BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2004

Century Chevrolet

Phone: (303) 469-3355Fax: (303) 466-72396105 W 120th Ave, BroomfieldCO 80020-2448

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2004

BBB has determined that Century Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Century Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Century Chevrolet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
07/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

dealership keeps providing wrong information to DMV, which prevents me from obtaining license plates and be able to use this truck for commercial use
I bought a Chevy truck from this place at the end of March in 2015 in personal name with intend to use for business. For 3 months dealership has been providing inaccurate information to DMV on multiple occasions, which is preventing me from getting commercial license plates and be able to use this truck for my business. I have gone to DMV at least 8-10 times and every time had to sit in line and which resulted in spending at least 3 hours each time (includes trip time). I have gone to the dealership at least 6 times as well, spending at least an hour every time. Because of this, I am not able work and earn money until I obtain commercial license plates. I have spent a lot of time trying to get this resolved and also have been paying commercial insurance ($917/month) and truck payment ($975/month)for the past three months.

Desired Settlement
I would like expedited attention to this matter and proper documentation provided to my DMV office in order for me to obtain commercial license plates. also I'm seeking a financial compensation for my time spent trying to resolve this issue, accumulated business costs while unable to work due to dealership's inability to provide correct information to the DMV, and lost wages I were to make during the last three months.

Business Response
We are doing everything we can to rectify the issues with *** **********'s licensing. He has legal representation and we have agreed to help with everything he needs.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Refusal to honor request to stop 'personal' solicitations.
Century Chevrolet sends nearly monthly letters to my home. They 'appear' hand addressed to draw attention. The letter is the same text every time pleading to buy my 2010 Corvette. They even claim to have "a buyer" who wants my car.

I have not owned this car for four years....

I have never made contact with this retailer. They admit I am not in their database. When responding personally to the GM, Jay Frank, I have been stopped at the level below him who prepares these mailings, Brett Organ. Mr. Organ who would take my call explained that these mailing come from a "junk mail company" who has me in their database.

I am fully aware of this. My complaint is two-fold. Mr. Organ refuses to allow me to speak to the letter's supposed sender, Jay Frank, and refuses to provide the name of the sender of the solicitation.

I cannot therefore enter a complaint against this company as the dealer refuses to divulge their name.

In trying to resolve this matter Mr. Organ was over the top insulting and abusive during a phone call. The listeners in my office were appaled he was in sales. His condescending voice and joking attitude were not well received. He essentially told me to blow off and they hung up. He laughed at my request to eventually contact the letters sender, Jay Frank.

I would appreciate your assistance in getting this retailer to divulge who is sending this mail to me.

Thank you in advance for looking into this complaint.

Desired Settlement
For them to divulge who is sending their advertising mail in error to my address.

Business Response
Dear Mr. ******,

Let me apologize for the miscommunication and lack of engagement from our staff. We have an entirely new management staff and many new processes that are changing everyday to improve. Client satisfaction is paramount to everyone and if there's an individual that is sabotaging that; then I need to know. Thank you for explaining what happened so we're more prepared to handle similar requests in the future. I have researched the situation and counseled the manager you mentioned, who was ****, our Business Development Manager. There is no excuse for his communication and/or attitude. Again, let me apologize on his behalf. I can be reached via cell @ XXX-XXX-XXXX or **** The reception center will also forward to my land-line but I am rarely at my desk. As for your request to remove yourself from the conquest mail, that can be done through *** ***** @ Abstrakt Marketing. I am attaching her information so you can call and disclose your personal info so she can remove you from their database. Your information isn't available in our database; therefore I can't do it for you. I called her today and she is expecting your call. Let me know if there's anything I can do to help.

Best Regards,
*** *****

*** *****
Project Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Purchased vehicle told me I was approved, then had to take car back wont give me my 3,000 I put down.
I purchased vehicle on November 23,2012. Finance guy named *************** handled paper work said everything was fine. I went back on Nov. 24th to pick up car. I put a 2004 Hyundai in for trade as well as $3,000 down. They took $2,000 from my visa card then $1,000 a week after. They called never me to pick up hyundai for trade. Then on December 13th another gentleman named *** contacted me to tell me paperwork had been done wrong. We had to resubmit paperwork again. this gentleman told me the bank ally who was on contract that we signed approved me. i got letter from ally saying they denied application. I took car back on December 31 and haven't heard anything from the dealer. They said they were keeping all the money. I have tried to call and they wont give me a straight answer.

Desired Settlement
i just want my money back they knew in the beginning it wasn't good but didn't tell me.

Business' Initial Response
Under Colorado state law a dealer can charge .20 per mile and 75.00 a day for use of a vehicle under the bailment agreement if the customer does not provied the nessasary documents such as in this case income tax returns.When we are faced with credit issues and additional stipulations the customer agrees to furnish them at the time the contract is signed.Century chevrolet chose not envorce it's right to do so and gave a complete refund to ****************

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Century Chevrolet did give me a complete refund.As they knew they were in the wrong. The contract was never legite.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Century Chevrolet has failed to send the DMV the correct paperwork for over 2 months. Their title clerk, ****** has NO sense of urgency & is useless.
I purchased a 2014 Chevy Malibu from Century Chevrolet on June 26, 2015. I went to the DMV to try to get my license plates for the first time on August 21, 2015. The DMV told me that Century hadn't sent over all of the paperwork, so I had to get my tags extended. I called the ********** office before leaving the DMV & spoke with **** in the finance office. He found a tracking/confirmation # was entered incorrectly. The document that he was talking about had been rejected by the DMV because of the missing VIN Verification from the previous dealership, Masini Motors & I made Century aware that the paperwork had been rejected. At one point, I was given their title clerk, ********* phone number at their corporate office because no one in ********** knew what to do. I faxed her the exact document that the DMV mailed to her because she said she hadn't checked her mail yet, claiming she was too busy, it was 2pm at the time. The DMV only required a VIN INSPECTION form from Masini Motors. This sounds like something that should've been done LONG BEFORE the car was sold to anyone & yet ***** still hasn't acquired it over a month later. I spoke to the DMV today, September 25th, & ***** STILL has NOT sent them the VIN Inspection form from Masini Motors. On September 10th, I was told by ****** ******** in the finance office that ***** was making calls to find Masini Motors. I had specially called her, but Mr. ******** called me back on her behalf instead, which further illustrates her lack of concern for this ongoing issue. I called ***** today after the DMV said they haven't received the VIN INSPECTION yet & I left a message because ***** didn't answer the phone. I'm going to try to find the number of her boss because she's clearly incapable of doing this task alone & didn't even get it done before the car was sold. She has no sense of urgency, she sounds exhausted, drained, & lazy over the phone, and I will not continue to wait on something so simple to be completed when this could have & should have been done a long time ago. My dad and I have voiced our frustrations to the dealership & the title clerk, ****** & they fail to do anything to get this handled after several phone calls, faxes, & letters from the DMV. WHAT MORE SHOULD WE, THE CUSTOMERS, HAVE TO DO? I have made 4 attempts to get this handled & my dad has contacted Century twice. A total of 6 times & still NOTHING.

Desired Settlement
I'm asking Century Chevrolet to get the VIN Inspection form from Masini Motors TODAY! Why must this continue and continue to be prolonged? I have wasted so much time over such a simple issue. If you're "sorry," GET A SENSE OF URGENCY, GET THE PAPERWORK TO THE DMV, NOTIFY ME WHEN THE CORRECT PAPERWORK IS THERE, stop sending me old & incorrect tracking numbers which I told you already had been rejected by the DMV to temporarily appease what hasn't been done. Do some RESEARCH for once & get the job done! If you're "so sorry" FIX THE ISSUE. It's been over 2 months! TERRIBLE customer service.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *********,
We apologize for the inconvenience that this issue has caused. When Century purchased the vehicle at auction, we were unaware that Masini Motors did not complete their VIN verification for an out-of-state vehicle. As per Colorado law, a dealership must complete a VIN verification on any out-of-state vehicle purchase or sale. Masini Motors failed to issue a VIN verification on the vehicle in question.
Upon being notified of the incomplete wholesale transaction, we immediately reached out to the owner of Masini Motors and obtained a VIN verification to satisfy the DMV rules and regulations. We apologize for the delay in paperwork but the paperwork has been corrected and resent to the DMV. They should be able to process the title work and issue plates within 48 hours. Please call the Arapahoe branch to verify the paperwork is processed prior to a physical visit. There are some DMV branches that are behind a few weeks. If you call in advance, they increase the urgency of processing the paperwork especially in a delay like yours.
Once again, we apologize for the oversight and sincerely appreciate your business.
Best Regards,
*** *****
General Manager

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Unable to get license plates for truck purchased in Nov. 2014. DMV has not received paperwork to "plate" the vehicle. Personnel will not return calls.
We purchased a vehicle in November 2014. After 45 days, went to DMV to purchase the license plates. DMV had not receive the paperwork from the dealership. I got another "temp" tag, that tag expired 2/18/2015. Went back to DMV to get plates. I still could not get plates for the truck because DMV still has not received the necessary paperwork. My son and I have called the dealership NUMEROUS times, left message but have not received return calls. I've talked to Tiffany, the Title Clerk, *** Frank, the General Manager and they were supposed to call me back after they investigated the issue. Still, I have not received a call back. I left messages for Kalid in Finance a couple of weeks ago, my call was never returned. After all these calls and no return calls, again I called Tiffany, she did FINALLY send a letter to Adams County DMV so that we could at least get a third temp tag. We are wasting time, gas and energy on this, not to mention the cost of the temp tags and the cost of our time and gas going back and forth to DMV. Once ******* ********* gained our business and we purchased the truck, customer service is no longer. I will not recommend ******* ********* to anybody I know. I understand issues arise from time to time in any industry, however, courtesy and customer services are not an option, it is a MUST in an industry such as auto sales. Errors must be corrected and made "right". As of 1:17 p.m., February 19th, I have not received, not one, return phone call from anybody at ******* ********** If I had not been persistent, I am sure we'd still be trying to figure out how to obtain a third temp tag. We bought a vehicle because we needed to get around town...can't get around town if the tags are expired and we have no way of getting another temp tags or better yet, permanent plates for the vehicle we purchased almost three months ago.

Desired Settlement
customer service; return calls; payment for the cost of the temp tags and the gas going to/from DMV several times.

Business Response
Dear Ms. *****,
I am personally engaged with correcting everything so you can get your permanent plates. The payoff on your trade-in was incorrect so we overnighted the excess payoff, processed the title work and ******* has contacted your DMV for an extension. We are currently waiting for the DMV to confirm that they have processed the title work. I promised on the phone that we would certainly reimburse any expenses and do everything we can to correct the issue. When we talked on the phone, I explained that I would call back when I knew what the hold-up was with your deal. I discovered the hold-up this morning but your complaint was filed yesterday. I apologize for not being able to find the answers quicker. We have made changes internally to better serve our clients and avoid this issue in the future. Thank you for your patience and understanding. I have attached my personal cell phone for you call if anything else arises.

Best Regards,
*** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The statement made by the dealership is incorrect. I did not trade-in a vehicle so their excuse of the delay is not due to "excess payoff".

Final Business Response
I have personally reached out to Ms. ***** several times with no answer. I explained the situation, offered to pay all incidentals and offered my cell phone for direct contact. My cell is still XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please reach out me directly and I will do everything I can to fix the issues.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. *****'s statement is not true. I have a voice mail message from him on my phone from February 20th. I returned his call on February 23rd, he was shoveling snow at the dealership, left a message with the person who answered the phone, asking *** ***** to call me back, he did not. I called and left a voice mail message on February 25th, left a voice mail message, Mr. ***** was traveling...he still has not called me back. I have a call log of all incoming calls. ******* **** from Century Chevrolet called me on March 6th, stating *** ***** had asked her to call several people and I was on top of that list. Temporary tags have expired AGAIN, a dealer plate was loaned to us by the dealership. My son had drive all the way to the dealership to pick it up and was told the "I could lose my sales license by letting you use this"...this is not our problem. My son was also told that when using a dealer plate the vehicle is not supposed to be driven when dealerships are closed...we bought the vehicle to drive. It is not our problem the dealership can't seem to get it together. This whole ordeal has really been an inconvenience to us. I will reach out to other entities to, hopefully, get some answers to the problems we've had with this entire transaction.

05/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1983Business started: 01/07/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Jay Franks (General Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Margie Hinkel
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Century I Chevrolet, Inc.
Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Century Chevrolet

6105 W 120th Ave

Broomfield, CO 80020-2448

To | From


1 Locations

  • 6105 W 120th Ave 

    Broomfield, CO 80020-2448

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Century Chevrolet is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.