BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Empire Lakewood Nissan

Phone: (303) 232-8881Fax: (303) 237-166610345 W Colfax Ave, LakewoodCO 80215-3913http://www.empirelakewoodnissan.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Empire Lakewood Nissan is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Empire Lakewood Nissan's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Empire Lakewood Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Received GAP insurance from dealer. Refinanced vehicle with personal insurance carrier (State Farm). Dealer will not return calls regarding refund.
Vehicle purchased on 5-18-2013. Vehicle refinanced on 8-23-2013. Dealer was called the next day. They have refused to respond. Have called and left number several times. No one ever in finance office (am told) so messages left on recorder.

Final Consumer Response
This issue has been resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/17/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Bought 04 Concorde from Lakewood Nissan, Lakewood CO had car shipped, Warranty 90 day/3K. 2 problems in warrany period. Dealer won't cover.
Apr '13 I agreed to buy 04 Chrysler Concorde from Lakewood Nissan, Lakewood, CO. On 4/19 I got from salesman (Renato Castaneda) in terms of a warranty "I can give you 3 months 3,000 miles warranty from the dealer basically is engine, transmission, axels, everything that make the car move (powertrain)." I live in *********, ** so the car was shipped. On 5/6 I sent ****** an e-mail "The 2004 Concorde we bought had the "check engine" light come on after driving it less than 75 miles. Since code is for engine problem please advise how you would like to proceed." He emailed back "I suggest found exactly the problem and go from there." On 5/7 he e-mailed "You have copy of the 3000 miles 3 months warranty if it is cover I'll ask my manager how we can handle it" On 5/20 I e-mailed "I haven't heard from you in regard to the engine problem with our 2004 Concorde. Please advise."
On 5/28 at 11 pm my son was in the middle of a 250 mile trip and the 'check engine' light came on again and we took the car to a Chrysler shop. On 5/29 I e-mailed ****** "Unfortunately the "check engine" light came on again this time it's a transmission problem(I attached an estimate). I ask you please contact whoever you need to so we can get the car out of the shop as soon as possible." As of 5/30 I had not heard back so I e-mailed again.
On 6/1 I e-mailed "On May 11 I notified you of an engine problem with the Concorde and 16 days later on 5/27 you said you were going to talk to your manager about the engine problem and now it's June 1st and you still haven't gotten back to me on that issue. On 5/29 I notified you of the transmission problem that has caused my son to not have any car and on May 31 you said you were going to talk to the owner and I haven't heard from you on that issue. On 6/3 at 2pm I called Renato. He said they are going to notify me of a 'decision' that day (they didn't). On 6/4 at 2 pm I called and ****** said "they are still working on it". I told him that he told me that yesterday. He said he will get me a resolution or someone's name today. On 6/4 at 3 pm I called ************** and asked for the general manager. I was told to speak to ************ so I left a message.
On 6/5 I called ************. He asked for the dealer where the car is. I told him and he said he would call me back(he never did). On 6/5 I got a VM from ************** at Lakewood Nissan so I returned his call. He proceeded to tell me that he had spoken to the people at Schram Chrysler(where the car is)and was told the car would still move so the warranty company would not cover any repairs. On 6/6 I sent an e-mail to Morehouse "According to the 2004 Concorde Owner's manual 'The Malfunction Indicator Light flashes to alert to serious conditions that could lead to immediate loss of power. The vehicle should be serviced as soon as possible if this occurs.' This certainly does not sound like I should just drive the car as you told me you would do during our conversation on 6/5 (when I asked you what you would do if it was your vehicle). Further, I went to Schram Chrysler in ********* where the car continues to sit and spoke to their service manager. He was kind enough to tell me that while it is correct that the car can move from point A to point B, after about 50-55 mph the car will not be in high gear causing very high rpms which is what I experienced when I drove the car to them. Based on this I don't understand how I should expect my son to drive the car in this condition and ask him to not go over 50 mph and "hope for the best". I request that you present this information to your warranty company or allow me to. I was up front with your salesman and met all my obligations in a very timely manner when purchasing the vehicle. I would ask the same in return."
As of 6/12 I can't get e-mails or phone calls returned. I contacted Nissan corporate and they advised they couldn't directly help so I should consider "suing and/or using the BBB".

Consumer's Final Response
________________________________________
From: ******** (Removed Sensitive Data)
Sent: Friday, June 14, 2013 8:59 PM
To: 'Better Business Bureau'
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#75197785(Ref#73-6512-75197785-3-200)

Greetings,

I have been contacted by the business owner and we have reached an amicable solution. Could you tell me what I need to do to withdraw the complaint?

I'm sorry you have taken the time to post the complaint but I believe it may have had some bearing on the owner contacting me.

I can't tell you how appreciative I am that you assisted me.

Thank you very much for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.

**********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: The dealership performed a "spot-Delivery" scam and guaranteed financing and led me to believe that my deal was final when it was not.
I was led to believe that the vehicle that I purchased was in good working order and that I was guaranteed an auto loan and that the deal was completely final. The vehicle was not as advertised and they keep saying that it was as-is. I contacted the financing company and informed them of the state of the vehicle and found that the dealership had made several misrepresentations to myself and the bank. The bank then denied the loan and therefore the contract is void. however, the dealership contends that I have to come retrieve the vehicle from their possession. Now they refuse to refund my down payment and continually lie to me.

6-1-708. Formerly 6-1-105 (1) (ff) (I) Motor vehicle sales - deceptive trade practices. (1) A person engages in a deceptive trade practice when, in the course of such person's business, vocation, or occupation, such person:

(a) Commits any of the following acts pertaining to the sale of a motor vehicle or a used motor vehicle:

(I) Guarantees to a purchaser of a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle who conditions such purchase on the approval of a consumer credit sale as defined in section 5-2-104, C.R.S., or a consumer loan as defined in section 5-3-104, C.R.S., that such purchaser has been approved for either a consumer credit sale or a consumer loan if such approval is not final. For purposes of this sub paragraph (I), "guarantee" means a written document or oral representation between the purchaser and the person selling the vehicle that leads such purchaser to a reasonable good faith belief that the financing of such vehicle is certain.


(II) Accepts a used motor vehicle as a trade-in on the purchase of a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle and sells such used motor vehicle before the purchaser has been approved for a consumer credit sale as defined in section 5-2-104, C.R.S., or a consumer loan as defined in section 5-3-104, C.R.S., if such approval is a condition of the purchase;

(III) Fails to return to the purchaser any collateral or down payment tendered by such purchaser conditioned upon a guarantee by a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer that a consumer credit sale as defined in section 5-2-104, C.R.S., or a consumer loan as defined in section 5-3-104, C.R.S., has been approved for such purchaser, if such approval was a condition of the sale and if such financing is not approved and the purchaser is required to return the vehicle;
(2) Formerly 6-1-105 (1) (ff) (II) For purposes of this section, if a motor vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer guarantees financing and if approval for financing is a condition of the sale, such motor vehicle or used motor vehicle dealer shall not retain any portion of such purchaser's down payment or any trade-in vehicle as payment of rent on any vehicle released by such dealer to such purchaser pending approval of financing even if such dealer has obtained a waiver of such purchaser's right to return a vehicle or has contracted for a rental agreement with such purchaser.

According to state statute they have violated this law and have engaged in deceptive trade practices. They contend that I have signed a contract but the very contract they hold is unlawful. They further violate this law by refusing to refund my down payment of $2000 cash

Initial Business Response
Response to Mr. ****** complaint see attached

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was given possession of the vehicle and assured that the deal was final and it was mine. I discovered mechanical issues immediately and attempted to utilize the "extended-warranty" that was bundled into the deal to fix said problems. When the company was contacted it was discovered that the warranty was not in effect because the deal was not final. I contacted the bank and again to my surprise I was told that the financing was not final and merely a pre-approval was obtained by the dealership and that the warranty would not be in effect until they received the paperwork from the dealership and the deal was finalized and funded. Therefore, i was in possession of a vehicle that I did not own and could not safely operate because of the mechanical defects. During the conversation with the bank it was discovered that the dealership had made misrepresentations about the vehicle such as it's mechanical state, and included options such as power windows and power locks. During this call I was advised that I could simply return the vehicle because I was not the full legal owner and because the deal was financing contingent and the financing was not finalized. I then agreed and told the bank that I would not be purchasing the vehicle and the representative said that based on the information and my decision that the financing would be denied. Upon my arrival I told the sales manager and financing representative of the issues and my decision. Their attitude's were initially very condescending in the fact that they told me that I cannot return the vehicle and that I signed legal contracts. I explained to them what was told to me by the bank and they said they would "call and get their money". I dropped the keys and demanded my full refund and walked out the door. This is when the salesman that initially wrote the deal approached me and said, "if you do this you will forfeit your entire deposit because you signed a Bailment clause to this effect" not wanting to lose $2000 and not knowing the laws and the lack of a bailment clause in my contract, I agreed to have them repair the vehicle. After it was discovered that a bailment clause does not exist in my contract and finding the deceptive trade practices laws I then realized the extent of their lies and became furious. I returned to the dealership to discuss with the sales manager about his position regarding the law and obtaining my refund. I told him that I was in contact with the bank again and discovered that the financing manager was contacting the bank attempting to secure the funds prior to the vehicle being repaired. I told them that at this point I have discovered that I have been lied to on numerous occasions and would never do business with them. In their response they admit to delivering a vehicle to me and attest that the deal was final yet the bank has denied financing. They further say that the vehicle has been repaired but they have not provided documentation to that point. They close their response saying that the vehicle is ready to be picked up yet they have it listed on their website as stock#5793 as being for sale. In the photos of the vehicle I can clearly see the mechanical defects still present such as the same dry-rotted tires, missing signal lamps and lenses.I simply want my money back, and in the future I would like their response to be signed by the author. I have submitted a screenshot of the vehicle on their website for sale. I have verified that the vin numbers do indeed match.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

05/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Bought a car that was tampered with to mask known mechanical issues. Dealership refused assistance.
I bought a car from Empire Nissan Lakewood in January and was told the price was $12,000. We bargained down to $10,500 when it was brought to my attention the very same car, same vin, was being advertised on their website for $7995. We brought this to their attention and they got angry, claiming it was an error. They became downright hostile towards us! They said they would sell us the car for that price but would not do any more work on it. We sit down to sign and they'd added $600 to the agreed $7995. When we asked why we were told by the director of finance *****,"for the work we put into it." When we asked what work, he couldn't tell us. After much dispute he agreed to remove the $600. When test driving said vehicle we had it checked out by a mechanic who said, "great car for the $, buy it!" Well, I started having problems within a few days, I broke down on my way home from work the third day. I called *******, the service director, who would not tow me. I got the car running again and was able to make it home but ******* told me to bring it in. I trusted Empire Nissan to fix the problem. They sent me to their mechanic (who was offsite at 64th and Federal and did not have anyone there who spoke English to help me understand what was happening) After an hour or so I was told my car was done, without explanation. I didn't have to pay but I got no paperwork explaining what was fixed and when I asked I was told,"a sensor." Um ok, I figured that was it. Nope. Smoke from the tailpipe 3 weeks later, $500 to replace the PCV valve crankcase at Meineke. Thought we were all good, nope. 2 days later, more smoke and the SES light, throwing code P0430. Take it to a certified BMW mechanic (Paddocks Imports) my Dr referred me to. And what does he find? Two major oil leaks. Thanks to those my combustion chamber is full of oil. I have oil coming out of my tail pipe. My valve guides and valve stem need to be replaced, my engine needs to be flushed. The best part!? This mechanic found a pan inside, meant to catch the oil drip so it couldn't be seen from the outside, sensor codes were turned off that he was able to recover, and an additive was added to my oil all to temporarily mask these issues. Two months after buying a car I get to put $5800 in repairs into it because a dealership committed fraud. Fraud because I believe they knew of these issues and attempted to hide them in order to sell a car. Furthermore, I think the car was not accidentally marked at $7995. I believe they knew of the problems and marked it as that first, with no price printed on the car in the lot they rose it to $12,000 and worked their way down. I am not unreasonable. I am a hard working person and just want what's fair, $5,800 from Empire Nissan of Lakewood to cover the repairs they attempted to hide.

Initial Business Response
In response to Ms. ********** filed complaint against Empire Lakewood Nissan:

***** ******** entered the dealership and began price negotiations on a 2004 BMW X5. Upon reaching an agreed upon price of $10,500.00, she saw the same car on Nissan's website priced at $7995.00. By her own account she purchased the car for that price after she was informed that no more service repairs would be performed on the car. Evidence of this is found in the 5th sentence of the first paragraph of her complaint reading, "They said they would sell us the car for that price but would not do any more work on it." She then chose to move forward with the purchase.

She entered the Finance department where she was presented with an "As Is-No Warranty," form which specifically states in bold writing, "You will pay all costs for any repairs. The dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of any oral statements about this vehicle." This document was signed by Ms. ********** co-buyer, and a copy is included in this report.

Ms. ******** also took the vehicle to a mechanic of her own choosing and had it completely inspected. Again, by her own account, the mechanic said, "Great car for the money, buy it."

In closing, Ms. Perternel's complaints seem to be the price of the car and the condition of the car. She ultimately paid the exact price that she found on Empire Lakewood Nissan's website ($7995.00). She was also informed (see above as well as original complaint) that there would be no additional work completed on the vehicle, the co-buyer of the car signed an "As Is-No Warranty" agreement, and they took it to a personal mechanic who informed them that the vehicle was a "great car."

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I bought a used car "as is", correct. I did not buy a used car anticipating it had been tampered with to mask known issues. Which is fraud.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/08/2011Problems with Product / Service
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: I bought a used car and within 3 days the clutch and AC went out. I was treated very poorly by the General Sales Manager.
The car I bought was a 2007 with 80k miles on it. I brought the car in for a tire pressure sensor the day after purchase and I ended up talking to both **** (the sales associate) and the owner of the dealership. I told him my air conditioner wasn't working and Adam looks me dead in the eye and says "that's bull I'm not selling you a car that the air conditioner doesn't work in." I talked with Adam and the owner a little more and they agreed to fix the sensor, put in a new plastic piece covering the speedometer, and fix my air conditioning. They had to order some parts so I drove it around for 2 more days and bring it back. That's when my clutch went out. I brought it back in, they have my car for 4 days, & after multiple phone conversations, I spoke with the General Sales Manager. Up to this point I have been very impressed with how the dealership has conducted its business. The GSM called me and said you need a new clutch, we will pay half and it will cost you $900, to which I responded "I don't have $900." So he wants to know how much money I do have. I told him $500 and he said ok we will fix your clutch for $500 and you will need to cover the cost of the AC. He said it might be as simple as a switch, but we aren't sure. That night I went to the dealership to discuss the matter with both **** and the New Car Sales Manager and we agreed that I would pay for the part for the clutch, they would cover the labor, and my air conditioner would be fixed and I wouldn't have to pay for it. Another WEEK goes by before I hear from anyone, the news: the clutch will cost me $500 and they want me to pay $600 to fix the air conditioner. I went to talk with the owner but he had just left so I talked to the GSM. This is a brief overview of the conversation: I tell him I'm upset about things. He looks at me confused and says, why? To which I responded, I just bought this car and now you want me to pay $1100? He responds with do you have any idea how much money out of my own pocket I have spent? Those repairs would have cost you over $3000 and I am covering all but $500 of it. Plus you needed a brand new flywheel which you burnt out. I said "I had the car for 2 days how could I have done that?" According to him, those parts go out real quick. He then proceeds to tell me that I am taking advantage of him, and he says "did I not say the AC would be a switch or the compressor?" To which I respond, "No, you only mentioned a switch" he then proceeds to call me a liar. At this point I said bring me the bill, we are done. So I paid the $500 for the clutch; and the air conditioner, after a week and a half, STILL WASN'T FIXED. The next day I called Adam, who'd been on vacation, and explained how upset I was. He immediately went straight to the owner. They agreed that I would bring the car in, have the AC fixed, and when I had the money, I could pay back the owner $250. When I go to pick up the car, the manager of the service department says ok it looks like you owe us $250 and the owner is covering the rest. I said did he mention anything about me being able to pay it back? And the guy says nope. And at this point, I just want my car back. I don't have the money but I have a credit card. I am done haggling. Here is a list of the problems with my car and how much they ended up costing me: Clutch: $500, Air Conditioning: $250, alignment: included with purchase, new tires: dealership refused to put them on, new heatshield: included with purchase (but they didn't fix the rattling problem and I will need a new exhaust), tire pressure sensor: reset (immediately turned back on when I drove off) needs a brand new sensor, skid plate cracked: still needs to be repaired. Plastic piece covering speedometer, oil gauge & g-force gauge need to be replaced: replaced speedometer, still need oil & g-force replaced.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1978Business started: 01/01/1932Business started locally: 03/01/1966
Licensing

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Business Management
Principal: Chris Lenckosz (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr. Dean Dowson (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Empire Lakewood Nissan

10345 W Colfax Ave

Lakewood, CO 80215-3913

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10345 W Colfax Ave 

    Lakewood, CO 80215-3913(303) 232-8881

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Empire Lakewood Nissan is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.