BBB Accredited Business since

AutoNation Subaru West

Phone: (303) 590-6600 Fax: (303) 590-6666 16351 W Colfax Ave, Golden, CO 80401 http://www.autonationsubaruwest.com/index.htm#


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation Subaru West meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AutoNation Subaru West include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Subaru West include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Subaru West
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 11, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Dave Dunn, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Dunn, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Autonation Suburu West sold me a car that doesn't start. They serviced it, said it was fixed, and it still doesn't start. I took the car in for service o 12/26 because it won't start. The service department said it fixed the problem and I picked up the car. It still doesn't work. The car is under warranty but they are not fixing it. I've spoken with the manager **** and the service employee *****. I want my car fixed. I want the service department to return my calls.

Desired Settlement: If the company won't fix their product I want a refund for the product.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/20) */ The problem experienced by Mr. ********** was addressed by following the directives of Subaru of America, in reprogramming the Electronic Command Module. When he returned with the same issue, we checked the car numerous time, including leaving it outside in near zero degree weather for 36 hours, and the vehicle started every time without any problem. As a result, we cannot fix a problem we can't experience or duplicate. If he is depressing the gas pedal, or pumping it, before starting the car, that will cause the engine to flood, due to the fuel injection technology. If he would like to bring it back in for further testing, we will be happy to provide him a service loaner while his car is here. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/01/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a used vehicle from Go Suabaru and in less than 6 months it has been to the auto shop 8 times for repairs and is now undriveable. We bought a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee from Go Subaru West and worked with a sales associate named Elphaz who showed us multiple jeeps though we were interested in one which we had seen online. We had come in with a pre-approval we had received through an associate at Bellco Credit Union. We test drove the jeep and found that it shook excessively at higher speeds when we returned we asked if this could be fixed as terms for purchasing the vehicle and Elphaz said yes. We began signing papers with ****** ******** who called Bellco questioning the pre-approval terms which caused Bellco to question the pre-approval altogether, though we had been 100% open and honest throughout the process and provided all necessary information. Well speaking with *** we asked if he knew anything about the jeep or if he could look into it to make sure it's safe as I was about to have another baby. He said Subaru inspects their vehicles and that he trusted ***** the manager to put us in a good vehicle. We finally secured the loan. We left the jeep over the weekend to be fixed after signing papers assured that when we picked it up the shake would be gone. We trusted Subaru because I have bought two other vehicles successfully there. When we picked it up the shake was still there, we called Subaru and alerted them. We brought the vehicle in a total of 6 more times for repairs on 6 different occasions to fix the lift shake. At one point they had asked Go Jeep across the street to repair it where we spoke to **** **** who shared the opinion that due to this issue the vehicle never should have been sold. When we returned to *** and shared this information with him he said that Go Jeep should have inspected it better before selling it, we corrected him and let him know that Subaru had sold it not Jeep he said that wasn't possible that Subaru did there inspections well. Finally, after the dealership spending over $4000.00 which totaled more than the loan of our car, Go Jeep had removed the lift for Go Subaru. We finally thought it was all over and our car was finally ours as it had spent more time at the shop then in our driveway. Now less than 6 months later we were told by Pep Boys that our gasket caps need replacement as well as the water pump, hoses, and radiator which costs $1300 and that potentially the whole engine may need replacement. We were also told by the mechanic that these issues could have been seen with an inspection that it has clearly had damage for a while and that the Jeep should not have been sold to us. Now I owe a $5000.00 loan on a car that does not run because it was not inspected properly. When I contacted *** ******** he relayed the message to me from the manager ***** that they had done too much for us already and they were unwilling to help. I explained to him what the mechanic said and **** ***** and he told us that the car was used which means as is and that they never had to repair any of it's problems in the first place. As a customer I am thoroughly disappointed. I go to Autonation because I have purchased and paid off two vehicles from the company already. For this car to have been sold when it clearly was not ready is very disappointing. I understand that a used car is as is and I know there is no warranty but I also know that as a consumer when you buy a car from a reputable dealership you assume that because it has been inspected it will run more than 6 months. I did not purchase this car for scrap I purchased it to be a safe vehicle for my one year old son and my newborn daughter and I have been sorely disappointed. I was told that this vehicle would be a good safe vehicle that would last many more miles and this is clearly not the case.

Desired Settlement: I would like Subaru reprimanded for not correctly inspecting this vehicle I would also like the $1300 bill refunded to me by Autonation because more than one mechanic, including an employee, felt that the vehicle was not in the shape to be sold. I feel as though I was sold a lemon, used or not. My information tells me that these damages where present way before I bought the vehicle and I have completed all scheduled maintenance at Autonation Jeep on time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ The issues Ms. **** has represent 2 different, and distinct problems. The efforts we went to to address the "shake" problem were beyond any that would have been done by any other dealer. We removed the lift kit, mounted new tires,and even had the Jeep put back to factory suspension, all at no charge to her. The vehicle was driven by numerous people, over a variety of roads, and no one could duplicate the condition she claimed to be experiencing. Included in that group were Jeep technicians who did the work on the car. It is our opinion that the difference in suspension between a Ford Focus and a Jeep Cherokee is what she was experiencing. In spite of that, we did everything we, and the Jeep techs, could think of to try to address her concern. The head gasket issue is a totally different one. After 6 months of use, and without knowing the miles driven during that time, and what, if any, maintenance, was done, the fact that head gaskets need to be replaced is part of owning a vehicle. Vehicle inspections to identify a head gasket problem are to look for oil leaks, check to see if there is coolant in the block and look for air bubbles in the coolant reservoir. Lacking those indicators, there is no reason to check the gaskets. It is hard to understand how any technician, diagnosing a current head gasket problem, can state with certainty that there was a head gasket problem 6 months earlier. Additionally, Ms. **** had the vehicle in for service at AutoNation Jeep on September 11, 2014. The Repair Order that she signed included no mention of any shake or vibration problem. They did an oil change and did a multi-point inspection. No issues were noted by the mechanic at that time. If there was any indication of a head gasket problem, they would have noted it. Mike Doht indicated that he absolutely did not say "the vehicle never should have been sold", as claimed by Ms ****. As to the opinion of other mechanics, they are just that, opinions. We don't question them, only whether they did, in fact, state them as represented by Ms ****. If they did, then we would question their ability to pass ********* on conditions that existed 6 months earlier, that they themselves did not inspect. We have addressed the items we agreed to at the time of the sale, going above and beyond to try to fix a problem that only Ms **** experienced. We believe that shows our commitment to taking care of our customers. The vehicle was sold As Is - No Warranty. That means that once the customer has taken delivery, any and all maintenance and repairs are their responsibility. A problem that shows up 6 months after taking delivery does not change those conditions of sale.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is a recall for 660,000 ******* and while mine wasn't sold in a state where the recall says is affected, it was driven many miles in a that area This car is part of a recall that affects brake lines and my car was driven many miles in a state where they use salt to clear the roads. Thus, the brake lines may be affected. Since, it wasn't sold in this state though, they won't cover it under the recall and I would have to pay for the service. I think this is wrong.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car to be inspected for free and the sealant put on it to prevent rusting in the future in case it is driven in a state where there is a lot of salt.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/07) */ The recall was just announced by Subaru, and we have just received the instructions on the procedures we are to follow. Mr. ******* car, while being driven in an affected area, is not automatically subject to the recall. We offered to inspect his vehicle, at his expense, to determine if it would be eligible for the recall service. If the inspection determined that it was, Subaru would cover the inspection cost and have us do the recall service. I have been advised that he declined to pay for the inspection, thereby denying us the opportunity to present Subaru with the results to determine recall eligibility. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I shouldn't have to pay to determine if my car was affected. Just poor service in my opinion.

6/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not recognize on going issue common with wrx which is dangerous and should be a recall. Also did not make repair that I was charged for. On 5/14/2014 my 2009 Subaru WRX was dropped at the dealership for a scheduled maintenance. It also needed the hood scoop intake parts under the hood reattached as the plastic fittings had all broken off. I was then told that my clutch pedal mount on the firewall was cracked and needed repair as well as needing a new clutch. I argued that a mount should not be breaking before a clutch going out and later was told this would be repaired for free if I would have THEM do the clutch repair for $1405.41. I agreed to this. I paid and picked up the car. As I was driving home I immediately realized that the clutch pedal issue was something that I had complained about when the car had 20-30,000 miles less and was under warrantee.The pedal now is so easy to press in vs. before it felt like pushing about a 25 pound weight. Obviously it hadn't been right since we bought it at 13,000 miles. I can't believe that any tech who gets in these cars all day didn't recognize the issue. But when I had complained earlier about the pedal and difficulty getting into gear, I was told that it was normal. Now after the repair out of warrantee it goes into gear just fine with a nice light pedal. When I got home I opened the hood and the parts had only been repaired with 2 fasteners out of about 10 so Its still hanging down (I paid $20 for this non-repair). This all made me think more so I started researching and found out more about the firewall issue. This is a widespread issue. The firewall is compromised (cracked at the weld) which is obviously dangerous. The pedal mount could actually break off the firewall which means that while driving you all of a sudden wouldn't have a clutch pedal. I know the dealer fixed firewall for free (after I complained, originally they wanted $1200 for that). But it seemed more like a cover up. It also makes me think that the clutch went out early because of the clutch pedal binding at the mount. When I called my service rep there, I was treated like a liar and after going back and forth wasting my time I ended the call. About a week later I received a follow up call to see how my service went. I replied with the above info, was told she would speak to the service manager. I have not heard anything else. My wife and I were extremely disappointed with how we've been treated especially since I had even discussed with my service rep how we were thinking of getting a new larger subaru to fit our growing family. This will definitely not be happening now through this dealer. I can't believe that I was driving around a compromised car with my infant in the car with me.

Desired Settlement: For one I believe that there should be an active recall. When searched online it is apparent that this is a wide spread issue with these models. It is also dangerous. The firewall is compromised along with the clutch pedal which in some cases falls to the floor and becomes unusable while driving. I am also concerned that this faulty part could have caused my clutch to go out early which I then had to pay $1200 for. As for the underside of the hood, I think that the dealer should have to come to my house to fix the rest of the attachments. I paid to have these fixed, they weren't and I shouldn't have to drive all the way back out to the dealer to have this "fixed" again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, **14/06/07) */ The issue Mr. ********* has with his car is known to Subaru of America. The firewall is not cracked, the pedal mount has 4 welds connecting it to the firewall, and 1 of those welds has broken. SOA has stated that, while it does create a rattling noise that may be noticeable, it is not unsafe. SOA has an excellent reputation for addressing safety issues guickly and effectively. Because of that, dealers are confident in the information they give us to provide to customers. There are 12 clips that hold the parts under the hood that Mr. ********* referred to as being broken. We only had 10 clips in our inventory, which were installed. The internal cost of these parts is $5 each, plus labor to install them. We charged him $** total for the 10 clips as a good will gesture, along with fixing the pedal mount for free.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer failed to deliver title of newly purchased vehicle after 7 weeks. Dealer unresponsive after inquiries into the status of title documents. I purchased a New 2014 Subaru Outback on 04-Dec-2013 via a bank check for the total purchase price. The dealer provided 60 day temporary tags for the vehicle. After 7 weeks, the dealership still has not delivered the title for the vehicle. Colorado Department of Revenue states the dealer has a maximum of 30 days to deliver the certificate of title per http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Rev-Enforcement/RE/1214213334482. I left phone messages for ********* (Titles), ****** (Titles), **** **** (General Manager) - none of which were ever returned. I visited the dealer on 17-Jan-2014 in person, and spoke with ************ who denied the dealer responsibility to deliver the title within 30 days. The vehicle identification number (VIN) is *****************. I have filed a complaint with the Colorado Department of Revenue. My temporary tags expire on 03-Feb-2014.

Desired Settlement: Seeking delivery of the title with sufficient (minimum of 1 week) time to obtain permenant plates from the state of Colorado. If not possible - I would like an extension of the temporary tags, paid for by the dealer, and some type restitution, perhaps in the form of service vouchers, to compensate for having to continue to visit the dealer due to their failure to comply with Colorado title delivery regulations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ Mr. ***** left me a voicemail on Friday, 1/17. Unfortunately, I was not in, and I left town for a conference, returning on Tuesday. This notice is the first I knew of his issue. I spoke to ******** ******, our Controller, and she informed me that she had spoken to Mr. ***** on Monday, informing him that his paperwork had been mailed to him. His temporary 60 day registration expires on 2/3, so he should receive his paperwork without needing an extension, or incurring any additional costs. That 60 day period is provided by the State to allow for unanticipated delays in registering a vehicle. Not wanting to make any excuses, but to explain, our Title Clerk was absent most of the time period between Christmas and this week. Our limited staff did the best they could, but were unable to handle within our usual time frame. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I did FINALLY receive the title, AutoNation Subaru West failed to deliver it within the timeframe perscribed by Colorado state law. Per Colorado Department of Revenue "In order to facilitate initial registration of a vehicle, any dealer of motor vehicles shall have not more than thirty (30) days from the date of sale to deliver the certificate of title to a purchaser or the holder of a chattel mortgage." Furthermore, personel from the dealership claim to have no knowledge of such requirements, and stated that the delivery can be anytime in the 60 day timeframe - potentially forcing customers to drive on expired temporary tags while they wait in limbo for their title. While in my case - over 40 phone calls, phone and email messages, and/or in person meetings with AutoNation Subaru West staff, Subaru America, the Colorado atorney general, and the BBB resulted in me *finally* receiving my title one business week before the temporary tags expired - let this be a warning to others that intend to use this dealer. The dealership (including in the response provided from the general manager above) demonstrates their lack of knowledge and compliance with Colorado state regulations - the state provides 30 days for the dealership to deliver the title. THE OTHER 30 DAYS ARE PROVIDED FOR THE BUYER TO OBTAIN LEGAL AND PERMANENT TAGS.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Subaru West
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)