BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1989

Frontier Honda, LTD

(303) 772-2900710 S Main St, LongmontCO 80501-6451

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1989

BBB has determined that Frontier Honda, LTD meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Frontier Honda, LTD's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Frontier Honda, LTD

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to repair a safety defect that should be covered under warranty
The SRS (Supplemental Restraint System) warning light came on my dashboard. This is a known design/quality defect. Honda provided extended warranty coverage for this item for 150,000 miles/10 years. I took the car in for service on 7/16/2013, 3 months and 5 days beyond 10 years. Given the mileage of the vehicle and the fact that the car was just beyond warranty, I expected that it would be fixed as a warranty item. Instead I was billed $65.14 for reading a code from the diagnostic log. This was a required check by Honda because it could have been a seat belt sensor issue which would have been covered for no charge. Since this error code (15-3 ODS Unit Failure) appears typically after several sensor errors, it is probable that the errors were occurring even during the extended warranty period. I also asked for a complete listing of the diagnostic codes since I paid for it, but I was refused and told it wasn't available.

The dealership, Frontier Honda of Longmont, Colorado and Honda Corporation were unwilling to perform any service without me paying for it. The estimate for the additional work was $403.40 plus tax.

I was the Hardware Product Manager for several worldwide printer products of a Fortune 100 corporation. I find it inconceivable that Honda would sacrifice their reputation, customer good will, and potential future liability exposure over this item.

I would strongly encourage a mandatory recall of all affected vehicles given the approach Honda is taking.

Desired Settlement
Repair completed under warranty

Business' Initial Response
On Friday 08/30/13 I received a call from American Honda Customer Relations.They stated that they have reviewed the case and have given me auth. to order and replace the OPDs unit at no change to the customer as a one time goodwill gesture. I will contact the customer today 08/30/13 and inform him of Honda's decision.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am pleased that Honda was willing to make this gesture.

08/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AC Repair not done correctly
My AC worked alright last summer. They found a leak in the hose they said while rotating the tires and gave me an estimate. I had the work done, a month later turned it on, it was not cooling the car. They checked it again and said I now needed a condenser that a rock must have hit it. If that had happened there would be coolant everywhere on my motor and I would have heard it. They refuse to do the repairs as they should have the first time. Either their mechanic nicked it, or didn't see it while working there.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the work I have already paid for or Honda to fix the issue without additionally charging me.

Business' Initial Response
IN RESPONSE TO HER CLAIM: ON 3/16/13 AT 125,905 MILES WE FOUND A LEAK AT THE A/C SYSTEM DISCHARGE LINE. WE REPLACED THE LINE AND THE SHRADER VALVE AND RECHARGED THE SYSTEM. IT WAS COOLING CORRECTLY WHEN WE RETURNED THE CAR TO HER. ON 6/13/13 AT 129,299 (3 MONTHS & OVER 3,000 MILES LATER) SHE CAME IN WITH A CONCERN THAT THE A/C WAS NOT COLD. WE FOUND A PUNCTURE IN THE A/C CONDENSOR FINS. IT LOOKED AS IF A ROCK HAD HIT IT. THIS CAUSED THE R132A REFRIDGERANT TO LEAK OUT. THIS IS A GAS THAT YOU CAN NOT SEE. AT THE PUNCTURE SIGHT YOU MAY SEE A SLIGHT TRACE OF COMPRESSOR OIL OR LEAK DETECTION DYE,NOT COOLANT AS SHE STATED. COOLANT WOULD BE FROM THE RADIATOR WHICH IS MOUNTED BEHIND THE A/C CONDENSOR. WE OFFERED HER, AS A GOODWILL GESTURE, TO INSTALL THE CONDENSOR AND RECHARGE THE SYSTEM WITH NO CHARGE FOR LABOR. SHE WOULD ONLY HAVE TO PAY FOR THE PART. WE ORDERED THE PART BUT WE HAVE NOT HEARD FROM HER SINCE.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have had the problem corrected at another shop.

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/21/1989Business started: 03/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Donna Garcia (Business Manager)Mr. Jerry Brassfield (President)Mr. Jeff LaBrec (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Stunt Guys, Inc.
Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Frontier Honda, LTD

710 S Main St

Longmont, CO 80501-6451

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Frontier Honda, LTD is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.