BBB Accredited Business since

AutoNation Nissan Southwest

Phone: (303) 904-7700 Fax: (303) 904-7729 5067 S Wadsworth Blvd, Littleton, CO 80123 http://www.autonationnissansouthwest.com/index.htm


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation Nissan Southwest meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Nissan Southwest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Nissan Southwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2009 Business started: 05/01/1991 Business started locally: 05/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Eric Absher, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Absher, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Car Fraud

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AutoNation Nissan Southwest has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5067 S Wadsworth Blvd

    Littleton, CO 80123 (303) 904-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After performing a routine oil change, the service department ran my car through their carwash (without my consent) damaging my Thule (roof top carrier) on the top of my car. They refuse to acknowledge that they damaged the Thule. There have been multiple discussions with the service manager, the dealership manager, a visit to the dealership, pictures of the damage to the Thule and pictures of the damage to the carwash that correspond to the damage to the Thule.

Desired Settlement: I want to replace the Thule. It will cost approximately $450 to replace.

Business Response: have talked to customer and invited down here to show damage and found and the vehicle would not even fit into the car wash with the rack on it.   Tried t have him come down and we could do it again with both the service manager and myself and did not come down.  Took care of his charges for that day and they said the only way that they would be happy is to Pay for a brand new thule ski rack and have it installed.  would love to help this customer but I believe that they are being unfair ?? 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

#1.  We did make a trip to the dealership.  We matched the scrapes (new on the carwash) to the ones and the dent on the Thule and they match.  It does indeed fit into the carwash and their claim that it does not is a falsehood.  We took pictures and supplied them to the dealership manager.  We requested to see the dealership manager on that visit and were denied.  The service manager and dealership manager are playing a game with us.  It appears from our end that the service manager has not been truthful with the dealership manager.  

#2.  They did not take care of the charge for that visit.  It was a free oil change based on my initial purchase of my Xterra from that dealership so they have offered us nothing as compensation.  Attempting to portray themselves as cooperative and generous is completely untrue.  

#3.  We think that damaging a car top carrier in a carwash compromises its integrity for future use and limits its functionality for the present.  To replace the Thule will cost us in excess of $700 but since we got it on sale in October 2015 for $417 we are only asking for that in compensation to put toward the replacement cost.  

#4.  The service manager is ******* ***** and the dealership manager is **** ****** and neither is being honest.  

Sincerely,

******* *******

Business Response: I would be more than willing to have the customer come down and we can see what can be done.  Please let them know that I would like to see the damage and asses the situation myself.

5/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car on 12/30/15. I returned it on 12/31/15 due to mechanical issues. I was given a loaner while they attempted to fix the list of problems, some minor and a major concern about the vehicle not going into 4 wheel drive. I had three days to rescind the purchase so I decided on 1/1/16 that I wanted to rescind the deal. I returned to the dealership and met with the GM. When he looked at my paperwork he told me that I had the car longer than 3 days so I could not return it. I bought it on Wed, returned it on Thu and was back to rescind the deal on Fri. As I looked over the paperwork I signed on Wed, Dec 30, I discovered that all of the paperwork had been dated Dec 28. The GM finally agreed to rescind the deal. I had provided an undated check to them for a $2400 down payment under a program they have where they will hold a check up to 29 days. I had to do this because I was waiting for an insurance check. I reminded them that they needed to cancel my check and they said they would. I was notified by Chase bank that they attempted to cash this check on Jan 15, 2016. I was charged a $34 fee for insufficient funds.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $34 refunded and I would like the dealership to write a letter to Chase explaining that this was their error. I have only had this account for six months and am upset that it looks like I wrote a bad check for $2400.

Business Response:

This customer was unhappy with the vehicle purchase and we allowed the customer to return the vehicle with no penalties and or cost to the customer.  I talked with her the other day and also offered to refund her the money that was inadvertently charged to her account.  We have looked into this issue and are more than willing to help in any way.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 11096842

I am rejecting this response because: I was just notified by my bank that Autonation attempted to run this check through my bank AGAIN on Monday, January 25th.  Their words and their actions contradict each other.

Sincerely,

******* **********

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Nation switched directions on the leasing of a 2014 Rogue. They used deceptive sales practices. Last month I went into AutoNation Southwest investigating the various options available to me in returning in a 2012 (leased) Rogue. During the process they had plenty of 2014 Rogues that they wanted to show me. I told the Sales Manager several times " clarifying and confirming" that if I was going to walk away with a 2014 leased Rogue; that I was going to simply trade in one lease for another "Straight Across" and the old lease would end and the terms of the new lease would begin. I would then no longer be responsible for the remaining three lease payments. The Salesman and the Sales Manager agreed and charged my Credit Card for the down payment and new lease payment for the 2014 Rogue. I did not agree, nor, would I have ever agreed to turning over the keys to Auto Nation Southwest and continue to make 3 lease payments without the use of the vehicle. I had more miles I could have put on the vehicle. I want to emphasize again, the salesman was at the table when the sales manager told me "One lease would end and the other would start". Since this was my third vehicle at the same dealership I took the Sales Managers word. I walked out the door with a 2014 leased Rogue. I found out later from Nissan Leasing that AutoNation had not made arrangements to pay off and end the old lease. One week later I received a call from their lease guy anxiously asking me to come in and sign the odometer statement. I explained to the lease guy that AutoNation Southwest did not do what they agreed to do. I made several attempts to contact the Sales Manager and to this day I have never heard from him. Also, I have never seen or meet the lease guy and never signed the return "Vehicle Return Receipt and Odometer Statement". I made it clear if AutoNation Southwest insisted on their deceptive sales practices of not paying off the lease then I want them to return the 2012 Rogue for which I am making lease payments on.

Desired Settlement: Either return my Vehicle so I can get the full benefit of the lease. Honor your verbal commitment and pay of the lease for $787.19. Once this is done I will sign the Return Receipt Odometer Statement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/20) */ The customer came to turn in he's lease frist and was not whating to buy a car. After talking to my lease return manager,****** wanted to lease a AWD Nissan Rogue. No wear in the paperwork does it state dealship ws responsible for his last three remaining payment. The customer has called the store and is upset that the dealership is unwilling to make the payments. We have told him that this problem is with Nissan and he needs to take it up with them.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $492.00 unfairly. I am disputing this due to contract dispute and bad business practice. No waiver was signed. My dispute and complaint regarding this transaction of $492.00 is due to bad business practice and contract dispute. On 5/26/14 I purchased a car from this dealership I was there from 10am to 4pm. I put down 1500.00 deposit. I had the car for less than 24 hrs. My boss who was my advocate who came with me to return the car on 5/28/14 due to tremendous hail damage and faulty window tint. They turned us away and stated to come back on 5/29/14 where there GM was present. So we came back with the car and charged me 492.00 for 3 days of using the vehicle and window tint which I DID NOT ORDER with this car. They said it was complimentary for buying this vehicle. They strong holder me by having to pay this amt or they would not give me back my deposit. Please note that they were rude and unprofessional. They did not honor there "Money Back Guarantee" form. Which I did not sign a waiver. There GM never talked to us.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my $492.00 be returned back to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/09/25) */ We did unwind the car deal for the customer and charged her $307 bailment fee and made her pay $185 for tinting of the Versa. When the customer bought the car she knew that the car had hail damage. Per the customers request we tinted the Versa for her and she came in and took delivery of the Versa. She returned the next day and wanted to return the Versa and we let her. That is why we charged her and we have copies showing that she accepted and signed for the charges. This customer also had a officer from the state come in and look at all the paperwork and he said we were in our right to charge the customer and we did everything correct. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/09/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree with their statement for these reasons they are not being honest as a good business practice and ethics. I brought the car 2 days later with my boss as my advocate to return this vehicle in hopes that they would work with us regarding the hail damage and all the other fees that they charged me what was beyond what was proper. I wanted a car without hail damage. They stated at that time that there was no other cars in the Colorado area without hail damage, which was not true. And that there their GM was not there to assist and we would have to come back the next day. They did not let me return it that day! We had to return it the next day and again I have to express that they were very rude and upset and would not let my advocate speak. I want you to know that I DID NOT REQUEST the tinting on this vehicle. The salesman asked me if there was anything on the vehicle I wanted and what would it be? I stated tinting of the windows. I DID NOT ASK FOR IT and besides they did a terrible job on the window tinting! Why should I buy a vehicle with a high interest rate, high payment, that would not benefit me in the long- run. They set me up for failure I believe. I do not appreciate that. They are charging me for something that I did not request I turned in this car within the 3day money back guarantee stipulation. Except, I brought it back within 2 days. Then they threatened me and told me that they cannot give me back my $1,500.00 deposit unless I pay this $492.00. This is not fair. Is this good business practice? They were rude and I feel they were unethical about it. I may be just one person but I will never do business with these people and I will let others know. And for the Better Business Bureau I was able to purchase the same car with no hail damage, tinted windows, better tires, lower interest rate, lower payments, and for much less at ***** ****** Nissan in Highlands Ranch. This company were very professional and was looking out for my best interest. Auto Nation Nissan Southwest was not. I do not owe them this money. They did not do everything correct. They took advantage and they were rude. Please see attached. Thank you ***** ********

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After finding out that my Xterra had diminishing oil pressure, Nissan stated that I needed a new or used engine. This conclusion was come by a single diagnostic that showed only that I was losing oil pressure. The new engine was to be $******/1 yr.warranty or 12,000 miles and the used was to be $**** with ****** miles/1 yr.warranty on it without the promise of the problem potentially being in this engine as well. Nobody ever asked if indeed my engine light ever came on. When the Xterra was in the shop they removed the oil pan to show me some metal/gasket pieces were there, which doesn't mean that a new engine was needed. Come to find out, after taking it to another shop, that the engine is in good condition and there was no damage to it. It needed a new gasket near the timing chain. Product_Or_Service: diagnostic and oil disposal Order_Number: invoice # ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to have there shady practices stopped. I would also like the diagnostic charge refunded of $****** since it only fed the improper diagnosis of needing an engine, without any further discussion or inquiry. A big band-aid that would fix any problem near the engine.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/14) */ FIRST OF ALL WE DO NOT PERFORM SHADY PRACTICES, I WOULD ENTERTAIN THE REFUND, BUT BEFORE I DO I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THE OIL PRESSURE READINGS AFTER THE OTHER SHOP REPLACED THE REAR TIMING COVER THAT TO US IS A SHORT TERM REPAIR CONSIDERING ALL THE METAL WE FOUND WHEN OULLING THE PAN AND THE LOWER ENGINE KNOCK FROM WHAT I UNDER STAND

6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract was not honorded. We have always taken it to Autonation and they have always dais it was a fine Jeep.The engine died and no one wants to help Problem Date: 20 MAY 2014 JEEP REP: **** **** (************

Desired Settlement: I just want them to repair my engine and honor the contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/17) */ THIS CUSTOMER DIDN'T BUY FROM NISSAN SOUTHWEST. IT LOOKS LIKE THEY BOUGHT A CAR FROM JEEP WEST.

6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Nation had a super Sale leading buyers to believe they were getting extra savings on used vehicles prices on cars were raised substantially. Auto nation advertised a "Super sale" at Sports authority field 5/7 -5/10. The ads implied that consumers would receive extra value on vehicles purchased at that sale. I purchased a vehicle on 5/8/14 with a selling price of $******, $****** after taxes and add-ons. After i drove the car home, i found a pricelist from autonation in the backseat of my car which lists the sell prices on many vehicles at that sale. mine was actually listed at $****. i saw another vehicle i had test driven at the dealer prior to the sale. it was $**** more at the sale than when i test drove it. auto nation is misrepresenting the sale value of many vehicles, actually charging more at the sale than previously listed for at the dealerships. consumers are being misled and cheated about the extra savings they are receiving at the super sale

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the vehicle i purchased for the exact amount of money i spent for it, $*********.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/10) */ Autonation accomidated this customer by allowing her to trade in the vehicle in question, at one of our other stores on a different vehicle, and giving her, the full amount she paid for the car toward the purchase of another pre-owned vehicle. I have spoken with the customer after she purchased the second car, she is very happy, and indicated she will gladly do business with Autonation in the future.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nissan repaired my car and now 2 weeks later the same problem again. My Chrysler Sebring that I bought at Nissan SW was completely dead. Nissan told me it was due to the key code not being correct. They also said a heater element in the door was an additional problem. I was told everything was fixed, except they could not code the other key. Today I get in the car and nothing. Completely dead. Nissan refuses to do anything and said I need to take it to the dealership. The mechanic came right out and told me they did not know how to work on my car. Even the manager told me they don't know about Sebrings. Why didn't they tell me this up front. Why did they waste my time and then take my money for repairs they didn't even know if they were correct????? I feel I deserve my money back so I can take it to a dealer who can fix it. I cannot afford to pay for service not rendered.

Desired Settlement: I am only asking for the amount of money that I put into the repair of the car $172.29 nothing more. Nissan claims they will refund 100% if you are not satisified with their work.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/11/21) */ On 09.30.13 we did infact replace hvac control motor for making a ticking sound when opening the doors or turning the A/C down to the coldest setting we did infact repair the noise he was talking about... this did not cause the battery to fail... on 10.14.13 he took the car to our Dodge dealer for a no start repair and they replaced battery as you can see one repair has nothing to do with the other Thank You for your time ************ Service Manager Autonation Nissan ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 17, 2013/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, the items that were replaced was only making the noise because it was NOT receiving enough power from the battery to opperate it. I said NOTHING about what they did causing the battery to fail. Had Nissan done the job correctly and checked the electric system they would have found NOTHING was wrong with the part and did not need to be replaced. If they would return the part to me, Chrysler Chevrolet, NOT A DODGE DEALER, as they are stating will be happy to test the part and show Nissan that nothing is wrong with it. Nissan does not know how to repair or work on a Chrysler, I asked that the Oil Change light be shut off. I had just had an oil change. The gentleman that worked on the car told me specifically "I'm not that knowledgable on the Chrysler Sebring, I tried but don't know how to turn off the change oil light". That tells me right there they were not 100% sure what was wrong with the car and hence replaced a part that did not need replacing. I still am requesting that my money be refunded for this unnecessary work. AND AGAIN, Nissan can call the manager of Chrysler on Broadway and he will tell them that the part that was replaced DID NOT need to be replaced. Again, a simple system check, which should include the battery, would have pointed right to the battery as the culpert, not any part as they are claiming. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/03/18) */ AUTONATION NISSAN IS GOING TO REIMBURSE THE AMOUNT THE CUSTOMER IS REQUESTING AS A GOODWILL GESTURE,AS WE VALVUE ALL OF OUR CUSTOMER ANY FURTHER QUESTION,S PLEASE CONTACT *********** AT ************

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10-days later, no one told they my loan was finalized - and continued to hear promises of services that were never done! 2/1 - I got in a car accident and my car was totaled out. "NO fault" 2/8 - I purchase a vehicle. I was told that once the banks open next week, they will shop around for the best interest rate. My last car loan was through **** Bank at 9.84% and the best they could do on Saturday night was 17%. They said they would compare and also try through ****. ********* was handling the financing. After telling us how successful, well off financially, and honest he was - over and over and over again. How he just got back from Vegas...and he is the best there is. He tried to pressure us into MANY extended warranties that we did not need. He also said that he would look into getting my rate lowered and that he wanted to come as close to ****'s 9.84% as he could. 2/10 - I faxed over the references requested by the finance guy - *********. Sent an email to confirm he received them and to let him know the total loss paperwork from the accident will be sent to him as soon as I got it. 2/11 - emailed that - no response. 2/12 - Went to emissions place to use the coupon given to me. While I was there, I received a call (voicemail) from **********, finance manager, that I needed to come in and sign some papers. They were able to get me a lower payment. I emailed and called to schedule when I could come it. Was told, that it wasn't the case. They weren't able to get the lower payment - so they will keep me at what I was at. Asked him to submit it through ****. He said HE WOULD. Said they have talked to Wells Fargo, but that he would submit it through **** as well. Later that same day someone from Wells Fargo called me to get some information. I told them that my dealership said they would contact **** Bank. He said ok, well I will call you as soon as I know. 2/13 - NO COMMUNICATION FROM ANYONE 2/14 - Send an email to **** and *** asking where we were at. (After having emailed my total loss paperwork 2 times)3pm on a Friday, **** send me an email - asking me if I had received my total loss paperwork again. That he would get it sent in as soon as he received it. 2/17 - Speak to **** in the morning, saying he did get the paperwork from ***, and so he will get that sent in. Says they NEVER use ****, and aren't allowed to submit. Said Chrysler can, but Nissan can't. I go online chat and ask for the General Manager to call me. He does at noon. Tells me he will look into my loan...and give me an accurate status update. GM - ******** - calls right back and tells me that my account has been closed and final since 2/12 - LAST WEDNESDAY...something I would have liked to know!

Desired Settlement: I would like for this finance dept. to be looked into. I can ONLY assume that they have a friend at *********** that they funnel business to. I would like to find out why it took 10 days, 5 emails, 3 calls and speaking to everyone in that dealership to be told what was going on with MY MONEY. With this car that I wasn't even sure was going to be mine. Why NO ONE told me from the beginning that they didn't finance through ****. I would like to get more information on who they contacted - IF they contacted anyone outside of ***********. WHY I have never had any trouble in the past of getting loans for cars for under 10% interest...and they couldn't seem to possibly get me below 17%.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/14) */ We did try other lenders to get her financing done. We had the deal approved through *********** and that is what I told the customer and she was fine with that. This sounds like a miscommunication between the customer and our new F&I manager.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on AutoNation Nissan Southwest
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart