BBB Accredited Business since

AutoNation Toyota Scion Arapahoe

Phone: (303) 578-6111 10531 E Arapahoe Rd, Centennial, CO 80112 http://www.autonationtoyotaarapahoe.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation Toyota Scion Arapahoe meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Toyota Scion Arapahoe include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Toyota Scion Arapahoe
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 1989 Business started: 04/15/1991 Business started locally: 04/15/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Adrian Paraschiv, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrian Paraschiv, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Toyota Scion Arapahoe has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10531 E Arapahoe Rd

    Centennial, CO 80112 (303) 578-6111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a lease agreement on October 10, 2015 for a 2015 Toyota Highlander. Through negotiations we made it clear we could not and would not go over $3,000 in the amount due at signing and they agreed. On December 4, 2015, they called us to claim they "made a mistake" in calculating the taxes that were due at signing and that, as a result, we owed them an additional $438.99. They claim the lease agreement covers them because taxes were "estimated" and that we would owe any differences. We contend this portion of the agreement claims estimated taxes may change if we moved or if taxes rates changed, neither of which occurred. Further, we contend the taxes collected at signing were either an intentional or negligent misrepresentation of fact which violates Colorado consumer protection laws.

Desired Settlement: We request AutoNation cover the cost of their mistake and pay the appropriate taxes. If, for some legal reason I am not aware of, we have to personally pay the taxes, we desire AutoNation Toyota to issue us a check for the same amount thereby making up the difference and bringing us to the $3,000 in total due at signing costs we agreed on.

Business Response: Taxes are estimated and done to the best of our knowledge as provided by the state tax locator website. We informed the customer that the taxes were short, and could have rewritten a new lease agreement with correct taxes had the customer responded back in time. They said they would contact their lawyer, and we received no contact or calls back for over a month, until we received a letter from their lawyer demanding us to pay it. We got with our attorneys and drafted a letter informing them taxes are their responsibility and we could not complete paperwork, at which point the customer reached back out to me. I informed him that we could have rewritten the paperwork had it been resolved in a timely manner, at which point we agreed to split the taxes with him in the interest of customer service. We have since resolved the issue on both sides.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 11190472

I am rejecting this response because: They are playing very loose with the facts of this case. First, we immediately informed the Finance Manager that we were consulting with our attorney and, while seeking counsel's advice, we did not reach out to the business as it could have caused confusion. We felt, and to a degree still feel, that this was entire their fault and that their claims that taxes were estimated to "the best of their knowledge" is a ridiculous claim as I can simply Google the tax rates and get them correct, but they are going to say their finance department cannot. Second, we absolutely DID NOT reach out to to them when their attorney sent us a letter threatening to sue and I do not like this misrepresentation of the facts. The truth is their attorney threatened to sue us for our mistake and I, in turn, drafted another letter back to the attorney informing him that we rejected his claims. I did not talk to AutoNation again until I answered an unknown number on my cell phone that turned out to be their Sales Manager. We had a conversation regarding what happened and he did mention he could have redone the contract. However, I told him that they should have said so when they first contacted us regarding this matter instead of just saying we had to pay or else we could not register. He claimed he could not absorb all the taxes, but offered to cover all but $200 and promised to cover that balance and more in the form of credits whether maintenance or otherwise. Monetarily, this matter is resolved; however, the facts as claimed by whomever responded to this complaint are either not accurate or false. Further, I have no assurances, nor does any other customer, that they have done anything to correct their undercharging of State taxes.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: We can supply documents if need be, but at this point, the customer has acknowledge the financial aspect of the complaint has been resolved, and in the interest of both of our time, we have no desire to argue he said/she said, as the matter is resolved. The tax locator, stated 4%, so that is what we collected. We strive for happy customers, undercharging customers and calling them back to collect the difference would not be a smart business model, and not what we do. The state has since updated the tax locator website, and their address still pops up with a warning, that they can't find the jurisdiction with confidence. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused the customer, and we look forward to taking care of them down the road, to honor our commitment.

4/14/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership sold me a warranty for the used truck I bought. They said it covered everything on their brochure for my used truck as is. I confirmed with them that the truck would still be completely covered even though it had aftermarket items done to it, and they did confirm this. Had a couple small items taken care of in the first year, but in the second year I brought it in for an oil pan gasket leak. When the dealer that was doing the work drove it to make sure it was all good, they noticed a noise in the drive line, and thought it was the rear differential. They contacted the warranty company and they approved the work to be done on the rear differential. When I got the truck back the noise was still there. The dealer contacted the warranty company again to get approval to dig deeper into the matter. The warranty company then sent out a rep to look at the matter before approving, and before he even looked into anything he denied the claim and immediately cancelled my warranty that I purchased because the truck had an aftermarket lift, air intake and oversized tires (all of these things were on the truck when I bought it). I was then sent a certified letter notifying me of this. I contacted the dealer where I bought the truck and warranty and they said they would get it staightened out and that it was still under warranty. After they couldn't resolve the issue with the warranty company, they told me they would give me a full refund on the price of the warranty. After many weeks went by I contacted them to ask where the refund was, they then told me I would not get a full refund and all they would do is pro-rate it (which came to only about 1/4 of the cost I paid), and was left with a truck that had 2 dealerships confirm that something was wrong with the driveline. This warranty should have never even been sold to me since the truck already had those aftermarket mods done to it when I bought it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the purchase of this warranty in order for me to pay my selected licensed GMC dealership to break it down, find the problem, and fix it.

Business Response: The customer bought a warranty, and the finance manager was clear that it would not cover lifted components, only the factory items. The customer used the warranty successfully on two separate occasions for over $4000 in covered claims before the denied claim came to be. When the customer reached out to us, he neglected to mention that the warranty had already paid out several claims, so we said we should be able to flat cancel the warranty for a full refund. When the warranty was cancelled, the warranty company said a flat cancel was not an option due to the $4000 in claims that had already been paid, and that they would prorate the dollar figure of time not used (as outlined in the warranty contract). This was done, and we reached out to the customer, who would not be realistic despite the fact that the warranty had covered major repairs already. We then offered to bring the truck in to diagnose and see about taking care of the items in which case he refused and wanted it done at a GMC dealership, since it was a used GMC. We informed the customer that we could get a better rate and diagnostic done at our own internal service department, at which point he demanded a full refund for the warranty again. Here we reached an impasse due to the fact that he had already been repaired more than the cost of warranty, and that we cancelled it, and the warranty company had already prorated it, there was nothing more we could do.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11136542

I am rejecting this response because: When I bought the truck I originally rejected the warranty because I told them I knew there was aftermarket parts on there that would not be covered.  *** the finance manager at that time asked me if I brought the truck in to have anyone look at it, and recommended that I buy the warranty because it covers "bumper to bumper, except the bumper" (and those were his exact words).  I then asked him about the warranty and the truck being modified and he assured me that everything was covered as the truck was in it's current state ('as is' which includes the modifications that were already on the truck).  I asked him 2 more times during signing the papers just to make sure and he said yes each of those times.  I also have a witness that was there for the whole conversation so whoever responded to my initial BBB complaint is clearly not the finance manager that sold me the warranty.  Also, yes, I did use the warranty as *** said I could bring the truck in every week if I wanted to and pay the $100 deductible to have all items that came up fixed (a witness was there for this conversation as well).  As far as neglecting to mention that I used the warranty, I never neglected to mention it, I was never asked in any conversation with *** when all this came up.  He stated that I would have a full refund but never asked me about prior warranty use.  The next day he called and asked if I had used the warranty and I responded twice to him that I in fact had used it.  To address the issue of the warranty company saying the flat cancellation was not an option, I received a certified letter from the warranty company stating my policy was terminated effective immediately due to the aftermarket parts.  As for the cancellation of the policy, isn't that between the dealer and the warranty company that they use for these warranties?  Why would they then involve the consumer in their business with their policies they sell?  The dealership did offer to bring the truck in to diagnose the problem I'm having with my driveshaft/transmission (because they could get a better rate then other service centers), but they are not a GMC certified service center, they are Autonation Toyota/Scion.  I asked Autonation if they would instead cover the cost of me bringing it to a GMC dealer service center by my home, but they said no because it would cost more than their non-GMC service center.  In conclusion, the amount of money used on the warranty has nothing to do with the amount I paid for the warranty.  That's why I bought it so that I would be able to cover all issues related to it being a used vehicle, without covering large amounts of service costs out of pocket.  Isn't that the point of a used warranty?  The issue I'm currently having is not related to any of the aftermarket parts, it's all driveshaft/transmission related.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

We have supplied copies of the warranty agreement, cancellation policy listed on it, as well as the claims paid for on the warranty. The customer is contradicting himself in both of his complaints, in his first complaint, he mentioned that it covers what is listed on the brochure (as the warranty agreement states, and says, "Any part not listed above is not covered"). In his other complaint he claims that the finance manager told him it was "Bumper to Bumper, except the bumper." The warranty cancellation policy states that if the warranty is cancelled within 30 days, a full refund will be given, if no claims have been paid. It says if any claims have been paid, or it is beyond 30 days, a pro rata refund will be given. He claims the warranty was "bunk" in an email to our Finance Manager, and that he should never have been given. I also have an email from our finance manager to the customer when this first arose, and he said, "I explained the issue you are having, and though aftermarket warranties never cover lifts and what associated with that." The customer bought a two year 24,000 mile limited warranty on 4/30/2015. On 7/22/2014 Claim #22747 was Paid in the amount of $2015.97. On 5/05/2015 Claim #33976 was Paid in the amount of $2435.46. In the first 13 months of the warranty it did exactly what it was supposed to, and paid a total of $4451.43 in claims. On 5/26/2015 Claim #34680 was Denied for "Failure due to modifications." At which point the customer emailed us stating that the warranty was "bunk" and should not have been sold to him. Had he not had the warranty, he would have had to pay out of pocket for the above claims. Again, we were not made aware of any of the covered claims, when we were told we sold him an invalid "bunk" warranty, and asked us to cancel it. We cancelled it, and as such, he was given a pro rata refund of $807.40 towards the lien balance as outlined in the warranty agreement. At this time, the customer paid $3240 for the warranty. He was refunded $807.40 and the warranty paid out $4451.43 in claims giving him a net value of $5258.83 for the warranty. He is net positive, $2018.83 for having bought the warranty, and the dealership will not be compensating him for a warranty that did exactly as it is written on the contract paperwork. Despite all of this, we offered to diagnose and try to fix the vehicle at our shop, but his reluctance to have it done here, and filing complaint has left us with no further action that can or will be taken due to the unreasonable and contradictory nature of the complaint. We regret that this has taken up so much of everyone's time, and look forward to moving on.

 

4/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my vehicle as a Certified Used Vehicle and was stated that everything was covered. I have been experiencing issues with the suspension system and notified them within the first week of purchasing the vehicle. Now the vehicle makes a very load grinding noise. I brought the vehicle in and the used service adviser *****, told me that this vehicle is "As Is" and the suspension system is after market and they will not cover it. This was not covered in the paper work when purchasing the vehicle. I spoke with the Sales manager **** and was told it would be taken care of. I have heard nothing for over a week and have decided to file a complaint. I will also be filing a complain with Toyota themselves in regards to the deceptive practices of this Dealership. When you sell a vehicle and say it is a Certified used vehicle with everything covered on the warranty until 100,000 miles, you abide by that agreement. You do not try to find a way to get out of it. If I was told this was not covered when purchasing the vehicle, I would have not bought it. It doesnt state anywhere in the paperwork that they would not cover the suspension as well. This was a deceptive sales practice to state it is certified and everything is covered, when it is not.

Desired Settlement: This needs to be fixed and it also needs to be fixed with the warranty. I do not need Toyota coming back and saying the drive-train system is not covered, as well, because of an aftermarket suspension system is not covered.

Business Response: Customer **** **** is now completely satisfied with the resolve of his suspension issues and this case should be considered closed.  Autonation Toyota has fully inspected his Tacoma that he purchased from us and found worn upper ball joints.  Customer agreed to buy the parts and we offered to pay for the installation. Cust. wasn't happy because the truck he purchased had an aftermarket suspension upgrade that he claims he didn't know about and the dealer offered him the option of removing the aftermarket suspension and replacing it with the factory parts.  Mr. **** declined the offer because he liked the look with it on. In addition, cust. feels that dealership should cover the cost of his tires which needs to be replaced as a result of the upper ball joints that were worn out.  A.N. Toyota has agreed to reimburse Mr. **** for 50% of the tires that he recently purchased in an effort to show him that we value him as customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11180569, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ****

 

10/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Volvo station wagon and the dealership agreed to have shocks replaced, pvc hose and camshaft serviced. Work was not performed. Dishonest Business Practices I purchased a used Volvo station-wagon from AutoNation Toyota in April of 2015. The vehicle was sold as certified and came with a 125 point inspection, which led me to believe I was making a good purchase. About 6 days after purchasing the vehicle I heard a noise coming from the front driver's side wheel well. I immediately took it to Rickenbaugh Volvo and found the shocks and struts were in need of replacement (the service adviser said the struts were unsafe and with the amount of pot holes in the area I could cause serious damage to the vehicle and perhaps even an accident), the front drivers seat power mechanism was not working properly (which AutoNation wrote service order for), the front brake calipers were installed incorrectly, and the pvc unit on the crankshaft had cracked and become dislodged. After weeks of back and forth with the dealerships management they finally agreed to take a look at the vehicle. The entire time the used car manager insisted Rickenbaugh Volvo was out of their mind in thinking that the car needed so much work. He also insisted there was no damaged to the shocks and struts and couldn't find the issue with the pvc unit. He swore his service team did everything possible to try to find the problems and followed that up by saying his team isn't really certified or that familiar with Volvos in the first place. Luckily I didn't believe them and got a third opinion. At this point I couldn't believe the used car manager was lying so I took my problem up with the AutoNation corporate office. Within a couple of days I received a call from the general manager of the dealership who expressed concern and said he would take responsibility for what had transpired. He agreed to take the car back and have McDonald Volvo give an assessment of the repairs needed. Their assessment was a bit different from that of Rickenbaugh Volvo's which they explained plainly as Rickenbaugh doing everything they could to make more money off of unsuspecting folks like me. The general manager of the dealership assured me this was common practice for dealership service centers. He said "they're going to do what ever they can get more money from you. That's their job, That's how they eat". Finally after a week of back and forth the general manager agreed to fix the struts, finish the work of the front seat as per the contract, take a look at the front brakes (which he claimed were new as part of the 125 point inspection), and take look at the pvc unit and crankcase. The funny thing is the all of this should have been covered by the vehicle's warranty but for some reason Autonation did not want to take responsibility. Saying that if they did this to every used car his department would not make any money. This brings me to this past Saturday, when I brought the car to McDonald Volvo for a routine oil change. Upon completion the service representative came out to let me know what they had found after the routine inspection. All of the same issues came up again. 1. The crankcase and PVC Unit needed replacement $1700 2. Front brakes needed replacement $300 3. Front shocks and struts were never replaced $1200 (only bushings and strut tops were serviced the service representative told me the other items were never looked at he showed me the work order which confirmed the brakes and PVC unit was never even looked at)

Desired Settlement: To fix all issues from original complaint and to stand by there 125 point inspection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/09/23) */ In response to the customers issues we have contacted him and are working towards a resolution to close this matter. We have completed the mentioned items on a previous occasion and are re addressing these per the customers request.

