BBB Accredited Business since

Sam's Automotive Reconditioning Center

Phone: (303) 761-6280 1314 W Oxford Ave, Englewood, CO 80110 http://www.takeittosams.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AUTO BODY REPAIR AND PAINT AND MECHANICAL


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam's Automotive Reconditioning Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam's Automotive Reconditioning Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Sam's Automotive Reconditioning Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1972 Business started: 03/01/1946 in CO Business started locally: 03/01/1946 Business incorporated 03/23/1961 in CO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Chavez, President Mr. Larry Olander, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Chavez, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD, DISCOVER, PERSONAL CHECK
Alternate Business Names
Sam's Automotive
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sam's Automotive Reconditioning Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1314 W Oxford Ave

    Englewood, CO 80110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cost to repair car window was $375( 41%) higher than estimate.Refused to remove part and refund payment. On August 1, I brought my daughter's 2001 Acura Integra into ***** to have the LF window repaired. I was told that it was certainly the motor/regulator, although the estimator,************* did not examine the door. His estimate to do the repair was $540, including a new motor/regulator for $495. On August 2, he called to tell me that after they put in the motor/regulator the problem was still not resolved, and that I would have to pay an additional $375 for a new switch. I told him that the total cost of this was too much to spend on a car which had a vlaue of $3000+/-. I asked him to take the new motor/regulator out of the car,put the window in the closed position, take the cost of the motor/regulator off of the bill,and charge me for the labor cost for all of their time. He refused to do that, saying that the part supplier(NAPA) would not take the part back. I was left with no choice but to go in and pay the original estimate of $540 in order for ***** to release the car. ***** now has that money(credit card payment),and the window still does not function. I believe that the estimator had every opportunity to know, or should have known based on his experience, that the original estimate was not going to be the final cost. Had I known what the final cost was going to be, I NEVER would have authorized ***** to do any work. I could have found someone else to pry the window into the closed position and left it there for far less than $540. When I went into pick up the car with my daughter, I spoke with a man who claimed to be the "owner". I believe his name was ***** also. He was totally unsympathetic. He said that they could not have known that the window needed the switch until they put in the motor/regulator. So, it was not their fault. In essence he said, pay up another $375 to get the window to work, or pay them $540 and go away with the window in the same inoperable condition it was in when I brought it to them in teh first place. I am not sure if this "bait and switch" tactic is intentional on ***** part, or just the result of incompetence and sloppiness. Either way, other potential customers should be aware of what is going on at *****.

Desired Settlement: I want****** to refund the cost of the $495 motor/regulator. I would be happy to give it back to them, even if that means paying them to take it out.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/08/26) */ After signing authorization to repair the left front door window the estimator of over 30 years diagnosed the problem as the regulator and indeed the cable was snapped and needed to be replaced. He showed the customer the broken part but what is impossible to diagnose is the window switch until you have an operable window glass to test it on. Once ***** found the problem with the switch the customer was called. His reaction was to take out the regulator and send it back because he didn't want to spend any more money on the switch. We tried to return the regulator but the dealer policy doesn't allow returns on parts that have already been installed. ***** even went the extra step and negotiated a discount in the customer's behalf on the switch at dealer cost with no markup and no additional labor to install it but the customer refused the offer. ***** only wanted to service the customer's needs and get the window fixed. Contrary to the customer's belief you cannot find out if the switch is bad until the regulator is installed. Once we did that we offered to sell the switch at dealer cost, not ***** cost but dealer cost. We uncover hidden damage in a lot of cars we repair. That was the case in this instance. We followed all ethical repair practices in this case and went out of our way to resolve this matter with the customer. Thanks, **** ***** Automotive ************ Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/09/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No, they did not respond directly to my last submission in which I cited other repair shops' contrary views of how this situation should have been handled. And,I will not be taking them up on their bogus "great value" offer, because I have since had the window repaired by a reputable shop.And,I would not trust them to be in possession of the car again. I don't care, and neither should anyone else care,how long they have been in business. They are cutting corners and getting sloppy.Most of their work is insurance related and after the customer has blown through the deductible, he or she really doesn't care what the cost is of the repair.This is my final response because this is going to go nowhere. I will pursue this another way.At this point, I just want other potential customers to know that they should not rely on competence nor integrity from *****. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2013/09/12) */ Please see attached.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Sam's Automotive Reconditioning Center
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart