BBB Accredited Business since

Courtesy Acura

Phone: (303) 795-7800 Fax: (303) 795-5022 7590 S Broadway, Centennial, CO 80122 http://www.courtesyacuradenver.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Courtesy Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Courtesy Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Courtesy Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. John Mark Osborne, General Manager Ms. Julie Thompson, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Mark Osborne, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having a starting problem. Had the car towed to dealership Later that day ****** ****** called me and said it was my Blue Tooth pulling power and it needed to be turned off $299.00 they turned it off and I picked up my car, Then 2 days later on March 18,2015 had it towed again to the dealer. This time ***** ******* called and stated it was my starter and my a/c compressor clutch both needed to be replaced, she told me the cost would be $740.00. I asked how much the warranty was going to cover, she said I didn't have a warranty. I told her there was a copy in the glove box, she said the car was in the back and she couldn't go there, I told her I would fax a copy when I got home from work, which I did, She then called me the next day and said the warranty would not cover the a/c because they already did the work but the starter would be covered, when the car was done I went in and was givin a bill for $991.10 After several calls talking to **** ******* he stated "we owe you some money back" I'm still waiting.

Business Response:

****** ******'s 2008 RDX came to us on the 9th of March 2015 with a customer concern that the car would not start at times and had no power.  We found the battery dead because of an electrical drain from the hands free link module.  ****** ****** elected to have the module disconnected rather than replace it.  We charged the battery and disconnected the module as instructed.  The charge was $297.28 which was paid.

 

On the 17th of March 2015, the car came back to us with the same no start problem and also the air conditioning system would not blow cold air.  We found the starting problem to be a bad starter and the a/c problem to be a bad compressor clutch and relay.  ****** gave us authorization to repair these items.  After we had already repaired the a/c ****** called us to say she had an extended warranty with a $1000 deductible and said the customer would have to mail the final invoice for the AC repair to be considered since we had already repaired it.  We wanted to assist ****** with the repairs under the circumstances so we paid her $100 deductible for the starter repair as a goodwill gesture.  ****** paid for the AC repair. Final bill was $991.10 to her.

 

On the 20th of March 2015 AUL sent a letter of denial to ****** for the AC repairs because that isn't a covered item on her service agreement.  They did pay us for the starter repairs less the $100 deductible as agreed.

 

Based on the above information and also taking into consideration ****** ******'s frustration, Courtesy Acura would be happy to reimburse her for the initial charge and repair of $297.28 since it had to be brought in with similar issues.  Courtesy Acura appreciates ******'s business and letting us know that she is still concerned as to the resolution of her bill.

 

**** *******

General Manager

Courtesy Acura

303-795-7800


Business Response: The $740 ****** is referring to is for the hands free link to be replaced.  She opted for us to disconnect which was $297, which is what we have offered to reimburse.  We quoted $1848.71 to replace the starter and A/C compressor repair.  We were able to get the warranty to cover the starter in the amount $534.54.  We covered the $100 deductible.  After the warranty we quoted $1183.71 and when Jessie came in we collected $991.10.  We charged less than quoted.  All of the amounts were approved by ****** ******.  We would be happy to send a check for $297 since the initial repair did not fix the issue.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 11140094

I am rejecting this response because:  The $740.00 that I am referring to is the price I was quoted for the starter and air conditioner, I'm reminded of that when I play back the phone calls on my cell phone that were taped, I have 4 calls from ***** and 7 calls from ******. I was never quoted $1848.71  for the repairs or I would of turned them down. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Courtesy Acura who failed to inform me that the vehicle required major repair work. I purchased a used vehicle from Courtesy Acura on 1 Apr 2014. I found the vehicle via USAA's online vehicle locator tool. I paid $16000 for the vehicle. I was told by the salesman that the vehicle was in very good condition. After I signed all the required purchasing documents I was given the keys to the vehicle and proceeded to drive the vehicle home to Thornton. Before I could get the SUV home I began having problems, the following alerts started coming across the control panel; TRANS Failsafe Program, Oil Sensor Failure, Check oil Level and others. The truck stalled I had to coast into a restaurant parking lot but eventually got the vehicle home. After a couple days I took the vehicle to the closest BWM Dealership in Boulder. The service agent at Gebhardt BMW had the mechanic evaluate the vehicle. They identified several items wrong with the vehicle; the major item was the transmission. I was told the transmission was toast, which was why the transmission went into failsafe. I was also informed that the transmission fluid in the vehicle look very new which indicated someone knew there was an issue with this vehicle's transmission. The mechanic identified the following items wrong with this vehicle and estimated the cost to repair these items: * Transmission Repair - $8517 * Alternator $970 * Oil Level Sensor Fault - $540 * Rear Rotors - $550 * Transmission evaluation - $550 ïï��ï�� Total = $11,127, the repair cost are going to cost me almost more than what I am paying for this vehicle, a vehicle that I was told was in good condition. I have received a few emails correspondence from Mr. *** ******* at Courtesy Acura. Mr. ******* claims his pre-owned manager contacted the service adviser and mechanic at Gebhardt BMW. The individuals at Gebhardt who looked at the 2006 x5 were supposed to have reported the following to the pre-owned manager; "he was told of no actual failures but was told of the codes that were showing as potential issues. Information relayed to him included that they could not get the code to duplicate or reappear as fail safe for them". This information is so far from the truth, I have correspondence from Mr. **** ***** (service agent @ Gebhardt) indicating the transmission was "Toast".

Desired Settlement: Option 1 - In a perfect World I would like for the dealership to take care of all repair cost Option 2 - Take care of at least ½ of the repair cost Option 3 - Return my $4000 down payment and return my trade-in

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/08) */ Courtesy Acura understands how frustrating it is purchasing a pre-owned vehicle only to have it break down soon after purchasing. We had sent this vehicle down to the local BMW shop before selling the vehicle to have another item looked at. They also did not find these issues. We take great pride in selling good cars and reasonable prices. It is not good when these cars turn out to have problems. Courtesy Acura sold this car AS-IS and Mr ******** accepted these terms. We do want to resolve this as best we can and are willing to offer half the cost of the proposed transmission only which would be $4259. If this is acceptable to Mr ******** then I will have a cut check and overnighted to him. If is not then we would be willing to give him what he paid for the vehicle in trade in for another one of our vehicles. With Courtesy **** ******* General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We told them, "no money down". Over a month later they tell us to come up with the extra taxes that they forgot to put in the loan. Look above, we worked with ****** the loan officer.

Desired Settlement: Honestly, the whole experience was terrible from the second we signed the contract. Take the vehicle back is what I desire to happen!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/25) */ Mr ******* notified us of his frustration via reviews online within a few days of purchase. He would not however return my emails to him. In my emails to Mr ******* I offered to help but he would not respond to me. He did however continue to place negative reviews online without allowing us to fix the problem. This most recent issue is one that our tax locate program called Centrus showed us a certain amount to collect for taxes. It was wrong and we notified the customer that we were owed the additional amount. Mr ******* did sign our tax disclaimer which states this. It is an unfortunate issue not caused by either the customer or the dealership. I would be happy to extend my prior offer to the Mr ******* if he would simply return a call or email me directly. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never got an Email from Mr. *******.I did respond through a website review with the end line stating, "why bother, there is nothing you can do." So the program "Centrus" screwed up the taxes but we (my daughter who I co-signed for) are responsible for the payment. I will reiterate one more time, we went in to their dealership and we told them we have no money down. The very first counter offer was,$500 down and we absolutely refused the offer. He(****) then went back and came back with an offer that had no money down which we signed. We left( terrible way to treat a first time buying customer)and we were bummed that she had to go immediately to go get gas which Mr. ******* did say he would buy her(*****) a tank of gas. ***** did not follow up on it because she feels uncomfortable with the whole dealership now. Then a few weeks later we get a phone call stating to come up with $340 for the extra tax that THEIR program screwed up on. Talk about passing the buck. What is so hard to understand? No Money down, she doesn't have it! They have all our information and if they really wanted to fix the whole problem, Mr. ******* would have called or emailed me but he never did anything except respond to my negative reviews that I posted online by posting his rebuttal. That is the only time I heard from him.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to address service issues. Disrespectful, unhelpful and arrogant employee refused to help us with a question related to our purchase. We purchased a vehicle (Acura MDX SUV on 09/23/2013) from Courtesy Acura of Littleton, CO. There was an issue with finance department, they ignored phone calls and failed to provide assistance needed to successfully complete the transaction. We called in to resolve the issue numerous times, and were finally able to reach Cheryl from finance department today on 10/25/2013 at 6:18pm. We were forward to her by the front desk, Cheryl responded to our "Hi" by saying "WHY ARE YOU CALLING ME?!" in rude accusatory tone. Then she let us know that she let us know that she had no time for us and has to go home. We didn't resolve the issue, I requested that she respond to our email and fix the issue related to the title. p.s. Rick

Desired Settlement: First and foremost we'd like the manager of this rude employee to review her attitude and educate her on how to treat their customers. Our salesman (Rick who was great by the way) is not supposed to do finance departments duties; and we most definitely should not be running around trying to resolve their issues. Rectify this situation to our satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ I have been in contact with the customer. I am confident that I can resolve their complaint and also make sure that no customer gets treated like that again. We take great pride in how we treat our customers and sincerely apologize. John Osborne General Manager Courtesy Acura


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Courtesy Acura
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)