BBB Accredited Business since

Century Chevrolet

Phone: (303) 469-3355 Fax: (303) 466-7239 6105 W 120th Ave, Broomfield, CO 80020 http://www.centurychevy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Century Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Century Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 01/07/1982 Business started locally: 01/07/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Jay Franks, General Manager Ms. Margie Hinkel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Fowler, Dealer / Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Jay Franks, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Century I Chevrolet, Inc.
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Additional Locations

  • 6105 W 120th Ave

    Broomfield, CO 80020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 10, 2016, I visited Century Chevrolet. The salesman who helped me was **** *********., I stated that I would not even be considering purchasing a car until at least mid-March 2016. I also stated that I did not want my credit pulled. After test driving two cars, he suggested that he work up some numbers for me. He asked me to fill out a one-page form. I specifically asked him: "This will not show up on my credit report, right?" He said "No." When I checked my credit report in the morning of February 17, 2016, the inquiry from Century Chevrolet was on my credit report, causing my credit score to drop. The inquiry will stay on my credit report for two years and will affect my insurance costs. I stated multiple times to **** that I did not want any inquires to show up on my credit report and he flat-out lied to me. I immediately called Century Chevrolet and spoke with ***** ******, who said he would contact **** and call me back. ***** did not return my call. This morning, February 18, 2016, I called ***** back, but this time it went to his voicemail. I left another message and again he did not call me back.

Desired Settlement: I want Century Chevrolet to remove the inquiry from my credit report and I would like an apology for being lied to. It's no wonder car salesmen get a bad reputation.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****,

Thank you for using Century Chevrolet as one of your shopping choices. I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication in regards to your credit pull. We will draft a letter to all three bureaus, copy you on the letters and request for the inquiry to be removed as soon as possible. I will also discuss the difference between a soft and hard credit pull with ****. I apologize for the inconvenience and hope this resolution is acceptable. Feel free to contact me direct @ ************ if you have any questions.

Best Regards,

*** *****

General Manager

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 11145034

I am rejecting this response because:

Although I have spoken with the General Manager and am pleased at how he responded, I have not yet been able to check my credit report as I can only check it once a week.  I cannot confirm that it has been removed from my credit report until Tuesday, March 15th.  When I have confirmed that it is off my credit report, I will be happy to say that my complaint was satisfied.

 

Thank you.


Sincerely,
******* ****

10/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Century Chevrolet has failed to send the DMV the correct paperwork for over 2 months. Their title clerk, ****** has NO sense of urgency & is useless. I purchased a 2014 Chevy Malibu from Century Chevrolet on June 26, 2015. I went to the DMV to try to get my license plates for the first time on August 21, 2015. The DMV told me that Century hadn't sent over all of the paperwork, so I had to get my tags extended. I called the ********** office before leaving the DMV & spoke with **** in the finance office. He found a tracking/confirmation # was entered incorrectly. The document that he was talking about had been rejected by the DMV because of the missing VIN Verification from the previous dealership, Masini Motors & I made Century aware that the paperwork had been rejected. At one point, I was given their title clerk, ********* phone number at their corporate office because no one in ********** knew what to do. I faxed her the exact document that the DMV mailed to her because she said she hadn't checked her mail yet, claiming she was too busy, it was 2pm at the time. The DMV only required a VIN INSPECTION form from Masini Motors. This sounds like something that should've been done LONG BEFORE the car was sold to anyone & yet ***** still hasn't acquired it over a month later. I spoke to the DMV today, September 25th, & ***** STILL has NOT sent them the VIN Inspection form from Masini Motors. On September 10th, I was told by ****** ******** in the finance office that ***** was making calls to find Masini Motors. I had specially called her, but Mr. ******** called me back on her behalf instead, which further illustrates her lack of concern for this ongoing issue. I called ***** today after the DMV said they haven't received the VIN INSPECTION yet & I left a message because ***** didn't answer the phone. I'm going to try to find the number of her boss because she's clearly incapable of doing this task alone & didn't even get it done before the car was sold. She has no sense of urgency, she sounds exhausted, drained, & lazy over the phone, and I will not continue to wait on something so simple to be completed when this could have & should have been done a long time ago. My dad and I have voiced our frustrations to the dealership & the title clerk, ****** & they fail to do anything to get this handled after several phone calls, faxes, & letters from the DMV. WHAT MORE SHOULD WE, THE CUSTOMERS, HAVE TO DO? I have made 4 attempts to get this handled & my dad has contacted Century twice. A total of 6 times & still NOTHING.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking Century Chevrolet to get the VIN Inspection form from Masini Motors TODAY! Why must this continue and continue to be prolonged? I have wasted so much time over such a simple issue. If you're "sorry," GET A SENSE OF URGENCY, GET THE PAPERWORK TO THE DMV, NOTIFY ME WHEN THE CORRECT PAPERWORK IS THERE, stop sending me old & incorrect tracking numbers which I told you already had been rejected by the DMV to temporarily appease what hasn't been done. Do some RESEARCH for once & get the job done! If you're "so sorry" FIX THE ISSUE. It's been over 2 months! TERRIBLE customer service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/10/01) */ Dear Ms. *********, We apologize for the inconvenience that this issue has caused. When Century purchased the vehicle at auction, we were unaware that Masini Motors did not complete their VIN verification for an out-of-state vehicle. As per Colorado law, a dealership must complete a VIN verification on any out-of-state vehicle purchase or sale. Masini Motors failed to issue a VIN verification on the vehicle in question. Upon being notified of the incomplete wholesale transaction, we immediately reached out to the owner of Masini Motors and obtained a VIN verification to satisfy the DMV rules and regulations. We apologize for the delay in paperwork but the paperwork has been corrected and resent to the DMV. They should be able to process the title work and issue plates within 48 hours. Please call the Arapahoe branch to verify the paperwork is processed prior to a physical visit. There are some DMV branches that are behind a few weeks. If you call in advance, they increase the urgency of processing the paperwork especially in a delay like yours. Once again, we apologize for the oversight and sincerely appreciate your business. Best Regards, *** ***** General Manager

7/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dealership keeps providing wrong information to DMV, which prevents me from obtaining license plates and be able to use this truck for commercial use I bought a Chevy truck from this place at the end of March in 2015 in personal name with intend to use for business. For 3 months dealership has been providing inaccurate information to DMV on multiple occasions, which is preventing me from getting commercial license plates and be able to use this truck for my business. I have gone to DMV at least 8-10 times and every time had to sit in line and which resulted in spending at least 3 hours each time (includes trip time). I have gone to the dealership at least 6 times as well, spending at least an hour every time. Because of this, I am not able work and earn money until I obtain commercial license plates. I have spent a lot of time trying to get this resolved and also have been paying commercial insurance ($917/month) and truck payment ($975/month)for the past three months.

Desired Settlement: I would like expedited attention to this matter and proper documentation provided to my DMV office in order for me to obtain commercial license plates. also I'm seeking a financial compensation for my time spent trying to resolve this issue, accumulated business costs while unable to work due to dealership's inability to provide correct information to the DMV, and lost wages I were to make during the last three months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/06/29) */ We are doing everything we can to rectify the issues with *** **********'s licensing. He has legal representation and we have agreed to help with everything he needs. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unable to get license plates for truck purchased in Nov. 2014. DMV has not received paperwork to "plate" the vehicle. Personnel will not return calls. We purchased a vehicle in November 2014. After 45 days, went to DMV to purchase the license plates. DMV had not receive the paperwork from the dealership. I got another "temp" tag, that tag expired 2/18/2015. Went back to DMV to get plates. I still could not get plates for the truck because DMV still has not received the necessary paperwork. My son and I have called the dealership NUMEROUS times, left message but have not received return calls. I've talked to Tiffany, the Title Clerk, *** Frank, the General Manager and they were supposed to call me back after they investigated the issue. Still, I have not received a call back. I left messages for Kalid in Finance a couple of weeks ago, my call was never returned. After all these calls and no return calls, again I called Tiffany, she did FINALLY send a letter to Adams County DMV so that we could at least get a third temp tag. We are wasting time, gas and energy on this, not to mention the cost of the temp tags and the cost of our time and gas going back and forth to DMV. Once ******* ********* gained our business and we purchased the truck, customer service is no longer. I will not recommend ******* ********* to anybody I know. I understand issues arise from time to time in any industry, however, courtesy and customer services are not an option, it is a MUST in an industry such as auto sales. Errors must be corrected and made "right". As of 1:17 p.m., February 19th, I have not received, not one, return phone call from anybody at ******* ********** If I had not been persistent, I am sure we'd still be trying to figure out how to obtain a third temp tag. We bought a vehicle because we needed to get around town...can't get around town if the tags are expired and we have no way of getting another temp tags or better yet, permanent plates for the vehicle we purchased almost three months ago.

Desired Settlement: customer service; return calls; payment for the cost of the temp tags and the gas going to/from DMV several times.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/20) */ Dear Ms. *****, I am personally engaged with correcting everything so you can get your permanent plates. The payoff on your trade-in was incorrect so we overnighted the excess payoff, processed the title work and ******* has contacted your DMV for an extension. We are currently waiting for the DMV to confirm that they have processed the title work. I promised on the phone that we would certainly reimburse any expenses and do everything we can to correct the issue. When we talked on the phone, I explained that I would call back when I knew what the hold-up was with your deal. I discovered the hold-up this morning but your complaint was filed yesterday. I apologize for not being able to find the answers quicker. We have made changes internally to better serve our clients and avoid this issue in the future. Thank you for your patience and understanding. I have attached my personal cell phone for you call if anything else arises. Best Regards, *** ***** General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The statement made by the dealership is incorrect. I did not trade-in a vehicle so their excuse of the delay is not due to "excess payoff". Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/03/06) */ I have personally reached out to Ms. ***** several times with no answer. I explained the situation, offered to pay all incidentals and offered my cell phone for direct contact. My cell is still XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please reach out me directly and I will do everything I can to fix the issues. Best Regards, *** ***** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2015/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. *****'s statement is not true. I have a voice mail message from him on my phone from February 20th. I returned his call on February 23rd, he was shoveling snow at the dealership, left a message with the person who answered the phone, asking *** ***** to call me back, he did not. I called and left a voice mail message on February 25th, left a voice mail message, Mr. ***** was traveling...he still has not called me back. I have a call log of all incoming calls. ******* **** from Century Chevrolet called me on March 6th, stating *** ***** had asked her to call several people and I was on top of that list. Temporary tags have expired AGAIN, a dealer plate was loaned to us by the dealership. My son had drive all the way to the dealership to pick it up and was told the "I could lose my sales license by letting you use this"...this is not our problem. My son was also told that when using a dealer plate the vehicle is not supposed to be driven when dealerships are closed...we bought the vehicle to drive. It is not our problem the dealership can't seem to get it together. This whole ordeal has really been an inconvenience to us. I will reach out to other entities to, hopefully, get some answers to the problems we've had with this entire transaction.

2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusal to honor request to stop 'personal' solicitations. Century Chevrolet sends nearly monthly letters to my home. They 'appear' hand addressed to draw attention. The letter is the same text every time pleading to buy my 2010 Corvette. They even claim to have "a buyer" who wants my car. I have not owned this car for four years.... I have never made contact with this retailer. They admit I am not in their database. When responding personally to the GM, Jay Frank, I have been stopped at the level below him who prepares these mailings, Brett Organ. Mr. Organ who would take my call explained that these mailing come from a "junk mail company" who has me in their database. I am fully aware of this. My complaint is two-fold. Mr. Organ refuses to allow me to speak to the letter's supposed sender, Jay Frank, and refuses to provide the name of the sender of the solicitation. I cannot therefore enter a complaint against this company as the dealer refuses to divulge their name. In trying to resolve this matter Mr. Organ was over the top insulting and abusive during a phone call. The listeners in my office were appaled he was in sales. His condescending voice and joking attitude were not well received. He essentially told me to blow off and they hung up. He laughed at my request to eventually contact the letters sender, Jay Frank. I would appreciate your assistance in getting this retailer to divulge who is sending this mail to me. Thank you in advance for looking into this complaint.

Desired Settlement: For them to divulge who is sending their advertising mail in error to my address.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/30) */ Dear Mr. ******, Let me apologize for the miscommunication and lack of engagement from our staff. We have an entirely new management staff and many new processes that are changing everyday to improve. Client satisfaction is paramount to everyone and if there's an individual that is sabotaging that; then I need to know. Thank you for explaining what happened so we're more prepared to handle similar requests in the future. I have researched the situation and counseled the manager you mentioned, who was ****, our Business Development Manager. There is no excuse for his communication and/or attitude. Again, let me apologize on his behalf. I can be reached via cell @ XXX-XXX-XXXX or ****@century1chevy.com. The reception center will also forward to my land-line but I am rarely at my desk. As for your request to remove yourself from the conquest mail, that can be done through *** ***** @ Abstrakt Marketing. I am attaching her information so you can call and disclose your personal info so she can remove you from their database. Your information isn't available in our database; therefore I can't do it for you. I called her today and she is expecting your call. Let me know if there's anything I can do to help. Best Regards, *** ***** *** ***** Project Manager ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were ready to purchase a 2013 Yukon XL for a guaranteed price only to find out they wouldn't honor this price. We attempted to buy a vehicle today. To avoid the toilsome price negotiations that often come with buying a car, we chose to utilize USAA's car buying service and received a guaranteed price certificate for $30,670 for a vehicle on a USAA certified dealer's lot. We then contacted the dealer who gave us some more information on the car, including a price that did not match the USAA guaranteed price. This was expected because we assumed USAA negotiates the price ahead of time with their certified dealers. To be certain, we then provided the dealership with the guaranteed price certificate so they they could confirm that they would honor the USAA guaranteed price. They confirmed in writing that they would. We then arranged a time to meet and finalize the purchase. Prior to arriving at the dealership, we researched the trade in value for our 2002 Yukon XL and found that is was worth just over $5000 as a trade in. Once we arrived, we checked out the vehicle and realized that it did not have several of the features that were stated by the dealer in their literature. Their video stated that it had a sunroof and DVD system, their written description said it had a navigation system, and their correspondence sent to me by their representative said it was the "Denali" trim package. It had NONE of these things. We then began talking with the used car sales manager,*****, who quoted us a price $5000 higher than our guaranteed price while low balling our trade in at less than half the trade in value. When we re-presented him with the guaranteed price certificate and actual trade in value, he refused to honor or recognize either of them. When we informed him of the discrepancies in the literature, he made no attempt to adjust value for them. We understand that this was a good price, however, we confirmed the price, several times in fact, presented the price guarantee several ways and were prepared to purchase the vehicle on the spot, despite it missing several key features. But instead of driving home in a vehicle where we paid the advertised price, we left frustrated.***** became rude and even turned his back on us as we spoke to him. He let us know that he had only been there for two weeks and would not lose his job over a negotiation on a $36,000 car. The frustrating part is, we didn't even want to negotiate! That's why we used the USAA car buying service and were willing to pay the asking price on the guaranteed price certificate! We walked in with an agreed upon price, backed by a guarantee from a major national bank, and this dealership raised the price by $5000 on a vehicle that contained fewer then the listed features and low balled our trade in!!!

Desired Settlement: We want to purchase this vehicle for the guaranteed price along with the subtracted amount of the quoted trade in value.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/01) */ Mr. ***** found a Yukon on the USAA web site that had an incorrect price. He emailed our company stating he wanted to buy it our rep responded several times that we did USAA pricing along with the correct price on all the emails! The correct price was advertised on Century Chevrolet.com He and his wife were made aware that the USAA price was incorrect by seven thousand dollars and that we are not responsible for third party errors. As with our web site and all sites there is a discloser at the bottom stating that sometime errors are made in pricing and equipment. It is our feeling that Mr. ***** used a play on words to try to force a sale on the incorrect price from the USAA site. He also filed a complaint with Chevrolet and their investigation concluded we have no control over the USAA site!

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received refund check for canceled GAP policy ($532.80). I've called ****** ******** numerous times and no return phone call. I purchased a Chevy Silverado 1500 March 5, 2011. Along with the vehicle, I purchased GAP policy offered from Century Chevrolet through Protective Asset Protection Division. March 4, 2013, the above vehicle was involved in an accident resulting in total loss. My insurance company issued me a check for the value of the vehicle along with a Power of Attorney to provide to Century Chevrolet. I requested to cancel the GAP policy that I purchased from Century on April 2, 2013 with an effective date of March 4, 2013 which was on the Power of Attorney form. ****** ******** (finance manager) canceled the GAP policy upon my request and faxed documents to Protective on April 2, 2013 to support my cancel request. ****** told me that I can expect 6-8 weeks processing time for the cancel request and that I will receive a refund check in the amount of $532.80 within this window. Ten (10) weeks have come and gone and I still have not received my refund check. I called Protective on May 22, 2013 to see if they had any information. I was told by a customer service representative that they have already wrote a check and that the check was issued to Century Chevrolet. I then called ****** on May 22, 103 to see where my check was and he told me, "We are on-top of it." I expected to see the check any day now within my conversation with ******. I gave it two (2) more weeks in addition to the total of eight (8) weeks that ****** told me to wait. I still have not received my refund check. I called ****** two (2) times last week June 6 and 7th. I left him two (2) voice messages and he has not called me back regarding the matter. I said in my second message to him that if I do not receive a return phone call from him, that I will contact the BBB for help on my resolution. I still have not heard from ****** nor have I received my refund check. I'd like my refund check of $532.80 as promised mailed to me as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I would like my check of $532.80 mailed to me at; ************* *************** *******************

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/07/31) */ A refund was sent to Mr. ******* before he made this complaint!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Century Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)