BBB Accredited Business since

Boulder Toyota

Phone: (303) 443-3250 Fax: (303) 786-9934 2465 48th Ct, Boulder, CO 80301 http://www.bouldertoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boulder Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boulder Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Boulder Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 1988 Business started: 01/10/1984 Business started locally: 01/10/1984 Business incorporated 07/28/1987 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Doersam, General Manager Mr. Chris Hugles
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Doersam, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Larry H. Miller Corporation
Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Boulder Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2465 48th Ct

    Boulder, CO 80301 (303) 443-3250

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle for $52000 but received a statement for $60000 I purchased a vehicle for an agreed upon price of $52000, after taxes it was going to be right around $57000. I put a $5000 Downpayment which would have brought the price back down to the original $5XXXXX but last week I received my first statement from the credit union and it shows an outstanding balance of $60711.50 which is $8000 over the agreed upon price. I called the credit union and was told that was the figure they received from the dealer so I called the dealer and was transferred to someone's voicemail where I left a message but did not receive a response so yesterday I called our salesman who told me he would have someone in their finance department call me right back but I still have not received a call. Today I went online and contacted customer service via email who also said someone would be in contact shortly, which has not happened as of yet

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to correct the amount owed with the credit union to reflect the agreed upon amount or I would like to return the vehicle to be done with them

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/03) */ Our general Sales Manager, *** ****** and our Finance Manager contacted ******* regarding her concerns. They emailed all documents relating to the sale, warranties etc...and invited her to come to the store and review the figures and warranty coverage she has. They let her know that any products purchased poat sale, (warranties etc..)are cancellable and would be able to facilitate that if she chose to. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am in the process of contacting an attorney as the response is not satisfactory. I want to return the vehicle at this point because I feel that I am not going to get any other satisfactoy resolution due to the fact that the finance manager tried to turn things around in me and stated "I'm sorry that you didn't ask the questions that you needed to ask", I am totally frustrated and do not want to work with them any longer which is why I am looking for an attorney, I should be able to find one in the next week or so. The documents that were sent to me via email were NOT given to me at the time of the sale and some of "my" signatures on those documents are questionable to me. I will have the attorney I secure contact them as soon as I find one. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/08/25) */ It is not a problem to reduce the loan balance on this deal. All that is required is for the customer to sign an authorization to cancel the warranty and Gap insurance and we can get it done. The costs of these items will then be sent to the bank and will reduce the balance. We can either email or mail a cancellation to the customer and as soon as we get it back we can move forward to get this resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2015/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am working with an attorney to resolve the issue, I am so frustrated by this I would rather just return the vehicle to them and go purchase a vehicle somewhere else. I found out there was a $16000 finance fee added to the price without my approval. The total purchase of the vehicle after all is said and done with be over $82000 for a vehicle that I agreed to pay $52000 for, I understand there will be interest but $30000 worth of interest is totally unreasonable, I could purchase (2) new vehicles for that. This situation has left such a bad taste in my mouth, my husband and I are just so tired of this whole situation. I do have an attorney who is working on this for me so hopefully this will be resolved soon.

5/16/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I a have battery installed by Boulder Toyota. The battery is under warranty. The battery does not start my vehicle. Boulder Toyota has a metric to determine if a battery is good. They say my battery is good. My metric is is the battery starts my vehicle. The battery does not start my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I gave Boulder Toyota the option to replace my battery, at no cost to me, when I picked up the vehicle. Instead they gave me a jump start. I would like any of the following: 1) Boulder Toyota can deliver a battery to my residence and I will install it and send them an invoice for the installation. 2) Boulder Toyota can send a technician to my residence and replace the battery. 3) Boulder Toyota can pick my vehicle, replace the battery, and return the vehicle to my residence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/24) */ February 2014 customer complained of vehicle not starting. Boulder Toyota tested battery - battery tested good but needed a recharge - recharged battery called customer to pick up vehicle. 4/12/2014 - customer comes to pick up vehicle after sitting at dealership for 2 months. Vehicle did not start. Tested battery - battery test stated needed to be recharged and retested. Customer declined a recharge and demanded a new battery free of charge. . Explained to customer battery must fail test in order to warranty battery. Battery testing good and is not warrantable. Offered customer a new battery at $99 and free install, offered to recharge battery, or advised to install a dry cell battery from Napa. Customer has been advised on each service to not allow vehicle to sit for several months as this will cause the need for the battery to be recharged. Per Toyota's Warranty Policy we are not able to warranty a part that is not failing. In this case the part is not failing but we will gladly replace it if it shows otherwise. We also offered a discounted rate on the battery and no cost installation. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) I was never "Offered customer a new battery at $99 and free install." There was no talk of money and never any mention a free install. 2) I was presented with this option "offered to recharge battery." However, I was told I would have to wait several hours, and this was only an option if they had a service bay available. I did not have several hours to wait. Toyota's metric for whether a battery is good is whether it passes an electronic test. My metric as to whether or not a battery is good is if it starts my vehicle. My battery did not start my vehicle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/12) */ Called ****** ********* on 5/12/14 and explained to him that we did not experience a no start and his battery test indicated it needed to be recharged. That is why we were unwilling to replace his battery at no charge under warranty however as a goodwill gesture we are willing to cover the cost of a battery and installation and he has accepted that offer. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I did experience a "no start," but I am satisfied with "a goodwill gesture we are willing to cover the cost of a battery and installation."

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought extended warranty.Could go to any ASE cert tech. WRONG. They agreed to cancel and credit me the$2495.00. Hasn't happened. Won't help me. On July 23rd, 2013 I purchased a 2009 Subaru Outback station wagon from Larry H. Miller Toyota, XXXX XXth ****** ******* Co, XXXXX. The sales rep I dealt with is **** *** XXX-XXX-XXXX. The financial guy is ***** *********** XXX-XXX-XXXX. My complaint is about the extended warranty I purchased /financed with the car loan. The loan is thru Security Service Federal Credit Union(SSFCU), XXXXX ********* ******** *** ******** TX XXXXX. $2495 of the loan was for an extended maintenance plan with Total Care Auto, **** ***** *** ***** ***** **** *****, Utah XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXXX. This is for Standard coverage, XXXXXX miles or 7/23/2018 whichever comes first. While discussing the terms of the maintenance plan with Mr. *********** I explained to him that I have my cars serviced at the BIG O in Broomfield, **** W ***** **** XXXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX. Mr. ********** told me that as long as the work was performed by ASE certified technicians, it would be covered under the maintenance plan. At 2:08 PM, July 23rd, I called the BIG O on my cell phone while I was sitting at Mr. ************* desk, with Mr. ********** sitting at his computer directly in front of me, to verify that BIG O would use ASE certified technicians and would work with the maintenance plan. Mr. ********** was listening and said to me "ask if they will bill the maintenance plan company" which I asked and BIG O said they would deal with and bill the maintenance plan company directly. Assured that I could use the mechanics I trust and have worked with for over 15 years, I purchased the extended maintenance plan. On Monday, August 26th, I dropped my car at BIG O for them to do a 60,000 mile check.. The air conditioner needed major repairs,$1165.00. Big O called me with the estimates for all items and said they would contact the maintenance plan company for the air conditioner costs. BIG O called the maintenance plan company and was told that they would not honor the maintenance plan unless the work was done at Larry H. Miller Toyota. I called the service department at Larry H. Miller to question the seemingly misinformation given to BIG O and they told me I needed to call my sales rep. I called **** ** and left a message about the maintenance plan discrepancy. Wednesday, August 28, 2013, Mr. ***** ********** called me. I explained that the maintenance plan company would not honor my policy if BIG O did the repairs. He would call the maintenance plan company and get this straightened out. At 12:45 PM he called me again and said I had no option but to have the work done at Larry's. I told him that this was not what we had agreed to and I was extremely ****** off and wanted my money back for the maintenance plan. This conversation went back and forth for a few minutes but I insisted that I wanted my money back if I could not have the work done at BIG O.He hung up on me. Called Mr. *********** on 9/4 1:25 pm left message to call me so we can settle this issue Called Mr. *********** on 9/5 1:20 pm left another message to call me so we can settle this issue 9/6 8:33 AM sent email to ***** *******, General Manager 9/6 9:52 AM received call from Mr. *********** he said he was sorry, he did not know about the restriction of where I could get service done. 9/9 1:00 PM Met with Mr. *********** he filled out form to cancel warranty, said it would take approx. 4 weeks. 10-30-2013 1:00 Called SSFCU. They had no record of a credit. I immediately called Mr. *********** 10-31-2013 ********** called back, said he had done what he was supposed to and it was now up to me. He said he would email me a copy of the cancellations. He emailed me a form with the word "cancelled" on it but no contact info was provided. 11-5-2013 I emailed him back asking for contact info, name of person he dealt with when he cancelled this warranty .......no response. 11-11-2013 I again called SSFCU to see if the credit had been applied, spoke with ********. They still have no record credit.

Desired Settlement: I want my $2495.00. I would prefer a check for that amount but if necessary If they would credit my loan that amount as originally promised I would accept that also. I would then refinance so I do not carry that amount for the term of the loan.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/13) */ We apologize for the mis information Mr ********** gave to Ms ******** regarding the Service Contract. We did process the cancellation on September 11th and sent the check and cancellation to Total Auto Care and to Security Services. I will email all those copies to ******. I called Security Services this morning and they have not recieved the check, so we stopped payment on it and issued a new one.It should be processed by Friday. We apologize for the delay in handling this matter. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) THANK GOODNESS FOR THE BBB! For more than 3 months, people at Larry Miller Toyota, the salesman, the financial dept., the general manager, had all ignored my repeated requests for help. All I got was the run around and one untruth would perpetuate the next. Then, amazingly within 1 day after being contacted by the BBB, Larry Miller Toyota provided me with a copy of a refund check and other info I requested. Finally, on November 18th my account was credited the amount they owed me. This should be the end of it but I know the BBB is there to help if necessary. THANK GOODNESS FOR THE BBB!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Boulder Toyota
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart