BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Auto Body

Phone: (303) 366-4134 92 S Havana St, Aurora, CO 80012 http://www.precisionautobody.us


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Precision Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration
Many local municipalities, townships and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the State of Colorado can be viewed at the following website:

http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/licenses-and-permits-0

To view the registration of a business with the Colorado Secretary of State click below:

http://www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do

Business Management
Mr. Scott Gilchrist, President Ms. Janet Gilchrist, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Janet Gilchrist, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Scott Gilchrist, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

Auto Body & Collision Shop

Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took the truck in for hail damage repair, came out with the good being out aligns as well as damage to the clear bra. Brought my 2012 ford f150 into the shop on July 6 around 9am. To have hail damage repair done picked the truck up on July 16th to notice the truck was filthy couldn't even tell if damage had been repaired it was so dirty. Noticed right away damage to the clear bra as well as the ford emblem being broken also realized the front end is out of alignment. I tried to go down and speak to the owner in which he says company policy is not to clean the truck and clear bra and emblem were damaged before hand he said to contact insurance he wasn't going to fix anything on the truck.

Desired Settlement: I want repairs done to the vehicle I am awaiting an estimate damages I would assume around 1000 I can send estimate when I get that on Thursday.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/28) */ This is in response to the complaint filed by Ms. ********* regarding her 2012 Ford 150, damages to said vehicle and facts of the repair. Ms. *********'s vehicle sustained hail damage. An appointment was scheduled for 7/9/14 for ****** or ********* ********* to bring their vehicle into our facility for repair. The vehicle was dropped off overnight at our facility on 7/7/14 which was not the scheduled appointment. ***** **** Insurance, Ms. *********'s insurance company, had performed an appraisal and approved certain repairs to the vehicle that were caused by the hail event. Ms. ********* claimed on several occasions that the windshield was part of her claim. However, when ***** **** originally inspected her vehicle, per **** ******** at ***** ***** the windshield was denied to be covered. This is not a decision Precision Auto Body makes, it is a decision made by her own insurance company. The damages approved for repair by ***** **** Insurance were started. On 7/9/14 we sent a supplemental to ***** **** for additional paint-less dent repair we found while repairing the vehicle. The supplemental was approved and we completed the repairs as authorized. On 7/15/14, we called Ms. ********* to let her know that her vehicle was ready for pick up and needed to be picked up by 5 PM. As with ALL vehicles we complete repairs for, we wash the exterior of the vehicle and vacuum the interior. Ms. *********'s vehicle was washed on 7/15/14 as she was to pick it up that day. Mr. ********* came at 5 PM on 7/16/14 to pick up the vehicle. During that time, there had been rain storms and we cannot be held responsible for the exterior of the vehicle being affected by rain. We do not re-wash vehicles that are not retrieved by the set date/time. On 7/16/14, we reviewed the repairs with Mr. *********. He complained about "dents in the grill". **** ****** informed him that it's a plastic grill and plastic does not dent from hail. The variation in the plastic that he was complaining about was are the mounting points where the grill is secured to the hood and is manufactured that way. Mr. ********* also complained about a dent in the lower left front door that was clearly a door ding caused by an event other than hail. Neither of these issues are covered by the ***** **** appraisal and in the case of the grill, is not damage but is manufactured as such. From the beginning of the repair transaction, Ms. ********* attempted to allocate funds from a separate claim to cover her deductible from this claim. She was informed that was not an option. She asked several times how she could "get out of paying the deductible", of which was $1000. She became irate and verbally abusive on several occasions during this transaction to our staff. On 7/17/14, Ms. ********* came into our office complaining about the damage to her windshield, the clear bra and door. The windshield was denied by her insurance company. The grill is not damaged, as it is manufactured that way, the dent in the front door is not caused from hail and therefore would not be part of this claim and she also showed damage to the clear bra. The damage to the clear bra was also not caused from this hail event, but rather would be from a rock chip from the road or other debris. Hail makes distinct indications and would not cause the damage to her clear bra as indicated. Ms. ********* threatened to place a stop pay on her credit card so that we did not received her $1,000 deductible. The fact of the case is that Precision Auto Body performed the repairs to the vehicle that were approved by Mr. and Ms. *********'s own insurance company, ***** ***** ***** **** denied covering the windshield. We would not replace the windshield unless Ms. ********* wanted to pay for that out of pocket as it was not an approved repair. The grill is not damaged. The door is a door ding that was caused by a different event and would not be covered as part of this repair. The clear bra is damage caused by a rock or other road debris and also not covered as a part of this repair. It is unfortunate that Ms. ********* was not fully satisfied, but it is clear that she misunderstands that it is not our place to repair unapproved damage. Ms. ********* agreed to her deductible of $1,000 with ***** **** and that must be cured with us in order to release a vehicle. Ms. ********* also needs to understand that we cannot repair damage under this claim that clearly was not caused by this hail event. We fully and dutifully repaired the vehicle as was authorized and did so in a timely manner. Ms. *********'s assertion the vehicle was "filthy" was not as a result of our negligence but rather their inability to pick up their vehicle in time. We cannot be held responsible for rain, damage that occurred at another time other than the covered event and we are due remuneration for the work performed including curing the deductible in order to release the vehicle. We assert that this complaint is unfounded and while we aim to please all customers, this complaint is simply as a result of Ms. ********* not understanding how insurance works. We request that you find in favor of Precision Auto Body based on the facts of the claim. Thank you


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Auto Body
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)