BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Denver & Boulder, Colorado

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/1997

Mahnke Auto Body, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(303) 424-6091View Additional Phone Numbers5855 W 56th Ave, ArvadaCO 80002-2810

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Mahnke Auto Body has been family owned and operated since 1975. Core Values: Respect, Honesty, Accountability, Teamwork, Safety, Integrity, Continuous Improvement,and Performance Driven. Four shops in Colorado: Arvada, Brighton, Golden, & Frederick.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/15/1997

BBB has determined that Mahnke Auto Body, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mahnke Auto Body, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Mahnke Auto Body, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I took my new truck to be reapired after it was hit and the insurance was charged to replace and repair parts and some wasnt done.
I got my truck back from them and the repair to the drivers front fender repair showed scratch marks where the body filler was not sanded out with finer paper to get rid of scratches. The lower air deflector was to be replaced and was not but was billed to insurance company.
the main air deflector was to be repaired but was not and still billed to the insurance company.
The 2 front tires were to be replaced front the misalignment from accident but after 2 attempts at ordering the tires **** and I agreed to reimbuse me for the cost of the tires and i would get them. the drivers wheel was to be refinished and was not and it was understood i would be reimbursed for that as well and was not.
The alignment that was adjusted on my truck is incorrect as I set it on my alignment system at my work and showed it was still off.
There are scratches in the drivers fender left over from cleaning with a dirty cloth and dirt in the paint when it was painted. There is also a run in the clear coat on the drivers fender as well. and there is new damage on the truck that was not there when i dropped it off including a dent under the drivers tail light and a dent in the passenger side rear bumper.
I got the truck back in the evening of March 1st and found the deflector issues as soon as i walked up to the truck and pointed them out and was told the parts would be ordered. The other issues I noticed in the light of day on Saturday March 2nd. I called **** at Mahnke first thing Monday morning where I was told it would be taken care of and he would be in touch, but asked what I was looking for so i said my truck had 3000 miles on it and I wanted it to be fixed correctly. I didnt hear anything back Monday and called tuesday am and was told they were making arrangements. I didnt hear anything back Wednesday and called on thursday am and was told they dont think I understand the extent of the arrangemnt that need to be made by getting 2 drivers to take off and bring me a rental and then take my truck to the shop and that the guy that worked on my truck to begin with wasnt there today to look at it. I explained that I didnt want the same person working on it since time wasnt taken to properly do it the first time and with commission he would have to do it again on his own time after having a day off of work already. I requested if I could take the truck to another Mahnke facility that was closer to me anyway. **** said I could drop it there and they would go pick it up. I said no I wanted ********* to perform the repairs. **** said he would look into it and be in touch.
I then called the ********* store and explained the situation the Geneeral Manager, *** ******. He told me he need to call the Brighton Facility and figure something out. I then got a call back from **** the manager from the Brighton facility where i was told i must get the rental car and put $50 down to get it. I informed her I did not want to take it there and my concerns about it where she said I must take it there if I wanted it to be fixed. I said ok I would be in. However after thinking about it further I called her and told her I would gladly have the ********* facility repair it but it will not be taken to the Brighton store. she said then it wouldnt get fixed. I explained my concerns about possible fraud of charging insurance companies for parts and services that were performed.

Business' Initial Response
I spoke with *** ***** regarding the repairs done to his vehicle. I assured him that we stand behind our lifetime warranty and would like nothing more than to resolve the issues that he has with the repairs. When I spoke with him I offered to pick up and deliver his truck and to pay for a rental vehicle while his truck was in our shop. However due to rental policy I explained that he would need to come to a rental office to sign a rental agreement since he would be the one driving the rental vehicle. I would like to remedy this situation and him leave a happy and satisfied customer. I stand behind the work that we do and would like to offer my sincere apologies for any insufficiency. I have given Mr. ***** both my office number and personal cell phone number and he is welcome to contact me at his convenience to get this situation remedied.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told the truck the truck must go back to the Brighton shop to be looked at by the technician the performed the work but he was out with a sick child. I don't want that facility to touch my truck let alone the tech that did a sub par job the first time.I was told I could take the truck to the Firestone facility and then the Brighton shop would go pick itup and take it to the Brighton shop especially since there is damage to the truck that wasn't even there where i took it to them the first time. As I have stated numerous times, I want a different facility within the company and a different tech to perform the repairs correctly and for the alignment to be done correctly as I have had it checked and is now chewing up another set of tires.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Business' Final Response
Our sincerest wish is to make Mr. ***** happy with the repairs to his truck. We felt that our earlier response to his complaint addressed the issues and helped head us towards a positive resolution. Since Mr. ***** is obviously dissatisfied with the earlier response, Gary Mahnke will be calling him to try and work out the specifics and rectify this in a timely manner.

02/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On nov 17th my car was towed to Mahnke autobody because my car was rearended the day before. My car was running fine before it entered into the autobody place, mahnke had my car for a total of 3 weeks, during that time they repaired the backend of my car. On Dec 7 they told me my car was ready. I went to the shop to pick up my car and reviewed the trunk of my car. There was still a piece of my trunk very loose. I showed it to them and they got into my car and drove it back to the repair, they looked at it and drove it back to the front. They told me they need to order another part but I can go ahead and take my car and they will call me once its in. So I proceeded to get into my car, I drove off noticed the oil light was on and the car was jerking like I was running out of gas, I stop at the nearest gas station pick up oil, put in my car and drive no more than 5 miles and my car stops completely, I called mahnke right away, the owner *** came to get me and told me in the car the mechanics notices the battery having to be charged when started but that is all they noticed. I asked why he never told me there was problems with the car. He said none was noted. After taking it to a mechanic they say the coolant was empty. that is why the engine was seized. I am putting in a complaint because Mahnke had my car for 3 weeks, clearly drove it and never notice the coolant being emptied? They will not do anything to help repair my car. I am very upset because my car ran perfectly fine when they picked up the car, had it for 3 weeks, drove it, and never told me there was battery issues, or any other issues (oil light) during the process of repairing. Now it will cost 8000 to repair my engine.

Business' Initial Response
This car was dropped off to us on 11/19/2012. The customers insurance company came out and inspected it on 11/21/2012 and gave us the approval to start repairs. The vehicle was ready on 12/6/2012 and the customer picked it up on that day. All of the damage from the accident was to the rear of the car. There was no suspension or mechanical damage to the car. When the car was dropped off there was a check engine light on the dash (we have a photo of this light). The repairs never required us to look at anything near the engine or the front of car. After the car was picked up from us the customer broke down on the highway. I went and picked her up and drove her to work then had the car towed back to our shop. QWe inspected it and noticed there was no antifreeze in the radiator. I asked the customer if she had ever had the cooling system serviced (the car had over 199k miles on it at the time) and she said she didnt know if it had ever been done. We could not accurately diagnosis the problem so we got the customers authorization to have Stevinson Lexus look at it. Ron in service at Stevinson said there was no antifreeze in the cooling system which caused the motor to seize. She choose not to have them replace her motor. It appeared lack of maintenance on the customers part lead to the engine problems. I have our original photos of the mileage and check engine light taken during our check in process but can not attach them to this website format. I can email them to an email addre

02/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: The customer Mahnke Auto Body has not paid there bill per our conversation with **** the General Manager.
Mahnke Auto Body has not paid their bill per our agreement. They ordered parts from us on 11/16/2012. We shipped them out and they received them. For some reason during shipment one of the boxes was delayed. We were closed the week of Thanksgiving. They sent us a check and then stopped payment on it. They were calling us during the week we were closed about the box that got there after the first one. When we called them back when we reopened the foillowing Monday they said that they did not receive an insert molding. I talked to **** and said to take 250.00 of the bill for the problems and he said he would call me back. Which he never did. We called repeatedly for the next couple of weeks and left messages with ****** and still got no return phoine call. Finally, on the 10th of December 2012 I spoke with **** who said they did not call back because we did not call them back. Tried to explain to her that we were closed the week they called and we called them back immediately when we returned to work. We came upon an agreed amount for them to OVERNIGHT a check to us. We gfaxed them over she requested which they received. They did not overnight the check and we still have not received payment. I left messages on 12/15.12 and 12/16 with no return phone call. I have left 2 messages today 12/19 with still no return phone call.

We need payment sent immediatley to us overnighted or our parts returned to us immediatley at their expense. This is very unprofessional of Mahnke Auto Body!!

Business' Initial Response
bill has been paid in full for quite some time. this company necver said they would be closed the entire week of thanksgiving. when there was no responce how did they expected us to act. we did not think we were going to get parts.
As it was we were late on our job and customer was mad. the reason they were mad is because we did not get parts. they could of avoided this entire mess by comunicating they would be closed.Gary Mahnke

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1977Business started: 01/01/1975
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Many local municipalities, townships, and counties have registration, bonding and/or licensing requirements. The BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Permit and license requirements for regulated industries in the state of Colorado can be viewed at the following website: http://www.colorado.gov/oed/industry-license/

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Mahnke (President)Ms. Torie Mahnke (Operations Manager)Ms. Megara Pullen (Marketing)
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

Mahnke offers the full range of collision repairs & auto body paint for doors, fenders, bumpers, airbags, mirrors and headlights. Mahnke's repair experts have the right training and equipment to produce an invisible repair, including hail damage.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:30 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Mahnke Auto Body offers a Limited Lifetime Warranty on all work for as long as the customer owns the vehicle. Parts are covered by the Manufacturer's Warranty. Please call for details.

Service Area

North West Denver Metro Area to Wyoming

Alternate Business Names
Mahnke Auto Body Brighton, Mahnke Auto Body Golden, Mahnke Collision Center North, Mahnke Collision Center, Inc., Mahnke Auto Body Arvada
Industry Tips
Automobile Service & Repair

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

8 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mahnke Auto Body, Inc.

5855 W 56th Ave

Arvada, CO 80002-2810

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Denver. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mahnke Auto Body, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (303) 485-8840
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on September 4, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Repair & Painting

Automobile Service & Repair
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.