since that was done, I've had problems starting the car. Eventually I'd get it to start but this past Thursday it didn't and o was stuck in the mountains. I got my vehicle towed to this dealership and it turns out that the problem was an issue with the wires that connected to the starter. (Which they replaced when I got a new engine) I needed to get a new battery which I didn't mind but the wires were an error on their part when they did all my engine work. I never had an issue like this with my car until they did the work. I'd like to get my $150 back. I believe after the money I've spent at this dealership, the amount of money it took me to get it towed back to Denver from Eldora and the inconvenience it caused me by being stuck for 7 hours, is enough. I don't believe we should have paid and it I would have been there when the vehicle was picked up, I wouldn't have paid a dime. This is an error on there service department and I'd like my money back. After spending almost 10,000 at this dealership to have them fix my car and then get stuck in the mountains because of their error and to charge me for it, is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $150

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/03) */ The guest will need to contact Cherry Creek Chevrolet. This is the new owners of the dealership. The buy/sell happened on Dec 18, 2014

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to respond regarding damage claim assistance from Enterprise rental through GM during recall. In March of 2014 my GM vehicle (2006 Chevy Cobalt) was left with John Elway service for the ignition switch recall. I was given a rental vehicle (Chevy Captiva) from Enterprise, which was paid for by GM and should have included a damage waiver. It took GM 6 months to provide the part for the John Elway service department. I had the rental for the duration of this time. I returned the rental car to John Elway when picking up my car on August 28, 214. I did not receive a walk through of the car at that time. John Elway returned the rental to Enterprise. I was later contacted by Enterprise and notified that there was a scratch on the car. I told them there had been no incident in which I scratched the car, nor was there a scratch to my knowledge when I returned the vehicle. Enterprise submitted a claim against me in the amount of $543.54. I contacted John Elway repeatedly from 9/29/14 through 12/11/14. During this time, my car was returned to John Elway twice for "new" issues. Once three days after receiving the car in August, when the ECM unit died. I was told this was unrelated to the ignition switch repair and paid $908.91 for the repair. After this repair my car began leaking water from the dash. I dropped the car off at John Elway along with the Enterprise claim on 10/8/14 and said both needed to be taken care of by my return on 10/20/14. When I picked up the car on 10/20/14, they had repaired my leaking issue at no charge, but lost the Enterprise paperwork and said the manager would call me. I tracked down the managed on 10/30/14. He said he'd return my call the next day. I didn't hear from him for three weeks, despite leaving repeated messages. On 11/20/14 I tagged GM corporate and John Elway in an accusatory twitter message. I was promptly contacted by both GM and John Elway. Within 24 hours I was contacted by Service Manage Travis Busby who said he would contact Enterprise and GM regarding the damage waiver. I spoke with Travis again briefly on 11/26, before I left town for a week, and he was still waiting to hear from Enterprise. Since returning I've called Travis and left voicemails on 12/5, 12/9, 12/10, and today 12/11 with no response.

Desired Settlement: I want the Enterprise claim paid by GM in the amount of $543.53.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/12/19) */ I was contacted by the business and they are going to take care of the payment.

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor customer service, have left several message in regards to my complaint which no one at ********** cared to handle or address prior to now. I have made several calls to the ********** dealership in regards to the certified used *** I purchased in October 2013. Recently there have been serious service issues that needing to be completed on my vehicle. On March 3rd, 2014 I had my vehicle in the dealerships service department for a standard oil change and a leak that I had noticed. When in the service department they had noticed several problems with the vehicle that needed to be performed such as power steering hose, a/c condenser hose, transmission, as well as front shocks and struts. I had declined the services as the total for these issues came to $*******. The service advisor ***** emailed me a copy of the issues that needed to be fixed so that I could take the vehicle to another location to get the services completed as I could not afford to pay that amount. When I had purchased the vehicle I had also purchased an extended warranty thru a third party. ***** the service advisor at ********** had stated that the warranty was only for power steering. On the paperwork that I have from ********** it does not state a power train warranty and doesn't have a signature from the dealership! I have several concerns in regards to this matter. Right now I am driving a vehicle with repairs that need to be completed and cannot get a response from any manager(s) at **********. I have contacted 2 people at ********** in the customer service department and still have not received a call back in regards to my complaints and comments. I left a message for *** on Monday April 21st, 2014 and talked with her supervisor *** and still have not received a call back.

Desired Settlement: Below are my questions and concerns needing to be addressed. 1. What warranty do I have on my vehicle? My paperwork is unclear and not valid. 2. I want a copy of the carfax report 3. I want a copy of the 172 point inspection done on my vehicle prior to my purchase in October 2013. 4. I would like the repairs completed on the vehicle that the service department recommended on March 3rd, 2014 Per the ********** promise item number * we promise that everything we do will be about taking care of you, our guest would actually be true! Customers shouldn't have to file a BBB complaint to have a manager or someone willing to help a customer.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/12) */ Ms. ******* vehicle has been fixed and the warranty that she originally purchased has been corrected too. We feel that this dispute has been resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My vehicle has been fixed but is still needing a final inspection From a third party. I also have not received the corrected carfax, warranty paperwork or the original inspection paperwork as requested when I opened this bbb case. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/05/21) */ It is our understanding that Ms. ***** was provided with all documents at her last visit. *********, our *************** has been trying to get in contact with Ms. ***** about her warranty with no return text or phone call. ************, our Service Manager has also been reaching out to Ms. ***** also, with no return contact. Please have Ms. ***** contact **** or ****** so we can try to resolve her remaining issues.

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a car in violation of Emissions Law and John Elway has refused to reimburse me for the cost of the repairs to pass emissions inspection. I believe John Elway Chevrolet sold me a vehicle in violation of Colorado Emissions Law (42-4-309 & 42-4-310). I purchased a 2010 Camaro from John Elway Chevrolet in early November of 2013. In January 2014 upon expiration of the temporary registration I attempted to re-register the vehicle but was unable to because the dealership did not conduct the emissions inspection prior to sale as required by emissions law. On January 17 the car failed the 1st emissions test. I immediately informed the dealership. The car was at the dealership for emissions repairs on January 17 and again on January 20-28. During that time the car failed two more emissions tests and the dealership basically did not want to repair the car as it was sold and kept pushing the issue resolution responsibility on me. After 9 days of the emissions issue not being resolved and not getting straight answers from the dealership, on January 28 I put the dealership on notice. I picked up the car and proceeded to resolve the issue myself with the help of 3rd Party Shops/Mfg. After re-tuning the car and a 4th failed emissions inspection the 3rd Party Shop determined the catalytic converters on the car were bad. On February 21, I informed the dealership of the issue and that I wanted to replace the cats with the same brand sold with the car. On February 28 the dealership finally responded with a refusal to pay for the replacement of the faulty catalytic converters sold with the car and the same offer for issue resolution from January 20-28. On March 6 I put the dealership on notice and proceeded with catalytic converter replacement. On March 14 the car passed emissions inspection and was registered. I submitted a request for reimbursement on March 17 and currently the dealership declines to reimburse me for the repairs to get the car passed emissions inspections. John Elway Chevrolet's one and only offer for repair to pass the emissions test was for me to obtain/provide the original stock exhaust system from the previous owner, bring it to the dealership and they would completely remove and replace the current exhaust system on the car with the stock system for no charge. By doing this, John Elway Chevrolet put the responsibility of finding the necessary parts to make the repairs for Emissions Inspection on me. John Elway Chevrolet has also put the cost and logistics of resolving the car's emissions issue on me. John Elway Chevrolet made no offers to obtain and provide the original stock exhaust system from the previous owner, John Elway Chevrolet made no offers to provide and install a stock system of their own and John Elway Chevrolet made no attempts or offers to repair the exhaust system sold with the car. John Elway Chevrolet had the car in their shop for emissions repairs and they de-tune the car, put E85 in the tank, push me to make all the phone calls, push me to get all the pieces and parts from the previous owner, and then tell me they were working on tuning the car while really doing nothing. I lost all trust in John Elway Chevrolet at that point. John Elway Chevrolet placed the responsibility of getting this car to pass emissions inspection on me. By John Elway Chevrolet putting this responsibility on me John Elway Chevrolet now has the responsibility of reimbursing the customer to obtain the necessary repairs to pass emissions. I submit this complaint in request for help to resolve this issue with the dealership and receive the reimbursement I am owed for obtaining the necessary repairs to pass emissions inspection on the car they sold me. My points of contact at the dealership have been Travis Busby - Service Manager, Mike McCoy - Sales and I have included Greg Wing - General Manager in all written correspondence with the dealership. Due to the emissions law implications, I have also filed complaints with the Colorado Department of Revenue. I have supporting documentation for all my claims and can provide them upon request.

Desired Settlement: I have supporting documents for all costs associated with reimbursement of repairs to pass emissions inspections. Can provide upon request. Total Requested: $1,135.00 Total Cost Break Down: 17-Jan Initial Emissions Test Fee (Failed)$25.00 17-Jan Mileage: Initial Round Trip for Failed Emissions Test, trip to Dealership for Resolution (Set Engine Module to Stock)and back to Emissions for 2nd Failing Test 67 @ $0.56=$37.52 20-Jan Mileage: Second Round Trip To Dealership for Resolution (Informed by Service Manager/E85 in Tank and 3rd Failed Emissions Test on 21-Jan) 55 @ $0.56 = $30.80 28-Jan Mileage: Third Round Trip to Dealership - P/U After 10 days & No Resolution - No Service Ticket Provided Documenting Work Performed, Problems with Equipment, Etc. 55 @ $0.56 = $30.80 29-Jan Mileage: Initial Round Trip to 3rd Party Shop **** - 2 Cars 135 $0.56 $75.60 18-Feb Cost of 3rd Party Tuning/Re-Calibration (****) 1 $200.00 $200.00 18-Feb Mileage: Pick-up Round-trip to 3rd Party Shop - 2 Cars 135 $0.56 $75.60 18-Feb Mileage: Round-Trip 4th Emissions Test - Failed, **** Recommends Replacement of Cats on 24-Feb 10 $0.56 $5.60 28-Feb Purchase New Catalytic Converters (Replacing Faulty Cats Sold with the Car - ARH) 1 $393.58 $393.58 14-Mar Install Labor for Replacement Cats (*******************) 1 $100.00 $100.00 14-Mar 5th Emissions Test Fee - Pass After Cat Replacement 1 $25.00 $25.00 14-Mar Car Wash - Due to Car Sitting at Shops and in Inclement Weather for 30 or more Days (******* of Castle Rock) 1 $13.00 $13.00 15-Mar Fluid Inspections/Checks & Replace Oil: No Trust In Dealership to perform Inspections/Checks Prior to Sale (************************* CR) 1 $94.41 $94.41 14-Mar & 15-Mar Mileage: Round-Trip: Muffler Shop, 5th Emissions Test, 2nd DMV Registration, Car Wash & Oil Change 50 $0.56 $28.00 $1,134.91

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/04/29) */ As you can see this complaint is very involved. And while we do not agree with all of Mr.*******'s claims we want to inform you of the end result. *********, our GM contact Mr.******* and agree to pay for the repairs needs for the vehicle to pass emissions. We feel that this complaint is resolved.

4/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle and never received final paperwork, i.e. bill of sale, purchase agreement, transfer of title, and so forth (finance packet) Purchased vehicle - 8/13/13 Loan fell through - dealership worked with another back to finance Re-signed paperwork - 10/01/13 I have been attempting since 10/01/13 to receive the signed financial packet from the dealership. I have left voicemails and sent emails. No response.

Desired Settlement: N/A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/29) */ Our General Manager, ********* reached out to the guest to provide everything that she needs. We apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have yet to receive all the finance papers that were signed to complete the purchase. No bill of sale, title change, purchase contract, etc. Please forward all signed finance documents. I have not received a call, email, or any notification of resolution to this matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/03/20) */ *********, our General Manager reached out to ******* to resolve this issue and provide her with the documents she requested. We consider this issue resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No one has reached out. This is ridiculous. I haven't even been able to register the vehicle since the purchase. I have sent an email to the media notifying them of the business practices of this dealership. I have been dealing with this since last August. I am not pleased. I thank the BBB for their attempts in assiting resolution with this matter.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have been quite rude to us through the process of purchasing a new car. They misled us on 11/11/13. They told us to come down to the dealership at 8:30pm to re-sign paperwork. When we arrived, they took possession of the vehicle and left us stranded at 9pm. They were EXTREMELY rude on the phone call prior to us arriving at the dealership as well. Product_Or_Service: 2009 Chevy Malibu

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like a call from the general manager so we can explore our options.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/13) */ Mr. ****** is at our location as I type this response. He is looking to become a co-signer on a car deal that we were not able to get funded as the applicant had a change of employment while going through the financing process. Based on this we were not able to get funding and had to take the vehicle back. We are working with Mr. ****** to see if adding him to the application will fix the issue.

10/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took them a month to declare my car totaled. Then prematurely released it to an impound/auction site, w/ my personal belongings and plates. They took a month to declare my car totaled--fine. Leading up to that they never other to give me a full estimate--fine. My insurance company had them on the phone on a Monday and the John Elway rep verbally acknowledged that they would not release my car until after the Friday of that week. This would allow me time to gather the personal possessions I still had in the car and get the license plates. I work an 8-5 schedule and took off work early on the Wednesday to get my belongings, as they close at 6pm and I figured I would not make it in traffic. When I called to confirm which location had my car they said they already released it to an impound/auction lot. The rep on the phone confirmed that he was the rep who my insurance rep and I spoke with on Monday and stated that the owner, me, had said it was okay to release it. I stated that was not the truth, that the agreement was that I would have until at least Friday to get my belongings and plates. He then said it was released Monday through Friday--which makes no sense--and the tow company came early. He accepted no blame for this and did nothing to help. He defensively stated they would take no action to assist me despite it being their fault. Neither myself or my insurance company gave authorization to release the car "early." The conversation was recorded by my insurance company, and there certainly was no written authorization. As an auto shop they should be aware of Colorado laws which allow me to retain the license plates. Common sense alone would dictate either holding the car, or at the very least removing the plates prior to letting it be towed to an impound/auction lot. I asked to speak to the manager. He said he would get the manager and put me on hold. Several minutes later he said the manager was not available but would call me back that night. The manager did not call me back. The impound lot is extremely out of the way and I will have to take more time off from work because of John Elway Collision Center's lack of respect for customers, their extreme incompetence, and bold-faced dishonesty. I have no guarantee that the impound/auction lot has not sold my car already, or if they will before I get a chance to go there. I also have no confidence that my personal possessions have not been stolen.

Desired Settlement: They can tow my car back to their lot so I can retrieve my belongings and plates. If my navigation system and ipod are missing I want to be reimbursed. I also want to be reimbursed the registration fees for my plates should they fail to retrieve those.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/01) */ We understand how frustrating a accident can be and waiting on an insurance company to total a vehicle is never easy. We cannot control the time it takes for an insurance company to make a decision. Also, we spoke to the insurance company and they have it on record that Mr. ******** did agree to release the vehicle. Our Collision Center does not control the release of vehicles, that is done by a 3 way phone call with the Insurance Company, owner and we are also on the call. Once the approval is given the insurance company makes arrangements for the car to be towed. We suggest that Mr. ******** address this issue with his insurance agent as we have to comply with their instructions.

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: car smells like cigarette smoke, finance mgr said registration was included in price. 1-The car must have belonged to a heavy smoker-the dealership disguised the smell while car was on lot, the smell did not appear for several days after we got it home. My wife has COPD from second hand smoke and I am very offended by the smell of cigarette smoke. We have tried to live with the discomfort because we really liked the car. 2-When I asked the Finance Manager if there were any other out of pocket expenses, such as registration tags, he said that everything was included in the deal. 3-The car is all wheel drive and the car has uneven tire wear, I was told by several different tire shops that this will damage the drive train. When I confronted the Used Car Manager, Finance Manager and General Manager with this, I was told that I was trying to get something for nothing and that they would not talk to me anymore. I had to pay the registration fees of $320.21 out of pocket because the DMV would not give me any more extensions while I went thru the complaint process.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I would like the dealership to take the car back and reimburse me for the DMV fees. I have an extremely difficult time driving a car that smells like an ashtray- my throat and eyes burn while driving the car if I do not have the windows open or the AC on high.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/09/09) */ We are sorry that Mr.********** is experiencing a smoke smell. We would be happy to detail the vehicle again. We are unable to take the car back at this point. John Elway Automotive does not pay registration fees for our guests. We do collect a title fee and taxes (based upon the city the car is to be registered) if the vehicle is financed. However we do not collect registion and plate fees. We reveiwed the paperwork and do not see any notes that Mr.********** requested new tires during the purchase. We would be happy to see him tires at our dealership cost. We strive to clean, inspect and communicate with our guests. *********, the General Manager of the store would be happy to arrange for the detail and for Mr.********** to purchase new tires at dealership cost. He can be reached at ************. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was told by the Used Car Sales Manager that "I was just trying to get something for nothing and I am not going to discuss it any further with you" and that was the last thing that I have ever heard back from Elway Chevrolet. I had brought the car in one Saturday so that the manager could smell the smell of smoke, he gave me a spray can of something to spray in the car that was supposed to work for a day or two, probably the same stuff they sprayed in the car before I bought the car. The Finance Manager that I dealt with at the time of purchase is "no longer with the company", I wonder why!!! I was told by him that the DMV fees were a part of the purchase price and "that there would be no additional out of pocket expenses for me". I did not know to mention anything about tires until I was told by several tire shops that because the car is an AWD, the tire wear must be the same all around or it would damage the drivetrain; the car has had a howeling noise coming from the read end since we bought it. As far as buying tires goes, I would never buy anything from Elway again, if Elway wants to give me a set of brand new tires, I would consider that as fair compensation for getting hosed on the DMV fees issue and the rolling cigarette butt. The only thing that Elway Chevrolet strived to clean was my wallet!!! I have a car that smells like cigarette smoke, I have to continually buy air vent deoderizers just to make the car habitable for my wife and I. I am 100% certain that had this car smelled like it does while on the lot, it never would have sold. The only person that did a good job here was the detail shop guy. With Elways name plastered all over town, you would think that he would not let something like this happen- maybe this is why he got out of the car business the last time. All I wanted was a nice car for my wife to drive, I put out a lot of money for this car- more that I should have and what I got is a rolling ashtray on mismatched tires. I guess I am going to have to go to the media with my problem child of a car. **************

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Elway service department refuses to fix a transmission they installed that turned out to be defective I took my 2003 mitsubishi lancer to elway chevrolet to have insurance work performed by them. Their service department installed a used transmission with turned out to be defective and does not shift properly. I have taken the car to amco transmission and the transmission was checked out and was infact defective I proceeded to return the car to elway chevrolet where they denied any problems with the transmission which is still under warranty. They have told me they will not be working on the vehicle at all and are not going to fix the defective transmission they installed in my vehicle

Desired Settlement: I want the transmission in my vehicle to peform the way it was promised. I would like to have the transmission fixed if at the least a refund to go get it fixed properly. So in short I would prefer to have it replaced if not I want a refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/09) */ We understand *********** frustration, however we are unable to do the work needed as we are at the mercy of her insurance company. ********* needs to contact her agent and optain their approval and then we can perform the work. **********, our Body Shop Director would be happy to help in any way. He can be reached at ************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on John Elway Chevrolet on Colorado Boulevard
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart