This business is not BBB accredited.

Empire Lakewood Nissan

Phone: (303) 232-8881 Fax: (303) 237-1666 10345 W Colfax Ave, Lakewood, CO 80215 http://www.empirelakewoodnissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Empire Lakewood Nissan include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Empire Lakewood Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Empire Lakewood Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1932 Business started locally: 01/01/1932 Business incorporated 09/03/1985 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Auto Industry Division & Motor Vehicle Dealer Board
1881 Pierce St Rm 112, Lakewood CO 80214
http://www.colorado.gov/revenue/AID
Phone Number: (303) 205-5604

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chris Lenckosz, Owner Mr. Dean Dowson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Lenckosz, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10345 W Colfax Ave

    Lakewood, CO 80215 (303) 232-8881

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been experiencing problems with my coolant getting low after February 2016, I brought it to the dealer several times for the same issue since this February, and the problem persisted. The dealer couldn't figure it out what was the problem with the car since all the test came out good. After several attempts of bringing my car to the dealer, I brought last Monday 06/06/16 for the same issue (Me having to refill the coolant after driving 1200 miles) They called me and ran several test and told me that they couldn't replicate the problem. On Friday June, 06, 2016 they called me to informed me that my car engine is being having a misfire on 1 of the cylinder and that they have to replace the whole engine. Unfortunately they said that they tried to contact Nissan to cover it under my currently warranty but they refused. My car has an extended warranty of 75,000 miles, and my current mileage is about 71,000 miles. I would like to mention that the car was perfectly fine when i brought it to the dealer. The problem with the engine occurred when they put everything back and couldn't figured out what was wrong with it. The dealer "Empire Lakewood Nissan" offered me a full trade in only if i get a new or used car with them which i refused. After telling them that i will sue them, they called me at the end of the day and told me that my car was running good, that they misdiagnosed and that it was the spark plugs that cracked previously. They also mentioned that the problem with the coolant is not solved and that they are still fighting with the manufacturer to cover the whole engine(a $7000 dollar bill), but that i could pick up the car now to drive it while the problem is being investigated by the manufacturer.(I refused to pick up the car while the case is being investigated)

Desired Settlement: Replace the engine and fix the coolant issue at Dealer's expense

Business Response: We had been working with Nissan corporate to acquire coverage for Mr. ****** repairs for a couple months. We diagnosed it as needing a engine replacement due to being overheated from a radiator that failed. Unfortunately, with the extended warranty that Mr. ****** purchased at a Nissan dealer in New Jersey there was a clause that voided any repair coverage that resulted from an overheating concern of any kind. We proceeded to go up the ladder with the extended warranty company and got nowhere. With the vehicle being out of powertrain warranty by 14,000 miles I attempted to acquire goodwill repair for the engine from Nissan directly, they along with us at the dealership level covered $6400 of the repair and Mr. ****** only had to pay $1000.00 for a brand new Nissan engine parts and labor. We did this strictly because we were doing the right thing and taking care of OUR customer, even though the vehicle, and the warranty and the maintenance had all been completed at another dealership. Nissan and Empire Lakewood Nissan stepped up to attempt to retain the loyalty and satisfaction of our customer here and for others that are deserving. Mr. ****** was appreciative and understood the situation was out of our complete control and the issue was with the extended warranty, not with our dealership. We did not get notice for this BBB concern until after his vehicle was repaired and back on the road.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
******* ******

 

4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the week of March 7, 2016 I took my vehicle to Empire Lakewood Nissan for an evaluation to see why my 2010 Nissan Rogue was leaking dark, heavy grease. I had purchased an ******** vehichle services contract, certified pre-owned wrap contract in the amount of $1976.00 on 7/9/15 from when I purchased my vehicle from Empire Lakewood Nissan. The technician in the auto repair department told me that they would check my vehicle over to see what was causing the grease leak and to also see if my ******** contract would cover the repairs. After waiting at Empire Lakewood Nissan for 3 hours I was told that my ******** contract would not cover the repairs. I then took my Nissan Rogue to my mechanic (****** ****) to have the repairs done. ****** **** also tried to get an authorization for the repairs from ******** which was declined. I made numerous calls to ********, Empire Lakewood Nissan to try to find out why the repair was not covered, when I was told at the time I purchased the ******** contract that almost everything major and minor would be covered. I therefore went ahead and had my mechanic at ****** **** replace the front axle and paid for the repair out of my pocket in the amount of $396.36. I have made numerous calls to ****** ******** *******, ******** and Empire Lakewood Nissan since the week of 3/7/16 without any resolve. I just get transferred from one department to another with the same old story that my case has been escalated, or that they are waiting for a reply from Empire Lakewood Nissan. Finally I was told to contact the Finance Manager at Empire Lakewood Nissan which has also been non-productive. I have been trying since the repair which was done at ****** **** on 3/14/16 to find out why ******** would not cover the repair charge. I have most recently contacted ***** the Finance Manager at Empire Lakewood Nissan (on 3/17/16, 3/24/16, 3/25/16) to find out why the ******** contract would not cover the repairs, and to state that I want to cancel my ******** contract. None of these calls have been returned by ***** so I made an in-person visit to see ***** on 3/28/16. I was met with much scorn when I entered *****' office, he had a very unfriendly attitude, uncaring, chip on his shoulder attitude, and wondered why I was concerned when I had just called on 3/25 and it was only 3/28. He stated that the ******** contract had paid for other repairs on my Nissan Rogue which is an outright lie. ***** needs an attitude adjustment and should not be in the position he is in if he doesn't want to earnestly earn his wages and help promote friendly customer service. ***** offered no help and only offered to give me the name of the ******** rep that I should call who is ***** ******* at *** *** ****. I called ***** ******* on 3/28/16 and asked for a return call and the status of my ******** contract. I have not received a return call from ***** *******. Lakewood Empire Nissan is a place of business I plan to never deal with again. From the time I bought my vehicle from them in 2015 until now, I have only had problems and unresolved issues with their customer service. **** was the person who was my sales person at the time I purchased my vehicle in 2015 and lacked a genuine personality. He only stood in the car lot with his arms folded until I made a decision on the vehicle I wanted to purchase. I had researched the vehicle online and pretty much knew it was what I wanted otherwise I would have walked off the lot. I have complained to Nissan customer service numerous times with resolve from them either.

