BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1992

AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Broadway

(303) 578-6103View Additional Phone Numbers5445 S Broadway, LittletonCO 80121-8002

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1992

BBB has determined that AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Broadway meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Broadway's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Broadway

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******** contract will not transfer/refund remaining oil chg to new car after selling prev car. No ******** indicating contract will be voided
I purchased a ********** Oil Change service contract that includes 4 changes within 2 yrs.

(Aug 8, 2014, Invoice#:***** **********************, Service *******: ***** *********)

Originally purchased for 2011 ******** 200. Traded my ******** in for a 2013 Explorer in Oct 2014. I am now informed that my service contract is voided and nonrefundable. Essentially the same engines, and both cars were purchased thru ********** dealers. Various contract********** (************) have informed me that it clearly states the contracts are car specific; which I don't see, had explained or have any proof of such documentation in my contract. ********** has nothing to lose and all to gain by NOT fulfilling their contract obligation to this PAID-IN-FULL consumer.

Desired Settlement
I just want my remaining service fulfilled. 3 Oil changes

Business Response
Attached is the terms and conditions associated with the ***** Essential Care that was purchased. This document explains the transfer and cancellation ****** terms.

I have made a request to ***** to grant a one time exception to transfer these remaining oil changes and they have denied my request.

It is my understanding that Mr. S***** has purchased a **** Explorer. I reached out to the General Manager at ********** Ford ********* and ask if he would offer the oil changes as a good will gesture and he as kindly agreed to do so. Please contact me and I will get you in touch with our Ford location to get the new oil change plan executed.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ******** the response from the business.)

12/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold an extended warranty and told I could get the purchase price refunded if it was not used. They have only provided a partial refund.
We purchased a Jeep Grand Cherokee from AutoNation Chrysler Jeep in 2009. The finance guy we worked with at the time talked us into a "Money back guarantee service contract" (extended warranty). He explained that if we didn't use the warranty, we could get our money back after 5 years/60,000 miles. We purchased it for $1,441. They didn't actually provide a copy of the extended warranty that day. They said it would come in the mail after it was approved. After five years, we hadn't had to use the warranty, so I sent in the appropriate paperwork to get our refund. We got our refund check, and it was for $830, which is $611 less than what we had paid for it. I contacted the Chrysler Service Contract division, and they stated that they would only refund up to the MSRP, and AutoNation Chrysler Jeep had sold the extended warranty to us at $611 above the MSRP. The MSRP is not stated anywhere on the paperwork for the purchase, or in the service contract we later received. The Chrysler Service Contract division indicated that they didn't know why a dealership would sell the extended warranty at above the MSRP, but that I would have to get any additional refund from the dealership. I went to the dealership to discuss this with them. They said they would look into and get back to me. They later called to tell me they don't know why they charged me above the MSRP rate, but the guy who did it doesn't work there anymore, so they aren't going to do anything about it. I told them I didn't think this was a good business practice if they are trying to get repeat customers. The finance person I was speaking with indicated that they care deeply about developing a good relationship with customers, so he would talk to the manager and see if there was anything they could do. I haven't heard anything since then, and the finance person will not return my phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I would like the remaining $611 of the refund.

Business Response
Sorry for the delay in my response it has taken longer that I had hoped to get the information from archive. After reviewing the transaction I agree with the customer that she is due the additional refund of $611. Please have the customer confirm that he is still at the same address and I will get the check processed as soon as possible. I would also like to apologize that this was not resolved quickly when we were first contacted.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please send the check to the following:
****** *******
**** ******** ***
********** ** XXXXX

08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to refund money related to peripheral contracts cancelled as part of used car loan under the "3 Day No Worries" return guaranty.
I purchased a used 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on March 28, 2013. As part of the transaction, after waiting for an hour to get into the finance office, I was offered several extra add-on contracts, which were declined multiple times until finally around 10pm, I accepted them, including Perma plate, and windshield replacement coverage. These were built into the price and financing on the vehicle for $499 plus tax (around $535). During the transaction, I was reminded that they have a 3 day no worry return policy. On Saturday, March 30, I returned to the dealership to turn in the title on my trade-in vehicle and before doing so, communicated that I was not comfortable with the terms of the "Perma Plate" warranty contract or the windshield replacement contract" after having an opportunity to read through all of the terms and doing online research about filing claims under these policies. I also thought there were several verbal misrepresentations made on what these policies actually covered. I was told by the Finance Manager, *****, as well as the Director ****, that there was no problem, and that they would take care of it by Tuesday, April 2. They also put this in writing on the "We Owe" document and signed it, before I gave them the title to my trade in. I was told that the refund would have to go directly back to the car lien holder, Bank of America. As of August 12, this refund has still not been credited to my account. I left a voice mail for the Finance Director, ****, sometime in July and had made several phone calls to ***** in April and May to follow up. I have a saved voice mail from ***** on 4/19/2013 saying that "Everything is handled." I visited ***** in Person on July 20th, when my first oil change was due and she apologized again that it hadn't gone through. She followed up with the business office and called my on Monday, July 22nd to say that something had been held up there, but that a $499 check was going out. (Even though the "WE OWE" states that I would be refunded the contract amount plus the sales tax applied). Again, the amount still has not been credited to my BofA account, and I've incurred interest charges for 4 months because this amount was built into my auto loan. It seems awfully petty that out of a $30,000 transaction, they are having such trouble cutting a $500 check, and I would just like the money that I'm owed, without having to repeatedly follow up. Aside from this, I am happy with the condition and mechanics of the vehicle, I just resent the high pressure "add-on" tactics, and the false promises of a 3 day money back gaurantee. I paid more than a fair price for this vehicle, and since the contracts I paid for themselves were officially cancelled, I don't even have the "protections" I've paid for with these third party service providers. I am happy to support this claim with my sales transaction documents, the "We-Owe" signed form, the voice mail, and my auto loan transaction history.

Desired Settlement
I would like at a minimum the ~$535 that is owed to me, as put in writing by the business, and at this point feel additional compensation is due for the interest charges I've incurred as well as the time and effort involved in pursuing what I am owed.

Thank You,
*** ******

Business' Initial Response
I have called the customer here today and the check was sent cut on the 6th of august mailed out on the 7th and sent directly to the lein holder in the amount of $498 dollars. We did not include the taxes on the products. Called the customer and she will be down to the dealership on the 24th of august to fill up her tank with gas. Customer is extremely happy and I gave her my cell phone number if she has any future issues !!

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was contacted immediately by the Dealership Business Manager and he followed through with their administrative offices to ensure the payment owed was finally processed, which I verified with my bank. I plan to get my tank filled this Saturday.

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upon purchase tire pressure sensor was on and I wanted it fixed and Title was not released from previous lean holder tickets for ex temp tags issued.
Upon purchase of my 2010 ford focus on 11/1/2014 a tire pressure fault sensor was on and was making a slight clicking noise very faint asked dealership to check it because of noise and to fix that sensor before I drove off the lot they stated it was cold outside so it would be on and to bring it back when weather warmed up but other than that car was fine. Took to a different location off south Wadsworth ave for 1st oil change and to check noise it was making along with the sensor that location stated tire pressure, and vehicle was fine and didn't have correct tools to reset sensor and needed to take car to a ford dealership to be reset. Ford didn't want to even touch the car they said it was auto nations responsibility and should have the tools if they're an authorized dealership and didn't want to be held responsible because the fault in that sensor could be just a reset or they could have broke it at the dealership so they didn't want to touch car and be held responsible for any previous damage done and said to take back to auto nation. Shortly after took back to auto nation south Broadway for noise they said they would let me know the next day what was wrong ended up taking 5 days I had to take off work early to get answers only for them to tell me it was a module that was not covered under my warrantee and could not go any further until I paid a diagnostic fee could not do it at the time because I needed a vehicle to get to work stated this has been an issue since purchase date they kept telling me it wasn't a problem and now that the 60 money back guarantee they offer is expired now it became a problem and I need to pay out of pocket to fix because "it is no longer they're vehicle to worry about" as said by the general manager I believe he said his name was ***** Also, they did not have a title to this vehicle when I purchased it I found out when I tried to purchase my license plates after my temp tag expired, I purchased another temp tag and called *** *********** title clerk she stated she could not get a release on the title from the previous lean holder and would have it resolved within a few weeks. The new temp tag expired I went back to DMV to see if dealership submitted paperwork along with title it was still not in and the dmv said they could not issue anymore extensions. I left multiple voice mails on *** ************ phone and the general managers phone to see why my title was not yet in and I received a ticket for having expired temp tags for $75 if paid before March 22nd 2015 or it goes up to $150. I called about citation they stated I needed to have the dealership pay for the ticket since it was out of my control. I called the dealership and asked to speak to the general manager the person I spoke with on the phone acted like it was not their problem and said they would pass *** information off to the general manager even though he stated he was the general manager I have not yet received a call back from anyone at this dealership about this problem. I was able to get in contact with *** *********** who has finally submitted my paperwork to the dmv but this is after I already received a ticket for the new expired tags that expired 2/6/15.

Desired Settlement
I would like the clicking noise and tire pressure sensor fault indicator fixed I do not want to hear that it is not their problem because I'm past the 60 day money back guarantee since I have been telling the dealership about this since purchase date and they did not want to do anything about it and said it was nothing to worry about yet conveniently after the 60 day guarantee it became a problem that they now want me to pay for out of pocket and I want my ticket paid for since it was not my fault that I had expired temp tags because they could not get a release from the previous lean holder.

Business Response /* ****** ** 2015/03/10) */
On November 8th we sold 2010 Ford Focus with a 3 day / 150 mile money back guarantee and a 60 day limited mechanical warranty. At the time of sale there were no additional items due to the customer.

On December 22nd the vehicle was in our service department with a damaged tire that was going flat. As good will we repaired the tire at no charge to the customer. After this repair there was no mention of a tire light on.

On December 26th the vehicle was at another AutoNation store for a Lube, Oil and Filter Service. There is no mention on this visit of a light on.

On February 6th the vehicle was in our service department to have the light checked. The tech found a TPIM fault code on the vehicle that was not covered by the customer warranty.

I would be willing to help with a discount on the repair.

We will also reimburse the customer for the $75 ticket. I will need a copy to process the payment.

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
10/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
08/27/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/22/1991Business started: 02/21/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sara Ziegenhagen (General Manager)Ms. Beth Maul (Controller)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Lemon Law - Colorado
Automobile Dealers (New & Used Sales)
Car Fraud

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Broadway

5445 S Broadway

Littleton, CO 80121-8002

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5445 S Broadway 

    Littleton, CO 80121-8002(303) 904-7701

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AutoNation Chrysler Jeep Broadway is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 244-0116 (Disconnected)
  • (303) 904-7701

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (303) 675-0481
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.