BBB Accredited Business since

AutoNation, Inc.

Phone: (303) 428-5656 View Additional Phone Numbers 7320 Broadway, Denver, CO 80221 http://www.autonation.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AutoNation, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Chris Wilson, Account Supervisor Terri Bos Mr. Joe Negri, Advertising/Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Chris Wilson, Account Supervisor
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales) Automobile Service & Repair Car Fraud

Additional Locations

  • 7320 Broadway

    Denver, CO 80221 (800) 859-6442 (303) 428-5656

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reject the technicians assessment that my 2013 Camaro would not start due to inactive driving causing the vehicle to not be under warranty. False. On January 5, 2015, our 2013 Camaro 2LT RS Convertible purchased from Auto Nation Denver on Dec. 31, 2012 with 10,257 miles would not start. Roadside assistance had to tow the car into Auto Nation Denver. The service manager Johnny Walker was the person handling the service of our car. The technician advised him that our car wouldn't start as a result of "not driving the car enough." This is false. He informed us the gas had separated due to inactive driving and therefore had fouled the plugs and caused a lack of compression. We were then told this would be a one time courtesy fix because this was not covered under warranty. This car is driven frequently but not for long periods of time as evidenced by the mileage. We put a full tank of Shell premium gas in the car Dec. 24th and drove the car on Dec. 25th prior to it not starting on Jan. 5th. The accusatory tone of the Auto Nation service management and altogether baffling explanation of warranty issues for a two year old car that wouldn't start and is under warranty is concerning.

Desired Settlement: We were told this was fixed as a "one time courtesy." A Car with 10,257 miles is not a car that hasn't been driven. The car is driven frequently but not for long distances. This car not starting had nothing to do with inactive driving. We are looking for reassurances that should this car ever not start in the future that this "fix" will not be held against us for what they deem as improper maintenance of the vehicle. We are looking for a satisfactory answer for the reason the car wouldn't start other than you didn't drive it enough. We are looking for Auto Nation to stand by their claim to put the customer first instead of blaming the customer for something they didn't do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ the fuel in the tank seperated and caused a no start flooded condition, we removed and replaced the spark plugs with new plugs. fowled spark plugs are not covered under the warranty so we covered it under autonation internal policy. fuel seperates from sitting to long its that uncommon when it gets colder outside.

1/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They forced us to do 3 different contracts, changing information each time. we were up front and honest from the beginning on everything. We went to the dealership with a 2012 dodge and 2500 dollars in cash, to upgrade to a 4x4 for snow on Oct. 18, 2014. **** ****** was the sales rep. we told him we were with **** already and to please use them and not pull our credit several times. He didn't listen and pulled it about 5 times according to Lifelock. after all this they went with ****. We were already approved before pulling our credit stating that it was 7.49%and we got 8.05%, on 2nd signing when they called back to Littleton, where they reversed our names on contract stating myCredit was better than Davids, and it wasn't. after complaining to manager about all these issues, the threw in a free bedliner and adjusted both vehicles so itwould NOT raise the payment agreed on. During the time of !st signing and 2nd signing, we had called **** Pace to see what the financial problem was and he never returned our phone call. We drove 2 hrs one way, and after talkingj to manager he agreed to top off tank. So a couple of weeks after having truck, the girl at dealership called to say there was a problem again, and we needed to send an electric bill to them to satisfy ****. We lived in Kremmling at an RV park named Red Mountain RV Park, I went to office and asked for what she said I needed and Park manager ***** faxed her a copy of electric bill. So thinking everything was still fine, she called *****, I think her name was ********, anyway she said they rejected it because it was hand signed. Electric bill was rejected. So another fews weeks pass by and we sold RV and moved to Apt in Colorado Springs, still waiting on plates. Changed all necessary mail at post office and bank, then Don in finance starts calling. He said that he and I need to clean up this mess, and that we will have to do another contract since we moved and things on it has changed again, I need an electric bill which we just moved into on Nov.16, 2014. THey could not produce one that early, I sent him lease agreement with mailing addy. on it and a few days he said they rejected it. ***** had to take off work to get bank info for me Nov. 24, and with every phone call from Don, it is a rush, **** is waiting. He just called around 5pm Nov. 25 to say the contract has changed on some things, but the dates are the same. He mentioned short sale and that we would have to give him more money after the 2500 dollars we had to put down and the truck. We have been under attack with this dealership, and never have we ever had to sign 3 contracts all different. This has been the worse and most stressful situation, along with all the lies we had to endure and we STILL don't have tags for this new truck we have in our possession. If they were unable to do a honest deal with us they should have told us in the begginning please help a veteran an 2 senior citizens

Desired Settlement: monitary compensation for all the grief and lost work time and aggrivation also a letter from the corporate level acknowledging faulty business practicies. they are supposedly the countries largest dealer, they should be able to figure out how to compensate us with out being told how to do business honestly with integrity.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 31, 2015/01/13) */ The resolution is in progress: I have spoken to the Title Clerk who is handling this for the store, and she advised the title work is in process. She has also spoken to Mrs. ******** and advised her she will get the title application via FedEx on Wed the 14th(tomorrow). The customer appeared to be satisfied with the progress. The problem: The customer has moved 3 times since they purchased the vehicle, with the last address being out of state in Texas. Because of the various moves the bank had a difficult time verifing address, the paperwork was lost in the mail, and the newest address is in Texas, so the bank has to provide permission for the vehicle to be titled out of Colorado. The 3 different contracts were required as prior to approval each address was incorrect on the documents and they needed to be corrected to cure title. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 33, 2015/01/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They had ample time to send the title, ***** had his Colorado CDL license and they admitted it while we were in Kremmling, Co. We were there for a month, while Auto Nations screwed up the application 2 times then! It was still screwed up according to ****. Also, being blamed for a move because there was no work due to weather and heavy equipment operators depend on good weather is no fault of ours. Don House knew exactly the situation each time! He had ample time to send the title to 1670 Dublin as he sent a lot boy and a Fedex envelope with the 3rd contract to the location and had no trouble finding us. He could have easily sent the 3rd signing of the title the same way. We were there for close to 6 weeks until the layoff, and *****'s mom death, which resulted in us coming back to Texas as well as our house had a contract with repairs due. My number never changed! It is just excuses for leaving the title paperwork sitting on a desk, unattended. Once again Auto Nation failed to do their part with not returning phone calls and letting our tags expire again!!!!! I have to make the phone calls to see where this paperwork died at because they sure weren't.This never should have happened in the 1st place as I would have been very happy to walk out with my 2012 ram truck to begin with. If they couldn't have done the deal they should have man upped and said the deal was impossible. P.S. we always stayed in touch with **** so don't blame them for your lack of finishing a bad deal to begin with! Please don't blame the title clerk either as she had no idea what took place to in this whole situation, yes she sent to paperwork, but once again by the time we go back and forth, our tags will have expired.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AutoNation, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)