Desired Settlement: I want to be reimbursed for my repairs in the amount of $396.36. If this cannot be done then I want to be reimbursed for the full amount that I paid for the ******** contract which is $1976.00.

Consumer Response:

Hello, I have some new information regarding my complaint referenced above against Empire Lakewood Nissan.

I called ******** this morning to find out the status of my case.  The rep that I spoke to said that ******** isn't covering the repair of my vehicle because Empire Lakewood Nissan sold me an ******** contract for a vehicle that is supposed to be for a certified pre owned vehicle which mine is not.  So Empire Lakewood Nissan sold me an ******** contract at the cost of $1976 which is useless to me.  ******** will only cover repairs that a certified pre owned vehicle warranty does not cover, which again my vehicle is not.  In light of this I want to be refunded the $1976 for this worthless ******** contract that I have.  I have also reported this to the ******** ********* ******.  Can you please send this message to Empire Lakewood Nissan also, so they'll know that I know what they did to me.  Thank you.

******* *********

2/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Every person that I worked with regarding my recently purchased Nissan at Empire Lakewood has been frustratingly unhelpful. I’ve spent hours fixing things that the mechanics and titling department should have had done correctly to begin with, and I’ve never gotten a call back from anyone I left a voicemail or email for, yet I continue to get solicitation emails from Empire. Since I’m being ignored by management, I’m reaching out to the BBB for a voice. My Nissan is certified pre-owned, but they lied about, or failed to answer, thirteen of the checklist items, and it’s going to cost me to repair the remaining items that they didn’t. This is my biggest complaint, because these issues should have been resolved before the vehicle was deemed “certified,” and I brought most of them to **** *******'s attention at the dealership. Empire gave us their Nissan Certified Pre-Owned Inspection Checklist on the SUV, which had 7 items inaccurately approved (#'s 113, 139, 141, 155, 159, 160, 165), and 6 others left blank (#'s 54, 88, 124, 133, 136, 161). Of the five items that we initially saw and brought to salesman **** *******'s attention, three of them were fixed (139, 133, 136, 160, 161, 159); the tire valve stem was repaired by *** * ***** (54, 155); one of them was made worse when they tried to fix it (113), so #113 and three others still need to be repaired (124, 141, 165). The night we dropped the car off for the buff job and odometer clean, I told **** the front tire wasn't holding air pressure, and that he lied to me about the dog hair. He said he'd put it on the lift to look at the tire, and do a full detail with odor treatment. The night we returned to pick it up, a sales rep told me **** had to go home early, and that “there was no one to speak with who knew of our situation,” so we were left unable to address the concerns with anyone face-to-face. I called Empire on 11.14.15 to speak with a manager, but was transferred to a sales manager named ****'s voicemail, and never heard back.

Desired Settlement: I have called three local Nissan dealerships and each of them told me they’ve never heard of a blurry odometer or windshield wipers that the varying speed setting doesn’t work on, so they estimated between $300-600 to repair each item. I am asking for a total of $1550 for the following 4 items to be repaired by a party other than Empire: 1. Odometer cover interior needs to be cleaned 2. Wiper control needs to be repaired or replaced 3. Interior detail for pet hair and odor 4. Need cargo net

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer backed out of new car purchase, took back car, returned trade in but has not issued refund in the amount stated above. Saturday Oct. 31, 2015 we purchased a 2016 Nissan Rogue from this dealer. We discovered they had overcharged $2,000. We returned to the dealer on Monday to discuss the discrepancy. At that point, the finance manager, **** ******** informed me there had been a "miscommunication" and he returned our trade in and took back the new car. He told us the transaction was "null and void" Below, find his written communication confirming this. Each time we inquire about our refund, he states "the check is in the mail." This is a substantial sum of money and due to their failure to promptly issue our refund our ability to purchase another car has been greatly impeded. **** To: ******* and **** **** **** ****** ***** *** **** ***** ** XXXXX Regarding: Cancellation of Vehicle Purchase To Whom It May Concern: Let it be of record that on November 2, 2015, the purchase agreement between the above party and Empire Lakewood Nissan, XXXXX ** ****** **** ******** *** XXXXX dated October 31,2015 regarding a 2016 Nissan Rogue (*****************) in the amount of $24,771.95 is cancelled and considered null and void. The above amount will be returned to the customer in 5 to 10 business days. Sincerely, **** ******* Assistant Finance Director Empire Lakewood Nissan XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: Issue immediate refund, NOT to be sent via regular mail. Rather notify us so we may pick up the refund check in person.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2015/11/12) */ This issue is resolved. The business refunded the money owed in the form of a check picked up on Monday November 9, 2015

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: High pressured sales, with a misrepresentation of the value of the vehicle. Took advantage of a distraught woman. On **** ** **** I went in to the dealership asking for help, I was in a distraught situation. I was going through a horrid divorce, was needing to trade the care in for a more economical car, and I needed to get into a car in which I could re-build my credit. I was told this was the only car I would qualify for. I was shown stats for this **** car that I am now sure was either fabricated for the **** or **** model that showed the selling price at ****** ish with gas mileage of 32-36 mpg. I also had a sick child that day that threw up at the dealership, and when I was trying to leave to maybe come back I was told they would not be able to help me if I walked away from the deal. They said this **** *** **** was the best that I could do for the money and my credit rating. Because I was in a hurry needing to deal with my son and I needed to make a car change do to the severity of hostility associated with the divorce. I signed the papers and when I asked about the high payment(I told them I didn't think I could make those payments) I was told that it was due to my poor credit rating. I was told I would be saving money with gas mileage and it would increase my credit score and I could refinance in a year. I have since tried getting out of the contract for the last 9 months being turned down for refinancing as I have been unable to make the car payments timely without picking up additional part-time work. I found out this last week the reason I cannot refinance the car is that the car was sold to me for more than twice the value(with NO GAP insurance). SO NO one will refinance this contract and I cannot get out of it. I cannot trade it in to get a lesser car payment. I am literally stuck, because of some unethical practices of some individuals who took advantage of a distraught and desperate woman who though she had no other choices. My insurance agent states that if I am in an accident and the car is totaled based on my current loan I would be left with a ******* loan after they pay what the car is worth. A **** *** **** was sold to me on **** ** **** for approximately ************* again for twice the amount it was worth. Again I was in a distraught state of mind and desperate state due to the volatile divorce situation and these men took advantage of my naivetés. I can provide all documents for review that has specific information regarding the sales transaction.

Desired Settlement: I would like : 1)the contract/car purchased back from me(to pay off the loan in full). or ********* refund to be accredited to my lender for the loan note. or 3)the car traded for another car(at it's true value)for the full the value of the loan accredited for trade-in credit. I would like the sales practices to be reviewed, yes a business has to earn money but taking advantage of women or economically disadvantaged individuals is not the way to earn community trust and repeat business. I will continue to tell everyone I know who is looking to purchase a car of the unethical practices that are exhibited at this dealership until there is some resolution.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/26) */ BBB & ****** ******* , Hello and thank you for the opportunity to respond back. My name is Azar Safi, Used Car Sales Manager with Empire Lakewood Nissan since 10/2014. I personally tried to contact ****** via telephone on Monday August 25 2015 Phone # XXX-XXX-XXXX to no avail. Left a voicemail. ****** returned my call, I was busy at the time, called back, voicemail again. Back to the issue here. Our client purchased the 2010 KIA Soul for $17,995, not $20k as stated. Our client also at the time had a vehicle traded in. Due to the credit situation at the time, its considered a high risk loan. Empire Lakewood Nissan is not the one who carries the loan/note on the vehicle, the bank does. ****** was approved thru Capital One Auto Finance for 72 Months at a 21% Interest rate. Few issues here I would like to address that is being misrepresented and fabricated to make us look unethical. 1) Capital One is the lender whom is charging 21% due to the credit situation, not us 2) Banks will not finance a vehicle for "double" the amount of its retail value(it would not make sense) 3) 1 year later, after paying 21%, including the taxes, trades, warranty purchase, having negative equity is common. Banks do not finance a loan of $20k for a vehicle valued at $12k, we cannot send over book value for a 2014/2015 VS a 2010 as stated. These fabricated facts such as these stated are the reason why its so hard to finance high risk customers. We as a dealership send over all the customers information, the price breakdown, the NADA & KBB Book value to the bank, they ***** the situation and in return set the rate and term. We are willing to help trade ****** out of the vehicle but based off the complaint, that step is already too late. We are in no wrong doing, no position to have to succumb to the 3 "DEMANDS" listed above. We can help TRADE the vehicle back in for its value but will not credit back money. When you buy ANY vehicle, you automatically lose TAX money, extra items purchased and loss of value for year/miles/condition. Therefore making no sense as to what's being demanded. We cannot force NOR pressure customers into SIGNING all documents as needed, not one or two, but a handful. ****** signed all these documents at her own will, saw the numbers, knew the fact the credit situation isn't good and we did our part and helped her get financed thru a respectful bank in CAPITAL ONE AAUTO FINANCE. Just like our client can show "documents", so can we. credibility is lost when the complaint comes 1-year after purchase, fabricated numbers are thrown around and facts are made up. To recap, vehicle was purchased for $17995, not "$20k", vehicle is financed thru CAP-1 therefor rate/term is set by the bank, not us. Banks use book values in which they call a LOAN TO VALUE RATIO(LTV), vehicle wouldn't have gotten financed if price was "double" its worth. BBB please see the facts and lets see what we can do. Even though its 1-Yera later, We are willing to help her TRADE the vehicle. Nothing more. Thank You Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I agree that *** **** and I did play phone tag, that was not the issue, Nor was the issue that I had a poor credit rating from going through a hellacious divorce and custody issues. Going through that made me very vulnerable and in heighten distraught state. In hindsight yes I should have had someone with me who could have thought clearly and who would have noticed that the price for the used **** *** **** was more than even ************** *** **** were selling for. I have also launched an investigation within ******* *** in regards to this loan and who approved it. Ultimately they say that they do not assess the value of the car, but rather my financial capability. The value and the price is purely within my and the dealerships realm of assessment. The issue remains that this car sold for far above the value. The information that I was given regarding the value was not accurate and again in my emotional state I was not thinking clearly enough to launch my own investigation on the value of the vehicle before I signed. I took them at their word which was very naïve of me. It is unfortunate that they have lived up to the stereo type of used car sales. Some actually want to help their customers get the best deal possible while still making money, so they have return business. This does not seem to be the case for Empire Nissan. Unfortunately for Empire Nissan I have been advised by not only other dealerships who have looked at the deal that was made, but also my credit union to report this unethical deal/practice to the BBB. As I am in a corner unable to resale the vehicle, refinance the vehicle, or trade the vehicle in because the vehicle value is only half of what the loan is, Unless Empire Nissan can somehow right this wrong they have done. I highly doubt they would be okay with this deal if it had been their wife, daughter, or Mother in this situation. Yes I signed the papers despite my concern about the payment amount. Again I thought they were on the up and up, again my mistake. So my mistake was being emotionally susceptible to their sales practices in which I was completely taken advantage for. I have to live with this mistake as it appears that I have not options, again unless Empire Nissan can rectify this wrong deal. I have tried for the last 9 months to rectify, but it was unknown to me until recently as to why I was unable to refinance or trade in the car, which has spurred me to contact them and then I contacted the BBB for when I did not initially receive return phone calls. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Despite the ongoing confusion and attempts to redirect the attention to things that are not the point. The point is that a mentally and emotionally walked in to the car dealership and was bamboozled by the stereo typical car salesman. The bottom line I was sold a car for $18,000 that is only worth half that. It was only recently brought to my attention WHY I could not refinance or trade it in...which is when I tried reaching out to empire Nissan and then the BBB to get assisustance in righting this wrong. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/10/07) */ As the consumer has stated, despite the confusion, we are simply replying back to all her concerns and backing it with facts. We as a business will not be thrown fictional statements without having the right to back it up. There is no wrong doing here. She owes money on a vehicle which is worth the value it is in todays market due to her specific situation. We as the business do not know where else to go, we are repeating the same facts OVER and OVER again on these replies. We can help trade her out, that's all, as stated three times. If at the time the consumer had excellent credit, her rate/term/equity would differ which in return would make her situation today differ. You cannot have bad credit, negative equity on trade, taxes/fee's, rate(determined by bank) AND expect to have EQUITY. The fact that we have to repeat the same facts again and again baffles us. One year later there's emotion distress and we are stereo-typical salesmen? Thank you for typical rebuttal. Foot note; We are willing to help trade the car, if not, thank you. Read above.

9/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 9/2/2015 Service Rep ****** ****** verbally communicated that charged would be $39.99 plus tax but charged $75 additionally Verbally spoke to rep that said we would be charged $39.99 but charged an additional $75 just to do a software upgrade and clear codes (which should clear automatically when car is fixed). Verbally communicated one thing, charged additionally for more.

Desired Settlement: Refund $75 plus tax.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/10) */ Customer came in to our dealership with a check engine light on, we diagnosed it being caused by a failure in the VVT solenoid caused by the engine being very low of engine oil. The transmission control module had an available update for the software that would fix the secondary code for the vehicle speed sensor, so the customer approved that repair after we adjusted the price for the diag/reprogram from $125 to $75 to help the customer. The other recomendation with the TCM reprogram was to change the oil and add BG MOA to aid the lubrication of the engine since it had been run so low on oil. So that when the vehicle left it had the right amount of oil and no check engine light. The total paid by the customer was $136.57 which included the oil change, BG MOA additive, and labor time for the technician to update the software of the TCM. Customer originally signed for $125 diagnosis charge that comes to $137 after shop supplies and tax. We did what we could to satisfy the customer and worked on the price. Customer stated that since his computer company does free software updates for their customers, we should also do the same.

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They misrepresented the service contract I purchased, saying that all issues discovered during my inspection would be taken care of by the contract. Buyer Beware! This dealership is not very professional. I received a pre approval notice from my credit card company, and had been looking for a late model used car to replace the one I was trading in. I went on their website (which is not pleasing to the eyes), to check their inventory. I actually found exactly what I was looking for! My wife and I showed up on a Friday night, and went away with the 2011 Jeep Liberty. That's were the wonderful experience ended. I noticed a couple of issues during the test drive; the power steering wasn't right, the Bluetooth wouldn't activate, and there was a smoke smell. The salesman said that they would take of all issues before we take possession of the vehicle. So after the paperwork, they gave us a loaner (which was nice of them). Two days later, the smokey smell was completely removed! A miracle! The other issues were ignored, completely they said since I purchased an extended warranty those other issues would be cover. Cool? Not so cool? I took the Jeep to the dealership closest to me for the repairs, and the warranty company (Allstate), said these issues should have been caught upon inspection by empire. To summarize the extent of their lack of professionalism, and disregard the buyer I this situation. They wouldn't let the jeep dealership do the repairs because they didn't want to cover the cost, have it towed back to empire, only to let it set for over 30 days! They replaced the taillight (said they were doing me a favor), ******** covered the cost of the Bluetooth replacement, and said the power steering was fine, even though the jeep dealership said the pump was bad. I picked it up, and they had the nerve to ask me to pay the deductible! My wife loves the jeep, but no thanks to empire. I could have a lot more to say, just reconsider using them, if you want good service. Because this company has terrible service!

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem, or cover the cost of fixing the problem. I would prefer to have another company do the repairs, considering this companies service department ignored the problems initially.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/25) */ Empire Lakewood Nissan has helped assist Mr. ********* ****** as soon as these issues were mentioned per after the retail agreement of the sale. Mr.****** purchased a 2001 Jeep Liberty on 10/31/2014. It is now March 2015, five months later and Mr.****** has decided to pursue false claims. Empire Lakewood Nissan worked with Mr.****** to help resolve his issues. We personally had his vehicle towed from a Jeep dealership to our facility to help with the repairs. The rear tail light was replaced, Bluetooth issue was resolved and there were no signs of smoke smell or power steering issue. At the time(see attached exhibit), Mr.****** had purchased the vehicle from us and hand signed documents stating the vehicle was being sold "AS IS" BUYER RESPONSIBLE FOR FUTURE REPAIRS. Mr.****** purchased a third party extended warranty and at this point, it is between the warranty and the Jeep dealership if Mr.****** has issues with said vehicle. Empire Lakewood has communicated with Mr.******, has helped provide a FREE LOANER vehicle while his Jeep was being repaired and we have done everything possible on our end to make right even though this is a JEEP issue. Mr.****** has slandered our business and its reputation thru numerous review websites which we feel is falsified information as we have communicated with Mr.******, helped with repairs, given a loaner vehicle and have done everything possible on our behalf. Empire Lakewood Nissan is not responsible with mechanical issues after the sale of a vehicle as its a vehicle and as all other vehicles, you will encounter issues. Mr.****** claims our service is terrible and we do not communicate but phone records and paperwork states otherwise. Mr.****** purchased a vehicle AS IS, purchased a extended warranty, we helped assist with repairs free of charge, provide a loaner vehicle free, have been slandered on review websites and feel we are not in the wrong doing. Attached are documents with Mr.Rostons signature for the AS IS form and the third party company warranty. This is a JEEP dealership problem if there are any other mechanical issues with the vehicle. We feel we have done plenty on our end and don't deserve the slandering and negative response from Mr.****** with the false claims. Empire Lakewood Nissan is a family owned dealership whom strives to give the best customer service and our great reviews on numerous websites backs our claim. Thank You and best of luck Mr.******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all this a 2011 Jeep Liberty. The mechanical issues were pointed out prior to the vehicle being purchased, and I was told by your salesman (Jose) that these repairs would be taken care of prior to us taking possession of the vehicle, but we could bring it back to get these issues resolved. Once we returned with our trade-in (the same day the work was to be done), we decided to purchase the extended warranty (it is a third party company), sold to us by the dealership. At that time they did the detailing, and removed the smoke smell; it took two days! They provided a loner for this. When we picked it up, I went down the list of concerns that I had prior to agreeing to purchase, and was told it would be taken care of by the extended warranty. When I took it into the Jeep dealership, they agreed that all of the repairs that I pointed out, needed to be completed. Once the service contract company (Allstate) realized that I just purchased this vehicle, they went back to Empire and informed them that all of these repairs should have been completed prior to them selling the car, and they would not be covered. So to save money, Empire had the Jeep towed from the Jeep dealership, back to Empire so their service department could complete the work...that's not all! Empire then, went after Allstate to get them to cover the cost of doing this work; this process took nearly four weeks! When the Jeep was finally ready to pick up from Empire, they tried to get me to pay the deductible for the repairs. I was outraged to say the least, and when I asked to speak to the owner of the company (***** ********) I was told he was visiting family in Texas, and too busy to talk to me! The manager waived the deductible, and I was on my way. Before I left, I asked the service guy (Nick), did he even drive the car to make sure the power steering was operating correctly? He said he hadn't driven it, and wasn't sure if anyone had. I left with the Jeep (my mistake), and sure enough...power steering wasn't right! I travel for work, and purchased this car for my wife (she didn't feel comfortable trying to discuss this with them), I was in contact with the service department long distance, to try to resolve my issue. They just kept putting me off, saying they would look into this. I still haven't heard anything about taking care of the power steering problem. This issue with the power steering was pointed out during the test drive, I don't see how this not Empires responsibility to handle. Allstate has record of one of Empire's employees stating that this problem existed prior to it being sold. I grew up in Denver, and I remember the Empire name from when my Mom purchased an Oldsmobile from them. So I recognized the name, and thought I could get good service. I'm sure they treat most of their customers good; but my experience was not so good, and I want everyone to know it. Finally; there were issues pointed out prior to the sale, one of which still has not been taken care of as promised, all consumers want is what they are promised. Nothing more. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Unfortunately the misunderstanding continues. I will make this as plain as possible (for all to understand). During my test drive, I pointed out to the salesman that the power-steering wasn't working, After I agreed to purchase a extended service contract (through Empire), I was told that all issues would be handled through the warranty company (********). After contacting the Service Contract Company (********) for repairs, I was told by ******** to take the vehicle in for repair; once they realized (after it was already at the repair facility) that I just purchased the vehicle, ********'s position was that the dealer should have taken care these problems before they sold the vehicle. Remember that I was told by the salesman that ******** would handle this. This is where I think the misunderstanding is. The only issue left from the original list of problems is that the power-steering pump was defective from the original test drive. It wasn't caught or repaired by Empires service department, in spite of the numerous times I tried to contact them to get it repaired. Attached is an assessment from The Jeep dealership the proves that it was a problem from the very beginning, when Empire Lakewood Nissan (ELN) had the vehicle at their facility(for almost 30 days), but the problem (defective power-steering pump) was never addressed! We can agree on two things...one is that I never want to do business with ELN again...two ELN will never want me as a customer ever again. The right thing for ELN to do would be to own the issue of the power-steering pump that was pointed out during the test drive, and agree to have the vehicle repaired by a qualified facility. With all of the time being wasted going back and forth, it would have been less expensive to have just simply done the repairs. This is not a attempt to slander ELN (slander is making false statements about someone), the truth is: the power-steering pump was an issue pointed out at the very beginning, ******** has a record of a ELN mechanic stating that this was a preexisting issue, Colorado Jeep gave record that the power-steering pump was defective (see attached), and ELN has no evidence that they have done the repair, nor have they ever claimed to have done this repair! All statement are true, and can be proven. Please pay to fix my car! Final Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2015/06/10) */ Empire Lakewood Nissan does not understand how this case has been closed as unresolved. We, myself(AZAR) has been in touch with ********* ****** recently as of June 10th and have had his Jeep Liberty repaired at a Jeep dealership nearby his house. We offered having it repaired at our dealership and provide a loaner vehicle or have it repaired at a Jeep dealership close to his house and he chose option #2. We have repaired every issue with this vehicle to date. ********* ****** needs to update his side and acknowledge the facts. It is June XX XXXX, vehicle has been fully repaired, customer is aware and customer had mentioned to us he would update all the negative reviews left. This case should not have been closed as UNRESOLVED when in reality it has been FULLY resolved. Thank you.

4/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Empire Nissan failed to comply to terms in my contract in a timely manner. I purchased a vehicle from Empire Nissan the end of August 2014 and am still waiting for my contract to be fulfilled as of January 2015. In the sales agreement, the navigation system was supposed to be removed from my trade in vehicle and installed in the new car. The dealership sold the trade in before removing and reinstalling. I was then sent by ****************, Used Car Manger, to price a new navigation system install and they felt it was too expensive and wanted to order one off the internet and have someone install it. I was not comfortable with that and agreed to have them refund me $500 for the mix up. I think they got off the hook easily with this deal as my new system cost me over a thousand dollars for their mistake! The other part of the deal was to install rails on the top of car. I was sent to Rack Attack in Golden to get them priced out. First of all, they are not the rails I wanted ie after factory rail system that was not very attractive and would cost $800. I checked with the dealer and they could do a factory install of the rails I wanted. but it was $1600 and they didn't want to pay that amount. I was again told the rails would be ordered off the internet and installed. Again I was not comfortable with that as I didn't want to deal with leaks, etc since I had no idea who would be installing them! I have been going back and forth with this dealer for 4 months, having to do all the leg work, checking, pricing, etc. They have not once called or tried to contact me to get this resolved. Everything has been initiated by me. I have left messages that have not been returned. They have had plenty of time to fulfill their obligation to the contract. This has been the worst car buying experience I have ever had! I had a couple of other issues with the car as well that has added to my disappointment. I bought a used car, so I don't expect it to be perfect, but, I feel like I deserve what was promised in my contract!

Desired Settlement: I want Empire Nissan to refund me $800 for the rails on my car that were never installed or taken care of. The dealership has had plenty of time to fulfill their end of the contract. I feel like I have been more than patient and they are the one's getting the "deal". Very poor customer service!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/22) */ The agreement was that we have to installed a navigation system and we bought one for her but she didn't feel comfortable with that and we paid $500 that was the amount that cost us the equipment and the installation. The roof rack was the same and we are willing to refund $500 to her and she can get the check anytime. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The cost to get a rail system put on by Rack Attack was $800. To get a factory installation of Nissan Rogue rails, it is $1600. I don't want parts off the internet and installation done by someone on the side. I feel I have been more than patient with all the hassles I have had with this car. It has been four months and the only phone calls I have received from the dealer to solve this issue is after I started this process with the BBB! Please send a check for $800 to my address listed in the complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 27, 2015/04/22) */ The check has been mailed and as of Monday April 20 was received. The customer **** called our dealership to verify that she indeed received the check. We request this case be closed and **** can verify check has been received and we are settled. Thank you. - **** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 28, 2015/04/28) */ We can finally close this claim! I received the agreed upon settlement in the mail today. One week after calling Empire Nissan and demanding to speak to another manager.

12/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: multiple mechanical/safety issues; car owend only 2+ months. Mngr contacted no returned phone calls; 3 messages left in two days of contact Purchased car in Aug 14, within two weeks it req'd a full brake replacement, one month later the water pump fails. I checked the fluid and it was over 3 liters low. I was guaranteed this car was in great working condition, an inspection was completed and serviceable to be taken that day. The dealer was trying to push a warranty on me and when I declined they got ignorant with me and the rest of the sale was not pleasant. I trusted this dealership as it was recommended by USAA and TruCar as reputable but they are far from reputable. The sales rep I was working with was Vince Reef and he assured me that they take care of military and honor the TruCar agreement they have with USAA, this is far from true. He washed his hands of me immediately after the sale and never returned phone calls or e-mails. I had to go to the manager in order to get Vince to call me back. When the brakes went out on the car he told me that it was my problem since there wasn't a warranty, I then informed him that he assured me this car was inspected and in great condition how could the brakes go out in two weeks? The most recent problem with the water pump happened Oct 27 2014. I contacted the dealer immediately but was forwarded to a ringing phone. I made contact with technicians who informed me that the manager was either at an appt or not available to speak. I left over 3 messages and never heard from the manager. I tried to make contact with the manager in a span of two days and not once was I successful. This resulted in me going to see legal advice and contacting USAA to see about returning this vehicle as a lemon.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the vehicle repaired and re-inspected at no cost to me. If not I would like to return the vehicle with a full refund to cover my lien.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ Empire Lakewood Nissan has repaired a couple of items on the car to make amends. We offered an extended warranty and the customer declined. His bank also offered the extended warranty and again he chose not to get it. The customer did purchase a high mileage older car, maintenance and repairs are nothing out of the ordinary on such a car. Even though we have fixed a couple of items, customer doesn't seem to be happy. We have done more than most dealerships would have done. Customer did complain about brakes, we inspected them and they were within safety standards. Even though they were safe, we wanted to have a happy customer, so we spent over $1100 to get new brakes installed. The car was purchased on August 16,2014. The new brakes were installed on September, 9,2014. It was three months since the customer purchased the car from us when we heard about the water pump issue. There has to be a point where the customer starts to have the responsibility of taking care of repairs and maintenance. All of our used cars are sold as is, and each customer is informed of that before purchasing their car, and they sign a form stating that as well. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Lakewood only repaired one item and it was the brakes due to a poor inspection. I did not receive an offer from any bank about a warranty and declined their offer because it was an outrageous price. The brakes were not within "safety" standards as the vehicles computer identified them as unsafe condition needing replaced. I understand I bought a high mileage vehicle but never have I had this many issues before and I owned a similar vehicle that was a two years older with the same amount of mileage and never had this many issues. I don't feel that the dealership did a proper inspection prior to selling this vehicle. I repaired this last item, because Lakewood Nissan failed to answer any of my calls nor return any of my messages. This dealerships customer service was poor and unresponsive to their customers. I am contacting my legal office to further identify Lakewood Nissan and a poor dealership to their military members. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/04) */ It's unfortunate the customer has chosen not to accept any compromise. Our answering service has no record of his phone call to respond to the compromise. The company representative from True Car , whom this customer was referred by, also believes that we have done more than try to help this customer to the best we are able. Unfortunately, the customer chose to not to accept any compromise at all. Now he chose to still besmirch our reputation. We are sorry it worked out this way after we spent about a thousand dollars to try and make it right.

5/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a car that was tampered with to mask known mechanical issues. Dealership refused assistance. I bought a car from Empire Nissan Lakewood in January and was told the price was $12,000. We bargained down to $10,500 when it was brought to my attention the very same car, same vin, was being advertised on their website for $7995. We brought this to their attention and they got angry, claiming it was an error. They became downright hostile towards us! They said they would sell us the car for that price but would not do any more work on it. We sit down to sign and they'd added $600 to the agreed $7995. When we asked why we were told by the director of finance *****,"for the work we put into it." When we asked what work, he couldn't tell us. After much dispute he agreed to remove the $600. When test driving said vehicle we had it checked out by a mechanic who said, "great car for the $, buy it!" Well, I started having problems within a few days, I broke down on my way home from work the third day. I called *******, the service director, who would not tow me. I got the car running again and was able to make it home but ******* told me to bring it in. I trusted Empire Nissan to fix the problem. They sent me to their mechanic (who was offsite at 64th and Federal and did not have anyone there who spoke English to help me understand what was happening) After an hour or so I was told my car was done, without explanation. I didn't have to pay but I got no paperwork explaining what was fixed and when I asked I was told,"a sensor." Um ok, I figured that was it. Nope. Smoke from the tailpipe 3 weeks later, $500 to replace the PCV valve crankcase at Meineke. Thought we were all good, nope. 2 days later, more smoke and the SES light, throwing code P0430. Take it to a certified BMW mechanic (Paddocks Imports) my Dr referred me to. And what does he find? Two major oil leaks. Thanks to those my combustion chamber is full of oil. I have oil coming out of my tail pipe. My valve guides and valve stem need to be replaced, my engine needs to be flushed. The best part!? This mechanic found a pan inside, meant to catch the oil drip so it couldn't be seen from the outside, sensor codes were turned off that he was able to recover, and an additive was added to my oil all to temporarily mask these issues. Two months after buying a car I get to put $5800 in repairs into it because a dealership committed fraud. Fraud because I believe they knew of these issues and attempted to hide them in order to sell a car. Furthermore, I think the car was not accidentally marked at $7995. I believe they knew of the problems and marked it as that first, with no price printed on the car in the lot they rose it to $12,000 and worked their way down. I am not unreasonable. I am a hard working person and just want what's fair, $5,800 from Empire Nissan of Lakewood to cover the repairs they attempted to hide.

Desired Settlement: $500 I paid to Meineke for PCV valve and crankcase replacement. $5300 paid to Paddocks Imports for valve guides, valve stem, sonar heads, engine flush and the necessary 27 hours of labor. This work was necessary to have a functioning vehicle 2 months after purchasing it because known oil leaks were masked by Empire Nissan of Lakewood.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/05) */ In response to Ms. ********** filed complaint against Empire Lakewood Nissan: ***** ******** entered the dealership and began price negotiations on a 2004 BMW X5. Upon reaching an agreed upon price of $10,500.00, she saw the same car on Nissan's website priced at $7995.00. By her own account she purchased the car for that price after she was informed that no more service repairs would be performed on the car. Evidence of this is found in the 5th sentence of the first paragraph of her complaint reading, "They said they would sell us the car for that price but would not do any more work on it." She then chose to move forward with the purchase. She entered the Finance department where she was presented with an "As Is-No Warranty," form which specifically states in bold writing, "You will pay all costs for any repairs. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about this vehicle." This document was signed by Ms. ********** co-buyer, and a copy is included in this report. Ms. ******** also took the vehicle to a mechanic of her own choosing and had it completely inspected. Again, by her own account, the mechanic said, "Great car for the money, buy it." In closing, Ms. Perternel's complaints seem to be the price of the car and the condition of the car. She ultimately paid the exact price that she found on Empire Lakewood Nissan's website ($7995.00). She was also informed (see above as well as original complaint) that there would be no additional work completed on the vehicle, the co-buyer of the car signed an "As Is-No Warranty" agreement, and they took it to a personal mechanic who informed them that the vehicle was a "great car." Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/05/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I bought a used car "as is", correct. I did not buy a used car anticipating it had been tampered with to mask known issues. Which is fraud.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership performed a "spot-Delivery" scam and guaranteed financing and led me to believe that my deal was final when it was not. I was led to believe that the vehicle that I purchased was in good working order and that I was guaranteed an auto loan and that the deal was completely final. The vehicle was not as advertised and they keep saying that it was as-is. I contacted the financing company and informed them of the state of the vehicle and found that the dealership had made several misrepresentations to myself and the bank. The bank then denied the loan and therefore the contract is void. however, the dealership contends that I have to come retrieve the vehicle from their possession. Now they refuse to refund my down payment and continually lie to me. 6-1-708. Formerly 6-1-105 (1) (ff) (I) Motor vehicle sales - deceptive trade practices. (1) A person engages in a deceptive trade practice when, in the course of such person's business, vocation, or occupation, such person: (a) Commits any of the following acts pertaining to the sale of a motor vehicle or a used motor vehicle: (I) Guarantees to a purchaser of a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle who conditions such purchase on the approval of a consumer credit sale as defined in section 5-2-104, C.R.S., or a consumer loan as defined in section 5-3-104, C.R.S., that such purchaser has been approved for either a consumer credit sale or a consumer loan if such approval is not final. For purposes of this sub paragraph (I), "guarantee" means a written document or oral representation between the purchaser and the person selling the vehicle that leads such purchaser to a reasonable good faith belief that the financing of such vehicle is certain. (II) Accepts a used motor vehicle as a trade-in on the purchase of a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle and sells such used motor vehicle before the purchaser has been approved for a consumer credit sale as defined in section 5-2-104, C.R.S., or a consumer loan as defined in section 5-3-104, C.R.S., if such approval is a condition of the purchase; (III) Fails to return to the purchaser any collateral or down payment tendered by such purchaser conditioned upon a guarantee by a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer that a consumer credit sale as defined in section 5-2-104, C.R.S., or a consumer loan as defined in section 5-3-104, C.R.S., has been approved for such purchaser, if such approval was a condition of the sale and if such financing is not approved and the purchaser is required to return the vehicle; (2) Formerly 6-1-105 (1) (ff) (II) For purposes of this section, if a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer guarantees financing and if approval for financing is a condition of the sale, such motor vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer shall not retain any portion of such purchaser's down payment or any trade-in vehicle as payment of rent on any vehicle released by such dealer to such purchaser pending approval of financing even if such dealer has obtained a waiver of such purchaser's right to return a vehicle or has contracted for a rental agreement with such purchaser. According to state statute they have violated this law and have engaged in deceptive trade practices. They contend that I have signed a contract but the very contract they hold is unlawful. They further violate this law by refusing to refund my down payment of $2000 cash

Desired Settlement: I want my $2000 cash refunded to me and to never hear from them again!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/13) */ Response to Mr. ****** complaint see attached Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was given possession of the vehicle and assured that the deal was final and it was mine. I discovered mechanical issues immediately and attempted to utilize the "extended-warranty" that was bundled into the deal to fix said problems. When the company was contacted it was discovered that the warranty was not in effect because the deal was not final. I contacted the bank and again to my surprise I was told that the financing was not final and merely a pre-approval was obtained by the dealership and that the warranty would not be in effect until they received the paperwork from the dealership and the deal was finalized and funded. Therefore, i was in possession of a vehicle that I did not own and could not safely operate because of the mechanical defects. During the conversation with the bank it was discovered that the dealership had made misrepresentations about the vehicle such as it's mechanical state, and included options such as power windows and power locks. During this call I was advised that I could simply return the vehicle because I was not the full legal owner and because the deal was financing contingent and the financing was not finalized. I then agreed and told the bank that I would not be purchasing the vehicle and the representative said that based on the information and my decision that the financing would be denied. Upon my arrival I told the sales manager and financing representative of the issues and my decision. Their attitude's were initially very condescending in the fact that they told me that I cannot return the vehicle and that I signed legal contracts. I explained to them what was told to me by the bank and they said they would "call and get their money". I dropped the keys and demanded my full refund and walked out the door. This is when the salesman that initially wrote the deal approached me and said, "if you do this you will forfeit your entire deposit because you signed a Bailment clause to this effect" not wanting to lose $2000 and not knowing the laws and the lack of a bailment clause in my contract, I agreed to have them repair the vehicle. After it was discovered that a bailment clause does not exist in my contract and finding the deceptive trade practices laws I then realized the extent of their lies and became furious. I returned to the dealership to discuss with the sales manager about his position regarding the law and obtaining my refund. I told him that I was in contact with the bank again and discovered that the financing manager was contacting the bank attempting to secure the funds prior to the vehicle being repaired. I told them that at this point I have discovered that I have been lied to on numerous occasions and would never do business with them. In their response they admit to delivering a vehicle to me and attest that the deal was final yet the bank has denied financing. They further say that the vehicle has been repaired but they have not provided documentation to that point. They close their response saying that the vehicle is ready to be picked up yet they have it listed on their website as stock#5793 as being for sale. In the photos of the vehicle I can clearly see the mechanical defects still present such as the same dry-rotted tires, missing signal lamps and lenses.I simply want my money back, and in the future I would like their response to be signed by the author. I have submitted a screenshot of the vehicle on their website for sale. I have verified that the vin numbers do indeed match.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received GAP insurance from dealer. Refinanced vehicle with personal insurance carrier (State Farm). Dealer will not return calls regarding refund. Vehicle purchased on 5-18-2013. Vehicle refinanced on 8-23-2013. Dealer was called the next day. They have refused to respond. Have called and left number several times. No one ever in finance office (am told) so messages left on recorder.

Desired Settlement: I want refund based on refinance date as they have been negligent in responding.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/06) */ This issue has been resolved.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used car and within 3 days the clutch and AC went out. I was treated very poorly by the General Sales Manager. The car I bought was a 2007 with 80k miles on it. I brought the car in for a tire pressure sensor the day after purchase and I ended up talking to both **** (the sales associate) and the owner of the dealership. I told him my air conditioner wasn't working and Adam looks me dead in the eye and says "that's bull I'm not selling you a car that the air conditioner doesn't work in." I talked with Adam and the owner a little more and they agreed to fix the sensor, put in a new plastic piece covering the speedometer, and fix my air conditioning. They had to order some parts so I drove it around for 2 more days and bring it back. That's when my clutch went out. I brought it back in, they have my car for 4 days, & after multiple phone conversations, I spoke with the General Sales Manager. Up to this point I have been very impressed with how the dealership has conducted its business. The GSM called me and said you need a new clutch, we will pay half and it will cost you $900, to which I responded "I don't have $900." So he wants to know how much money I do have. I told him $500 and he said ok we will fix your clutch for $500 and you will need to cover the cost of the AC. He said it might be as simple as a switch, but we aren't sure. That night I went to the dealership to discuss the matter with both **** and the New Car Sales Manager and we agreed that I would pay for the part for the clutch, they would cover the labor, and my air conditioner would be fixed and I wouldn't have to pay for it. Another WEEK goes by before I hear from anyone, the news: the clutch will cost me $500 and they want me to pay $600 to fix the air conditioner. I went to talk with the owner but he had just left so I talked to the GSM. This is a brief overview of the conversation: I tell him I'm upset about things. He looks at me confused and says, why? To which I responded, I just bought this car and now you want me to pay $1100? He responds with do you have any idea how much money out of my own pocket I have spent? Those repairs would have cost you over $3000 and I am covering all but $500 of it. Plus you needed a brand new flywheel which you burnt out. I said "I had the car for 2 days how could I have done that?" According to him, those parts go out real quick. He then proceeds to tell me that I am taking advantage of him, and he says "did I not say the AC would be a switch or the compressor?" To which I respond, "No, you only mentioned a switch" he then proceeds to call me a liar. At this point I said bring me the bill, we are done. So I paid the $500 for the clutch; and the air conditioner, after a week and a half, STILL WASN'T FIXED. The next day I called Adam, who'd been on vacation, and explained how upset I was. He immediately went straight to the owner. They agreed that I would bring the car in, have the AC fixed, and when I had the money, I could pay back the owner $250. When I go to pick up the car, the manager of the service department says ok it looks like you owe us $250 and the owner is covering the rest. I said did he mention anything about me being able to pay it back? And the guy says nope. And at this point, I just want my car back. I don't have the money but I have a credit card. I am done haggling. Here is a list of the problems with my car and how much they ended up costing me: Clutch: $500, Air Conditioning: $250, alignment: included with purchase, new tires: dealership refused to put them on, new heatshield: included with purchase (but they didn't fix the rattling problem and I will need a new exhaust), tire pressure sensor: reset (immediately turned back on when I drove off) needs a brand new sensor, skid plate cracked: still needs to be repaired. Plastic piece covering speedometer, oil gauge & g-force gauge need to be replaced: replaced speedometer, still need oil & g-force replaced.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund for the air conditioning as was agreed upon, as well as a refund for the clutch less the cost of the part. The part is at most $300 so I am looking for a refund of $450. I would also like it to be known had it not been for the General Sales Manager and his rude and incredibly unprofessional demeanor I would not be writing this review at all.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Empire Lakewood Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)