BBB Accredited Business since

Groove Toyota

Phone: (303) 218-7130 View Additional Phone Numbers 5460 S Broadway, Englewood, CO 80113 http://www.grooveautomotive.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Groove Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Groove Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Groove Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 24, 2009 Business started: 08/30/2007 Business started locally: 08/30/2007 Business incorporated 07/16/2009 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Carmichael, CEO Mr. Robert Edwards, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Carmichael, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Edwards, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Additional Locations

  • 5460 S Broadway

    Englewood, CO 80113 (303) 761-3222 (303) 218-7130

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Information withheld from me at time of negotiation caused me to purchase a service contract I do not need. I discovered this information later. I purchased a new Toyota Prius Hybrid car. I was led to believe (through a service dept. horror story) that if I did not buy the extended warranty, I may have to pay approximately $8000 for a new battery, as it was not guaranteed for more than 36 mo. or XXXXX miles. I later discovered in the "Warranty and Maintenance Guide" that the Hybrid System, which includes the battery in question, is guaranteed for 96 mo.or XXXXXX miles. They give you so many manuals to read for this car that it took me a while to look through them all. I have no intention of keeping any car that long, therefore, I would certainly not need that coverage.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to rewrite my purchase contract to reflect NO additional coverage beyond the standard warranty. I want the terms I originally was offered. 60 mo., interest-free at $349 per month. The additional warranty caused the payments to be increased by $26 per month and 12 additional months at 3.99% interest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ This is the first time we have heard about this customers complaint ..Normally if there is an issue the customer would call us first and we would do everything in our power to help them.At this point I **** contact the customer and do what I can to rectify the situation.. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not yet. Mr. ******** (Finance Mgr.) has assured me that he would send the cancellation form I filled out for him to Toyota Financial to remove the amount of the service/warranty/gap contract I was tricked into signing. As of 5 minutes ago, my account balance did not reflect the change. I am sure they are working on it, but it is not done. Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ ***** R. ******* Purchased a 2015 Prius from Groove Toyota ..At that time he purchased a service contract and other options ..He contracted at 72 months at 3.99 he signed all the legal documents in full and was fully aware of what he was doing and signing...We sent the loan docs to the lender and was funded on 3/16 .The customer came back on 4/3 to cancel the warranty / gap etc which we did do and the refund went back to the lender and came of his loan..It was to late at that point to re-contract his loan and he was advised of that at that time..Groove toyota has done everything they can to help Mr.*******....Thank you ... Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ From: ***** ******* (mailto:************@yahoo.com) Sent: Tuesday, June 09, XXXX X:XX AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: (SPAM) Re: BBB Complaint Case# 75240654 (Ref#XX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX) Importance: Low ********* Toyota finally did remove the disputed amount from my account balance. However, I've still got to pay interest on this loan. Before I was lied to, I was approved for an interest - free loan. The finance manager says that is the best he can do for me. So, this is as resolved as it is going to be. Thank you, ***** *******

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: told I had more time to return the vehicle. Then told I couldn't return it because of mileage after a lot of pressure. Out of despair I hastily signed up for a vehicle so I could drive for uber I was told I had 20 days to decide. I decided no. Took the Prius back and was told I only had 4 days. After pressure I was then told I could return it but I would have to come up with $2000 all at once to do so. So I hastily signed again but found it strange that I wasn't told about mileage issues and not given a payment option for them. So now I'm stuck with a vehicle that I felt swindled into. I'm not sure what to do nor what can be done and could use some advice.

Desired Settlement: I don't know what is possible. I Really can't afford to pay for all those miles now and feel like that wasn't stressed well initially at all.they said I could return it for $500 and that would have been great. I have been in a difficult situation and am really confused. Before making an official complaint I'd like to have a discussion even if it is via email on the aspects of this please. It's a difficult thing whether it is returned or not.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/04/27) */ Groove Toyota has a 4 Day / 200 mile return policy. This policy is for each and every customer that purchases either a new or preowned vehicle. Beyond this return policy we don't accept vehicle returns. This is in place to protect the customer first and the dealership second. Most dealers don't have a return policy. We believe this really emphases the "Power of Yes" and puts the customer in control.

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we leased a new toyota and 22 days later *** **** called & said the buyout was 17k not 8,900 and wanted us to bring car back (for more mone from us). CLARIFIC ATION PLZ!!! hello, leased a new Toyota RAV4 from Groove Toyota, & they bought out our lease of a 2014 chevy cruze. somehow groove Toyota got wrong info from **** financing, and got the wrong payout amount. Evidently **** financing who leased us the 2014 cruze told Groove the buyout was $8,900, so we got financed right away (same day) thru the dealership by ********* Svcs., and drove the new RAV4 off the lot. We gave all the paperwork (lease paperwork) to Groove prior to us getting financed. Then 22 days later I get a call from *** ***** finance mgr, who got us financed w/ the RAV4, and said the actual payout was $17k, not $8,900. It's not our fault somebody messed up, and now he said we might have to bring the RAV4 back. What is our legal standing, since the car is in our name, and we've had it now almost a month??? We were told that this is "yo-yo" finaning and illegal for the dealership to do. evidently they do this to get the customer to refinance at a higher rate, or bring the car back and end up buying a more expensive car. Groove has already requested a refund from **** (with whom we leased the 2014 cruze) and received all their money back. *** ***** again called me this pm and wanted us to bring the SUV back and refinance at a higher payment. This is obviously fraud, and would like a resolution, we still have the option to report this to the Attorney General's Ofc., for investigation and possible fraud prosecution! thanks for your help, ***** XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: we would like Groove Toyota to absorb the difference between the 8,900 and 17k because it is their fault, and our RAV4 stays with us at the payment amount agreed upon. And for our suffering and mental stress and anguish, pay us $2,500 (which is a nominal amount for our emtional/physical/bodily stress as my husband has a pacemaker & is having chest pains over this), and i have ptsd and having more & more panic attacks. We want some justice here.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/03/04) */ On 02/05/2015 ***** ******** came in with ******* ************* and leased a 2015 Toyota rav 4.They traded a 2014 Chevy Cruze which they told our sales person the payoff was $8900.00 we did not tell them what the payoff was..We sent the payoff amount to the lender in which they told us the payoff was $17900.00 not $8900.0 at that point we contacted the customer to let them know that the payoff they provided was incorerect and what would they like to do to correect the problem at that point the customer said this was our fault and not theirs.At that point I explained how the payoff would be their responsability not the dealerships they still thought it was our fault..We did what we could to help in this situation but we could not come to an agreemant and the customer returned the Rav 4 which is in the body shop with $4000.00 worth of damage..The dealership did absolutley nothing wrong in this case..

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Performed services not authorized. Charged me for services when I have an all-inclusive service plan, less wear and tear parts. I brought my 2011 FJ Cruiser in to the same dealership, Groove Toyota Scion, where I purchased it. I purchased an extended warranty. I brought it in for the covered oil change on September 15th, 14. I got a call on the 15th stating that I needed new wiper blades and they weren't covered. I had replaced the wiper blades myself 2 months earlier. I declined that repair. They said okay and they would call me when finished. No other repair needs were mentioned. Scott O. called later the same day and said the car was ready and the balance was 326.40. I asked what that was for and he said the repairs that had been made to include Fuel System Cleaner, Battery Service, protector pads, cabin air filter, brake adjustment, tire rotation, front end alignment, oil change, oil change kit, coolant, replace engine air filter all on Rec. #289643. I said I have a warranty. He said I didn't. I said he and I had done this same discussion when the door locks went out and I'd had to prove it then too. He said it was no longer covered. I said I'd be in to discuss it with my warranty plan SYJ on Cust number 15600968. He said okay. I had just paid for battery replace, tires, and brakes in June on Invoice 276997, so the other items confused me as well. I wasn't able to make it in that night. I wen tin the next day with my card. They said they'd need to charge me for the items anyway. I said I had my card. They said they still needed to charge me and didn't know how to call in the plan I was referring to. I asked for the manager's number, they pointed to the work rec. I paid for the FJ so I could drive it home and called Joe Coursey at ******************* and left a message asking him to call me. I then called the Toyota Service number for Corporate on the card and got a call center. The gentleman, Mark, took my info and apologized saying they may not have understood the process. He sent me a check for $65 which was what they would have paid on my service plan had Groove called to get authorization and that no other services should have been required based on my service schedule. I waited a week and did not hear from Joe Coursey, so I called and left another message. I waited another 2 weeks and then decided I needed to do something more. I typically just don't do service with a company that handles service this way, but I've done a lot of business with them and feel this must be in error.

Desired Settlement: I'm looking for the amount I paid on September 16th, 326.40, to be refunded back to my card less the $65 check the Toyota Care Plus plan issued to me. I'd also like a manager to go back to my previous invoice, 276997, and ensure that I was properly charged as now I have no faith I wasn't over charged based on this experience.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/04) */ Due to lack of communication and clear understzanding of services performed Groove Toyota will be refunding 261.40 to customers credit card. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I appreciate your understanding and response in this matter. Thanks.

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Groove Toyota and/or************************** owe me a refund for cancelled extended service agreements and will not issue the refund. I purchased a Toyota Highlander from Groove Toyota in Denver 8/4/12 and also purchased their prepaid maintenance program for 5 years at a cost of $895 and extended warranty for $2,420 for 6 years. I cancelled both agreements with Groove at their office on 10/19/13 because I was selling the Highlander and purchasing a new vehicle. Groove was to return to me the prorated cost of both cancelled agreements or reduce the amount of my vehicle loan with**************************. When I purchased a Lexus from ********** in Colorado Springs on November 11, the refund had not been applied against my loan nor had Groove or***************** returned the prorated funds. I have contacted Groove and***************** repeatedly since November 2013 and have had no satisfaction in resolving the issue. I am entitled to the prorated refunds and expect a check immediately

Desired Settlement: The prorated refund due on the maintenance program is $686, and the prorated refund due on extended warranty is $1950 for a total due of $2636.00.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/04/25) */ HI.. information on *********. Her cancellation was sent to **** on 10/21/2013. As a general rule cancellation refunds take 6-8 weeks. As you can see her refund was sent to *** on 11/7/2013 and cleared our bank on 11/12/2013. I have been the only one processing cancellations since the middle of November ...her refund would have been applied to her balance with Toyota Credit..*********** Office Clerk Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 14, 2014/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) This was resolved by Kuni Lexus last month.

10/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership ran hard credit inquiry despite no authorization and a cash sale. I purchased a car and clearly stated that I was paying cash; and did pay cash before I left with the car. I clearly stated they were NOT authorized to run my credit. I never filled out any financing applications nor finance areas of forms. Salesman Kevin said confirmed they would not run a hard credit inquiry. Yet I find out their financing dept DID run a hard credit inquiry on Sept 30th, thus dropping my credit score.

Desired Settlement: If they can, they should undo the hard credit inquiry and erase it from my history with the three bureau. If not, I am entitled to cash compensation under Federal Law 15 U.S.C. § 1681, Fair Credit Reporting Act, in line with precedent court rulings.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ Mr. ******** signed our Toyota Financial Services credit application and we ran an inquiry to determine red flags and identity. He wrote us a personal check and it's the store's policy to run an inquiry to verify identity. He signed our application and we gave him a copy of this app for his records. thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Groove Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)