9/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Autonation management refuses to refund my deposit for a vehicle in their inventory that was not ready for sale and could not be driven. I placed a deposit on a toyota tundra truck on Saturday 7/25/15, that had not yet been placed on the lot for sale because it still had plastic wrapping on it and the electronics in the vehicle had not been connected. The car could not even be test driven. I told the salesman that I would return on Monday to drive the truck and then purchase if I liked it. I called on Monday and informed a sales manager that I would not be purchasing the vehicle and would like my deposit refunded. That manager said it would not be a problem. I then went back to the dealership on 7/28/15 to request a refund in person and was told by *** ********* that it would be done the following day, since the salesperson was not in that day. I received a call on 7/29 from a sales manager named ***** that he would need more time to look into the situation because he had already turned down another opportunity to sell the truck. I was promised a call the next day, 7/30,15 and that did not happen. I have called twice on 7/30/15 and had to leave a voice mail for a manager and also a request for call back from the sales person - *******

Desired Settlement: Complete refund of my $1,000 deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/08/05) */ On 7/25 ***** agreed to numbers on a 2015 Tundra and signed the "PURCHASE DEPOSIT RECEIPT AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TERMS AND CONDTIONS" form. ***** agreed to put the "non-refundable" $1000 deposit down to secure the vehicle. We are happy to apply the $1000 deposit towards any new or pre-owned vehicle he wishes to purchase within the next 12 months. We have copies of the forms the customer signed and agreed to. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The vehicle could not be sold in the condition it was in. I was not allowed to test drive it since none of the electronics were operational. Since it could not legally be sold, I asked for my money back. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/08/20) */ This is the 2nd notification from the customer on the refund. We are happy to apply the deposit to any vehicle he wishes to purchase from AutoNation Toyota Arapahoe. Customer signed the non-refundable deposit and is 100% aware of what he signed.

8/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: quoted and published price not accurate internet published price, substantiated by sales assoc was not correct. when i went to buy the car, after driving it, the sales assoc began to tell be about tinted windows, and some kind of coating on front of hood, that were dealer installed and added approximately $700 to the price of the car. That was total news to me . In small print at bottom of 2 or 3 pages of information about car there is statement claiming price does not include dealer installed options. Assoc had ample opportunity to tell me about that in my communications with him by email and phone. I think this is misrepresentation of the actual car for sale and I refused to pay any more than the published price plus sales tax. I have emails where i asked if quoted price of $27424 was out the door price except for taxes The response was "correct".

Desired Settlement: internet published price, substantiated by sales assoc was not correct. when i went to buy the car, after driving it, the sales assoc began to tell be about tinted windows, and some kind of coating on front of hood, that were dealer installed and added approximately $700 to the price of the car. That was total news to me . In small print at bottom of 2 or 3 pages of information about car there is statement claiming price does not include dealer installed options. Assoc had ample opportunity to tell me about that in my communications with him by email and phone. I think this is misrepresentation of the actual car for sale and I refused to pay any more than the published price plus sales tax. I have emails where i asked if quoted price of $27424 was out the door price except for taxes The response was "correct".

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/08/13) */ The added options the customer is speaking about were Clear Bra and Tint that were dealer installed. As stated by the customer and in the advertisements all advertised prices are plus taxes and dealer installed options. If the customer did not want those 2 products a different vehicle could have been selected that did not have them and she would not have to pay for them.

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were charged for services with the understanding that it "came" with the vehicle purchase. We were also promised a second key and never got it. We purchased our **** **** April 22, 2015. When we were signing the papers with ****** in the finance department he quickly verbally walked us through what we were signing. We were led to believe he's the best one in finance and trusted him. He would give us a paper and say "and this comes with your car and it's for"...(tire warranty, windshield replacement etc) or "this also comes with it". He was on to explaining the next thing when we were signing the first and we were led to believe that we were signing to confirm that he gave us the information about what comes with our purchase. At one point he said that tinted windows comes with our vehicle and I reported that the windows were already tinted and we didn't need it and he smiled and handed us the paper to sign. The only thing he made clear was an extra charge was the service warranty to cover electrical and other things he outlined in a brochure for us. We opted for that and agreed to pay that extra charge. We never got any other paperwork for that purchase other than a brochure ****** gave us at the signing. A few weeks later when I was going over paperwork wondering where our first car payment bill was I realized that we were charged for all five extra services that "came" with our vehicle purchase for a total of $1905! We got calls to schedule the tinted windows and clear coat. I did not return the serve department calls because we didn't want to pay extra for those. On top of that, the day we purchased our vehicle, we were told that there was a second key for our vehicle that one of the dealers had and she was on vacation. ****** our dealer promised to mail us the key and I gave him our mailing address and explained that it's different than our physical address where we don't get mail. He promised to get us the key and gave me his cell phone number. Over three times we explained that our mailing address is different than our physical address and that we do not get mail at our physical address, especially when we had to put our physical address down on most of the paperwork instead of a po box. We told ****** that when we discussed making car payments. I got a call last month saying we were behind on our payments. The finance company had our physical address not our po box. I was able to fix it and she didn't give us an extra late fee charge. This has been a colossal waste of our time calling and leaving messages and managing address changes! We have been working on this for over two months and still have not talked to anyone in finance or who can help us. Having ******** personal cell phone number was the only way I have contacted anyone at the dealership. Once we went over paperwork in May and realized that things were not as they seemed, my husband called the dealership at least two or three times in May and either never got through or left messages with the finance department. When he was frustrated never hearing back from anyone, I called June 1st to check on our second key and left a message on ******** cell phone number he gave me. I also left message for finance department reporting I had questions and left my number for a return call. On June 30th ***** actually answered his cell phone. I asked him about our key and he reported he would check with the service department. I texted him our vin number and name and address. It is now July 13th and I've had no answer from him despite sending another text message on July 6th. When I did speak with him he helped me get ********* name as I could hardly read it on the papers we signed and told me to call finance department. I left a message for ****** specifically on June 30th and have had no answer.

Desired Settlement: We are very unsatisfied with our purchase now that we have had time to go over paperwork. We would like a refund of $2,105 to cover cost of the extra add ons that we were charged under pressured and shady sales tactics and the cost of a second key to get made for our car. If we have to drive to Denver for the key we would like our time and mileage to be reimbursed as well. The specific add ons are $349 for Clear plate fender/mirrors, $399 theft protection, $409 T&W Std 5 yr, $399 Windshield STD 5 yr, $349 Matching Tint. I estimated it would cost $200 for a replacement key researching it on the internet. The total comes to $2105.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/16) */ On 7/16/2015 I spoke with the customer. We are getting her a key and also refunding for the products she does not want. Should be closed and no issues moving forward.

6/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Financial Staff is not clear about requirements for car leasing. They lied and treated me disrespectfully. My sister graduated from college on May 16,2015. She moved to Denver on May 18,2015. She started looking for a job. On May 19 (Tuesday) we leased a Corolla 2015 and I served as Co-signer (my credit score is XXX-XXX). Sales process was smooth and sales staff (******) was great. Since she was a College Grad, she qualified for a rebate of $750 offered by Toyota. We signed all documents and drove the car home. A few days after that we get a request from Autonation Financial Staff to provide a copy of my sister Social Security. We did so. Then, a couple of days later we received a second call from the Financial person saying that the car was not funded and we needed to come immediately. We came to the dealership and he explained that Toyota Financial was concerned that she did not have a job and that they needed: (a) A copy of her Green Card (b) A rep from Toyota Financial will contact me to verify that I would make the payments since she was unemployed. We provided the documents and on 6/1 I spoke with the Toyota Financial Rep and confirmed that I would made the payments for the car until she finds a job and that if at any moment during the 36 month lease she had a financial problem I would cover her car payment. I left work early that day and went to the dealership and meet with the financial person (***** *.). I asked him if we sufficed all the requirements or not? Otherwise they could have their car back. I was tired of the harassment. My sister is not a felon, she is just a recent college grad who moved to a new state after completing college and was looking for a job. At any moment during the sales process they mentioned that her being unemployed was an issue. He didn't even let me finish my phrases and he said that I shouldn't worry that everything was taken care of. On June 16, 2015 at 4:53 pm I get a voicemail from **** *. saying that this will be the last attempt to reach me and that if I don't provide prove of employment from my sister they will send me to collection for the $750 dollars of College Grad Rebate. I immediately called back and this Gent was very rude, he did not let me talk or express my frustration. He made it look like it was my fault. He said his financial staff tried to call us numerous times. Which is a lie, THEY DID NOT! I pulled the call log from my provider, from both numbers (mine and my sisters) and there were no calls or voicemails. Then, he says that I need to provide prove of employment for my sister that week. Luckily, my sister found a job and she is going through the conventional background check her employer requires. So that wont be a problem. My questions are: #1. Who said that she needed to be employed to get that rebate? Nobody up to that point. So how can we be at fault? #2. Who called us before **** *.? Nobody. He said they had my number mistyped. LIER. They had our numbers since we talked to Autonation and Toyota Financial multiple times between 5/19 and 5/30. I went to the dealership and asked for **** *. He made me wait 45 min. We spoke finally and I requested that he emailed his requirements so I could have documentation. I warned him that I would not tolerate any actions against my credit. He said that all he needed is that letter of employment and that I had until Friday and that after that we would be ok. We have heard that 4 times before from Autonation Staff so I have ZERO confidence that this people are being honest. He treated me again disrespectfully, he said his shift was over and he needed to go home to his kids. At this point I ask Autonation: 1. IS YOUR TIME THE ONLY ONE THAT IS VALUED? How about my time? I have left work 3 times to deal with their mess. How about my family's time. I have replied to Mr. **** *. email stating that I will provide the documentation required. I have NO CONFIDENCE that this people know what they are doing. I am concern that their stupidity can result in damages to my credit. I will not accept that.

Desired Settlement: I would like: a. Autonation to stop blaming me for their mistakes and omissions. b. Talk to a representative from Autonation that documents himself about the case beforehand. c. Get a written confirmation from BOTH Autonation and Toyota Financial that the problem has been fixed and that no further actions are required. d. If we don't get the $750 rebate then we don't want the vehicle. That was a big part of our decision making process. Nobody told us EVER that it was required that my sister had a job, not even the Rep from Toyota Financial when I spoke to her on June 1st. So If you want to change the deal now you can get your car back. ***** *. and **** *. from Autonation Arapahoe made it very clear that I am not important to their business so I will be more than happy to take my business somewhere else.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */ Spoke with ******* today and resolved the outstanding issues. I have also emailed ******* to let him know the loan is funded and no outstanding issues. All issues should be resolved and closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ I provided the documents required by Autonation. The sales manager documented himself about the case and called me to apologize for the incident. I got documented confirmation from the Sales manager that the car has been funded. This fulfills my requirements and I appreciate the intervention of BBB organization to help me fix this inconvenient

4/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hail damage repair promised at purchase has not been done completely. Refusal of reply to my letter by customer service. Lies to order parts, etc. Vehicle: 2014 ****** ****** SN: ***************** Date of Purchase: October 14, 2014 Regarding: Repair of the hail damage I purchased it at their "hail damage sale" being explained by ******* **** salesman that the damages would be repaired by their insurance. I left it at the dealership on November 5 for the appointment of November 6 for repair. On November 14, a female representative called me that it was not repaired to her satisfaction and it would be sent back for complete repair. On December 2, I stopped by even though I had not received any call from them and found there were visible hail damage on it still left. I asked a female representative, I believe it was ****** ********* to send it back for repair as they had promised. I wonder it was really sent back on December 2? And now I wonder it was done even on November 14? They offered me a loaner car, which was smaller than the vehicle I purchased. The in-house rental car company insisted my insurance coverage was not enough to cover it. It might have been their trick to have me purchase additional coverage but I feel I was tricked to pay extra. I did not receive any call from them since December 2, but I stopped by on December 15 in the afternoon. *** ****** ******** came out to help me. My vehicle I saw was covered with snow and the damaged parts were still there as they had been. She said it had been returned for repair. But had it been done as she stated, she would have called me that it was ready and it should have been cleaned. I have sent a letter of complaint to the customer service on December 10, 2014 and to *** ****** ********* ******** ********* ********* on December 19, 2014, but no one has replied to them in writings. The hail repair cannot be 100% perfect but at least is should look like a black ***** which was in their show room showing "before and after" hail repair job. Their repair job was not only not close to what they showed but also they seem not to have cared about us at all. No one seems to be aware of it. It is a brand new **** ****** and it runs fine. But I am very frustrated and unsatisfied with the way this dealership has been handling this care.

Desired Settlement: I just need to have their sincere apology, copies of the documents for the repair jobs they said they had done, and completion of the repair job as they promised. In addition, I think it would be appropriate they reimburse the insurance coverage I had to pay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/14) */ I met with the customer at 1:00 Pm on 01/14/2015 to discuss his concerns with the ****** and process. We are resolving all issues and will complete itmes discussed. Cusotmer will be 100% satisfied wehn repairs are compelted. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/04/04) */ Please see "More info received from the consumer" dated 1/29/15 and 3/23/15 for details. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/04/06) */ We have arranged to meweti with cusotmer on XX-XX-XXXX at 2:00 PM to look over vehcile concerns. We hva erepired the hail as indicated on the forms he has signed to the best of the ability of the *** shop. We will review and do what we can to assist him on 04/07/2015

3/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A vehicle was sold under false pretenses. The dealer did not inform *** ***** the "********* **** *******" was previously in an accident. A **** ****** **** Limited ***** Utility ********** **** ******** was purchased from ********** ****** ***** ********* ***** the purchase it was discovered the vehicle had been in a rear-end collision. ****** the purchase *** ****** claimed that the vehicle was not in an accident after *** ***** asked specifically about this issue. *** ***** would not have purchased this vehicle if they would have known about the accident. *** ******* has the following issues wrong with it: the ******** does not work properly when trying to close it, the paint on the ******** does not match the rest of the vehicle, the ******** panel has visible dents, the **** **** apparently was removed from the back of *** ******** during the repair process and never re-attached to the vehicle, and there are visible indentations on the bumper. In addition, there is extensive damage to the under carriage of the car and parts of the car have been welded together. *** ******* was taken to two separate ******** shops and the preliminary cost to repair is between ****** and ******. There may be more damage that is not readily apparent per both estimates received. ** of the estimates is from ********** ********* ****** of ******* their own company or subsidiary. After the purchase of the vehicle on ********** the dealership informed the buyer they would call them on ********* to schedule the following services: (1) repair the paint that was chipped on the hood of the car; (2) cleaning of the interior; and (3) to provide the second ******* entry mechanism. *** ********** did not call on ********** On ********* *** ***** came to the dealership to speak with the sales representative concerning the aforementioned damage that was discovered; however, the sales representative was not working on this day and the buyer was informed there was no one else to help him. The buyer, with his wife,then came back on ********* and asked to speak with a manager. After a one hour wait a manager met with them. The buyer informed him of the damages and the fact the vehicle had been in an accident. *** buyer then informed the manager of their desire to return the vehicle as they were not informed of the damages to the vehicle prior to its purchase. *** manager responded by claiming the vehicle had not been in an accident and he would speak with his supervisor. *** buyer indicated they would leave the car at the dealership; however, the manager said it would be towed. On ********* they received a call from the manager and were informed the dealership would not take the car back and no repairs were going to be made. The buyer subsequently received a call from the ********** ******** ******** in the afternoon on ********* and were informed the ********** ******** shop would repaint the back door to match the rest of the vehicle. *** buyer inquired as to why the **** logo was missing from the back door and was told, "we forgot to re-attach the logo." This statement is indicative the dealership was aware this vehicle was in an accident and that repairs were made by the dealership before re-sell, even though they claim they had no idea about the accident. This vehicle was sold as a *********** **** ********** It is my understanding for a ****** vehicle to be sold as-such there is a *********** ******* *********** inspection that must be conducted. Due to the condition of this vehicle when sold it is readily apparent these quality assurance measures were not met. Therefore the buyer was misled to the claim the vehicle was a *********** **** ********** Had the ********* inspection been conducted in a proper manner or conducted at all the dealership should have reasonably known that the vehicle was damaged and disclosed this to the buyer. *** buyer would not have purchased this vehicle had this information been disclosed to them. The actions by this dealership are outrageous and clearly fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: We will return the car and demand a full refund of any monies outstanding on loans for this vehicle plus interest be refunded to the financing entity and any other monies paid by the buyer be returned. The second option that would be acceptable to the buyer would be to have the damages repaired by an ******** **** chosen by the buyer with the costs paid by the **********. In addition, rental car fees would be paid by the ********** while the vehicle is being repaired.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/05) */ We have met with the customer ahd after reviewing all options teh customer prefered to return the vehicle. As of ********** we returned the car and the customer has been released of liability to the vehcile. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* ****** ** *********** */ (The consumer indicated he/she ******** the response from the business.) We are satisfied with *** ******* ********. The car was returned and the purchase price was refunded to the buyer. ***** ***.

2/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Nation has treated me like a dog, they were all yes sir no sir until the purchase was complete, then they failed to complete the due bill repair On 11/1/2014 I purchased a Chevy Silverado Pick-up from Auto Nation. In the contract they agreed to replace a missing molding strip that was supposed to be on the vehicle. Deal # XXXXXX , they said they would call us in a day or two, it never happened and we finally called them to arrange the repair.A couple weeks later the truck was brought in for repairs. within days the molding fell off. I went in and was trated extremely rude by ***** (the service mgr.) He said he would re-order the part and give me call, He said he would need the car a full day, I said well as long as you have it for the entire day it is due for its oil change and also when they took the truck in on trade from the previous owner they repaired a window motor and left all the wires hanging out, I expressed as long as they had it it would be nice if they completed the job they had started on that as well. HE THEN SAID I WAS ASKING FOR TO MUCH !and he would call me when the part was in and just walked away. to date he has never called. (we are going on 2 weeks again )We have left 4 messages with Customer relations and never gotten a call back. This is the worst ran business I have ever seen.

Desired Settlement: I want the window wires put in properly like they should have been done in the first place, I want the oil change I just paid for else where because they said that I was asking for to much, even though they include 2 years of oil changes with the purchase, I want it reimbursed as I had to go to another place to get it done and pay for it. I want the molding put on correctly and I want this completed on a weekend so I do not loose another day of work. Also we do not want to deal with Shawn

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/12) */ Spoke with cusotmer. We have the part arriving on Friday and will have the paint completed. Should have part installed by end of week next week. Customer is happy to know will be completed.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had applied for a cancellation of a service warranty (process number - XXXXX) but after 13 weeks have not received the refund amount. I had purchased a service warranty from Auto Nation when I bought a Honda Civic 2006 in 2013. I sold the Honda Civic in Oct 31st, 2014. I had not used any of the service warranty. The dealer promised me that I would get back the prorated amount of the service warranty. I applied for a refund/cancellation on 1st Nov, 2014 (Process Number - XXXXX). But after 13 weeks, I had repeatedly visited the dealership on my refund request, they are always turning me down that once they say to check with the Bank or the Finance Manager with whom I was working (****** ****** at AutoNation Toyota & Scion, Arapahoe Road) tells me that he will check and call me but I do not get any call from him. Also, I check with the Bank but they have not received any check on the refund from AutoNation. It has been 13 weeks and I was promised that I would get my check by 4-6 weeks. This is frustrating from a known dealer like AutoNation.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund through check or cash on the amount of my service warranty which is due to me since I have not used at all and it was a service warranty for 2 years and I sold the car after 1 year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/28) */ A pro-rated refund check was sent to Bellco Credit Union on December 23,2014. Check number XXXXXXXXXX. Any cancellations take 8-12 weeks to process with the warranty company. If the vehicle has been paid in full Bellco would refund to the customer once the account has been verified paid in full. Should the cusotmer have any questions they would need to contact Bellco directly.

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2012 Toyota Rav 4 at AutoNation Toyota on Arapahoe on Oct 13, 2014 and when I drove it off the lot I realized it smelled like mold (which I'm allergic to and I began getting headaches immediately)...health concern. The dealership "bombed" the inside of the car but it still smells. I decided to examine the carpet and under the seats and found rust on the metal parts inside the car! I was very concerned as rust spreads and the metal that holds the seats together could eventually rust out causing an accident.(safety concern) When I brought the car back to be returned they said they could do that. I couldn't fill out the paperwork at that time (in the middle of my work day and I ran out of time) so I said I'd return to the dealer after my work day. I left my car at the dealership and had a friend drive me to work. When I returned at 7pm I was informed they couldn't swap out my car because they had just noticed a bump on the back panel (I had hit a pole a couple days before :( I had no idea the used car manager hadn't seen it earlier upon his inspection of the vehicle and the interior rust. When I said I'd pay the estimated cost for the body repair the dealership said there was no deal. I have called the used car manager with no resolution at this point. My concerns: mold problem is not fixed (health issue) rust inside the vehicle that holds the seats in place (safety issue) water damaged car was not disclosed pole damage...I offered to pay for that. Product_Or_Service: Toyota Rav 4

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like a used Toyota Rav4 2012 with close to 30K miles, without hail damage and no rust inside the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/12) */ In response to the matter regarding the customer with the Rav4 in question, the management staff here at AutoNation Toyota has responded by allowing the customer to pay for the damages they did to the used vehicle (aprox $1000) and agreed to allow the guest to return the purchased vehicle and exchange it for another like vehicle at no additional charge. There is some rust on the sold vehicle in question but nothing the appeared to be a safety issue. We strive to keep all of our guests content and satisfied with their purchases and have done all that we are able to do in this situation to accomidate the guest. The issue is resovled to the guest's satisfaction as well and can be considered resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not yet have the new vehicle in my possession. The dealer had to wait for another car to come in with similar specs. My new vehicle should be available this weekend. I will be satisfied when I have the new vehicle successfully exchanged. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/11/25) */ The car exchange has been completed and Toyota has replaced my vehicle with a comparable Rav 4. Thank you BBB for getting involved and helping to resolve this situation!!

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Extended warranty is unusable and not real. Unable to use of several occasions. I want my money back! I bought a 2006 Nissan Sentra from Auto Nation Toyota Scion 02/13/2014. We purchased the "extended warranty" on the car because it was older and we didnt want to get stuck with a **** vehicle. Throughout this entire process my wife and I have tried contacting Auto Nation regarding issues with the vehicle such as the check engine light, leaking trunk, gas smell, and the car taking at least 3 times to start EVERY TIME we start the car. Not only was I NEVER called back on every single occasion, I also took the car to a different Auto Nation for normal maintenance and tried to get the issues resolved there. The guy said that he was unaware of the warranty we currently had and he would have to contact the dealership we bought it from to further clarify. We never received a call back for that either!! My wife called over and over and over again when we first bought the car and we were able to get in the shop BUT all they did was change the gas cap and in the service papers wrote "unable to diagnose issue for car starting" we kept calling and NO ONE would return our calls. It has become very aware to us that the warranty we paid an additional $2500 was a scam and is not usable. We are completely dissatisfied with the level of service we received through Auto Nation and will not purchase from there again. The warranty is not real and we want our money back for it. We're stuck with the rest of it but we want the money back for the fake warranty.

Desired Settlement: Refund our $2500 we spent on the "extended warranty" Either by check, cash, or credit our loan from Public Service Credit Union. We have spent MONTHS trying to settle this through the company ourselves and we are mistreated and not called back. We will not take anything less. If the car takes a **** (probably will) we understand that we'll be responsible for the cost of repairs but the warranty is worthless to us anyway.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/15) */ The customer had some confusion regarding the warranty, and another AN dealer, did not know which warranty it was, and has not made any claims against it. He is happy to have talked to me, and will either make the claims, or cancel the warranty and get a refund. He was going to discusss with his wife and let me know. He is happy now!

8/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2012 RAV4 with just over 25,000 miles on it that requires new brakes. Purchased the extended coverage that does not cover wear & tear items. I was told at my 25,000 tune up that by my next visit (30,000 miles) that I was going to have to put new brakes on my vehicle and that it would not be covered by my warrant OR by the extended warranty that I purchased. This is due to the fact that it's considered a wear and tear item. I contacted the local Toyota dealer who referred me to the 800 #. Nobody even wanted to discuss my complaint with me at the local dealer. I did contact the 800 customer service number and continued to call until I was able to speak to a supervisor who indicated that there was nothing they could do for me due to the fact that brakes are simply not covered by anything because of the wear and tear classification. I am SORELY disappointed in the fact that with so few miles, the quality of my vehicle is so poor that I even have to consider new brakes. In addition to that, I am SORELY disappointed that the extended warranty, that I was told would cover anything for as long as I had the vehicle, of course, doesn't cover this item either. And, I am SORELY disappointed that nobody at Toyota even seems to care about this issue. I will never purchase another Toyota and I will take every opportunity to share my experience with others.

Desired Settlement: I would like ****** to replace my brakes and cover the expense when I take my vehicle in for the 30,000 tune up.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/01) */ ***** has come in for a re-inspection of her brakes and we did inform her she was in need again. We were able to goodwill her brakes under the factory warranty for customer satisfaction. ***** is very happy with the outcome and the service we have provided. Thanks

7/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car wasn't correctly inspected during my normal car check up. Took it to a different auto shop and they found broken brakes and serpentine belt. I took my car to Autonation toyota Express Lube to have it inspected and for the regular oil change on April 22nd, 2014. I had an appointment but I still had to wait about an hour. I left the place with a receipt that says that everything was ok with my car (Invoice #*******). On May 13th, 2014 I took my car to a different auto shop because my car was making noises and it was having trouble with the brakes. Their report says: The brakes: "Found right front inner brake pads worn metal to metal due to seized right front brake caliper. Without any friction material on the front right inner brake pad the vehicle is unsafe to be driven." Serpentine Belt: "Found one rib missing on the serpentine belt." Only 3 weeks before no one found a problem at Autonation. It is unacceptable and it just confirm that no one even bother to take a look of my car. I sent an email to ****** ******** who sent me an email asking about my experience on my last visit to Express Lube on May 13th but I am still waiting for an answer. I don't recommend going to Autonation Toyota Express Lube. Go to a place where they really care about you not just pretend. I could have been involved in an accident because of their inferior service.

Desired Settlement: I want them to be accountable for not doing their job. I could have been involved in an accident because of their inferior service. Thankfully I resolved my problem on time. I want them to reimburse the money I expended fixing my car. It is 803.45

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ *** ******** (express lube manager) contacted customer and discussed their concens. Informed cusotmer about the functions and operations of brake calipers. If brake calipers fail, then there is an immediate failure to the brake system. Her caliper failed within 100 miles of when she took it into another facility. She understands that her brake system checked out and was working as designed when we serviced her vehicle. Customer had no brake concerns when she had her vehicle in for prevenative maintenance and her vehicle left here safely. Additionally, customer was already aware of serp belt needing replaced and had failed to get it replaced. AutoNation Toyota serviced her vehicle upon her requests, and ormed the maintenance she was in need of. Lastly, AutoNation Toyota is not responsible for the failure of the customers brake system and will not assist with any cost of repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The serpentine belt was broken before I took it to Autonation Toyota but they didn't see any problem with that. I have the paperwork to demonstrate that. With that kind of "eye exam" they give to the cars there is a possibility they didn't see my brakes problem too. When I got to Autonation for my car check up I told the person to check my brake light that was on and my serpentine belt but they didn't write anything down so at the end of the appointment I had to wait again and they said everything was fine. Again, no documentation of that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/27) */ AutoNation is not responsible for the repairs that were needed for this customers brakes and serpentine belt. The customer was fully aware of the serpentine belt prior to bringing it into service here, and neglected to have it replaced. Additionally, the brakes failed well after service and has nothing to do with the service that was performed here at AutoNation Toyota. AutoNation Toyota will not assist with any costs the customer is seeking to fix her vehicle. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept not because I agree but because the company won't take responsibility. The serpentine belt was broken and they didn't notice it. Al least now, other customers know what kind of service Autonation Toyota provides.

4/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought used car, was told i had free 1yr maintenance,which was a lie. Late on car payment due to them not changing my address. No one calls back. when buying vehicle, paper work was wrong but Finance guy didnt want to change it because it was late and it would take 30min longer but promised to change to proper mailing address. After numerous call, no one called me back and finally I had to call Toyota Financial and they told me that I was late on the 1st payment and am due for the 2nd. At the end of the day, I payed off the Vehicle which I wanted to do in the 1st place and no one wanted me to do that and was bullied to finace it stating they would give me more of a discount on my vehicle. Once I had finally got someone on the phone they then pretended not to know me. I then go to get my oil change and then it appears that my 12,000 or one yr of maintance was not included. I feel as there was no accountability or appologies. Even the customer service manager Dave kept saying that his finance guys know what their doing and would never mislead you.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to recieve what I had been promised. my 1 yr or 12,000 miles free maintance care.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ We have attempted to contact the customer and have not received a call back. We would like to speak with customer to resolve the concerns. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/10/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) *********** finally understood my case and promised to take care of this situation. I hope that all resoultion will come together. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/18) */ I spoke with the customer last week and from my understanding everyhting had been resolved. If this is not the case I would like the customer to call me directly at ************. This is my cell number and direct to me. We are willing to resolve all outstanding issues within reason. Thansk *********** GSM Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/09) */ Second complaint towards company regarding vehicle bought. All promises were not delivered. I decided to go foward and cancel my warrenty purchased. I have emails regarding statements that I was suppose to recieve 2 seperate checks for a full refund on my warrenty as of December 15th 2013. As of today, I have not recieved anything from the dealership. I have called Toyota Finacials and was told no request from the dealership was on file to discontinue service. They also have notes stating that they requested and sent several information to them to be sent to me since Auto Nation never changed my address to the correct mailing address and nothing was sent to me. I had to change my address with Toyota Financials after Auto Nation confirmed it was done. **** ****** had promised and promies and all emails are documented between myself, him and the BBB which once again was not followed through. Promises were only made so that I can say to the BBB that it was resolved when it wasnt. I would like full refund of $2795.00 plus any taxes included. Consumer Response /* (-5, 19, 2014/01/09) */ Duplicate complaint filed 1.8.14; reopened original complaint. Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/01/10) */ We have spoke to the cusotmer and a refund check for $425 has been sent. Some how the original check request was lost and now has been completed. I was notified by email by the customer earlier this week. Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2014/01/28) */ After many emails and promises, again they have failed to comply. Toyota Dealership still hasnt recieved any for of request to cancel my extended warrenty. All the dealership has to do is send a fax. Its now almost 4 months and they still have not sent the fax to toytota dealership. Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2014/01/30) */ We mailed a 1 year VCP to her over 30 days ago. We are calling her today and will mail her another copy. Please close case.... Consumer Response /* (4200, 31, 2014/02/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I had received partial refund. No phone call was made to me. I had to write several emails and phone calls to find out that my paperwork did not get processed. I am still waiting for my full refund as promised.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were asked to lie to our warranty co. regarding repairs to a vehicle we purchased. Still fighting with the dealership to make everything right. We bought a Jeep Liberty Limited Edition 2008 from this dealership in July 2013. After buying the car we discovered that same night that it had major repair work that needed to be done including the water pump, sky slider and heating element in the drivers seat. We contacted the dealership the next morning and we were assured it would be taken care of by our car salesman *** and finance guy ******. Next we were asked by our salesman *** to lie to our warranty company about the repairs needed. He stated that it would take a long time to fix the car if the dealership had to pay for it so we should lie to our warranty company to get it fixed faster. We refused to lie to our warranty company. Also, when we bought our warranty from the dealership ****** the finance guy told us that the only thing not covered by our warranty was the navigation system and he specifically said that the sky slider was covered. He explained that the only difference between the Gold and Platinum warranties was the rental care coverage. We chose the Gold package based on this information because our insurance company pays for a rental car already. Come to find out this is a lie. The Jeep Dealership who first looked at our car told us that they contacted our warranty company and there is only minimum coverage under our Gold warranty and only 25% coverage for our sky slider. After weeks of battling with various employees, recording phone conversations where we caught the employees flat out lying to us and being told that Toyota will not fix the repairs I called the corporate office in Florida and an attorney. Keep in mind we owned the car for about 30 days and it was in the shop for about 15 of those days while we fought with the dealership. The vehicle was unsafe to drive at this point. We had to take the Jeep to two different dealerships three different times. The dealership that ended up fixing the sky slider told us that the car was not safe to drive until it was fixed. After informing **** ******, the manager, of our recorded phone conversations with him and other employees, my contact with an attorney, my phone calls and messages left with the corporate office in FL our car was approved for the est of $3,000.00 in repairs of the sky slider. I have never dealt with such incompetent deceptive people. It is now Oct and we are still fighting for an extra key to be made since one was not supplied at the time of purchase as it should of been and we are still waiting for the refund of our deductible we had to pay to have the car looked at in the first place to determine all the repairs that needed to be done. We have now been told that we can go get a key made at the Jeep Autonation dealership that fixed our sky slider and that the check has been approved. Prior to this though, **** ****** told me three weeks ago that my check would come in 5-10 business days and we would have to pay for the key to be made then Toyota would reimburses us. I know they were hoping we would just go away but after taping the phone conversations and catching the employees in lie after lie and consulting with an attorney I was not about to go away. This dealership was being manipulative and malicious. I will never return to this dealership to purchase a car. Unfortunately I have to keep going there to fight for what is right. To sum up this horrible experience lets recap the lies. *** (salesman) asked us to lie to our warranty company, lied about paying us our deductible back out of his pocket, lied about informing us that the car was broken and wouldn't even come out to face us last week at the dealership. ******(finance dept) lied about what was covered by the warranty we purchased and lied about getting our car repaired. **** ****** lied about fixing the car, lied about providing a spare key, lied about refunding our deductible and other countless lies about his employees and this sham of a company. They even tried to lie saying we knew that the car needed repairs.

Desired Settlement: We would like our car fixed including the heated seat element, extra key made and deductible refunded and upgraded to the warranty that will cover repairs we were told our current warranty would cover but does not.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/08) */ The check for the deductible of $50.00 has been cut and mailed to the customer. Also the customer was told to go to our Jeep store and get the keys needed and the store would bill us for the key. We have done 100% of everything we committed to the customer at this point. There is nothing else due to the customer and this BBB issue should be closed and completed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2013/10/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have received the extra key and $50 refund but the warranty and heating element in the drivers seat is still an issue. Stating that the warranty we received is the only one for our car is a lie. If this statement were true why were we offered a platinum warranty which we declined because we were told by ****** the finance guy that the only difference between the gold and platinum warranty was the rental car. My insurance provides a rental car so we chose the gold warranty. We have been told that the sky slider was completely covered with the gold warranty and this is not true. A jeep dealership not associated with Autonation told us that our warranty only covers about 25% of the sky slider. We were tricked and lied to. We are asking that the warranty be upgraded to match what we were told we were buying. The dealership did contact *** and Jeff was rude, intimidating and threatening which we do not appreciate. He stated that because we gave them a bad review on-line that they will not do anything about the deception and lies we have had to deal with. I'm not surprised to see more lies even in a BBB complaint rebuttal. The bad reviews are our way of protecting others from making the mistake we did by buying a car from Toyota Autonation. We found out today that a good dealership would of provided us with a voucher for an emissions test and we didn't get that either. Go figure. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/10/16) */ I reached out otday and spoke with *** about the open issues. They are getting the key on Saturday according to him. They did receive the refund check for $50.00. As far as the remaining concerns or issues there is nothing more the dealer is able to do. The warranty they have is the warranty we have available for the car. Not on parts and labor are ever covered 100% on any warranty. Please close this case as we the dealer feel we have done all we can do to help resolve the issues. Thanks

9/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While I am filing this complaint as Billing or Collection Issue it is actually muti-faceted.I Purchased a 2005 Nissan Pathfinder LE from Autonation at the end of May 2013. I noticed on the test drive that a "Service Engine Soon" light was on the dash. After speaking with the Sales Person we surmised that this was Service light notifying the driver of maintenance that needed to be conducted such as an Oil Change Etc, not a "Check Engine" light that would indicate a malfunction or mechanical issues. When I purchased the vehicle I was told by the sales rep that as soon as we took the vehicle in for servicing on our next visit he assured me they would get the light turned off.I was given temporary license plates that expired July 28th of 2013, I subsequently went down to the DMV near this date only to find out that they have not received the paperwork from the dealer necessary to register the vehicle. I was given another temporary license plate from the DMV for 20 more days, allowing the dealership more time to forward the proper documents.August 18th I contacted the DMV and the documents still have not arrived. August 23rd I was close to a Air Care Colorado, and decided to get my Emissions taken care of while I wait for the documents to arrive to the DMV. After completion of the Emissions test I was given a Failed test result due to high carbon. It turns out the so called "Service Engine Soon" light was not a service light, but a malfunction indicator. I learned the reason the light was on was due to code ***** & ***** A/F Sensors.August 23rd I contacted DMV yet again to get another temporary registration and was notified they still do not have the documents from Autonation.Almost every single time I contact someone from this dealership I am put through to someones voicemail, whom never returns my call in a reasonable amount of time, and it is impossible to get anything accomplished. Product_Or_Service: Nissan

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want to have a working vehicle that can pass emissions, and to get registered, rather than a $13000.00 Hunk of Steel I can't drive.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/03) */ In regards to the referenced case with **** *******, we at Auto Nation Toyota have not only apologized for the delay of titlework and emmisions issues , we have taken care of all issues completely. We advised Mr. ******* to bring his vehecle in for repairs that occurred after the sale and fixed them at no charge while providing a rental during his vehicle's absence. We have also reimbursed mr ******* for the extension fees he paid while waiting for the titlework to be completed. Upon reciept of the title from the bank on the froward deal we hand delivered Mr *******'s titlework to Denver county on the same day to ensure he could register the sold vehicle as soon as possible. Now Mr *******s vehicle has passed emmisions and has been able to register the vehicle at the DMV. I believe all concerns have been taken care of in full and again apologize for delaying any part of Mr *******'s transaction.

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a used car extended warranty. The warranty I was sold does not cover what was implied when it was sold to me. My wife and I purchased a used 2004 Nissan Armada from Autonation Toyota about two years ago. When I purchased this car I was offered a Toyota extended warranty. I was very hesitant to purchase this; however, the finance person told use he just used his to have his electric seats fixed. He stated with the age of the car he would recommend it. One issue with the A/C or power seats and it would pay for itself. Additionally, with the car having a DVD player we would be glad we had it. I still hesitated because there was a deductible. He made it a $0 deductible to close the sale. Now two years later when we are trying to use the warranty 3 out of 4 issues are not covered, one of which is an A/C issue. I called and left messages Monday and Tuesday with no return calls. I left another message Wednesday and was told he was unsure if he could do anything but would try and to give him a day or two. He said we should of been sold the better Platinum warranty, which we were not offered. He stated the warranty we have basically keeps the car running and thats it. I would never have bought a warranty described this way and certainly would not have paid what I paid for it. When I called back Friday the person helping is now on vacation for 10 days, so much for a day or two to get back to me. I talked to two other people, one of which complained to someone else about dealing with the call while I could here them. If my response times and professionalism at my company were like this with our customers we would be out of business. With my experience this week I feel this is the most unprofessional company I have ever done business with, personally or in my career. Our car has been in the shop for a week with no one at Autonation seeming to care to even attempt to resolve this issue. I will never purchase another car from this dealership. If you choose to I would be very careful when purchasing an extended warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like my warranty plan to be upgraded to cover what is wrong with my car and accurately reflect the warranty I was told I was buying. I feel I was pitched the Platinum warranty but then sold the gold. I would have never spent so much on a warranty if I was told it covered so little and if it was accurately describe to me.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/21) */ Prior to the 20th I have spoke with Mr. ****** about his concerns and issues. We spoke on the 19th of August and have resolved the issues. Our Nissan Arapahoe store has done the repairs for Mr. ****** and to the best of my knowledge all issues have been resolved. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 11, 2013/08/22) */ From: Better Business Bureau Info Sent: Thursday, August 22, 2013 4:25 PM To: ******* ****** Subject: FW: Complaints -----Original Message----- From: ***************** Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 2:38 PM To: Better Business Bureau Info Subject: Complaints I filed a complaint yesterday about Auto nation Toyota, they have called me to resolve so I want to withdrawal it. I cannot find it on the site. Thank you. Please note my email address is changing to *****************. Thank you. Regards, *** ******, ***

7/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toyota Prius was advertised on June 20 for 21714 on website. They would not meet the price. Complaint On June 20, 2013 me and my wife had a shocking experience with Autonation Toyota dealership at Arapahoe Road, Englewood. I believe the behavior of the dealership personnel showed a callous disregard for my time. It was the classic bait and switch taken to a new level. In summary, I had located a Toyota Prius on the dealership's website that had an attractive price. I called the dealership to make sure the car was still available. I got a call back saying that vehicle has been sold but they have another vehicle that is available at the same price. We fixed an appointment and me and my wife showed up at the dealership. After 3 hours of wasted time and a lot of evasiveness from dealership, we left without a vehicle because 'The salesman does not remember which vehicle he had in mind when he called me back'. Details: - June 19, 2013 we locate a Toyota Prius (marked with an arrow in the appendix). - I call Autonation and speak with Roger Regan - I ask if the vehicle is still available. He promises to check and call me back - He calls back and says that vehicle is sold but he has another one that is available at the same price. We fix appointment for June 20 at 5:30pm - Me and my wife show up at 5:30pm. Zach meets us, locates the call record and asks us - 10 min later, he says Roger is busy with someone else and he will take care of us - My wife shows him the paper with the price. He says they will honor it. He asks my wife to choose a color she likes. We go through the lot looking at cars. He keeps telling my wife to ignore the sticker as we will get the internet price unless we add more options. - 1 hour later we get back to office. Zach says he will get the paperwork - He comes back with a white shirt Mr X (more on that later) who goes through the song and dance of making it work for us. We have told Zach that we are here to buy the advertised vehicle, so we are thinking we are negotiating further. - Mr X disappears for 1 hr or so. Then Zach tells us that he is negotiating hard with the GM - Mr X comes back and makes an offer from list price. The price on the website is 21714 while he makes a 'generous' offer of 23k. We tell him that we are here because of the 21k price and promise from Roger. He hems and haws but finally asks Zach to pull up - Zach tells him that the vehicle was sold on Tuesday (must be June 18). Now Mr X tells me that I came in knowing that this vehicle was sold. I tell him about Roger's message. He disappears and 10 min later, informs us that Roger does not remember which vehicle - Mr X says he can't honor the price as it was only advertised for that VIN number. - I ask him where we can complain and he does not answer. - He is called Mr X because he refuses to give his name. - At 8pm we leave and make our trek back to Westminster, 40 min drive away - At home. my wife informs that the car is still shown on the Website (June 21) even though we were told it was sold on June 18 My Take: - The whole series was planned. There was no intention to sell me the vehicle for the - Firstly, the salesman, Mr Roger Reagan never got 'unbusy' and we never saw him - Zach (did not want to give his last name) was used to charm and mellow us - Zach was told, shown and took the paper with him when he got Mr X. Mr X behaved as though he never knew the internet deal. - The vehicle was supposedly sold on June 18. However, we printed it on June 20 as a deal available to us. The VIN being the only one etc is a sham. If it is sold on 18 and still shows up on available deals on 20 - I am not sure if there are laws against bait and switch. I could understand if I just showed up and got taken for a ride. But I was explicitly told by Roger Reagan that he has a vehicle for me at the same price. Action Taken: I have sent complaint to Autonation and have go no answer for 3 weeks. , that is not my problem.

Desired Settlement: I expect the dealership to match the price advertised and a further discount for 3 hours of my time they wasted. If I end up buying a similar vehicle, they would need to pay me the difference between my purchase price and 21714 after discounting any additional options I may have on the car I purchased.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/20) */ Dear Mr ****, I have researched your complaint in my store and as the General Manager I assure you that we do not conduct business in the manner you have described. We are the largest volume dealership in Colorado and didn't get there by practicing "switch and bait" or any other unethical practice. The particular vehicle you called on, was a heavily discounted Prius due to the fact that it was an aged unit in our inventory. Our sales guide had the best intention to sell it to you and did not realize that we had multiple deals working on it when he told you to come in. No sales guide in our store would want to deceit a customer just to bring them in the store and deal with a mad customer. We have hundreds of customers inquiring every day in our store and we sell the cars "first come first served" and unfortunately once in awhile it happens that we have multiple customers on the same cars. We try to the best of our ability to please all the customers but someone is bound to miss on any specials or heavy discounted cars. Also our system does not update the on line inventory the instant a car is sold. It takes a couple of days often. As you may have observed we do not have any other Prius in our inventory that is as heavily discounted as the one you first saw. I will be more than happy to sit down with you and offer you a price lower than any current specials or lower than any other dealer, however we simply can not match the same discount we had on the car that sold. Please let me know if you would like to do that. Thank you, ****** ********* Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/07/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An advertised price is an obligation. That you do not want to match it is not acceptable. Loss leaders are just that. You advertised a loss leader and do not want to stand by what was public record at that time. I have no way to know or judge your profit and given the interaction so far, have no idea if it will be the truth. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/24) */ Mr ****, as I have stated we can not match the same discount on a vehicle that sold. I can assure you again that we do match prices that we advertise. We have over 800 advertised vehicles at any given time and if we didn't match our prices we would have 800 customers upset like you. I can assure you this is not the case. Also your wife saw the ad later because our inventory and most dealership's inventory does not disappear online the moment we sell the vehicle. There is a delay of anywhere from 1day to several days until our inventory management tool recognizes the sale and updates the inventory on line. Mr ****, my offer to you is to sell a new car at little or no profit for the dealership. My offer is reasonable and I hope you take advantage of it. Thank you. ******

7/24/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my vehicle to this dealership in 2009 and the title is still in my name?!?! This has created a legal issue for me from the state of California. I sold a 2006 Toyota Corolla (*** **********ZXXXXXX) to Go Toyota Arapahoe on July 14, 2009. The vehicle title is still in my name, per the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. On May 6, 2013 Wells Fargo depleted my checking & saving accounts in an attempt to collect $1,139.00 in registration and title fees for this vehicle, court ordered by the California DMV. I was able to speak to the DMV and get all but a $125.00 fee back from my bank due to this error. After speaking numerous times to Go Toyota's Accounting Manager, ****** ******** and leaving 2 voice mail messages for the General Manager, ****** *********, I have yet to be offered a resolution. In fact, ****** said she doesn't "have access" to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System so she cannot see who the title is currently under. The California DMV is showing the paperwork to gain the title was started by Go Toyota, but never completed. I have filed a complaint with Dealer Investigations as well.

Desired Settlement: I want the title out of my name immediately!! This is not my vehicle and I do not want any sort of responsibility for it. I want Go Toyota to refund the $125.00 fee I incurred because of their titling error.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/24) */ Customer ****** ***** contacted our title department with regards to the title to her trade in from July 14, 2009, stating that the title had never been taken out of her name in the state of California. She stated that subsequently she had incurred a large amount of fees from the state of California, and she felt it was the dealership's responsibility to compensate her for these fees. ****** ******** Accounting Manager, contacted the Colorado State Title Section to confirm that the title had been transferred to the new purchaser. The title section confirmed that a new title had been issued by the state of Colorado to a Boulder County resident, which subsequently should have triggered a change in the National Information System. The title section was also able to confirm that ****** had brought the vehicle to Colorado and registered it some time before trading it in , which also should have triggered this change. The title section also advised that it is the owner's responsibility in states where a release of liability is required to complete this information and that this should have been done when the vehicle was registered in Colorado, and that these responsibilities are incumbent upon the vehicle owner. A call was also made to the Dealer Licensing Board to confirm that all appropriate steps had been taken in accordance with Colorado law. Ms. ***** did make a call to the General Manager ****** *********, who was subsequently advised of the situation. A call was made to Ms. ***** from Mr. ********* with Ms. Ferland present to try to resolve Ms. *****'s complaint. There was no answer, and a voicemail was left for Ms. ***** that was not returned. It should also be noted that Ms. ***** also had someone call posing as a CA DMV agent, whom it was later determined had called from a personal cell phone. In conclusion, all research has determined that Go Toyota followed all of the necessary and appropriate steps as outlined by the state of Colorado, with no indication from the customer up to this time that any error had been made. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/07/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/07/09) */ Last week we AN Toyota Arapahoe were called by the dealer board investagator and after his research we the dealer compelted all documentation required to process all issues. At this point the dealer has done what is required to be done and no further action is required. i ask that the BBB close this case out.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Toyota Scion Arapahoe
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart