BBB Accredited Business since

Flatirons Acura - Subaru

Phone: (303) 442-2544 Fax: (303) 541-9968 View Additional Phone Numbers 5995 Arapahoe Ave, Boulder, CO 80303 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.flatironsimports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Flatirons Acura - Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Flatirons Acura - Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Flatirons Acura - Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1988 in CO Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Scott Crouch, Owner Mr. Mike Boudrieau, Service Manager Mrs. Ann Morris, Business Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Boudrieau, Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Scott Crouch, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Additional Locations

  • 5995 Arapahoe Ave

    Boulder, CO 80303 (303) 443-0114

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased pre-owned vehicle with full powertrain warranty. Within days following, noticed serious transmission issues. Dealership denies issue I have purchased a pre-owned vehicle from Flatirons Acura and within the days following, I noticed serious transmission issues. The dealership invited me to bring my car in to have it inspected and unsurprisingly, they were unable to reproduce while I was not present. The manager of used sales very very rude, claiming there is nothing wrong with the car, even saying he "has driven race cars" and I don't know what I am talking about. Acura released a TSB directly addressing the exact issue and can be found through searching for Acura TSB XX-XXX. The manager says we can "undo the deal" meaning I can bring the car back. I do not wish to do so, I want a fixed properly working car, but the manager was irritable and unwilling to resolve the issue. I suspect they are fully aware of the issue and unwilling to fix it, but rather force this car off onto someone else who is less observant or unfortunate.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a fix to the transmission. I want this car, but it is broken and the warranty is not being honored. I traded in a vehicle for this. I do not want my car back. If a refund is appropriate, I wish to have a refund of the sale price for the vehicle

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/07/13) */ We visited with the customer the day after the complaint was filed. Although we were unable to reproduce the issue, we performed a complimentary transmission flush and agreed to extend the warranty on the transmission. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Poor response, really. I did meet with the organization and after total refusal for my request, I had no option but to leave after managing to get a transmission flush (which has not fixed the core issue). I wanted to return the car and get mine back, but the org states they would have to approve me for financing to get my vehicle back at a rate they could not promise. I then tried getting a cash refund for the dollar value trade difference on the vehicle, walking out the door without either car, but the org was unable to do so either. Was stuck with car as is, and although the warranty was extended, it likely does not matter as they were unwilling to fix my initial issue. I don't see how an additional 3 months of 'warranty coverage' will solve anything if they are not willing to perform the service. Finally, they claim to not be able to reproduce the issue. It's a known issue that happens periodically with a TSB issues by Acura urging dealerships to fix as goodwill. I feel like my word should be enough to perform the fix due to the nature of the inconsistent issue. Total roadblock, but no other options. Final Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2015/07/27) */ Customer has been difficult for us since day one. Rude and argumentitive with all interactions and making unreasonable demands even before purchase. This was a down-trade situation. He used the equity in his newer, more expensive trade to purchase this car with cash. We offered him his old car back but he wasn't happy when he learned he needed to secure a loan for the difference. We've made every effort to find a problem with this car and everytime we find nothing. We've even offered to pay for repairs at another Acura dealer if they can reprodcue this issue. Any suggestions on how to resolve this? Thanks. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would generally consider that response as immature. Using my attitude towards the poor service I received as a defense is both irrelevant to the facts and not a step forward to right the situation. Reading your response, it's kind of a tell-all of your awareness about the issue if your only strategy is to take personal jabs. Talk about being unprofessional and no interest to uphold your reputation the community. I regards to "giving my old car back," this dealership could not guarantee the 0.9% APR I originally had with my original vehicle. Of course I am not interested to move fourth, why would I pay a substantial amount of extra cash to "undo a deal" I feel wronged on? Sounds like a potential bad move for me - so yes, feel free to bring it up, but it should be obvious I am not interested in that deal, and using that to reinforce your goodwill and my disinterest to remedy the situation is silly. I am unaware of any unreasonable demands I have made. I wish to have my car operating correctly - which involves service. Perhaps this could be considered "unreasonable" because the service is nor simple or inexpensive - two things of which should not be my problem. If the service took 30 min and 5$ in parts, I'd be willing to bet my livelihood it would not have come to this. Sure, we can resolve this fixing my transmission which is still broken and grinding daily. This notion of you not being able to reproduce it within a very constricted, biased, and controlled environment is unfair. This known and documented issue occurs randomly - but still, does occur. Just because you claim to be unable to reproduce it in a couple of attempts should not be grounds for nullifying the complaint. This was a goodwill service issued by Acura, so I would expect to receive this service as well - especially from such a proclaimed highly ranked in customer satisfaction dealership. But, at the end of the day, if you "cant reproduce the issue" it must not exist. This is skewed in your favor and given your responses, I suspect you are just saying that to not perform the service. Maybe that is why were are arguing on the BBB, which you also use to demonstrate your reputation, having a "A+ reputation with the BBB" must mean I trust and believe your findings, and to challenge that would be "unreasonable." It is pretty embarrassing for you to just pick on and bully your customers as such. No - I do not accept your poor response.

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See pdf attachment

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ We have worked very hard to please Mr. ****** but he has been very difficult to please. I looked at the leather kit after he picked up the car and thought the quality was very good but there was a small problem or 2 in the stitching that would be an easy fix. When I mentioned that it would be fixed, he immediately started telling me that he wanted to trade his new car in and get the Forester Limited that he should have bought in the first place. He said he wanted the full amount that he paid for it back, or, I needed to get the interior out of a brand new Limited Forester and put it in his car. I told him we couldn't do this but the leather company would redo the work right away and at that point we put him in a car to use until his was done. ATD leather came and picked up his Forester and brought it back several days later. Mr. ****** then brought the loaner car back and left with his Forester with out any complaints. We then went to loaner car he used to discover that the 2014 Subaru he used was a mess, both inside and out. HEAVY cigarette smell and ashes throughout the car. This was a low mile Subaru loaner car that was in excellent shape when given to him. We spent over $300 to clean and attempt to remove the smell from the car. He left that day without any issues with his new car except to say it was much better and he was happy. It wasn't until a few days later that he began to complain again. This time it was the cold weather that was affecting the way the leather looked. We asked him to bring it down for us to look at and ATD Leather agreed to try to make him happy. At this point, he told Bill Kidd that he was going to have to sue us and threatened to fill out the survey that Subaru was sending him, with negative comments as well as possibly doing a social media campaign against Flatirons Subaru. When I was told this by my salesperson the next day, I emailed Mr. ****** that from now on everything had to be in email form since he was threatening to sue us and this was store policy. He has asked several time to be upgraded to a much more expensive Forester but refused to pay anymore money. I told him this wasn't an option numerous times and that the issue was with the Leather Company, not Flatirons Subaru. I have enclosed a statement from Auto Trim Design in regards to Mr. ******. They continue to work with him in an attempt to resolve his complaint issues. I have worked at Flatirons Subaru for almost 25 years and we have had very few complaints brought to the BBB. We continue to serve the people of Boulder and the community itself, in a way that we can all be proud of. This has been one of those cases that the customer will not be pleased with whatever we do. Sincerely, **** Denu Sales Manager Flatirons Subaru Boulder,Co. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have found after-sale response communication through management unprofessional. Accounts vary between the seller and myself but one fact is indisputable - the appearance and condition of my inferior leather upholstery after three failed installation attempts. I don't feel my dissatisfaction is unwarranted as the attached photo of the back seat taken February 15th, 2015, clearly demonstrates. My more than reasonable request remains a full refund of the cost of the leather seat kit plus taxes and interest($1,350.00). Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have both stated our cases. Flatirons Subaru seems more interested in shirking responsibility, passing *** buck, telling half-truths, and casting aspersions than satisfying a customer. Buying a new car should be enjoyable experience but Flatirons Subaru has turned it into a negative ordeal. I can not recommend anyone doing business with Flatirons Subaru as long as the current sales manager is employed with them. Having gotten nowhere, this will be my last communication with Flatirons Subaru excepting certified mail. Consider this matter unresolved. Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */ From: **** Denu Sent: Monday, June 15, XXXX X:XX PM To: '******@denverbbb.org' Subject: Case # XXXXXXXX Good Afternoon Ashleigh: I sent you an email on Friday and I want to follow up since we received your letter dated June 10th, today. I am now able to see your timeline in regards to Mr ******'s last response which I am seeing for the first time. I apologize and see now that the 4-29 response went to **** ********* and for some reason it wasn't forwarded to me. Again, I understand that Mr. ****** is upset but in March, according to Auto Trim Design, they were working with him and the problem seemed to be resolved. After seeing his rebuttal, I understand that isn't the case. We have been a BBB Accredited member for 26 years and just received a letter from Kimberly States congratulating for reaching that anniversary. I am sorry about the confusion on our part, but I responded quickly when I received any notification , but definitely failed in responding when I didn't receive the notification. What can I do on my part to resolve this? We really have tried to work with him as has Auto Trim Design. Please advise if possible since after being here myself for 25 years of our 26 years of good standing with the BBB, this is a very disappointing example of what Flatirons Subaru is all about. I appreciate your help. Sincerely, **** Denu Flatirons Subaru

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After 4 visits and $550+, check engine light is still on I brought my 2008 ****** Impreza in for service work on July XX XXXX, including an illuminated check engine light. After picking my car up, the check engine light came back on after roughly 12 hours. This happened again 7/18/14, 8/8/14 and 8/28/14. After the last incident, I called to speak to a service manager to express my dissatisfaction and was simply told that another customer had to bring her car in 5 or 6 times before they established the cause of the check engine light. I have spent a considerable amount of time and money to fix this, to no avail. Many of the attempted solutions now appear to have been non-essential and very expensive. Essentially, poor diagnostics have resulted in an excessive number of visits with solutions that "should" fix the problem, but never do.

Desired Settlement: I would like the problem fixed at no additional cost to me. I would also like a refund of the $553. 58 I was charged for service and parts to this point that ultimately did not resolve the problem. I have spent a considerable amount of money at Flatirons Subaru. This figure does not reflect the full amount I have spent to turn off the check engine light, so I think this number is fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/24) */ I have contacted ****. We have agreed to have her vehicle come in for inspection and repairs at no charge to her next week when we can provide a loaner vehicle. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I feel that the Service Manager's offer to repair my vehicle (and keep it for an extended period of time to ensure the repair), is absolutely fair.

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The vehicle has an intense steering wheel vibration issue. I was informed it is due to the tires so I had requested they replace them. The vehicle, a 2005 Nissan Murano, was purchased at the end of May, I think on/around the 25th. The sales representative is **** Rudd and the sales manager I followed up with is ************** The dealership attempted to remedy the vibration issue by balancing the tires. This didn't take care of the issue. I don't know if the dealership test drove the vehicle at the proper speed as I informed them multiple times that the vibration intensifies when driving 60 mph and above. I'm making an assumption that they only drove it on surface streets as the dealership isn't close to a freeway so maybe got the vehicle's speed up to 50mph where you can only feel a slight vibration. The vibration also changes depending on the road surface (ie grooved roads, cement or asphalt). Unfortunately, the vibration intensifies (depending on the surface) the faster you go above 60 mph. I have requested that the issue be resolved, by sending emails to both the sales manager and GM, by placing new tires on the vehicle. They haven't even responded to my multiple email requests sent to each person. Another problem in this whole ordeal is that the sales department never provided me with the service invoices (except for the first) so I never really knew what they did. After bringing the vehicle in about three times with the same complaints the service department finally called me directly to discuss the issues I was still noticing. I feel the dealership didn't complete a proper pre-sale inspection as there were other issues they had to take care of right after purchasing the vehicle such as new rear then front brake rotors, multiple alignment attempts, interior shampoo to get rid of a horrible smell, and repair of bumper damage. When I first test drove the vehicle I had informed the sales representative that I felt a slight vibration and pulling to the right. I was informed that he test drove the vehicle but didn't feel the problem then he conferred with a mechanic. Since I never got the vehicle above 50mph when test driving I didn't feel the intense vibration that I now feel and visually see at the highter speeds. You know there is a problem when your daughter looks at your hands shaking rapidly and asks if something is wrong with the vehicle. I understand that used vehicles present issues because of higher mileage but this is something that the dealership should have taken care of before selling it. The tires did have a significant amount of tread remaining so I believe that the dealership didn't want to spend the kind of money necessary to prepare the vehicle for sale. Again, this is another assumption I am making. I will say that the dealership did make attempts to remedy the situation but now feel they aren't responsible fore replacing the tires. Since purchase the timing belt has also failed but they covered it under the 90 day warranty so I applaud them for that. I think they feel that this is more of a cosmetic or wear and tear issue but I'm sure if they drove the vehicle for a week they would want new tires immediately.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting that the dealership replace the tires since they are confident that the tires are the issue causing the vibration. I've even indicated to them that they can place used tires on the vehicle in an attempt to save money. I would also take payment of the above stated amount to handle replacing myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ We have contacted Mr. ******** and are working with him to correct the vibration issue. Our technicians are working on the vehicle now and we will be replacing the tires per his request. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2013/11/07) */ I misunderstood the email I received on October 28th. When I went to the link, I thought it was just asking me to confirm their response that they were currently diagnosing the problem and would place new tires on the vehicle. When I spoke with Grant, we decided to have their own shop take a look at the vehicle to determine the cause rather than just replace the tires. Their sister dealership, who they no longer own, had handled everything up to then and told me they couldn't fix the vibration issues and said the vehicle needed new tires. Both I and Grant were concerned that if the tires were replaced but the vibration issue continued they would have spent money on the tires for nothing. I was actually the one that brought this up as I didn't want them to spend the money for it if in fact they weren't needed. I received the vehicle back on Saturday. My wife actually picked it up as I was out of town and was told they couldn't figure out what was causing the vibration and had even spoken with a Nissan dealer. I drove the vehicle Monday and noticed the vibration so can confirm they weren't able to fix it. I sent an email to Grant last night requesting that they buy back the vehicle and I'd be glad to purchase another used vehicle from them. This vehicle has been back at the dealership about half of the time I've owned it with one problem or another. My 13 year old daughter even said the same thing to me last week. I feel this vehicle should have never been sold to be honest as it had issues which had never been taken care of. I will say that the dealer had stepped up to repair these things but it had caused me to pick up and drop of numerous times which the dealer should be able to confirm. I am requesting that this file be reopened for assistance. Thank you, **** ******** Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2013/12/12) */ We have been in contact with the customer via e-mail regarding this issue. In our latest correspondence the customer suggested an option that would resolve the issue for him. We are currently working toward that option. Consumer Response /* (2000, 23, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They are currently working on an option and were just in touch with me today to provide an update.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Flatirons Acura - Subaru
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)